|
Present day Malaysia, where and how effective is the People Power?
{mosgoogle right} Continues belligerent attitude of the ruling government where civil participants face illegal sanctions, detained and prosecuted at the will of the ruling administration as often as possible and as and when they wish. Civic consciousness and public accountable issues raised but eventually swept under the carpet by repressive apparatus through fear and intimidation. Where is this leading to?. Before an episode is closed, another can of worm opens. Endless tales of juicy stories for the Kedai Mamak. At least since Gandhism, we have witnessed the rise of people's power in various forms in various countries such as People Power revolution in the Philippines in the 80' where they withdraw consent. In the same decade, Chile faced with torture, intimidation & fear was defeated by a plebiscite nonviolent campaign ratifying Pinochet's rule. The Soviet military invasion by force on Czechoslovakia in 1968 was responded with non violent resistance to thwart Soviet objectives and of course the present day Kenya in it's own malaise. The list is enless. Indeed, the past century, there has been a remarkable upsurge in nonviolent - People Power insurrections against autocratic ruling administration under the guise of democracy. The People Power, provided it has the "collective will" had eventually overthrown or alternatively forced substantial reforms in most countries, and had seriously challenged other despots. This is indeed a testament to the power of civilian resistance in a non violent way, ie People Power. Prevailing system and mechanism is man made for people to create an equal, stable and harmonious society. Leaders and ruling administration are elected to adhere with that consciousness and fairness in maintaining this system for the enhancement of the society as a whole. However, power, cronyism, nepotism, patronage creeps into the elected representatives and these elements discord their perception of the People's Power who placed them. People Power by their consent creates this political power who are then able to influence anything and everything in the pretext of society well beingness. People Power knows it is wrong but what can they do, they have their bread and butter to look after!!. This power derived by the ruling administration comes from unsung continues conformity, unrelenting collective consent and obedience of the People's Power for or by intimidation of fear, self interest, moral obligation, habit, isolation, and false obesience. People Power, needs to know for themselves that it is high time, and they need to withdraw their collective consent individually. The power of the ruling administration will and shall diminish if the People Power exercise their "collective will" to play a more active role as we lately had witnessed through non violent methods ie rallies, boycott the main media, rather than continuing to hinge on the fence. People Power consent can only be sustain if the society collectivelty have the "will" without fear to move away and conceptualize the role and events of social activities that transpires the society's struggle at large as a society and for the society that we live in. Campaigns to elucidate the regression of the nation and society instigated by individuals and groups are in futile if People Power continue to judge and question the notion. Any concerted efforts do not necessarily have to be obvious and expect immediate result but to enhance and educate our thoughts to stir the "will" to exercise People Power to bring along a change hopefully in the future and for the future. It maybe a non recognized effort for fruit of the future but these ultra vires individuals and groups have the "will". This "will" is not taught in books or theorized. This is the "will" of experience, just and conscious thoughts for the society. Do we individually have this "will". My guess is as good as yours!!!! As People Power,with the "will" individually and undivided for a collective direction, we only have to practice social defense by our own defiance at our disposal, a non agression, a non–consenting social society that has the " collective will" to move the social defense. In order for us to achieve this, we need individual objectives (with sacrifices) that are coherent collectivelty for the society. This can only be achieved if we are and able to think at the grassroot level to comprehend and of course at the expense of our own lost & experience decide when it happens rather than waiting in the sideline for it to occur. The Royal Commission that is currently in place is another farce that the media may or may not trumpet its glory on for the independence of the nation. For me and you, another melodrama, waste of public money and another episode in Bolehland. Another predicatable result. For me, I think we should just boycott it!!! ie social defense without breaking the law. Imagine the coverage!!! You and me know that nothing constructive will prevail nor change unless, the People Power actually exercise their individual rights collectively to voice their dissident in social defense in a more progressive manner. We are such novices in the art of manipulation but when the "will" and motivation is right collectively, conversely we can be the Masters as oppose to the chosen few. We need to heed from our lessons rather continuing in partaking in a nonchalant way as it is a typical Bolehland for the privileged ones. Privilege imposes a conscious and just feeling for the responsibility that holds steadfast to the society at large. This privilege now at your level as an individual if used effectively rather than in a "Kedai Mamak" gossip, can turn into People Power that is much warranted for the society as the momentum is right. Do we have it in us as a society as being Malaysian or are we are on our own agenda?. This Power Power is only applicable and possible if all of us can view beyond a static picture of society to examine tensions, frictions, contradictions and struggles collectively for the Malaysian society irrespective of color, race, creed, religion. The People's Power is priceless provided we know how to exercise it. It is only vain if we chose it to be vain, as nothing is lost or a decisive cause until individually we can decide collectively for the betterment of our society. People Power prevails and it is priceless. To spare all the eloquent commentors in RPK , to save all their precious time in commendablity and criticism, it is not past practice that defines us but what and how we can bring along a change with our "subjective will" collectively to muster the People Power to achieve what is good for our lovable society- Malaysian. Change the mindset. By R. Shan (human being)
|
-----------------------------------------------------------
Best statement i have ever come across in Malaysia Today after following this site for the past 3 months