Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The lies that Blogs spin

The lies that Blogs spin PDF Print
Monday, 20 April 2009 14:46

Blogs are basically thoughts and opinions of those who own the Blogs. Opinions may not necessarily be the truth or facts. After all, opinions are...well...opinions. To get to the truth, meaning facts, one has to also read the mainstream media, like Utusan Malaysia, which is owned by the ruling party, and compare its information with what Blogs write. Then you will know the truth because the mainstream media is undeniably the propagator of the truth.

Rais: Do not abuse the Internet

(The Star, 17 April 2009) - The government is not out to find fault with bloggers and Internet users but rather wants them to adhere to the guidelines and laws and to ensure the Internet, which acts as an alternative media, is not misused or exploited.

Information, Communication and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Dr Rais Yatim said the ministry played an important role in establishing that only the “right kind of information” reached the masses.

“It is not that we are looking for fault all the time. But we would like the right of the people to be guarded by the relevant authorities and the law. Our aim is to see the 1Malaysia concept succeed. However, in order to succeed, the facts must not be twisted or misinterpreted by some until it raises racial sentiments.

“If the right information does not reach the people, how can there be success? So, I want everyone to understand and respect the law,” he said after the ministry’s monthly gathering at the Sultan Abdul Samad building here yesterday.

He added that anybody who violated the law had to answer for his or her action. “There are various laws that govern the rights of people to communicate, especially through the Internet. The ministry, however, would not be taking hasty action against critics as long as they did not flout the Communications and Multimedia Act,” he said.

He added that officers and agencies under the ministry were capable of carrying out their duties and enforcing the Communications and Multimedia Act, and the role of the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission.

On another matter he said RTM had full control over the selection of reports for its news segments. He said the media, be it government or private-owned, had the right to choose the news reports they wanted, as long as they were not prejudiced. He said the ministry would only “interfere” when reports are not balanced.

“RTM will remain neutral,’’ said Dr Rais, who was replying to an online news report, which claimed that TV1 was given verbal instructions not to report the boycott incident at the Terengganu state assembly sitting on Tuesday.

Jambatan bengkok wajar dibina – Shahrir

(Utusan Malaysia, 19 April 2009) - Ahli Parlimen Johor Bahru, Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad berkata, jambatan bengkok menghubungkan Malaysia-Singapura wajar diteruskan.

Kata beliau, jambatan yang menghubungkan Tanjung Puteri di Johor dan Woodlands di Singapura itu boleh dilaksanakan dengan semangat setia kawan antara kedua-dua negara.

“Sebagaimana kita maklum kedua-dua Perdana Menteri telah mengadakan pertemuan empat mata di Pattaya, Thailand baru-baru ini dan isu perbincangan berkisar projek ikon ini dan saya yakin ia dibincangkan secara serius.

“Saya menaruh keyakinan Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak dan Lee Hsien Loong telah memperhalusi dan memikirkan secara terperinci berhubung projek ini demi kebaikan bersama,” katanya di sini hari ini.

Mengenai isu jambatan itu yang dibatalkan oleh bekas Perdana Menteri, Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, beliau menjelaskan: “Jika diamati kenyataan Perdana Menteri Singapura sebelum ini ada menyuarakan komitmennya berhubung projek yang dicetuskan oleh Tun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad dengan menyatakan kerajaan republik itu hanya bersedia turut sama terlibat dengan pembinaan jambatan itu selepas 2007.”

“Ini membawa maksud ketika itu, Singapura telah siap bina Pusat Kastam, Imigresen dan Kuarantin (CIQ) baru yang menjadi pelengkap kepada jambatan baru bagi menggantikan Tambak Johor yang dibina pada 1924 itu,” jelasnya.

Shahrir berkata, pembinaan projek ikon itu juga boleh dijadikan asas kepada lambang penyertaan Singapura dalam pembangunan di Iskandar Malaysia.

Sementara itu di Raub, Dr. Mahathir ketika mengulas gesaan UMNO Johor Bahru berkata, kerajaan sepatutnya tidak menghentikan langsung pembinaan jambatan itu.

“Bohong, kalau kata rakyat Johor tidak mahu jambatan ini dibina,” katanya.

