Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Waythamoorthy warns Pakatan

Waythamoorthy warns Pakatan PDF Print
Wednesday, 22 April 2009 10:46

Many of the Pakatan leaders don't have the faintest idea what are our problems and how to tackle them. They control four state governments and they can resolve the important land issues facing temples and Tamil schools. They must get serious on it.

By Baradan Kuppusamy, The Malaysian Insider

Hindraf is in a state of flux after rising dramatically to national prominence with the November 2007 protest that sparked a politically awakening among Malaysian Indians.

For the first time in five decades, a majority of Indians voted against the Barisan Nasional (BN) in the March 8, 2008 general election, helping to change the country’s political landscape.

But since then the movement has splintered.

While one faction wants to convert Hindraf into a full-fledged political party, others want to keep it as a purely religious organisation fighting to promote Hinduism and defend the temples.

A third faction wants to keep Hindraf as an apolitical – but allied with the opposition Pakatan Rakyat (PR) – socio-political pressure group raising issues pertinent to the Indian community.

Finally, a fourth faction believes Hindraf should be an apolitical pressure group, allied with no one, out to get the best for the community from either PR or BN.

In a telephone interview from London, lawyer and Hindraf chairman Waythamoorthy Ponnusamy gives answers to where the movement stands on some of these issues and what is in store for the future.

To some of the questions, Waythamoorthy has the “for the moment” caveat indicating that he and his brother Uthayakumar, who is in ISA detention, are keeping their options open on all fronts.

Q: Will Hindraf be turned into a political party?

A: No…not for the moment. We are apolitical. I don’t have any political ambitions but we have many political friends who speak up for our agenda. Hindraf has political friends everywhere but Hindraf itself is apolitical.

Q: So what are you really?

A: We are a pressure group with many political friends. We support our political friends when they need our support. And they should support our agenda.

Q: What is your agenda?

A: Our agenda is to improve the lot of the poorer Indians in the Indian community and to defend temples and the Hindu religion and to promote and defend Tamil schools. To get as much allocation from public funds to these areas to resolve problems that have remained unresolved since independence.

Q: The new government headed by Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has allocated some RM80 million for Tamil schools and has in general promised more for the Indian community. Are you satisfied? Do you see this as positive start?

A: No. The allocation is peanuts compared to the seriousness of the situation faced by Tamil schools, and their neglect. If shared equally, each school probably would get enough to just build a canteen.

The government must come up with a comprehensive, long term programme to alleviate the plight – lack of funds, untrained teachers, and poor facilities, ownership of land, titles and recognition of vernacular education as integral to the education system of the country. We are citizens and we have a right to the public resources.

Q: Is it not a positive start?

A: Yes but the amount is small and, besides, the allocations are channelled through the MIC which is a political party that has been rejected by the Indian community. As long as the government deals through the MIC, we are unhappy and will not accept or co-operate. The government has to deal with us.

Q: Are you prepared to negotiate with the government?

A: We are prepared to negotiate with anyone for the betterment of the Indian community.

Q: Some Hindraf founder members are adamant in wanting to form a political party. What is your response?

A: I can’t hold them back. Thanenthiran (Hindraf national coordinator) is one of them. He thinks we need a political platform to better serve the Indian community.

My stand is that we must, for the moment, remain apolitical. But if anyone wants to form a political party, it is their business. I can’t hold them back, I can’t tell them “don’t do it”. But for now Hindraf is apolitical.

Q: What is the real impact of the Nov 25 protest?

A: The real impact is the sea change it brought in the mindset of the Indians. Overnight, the protest awakened the Indians. Nearly 70% of Indians havee had their mindset changed and they bravely voted opposition, which they hope would change their lives.

Q: Are you satisfied with the performance of the Pakatan Rakyat in alleviating the community’s woes?

A: No, we are not satisfied. They have done little. We are disappointed that they are not treating Indian woes seriously. They have not given priority to our plight. Many of the Pakatan leaders don't have the faintest idea what are our problems and how to tackle them. They control four state governments and they can resolve the important land issues facing temples and Tamil schools. They must get serious on it.

Q: What are you doing about the alleged “lack of seriousness” by the Pakatan leaders?

A: We are constantly raising the issues with them. Having meetings abroad with them and we are going to tell them soon that they had better get cracking or face the wrath of the Indian poor in the next general election.

