Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M says Najib’s Cabinet has “unsavoury characters”

Dr M says Najib’s Cabinet has “unsavoury characters” PDF Print
Thursday, 16 April 2009 21:53

By Leslie Lau (The Malaysian Insider)

KUALA LUMPUR, April 16 — Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has expressed disappointment that Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s Cabinet appointments include several “unsavoury characters.”

Writing in his blog today, Dr Mahathir said the inclusion of these “unsavoury” personalities had negated any desire to rid Umno of blatantly corrupt politicians.

Dr Mahathir’s remarks suggest his shadow will loom large over the new prime minister, just as it did over Tun Abdullah Badawi’s administration.

Malaysia’s longest serving PM had quit Umno last year after falling out with Abdullah. He rejoined the party a day after Najib became PM in what appeared to be an endorsement of the new administration.

But Dr Mahathir, who has denied being offered any posts as advisor to Najib, had said he would continue criticising the Barisan Nasional (BN) administration if he felt the new prime minister made any mistakes.

True to his word, the former PM wrote in his blog today of his opinion that “several unsavoury characters who had been accused of being corrupt while in the previous government” had been included in Najib’s cabinet.

He did not name the ministers, but it is apparent Dr Mahathir was signalling to Najib his wish for ministers associated with Abdullah to be removed.

“The exclusion of Khairy Jamaluddin, the Umno Youth head who was found guilty of corruption by the Umno disciplinary committee, seems to indicate a desire on the part of the new prime minister to rid Umno of the blatantly corrupt politician.

“Unfortunately the inclusion of several unsavoury characters who had been accused of being corrupt while in the previous government, seem to negate this desire,” he wrote on his popular chedet.cc blog.

The administration, he said, should be aware it has less than three years to regain the support of the public.

He said Najib’s government had missed a good opportunity for regaining public backing for BN by “excluding dubious characters.”

Pressure from Dr Mahathir is the last thing Najib needs now as he is already facing problems on multiple fronts.

Najib’s 1Malaysia concept has come under fire amid some racial tensions stoked by a significant sector of the Malay ground who are unhappy with what they see as unreasonable demands from non-Malays.

He is also busy trying to quell a revolt in Terengganu against the BN mentri besar.

But his foremost challenge has been to try to turn around a softening economy.

He will now have to contend with criticisms from Dr Mahathir.

Dr Mahathir said that in his administration, ministers, their deputies and mentris besar were all required to declare their assets.

“But the declarations did not reveal much. Some ministers were queried by the then Anti-Corruption Agency but no charges could be made.

Still talks about corrupt mentris besar and chief ministers in particular were frequently heard.

No one was prepared to come forward to give evidence.

“In the end I had to simply drop the MBs whom I heard were corrupt. No charges were made against them as they would not stand up in a court of law,” he wrote.

What mattered, he claimed, was that the level of corruption during his time as PM was never high and did not hamper the implementation of government projects and did not result in abuses of ministerial power.

“I don't believe that corruption can be totally eradicated. But it can be minimised.

“From the complaints I hear today, corruption especially in the government party has reached record levels during the tenure of the last PM,” he claimed.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by onnetline, April 16, 2009 22:04:13
Here's an ex-Ma Mak PM who can make Najib shit in his pants ! !

Any comments ........ En Najib ?
written by onnetline, April 16, 2009 22:16:59
What mattered, he claimed, was that the level of corruption during his time as PM was never high and did not hamper the implementation of government projects and did not result in abuses of ministerial power.

...... what a load of shit from a bull ! ! !
written by Semut Jantan, April 16, 2009 22:26:14
under your watch ...

and that man with two Muhammads who carried millions to Australia who no-speak-england -- did you do anything about it? He might be squeaky clean ah?

Cakap tak serupa bikin, Kutty M*mak Merojuk. Why don't you just go away...oh come to think about it, why don't you start working (promoting) Keris Hisap-puting; when Najis goes, Moodin will make Hisap his deputy. When Moo gets chowed down in a kenduri, Hisap will choose, wanna guess who, Monkey Manhadtail as his deputy.

Yeah, please work on Hisap on your long range project, Kutty. Your son will become PM of Malaysia one day.
written by toroono78, April 16, 2009 22:29:07
If Mahatahi wants a clean cabinet from the ruling party then there won't be a cabinet.Its simple as that.It was Mahatahi who caused all the problems and now he is blaming the former PM.
written by Semut Jantan, April 16, 2009 22:34:45
Toon Dr. Man-had-tail,

Your era was over. That was when everyone lived in cages (and had tails) that you could do whatever you wanted for 22 years, remember? Even the Palace could not stop you then.

