Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow My message to Royalty: ubah atau rebah

My message to Royalty: ubah atau rebah PDF Print
Monday, 13 April 2009 16:33

When I die I want to be cremated and for my ashes to be scattered into the sea. There will be no sign that I ever existed or a ‘monument’ that I had lived. I shall revert to dust from where I had come. This is my last will and testament.

No, I did not create that heading, ubah atau rebah. I ‘stole’ it. Many of you who followed the new Prime Minister’s ‘maiden’ speech will probably know I stole it from there. I may not agree with the new Prime Minister on many things. But I will certainly agree that Umno needs to ubah (change) or else rebah (fall). And that is the same message I want to send to the many Royal Families, in particular the nine Palaces or Royal Households of Malaysia.

But this message is not new. This message was already delivered to the Royal Households more than 20 years ago at the height of the Constitutional Crisis. Although the informal meeting was not a full quorum but merely those from Kedah, Perlis, Perak, Terengganu and Selangor, nevertheless, the five out of nine Royal Households agreed that the Monarchy was under threat and that Malaysia was in danger of being turned into a Republic if nothing were done to arrest the situation.

Another thing the five Royal Households agreed was that the predicament the Monarchy was facing at that time was the Rulers’ own doing. The Rulers are the Monarchy’s worst enemies. Only the Monarchy can save itself. It can’t expect the rakyat to come to its defence. The rakyat, in fact, was anti-Monarchy, the result of a very successful and intensive mainstream media campaign engineered by Umno to turn the rakyat against the Monarchy.

I was tasked with the job of preparing the ‘working paper’ to present to the five Royal Households. And since it was my paper, I was told I should present it, which I did. At the end of the presentation, not a single of the five expressed any disagreement with what I had presented. They fully agreed and were of one mind that the Monarchy’s days may in fact be numbered.

I was told to take back all the working papers and destroy them. No one outside that room was to know that we held our informal ‘Rulers’ Conference’ and about what was discussed and agreed. We all went home with only one thing in mind. The Rulers and all the members of the many Royal Families must, from that day on, behave itself. That would be the only way to save the Monarchy and prevent the formation of the Republic of Malaysia.

That was more than 20 years ago. And for more than 20 years I have remained silent and never revealed how the Monarchy panicked when it saw its future very dim indeed. I never revealed the story of how we met at a secret location more than 20 years ago to explore how we could save the Monarchy; until now, that is.

But the story has to now be told. And it has to be told because the Rulers are beginning to forget the ‘agreement’ we made more than 20 years ago when it came under attack from Umno and when the Monarchy faced the danger of being abolished.

There are some within the Selangor and Perak Royal Families who feel I do not have that right or authority to tegur or reprimand the Rulers or the members of the Royal Family. I would beg to differ (patek mohon durhaka). I certainly have that right. In fact, I have earned that right. When we met more than 20 years ago it is because we love the Monarchy. We wanted to save the Monarchy -- but more to save it from itself rather than from Umno, which was ruthlessly attacking the Rulers.

Would we have bothered, more than 20 years ago, to rally to the Monarchy’s side if we did not love the Monarchy? After all, the predicament it was facing was the result of its own actions. Sure, Umno was attacking the Rulers. But it was able to attack the Rulers only because they had opened themselves to attack. If the Rulers had behaved, there would have been nothing Umno could have used against them.

This was the message to the five Royal Households and it was a message that was clearly understood and readily accepted. And they agreed that we must watch the Rulers closely. And if any Ruler was to step out of line, then we are to tegur that Ruler so that he returns to the straight and narrow and ceases putting the entire Monarchy in the line of fire.

In short, if one buffalo is muddy, then the entire herd becomes muddy as well, as the Malay proverb goes. One Ruler’s transgression puts the entire Monarchy at risk. So that one Ruler needs to be taken to task for the sake of all the Rulers.

I do not really bother about the misdemeanours of the Rulers or members of the Royal Families. I am not bothered about their gambling, drinking, frolicking with loose women, and whatever other transgressions. That is their business, not mine. Let he who has not sinned cast the first stone. But when it involves the wishes of the rakyat, then I have to step in. Matters that involve the rakyat become my business. And this is because the fate and future of the Monarchy, and whether Malaysia becomes a Republic or not, lies in the hands of the rakyat.

Okay, I did not say I am a noble person. I am not doing this for the sake of the rakyat. I do not have the interest of the rakyat at heart. I am only doing this to guarantee the continuation of the Monarchy and to ensure that no one starts harbouring thoughts of turning Malaysia into a Republic. For that I am not sincere in my actions and, in a sense, I have a hidden agenda or, as the Malays would say, udang sebalik batu.

Nevertheless, whatever I do, I do in the service of the Crown. But, now, I am being branded a treasonous person, a traitor (penderhaka), for speaking out against the Sultan of Perak. And the party branding me a treasonous person is none other than the Selangor Royal Family to which I belong.

I am loyal to the Monarchy. I am not the treasonous person or traitor that my family considers me to be. But I also have my pride and dignity. I will never apologise, relent, or go down on my knees to beg for forgiveness. I did no wrong. What I did was for the good of the Monarchy. Yes, I took the side of the rakyat against the Perak Palace in the Nizar versus Zambry matter. But I believed that the rakyat was right while the palace was wrong. Under those circumstances how could I have done otherwise?

My family expects me to take the side of the Palace in the Perak Constitutional Crisis. I am a member of the Selangor Royal Family so I must think and act like a Royalist. I must not bring shame to the family. A Royalist stands behind the Rulers even if the Rulers may be wrong. And since I refuse to do that then I am to be classified an outcast.

I accept the judgement that I am treasonous. I will not dispute this or appeal against it. And they need not even punish me for my ‘crime’. As a loyal subject of the Rulers I will accept, without a whimper, my punishment for displeasing the Palace. And the punishment will be banishment from the State of Selangor and persona non grata from the State of Perak until the day I die. This has been the traditional punishment for all those members of the Royal Family before me who have displeased the Palace.

In case many of you are not aware, my grandfather, Sultan Musa Ghiatuddin Riayat Shah ibni al-Marhum Sultan Ala'eddin Suleiman Shah, was also banished from the State of Selangor back in 1945 for being ‘too independent’. The British exiled him to the Cocos Islands, a territory of Australia in the Indian Ocean, and appointed his younger brother, Tengku Hisamuddin Alam Shah, the son of Sultan Ala'eddin Suleiman Shah’s second wife, as the Sultan of Selangor.

Sultan Musa actually had another brother, Tengku Badar, from the same mother, who was the Tengku Ampuan Selangor. But he too was by-passed in favour of Tengku Alam Shah, his half-brother, whose mother was not the Tengku Ampuan Selangor but Cik Hasnah binti Pelong, a ‘commoner’. Musa was allowed back into Selangor in 1955 just a few months before he died.

Selangor history does not officially acknowledge the existence of Sultan Musa who was the Sultan of Selangor from 1942 to 1945 and was the Seventh Sultan. The present Sultan, Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah, is listed as the Ninth Sultan when he is actually the Eleventh. That is because Sultan Alam Shah was both the Sixth and Eight Sultan with Sultan Musa sandwiched in between as the Seventh.