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by Birdbrain, April 22, 2009 11:05:38
I got a feeling Bro Waythamoorthy wants to kick Samy Veloo out of BN and claim his throne sitting besides Najis. Don't forget Pakatan Rakyat takes care of Malaysians and not just one race. Take care of your health and make sure your mind thinks straight. Pakatan will always be with you and your brothers who haved been marginalized by BN for the past 52 years. So what's another year for Pakatan Rakyat? Hang in there!

Saya anak Bangsa Malaysia!
written by pkrgulf, April 22, 2009 11:06:19
Indian race-based politics it is..so what differentiates Hindraf from racist UMNO? I have the impression Malaysian Indian polittics is muuch more complicated than nuclear science...maybe evry 3 indians should turn themselves into a political party...we can have 1 million candidates in general election...they seem to have diverse and unique demands nobody can satisfy...for God's sake..join BN!!!
written by pkrgulf, April 22, 2009 11:07:35
I will say it again : Hindraf = Racist UMNO
disagree 32
written by Ray, April 22, 2009 11:18:16
Waytharmoorthy must suggest to the government to close down all the toddy shop nationwide. The toddt shop is a problem to the indian families.
written by Jan, April 22, 2009 11:20:28
The Indians do have problems but Pakatan is there not just for the Indians for christ sake, they have to be fair and address the problems of all races. The Federal govt is not helping by giving the necessary funds and this adds to the problems PR is facing. Hindraf should be patient and give them their undivided support. They should have realised BN is not going to be there for them as shown in the last 50 years.
written by Ulan Benson, April 22, 2009 11:24:45
Hindraf is getting more like MIC. If you want to be a racist party, the Indian will continue to suffer BECAUSE you will be treated like 'Orang India' BUKAN Rakyat Malaysia.

Wake up...as long as you keep saying 'Orang India, Tamil, Hindi...Then you will never stop suffering! THIS IS MALAYSIA, LIVE LIKE A MALAYSIAN...NO TO RACIST PARTY!

written by borneoman, April 22, 2009 11:26:08
No, we are not satisfied. They have done little. We are disappointed that they are not treating Indian woes seriously,
mr hindraf,
what about the kadazans,dayaks,iban,chinese poor ruralmalays and all the other natives and tribes demands for the same thing?why do you talk about indians only?you are just another racistlike tuan melayu umno.
written by shamadz72, April 22, 2009 11:32:03
I would like this Indian to come and see my kids school in Saujana Utama, Sungai Buloh. FYI, this sekolah kebangsaan primary school is overwhelmingly crowded with the standard one having around close to 20 classes and standard two also close to twenty classes. Where all classes has around 50 students each.

So please lah stop this taking of Indian need help.. Indian this etc.. Can you start fighting for the right of all Malaysian regardless of its races. Don't you know we (Malays, Chinese, Indians) all suffer under BN? The only one who is benefited from this is those close to BN.

written by kelvin.jude, April 22, 2009 11:32:19
im an malaysian indian n tamil...n i totally believe that HINDRAF is a racist group..they r like umno in a diff perspective..Stupid waytha..when u will ever learn to be malaysian first n then indian or watever u claim to be? nonesense!! Racist dog!!! ur name itself tells that u ur an imbecile moron that dont understnd that there are christian n muslim indian!! ur an Ultra-Moron!!!
written by budaktapah, April 22, 2009 11:37:04
My God!! no wonder Ali Ketam is so mad at you all...

the word is "...since independence.."

Come on laa..give PR some chance. you sounded like racist UMNO already. Malay, Malya, Malay....Indian, Indian, Indian. What ? you think the world revolve around you all only aaa?

Please think Malaysian lahh.....
written by pkrgulf, April 22, 2009 11:41:21
So who is it you are fighting for ..Hindus or Indians..? What about Chinese Hindus or Muslim Indians..they don't count? This narrow racial politics is the reason why we are in this mess. So Hindraf wants to turn back the clock and let this divisive politics lives on? Join BN lah bro..we don't need Hindraf just join BN..let's have real fight with the honest people of Malaysia..the Malaysians!!!
written by wood, April 22, 2009 11:51:31
Waythamoorthy

Q: Are you satisfied with the performance of the Pakatan Rakyat in alleviating the community’s woes?

