Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow What’s really behind the Mahathir gambit?

What’s really behind the Mahathir gambit? PDF Print
Thursday, 16 April 2009 05:03

On 28 June 2002, that’s almost seven years ago, I wrote the following piece. That was soon after Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad suddenly announced his resignation as Prime Minister halfway though his closing speech during the Umno General Assembly. Mahathir certainly took everyone by surprise, as he did last year when he announced his resignation from Umno (and then rejoined the party after Najib took over as Prime Minister earlier this month). Maybe we can recap what I wrote seven years ago and see how far off I was.

Defence Minister Najib Tun Razak and not Deputy Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is Dr Mahathir’s real choice as successor, said an extremely nervous UMNO insider whom I met at a secluded coffee shop on the outskirts of Kuala Lumpur. And Mahathir had really intended to go at the end of this year, 2002, not next year.

“You sure you were not followed?” asked the UMNO insider, glancing over his shoulders.

“Of course not!” I replied. “Why should I be followed?”

“Who knows? You are an ex-ISA detainee. I am sure the Special Branch is monitoring your movements.”

“Don’t worry,” I assured him. “I made sure I went round and round on my bike to shake off any possible tails.”

“And make sure you don’t mention my name,” he stressed, yet again. “When you made that report on ABIM you said, ‘someone close to the previous Deputy Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim’. That’s dangerous. Everyone can suspect who you mean though you never mentioned his name.”

“Don’t worry,” I assured him again. “I will not make that mistake again.”

“Mahathir did not intend to retire after October 2003,” said the UMNO insider after he had calmed down. “He was never given a chance to finish his closing speech. They quickly surrounded him and escorted him off the stage. If Mahathir had been allowed to finish his speech, he would have announced that he planned to retire at the end of this year, not the end of next year.”

“Why would Mahathir want a long transition period? He already said in an interview once that this would make him a lame duck.”

“You think Mahathir’s announcement to resign was impromptu? He was reading from his prepared speech when he announced this. The announcement was already planned beforehand. It was written into his speech.”

“They published his opening speech in full. But they did not publish his closing speech. Why? Because this would show that his resignation announcement was already written into his speech and was not spontaneous. His family was aware of it. So was Daim.”

“Hmm. How do you know?” I was now really intrigued.

“Daim came for the opening isn’t it? But he was not there for the closing when Mahathir was supposed to announce his resignation. Daim knew Mahathir was going to make this announcement. That’s why he did not turn up. It was all planned.”

“And that’s why Daim left the government. He was not sacked by Mahathir, as everyone believes. He just wanted to get out before Mahathir does.”

“People think that Daim’s people suffered after he got sacked by Mahathir. His people did not suffer. Daim bailed them out. The government took over all their companies, not to punish them because they are Daim’s people, but to help them clear their debts.”

“Before the government took over their companies, they owed the banks billions which they could not repay. Now, they are sitting on hundreds of millions in hard cash. They were not punished, they were rewarded. They did not lose their companies. They lost their debts.”

“Mahathir and Daim made sure they bailed out all their friends and family before Mahathir retires. Daim went first. Then all their cronies got saved. And, now that everyone is safe, Mahathir too retires.”

“Didn’t Mahathir himself say that he had been thinking of retiring for some time? He said this when they all rushed up to him as soon as he announced his resignation. He said he had made up his mind long ago. It was not a sudden or spontaneous move.”

“Mahathir’s son also said that his father’s resignation is for real and that there is no turning back. Even Ku Li was told. Mahathir wanted Ku Li to support his choice of successor. But Pak Lah and the rest were not told.”

“That night they had an emergency meeting and Mahathir scolded Pak Lah for announcing that he had agreed to retire after 25 October next year. First Pak Lah told the press that it would be on 25 October. Then, he said the actual date had not been fixed yet but it will be some time after 25 October. This is inconsistent and shows that the date had never been agreed upon.”

“Mahathir has been disgusted with the UMNO Malays for a long time now. His entire speech at the recent General Assembly was lambasting the UMNO Malays.”

“He wasn’t running down the PAS Malays. He was talking about the Malays who got contracts, projects and permits and sold them for quick money. Which Malays are these? UMNO Malays! PAS Malays cannot get contacts, projects or permits from the government. Only UMNO Malays can. He was disgusted with the UMNO Malays.”

“Mahathir was not trying to give the UMNO Malays a wake-up call. He was giving them his farewell speech and telling them why he is abandoning them. He is telling them he is so disgusted with them and is leaving them. He wants nothing more to do with the UMNO Malays.”

“Maybe Dr Mahathir wanted to give Abdullah Badawi ample time to slip into the job,” I said. “That’s why he decided to have a long transition period of 16 months.”

“Who said Mahathir wants Pak Lah to replace him?”

“Come again!” This one really took me by surprise. “Then who does he want as his successor?”

“Najib!”

“Najib?” I could not believe I was hearing this. “What makes you say this? Isn’t Abdullah Badawi the number two? By tradition, this makes him the likely choice.”

“Since when does Mahathir abide to tradition? Look, after he had announced his resignation, he summoned Najib and had a private word with him. He chased everyone else out of the room and spent 40 minutes alone with Najib. Why should he do this? This is Mahathir’s way of saying that he is in favour of Najib.”

“If this is so, why then did Mahathir not just announce Najib as his choice of successor?” I asked. “Why drop hints?”

“Mahathir cannot openly say this. UMNO will never be able to accept this. If he does, he would be lining Najib up for the kill. He does not want to kill Najib. He wants Najib to take over.”

“Pak Lah would not be easily accepted by the rest. Rais Yatim, who imagines himself as an intellectual, would never accept Pak Lah as his boss. He looks down on Pak Lah. He thinks Pah Lah is a nincompoop.”

“But Mahathir himself chose Abdullah Badawi as his number two. Why would Mahathir now not want him to be the successor?” I asked, not quite sure this whole thing made sense.

“Mahathir chose Pak Lah because he was the safest. Mahathir did not consider him a threat. He knows Pak Lah would not try to push him aside or try to take over before he was ready to go. But Pak Lah did not win the post. He was not elected. He was appointed by Mahathir. That’s why it would be difficult for them to accept Pak Lah.”

“But Mahathir now realises that Pak Lah cannot handle the job. You know or not, he never even reads his Cabinet papers. Most of the time he does not even know what is happening in his own Ministry.”

“Do you remember when you, Ezam, and all the rest were arrested under ISA last year? Pak Lah was asked in Parliament whether you were all arrested under the ISA and he denied it. He said if you were then he would know about it, as he would have to sign the papers. Since he did not sign any papers, then there could not have been any ISA arrests.”

“Pak Lah was not lying or trying to hide anything. He really didn’t know. As the Minister, how come he does not know he need not sign any papers? He only needs to sign the papers after the 60 days when the detainee is sent to Kamunting. He does not need to sign anything to arrest someone under the ISA. It is all up to the police. He does not even know this.”

“Pak Lah has not been much support to Mahathir these last four years. When Anwar was his number two, Mahathir hardly had any problems. Anwar took care of everything. Anwar solved all the problems. Now, these last four years, all the problems are on Mahathir’s shoulders.”

“When he was number two, Anwar would spend at least 15 or 20 minutes every morning with Mahathir. He would brief Mahathir on what was going on and what action he had taken or would take. Mahathir was able to leave everything to Anwar to handle. Even when Mahathir was overseas, Anwar would phone him and talk to him for an hour. Mahathir would be told what was going on back home. Mahathir knew the country was in safe hands.”

“But this has not been so in Pak Lah’s case. Mahathir has to do everything himself. Pak Lah cannot even run his own Ministry let alone take care of Mahathir’s problems.”

“Mahathir knows Pak Lah is not capable of taking over. But he cannot push Pak Lah aside and put Najib in charge. So he gives a transition period and leaves it to UMNO to choose, just like what he did between Ku Li and Musa. He did not choose Musa as his number two. He left it to UMNO to make this decision. But he secretly supported Musa to make sure Musa wins.”