I suppose, if even Sultan Musa can be banished from Selangor and sent into exile in the Cocos Islands, who am I to expect less than that? I am not even in the Royal Council let alone close to the Throne.

I am a proud person, too proud to beg for clemency. Hidung tak mancung, pipi tersorong sorong, as the Malays would say. That is just not me. Those who know me will know that that is not me. I know when I am not wanted. If I am not wanted then I move on. And it does not concern me one bit to know I am not wanted. Let it be known that Raja Petra the son of Raja Kamarudin never begged and that he stubbornly held his head up high with pride and dignity.

I have always said I want to be buried in the Royal Mausoleum in Kelang when I die. This is where my father, uncles, aunties, grandfathers and grandmothers are also buried. I was told I would be denied permission to be buried there. I would instead have to be buried in Sungai Buloh, not far from where I live, and where the unidentified victims of ‘May 13’ are also buried.

I leave this as my last will and testament. Since I shall not be buried in the Royal Mausoleum in Kelang beside my family, then I refuse to be buried at all. When I die I want to be cremated and for my ashes to be scattered into the sea. There will be no sign that I ever existed or a ‘monument’ that I had lived. I shall revert to dust from where I had come. This is my last will and testament.

Comments (111)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, April 13, 2009 16:37:37
YOU WILL NEVER DIE.YOU ARE IMMORTAL!
disagree 33
agree 370
written by Sutha, April 13, 2009 16:43:21
And "because they don't die, they become immortals..." I read this somewhere.
written by Rozlan, April 13, 2009 16:44:26
Dear RPK

I share your concerns.I love my Sultan.But the Sultans dont seem to know that UMNo is the one who disgraced and will bring them down.. smilies/sad.gif
agree 374
written by Tornado, April 13, 2009 16:49:41

Mesej anda bukan sesuatu yang baru tetapi kesinambungan dari nasihat-nasihat terdahulu. Kerabat Diraja lampau turut meninggalkan nasihat yang bermaksud serupa melalui tulisan dan cerita.

Tulisan seperti Sejarah Melayu (Tun Sri Lanang), cerita Hang Jebat dan cerita Sultan Mahmud Mangkat Dijulang antara nasihat berharga dari Kerabat Diraja lalu untuk waris-waris mereka.
agree 110
written by Littlebird, April 13, 2009 16:52:22
Dear Pete, sometimes being principled can be painful. I can only pray that you regain what you have been deprived. The bottom line. Money and power overrides everything else to many except for great soul like yourself.
agree 219
written by ahmadneil, April 13, 2009 16:54:19
You are indeed a man of....I can't find words that suits you.You are...Ok,let me put it this way..You are one of the brightest,ablest men I have ever come across.You have much of moment to say to us as we steer our course into the future.For a country to rise from the threshold of subsistence,we all need a genius like you,RPK.
agree 196
written by Nice n Simple, April 13, 2009 16:55:03
Dear Pete

I think it does not matter where you are buried, whether with the Royals or with the People. What matters it where you stand and what you do while you are here with us. It must be difficult to try to please both the rakyat and the rulers in an effort to try to be neutral and bias-free; yet hope that it all ends in a win-win situation.

I see your point, and feel your frustrations. Either way, wherever you are or choose to be at, now or in passing, your work and effort til present, have greatly benefited many Malaysians who are in search of, strive and hope for a better Malaysia for their children and their children's children.

For that, I thank you.

agree 195
written by Old Man, April 13, 2009 16:56:34
Sir RPK, your noble thoughts and loving kindness will always be remembered by us!
agree 119
written by lysender, April 13, 2009 16:56:49
Even though I can sense your love for a monarch system to continue to exist, is it viable for a monarch system in the 21st century? Will Malaysia becomes the next Thailand with chaos and riots because the royal family have significant influence over the politics in Thailand? Here are some interesting observation I have, most of the world most powerful and advance nations have abolished the monarchy system with exception of England still having their queen. But then again the queen have no say in the political arena of the country. I fear that the monarchy have their day numbered in Malaysia.
written by joeawk, April 13, 2009 16:59:37
He will live on forever. The people will build you a monument and should Najib tear it down, the people wqill build you a monument each in their heart.

Nevertheless, it is not time for you to go. We have not change government and I believe you will not go at least until then.
written by ahmadneil, April 13, 2009 17:01:05
The sultans have all along been loved and spoiled.We all have listen to the sultan but now the sultan don't listen to us.If this is false then Perak is the answer.
I too would be cremated when I die and my ashes will be mixed with cement and be of good use to built homes for the homeless.
written by Birdbrain, April 13, 2009 17:06:04
The biggest culprit here is Madhatter Mamakmad! He never like Tunku Abdul Rahman ever since he was expelled from umno. So it had always been his dream to get rid of all the rulers when he is in power. I guess he planned since all along and today he has successfully silenced the rulers and he is still sniggling about it now.

So who is the Malay traitor who wants to get rid of the rulers? Your guess is as good as mine.
written by nafis, April 13, 2009 17:06:35
my heart goes out to dear RPK

"dah berbuih-buih mulut" so the Malay saying goes when we look at RPK's relentless writings about the monarchy [the king especially], the constitution, and what the agong can and cannot do to put things right in malaysia.

i had hoped beyond hope that the current agong would have some balls to stop najib from being IN CONTROL of malaysia, to put an end to our misery we have endured for so long....but nayyy....the evil one together with his bitch got to ascend and now talks about 'onemalaysia' [hell with it!]

what this with royalties, anyway? Are they so perfect [maksum] that any sound of criticism cannot be accepted? Maksum macam Rasullullah ke? What's wrong of getting their heads and balls bashed by RPK when he sees something is not right done by the royalties?

RPK is absolutely right when he warns "ubah atau rebah", and he meant YOU the royals who could have never fathom the struggles us rakyat have to do every single day
written by DontPlayGod, April 13, 2009 17:08:29
Hang in there, Pete. When PR comes to power, we sincerely hope Anwar will appoint you as one of the two DPM's, nothing less.
written by non conformist, April 13, 2009 17:11:56
"A Royalist stands behind the Rulers even if the Rulers may be wrong."

That is the most perverse and wicked principle.

The Law is King, and all kings are subject to the King.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, April 13, 2009 17:14:30
Asalaamualaikum YM Raja Petra Kamarudin

Tahniah!!!
Ini satu penulisan yang jelas menggambarkan pendirian
saudara sebagai seorang bangsawan yang berjiwa RAKYAT.

