Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow The face of a ticking time bomb

The face of a ticking time bomb PDF Print
Tuesday, 14 April 2009 08:27

ALL'S not well in Parti Keadilan Rakyat. And a series of email exchanges among key people in the party late last week tells the whole story.

By Syed Nadzri (NST)

They prove that the cracks are clearly widening over the fate of its elected representative Elizabeth Wong and whether she should cease to hold public office following the circulation of some intimate pictures of her on the Internet.

One side, apparently with the backing of Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim, wants Wong to stay while the other argues she will be a liability if she stays and, therefore, there should be a by-election in Bukit Lanjan.

It has been two months since the matter was exposed and it is turning into a relentless nightmare with news that more pictures of the state assemblywoman, who is a Selangor executive councillor, are coming out.

The heated email exchanges which were also circulated to some party members provided a big clue to the growing restlessness and a potentially disastrous split. It's more than a crack actually. It's a time bomb, I think.

One message said to be from the PKR parliamentary secretariat, among other things, mentioned: "The Selangor exco will meet next week to decide on Elizabeth Wong's position as exco member and Adun (elected rep). We the residents of Bukit Lanjan, community groups and NGOs are gathering this Sunday to send a firm message to the state government that: we want Eli Wong back in the exco & Adun."

The gathering did take place in Bandar Utama, Petaling Jaya, as scheduled two days ago attended by representatives of eight residents' associations who held banners and placards in support of her holding on to the positions.

And this added more blast power to the powder-keg since there were objections earlier to the stand, as evident from one of the responses to the above email. It came from a member of parliament:

"Dear all, I thought PKR has made a stand over this issue as briefed to us MPs by Ketua Umum when the issue cropped up. I think the party should make its stand clear or are we MPs allowed to act according to our own conscience? Please give us MPs clear instructions as I hope no outside party will take advantage of the different stand to be taken by individual MPs (if it happens). I shall abide by the decision of the party leadership after consultation with us MPs. TQ."

The term Ketua Umum above needs no elaboration as it is the party title that goes with parliamentary opposition leader and de facto PKR and Pakatan Rakyat chief Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

And the above email exchanges appear to have riled him, as gathered from the tone of this admonition which purportedly came from him and was circulated by email to the relevant parties:

"Tk. Saya telah menegur tindakan yang diambil oleh sekretariat parlimen tanpa merujuk kpd pimpinan. Sewajarnya mereka memohon penjelasan dan tidak mempersulit keadaan! Suasana yang dikira reda jika dihangatkan akan memberi ruang kpd musuh menyerang lagi!" (Thank you. I have censured the action taken by the parliamentary secretariat without consulting the leadership. They should have sought clarification and not complicate matters! A calm situation if heated up will provide room for the enemy to strike again!)

Wong, 38, has been at the centre of the storm since February when intimate pictures of her posted on the Internet became everyone's talking point. She offered to resign, first as state exco member and then as state assemblywoman as well.

It is learnt that PKR's political bureau chaired by Anwar, at a meeting when the issue first erupted, agreed then that it was best for Wong to resign in view of the probability of more of such pictures of her emerging in cyberspace and that this would be a liability to the party and opposition.

The party, however, has yet to officially accept her resignation after telling her to go on indefinite leave.

In news reports last week, Khalid was quoted as saying that Wong's position as executive councillor and assemblywoman would only be decided tomorrow, as her leave had been extended until then.

But many people know that the menteri besar prefers not to allow her to vacate her seat. And this is the time-bomb ticking away in PKR.

First of all, it exposes another chink in the party's armour as it comes in the wake of corruption allegations against its Penang frontman, former deputy chief minister I Mohammad Fairus Khairuddin, after the defection of two of its assemblymen in Perak that caused the state government to fall and talk that one or two other elected representatives might defect in Selangor.

Second, the problems also affect PKR's relations with its allies in Pakatan Rakyat.

Third, it exposes the fact that many in the PKR ranks now see things in a different light now after the results of March 8 last year. In the 12th general election, the party had to scrape the barrel to find candidates to stand. And the result was some questionable characters holding office.

After the watershed polls, suddenly everyone wants to contest and they don't mind Wong quitting to pave the way for many others waiting in line.

This message came through my phone yesterday: "The public can expect more leaks on her lifestyle and it now looks like Anwar is covering and deluding the public like she's a victim."