“He will do the same here. He will let UMNO decide on his successor but he will send signals that he wants Najib and not Pak Lah. That way, UMNO decides and not him. UMNO knows that Mahathir wants Najib and not Pak Lah. So there will now be heavy jostling for the top two posts.”

“It would have been safer for Pak Lah if UMNO had put a shorter transition period for the takeover like how Mahathir had intended. Now, with so much time, Pak Lah’s position becomes shakier. UMNO has given Najib more time to plan his moves. This long transition period is not to Pak Lah’s advantage. It helps Najib.”

Hmm, this is certainly a new twist to the Mahathir resignation drama. And, if what this UMNO insider tells me is true, then UMNO politics would be most interesting to watch over the next 16 months or so.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by OilMan, April 16, 2009 05:40:54
Whatever it is... As long as the Judiciary, Police and Media are biased towards the government then there is still no democracy in Malaysia. This has always been Tun M's method and Najib cannot emulate his style as the modern IT world has ensured that Tun M's draconian ways are irrelevant.
agree 150
written by fan73, April 16, 2009 06:15:00
dear RPK,

i can still remember this article. stuck to your blog at least 7 years already.
written by Kaneeneh, April 16, 2009 06:44:00
Like an old man craving for attention. He's like a has been Hollywood actor trying to make a straight to video B Grade movies. Who watches them anymore?
written by Pakyeh, April 16, 2009 06:51:09
It doesnt realy matter now does it.Both his choise are lame ducks uncapable of arresting corruption because Dr M installed a corrupt system.
Read more "Bila sistem korupsi,PM Malaikat pun jadi Korupsi" at

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by Tompios, April 16, 2009 07:22:54
Time for Mahathir come to the reality. I think Mahathir suffered to understand his present conditions. The only thing that he can move forward from his present condition is to lick and swallow his own saliva back that he spat on the dirtiest soil of senile.
written by me_in, April 16, 2009 07:29:58
One word to describe TDM is SENILE
written by ahmadneil, April 16, 2009 08:39:51
To get rid of AAB after he have warmed the seat for Najib will be easier for Racist mahathir.So in fact AAB was make a scapegoat for Racist mahathir.Racist mahathir never thought in his wildest dream that AAB will start chopping his legacy.Tha's why he went to see AAB personally at AAB official residence to negotiate a deal but AAB just don't take his words.That is waht led to Racist mahathir's outburst andhe is bend on kicking AAB out.
Racist mahathir knows too well that he can't be PM again but he can be PM from behind and that's what he intends to do until he breath his last breath.He is making preparations for his son Muhkriz to be PM.
written by truthbespoken, April 16, 2009 08:47:44
Mahathir has always been a terrific schemer. To control the PMship, he schemed the competitions between his colleagues. To perpetuate his control over the people, he schemed away the future of Malaysians by dividing them into racially interest groups. It has always been I, I, I for him!

Enough lah, Mahathir, just fade away and don't create anymore headaches for Malaysians lah..
written by CariJalan, April 16, 2009 09:05:06
Not sure if RPK's 'informant' has everything. There is at least one matter that begs an answer and that is why did Mahathir picked Abdullah and not Najib as his Deputy. If he did wouldn't it be a straight forward thing when the time comes for the PM to be appointed? It is quiet unbelievable reading TDM's statement that Najib was too young then. If Prime Minister Abhisit of Thailand can be the premier in his 40s, I see no reason why Najib cannot be the PM in his late forties. The old fox probably wasn't sure of many things. I am inclined to think he made a bigger mistake than he earlier thought would be worth the risk.
written by cheemengwong, April 16, 2009 09:28:16
Mahatiu has to come back to assume as Shadow PM. No choice really! The second round of bailing out his family, friends and associates is going to happen. What do you think happened to Value Cap's funds from government's assistatnce. Where did it go?