Shahrir against crooked bridge, prefers better ties

(The Star, 20 April 2009) - Johor Baru MP Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad is against the revival of the crooked bridge project and has instead proposed that both countries work together to build a straight one.

He said a straight bridge would be good for building better bilateral ties between both governments. The Singapore Government has agreed on the development of iconic projects in Iskandar Malaysia. “Why not build a straight bridge as one of the iconic projects?” he asked.

Shahrir added that a new straight bridge across the causeway would show renewed bond and would benefit both countries.

“It has come to my attention that many Johoreans are hopeful that our new prime minister and Cabinet will revive the crooked bridge project. The public must understand that bilateral ties between both countries will suffer if the project is revived,” he said, adding that the Malaysian Government should consider all implications when reviewing the project.

The Star had reported recently that many businesses have been suffering since the opening of the new CIQ complex last year and they were counting on the crooked bridge project to be revived to boost business in the city.

Shahrir was speaking to reporters at the launch of an anti-drug community service centre for residents of Taman Sri Stulang yesterday.

On the decision to open the old CIQ complex to pedestrians, Shahrir commended the Government and hoped that it would be implemented soon.

Comments (52)Add Comment
written by ibabonma, April 20, 2009 14:56:09
Bodoh No1 (Utusan Malaysia, 19 April 2009) - Ahli Parlimen Johor Bahru, Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad berkata, jambatan bengkok menghubungkan Malaysia-Singapura wajar diteruskan.

Bodoh No2 (The Star, 20 April 2009) - Johor Baru MP Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad is against the revival of the crooked bridge project and has instead proposed that both countries work together to build a straight one.

Siapa Bodah? The Star....Utusan Malaysia..... dan ....Mamak Mahathir!

agree 330
written by Horizonline, April 20, 2009 14:56:36
lol i cannot believe that utusan lies through their teeth...
agree 227
written by Admiral Tojo, April 20, 2009 14:57:30
WTF, Sharir says one thing in Malay and another in English. What is his opinion I wonder. Like this better to read BLOGS lah.

agree 245
written by orangmsia, April 20, 2009 14:58:14
Rais - Running dog of Dictator Najis

Utusan & TV3 - source of spinning facts
agree 166
written by Littlebird, April 20, 2009 15:08:39
How to trust UMNO leaders like Sharir. Say one thing to in English and Malay. Just like Kutty during Pak Lah's time Perak power grab was wrong but now U-turn, up turn all turn.
agree 122
written by sydput, April 20, 2009 15:10:23
newspapers cannot lie.
Shahril must be the liar.
written by sydput, April 20, 2009 15:10:24
newspapers cannot lie.
Shahril must be the liar.
Everyone is crooked when it comes to this bridge
written by krising1, April 20, 2009 15:17:11
Step 1:The Minister is going to declare that shoe throwing is part of our culture. We can throw shoes at anyone we do not like!

Step 2: He going to set up a panel comprising the top dogs from the MSM and Barnama. Datuk Seri Wong might be the head of panel. All bloggers must send their articles to the panel for vetting. If approved only than the article will appear on the blog.

Please send your comments to the minister if wish to say anything.
written by IbnAbdHalim, April 20, 2009 15:18:25
Utusan did not lie neither did the Star. Shahrir also said the truth in both papers. The rakyat are stupid. They don't understand Bahasa Melayu and English. The Chinese don't understand Mandarin and the Indians don't understand Tamil. If the rakyat want to read just take a roll of toilet paper and read. If the rakyat can't read then they are illiterate. It is clearly written on the toilet rolls that anything that the msm media spun is the ultimate truth. It's gospel truth.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, April 20, 2009 15:21:42
Read between the lines.

Not crooked bridge project.
Its crooked UMNO/BN mega project.

Utusan = BN's mouth
The Star = BN's *******
http://kerajaanrakyat.com/
written by wood, April 20, 2009 15:24:05
So confusing, Star say one thing and Utusan say another thing. Who to believe.? Maybe our command of the languages are lacking and so we better go back to SCHOOL ! smilies/wink.gif
written by ahmadneil, April 20, 2009 15:24:18
That a government expresses an opinion without seeing the indictment is laughable.
written by joeawk, April 20, 2009 15:47:05
Double talk by Sharir, one in Utusan and the other in the Star.

Malaysians should not pay for the bridge and if Johorean want it, Johorean pays for it.