Tick, tick tick.....

written by LILIN, April 14, 2009 08:31:39
http://wfol.tv/index.php?optio...0&Itemid=1

Elizabeth can go...more PR leaders will come. There will be elections...but the bar is set toooo high for BN.
written by Engineer, April 14, 2009 08:32:04
if everyone that has been framed and set up by someone they trust is a liability to the party, then the door of exploitation is opened for the rich, notorious and unscrupulous.
written by loosecannon, April 14, 2009 08:32:46
Another piece of shit from NST.
written by johanssm, April 14, 2009 08:34:03
Are the photos of PKR's Eli Wong considered as bigger shit than the actions of PKR 's MP from Kulim who barges in the forum?
But i take note that the article were written by the New Shit Times by a certai Shit Najis.
written by wood, April 14, 2009 08:38:34
What is wrong to agree to disagree ? Isn't it better than to have a bunch of "YES" man? smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by mvivek, April 14, 2009 08:41:56
So now they are using NST to stir up the Eli Wong issue and start another Perak fiasco in Selangor! NST IS SHIT!!!
written by ibabonma, April 14, 2009 09:05:19
Don't listen to this Umno goon, Syed Nadzri (NST)
written by Counterpointer, April 14, 2009 09:05:38
Only shitbrained prostitutes like this writer would refuse to realise that the real time bomb is in UMNO, ticking to this final moments with the eNd in the RAHMAN prophesy.

written by lynn, April 14, 2009 09:08:53
Yes, NST is full of shit. In fact, they are really unethical & behaving like smart alec, smartass. Somebody shld wear metal boots & kick their balls. Why don't NST talk abt the RM5.1 million salary that Rozali is getting as "chief" of Syabas?

Is his capability so great, better than LKY or other PMs in the region that he is higher paid than the BEST? This smells like a dead rat called corruption. Furthermore, why don't media whores like NST talk abt how the federal govt intends to screw tax-payers & the poor by telling Selangor state govt under TS Khalid Ibrahim to bear the burden of Syabas of RM4billion plus of liability as well?

Why don't people realise PR states run by PR state govts are a million times better than BN run states? Why can't they see the lack of corruption in these states?

Or does these useless eaters called bn voters prefer to have Malaysia under continued corruption forever? Everything has limits including genius, but we can't say that abt stupidity.
written by kc respect, April 14, 2009 09:15:32
Well, this piece of shit ended with "tick, tick, tick", perhaps before writing this shit was probably "LICK, LICK LICK" somebody's dick, dick, dick.
written by smeagrooo, April 14, 2009 09:47:46
what ELi did is non of our business as she did not PLUNDER nor RAPE the rakyat's money! Unlike some MPs we know who has no shame in robbing the rakyat. WHat the writer says is correct. EVery PKR member is looking for Eli to resign so that one of them can contest in the by-election as they thought it is a sure win thing for them. A win to power n money perhaps. They think that the rakyat will really vote for any tom's dick is hairy as long as they are not from BN.

Politics is dirty. Are they really fighting for the rakyat? Over to you PKR!
written by ROBERTNGTG, April 14, 2009 10:01:36
One side, apparently with the backing of Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim, wants Wong to stay while the other argues she will be a liability if she stays and, therefore, there should be a by-election in Bukit Lanjan.

KHALID, JUST GO AHEAD AND DECLARE SEAT VACANT AND GO FOR BY ELECTION.
THE RAKYAT WILL ENSURE ANOTHER PR VICTORY. TELL DSAI TO GET SOMEONE CLEAN
AND HONEST SO THE AMENO GOONS WILL NOT PASTE THEIR SHIT ON THE CANDIDATE
written by myke, April 14, 2009 10:09:54
Your call this "time bomb" ..??? just because they "communicated and voiced" their differences.???

This NST is a bigge shit than i tot..
written by krising1, April 14, 2009 10:21:58
Remove the scales from your eyes. Eli did not commit the crime. She is a victim. Why punish the victim. Expect other pictures to be released. Why are behaving like we are in Victorian times? The same people who are making all the hoo-ha have no qualms about watching porns whenever they have a chance. The one caught with porn is still a pilot with MAS. No one is making noise about that. Stand up, face them and take them on. Never give up or give in.
written by SCM, April 14, 2009 10:37:42
If Eli Wong vacates her seat, can she pass it on to her deputy? Badawi did it for a much more important seat, so why can't Eli do the same?
written by mypanida, April 14, 2009 10:45:11
We can start by boycotting any products advertised in NST and we can set their publications tick-tocking towards its demise.For so long they have been trying to blur us into compliant idiots but we fought back successfully via the alternative news.
Let us punish them and their advertisers !!!
Let us all unite to punish that New Shit Times and its cohorts !!!
written by asianguy, April 14, 2009 10:46:49
"In the 12th general election, the party had to scrape the barrel to find candidates to stand. And the result was some questionable characters holding office."

