Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Party machine trumps morality

Party machine trumps morality PDF Print
Sunday, 05 April 2009 13:35

Baginda had a glamorous assistant and lover, Altantuya Shaaribuu, 28, who came down to Kuala Lumpur and claimed $US500,000 of the commission when it was paid in October 2006. When Baginda refused, she took to turning up outside his house and making a scene.

Hamish McDonald, Sydney Morning Herald

Yesterday one of the countries Australia and its friends have long seen as a pillar of regional stability took another big step towards becoming a pariah nation. Malaysia swore in perhaps one of the most questionable current politicians in any of the world's democracies as its new prime minister, in a triumph of party machine politics over sound governance and morality.

Najib Razak, 55, is widely expected to cement his hold on power with more of the media shutdowns, national-security detentions without trial and fabricated charges against rivals that have already marked his ascent.

This comes as the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development lists Malaysia as one of the hold-out nations refusing to exchange information to prevent tax avoidance. On top of a trade collapse, it now risks new sanctions against tax havens agreed upon at this week's Group of 20 meeting.

Najib is far from a new broom, bringing in the reforms that his older predecessor Abdullah Badawi had promised but never delivered. Instead, he embodies all that has gone wrong in the Malaysian state over the last 30 years from its corrupted policies of addressing racial inequalities through pro-Malay policies in education, government jobs and economic opportunities.

He never had to struggle for his start in politics. When his father, prime minister Abdul Razak, died in 1976, Najib took his father's parliamentary seat aged 22, and within a few years was rising in cabinet and the ruling United Malays National Organisation.

He put a distinctive stamp on the defence portfolio, which he held for 14 years until last year. Malaysia's armed services became notable for their multiple sources of equipment - a policy, many analysts think, with the main rationale of increasing the number of big arms contracts and consequent opportunities for lucrative commissions. The Malaysian air force, for example, flies both Russian and American fighters, the MiG-29 and Sukhoi 30s alongside the Boeing F/A-18s.

It was one of these defence deals that has led to the biggest stink around Najib. In 2002 his ministry entered a €1 billion deal with a French-Spanish shipyard, Armaris, for delivery of two new Scorpene and one refurbished Agosta conventional submarines to the Malaysian navy.

The Malaysian intermediary in the noncompetitive tender was a company called Perimekar, which was then owned by another Malaysian company, Ombak Laut, wholly owned by Abdul Razak Baginda, head of a government-backed strategic studies think tank who was a close friend and adviser to Najib. The deal earned Perimekar a commission of €114 million.

Baginda had a glamorous assistant and lover, Altantuya Shaaribuu, 28, who came down to Kuala Lumpur and claimed $US500,000 of the commission when it was paid in October 2006. When Baginda refused, she took to turning up outside his house and making a scene.

In a sworn statement that has just surfaced, Special Branch policeman Sirul Azhar Umar confessed that he was asked by a superior officer, Azilah Hadri, to deal with a woman disturbing Baginda, for a large reward. On the evening of October 19, 2006, he and Azilah bundled her away from Baginda's gate, drove her to a state forest, shot her dead, and blew up the body with military explosives.

However, the abduction had been witnessed by a taxi driver. Azilah and Sirul were soon charged with murder. Baginda was also charged as an accomplice despite an SMS message from Najib: "I will see the Inspector General of Police at 11am today … The problem will be solved. Be cool."

In the event, it has been cool: a judge ruled last October that Baginda had no case to answer. Now he is reported to be studying for a PhD at Oxford. Azilah and Sirul, whose embarrassingly detailed statement was ruled inadmissible, face judgment next Thursday and a possible death sentence.

On February 3, Sirul made a tearful plea against a death sentence. He said he was "a black sheep that has to be sacrificed" to protect unnamed people who had not been before the court or questioned. "I have no reason to cause hurt, what's more to take the life of the victim in such a cruel manner," Sirul said. "I appeal to the court, which has the powers to determine if I live or die, not to sentence me so as to fulfil others' plans for me." The judgment will come, conveniently, a day after Najib faces his first electoral test, in the first of three byelections. In recent weeks the government machinery has tear-gassed an opposition rally, bribed rival MPs to defect, closed the two main opposition newspapers for three months, barred an opposition MP who tried to ask Najib questions about the murder, and charged the veteran lawyer-MP Karpal Singh with sedition.

Anwar Ibrahim says he has not had "one minute" on the state-run broadcast media since he returned to parliament and became opposition leader last August. Ousted as deputy prime minister by Mahathir in 1998 and convicted over manufactured sodomy and corruption crimes, Anwar faces a new trial for sodomy in July, based on evidence given by a young man whom Najib has admitted meeting before the alleged offence. South-East Asia seems to be getting a new Marcos.