He lost billions in the forex market and he did not declare it then, That is how honest he had been, that is the favour he did for us. TYhe truth is thart he did Malaysian s in and Malaysians must protest his biadap campur tangan attitude.
written by pinsysu, April 20, 2009 15:56:29
wat rais yatim said is very true. their machinery will only dispense the right kind of info to the public as programmed. facts will not be twisted but buried for the greater good of da u-know-sho.
written by malsia1206, April 20, 2009 16:01:02
Utusan Malaysia? The truth, the whole truth and nothing but the Truth and Mother of all Lies. So help me God.
written by gycgocnt, April 20, 2009 16:08:30
This is the way of a darnest government implementing its policy!

Within first week of Najib assumed his long-dreamed post, he claimed that media and reporter had to report bravely and without prejudice! Now, the information minister told us not to misinterpret the use of internet, and shows they are not hesitate to use law to shut our mouth!

What a statement by Rais Yatim? What he meant for the "Right Kind of Information"? Is it the information trumpeting for BN is the right kind? Or the information propagating for opposition is the wrong kind?

Besides that, after Muhyiddin blamed Chinese's ungrateful to BN, this Information Minister blamed Radio station and Private TV are not co-operating with them to disseminate government’s goodness during the election period!

Atuk Raisssss, show your sincerity to reform, not re-energize the using of Communication and Multimedia Act!

A good government should encourage critical thinking for its citizen, not try to use dirty tricks to shut people’s mouth!
written by miwaki, April 20, 2009 16:10:31
Ini orang banyak susah mau understand,sekejap kata jambatan bangkok patut di bena,sekajap cakap jambatan tak bangkok patut di bena.Inikah Malaysia boleh,ikut suka saja-lah.

Lagi baik bena banyak banyak sampan,boleh kayuh ke Singapura.Kan negara kita mundur ?
written by arazak, April 20, 2009 16:13:58
“RTM will remain neutral,’’ said Dr Rais.
---------------------------------------------
Did I read the above correctly. . ., or was I dreaming?

Since when did RTM being neutral? If what Raiss said is true, than pigs could fly is even truer!
written by HL5, April 20, 2009 16:41:10
Looks like Rais and just about all the UMNO ministers are taking their cue from Mamakthir. Najib basically has lost control and has no control over UMNO. Mamakthir is running UMNO and Najib is just another "John Majors" waiting to be disposed.
written by Ben Nordin, April 20, 2009 16:50:28
I suppose crooked like crooked things. Its in their blood. smilies/smiley.gif
written by hongen, April 20, 2009 16:58:28
What? RTM will remain neutral?? Since when?? Ever since I knew how to read and listen to news from RTM and Utusan, NST,... then later news from blogs, I knew which media is neutral and reporting only the truth.

"RTM had full control over the selection of reports for its news segments." Rais said it. So, tell me, how to have neutral information?
written by asiana888, April 20, 2009 17:17:10
The only thing damned crooked is the connection from the new CIQ Complex to the Causeway bridge. It's like a F1 race track .... bend here and there .... except minus the F1 girls! smilies/grin.gif
written by Engineer, April 20, 2009 17:45:35
I am one lucky guy because of my lack of understanding in Bahasa I do not get polluted with twist generate by these media.
written by AsamLaksa, April 20, 2009 17:49:36
My fav line is the "right kind of information". Damn funny and scary at the same time. I was imagining masses of indoctrinated people all doing Nazi salutes and shouting "Heil Yatim".
written by Mama Juwie, April 20, 2009 17:56:09
Shahrir should sue one of the newspapers for libel! Make money man, you are no longer employed these days!
written by SamSan, April 20, 2009 18:06:53
What law is Rais talking about. Even the Federal Court disregards the Malaysian Constitution as it had been raped and sodomised for the last 30 years. So now we have the Law of the Jungle which means whomsoever got the sheer power over the regulatory institutions can interpret any law any way they want which essentially means changing the goal post in football language.
written by carribeanking7, April 20, 2009 18:07:03

You are very mischievous and sarcastic and likely to put many satire writers out of a job....stop it...l laughed until coffee spilled on my keyboard.
They say that "opinions are like arseholes, everybody has one" but some of course "fart" in public and disgust everyone else with the stink.
I can see Pak Lah reading the papers now and snickering to himself ".......and they called me flip-flop".

Since we are on the topic, in the runup to the Permatang Pauh by elections - first they said Wan Azizah should not
vacate her seat as a by election will incur public funds and may even boycott the by election as it is "kubu kuat Anwar"
then they said that they would not waste public funds as the money belonged to UMNO war chest.
In the beginning BN said that they do not hope to win but if they can reduce wan Azizah's majority it would be considered a victory,
the suddenly because of arrogance , delusion , psywar or a combination of those factor the MSM said that BN actually could win.
Syed Nadzri of NST wrote a piece that is the subject of much ridicule and guffaws now, titled "Five reasons Anwar could lose " http://www.malaysianbar.org.my..._lose.html
because not only did Anwar win, the BN candidate got trounced, Anwar also managed to increase the margin garnered on March 08.
It is ironic that the 5 reasons he gave were mostly in favor of Anwar , but by some copulated logic of Syed Nadzri and hardcore
UMNO supporters this was Anwars "Achilles Heel".
Many of the mistakes BN made in Permatang Pauh continued to be made in other by elections.
Immediately after being trounced they made incredible statements- 7 reasons BN lost big in Permatang Pauh and more http://www.facebook.com/topic....topic=5449
If they had read some blogs and comments they would have actually learnt something, what Rais fails to understand
is the rakyat ultimately decide truth from bullshit whether it is published on blogs or MSM.
If he thinks a certain blog publishes untruths he should rebut with credible facts not arrest the blog owner,
then the general public will definitely think BN has something to hide.

written by educationist, April 20, 2009 18:14:51
"“RTM will remain neutral,’’ At least have the decency not to say such a blatant lie, Rais Yatim!
Shameless!!
As, of course, Utusan Malaysia!!
written by mamanur, April 20, 2009 18:17:56
kut ada 2 orang Rais heheh lawak2x..
written by Fuminari, April 20, 2009 18:23:38
could this be another mistake by press interpritation??as usual based on umno be end standard for the past 50 years??
written by Fuminari, April 20, 2009 18:28:25
they screwed up the judiciary,the economic system,
they screwed up their own history,the nation history,
they screwed up the educational system,
they screwed up the constitutions,
they screwed up the royalty,
n now they are screwing up the mess media,the communicational system !!
written by lynn, April 20, 2009 18:34:19
BN screwed up bigtime & continues to do so.

Rais, you have just issued a veiled threat against us & millions of others. Just because you are an umno minister, you can threaten us continuously & get away with your abuse of power, abuse of our human rights. Let me "threaten" you gently, every dog will have its day & that includes you.
written by Dreamlander, April 20, 2009 18:41:11
Bodoh No1 (Utusan Malaysia, 19 April 2009) - Ahli Parlimen Johor Bahru, Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad berkata, jambatan bengkok menghubungkan Malaysia-Singapura wajar diteruskan.
======================================================
The operative word in the sentence above is "diteruskan"
One interpretation is "to continue/proceed"
Another interpretation is "straighten"
In this context, "bengkok" was the joker.
Its presence confuses matters.
So, which is which?
written by Hakim Joe, April 20, 2009 19:40:57
Please, please...people...behave!
Shahrir belongs to that group that no speakee England
You must not fault him for mixing up what he meant & what he tried saying in English.
Afterall, he must have gotten an "B" in English in the exams here in Malaysia.
If the person who got an "A" can't speak English, what do you expect from someone who got a "B"?

written by mypanida, April 20, 2009 19:56:11
Hakim Joe, maybe Shahrir learned his engrish in bahasa malaysia ???
written by amoker, April 20, 2009 19:56:50
Ask Muhiyiddin. he ask the press to learn BM if they don't understand. Muh can speak all 4 languages u know.
written by changeformalaysia, April 20, 2009 20:29:53
That's why I never trust Malaysia press... smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by SamBall, April 20, 2009 21:20:28
Habis la lu Star; ini kena hantar belajar bahasa, saperti yang dishorkan oleh "apa nama" si-deputy sherifmudin itu...

How la crooked become straight, then strtaight again?