NST, would you care to compare this against the questionable character of the PM holding office and his Altantuya allegation? Which, would you say, is more questionable?
written by thor, April 14, 2009 11:06:39
Like I say before the worst type of feeling is one where different standards are being applied to you, where then is the fairness and justice? Do u think so call "leaders" in Ameno and its Insignificant Others in Be End are cleaned, not corrupted and working their butts off for the RAKYAT? Why then r they treated differently? These so call "leaders" tak mengenang budi like what Mr Back Stabber wld hve put it, the RAKYAT beri peluang and amanah utk mereka berkhidmat kpd RAKYAT, BANGSA DAN NEGARA tapi bukan utuk ANAK sediri. smilies/grin.gif

Ini tanggong jawab berat dan udah 50 lebih tahun peluang di beri kenapa ya RAKYAT masih belum selesa? Lebih2 lagi Ameno and sekutu yg tak guna itu nak pecah2 perpaduan kaum karna nak mengekalkan kuasa supaya dapat beli banglo2 besar lagi dan buka kedai2 jual satay saperti yg dulu id Klang itu kan, rumah besar tak ada permit yg serupa macam istana, mana dpt uang? smilies/grin.gif

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by Admiral Tojo, April 14, 2009 11:20:11
All the fuss over nudity. What about MURDER NST? Why so quiet? Hypocrites!! No wonder that I have stopped reading NST for over 10 years now.

written by magickriver, April 14, 2009 11:25:40
A Shiite Nazi writing utter crap in the NaSTy Times is exactly what my pet cockatoo, if she were still around, would insist on shitting on.
written by panca, April 14, 2009 11:38:26

MEDICAL DIAGNOSIS
It has been two months since the matter was exposed and it is turning into a relentless nightmare with news that water are coming out.

The growing restlessness and a potentially disastrous split. It's more than a crack actually. It's a time bomb, I think.

Syed Nadzri, looks like the above diagnosis of your body, better to seek immediate medical help, it suggests water presence in swollen test.ticles imminent of explosion?

written by pkrgulf, April 14, 2009 12:28:51
All is not well with UMNO...no matter how you want to spin it...4 lossess in by-election...your days are numbered...stop being nosy about other party will you!!
written by ironman, April 14, 2009 12:57:39
Shit nut'ri... smilies/angry.gif
written by Tok Din, April 14, 2009 13:37:08
NST is BN government propaganda organ, plain and simple. You have no credibility.
written by gycgocnt, April 14, 2009 13:55:34
Just another ploy by NST, the BN loyalist.. Oppppssss, not loyalist sorry, it's one of the Babi Negara component party.

It's not the PKR ticking time bomb, it's BN ticking time bomb indeed. After the losing of people support in 2 Bukit, NST writer should give sa true post-mortem report to his Master without fearful, and not by uglying opposition in order to gain cheap publicity!

NST should ask his Master whether they have any excellent track record assemblyman or member of parliament? Totally NO!

NST, SHUT-UP LAH, U!
written by mikewang, April 14, 2009 14:13:56
It's hard to tell who is the ass hole.
NST or the writer.

It's better for their journalists to write more about the happenings in Terengganu.
If Tuanku dismisses the state assembly, then we may well see PR gaining another state. smilies/smiley.gif
written by Bloodhound, April 14, 2009 14:15:21
I just wonder if the author of this article knows of the beauty of difference of opinion and freedom of expression. By the tone of the article, it seems that the author is more inclined to BN style of leadership where dissent is not allowed and only UMNO can make the decision - without consultation and without discussions!

Wake up, it's now year 2009 and forward looking parties are more comfortable with thoroughly trashing out issues before decisions are made. This way, dissent is always healthy as it allows for all factors, issues and matters to be thoroughly discussed and analysed before any decision is arrived at. Such decisions are usually better decisions and for anyone to see such healthy dissents as split amongst the party is just a foolish conclusion or is just another spin to try to engineer dissatisfaction amongst the members. My conclusion? Just another brainless/narrow minded analysis by a self proclaimed reporter.....albeit, a NST reporter!