Comments (48)Add Comment
written by Kaneeneh, April 05, 2009 13:45:47
1. Luckily, the DPM speaks English.
2. We want to talk about this issue, everyday
3. We want the world to know, we know we have a shameless PM
4. We are lead by the nose through the backdoor, to become a real 3rd world country.
agree 338
written by ahmadneil, April 05, 2009 13:48:53
What we all know today is if that 2 hitman didn't get a nod from Razak Bagunda,Altantuya would have been alive today.And also if Najis didn't introduce Altantuya to Razak Buginda,she would also be alive today.Plus if Najis is a gentleman ,Altantuya would have also been alive today.He can just take her as his 3rd wife ,since he already have the second wife.The more the merrier.
agree 261
written by ahmadneil, April 05, 2009 13:58:13
French-Spanish shipyard, Armaris, is under investigation by the french gov't for alleged involvement in paying illegal commission to Perimekar.If investigation shows proof of corruption,the french gov't will order the arrest of persons involve.I hope Altantuya name will crop up in this investigation becos she act as Razak Baginda's interpretor.
agree 280
written by Fuminari, April 05, 2009 14:03:18
the soul of altantuya would be distracting malaysia n all malaysian until najis clear his name in a proper court of law,transparent n acceptable manner by all !!

najis said he hav not known n met Altantuya,then why the hell he escaped thro' the parliment side door to evade n avoid Sharribu when this altantuya father wanted to meet him???
agree 158
written by Fuminari, April 05, 2009 14:06:14
any body who thinks that najis abdul razak ,razak barginda are 'not innocent' on the slaying of altantuya;please agree!!!
agree 433
written by malsia1206, April 05, 2009 14:07:56
If man-made (or man-manipulated) justice is not served in Malaysia, then Divine justice shall ultimately be dispensed by the higher-up Court in a matter of time. Hell hath no fury.
written by Fuminari, April 05, 2009 14:12:48
jus read n see how the Sydney Morning Herald looked at it,
""April 4, 2009
Page 1 of 2 | Single Page View
Yesterday one of the countries Australia and its friends have long seen as a pillar of regional stability took another big step towards becoming a pariah nation. Malaysia swore in perhaps one of the most questionable current politicians in any of the world's democracies as its new prime minister, in a triumph of party machine politics over sound governance and morality."""..............
u make the call!isn't this shameful n degrading??don't u think that malaysian hav been short changed??
agree 122
written by biggun129, April 05, 2009 14:16:52
Malaysia, an equatorial country,of having humid and hot temperature throughout the year,can never enjoyed 'Four Seasons',country in the southern part of equatorial, having winter, they breed 'White Sheep', we are also born almost 'White' but 'Yellow'and not to the extent of 'Black Sheep', we are infact 'Yellow', and when 'Yellow' cannot turn into 'White' and yet instead turn into 'Black', of course, the sheep shed his tears!There are thousand of 'Yellow Sheep' force to turn into 'Black sheep', this 'Artificial''Black Sheep' finally turn into 'Scapegoat',and they can only pray their 'Justice' in Hell!The conclusion,its not the location, temperature,but attitude of the people, we can infact change into 'White Sheep', its our will, we need to 'Change', 'Change' we need, if not, we will be change from 'Yellow sheep' to 'Black Sheep' and 'Scapegoat', we choose our live, we decide our future, to all the Malaysian, think wisely, for your future!You know what to do when you are having the 'Right'!
written by smeagrooo, April 05, 2009 14:18:12
ahmadneil, If the French found any irregularities I am more afraid if they use it as leverage against Najib and who knows if our sovereignty will one day be compromised.
written by Australian Malaysian, April 05, 2009 14:19:21
Hey Mr Najib, as you read this which I'm sure you do to gauge your popularity & fame, please be reminded that this is only the tip of the iceberg & that there's more to come out of the woodworks. All of what we hear & know are what is available to us at this point in time & there's all the other misdemeanors, scandals, evil schemes etc. etc. that has been hidden away, which are yet to surface!!

Just like those submarines, it'll have to come surface sometime soon...maybe it'll in a couple of weeks or maybe it'll be in 2 years at a time when you're riding high at the peak of your popularity!!

Oh, by the way, those 2 police officers who were deployed to blow up Altantuya...oops I mean Aminah, will be sentenced soon & if they get the death penalty, it'll be another feather to your cap & more blood on your hands as any 5 year old child will be able to put two & two together & it will point to you!!!!!!