Wonders never cease to exist in bolehland! Pelik bin heran.
written by Wahyu, April 20, 2009 21:52:16
BN ada banyak "Spin Doctors" dalam mainstream media

terutamanya dalam Utusan Melayu!
written by nanyangren, April 20, 2009 22:25:18
Congratulations to Rais for his mastery of English. Only the "right kind" of information, he says.

Meaning, who cares if the the information is wrong or right - as long as it is the right kind that UMNO wanted.
written by tenukajaib, April 20, 2009 22:29:18
Most people became blogger not because they support political reform in this country.
they support '****** Adsense'
just go to their blog and please ***** one of the ****** ads.
you will make them happy.

http://kutooo.com
written by Captain, April 20, 2009 22:35:45
It will soon be confirmed if suhakam will be devalued and Malaysia will officially become a third world country in the eyes of the world.

In the meantime, countries like China are taking strides in the right direction, just take some time to read especially their declaration on the rights of detainees and outlawing torture of detainees as well as the rights of minorities.

http://www.china.org.cn/archiv...595407.htm
written by advocatusdiaboli, April 20, 2009 23:15:54
Rais, are you really as stupid as you look? I will write what I want on my blog, MY BLOG! I did not invite you or your UMNO bigots to read it. If your hands are itchy and you come into my blog and read it then it is at your own peril. Its the same as sneakily reading your daughters diary and telling her what she can write and what she cannot write in it. If you wanna control the blogs then go home and control your childrens and your siblings blogs. Tell then what to write and get a hard on doing that. Otherwise just shut the fcuk up.
written by Daryl, April 20, 2009 23:38:53
So sick and tired of MAlaysia's Federal Government and mass media (those that are pro governemnt or actually BN's daily print). They still take rakyat as child that doesn't have a minds of its own. The 'evil' US and Israel probably treat their citizens more fairly than our Government. If any of the US politician mentioned something like what the RAIS guy mentioned he will probably be a "pariah" in the next election but here he is probably the her of UMNO's member or even worst BN's members. Just show us the politicians are immature but our rakyat is still opening up to new ideas about democracy or how democracy should work. We have a choice not to take it up the behind but I have a feeling rakyat will be 'dumb' enough to do it again for 'cari makan' again. The next time they wake up it will be too late because the leak is too large to repair on all front of PDRM, Judiciary, Laws and civil services.

written by SamBall, April 20, 2009 23:47:14
How about the super "Malay" racist kaka tua writing in his che det blog semua nya OK?

podah rais, you are a silly bugger, and foolish to boot
written by Semut Jantan, April 21, 2009 02:26:25
Utusan = UMNO's mouthpiece
Star = MCA's mouthpiece

Missing is the MIC's mouthpiece, anyone? Try this one --
"Sharir was both right, Utusan reported that Sharir supported Phaklah as PM then; Star reported that Sahrir is supporting Toon Manhadtail/ Najis now."

written by alfchuah, April 21, 2009 06:51:23
Borrowing a line from RuPaul from the Drag Race, UMNO and BN are full of Charisma, Uniqueness, Nerve and Talent - if you get the drift.
written by lvbala, April 21, 2009 09:49:25
Statement 1,
Malaysia Boleh smilies/grin.gif

Statement 2,
Malaysia Tak Boleh smilies/sad.gif
written by bluesky, April 21, 2009 11:27:44
Haram ke zadeh!!!
Thats why we have such intelligent people like rais yatim in government leading Malaysians..What a creative ststement in his Ministrys speech...so enlightening...and full of bullshit!!!
written by takbolehtahan, April 21, 2009 14:26:54
Perhaps, UM should not send their journalists to meetings conducted in English. It looks like the journalist they sent didn't understand what was being discussed. He or she only understood the words, "crooked bridge:, and misinterpreted when the two heads shook hands or something.
written by edwardh, April 21, 2009 17:49:50
Yeah right!

Najib has his own blog too. But why not lead by example (that he care for Malaysia) by returning all the "commissions" from all the Defence Projects?

Starting with the submarines, helicopters, etc etc.

#$%^&*(#$%^&* KNN Talk Cock Sing Song!!!
written by jonestation, April 22, 2009 10:50:22
how the hack can 1Malaysia be true when there are such thing as "bangkitlah Melayu menentang tuntutan kaum lain"? unless what he mean is "Satu (1) Malaysia Dengar Cakap Aku!"
Bangkitlah Malaysian!