Now the second stimulus package is to ensure that all of his cronies and those close with them. Second round of fooking the Raayat's money has begun. Looks like the Raayat are being fook all the time while we elect these crooks to fook us even we did not enjoy it.
written by Goostee, April 16, 2009 10:08:32
This article and "Its Pay Back Time" by RPK is The Aimighty's way of explaining as to how our Malay forefathers came to coin the word "KELING" for Indians. Obviously, the word was specially meant for the manipulative Indians who were none other than Indian Muslims. The word could not have been meant for Hindu Indians as they could not have got close to the Malays due to the religious and social disparities between them. Since common sense tells that only the INDIAN Muslims could get close to the Malays then, is it not logical to believe that "KELING" was meant for no other than people of the kind referred to by RPK?
written by Birdbrain, April 16, 2009 10:14:54
He's still the crooked man with his crooked mind. Too manipulative and care only for the malays in umno whereas those outside umno are dispensable. I just cannot accept the thought that he wanted to teach umno a lesson. This old man is full of vengeance. Egoistic and senile fellow.

He's a walking time bomb!
written by Zym Zym, April 16, 2009 10:35:24
One thing for sure: You don't need a clairvoyant eye to see the future of Malaysian political scenario. Everything is so predictable.
written by teo siew chin, April 16, 2009 10:35:58
so with all the grand planning that covers years ahead, how did the Altantunya bombing fit into the picture?
written by teo siew chin, April 16, 2009 10:37:38
in fact, how do the 'other' bones found on the bomb-site fit into the picture?
written by Awang Hitam, April 16, 2009 10:38:58
Malaysia has selective meritocracy when the Malays accept an Indian (100% full blooded one)to be their PM.
But this Indian-proclaimed-himself-Malay played and still playing with lower IQ and simple minded Malays (sorry brothers & sisters) to his whims and fancies but playing the Racial card and succeeded with superfluous results.
Then the poorer Malays were better educated and see the dark side of this evil being in their midst, divide & rule, ISA and all sorts of rules to suppress the citizen of Malaysian.
Pete, you saw it coming and you are alone against the might of corrupt regime! Good luck to us all!
Even now, ordinary Malaysians still have to live with buying Poton Sag00 for their daily used. Imported cars are a luxury due to 200 to 300% import tax and the dreaded AP fee of $30,000!
written by *********, April 16, 2009 10:49:06
Mahathir still rules Malaysia with his proxy Najib Razak...More http://*********.********.com
written by tano, April 16, 2009 11:17:53
what? Anwar would call Mahathir and report to him even if he's not in the country? I think the other way around had happened. Mahathir would be calling him everyday!!!
written by Blackgiring, April 16, 2009 11:36:51
....RPK, you are talking to Ezam secreatly.....gotcha!!!!
written by ibabonma, April 16, 2009 11:42:04
Just to recall my collections:

Mahathir naik kerana hati-perutnya jahat. Dia ambil kesempatan tikam Tunku untuk memudahkan Tun Razak menjadi PM dan dia memperolehi kedudukan selesa di kacamata Razak.

Kemudian, dia taja Sulaiman Palestin untuk memalukan Hussein Onn. Bila dia naik, dengan sengaja dia bunuh Musa, Ku Li, Ghafar dan Anwar. Abdullah dapat jadi PM kerana TDM meletak jawatanya dengan tak sengaja kerana Rafidah ‘over reacted’ dan ‘memasuki’ lakunan sendiwara yang telah dirancang terlalu awal! Pura-pura patah kasut tumit tinggi! Apa kasut dia buatan Chowkit? Semua yang dirancang tak menjadi.

