Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malay officials accused over human trafficking

Malay officials accused over human trafficking PDF Print
Thursday, 23 April 2009 14:23

“[Burmese women] are sold at a brothel if they look good,” recounted one refugee. “If they are not beautiful, they [the traffickers] might sell them at a restaurant or house-keeping job.”

By Demetri Sevastopulo in Washington, Financial Times

An influential US senator has accused Malaysian officials of complicity in the human trafficking of Burmese refugees who have been sold into prostitution and other kinds of forced labour in recent years.

Richard Lugar, the top Republican on the foreign relations committee, on Tuesday handed the Malaysian government a report on a year-long investigation into allegations that refugees who fled the Burmese junta for Malaysia had been handed over to traffickers on the Malaysia-Thailand border.

The report, which was obtained by the FT, highlights the plight of Burmese migrants who crossed Thailand into Malaysia in the hope of registering with the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and then being resettled in a third country.

According to the investigation, Malaysian officials have transported migrants - including some who had registered with UNHCR - from detention centres to the Thai border for deportation. At the border, however, migrants are handed to traffickers unless they can pay a ransom.

“Migrants state that those unable to pay are turned over to human peddlers in Thailand, representing a variety of business interests ranging from fishing boats to brothels,” said the report.

The Senate investigators also received multiple reports of Burmese women being sexually abused by traffickers, including some in front of their husbands because, as one NGO employee cited in the report put it, “no one dares to intervene as they would be shot or stabbed to death in the jungle’’.

“[Burmese women] are sold at a brothel if they look good,” recounted one refugee. “If they are not beautiful, they [the traffickers] might sell them at a restaurant or house-keeping job.”

The committee launched the investigation in 2007 after hearing allegations about the trafficking of Burmese migrants “with the knowledge, if not participation” of Malaysian officials.

“The prospect that Burmese migrants, having fled the heavy hand of the Burmese junta, only to find themselves in harms’ way in Malaysia seemed beyond belief,” said the report.

While raising concerns about the role of “government officials” - which the report defines as immigration and police officials, and the semi-official People’s Volunteer Corps [Rela] - Mr Lugar welcomed the Malaysian police’s recent decision to investigate the allegations.

The Malaysian prime minister’s office did not respond to a request for comment.

The report estimated that a few thousand Burmese have been brought to the border with Thailand in recent years, and in particular to the Sungai Golok in Thailand and Padang Besar in Malaysia. It said Burmese refugees now residing in the US had provided names and bank account details for people involved in the trafficking, which have now been forwarded to Malaysian law enforcement officials.

The 2008 State department human rights report also found that while Malaysia “generally” had a good human rights record, there were some problems, including “credible allegations” that immigration officials were involved in trafficking Burmese refugees.

It also highlighted abuses by Rela, including rape, beatings, and the destruction of UNCHR status documents.

Human Rights Watch also concluded in its 2009 World Report that “testimonies from migrants, refugees, and asylum seekers deported from Malaysia to the Thai border indicate collusion between Malaysian immigration officials and human smuggling gangs who charge steep fees to facilitate deportees’ return to Malaysia or back to Burma”.

Additional reporting by John Burton in Singapore

written by ahmadneil, April 23, 2009 14:35:20
This crises are caused by those irrational people with a goated beard.
written by bodohland_citizen, April 23, 2009 14:36:31
Bolehland...Land of hooligan law makers. Mahathir a/l Mohammad founder of Bolehland. Bolehland...Boleh for all evil cause.
written by Watchdog, April 23, 2009 14:40:46
Striking similarity to Najib's ways. When the top honcho is like that, what do u expect from the kutties and kunchus below him. Mongolian, Burmese, Indonesian come from wherever and suffer under our shitheads.
written by wannabepatriotic, April 23, 2009 14:49:23
Not surprised. This is good money. The same RELA/Immigration officer's that 'tangkap' you will eventually sell you back to your captors/traffickers, and the cycle continues...