Harimau mati meninggalkan belang,
Raja Petra mati sebagai pejuang!!

http://kerajaanrakyat.com/
written by teo siew chin, April 13, 2009 17:16:31
YM RPK is King in the Rakyats' Court.
You have always done what you think is best for the rakyat - we can not ask for a better King.

written by Farmer, April 13, 2009 17:17:56
Republic or non republic. The Rakyat is the live of country. Stand with your Pride and Dignity.
written by malgal, April 13, 2009 17:19:54
Just don't die yet, there is work to be done.
written by miwaki, April 13, 2009 17:20:37
Ashes thrown to sea will be consumed by fishes and this is the final meritorious deed.I salute you RPK !
written by Liberace, April 13, 2009 17:32:21

You are the true blue royal of a breed that no longer exists. You're the one who leads your army at the front line, putting your own life at risk like the kings of old. You may not be buried in the Selangor royal mausoleum, but only the dead lie there. You will live on. You're bigger than any mausoleum they can give you. And I pray that the people will have a better memory than your relatives.
written by Kathy, April 13, 2009 17:32:34
RPK, you did right to stand up to the monarchy because even they must realise that they are capable of doing wrong as they are but mere mortals, like the rest of us. Even the Queen of England had to bow to the wishes of her subjects by leaving her holiday home in Balmoral to return to London to address the people on the eve of Princess Diana's funeral. Why? Because the people felt that she and her faimily had failed the princess in the period running up to the her divorce from Prince Charles.
written by malaysian, April 13, 2009 17:39:14

You have not committed treason against the Rulers.

It is the Rulers who have committed treason against their own people!

The have shrunk from their responsibilities just to safeguard their positions of power and wealth. Meanwhile, UMNO continues to rape and plunder!
written by LKO, April 13, 2009 17:41:10
RPK, family disputes are always painful.

A mountain will not bow, no matter how the wind blows.
written by Susanna, April 13, 2009 17:56:13
Wby not the Sultan of Perak apologise instead? He is not God and he is not infallible. Yes he can make mistake. I believe any man or Sultan for that better becomes a bigger person for acknowledging their mistake rather than expecting others to apologise in order for them to save face. Allah have mercy on us stupid human beings who don't deserve you.. least of all people you put in high places to serve but now act like God!
written by IbnAbdHalim, April 13, 2009 17:59:21
Salam Pete,

I'm with you but cremation is not. Anyway leave it to the living what to do with you upon your demise and that will be wiser. For it isn't your responsibility what to do with your corpse after your death. It is the responsibility of those who live. I share your views and I'm sorry you have to face such predicaments. Actually circumstances can sometimes be cruel and it's a form of a test in this life. Preserve your patience and you will triumph. InnalLaha ma'as soobiriin.
written by dumbfounded, April 13, 2009 17:59:46
I will always remember you. When/if I have children, I'd ell them about you and let them read your articles.
written by hellosunshine, April 13, 2009 18:11:06
RPK, No big deal. If the Royals don't want you, your bigger family, the Rakyat, would love to adopt you and welcome you with open arms. smilies/wink.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Noor, April 13, 2009 18:16:01
RPK I really agree with your comments here. With regard to the law on Muslim burial better check with our Muftis first or else there will be big problem with body snatching or dust snatching latter on.
RPK you can always migrate to Sarawak cos we once have White Rajahs ( Raja Brooke) they are much much better Raja according to my grandparent.
written by choong, April 13, 2009 18:16:42
Dear YM RPK,

You will always be remembered. For by word or mouth, passed through generations to generations will keep you remembered. Though in body you may exist no more, but in spirit and memory you shall live on.

It is so sad that your warnings are not heeded. I guess we will only cherish something we lost more than what we always have.

Though I dread the idea of Malaysia turning into a republic, it is to the Rulers' losses if they forget that their institutions exist only because the rakyat said so.
written by Sutha, April 13, 2009 18:27:19
The rulers must not remain ignorant these days with the ArmNo politicians lying through their teeth and swearing over holybooks to hide a lie told. I hope all royals have access to Malaysia Today and Malaysia Kini to get some 'privileged' feedback and common sentiments of the fair-minded malaysian people.

The Perak Sultan must be feeling terribly embarrassed to have such political/constitutional crisis happening in his silver state. Maybe he should call for fresh election and let his state subjects determine who should administer his government.... before the Federal guys impose direct federal rule like what happened in the past with Berjasa/PAS/Hamim.
written by ez24get, April 13, 2009 18:29:23
Even the almighty UMNO is willing to change and listen to the rakyat in order to survive! That is the power of the rakyat. The Sultan of Perak is not willing to listen to his rakyat?
written by arnab76, April 13, 2009 18:42:25

My wife anx I have never said Daulat Tuanku to anyone before for 30 over years. But today, I wanted to say to you ONLY. Daulat Tuanku, Daulat Tuanku, Daulat Tuanku

Please continue the fight as much as you can and we will make sure that you will be in the future history books, I will engage with my children on what is happening and make sure they continue to fight for all Malaysians.

Daulat Tuanku
written by clarity, April 13, 2009 19:05:41
Dear RPK, My heart goes out to you. Why is it that we are not allowes to be what we think is right? And because of you are also royalty you must beleive what they beleive, others you are an outcast? Are we all not allowed to think ourselves and only others can think for us?
written by defendermalaysia, April 13, 2009 19:08:22
Remember a good noble people leave a good name behind for future generation to remember. Never mind after you leave the world but we believe you have left a good name behind for all of us to remember you even though you may not buried in the royal Selangor mausoleum.Your good name will be remembered for many generation.
written by kenny, April 13, 2009 19:13:09
Dear Wongnoball,

The yellow T-shirt and yellow headband from the Bersih rally were sentimentally kept as souvenirs, for the simple reason that I was proud to be gassed and choked under heavy rain together with the sea of PAS youngsters. It made me feel so Malaysian.

I, very sadly, threw them away on the evening of April 3, 2009. I too accepted the fact that we have to forget about 'Gelombang Kuning'.

The people may have to brave themselves up in the struggle for a better Malaysia. Though none of us can be like RPK, there's a little 'RPK' in each of us.

If we value our birthplace, there is a price to pay. If we do not, there's a bigger and long-term price to pay.
written by chronos, April 13, 2009 19:15:38
In 1998, Queen Elizabeth II, visited Malaysia during the Commonwealth Conference, at the height of the Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim arrest, and the Reformasi Movement. Dr Mahathir held a banquet in honour of Queen Elizabeth II at Carcosa Sri Negara, and boasted how he kept all the Royal Household in Malaysia in line.

He went on and on, and he dared to suggest to Queen Elizabeth II, “if I decide to make Malaysia a Replublic – I will be the President, if I decide to make Malaysia a Duchy - I will be a Duke and if I decide to make Malaysia a County – I will be a Count. Maam, what do you think?”

Queen Elizabeth II replied, “You better keep Malaysia as a Country”.
written by mountainking, April 13, 2009 19:37:44
we will see what the rulers want to do...... recently i was watching some anime show on french revolution. well, time again it reminded me how wicked the kings were and will take advantage of its people. at the end, the people rose up and over threw the kings in france. well, can you blame the people for doing that?

written by apa jadi, April 13, 2009 19:47:18
RPK Sire,

Do I read something in between the lines? I hope I am not that sensitive. You have been very grumpy lately over this matter.

