Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Hisham on ISA review

Hisham on ISA review PDF Print
Thursday, 16 April 2009 05:12

(Daily Express) - The Home Ministry will ensure that a balance is struck between the individual right and the right of the majority in any changes to laws under it, including the Internal Security Act (ISA).

Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said both these factors should be given due consideration.

"People always talk about the right of the individual only but in any change, the right of the majority is just as important. It's a principle that I will uphold without fear or favour," he said.

Hishammuddin, who switched from the Education to the Home Ministry in the new Cabinet line-up, said he would study not only the ISA but also the other 40 laws under the Ministry.

On another development, he urged the leaders of PAS and other political parties not to make seditious and provocative statments which could undermine the country's economic development and peace and tarnish its image.

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by steve, April 16, 2009 06:14:03
Dear Hishammuddin, I have no problem in you upholding the rights of the majority. HOWEVER, I have a problem when you only uphold the rights of your crooked UMNO cronies. There are 2 sets of laws in Malaysia. One set for UMNO and its crooks and another for all justice minded malaysians. Are you going to be any different from the botha you replace? Get rid of the ISA if you really want a level playing field!
written by michael chick, April 16, 2009 06:47:58
written by Pakyeh, April 16, 2009 07:13:39
Talk while you can.The rakyat cannot be fooled on the ISA anymore. If you dont remove ISA we the rakyat will remove you/UMNO/BN.
A corrupt Law will only corrupt the ones who use it.
Read more "Bila Sistem Korupsi,PM Malaikat pun jadi Korupsi" at..

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by onnetline, April 16, 2009 07:45:49
Hishammuddin, who switched from the Education to the Home Ministry in the new Cabinet line-up, said he would study not only the ISA but also the other 40 laws under the Ministry.

........... try not to ' talk cock ' like that Shit Hamid fella' ! The rakyat will be watching closely.
written by Ken Liew, April 16, 2009 08:20:27
NO~! ISA SHOULD VIEW HISAM AS A DANGER TO THE NATION BY DRAWING THE DAGGER AND KISSING IT IN A GENERAL MEETING~!!
written by ahmadneil, April 16, 2009 08:50:53
Hisham on ISA review !Stupid! Abolish ISA! do what other have failed to do.
written by Dragon888, April 16, 2009 09:35:36
Hishammuddin, you double headed snake.... why don't you jail the Editor and reporter of Utusan that wrote that sedicious article...??? If not, just bury yoruself... I don't think you have the guts....

written by mountainking, April 16, 2009 09:47:13
kerismuddin, if you want to first talk about ISA being used for the correct reason, please jail yourself. secondly jail khairy. thirdly jail Ahmad Ismail and jail all utusan reporters/editors.

majority voice. i tell you the majority voice want ISA to be abolished. How about that?
written by densemy, April 16, 2009 10:11:36
In some situations the rights of the individual far outweigh the rights of the majority. Go read your Constitution cos that's what its for... to protect the rights of the individual while at the same time allowing for a smooth running nation

Get your head out of your fusking holy books which send an altogether WRONG message about the rights of the individual
written by Hope4all, April 16, 2009 11:12:51
Hisham will review ISA so long even this won't be decided after he leaves the Home Ministry, much like the English vs. Bahasa medium decision for Science and Math when we was with the Education Ministry.

What others can achieve in 1-2 months, it will take Hisham 1-2 years. Then, he will invoke his father's and his grandfather's name again, like he is in the same league.
written by cllim123, April 16, 2009 13:13:41
Lock Ahmad Ismail up first. Then only we talk.