Here in Malaysia, every governmental body is corrupted in their own special fields

Malaysia, mana bole?
written by hiro, April 23, 2009 15:00:30
Misperception or otherwise, the last thing the Malaysian government want to do should not be to blast Richard Lugar and call it "their mere unwarranted opinion" or something to that effect. They should try and say "we'll look into it and ferret out those officials.." and state clearly what Malaysian policy is towards refugees.
written by Godflesh, April 23, 2009 15:31:36
What to say? Soon these goons apointed by the ****ed up gomen will walk into our homes, take our 16 yr old daughters and pimp them in Bukit Bintang. Don't Laugh! At the rate of things this would be a reality in the not so distant future. Apa lu mau buat. AG, Police and Courts will ask u "LU SAPA"??
written by bodohland_citizen, April 23, 2009 15:52:44
Dear my foreign friends, don't worry or feel discriminated. We locals are equally same here smilies/cheesy.gif
written by SimpleSoul, April 23, 2009 15:56:39
Geli, i hope this suckers who deal with this.. will be crusified in this lifetime
written by Old Man, April 23, 2009 16:32:32
The refugees are humans too! If the laws do not get those criminals, Karma will!
written by harryo, April 23, 2009 16:34:23
Malaysia boleh ma!
written by penangboi, April 23, 2009 16:51:28
I will not take this at face value as there should be more evidence before we pass judgement.

However, given the sort of corrupt officers we have in Malaysian government institutions I have to say I would not be surprise if it turns out to be true.

If the police is corrupt, if the AG is corrupt, if the judges are corrupt, and if the highest office in Boleh Land is corrupt, then it only stand to reason that the rest are equally capable of carrying out such heinous crimes.
written by concernedinmalaysia, April 23, 2009 17:17:51
“There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear.” To cast out fear, one must put aside his/her own life and focus on their actions benefiting others.

With this in mind then can be nothing less than fearful through the action that they have shown for this country for the past 50 years.
written by carribeanking7, April 23, 2009 17:33:59
The Malaysian prime minister’s office did not respond to a request for comment but as usual our police forcw will give stupid comments that will later be picked up by the International community, read this on star online:-
Cops: Foreign prostitutes not victims of human trafficking http://thestar.com.my/news/sto...sec=nation
much of human traficking is for prostitution purpose, look at the dodgy answers.
written by chanatak, April 23, 2009 17:38:24

Malaysian Immigration officials are very good muslims.

They go to mosque every friday. They pray 5 times a day. They fast during ramadan without fail. They are sure to do this when everyone is watching.

Good muslims don't do human trafikking. They only do this when no one is watching.

So how come you know?

Now they will go amok and threaten to sue, sue, sue!

written by SotPlug, April 23, 2009 18:02:50
Another seditious statement from you and we'll arrest you under Internal Security Act (ISA).

We'll sue you for this! Our federal court have the ultimate power. Even USA laws are all under the jurisdiction of our federal court!

And if you're still not repentant, WE WILL (PLASTIC) BOMB YOU!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by hellosunshine, April 23, 2009 18:25:39
Sigh! What do you expect from a banana republic which is heading Zimbabwe way. Our Constitution and rakyat (especially Perakians) have already been raped and ravaged, what more the Burmese (Rohingya Muslims?) being abused by fellow 'Muslims'. smilies/tongue.gif
written by lynn, April 23, 2009 19:04:43
Malaysia, semua pun boleh. Bolehism. Bolehland. Boleh kingdom.
We are excellently boleh in achieving third world status.

A few years ago,my ex-colleague told me he & friends went to a place in Puchong where they viewed "foreign women" inside a glass enclosure during selection process (for sex-lah). I dunno how "undressed" they were but man, Malaysia is an Islamic state, why is Immigration allowing all these nonsense into our country?

Immigration cannot be "unaware" - we have had illegal Indons since the 80s, these were & still are criminals & many of them now hold red ICs although a few of them told me, their loyalties still rest with Indonesia. What kind of a government is this, giving PR status to all these low-quality humans, mere hard labour? How abt giving PR status to that dark-skinned golfer who went on & became world famous? One thing is obvious, the govt is afraid of talent, skilful, highly educated well-trained professionals. The govt only wants to flood the country with illiterate, uneducated, third-world nationals ... people who are chronically poor and powerless.

Wake up, Malaysia, especially bn voters. You useless humans are taking this country permanently to hell.
written by greenarrow, April 23, 2009 19:14:40
This 'Houses of Vietnam Brides ' flourished & established in Johore state...some set up their House of SALE branches in Kuala Lumpur & Penang
They advertise their HUMAN TRADE thru' impressive WEBSITEs

Village Vietgirls been promised good job ( Hotel job ) to come over here in Malaysia...some been told to sign up documents that says they ( the girls) are willing to be sold & married to any customer ( they ve no freedom of choice - even as old as 65 years old can pay to marry a 20 year old girl )
Vietnam Agents collaborated with Malaysian Agents....who else taking the pieces of cake sharing of profit? ...guess

Vietnamese girls who refused to bow & accept the 'PAID & LEGALISED MARRIAGE"...will be put away ..lock-up in special room for days & weeks...some became very ill...they were deprived proper meals....they had been forced to say 'YES ...I will marry that OLD Horny Man '

I had direct contacts with few of this Vietnamese Girls...How? I make friends with the 'agents'..and I ve access to the girls...secretly they gave me their phone numbers..& Home country sphone number..I m telling you the TRUTH

Why the BARISAN NASIONAL GOVERNMENT - the FEDERAL GOVERNMENT still issued such LICENSE to this Inhuman Human Trade of Legalised marriage
Why isnt M C A...who always want to be the Champion of Public welfare...did not do anything to stop this DIRTY TRADE in MALAYSIA

There re more things ..that Im did not bring out about the misery of those Vietnamese girls

Im very sad...yet I cant do much to help
The Federal Government legalised this 'House of Vietgirl for Marriage '....should MUSLIM Country Malaysia doing all this in the eye of ALLAH ?
Why inflict emotional scars on this Vietnam daughters?

PONDER

-PANAH HIJAU

written by greenarrow, April 23, 2009 19:24:51
House of Vietnam Brides paid a handsome lump sum of CASH to Government Officers

Is this another form of PROSTITUTION....????
Forced into marriage... forced into sleeping with OLD HORNY MEN ????

- PANAH HIJAU
written by greenarrow, April 23, 2009 19:29:16
We dont need the American to expose the TRUTH.....we the MALAYSIANs..have tons of witnesses
written by asiana888, April 23, 2009 20:47:07
Let CNN do a cover story on this case. Many of our brothers here can lead them directly to these Vietnamese 'haunts' in Malaysia. smilies/grin.gif
written by wood, April 23, 2009 21:55:31
PM, DPM and PDRM please investigate. Rakyat may have "heard" similar stories happpening in Malaysia and do not have proof."No smoke without fire". Please do something to check it out ! For a female to suffer in the hands of the unscrupulous people, this is most shocking and unbecoming of a person who calls himself/herself a HUMAN ! smilies/shocked.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Tok Din, April 23, 2009 22:20:33
These are symptoms of systemic failure and breakdown in the administration of laws and orders. Each department is taking laws into their own hand and interprete them as they like. Power abuse is pervasive and acceptable. Just turn a blind eye. The standard answer is "if you don't like, don't come here" or don't deal with us. With constant exposure to crimes and inhuman acts, we have become desensitized. We no longer understand the meaning of outrage and shame. As long as there is money to be gained, it is ok to engage in it.

Why? Foreigners have no rights and they are not accorded any protection by the state. Foreign press and opinions are irrelevant to administration of this country. World opinions dont matter. We are a sovereign nation and we can do what we please.

Even citizens have different degrees of rights in accordance with birth, blood line, parentage, race, social position, and political affiliation.

We have lost our way.
written by lynn, April 23, 2009 23:07:19
Another issue is: why are thousands of Indians,other nationals brought into KLIA, stranded & left to fend for themselves. Their agents took their money (savings or money from loans) & gave them no jobs......

This is cheating of poor foreigners of their money; with the help of Immigration. Tell me what so great abt this country - to allow these extremely poor people to come here, look for jobs & when they landed, they knew they were screwed.

Not a single bastard agent was taken to court. They shld be given 20 strokes of rotan & another 20yrs jail for fraud & misrepresentation.
written by onnetline, April 23, 2009 23:08:11
The UMNNO government won't bother to investigate their own pariah dogs, right ? ? ?
written by CPY, April 24, 2009 10:11:55
This is UMNO speciality. Some PTI can sell, some can vote for PR.
written by CPY, April 24, 2009 10:12:45
I mean some will be given IC to vote UMNO.