Oleh kerana Dewan Perhimpunan Umno menjadi kelam kabut TDM menjadi terlalu ‘emotional’ dan tidak dapat mengawal diri sehinggakan terus meletakan jawatan tanpa rela dengan tidak sengaja. Dollah pun tersengih!

written by Abdul Haq, April 16, 2009 11:54:27
TDM can't and won't sit on a rocking chair gazing into the sunset, even at his advanced age!!
The man thrives on challeneges and crisises...! If there isn't one he shall create one..Just look back at his 20 odd years in power...
He fought the royalty twice and came out stronger..
he fought the judiciary and it's still bleeding after 2o years..
He fought the bar council, lawyers and came out top's
he fought the Ulamas and Mufti's were sacked...!
He fought Anwar and he succeeded(?)...BUT Anwar was his match and the battle between them is still not over...He is still vilifying Anwar to this day...
He shall NOT fade into the sunset..the man has an inferiority complex that needs to be assuaged by constantly proving that he is better than every one else!!
Besides he family have a history of longevity..his elder sisters died in their late 90's...
So TDM is going to be part of the national landscape for some time more...!

written by gycgocnt, April 16, 2009 11:54:35
Mahathir will do anything to make sure the Prime Minister post remain in his family. This is why he need to ousted Abdullah and make way for Najib. Does Najib his choice of PM for the future of Malaysian? Definitely not! Najib would also be a short term PM in Malaysia history. The true picture behind the scene is Mahathir desperately hope to see his son assuming the PM once a day.

Najib might be the last puppet control by Mahathir but he may become the severely critic by Mahathir once a day!
written by born2reign, April 16, 2009 13:12:55
Mahatahi knows that as long as the rakyat is divided, he will be No.1. No one will criticise him for his failure in grooming leaders in BN. No one will question all his secret banks and companies and the money he stole from the rakyat.

Although Lee Kuan Yew is not squeeky clean, he did maintain a clean and transparent govt.

Mahatahi is not a good judge of potential leaders. He will kill anyone who is better than him, because a person with half a brain will have a mind of his own and criticise Mahatahi and he cannot live with that. Look what happened to Anwar. Anwar did not want to rescue Mahatahi & Co. hence he was eliminated.

A man who pursues disunity will never triumph. Najis is the ticking bomb in UMNO.
written by Super Admin, April 16, 2009 14:02:27
Dear Umar Rentaka, I am just responding to Tun Dr Mahathir's rallying call when he said: MELAYU MUDAH LUPA! No, that does not make me the most intelligent man in Malaysia. It just means that I listen to Mahathir. And since Mahathir said MELAYU MUDAH LUPA, then I have to keep flogging a dead horse lest that dead horse suddenly get back up on its feet again. MELAYU MUDAH LUPA bro, MELAYU MUDAH LUPA.
written by Fuminari, April 16, 2009 14:59:09
when all malaysian are ok,it would be then not ok for mahatahi!
hence,mahatahi mut make sure there's always not ok for malaysian so that he would remains ok !
as far as the rakyat are remain not ok with each other ,as such najis,mahatahi n all the cronies from the umno be end goons would not become n enjoy the same fate as that taiwan's 'chen sui bian'!!
written by scottthong, April 16, 2009 15:44:57

From http://scottthong.*********.co...ra-sequel/
written by Just Gan, April 16, 2009 18:12:26
Mahathir may have won in all the battles at home - against Badawi, Anwar, Razaleigh, the Great Tengku, Husssein Onn, Musa, Royalty, Judiciary, etc., etc. But he has also lost in ALL his battles against Lee Kwan Yew. That's the real Mahathir, the biggest winner (bully) at home and a total looser away from Malaysia.
written by Khan, April 16, 2009 23:28:15
This article takes me back the memory lane. Though it's already seven years, every sentence of this article is still fresh in my memory!

RPK! You are great! I will agree with you in all things except when you talk about religion...
written by Anti Relon, April 17, 2009 15:39:49
Tun M is not the prime minister. Let us all remember it. But Najib does not know. Can someone tell Najib he is the Prime Minister.
Yesterday there was a photo of Proton's new invention/creation. Guess who was there!!! Te big M himself. What the hell was he doing there?
Malaysia Today should not waste its pahes on the man who never was.
There are other important issues, say the economy, poverty, chldren without food, children needing medication and all those social issues.
written by cheekhiaw, April 18, 2009 13:34:46
Scotthong, Nice pic of a 70 year old cry baby Bapa Pencuri Malaysia.