Now, Man had no tails, we are now civilized people. Could you stop?
written by islandjoe, April 16, 2009 22:44:45
I agree for once with one of Dr.M's statements, except it should be that ALL of the cabinet are UNSAVOURY.
written by shiokguy, April 16, 2009 22:48:39
First Remove the Reject

May be send them to "The Reject Shop" smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif

http://shiokguy.********.com/2...eople.html

Dear, Tun.. have you look at yourself in the mirror lately?

written by balpal, April 16, 2009 22:53:26
The “unsavoury” personalities in Najib's Cabinet, we know off, are the DPM Muhyiddin and the moron in PM's office Nazri Aziz. Muhyiddin was involved in the Stamford land scandal in Johor and the Pilecon Project, Lot 1, also in Johor. Nazri was involved in the taxi permit scandal.But, these scandals were during TDM's time.
written by tenang, April 16, 2009 22:58:39
Another unsavoury character is your son who has shown his bigotry in the interview with MalaysiaKini.
written by Sabahfan, April 16, 2009 23:13:14
I have lambasted this maamakkutty at his website, but everynoe and then his kuncu will delete my posting..s

HEY MAMAKKUTTY and mahafiraun combineed.... YOU THINK YOU WERE SO SQUEEKY CLEAN WHEN U WERE PM?

WHAT ABOUT ALL THOSE DIRECT AWARD CONTRACT YOU SIGNED DURING YOUR TERM?

SO MANY OF THEM WE ALL LOST COUNT...

MAHAFIRAUN, THE MOST CORRUPT YET TELLING OTHERS NOT TO BE CORRUPT..

HOW CAN THEY TAKE YOUR ADVICE UNDER THE SNAKES HEADS...
written by Susuit, April 16, 2009 23:23:16
Mamak Kutty's son has an unsavoury charaters.
written by HamChak, April 16, 2009 23:27:59
I am not saying that Najis is better.
But during your 22 years era, it was not much better.
Yours are worst than the current administration.

All your family members and cronies got VERY, Very rich.
You bail out all your CRONIES, using the gomen's (raayat)money, mah.
As if you are so PURE.

Balik Kelera, la.
Your Indian cousins are waiting for you.
written by Semut Jantan, April 16, 2009 23:29:53
My prediction:

Najis will serve 8 months as PM; Moo will serve 10 months; Hisap 12 months. Vola...we have monkey-man-had-tail performing his tricks at Putrajaya in less than 3 years, this is before GE 13. It could happen, what do you say daddy kutty? Boleh jalan?
written by Semut Jantan, April 16, 2009 23:35:14
the change of premiership ala Thailand style...
written by CM Lam, April 16, 2009 23:49:15
PM Najib, time for you to tell this shit kutty to shut the fork up. Who is he to talk so much. BTW is he acting like the behind the door PM or what !! If he is PKR...ISA already !
written by pinsysu, April 17, 2009 00:11:57
not yet dead and it's oredi haunting ... good inspiration for stephen king's next book.
written by fireduck, April 17, 2009 00:49:06
I TOTALLY AGREE WITH THE TITLE!

And the most unsavoury character of them all is the Dalang behind the whole Najib cabinet!
written by Hakim Joe, April 17, 2009 01:04:41
TDM: "Your Cabinet has unsavoury characters"
Najib: "Who?"
TDM: "YOU!!!"
Najib: "[beep] you!!!"
TDM: "See what I mean?"

written by gotsms, April 17, 2009 02:05:33
well well well,

the throne's chair does not seem so nice to sit in after all?
written by SamBall, April 17, 2009 04:45:08
I bet the kera'lite and his family has at least 1 Billion MYR is assets; his kera sons are worth at least a few hundred each; maybe a tad less due to the economic crisis.

How did you make your millions, kaka tua? Come now, don't be shy!

We know what you did last 22 years; and wish to install your kera sons in waiting; even najis shit in his pants..
written by adan, April 17, 2009 07:39:10
His well-tested successful strategy.. Pressure and more pressure .. until he, his family and business associates get ALL he wants and demands. Otherwise he has his own list of his' own men' lined up to replace anyone who dares to cross his path.
written by ellyna, April 17, 2009 08:23:47
Mamak is referring to you Najib. What you gonna do? C4?
written by Rundukon, April 17, 2009 08:48:54
Its an open secret that most if not all the RM500 millions and RM300 millions commissions received in the Submarine and Sukhov fighter planes respectively went into Najib's pocket.

Najib is involved in corruption yet Mak Mak endorsed his Premiership.
written by cllim123, April 17, 2009 14:11:44
The most unsavoury characte is him and he is advising?
written by EYFF, April 17, 2009 18:24:31
Dr M says Najib’s Cabinet has “unsavoury characters”
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

I wonder who that is? Fat Mama?

Most likely Mahathir a/l Kutty had fired off the first shot!

So Najib better toe the line and control Fat Mama!

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif