Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Gerakan squeezes Pakatan over Fairus

Gerakan squeezes Pakatan over Fairus PDF Print
Monday, 13 April 2009 16:40
By Lee Wei Lian, The Malaysian Insider

The Penang Gerakan is pressuring Pakatan Rakyat over former deputy chief minister I Mohammad Fairus Khairuddin’s replacement apart from asking the Penanti state assemblymen to come clean to his constituents.

The state Gerakan secretary Ong Thean Lye also wants Penang chief minister Lim Guan Eng to name a replacement immediately, saying any delay would cause work to pile up. The post is reserved for a Malay assemblyman from PKR.

Criticising Fairus’s silence which was unfair to his voters, Ong said, “Unfortunately, all the while, he just reported to one person only, that is PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim, and did not explain to his constituents what had happened to him.”

Fairus officially left the post on April 8, more than two weeks after sending his resignation letter.

Gerakan, which ruled Penang since 1969 but lost it to Pakatan Rakyat in Election 2008, has been putting pressure on the case after the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) began investigating Fairus for alleged involvement in illegal quarrying activities.

If charged and found guilty, the PKR man will have to automatically vacate his Penanti state seat, thus triggering a by-election. The MACC submitted its investigation documents to its prosecution division on April 10.

The allegation was made by national PKR Youth exco member — Amizuddin Ahmat — in February, and this was believed to be the reason for Fairus quitting.

Recent statements appear to be Gerakan Penang trying to reassert itself in the state and it has sensed in the disgraced Fairus’s resignation, a potential weakness in the fledging coalition.

Ong took a swipe at Lim for having to consult opposition leader Anwar in making the appointment, despite the fact that the appointment is the prerogative of the chief minister. “Why take so long in getting a replacement? Lim could have asked his boss PKR de facto leader Anwar Ibrahim, to nominate a candidate without delay,” Ong said.

Lim has said that although it was his prerogative to appoint the candidate, he would wait for Anwar to propose a candidate.

In the spirit of camaraderie, I will respect Anwar’s decision on the choice of candidate. Anwar and I communicate almost daily but since he has asked me to give him some time, I will do so,” Lim added yesterday.

written by jayenjr, April 13, 2009 16:49:57
Gerakan squeezes Pakatan over Fairus
-------------------------------------

Hello? Space Cadet? Is there any intelligent being out there?

Sudah masuk ikut belakang, skg mau "squeeze" ka....??...
written by truthvoice, April 13, 2009 17:00:43
Pakatan leaders resign when they are attack by the UMNO with corruption allegations and when they are threatended (recently you can think of many), but any of the umno so called leaders resign? just take the example of ali rustam of melaka.
written by GobloGadhero, April 13, 2009 17:03:36
'The state Gerakan secretary Ong Thean Lye also wants Penang chief minister Lim Guan Eng to name a replacement immediately, saying any delay would cause work to pile up. The post is reserved for a Malay assemblyman from PKR.'

Disagree with this statement.

The post must be given to whoever who can competently do the job. Penang and LGE must lead the way for a new mindset. No more quota style. That's so BN style, which has failed.

PKR must break out of the BN mould of thinking.

Let this Gerakan loser think like (failed) BN.
written by ahmadneil, April 13, 2009 17:04:46
Gerakan,shut up! your time to speak have ended long ago.Don't teach your mother how to suck eggs.
written by krising1, April 13, 2009 17:05:50
Gerakan, go squeeze your own testicles. What is wrong if Guan Eng is waiting for instructions from DSAI? Have we not acknowledged that he is the leader of the PR? You go and talk to UMNO and ask why a convicted corruptor is still CM of Melaka. Ask Moo-hee-din why he has accused the Chinese and Indians as being ungrateful. Why is he playing the racial card in One Malaysia? Your plates are full of filth. Go tackle that instead of worrying about Guan Eng.
written by SECJDM3P044, April 13, 2009 17:06:17
Hallo Ong.. jangan sibuk la.. none of yours bussiness.. lu, bo kang co ka??

Fairus had explain everythings to his entire voter in Penanti already, Same with Anwar Ibrahim..
written by loosecannon, April 13, 2009 17:07:35
Just because eunuch Ah Koon got a handout ministerial post from Najib, this Ong Thean Lye idiot already talk like a big shot.
written by unomalaysia, April 13, 2009 17:21:52
Aiyah Beggar Koh, go beg in the corner for another belakang mali cabinet position, Hey MIC is sulking and threatening Najis, why not wait a bit then can beg for their cabinet post....

Gerakan better to shaddup and not embarrass yourself.
written by greenarrow, April 13, 2009 17:41:43
GERAKAN was born as an OPPOSITION

The old Penang Chinese got into opium smoking addiction

How it got into the addiction of licking UMNO s a * s * s * h * o * l * e ?

GERAKAN betrayed the PENANG Chinese

* Panah Hijau
written by miwaki, April 13, 2009 17:45:45
Ah Lye,it's better you keep quiet or else you will lose your deposit come the next general election.Pakatan Rakyat is the state government so the rakyat will monitor its progress,we do not need Gerakan to be a busy body as we had dscarded you.

Remember,one vote for Gerakan is one vote for UMNO.You do not represent us the Penangites,you only can represent UMNO and that's the last thing we want in Penang.
written by greenarrow, April 13, 2009 17:49:34
The Chinese says 'if you smoke opium..you bring death unto self...if you lick somebody s a * s * s * h * o * l * e...you bring shame to your entire family

* Panah Hijau
written by Firaza, April 13, 2009 17:51:43
My dearest CM,

You do not have to kowtow to this losers and continue to administer the state beautifully. I am proud to be from Penang and have you as my CM. You are a man of integrity and noble to your bone.

Keep up the excellent work and it would be my honor to shake your hand as a sign of my gratitude. At least you and your administration come clean unlike the ex-Gerakan jackass who had to hide behind UMNO's smelly arse and didn't have the balls to make prompt decisions/ actions.

Nevertheless, you must add another S to your CAT philosophy... Competence, Accountability, Tracibility & Sustainability.

God Bless,

Muhammad Firdaus Christopher
written by Sembahyanglahkamu, April 13, 2009 18:11:27

COME 13TH GE
GERAKAN WILL BE HISTORY "HARI INI DALAM SEJARAH"
COMPLETLY WIPED OUT !!!!
EXTINCT !!!!

written by fireduck, April 13, 2009 18:31:22
Looks like the same modus operandi that they are using. First, find some faults, then investigate, then threaten to charge, with the caveat that 'if found guilty, have to resign and force a by-election'.

But, what? Another by-election? We will lose again, so says the BN. So, the big chief said, let's do it my way a la Perak. Let's make Fairuz such a good offer it's hard for him to resist. Tell him we will conveniently forget everything if he just do the froggy dance to our tune. In fact, the AG's Office is all ready to make the file disappear if he agrees to it. If he tarik harga, we naik the harga a bit lah ... like maybe 20mil? That should sweeten it enough. Works with the 3 Perak frogs, so should work with Fairuz, so says the big chief.

Same story, different state.

written by JJ Kuyong, April 13, 2009 18:42:50
You just been appointed to the cabinet through backdoor and start squeezing others, don't you ashamed to be called as the backdoor minister. Mind to your own party business!
written by Firaza, April 13, 2009 19:43:26
MT folks,

Do you have a snapshot of this Ong Thean Lye fella ? Was he previously from St Xavier's Institution ...

Thanks for your prompt assistance.

Muhammad Firdaus Christopher
written by toroono78, April 13, 2009 20:35:29
What right does Gerakan has to squeeze PAKATAN?
written by wood, April 13, 2009 20:44:57
Penang Gerakan, you have had your time and now it is time to let go what you have lost. No amount of talk can bring you all back. Rakyat has had enough of Gerakan. Goodbye my "friend" ! smilies/wink.gif
written by SiHangChai, April 13, 2009 20:55:38
Mr State Secretary of Gerakan,

In case if you read Malaysia Today and my posting, pls shut your bloody mouth and think as a true Malaysian. You have been acting like an arsehole and keep critising Pakatan govt when you didn't realised your former govt is the worst of all and have been operating with so much damages to Penangites. Why don't you, if you truly and ambitiously (isn't that you want to achieve this?) want to be a Minister or Cheif Minister, then you should start behavior properly and help Penangites.
written by Sudahlah tu, April 13, 2009 20:56:52
diharapkan sekeluarga katak ini .......disaluti dengan penyakit aids ...
katak apa ni ......buat malu aje bangsa sendiri .
written by alpha100, April 13, 2009 21:41:42
Gerakan did a lousy job and was kick out of Penang! Now they trying to show off teaching ppl how to do their job! smilies/grin.gif
PR doing fabulous job in Penang! Unlike BN, they welcome MACC to investigate! This show that PR is ready to clean its party of all dirt! Can BN do the same? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by G kembong, April 13, 2009 21:44:30
Selva calls Koh Tsu Koon a PONDAN. Go read here: http://selvarajasomiah.*******...-tsu-koon/
written by yipck, April 13, 2009 22:04:51
GERAKAN SHUT UP!! YOU NO LONGER WANTED BY MALAYSIAN (be it malay, chinese, indian)(See.. NO COLOR SEPARATION.. BUT COLOR INTERGRATION)

The PENANG STATE GOVERNMENT IS SO BRAVE to let its TOP PEOPLE REST And Go if proven GUILTY!!

I will support PENANG STATE GOVERNMENT As long as they are clear and tell the truth and do the right actions!!

BN? GUILTY YET BOOSTING AND ARROGANT!
written by merchant222, April 13, 2009 22:10:32
I respect you Suck Koon; but sorry you lost everyone's respect if you can't put your CHOW-KOW SEXYtary in place!

Just because now you are given a position in PM's Department, have to start barking again ah? Humans with low-intelligence rating holding positions in Gerakan will erode your party further, like UMNO, MCA, MIC, PPP.....the list goes on. You need to sack those who don't know how to talk. Even worst is when they open their big fat mouths, THEY TOK KOK!
written by MyBUDAK, April 13, 2009 22:12:06
'Cina, India bukan peminta sedekah'
Pengundi bukan Melayu "tidak mahu dilayan seumpama pengemis" - apabila menjelang pilihanraya, mereka ditaburkan pelbagai projek pembangunan dengan harapan mereka memilih calon BN, kata jurucakap rasmi MCA.

"Bukan Melayu tidak suka dilayan seperti peminta sedekah, hanya ketika pilihanraya kecil, lebih banyak penaikan taraf jalan dilakukan, peruntukan kepada sekolah, NGO dan badan amal meningkat," kata ahli jawatankuasa pusat parti itu Lee Wei Kiat.
- Source: MalaysiaKini

KTK better buck-up else Gerakan will follow MIC foot steps soon... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
BTW dont know how much KTK pay for his post... smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Check, April 13, 2009 23:59:28
It is interesting that Gerakan is putting pressure on Fairus to 'come clean' when it should be asking the whole list of BN people to do so. I do not need to name them because their names stink.