Well, to change or to be changed is all beyond our control. We do our part in forcing a change. We are only part of the historical elements adding up to the change. Of course, you have tried very hard at it. We still need you till dawn. The night might be long, but the dawn shall prevail.
written by jibbief, April 13, 2009 19:51:15

Maybe, just maybe, Kavita may be able to help?
written by Milo, April 13, 2009 19:54:22
There is sadness in between the lines. I too hope the royal household will not forsake RPK for UMNO. He has fought so much in honour of the royalty.
written by merlin2001, April 13, 2009 20:03:15
I have not seen any document, nor utterance, nor Royal Decree, nor anything gazetted and or any other news report that you are banished from Selangor and
persona non Grata in Perak. Pardon me if I did miss something here.
By the way I do agree with birdbrain that it was TDM alone and not the entire
umno that relieved the the Royalties of their Powers. TDM went on a relentless
campaign to do it and made himself King.
Today he is back and who knows what he will tell Najib to do next.
written by cruzeiro, April 13, 2009 20:08:15
Don't fret too much about it lah, Pete. What matters is your contribution to humanity. I can safely presume that you're way above all the high & mighty by name.
It is common knowledge whose side the royalties wordwide are, and it is their raison d'etre.

Somehow, I get the feeling that the only reason the Monarchy is on the side of Umno, is becos it is a feudal party controlled by aristocrats - nothing more. Nothing wrong with that - as long as the Umnobility know what they are doing. That however definitely isn't the case here.
It is quite plausible that these Umnobility needs the Royalty (although not as much, due to the people) so as to perpetuate their devices - the needs of the people have long ceased to be part of the equation. You can ask the youthful Toyol if you doubt this.

Ubah or Rebah, Hero or Zero - these are the only options, and time is running short.
Going by events over the last 50yrs, it appears that the inevitable would happen - maybe in 10yrs or maybe about 20yrs at the most.

Cremation ..... good choice Pete!
Anyway - if anyone has any common sense, they would care if their body was C4ed or Kuganized after their death. These rituals are for the living, and not the dead. Funerals are nothing but vanity and good business for capitalist vultures.
Come to think of it, how can I arrange for a blaze of Glory with C4, to "settle" my body once I'm dead?
Any ideas RPK?
written by SamSan, April 13, 2009 20:12:19

Time and Almighty Allah will prove you right and that your very noble and caring actions are indeed in the very interest of protecting the much cherished Monarchy from being hijacked and ridiculed by AMENO. I am praying for you and your family and hope all other majority right thinking and justice seeking malaysians who honour and junjung their monarchy will join me in prayers that Truth shall prevail. I am hoping that our exalted and noble Imam Tok Guru Nik Aziz who is the living example of our beloved prophet Muhammad (p.b.u.h) will join and lead the prayers.
written by ahmadneil, April 13, 2009 20:25:26
A man with immense intelligent!Proud to have you RPK!A waste if you don't share it!
written by ibabonma, April 13, 2009 20:50:16
I am saddened upon being told by 'a family member' that certain royalties are having breakfast 'the like of kopi-O and roti bakar' at Shangri-la even on Friday morning while the Muslims go to the mosques for their Friday prayer and also pray for the royalties well beings in the afternoon!

Pete, I am remembering nostalgically Cliff Richard's "What is there to say....."
written by lampard, April 13, 2009 20:54:35
DEAR RAJA PETRA,
WHEN SULTAN MANGKAT...WE DON'T EVEN KNOW AND CARE, IF YOU ASK ME THE NAME OF ANY SULTANS' NAMES, I CANNOT TELL YOU CAUSE I DONT KNOW AND HELL I DONT CARE, BUT RAJA PETRA'S NAME HOLDE SACRED TO ALL OF US...YOU WILL ALWAYS BE IN OUR HEART, OUR CHILDREN, CHILDREN'S CHILDREN, CHILDREN'S CHILDREN'S CHILDREN'S...... HEART!

ALL MEN DIES, NO ONE REALLY LIVE...YOU, MY DEAR FRIEND, LIVES!!!

CLANGAN
written by sorosapril, April 13, 2009 21:00:17
RPK, in one of my comments, You disagreed with me, so now what do you think?

all along, I am of the opinion the Sultans can not even look after themselves, so what for we sent petition to them, do they care?

a lot of petitions go to the Agong to delay the appointment, but what did he do? even Kim Quek tried to cast some doubts, so what is the use? he is the PM now, so what?

the point is UMNO don't care what other people said, they think they are the master, even though they have failed in their mission to develop the country for the years they are in power, still the Malay will vote for them.

if not, how do u explain so many racists being elected to the supreme council and higher positions in UMNO?

come General Election, the same faces will contest and win again.

DPM felt that the chinese and Indians should be grateful, what he was trying to say actually was singing the same tune as the ex- ex PM, the mamak PM, who used the same tune about minority should be grateful for being given citizenship.

Chinese have been here long long time ago, i wonder why the chinese should be grateful to those Malay, Bugis and whatnot who come from Indonesia and given citizenship and enjoy better benefits than those Malaysians who were born even before Malaysia independent in 1963.
written by Taiping60, April 13, 2009 21:00:24
Pete, you did nothing wrong and there is no reason to apologise to anyone.

How could anyone accuse you wrong for speaking out for the Rakyat.

Shame of them whoever they are.
written by Admiral Tojo, April 13, 2009 21:05:27
My only King is the Lord of the Universe and He is not even human.

written by JustAMalaysian, April 13, 2009 21:55:45
I am a commoner but I am a Perakian.

I sincerely believe that the Sultan of Perak erred in his decision. People say he is wise, but is he wise enough to admit his mistake and rectify his mistake before he meets his maker?

History will be the judge.
written by panca, April 13, 2009 22:09:36
Bro Pete,

A principled man like you has a very high price to pay, and the value is priceless!

The essence of such character builds the psyche of right minded Rakyat. We can't stop thinking what quality a man he is. A man with the Rakyat besides for the Monarchy.
written by roadbarra, April 13, 2009 22:11:56
Everytime I hear the natimal anthem I feel overwhelmed with emotions and get teary eyed especially when I'm alone. My heart heavy and much saddened by the current state of the country which seems to be polarised by political ambitions. The rakyat are the ones who suffers most whatever race or colour they are. It's none like the days of Merdeka of the 60s.
written by MyBUDAK, April 13, 2009 22:14:01
Dear Raja Pete,

PERAKIAN Love You... smilies/wink.gif

written by bexe, April 13, 2009 22:33:20
I have faith in the current Sultan who I know is intelligent, and compassionate will personally see that this family misunderstanding will be resolved, by the family and within the family.
But the bigger message that you are sending is a relevant one and I hope they (the Royals) digest that message. ubah atau rebah
written by wartank, April 13, 2009 22:42:09
No matter where your final resting place will be, you'll live on in history.
You are IMMORTAL!
Our children and their children will speak of the man who revolutionised Malaysia, they will read in books the name... Raja Petra Kamarudin!!
written by raven1958, April 13, 2009 22:57:41
Hello RPK...As far as the general public go....the Monarchy died years ago....