A: No, we are not satisfied. They have done little. We are disappointed that they are not treating Indian woes seriously.
------
Only know how to complain and complain. Nothing will satisfy people like you. Perhaps u can go and do things yourself and not depend on others. That way u decide and determine the progress u want. PR do not exists to satisfy you all only ! Please take note !!!!!! smilies/wink.gif
written by Aduh, April 22, 2009 12:13:53
Moorthy, come down to earth. Dont expect miracles from PR. You know the constraints imposed by beEND ? Don't think of your own race only. Be a true Malaysian.
written by carribeanking7, April 22, 2009 12:19:05
Go back to the basics, Hindraf stands for Hindu Rights action force, be a pressure group when it comes to matters pertaining to temples, HINDRAF came to prominence because of the temple demolition issues mostly, because they felt Hindu Sangam and MIC were not protecting their rights-fair enough, now HINDRAF is overreaching into other universal areas of governance that affect all regardless of ethnicity.

How may I ask are Tamil schools going to produce citizens with marketable skills for the Malaysian economy ?Please dont give me the few odd succcess stories as propoganda, I am talking about the majority who languish in unemployment because of such a system.The Punjabi community in Malaysia do not have their own vernacular school, yet are doing quite well and have not lost touch with their language or culture.
Not all Indians are Hindu and not all are tamil speaking, if you argue that that majority of Malaysian Indians are Tamil speaking Hindu's then you are no better than UMNO playing the " majority prevails" game
I wrote an article published in malaysiakini
Why didn't Hindraf support the Penans? http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/101619

It invited a debate several pages long on various blogs from many interested parties,including Naragan and malaysian heart whose article were published on MT its too long to post here, so I offer a link http://www.facebook.com/topic....#post35862

The answer must be holistic and not more race based politicking, whether offensive or defensive.

written by temenggong, April 22, 2009 12:29:24
Most of Hindraf demands can only be met after a change in federal power and a repudiation of the discriminative and marginalising laws, including the ISA, OSA, NEP, reform of MACC, judiciary, etc.

However local issues like empowerment of schools, temple land issues, the question of little napoleans in state govts, local authorities and in SEDCs who thwart addressing of such issues etc., can be addressed by the Pakatan state govts, but which it has largely failed to do so.! It is not a question of time but political will! I've lost confidence in the Selangor govt.
written by KM Wong, April 22, 2009 12:44:08
Hey Waythamoorty,
You are on the right planet BUT WRONG COUNTRY. If you want to practise what you said please go west of Malaysia about 3000kms. Your mind is screwed up. Wake up or just shut the fcuk up and continue sleeping.
written by lvbala, April 22, 2009 13:48:12
If Waythamoorty is going to stand on where he is now than he is not much different than BN (UMNO, MCA and MIC). The way he is going is totally non malaysian attitude.

When he is talking about stand on the poor and the needy, he must work for all. Fight for all for those in need. Regardsless to all. Not only for Tamils. If he is so fanatic on Tamils than I think he should go to SRI LANGKA and fight for the Tamils.

If hindraff were to let go from this hook, I think the tamils will die standing.

Bros... keep the Malaysian attitude. Lets share this country for all. The hatred towards UMNO is cause of their Malays fanatism. If hindraff stand only for Tamils than it will land on the same soil with UMNO.

smilies/tongue.gif
written by cruzeiro, April 22, 2009 13:50:48
Temenggong,
I'm sure all and sundry agree that the Tamil school "graduates" are truly successful academically and are commercially viable.
What you're saying is like as if all the USIM syariah lawyers are truly successful - the recent expose by the lecturer didn't seem to egree with that did it?

Proof is in the pudding - not the govt propaganda paperwork, mate!
We know what their quality of their assessment is - at least from the 5-star achievement of our Health Ministry in eradicating dengue (and even the recent achievements in their autopsies).
What you see is what you get ...
written by ellyna, April 22, 2009 13:53:16
Face it Waytha, PKR is our only hope against BN/UMNO. And by
.. we are going to tell them soon that they had better get cracking or face the wrath of the Indian poor in the next general election.
, you are going to let BN/UMNO win the next GE??? Its called cutting off your nose to spite your face. Indians also need to buck up and education is the only way. No need to stress so much on tamil schools, why not encourage them to go to sekolah kebangsaan. It will teach them to survive and be resilient to challenges. You are only fighting for the Hindu indians....such a small scope. You are commended for starting the ball rolling for changes, but you need to review your objectives and targets and stop throwing threats to PKR as they already have enough enemies to contend with.
written by ellyna, April 22, 2009 13:56:05
Correction: throwing threats AT PKR.