They are nothing more then puppets really...boneka if you like ....but well fed and dolled up bonekas......it's a symbol...a symbol that had it's age and time...but today they are irrelevant.....like dinosaurs they will fade away...and that fate is not for you....like Churchill, Marx, Roosevelt....a man will only be remembered for his stripes ..never for his blue blood....
written by DezMalaysia, April 13, 2009 23:06:15
Our country is going to embrace the impact of global financial crisis. Last Saturday, I saw a ruler's wife escorted by plenty of police & rela personnels going around Jonker Walk for shopping spree.

I thought I would see our ruler going around shaking hands with Malaysian commoners & foreign tourists, NO ! I was excited at first and dissappointed alas. Just the queen is doing the shopping... and I see from afar, plenty of shirts were put at the cashier's counter.

Is this the impression they are giving us ? Spending tax payer's money like water ? Some traders who are heavy tax payers there were complaining, what's the point of paying taxes ? For them to be escorted with plenty of bodyguards & shopping spree ?

I was looking at a sad thing, even after curious foreign tourist found out what happened (as they first thought there's a fight or something), they were laughing at our pathetic country.

If royalty spends like that, rakyat will hate them... foreigners pity us & even look down on our rulers.

Respect can only be earn and cannot be bought. Once destroyed, you'll have to start accumulating points from square one !

Rakyat can still swallow the pain... we will still contribute our taxes, unwillingly...
But, rakyat cannot swallow it when non-royalty like Aunty Rosmah spent RM700Ks (100Ks pounds) on Najib's official visit to London last year for shopping spree !

What leaders do we have at the top now ? Rakyat-caring rulers & leaders or giant leeches ? What are they doing ? There's still plenty of Kampung Malay folks who're hardcore poor who lives with less... anyone helping them ?

I say F*** BN for screwing the whole country & pollute our rulers' mind with money !
written by NSS, April 13, 2009 23:06:43
Dear YM Raja Petra Kamarudin,

Yes you are immortal, as you now and forever ever live in our hearts..

written by HeeHaw, April 13, 2009 23:14:00
Excuse me but I always thought Muslims were not allowed to be cremated, but must be buried? Just curious, I'm a non-Muslim but keen to understand anyway.
written by Mag M, April 13, 2009 23:21:37
You may be banished by them but you will remain a hero and never be forgotten by the people. We love you.
written by rocky, April 13, 2009 23:30:40
I had doubts about the royalty due to the UMNo campaign but in the last few years I've seen that royalty under our constitution can play an important role as check and balance thus I fully support the constitution which gives the royalty a special place.

The royals needs to be above politics and above self interest. UMNO uses royalty as when they like it. 20 years ago they made most of us to hate the royalty. Today they need the sultan of perak and we understand there is the issue of who is going to be the next Sultan in Perak. what will happen in 5 or 10 years time? will UMNO be the govt? and if UMNO is the govt, will their support continue? Note UMNO will not forget Perlis and T'gganu incidents after March,08. so who will protect the royalty? It will be the rakyat and so long as the royals discharge their duties and play the check and balance role and have the interest of the country and people instead of politicians or self interest, the people will always want the royalty.The power of the royals comes from the people. a good, humble and brilliant King will earn more respect and be worshiped by the rakyat. look at Thailand.

the last few years the royalty minus maybe one state are held in high esteem.they have played a great role in making sure common sense prevail when leaders try to break the country apart. I'm glad I live in Selangor and respect my Sultan more than any politician more so Khir 'Disney' Toyo. Daulat Tuanku!

However the actions in Perak have cos some ripples and this issues need to be addressed. The royals should not let the momentum created in the last few years stop cos it still needs to go on as UMNO has done lots of damages to the royals 20 years ago. with the people backing, UMNO will never be able to threaten the rulers ever again.

daulat Tuanku.
written by gurkha_malaya, April 13, 2009 23:38:59
interesting article about conflict between singapore-malaysia in this blog;

www.saudagarsenja.********.com
written by wishuponastar, April 13, 2009 23:40:16
I am sure writing this rather emotive article would have given you lumps in the throat.Just remember this “Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful.”—Joshua J. Marine
If one's principles are sound he is bound to face more challenges.
This quote is for you and all right thinking Malaysians-
"If we believe a thing to be bad, and if we have a right to prevent it, it is our duty to try to prevent it and damn the consequences."
— Lord Milner
written by tumbledore, April 14, 2009 00:04:01
dear Pete,
my humble opinion is;
you have to live your life, your immediate family members are more relevant than the royals to you. your family loves you and a couple of million malaysians respect you! does'nt that mean something?

I can see the catastrophy coming if all the malaysians were to hang on to their relations for help(?).

malaysia is a constituitional monarchy or maybe a constipational monarchysmilies/wink.gif. so they don't own the landmass. they can't banish someone from anywhere, except the courts.

regarding your burial rights
your wish will not come true in boleh-bolehland
please come to England before and your wish will be honoured!

Pete, please come out of your cloud

written by yeechut, April 14, 2009 00:23:13

Your courage and integrity is an inspiration to us all. My prayer is with you.
written by milestone, April 14, 2009 00:33:51
"truth should come first, others come later. kebenaran adalah yg didahulukan, yg lain2 ikut diturut kemudian". As I know, ISLAM has thought me this way; and the other religion should have one.

To "carry" the "word" it's claimed sacrifice, pengorbanan. How and what to "sacrifice" you can found in this article.

Everybody will claim that they carry " truth", so how to know which one is 'original' in that sence? the answer is refer to the 'right' source, and open for muzakarah, discussion.

I do believe, Monarchy should ready for open discussion about current situation for the sake of RAKYAT, Monarchy and Malaysia and the most important for the sake of 'TRUTH'. Wallahualam.
written by kclim, April 14, 2009 01:10:43
sorry testing
written by kclim, April 14, 2009 01:28:50
Sorry it has to come to this.Even in death they will not leave you alone.They have denied you your rights while alive so I doubt they will give you any to die peacefully.As a muslim,they will probably snatch your body for burial in Sungai Buloh, making a circus of the whole morbid affair.
written by kclim, April 14, 2009 01:29:25

Dear RPK
God is with you,no one nor anything can be against you! So please do not plan to expire before PR rules this land.God bless you and family always.
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, April 14, 2009 01:41:55
We understand you Raja Petra for feeling morose and down. We don't fault you cos when you have tried to help, the tables have turned against you. Those of us who have been in such positions we know and we stand with you in your "clouds". It is ok cos you are human and as humans we all have our weaknesses and our sins. Just that some of us have sins of omission - not doing what is right when we should have done right. It may not be directly sinning but knowing the right thing to do and not doing it when the good or the lives of the people depend on it - that is sin.

So we understand you and why you are writing in this blue venous impassioned way. You have been our voice and have given voice to the voiceless; the rakyat. We love you for your sacrifice.
written by carlitos, April 14, 2009 01:52:25
I have a strange feeling that maybe the reasons the rulers of Perak seemed to support UMNO is because they do not consider the chinese and indian as Perakian but outsiders.

The combined PKR and PAS representative who are Malay are less than UMNO representative in Perak.

If it is so, that really should opens up the eyes of everyone on how the royal family thinks about who they consider as Malaysian. I hope I am wrong but I can't find any other explanation other than that.
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, April 14, 2009 02:02:39
"A" dimaksudkan perkataan yang tidak boleh disebut atau di seru. You tahu, saya pun tahu.

Dengarkan perkataan-perkataanku, ya Tuhan, dengarkan keluhanku. Ya, "A"ku, rajaku, dengarkan rintihanku meminta pertolongan. Aku bedoa kepadaMu ya Tuhan di pagai hari Engkau akan mendengar suaraku; ketika matahari terbit aku mempersembahkan doaku, dan menantikan jawabanMu.

Ya "A", engkau tidak mengemarkan perbuatan salah; engkau tidak membenarkan kejahatan dihadiratMu. Engkau tidak sabar melihat manusia bongkak; engkau membenci sekalian manusia yang zalim.
Engkau memusnahkan semua orang yang membohong, dan menghina orang-orang penganas dan penipu.

Bagi diriku, aku dapat masuk kerumahmu, demi kasihmu yang besar, aku boleh menyembah di dalam Baitmu yang suci, dan brsujud kepadamu dengan hormat.
Ya Tuhan, ramai musuhku, pimpinlah aku melakukan kehendakmu dan ratakanlah jalanmu untuk aku menjalaninya!
Apa yang di katakan musuh-musuhku tidak boleh di percayai; mereka hanya nak memusnahkan, mulut meraka umpama kubur yang terdeah, dan perkataan merak licin serta mengelirukan.
Hukum dan deralah meraka, ya "A"; gagalkan rancangan mereka yang jahat.
Buangkanlah mereka dari hadiratmu kerana dosa mereka yang banyak serta pemberontakan mereka menentangmu.
Semua ornag yang mendapat keselamatan daripadamu akan bergirang; mereka akan snetiasa berdendang ria. Engkau melindungi mereka yang mengasihi engkau; oleh kerana engkaulah mereka benar-benar bahagia. Engkau memberkati mereka yang taat kepadamu, ya Tuhan; kebaikanmu melingungi mereka seperti perisai.

Raja Petra, the Almighty God is not blind nor deaf nor His hands are too short ...and cacat that He cannot save anyone of any race or any position as along as they stand for the truth, for justice and for fairness, for love to all humankind. You are the man, if we who are weak and human can love you, why not the Almighty?
written by SamBall, April 14, 2009 04:17:45
Neither the Sultans nor BN have I any need
Both can perish for all I care
Why should I grieve for one or the other
Without the rakyat, they would'nt dare
Respect have I for one so brave
To stand and question that others naive
Sir, I salute an honest man of peace
Who fights for truth and justice

God bless you, Raja Petra
written by Pakyeh, April 14, 2009 05:37:32
If the Royalty wants ti implode,like what is happening to UMNO,nothing can stop it. It s takdir Ilahi.
Let it be! let it be! Whisper words of wisdom. Let it be!.....The Beatles.
Read more "Falsafah John Lennon", "Falsafah P.Ramlee","Falsafah Pak Pandir" at

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by Tok Din, April 14, 2009 05:39:06
There are more important things to preserve the Monarchy and advance the rights of the rakyat to be thinking about death at this time. Yes, many would like you to vanish as your knowledge and influence are a threat to them. Why give up now. Be man enough to fight on whatever the odds. Our body may die, but our spirit lives on in eternity. Keep up the good work and banish the thought of death from your mind. Your place is in the heart of the people.
written by flyer168, April 14, 2009 05:55:36
Dear Pet,

Finally, whatever one's verdict will determine where one stands on this quotation:

“The Mediocre leader Tells,

The Good leader Explains,

The Superior leader Demonstrates,

The Great leader Inspires”....This is you RPK!

The saying goes, “Whatever goes around, comes around”.

This is the law of nature.

May God Almighty continue to Bless, Protect & Guide you, Marina & family always.

Cheers.

written by freerpk, April 14, 2009 08:01:26
You are absolutely right about not needing anything to remind people of your existence but your place on earth will be remembered for generations to come because every generation will relate what you have done for the people to the next generation. It is like Lincoln. I have never seen President Lincoln but the memory of what he has done is etched in my mind forever.

God bless you RPK for your righteousness
written by Proarte, April 14, 2009 08:40:18
In a democracy such as ours the power of the Royalty is conferred by the constitution. The Royals do not have power per se but only that power which is granted to them by the constitution. That is why they are called constitutional monarchs. Ultimately the Rakyat are the true Bosses. All this talk about 'derhaka' is just a sandiwara and everyone knows it.

Royalty in Malaysia is a colonial invention. As RPK pointed out, the British banished and appointed Royals at their whim. Royals where there to give Malays a sense of control in their land which was in actual fact under the control of the British who encouraged waves of immigration from China and India to exploit the land. The role of the Royals was to give a seal of approval to the exploitation of the country's resources and the inundation of immigrants to Malaya which was not exactly popular with the Malays. They had no choice in the matter. The British puffed them up and gave them untold privilege and wealth but they had to do what they British insructed them to do. They were mere puppets with no real power.

The Power of the Rakyat has replaced that of the colonials. In the same way the British banished the Royals, the Rakyat will banish the Royals if they are seen to be working agaisnt the interest of the Rakyat. The Royals as constitutional monarchs should know who is the real Boss.
written by Sagaladoola, April 14, 2009 09:08:11
Raja Petra, ....

Harimau mati meninggalkan belang, Manusia mati meninggalkan nama.

Your name will live on .. in the net and over the course of history. Our children will know your name and your contributions to the citizens of Malaysia.

It does not matter where one is buried. Organic bodies turn to dust and earth over time.

The purpose of a special burial, sometimes defined by location, is for the preservation of memory on a particular person.

Insignificant names are forgotten. The memory of the legacy and works of a person during his lifetime is more significantly distinguishing than a special burial.
written by CPY, April 14, 2009 09:19:32
RPK, from what I know, ppl do not want to be 'Sun Yat-sen'(ie republican). As for me, I prefer another dynasty to take over.
written by ROBERTNGTG, April 14, 2009 09:26:23

Let it be known that Raja Petra the son of Raja Kamarudin never begged and that he stubbornly held his head up high with pride and dignity. Let it be known that Raja Petra the son of Raja Kamarudin never begged and that he stubbornly held his head up high with pride and dignity.

The Power of the Rakyat has replaced that of the colonials. In the same way the British banished the Royals, the Rakyat will banish the Royals if they are seen to be working agaisnt the interest of the Rakyat. The Royals as constitutional monarchs should know who is the real Boss.

RPK, IN OUR HEARTS, YOU ARE A TRUE MONARCH. THIS HONOUR WE BESTOW ON YOU FROM
OUR HEARTS. TRULY, YOUR COURAGE, PERCEPTION AND DIGNITY IS BEYOND COMPARE. IN THE HUMAN WORLD, YOU ARE A SAGE. IN THIS COUNTRY, YOU ARE A TRUE SON WHO STANDS
FOR JUSTICE, TRUTH AND HONOUR.

written by panca, April 14, 2009 11:12:45
written by sorosapril, April 13, 2009 21:00:17
the point is UMNO don't care what other people said, they think they are the master, even though they have failed in their mission to develop the country for the years they are in power, still the Malay will vote for them.

if not, how do u explain so many racists being elected to the supreme council and higher positions in UMNO?

come General Election, the same faces will contest and win again

Reproduced of the above, this is exactly the Malay will continue to vote for umno even they know something is not right on the path to the nation's progress.

I, for one will never vote MCA if they bark like dogs. I will vote for Pakatan Rakyat and Pas representative if they bring justice, progress and fairness.

"IS Stupidity deep-rooted?".

Hasn't it already been unearthed with information and knowledge provided time and time again through articles from MToday, Malaysiakini and many blogs, that pricks brain cells?

"IS Stupidity REALLY deep-rooted?".
written by Surrhead, April 14, 2009 11:16:20
Pete, your family's banishing you. Govt wants to blow you up (preferably c4). and i sense there might be someone with explosives attached to his body (the deal's 40 virgins, right?) wants to give you a hug (that's for criticizing the Malaysia's Islamic law - may it differ from THE TRUE WORDS) and i bet your wife nags about your suicide missions on being a fair person......man, i thought i had problems.....

Anyway, Pete, be the man you always are......and if any of the above happens, you are a martyr.....(no,you are not getting the virgins, but you will be remembered by a better Malaysia)
written by snipersnake, April 14, 2009 11:39:45
didnt know RPK is a fellow Victorian, no wonder he is from Selangor royalty smilies/smiley.gif

Anyways I am with RPK on this one. Najib is one hell of a man. He toppled Perak gov in 2 days, he can topple the monarchy in a week.

I hope they realize this. This is what happens when the country is run by Freemasons.
written by Umar Rentaka, April 14, 2009 12:07:45
na tv eväham jätu näsam; na tvam neme janädhipäh
na caiva na bhavisyämah; sarve vayam atah param

Never was there a time when I did not exist, nor you, nor all these kings; nor in the future shall any of us cease to be. [Bhagavad Gita 2.12]

na jäyate mriyate vä kadäcin; näyaàm bhütvä bhavitä vä na bhüyah
ajo nityah säsvato ’yam puräno; na hanyate hanyamäne sarire

For the soul there is neither birth nor death at any time. He has not come into being, does not come into being, and will not come into being. He is unborn, eternal, ever-existing and primeval. He is not slain when the body is slain.
[BG 2.20]
written by Fuminari, April 14, 2009 12:10:31
pete,as far as the rakyat are concerned,u are our king!
written by skc, April 14, 2009 12:29:50
Dear YM RPK,
You have had the good fight, father children, stand up for what you hold dear and etc, etc, what else is there ? LOl most of us will not even have done half the things you have, so why so sad ? Go out and have a party, Malaysia can look after itself for a day, have a break, recharge then come out fighting again.
written by xkbyuk, April 14, 2009 12:38:17
I'm privileged to learn from the posting how closely related RPK is to the present Selangor sultanate. But I'm just wondering whether or not that with the request to have his ashes scattered into the sea, YM is not leaving a logistic problem for his family members whom he has left behind. Being a man of principle and a gentleman at that he has voluntarily made himself an excile from Selangor and a persona non grata to Perak, an act which I'm sure the family members will respect. Assuming that YM lives in KL, how are the members of his family going to reach any sea without going into Selangor, or flying through its air-space? If they do, wouldn't that break his vow to exile himself from Selangor as the self-imposed punishment, even though it may only be his ashes that go into Selangor or fly through its air-space? Unless of course their Royal Highnesses and YM's own Royal family has forgiven him before then! I certainly hope for the latter, although there may not be anything to forgive YM for.
written by xkbyuk, April 14, 2009 12:38:17
I'm privileged to learn from the posting how closely related RPK is to the present Selangor sultanate. But I'm just wondering whether or not that with the request to have his ashes scattered into the sea, YM is not leaving a logistic problem for his family members whom he has left behind. Being a man of principle and a gentleman at that he has voluntarily made himself an excile from Selangor and a persona non grata to Perak, an act which I'm sure the family members will respect. Assuming that YM lives in KL, how are the members of his family going to reach any sea without going into Selangor, or flying through its air-space? If they do, wouldn't that break his vow to exile himself from Selangor as the self-imposed punishment, even though it may only be his ashes that go into Selangor or fly through its air-space? Unless of course their Royal Highnesses and YM's own Royal family has forgiven him before then! I certainly hope for the latter, although there may not be anything to forgive YM for.
written by eskay, April 14, 2009 13:35:40
Dear RPK

I am speechless now looking at the mentality of our so called Malaysian leaders, who seem to be acting like non-human now, and keep coming up with different type of cosmetic kind of policies/solutions while manipulating the governmental bodies according to their needs, and they are hoping that all the rakyat are blind, deaf, dumb & hopefully, retarded too.

You are a rare Muslim who has put in much effort to educate many non-muslims about the good value of Islam, bringing up the good image of Islam & to gain confidence towards Islam, yet rejected by certain “hypocrite” muslims. I use the world “hypocrite” here because these are the group of muslims who have tarnished the image of Islam & made non-muslims fear Islam. Your love towards rakyat without discrimination, yr passion for our country is expressed thru' yr courage to fight for a better Malaysia, without fear or favour. This is a great example of a good Muslim, same as Nizar. In fact, now that with cybernews, facts can not be hidden behind the selective /spinning news from MSM, I would rather to have PAS than UMNO ruling the country, if we need to choose among the two.

BN & its supporters, no matter which ranks they come from, can twist & turn their words and talk for hundred yrs that you & Nizar are treason, but we know both of you are not.

In the eyes of the highest Almighty, what is right can not be wrong and what is wrong can not be right. The judgement day will come, may be sooner than those who hope they can fool the rakyat & the whole world. The highest Almighty gives certain parties the power to take care of his children, he can also take it back thru’ many ways when the power is being abused or not rightly executed at the time when it should be used.

I feel so sorry for the "thinner case" - Adi Anwar, he should be charged in court if he's wrong, but not to be brutally treated like this. He's probably a sacrificed tool used by the highest Almighty to reveal to the world that Kugan's death is not as simple as the ridiculous findings of that 10-men commission.
written by amoker, April 14, 2009 13:37:11
The red shirt of Thais are talking about being a republic.
And there, King is almost God.
written by lvbala, April 14, 2009 14:14:14
Ariyos amigo.. well said bro.
written by TheWhisperer, April 14, 2009 14:27:53
Are you o.k, Boss? smilies/grin.gif
written by gycgocnt, April 14, 2009 14:31:17
Malaysia will really form as a republic if the Rulers still stand with the devil called UMNO.

We are not asking Rulers stay with PR, just remain your middle ground, and the rakyat will respect you.

Monarch should not have friends like BN/ PR, your only friends is Rakyat!

Daulat Tuanku!!!!
written by rpremkumar2u, April 14, 2009 14:58:55
I am a holder of an Organ Donor Card and I have ticked 'A'. As a Hindu I am automatically cremated upon my demise. My condition to my son (and daughter) is that i wish for my funeral rites to be a solemn but normal occasion. For those who greeted my birth have since long passed on; therefore those who feel any significance to attend my funeral rites to indulge in gossip mongering will be in for a disappointment - culture shock awaits them. Its the outer garment that we shed cos the soul with its vibrations is immortal. You, Pete, will be always an immortal in my book.
written by TwilightYears, April 14, 2009 15:56:30
Thanks for the post which revealed so much about the Royal Family in Selangor and your contribution during the Constitional Crisis. Human beings have short memory, and 20 years is a long, long time... even for the Royal families. The good things that you have done were forgotten. That you feel the way you are feeling is understandable. But yu should not make a decision to opt for creation. Please consider your family members and the things that they may have to endure upon your demise to have your body cremated. For a Muslim this is unforgivable. I remember having read a story about a man who has never led a good life, and when his time see the Lord was near, his fear of The Almighty was so great that he has his body cremated after his death. And it was said that the Almighty easily "reassemble" the dust into his original form. Out of great fear for Allah he has done so, and for this, he was forgiven. You have decided to go for cremation out of pride, personal pride, the Kerabat Pride. This is not a good thing to think of,let alone to carry this out. Please re-think and reverse this decision. You have not done anything seriously wrong in the eyes of the Malaysian public, and is, and always will be, the bold and brave wira. For a fleeting moment of hurt into your pride (a moment as compared to the vast expanse of time) and you have made such decision that have far reaching consequence , not only to your time after your death, but to your after life as well. I beg Allah SWT to give you the wisdom to see things. You have been guided by him to give your all to the Malaysian thinking public. Please Allah guide you for a look into the life hereafter. The glory shall be much greated there than in this world in which we are all travellors only.

Wa hawla wa laa quwata illabillah.
written by JUST, April 14, 2009 17:15:42
There are times when you have to obey a call which is the highest of all, i.e., the voice of conscience even though such obedience may cost many a bitter tear, and even more, separation from friends, from family, from the state to which you may belong, from all that you have held as dear as life itself. For this obedience is the law of our being.

< Mahatma Gandhi >
written by orangdunia, April 14, 2009 17:27:17
A true Royal is the representative of God on earth. You, sir, are just about the only Royal who fits the bill in Malaysia.
written by LFLee, April 14, 2009 22:28:07

I thought, as a blogger, you will wish to be buried in
CyberSpace with a webpage dedicated to you only. smilies/cheesy.gif

You have a much higher place in History of Malaysia
than to be buried in Royal Mausoleum in Kelang!

The people of Malaysia will built you a National Monument!
(I will donate $ - of course, if you die earlier than me smilies/grin.gif ).

Why Royal Mausoleum in Kelang? They got air-con there?
Or they got people visit you everyday? they got fresh flower
everyday?
written by KweN, April 14, 2009 23:36:00
rock on RPK
written by Alice, April 15, 2009 12:07:13
Hi RPK life on earth is temporary and who cares where we are buried. Let's try and head to a better world and enjoy eternal life with God. Then there won't be anymore unrest and turbulent souls. We would be at total peace. At least that thought gives me some hope to journey on and face all the challenges in living in Malaysia. You have gone through so much of challenges and sufferings and in fighting for justice and I am sure you ...would make it there too smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif. Hang on Pete it is a short life and lets sit back and enjoy the good things in life- family,good human relationships,food, nature etc. Let's forget about Malaysian politics and wait for the next election patiently. Let's pray hard and I AM SURE GOD WOULD WORK IN MYSTERIOUS WAYS TO DESTROY THE WICKED. BELIEVE ME PETE IT IS THE TRUTH.
written by takbolehtahan, April 15, 2009 12:21:25
A king should be one who cares about his people. You, RPK, are the ONLY true Raja of this country. You have my utmost respect. All royalty here (except you of course) are spineless and we have been supporting their lavish lifestyles for nothing. They are a waste of our taxpayers' money. If ever, any ruling party wishes to abolish the monarchy in the future, I will be the first to support. They have proven to be of no relevance to the rakyat anymore. They do not support the rakyat, they are not giving anything in return to the rakyat who have been paying to support their existence and they have not and do not listen to the rakyat anymore. In short, their purpose is not longer relevant. The people's power is the only way now to resolve our problems. I say we should use this power to elect the type of government we want. No more should any future govenment be forced down our throats. Yes, people, we must all unite and get rid of the rot governing us.
written by malaysianohope, April 15, 2009 18:36:09
Abang Pete,
I missed your posting due to holidays but I can't help commenting belatedly...
I admire you for your actions not so much because you went against the Perak Royalties but more so knowingly that your cousins in the Selangor household will be equally offended by your action. You have done so on grounds of principle that the Perak Sultan made a political decision instead of a popular decision & against the wishes of Perakians. By doing so the Sultan has brought the Sultanate's future into jeopardy & that is least expected from a former Chief Justice. I am still dumfounded that this Naif Ton Rasa can manupulate the Sultan so easily but I guess the monetary aspects could have been a tentalising factor.
Btw your willed testimony about cremation is as good as burial next to your family coz I always believe that one's creation is from the ashes & there shall we also go. You're a good & sincere being & I will pray that you will be in Heaven to be with your Family & GOD when the time come.
This is my Church Easter message:
'There is HOPE & SALVATION for the TOMB is EMPTY'.
written by jamaludinjames, April 15, 2009 22:42:33
When I die I want to be cremated and for my ashes to be scattered into the sea. There will be no sign that I ever existed or a ‘monument’ that I had lived. I shall revert to dust from where I had come. This is my last will and testament.
who said this.
well, as a muslim we shouldn't be doing this,but all being have their rights.
cut all the craps. all i could say is malay rely to much on government assistance.
please, i'm not racist. please don't get me wrong.!!!!!!
all this while i just feel that malay can't stand on there on feets like other races. maybe it's because they had been spoon fed too long and been too confortable.
If the country (NOT ONLY UMNO), want to change, we must be brave and independent.
let off with bumiputras. let there be only SATU NEGARA SATU BANGSA. that is we are all MALAYSIAN. equal and fair. till then if only this is achive, forget the rest.
WELL BEING A HUMAN SELFINESS IS NORMAL. if you want the royal hignesses to change, forget about it.
written by apanama, April 16, 2009 06:01:48
PERIBAHASA MELAYU:
seekor kerbau membawa lumpur, semuanya terpalit.
orang melayu memang bijak.
dia panggil mereka semua KERBAU.
they are all KERBAUs.
written by Abajawi, April 16, 2009 08:22:51
Hi RPK,
What's bad about a republic? Indonesia is one, but the USA is also a republic, or a federal type of republic, having a president. Every citizen has to work to earn a living after all. No accident of births will guarantee a livelihood. In Indonesia there are still many 'sultan's but no throne; they receive nominal pensions from the state. There are too many monarchs in one little country, don't you think? Half of the world's you had said, right? The USA is most powerful nation today. So, a republic can be good, can't it? Compare it to Thailand -- it has only one monarch. And what does it tell you?