Temenggong is right... tamil schools are not going to produce citizens with marketable skills for the malaysian economy. Yes, teach them to read and write the language but put them in normal schools so that they can master the English language, a prerequisite for excellence these days.
written by cruzeiro, April 22, 2009 14:04:52
BTW,
If Hindraf intends to fight for everyone, it is indeed perplexing they should have ideas of starting an "Indian" based Party ala MIC/MUIP.

The way I look at it, they have a few choices:
1. Know that Rome wasn't built in a day & Be wise, patient and stick to their guns by lending support to Pakatan so as to bring change - but not necessarily achieve everything they wish for, after fifty yrs of hero-worship as serfs.
2. Be a monkey to BN and rush for the peanuts that they'll be throwing.
3. Join the ranks of self-confessed Fascists like Shiv Sena/RSS and be despised by all other Malaysians.
4. Be hypocrites & Start a new Racist Party with a non-racist constitution ala MIC.
5. Be a "monkey-lalang" and jump for anyone who throws the most peanuts.

Cheers!
written by asguard, April 22, 2009 14:31:13
Try to be patient first... for rom was not bulid in a day... Hindraf!
written by born2reign, April 22, 2009 14:32:01
The most important question is whether a Hindu or Buddhist temple is planned and built according to development plans. If I understand correctly, temples are not like churches which can be in a shoplot or a hotel ballroom, or under a tree (church means a group of ppl worshipping God).

Many temples sprung out of thin air, suddenly the tree beside my house has an altar and gradually grow bigger into a building. So as the year goes by now there is a temple next to a residence house, unplanned. This is not like a family of 6-10 praying in a house, it's the entire kampung Hindus breaking coconuts and erecting statues. Can this unplanned temple be demolished?

With all due respect to Hindus, Hindraf should be proposing for all these policies and procedures, rather than intruding into other ppl's space and peace. Hindraf must now PROACTIVELY get a list of all "unplanned" temples in Malaysia and decide which to stay and which to demolish, and getting the nod from municipals and town planning.
written by picadilly, April 22, 2009 14:39:22
Waytha is not the 1st to be pissed with Pakatan.
even RPK is pissed off, you can see him giving warning after warning even while supporting Pakatan..

Thats how waytha is too. he is supporting pakatan but not satisfied.
guys, go ask people on the street , everyone expects alot much more from pakatan..

its not about hindraf its about delivering.

read The sun to see how terrence feels after fighting khir toyo so long and are things changed for the better now??? yes we demand alot.

but all we demand is that promises are kept.
dont promise if you cant deliver pakatan.

1st lets see them walk the talk on the people's declaration, over to you RPK!
written by carribeanking7, April 22, 2009 14:53:03
Dear temenggong,

The posts in the link I provided are long, I really hope you take the time to read it.I dont pretend to have all the answers none of us have , but we cannot keep doing the same things expecting different results.
Let me relate to you a short story:-
In 1995 I worked for a manufacturing concern in shah alam, the company's gardener who sent his children to tamil school, told me that he plans to send his son who was in standard six for additional tamil tuition, I stopped him and told him to send the boy for computer and english classes,he later on my advise took up a computer maintenence course, today that boy is a man running a company that does computer harware and software services, and employs several persons.

I am concerned and not at all worried about the perception of my political correctness .Of what is the relevance of being able to speak tamil in a country where commerce is not done with any significance in that language, even if we talk about tapping India as the next economic dynamo, the language of commerce there is Hindi and not Tamil.

You are right the is no point discussing the origin of vernacular schools , but neither should we allow them to continue without weighing the pro's and con's very carefully.

Regards
Vijay Kumarv Murugavell
written by agadam magadam, April 22, 2009 15:23:31
I think the Hindraf boys are becoming more and more arrogant.. I was a staunch supporter of Hindraf and other groups with similar goals..

..But now, there are splinter groups within Hindraf and so much dissatisfaction amongst themselves.. Some have even left...

So, if you go around threatening, you won't last long,, more and more of their supporters are getting fed up...

Go and join the PR, and work together to solve our Community problems..
PR is still in it's infancy stage with so, so many hurdles to cross..

Don't always harp on Temple issues... Educate our young, teach them some values from a young age, so that they don't have to go around 'chopping' their own kind, and most of the crimes happening today.. It's always an Indian... Let's begin here.. Right now... You arte educated..Go and do these things I mentioned, then you and us can feel proud...

Stop pointing fingers at PR and the others.. You know for a fact, PR's hands are tied, but they still are plodding on.. They need us now.... SUPPORT... Till the next GE, where BN will be wiped out..

PR, PKR and all the others can bark about taking over the present Govt any time now, but the truth is , it's not going to happen till the next GE..

So wake up and do something more constrructive and practical...We'll be with you...
Don't highlight or exaggerate on the Temple issues, each time a case comes up..
Solve them amicably, quietly on the negotiating Table.. Believe me, it works..

All the Best..

BTW.. I'm a Malaysian.......
written by myke, April 22, 2009 15:54:39
Everything needs TIME..!!!! PR is only 1 yr old..!!!! What do you expect.????

Screw you all for demanding PR to be perfect and get things done in this short period of time when BN had MIC for 50 yrs who does 0.1% for the indian comunity but does 99.9% for their own pockets.

written by Siputman, April 22, 2009 16:36:43
Come on Aneh, u r not satisfied with PR performance right now. PR is only fcuking 1 year old. What do u expect? The scumbag BN is 50 years old & still doing worst. Give PR time lar. Complaint PR can't perform, then what, next GE hindraf go vote BN? The BN can't satisfy hindraf for sure, u complaint BN, then next GE vote back PR? U must be kidding. U r non better than 2 head snake. U better ask Semivalue for advice @#$%^&*
written by cruzeiro, April 22, 2009 20:00:34
Fantastic Temenggong - Congrats!
Wait a minute - Your kid is in China & not Tamil Nadu?
What happened to the glory of a Tamil education? Not good enough?
Don't tell me the scholarship forced it on her .... poor thing - there goes the spirit huh?
written by agadam magadam, April 22, 2009 20:26:27
Waythamoorthy, please.. you don't represent the majority of us Indians... Only a small handful... and it's getting smaller..

The majority of Indians have already distanced ourselves from you and your likes..

Stop threatening, the good people who are trying to bring change.. We need them..

like you said / threatened.... 'face the wrath of the Indians'...which Indians and how many..??

..Just go away la...and leave us alone... Getting basi already..
written by ganbing, April 22, 2009 21:07:42
Waythamoorthy, what difference are you from Samy Vellu, always Indian this and Indian that?

I'll tell you what's the difference. Samy is with those in power and you're not. But if PR comes to power and Hindraf is allowed to represent Indians, then it will become the next MIC and you'll be no different from Samy Vellu, enriching yourself at the expense of your community.

Fighting for your race only is a thin verneer to cover fighting for yourself. After all, you're also part of your race aren't you?

You can't say Samy vellu has done nothing for Indians. At least he has made himself and his cronies rich and they are Indians.

I'm not pin pointing MIC only, it's the same with MCA and Umno. This is the failure of race based politics.

So cast off your narrow minded racist mentality and start thinking in terms of Malaysians, not Indians or Tamils or Hindu Tamils.

BN created race based politics to divide and rule and you have failed to escape the racial prison while others have already broken free. Shame on you!

And isn't it time to stop basking in your tired delusion of causing the 2008 tsunami? The tsunami was caused by all races and not just by Indians who only make up 8% of the population.
written by hellboykl, April 22, 2009 21:46:34
After all they are just asking for Temple's and Tamil schools,
How much could it cost anyway?
They are just 8 % of the population.
written by renoir, April 22, 2009 22:44:59
I think most people here use the word "time" in a strictly chronological sense. Thus some pointed out that Pakatan has existed for only a year, while others like Temenggong says it takes only 10 minutes to sign some documents to benefit the Indians. Perhaps a more relevant concept is not "time" but "timely" or "timeliness." So far, what Pakatan has tried to do is to recognize the rights of minorities, not "take away" any other community's rights, yet even such a limited effort has been met with hostility from UMNO Malays. What's worse is that there ARE non-UMNO Malays who continue to fall for UMNO's propaganda. That's why the process of establishing equal rights for all communities must be carefully thought out in order to persuade as many Malays as possible that a just and egalitarian Malaysia will not be realized at their expense - that Pakatan isn't playing a zero-sum game. Pakatan cannot take over the country unless this point is driven home to at least 60 percent of the Malay population. That's why a full-fledged program to help the Tamils and all other impoverished communities cannot yet be executed. The flaws in our political system can be corrected only in a TIMELY manner. The actual TIME is not important, but the attainment of a suitable sociopolitical environment is. Now some might say that this is also BN's argument, but we all know which party really mean it, and which party has been practising bad faith for over 50 years. The increased aid to Tamil schools in Selangor as well as the large numbers of Indian MPs and officials in important posts ought to be sufficient evidence that Pakatan is indeed different from BN - that the Opposition party say what they mean, and mean what they say.

written by KM Wong, April 23, 2009 00:33:20
To advocatusdiaboli
If you cannot keep yourself civil, then don't write. By the way, if you get your blood pressure up too high, you will get a heart attack and end up a vegetable, which is probaly the best thing that can happen you you anyway. Good night.
written by batsman, April 23, 2009 10:34:46
Some of you guys must be very happy to hear that FIVE ministers have taken a keen interest on forced conversions. Enough attention for you guys? All you problems solved? No need to bother anymore?
written by temenggong, April 23, 2009 12:21:36
That's why a full-fledged program to help the Tamils and all other impoverished communities cannot yet be executed. The flaws in our political system can be corrected only in a TIMELY manner.

LChuah, I understand perfectly, and see the constraints Pakatan has to work with. Malaysians see everything in zero sum games and can't see any further. The area of education is perfect for immediate and timely partial reform, and that this is not zero sum game can be well understood by all communities.
written by fairnessforall, April 23, 2009 13:56:01
Seems to me that Hindraf has not become nothing but a racist party no better than BN. They accuse the BN of being racist but they are no better. While most malaysians are fighting for a Malaysian Malaysia, they are still fighting over stupid things like tamil schools. They are not interested in building a Malaysian society but only interested in their own gain, mainly the leaders gain. Who the hell does this Wathya think he is to make demands. I am an indian and being very open minded about it. Its not only indians who are backward, there are many chinese and malays as well. No doubt I agree indians are not given opportunities but this are the things to ask for such as more job opportunities and licences to do business mainly to uplift the indian community. What rubbish is this fighting about tamil schools. Maybe Waathya would like to tell us what benefit does tamil schools have to uplift the indians. If you are talking about mother tongue, instead they should request that all national type schools have a tamil language lesson so the tamils will still not loose out on their mother tongue, they should also request for punjabi language and mandarin to be taught in national type schools. Tamils schools from what I have seen are a product of most tamil gangsters, so why harp on it. How much benefit has tamil schools brought the indian.

If you really care and want to build a Malaysian society where all races are treated fairly and able to live in harmony which is what most Malaysians would love, then stop being a racist and stop harping on stupid silly issues that have to value and will not bring any benefit to the indian community neither to the malaysian community. And stop warning political parties as if you have power. Dont forget, indians are just a small margin, so dont try to be a taiko warning people every now and then. Hindraf has now become a self serving group who is only interested in their own personal gain. We dont need selfish groups in the Malaysian society. If you really want to sincerely help the indians, then talk about the conversion problems faced when useless fathers wanting an easy way out convert and forcefully convert the underaged children. This is a much more important issue that tamil schools and this if not stop will further reduce the percentage of indians. you dont seem to even know what to fight about.

Stop being a racist group, we already have enough of those around and look around you. I see many poor malays and chinese as well. Yes no doubt the indians maybe the worst as they are not given opportunities so fight for that instead.

written by renoir, April 23, 2009 14:55:27
The right to culture/language preservation is no small matter, or it wouldn't be enshrined in the UN Charter of Human Rights. As the song goes, "bahasa jiwa bangsa" - language is the soul of a people. Even the most primitive people of the Amazon forest deserve to keep and promote their language, what more our Indian Malaysians who're also taxpayers of this country. And the basic rights of a people go beyond their numbers: as citizens - taxpaying citizens - they deserve at least proportionate allocation of funds for their schools. To say that we want all races to be "treated fairly and able to live in harmony" but insist that some ought to be satisfied with less than proportional funding is to be self-contradictory. As Temenggong agrees, equal rights for tamil/vernacular schools shouldn't be seen as a zero-sum game. It's also illogical to imply that by wanting fair treatment for Tamil schools one is less Malaysian, or that one is less concerned about building a better Malaysian society. Likewise, one need not, in requesting for fair funding for Tamil schools, be prevented from fighting against forced religious conversions. Indeed, the two issues - fairness for Tamil schools and fairness in religious matters - are part and parcel of the same ethical/political thrust.