Meanwhile, enjoy the perks your new position will offer you & make every moment of enjoyment count as it looks like your future appears bleak not only in your home country but to your neighbours as well.

Happy reading!!
written by taishan, April 05, 2009 14:21:30
Coming from a PM who says:

One c*ck (his), woman first, sex now !

it will be all about money, woman and power.
written by Taikohtai, April 05, 2009 14:25:29
Najis spent squillions securing top notch fighter planes, helicopters, submarines, tanks, C4 etc but yet he is unable to locate a single missing private investigator named BALA.
written by NSTPravda, April 05, 2009 14:30:39
I have bought myself out of this murder crap

Knowing that I got someone to take my rap
I am perfectly justified to use my trusty C4
Lest anyone gets nosy, I’ll repeat what I’ve done before
Look at what my power and money can buy
Even after my integrity has been blown sky high
Do as I dictate as you cannot ever do as I do

And if you did, my pet polis will come after you
Look at how much trouble I made for the likes of RPK
Torturing him with new legal problems everyday
After I am done with him and his deviant band
Nothing of him or his friends’ will ever stand
Thanks to my coterie of sychopants and supporters
UMNO has now welcomed back my Tun Mentor
You are only seeing the beginning of My Way
Allah is now commanded to make me semua-nya OK!

Duit lah tuan ku!
Dollar Akbar!
Rasuah saya sayang eh!
written by *********, April 05, 2009 14:34:37
Why don't Najib sue the French Newspaper over the allegation? The reason is simple. He is shit scared of what will be revealed. Don't be surprised that what's been revealed will bring down not only Najib but the entire BN/Umno regime...More http://*********.********.com
written by Frusmalaysian, April 05, 2009 14:35:58
Why is it when Lee Kuan Yew called JB a dangerous cowboy town the government made so much noise and even threatened diplomatic reprisal? He just cast bad light to one of our states. But now several countries are now casting shit- light on the whole country because of the murder of the Mongolian woman, yet the government have not made any noise. How come?
Should'nt there be a diplomatic row with France, BritaIn, Australia etc? Is this what we call 'mempertahankan ugama, bangsa dan negara'?
agree 130
written by Jan, April 05, 2009 14:44:03
..... lists Malaysia as one of the hold-out nations refusing to exchange information to prevent tax avoidance.
----------------------------
I wonder why our country refuse to cooperate. Is it to protect certain putras who are fond of carrying money to foreign countries and no speaking Ingrish.
written by ibabonma, April 05, 2009 14:45:35
Najib Najis will not last the distance for Malaysians have decide that Umno ought to be buried sooner than expected.

Thank you Mahathir for re-joining Umno for it will hurts Umno more. Tell you, nobody seems to like you. Test your popularity at Bukit Gantang or Bukit Selembau and see for yourself.

The Malays have not forgotten you for wasting billions and billion in the urban and ignoring the kampungs/rural and its folks, the Malays particularly.
written by lynn, April 05, 2009 14:58:36
Whenever Senior Minister Lee Kuan Yew opens his mouth, people listen because he has proven himself - just look at how beautiful, clean, organised, civilised & close to perfection Singapore is today. Don't start the crap abt Singapore being "small" so easy to do. Try doing the same just for one small town in this bloody place & see if you can come close.

First, you take in the "bombed-out lookalike scenario" in JB, take a deep breath & then drive over to Singapore Woodlands. My gawd, the contrast. Fcuk bn dead! My gawd, the difference is so starkly wide that I felt ashamed to be a Malaysian. Why they can do it, why the Bodohland govt in this oil-rich, gas-rich, timber-rich country cannot do? WHY?

But this is BODOHLAND - the most stupid ridiculous major-ly fcuked-up country in the world.

If you want to "measure" how stupid Malaysian voters are, just watch those useless eaters, parasites called bn voters casting their votes for the MOST CORRUPT GOVERNMENT in the world in the next three by-elections. I mean, most of the voters are extremely poor & stupid & ignorant, deprived, under-privileged, struggling humans living on the face of this earth.

Now, don't they even realised they are what they are today because of this depraved government they keep voting back into power? I mean, what the fcuk does it takes to wake up all these walking zombies to reality? Just vote Pakatan Rakyat, morons! Is that so difficult to grasp? Yeh, just vote PAS, DAP or KeAdilan. So simple.

Let's watch the fools bring down this country on April 7th.

written by cheemengwong, April 05, 2009 15:10:34
From now non the French submarine company will compell Malaysia to buy many submarines both old and new, useful and obselete becos they knew and have information we don't.

One day, every port, every sungai and lubuk in Malaysia will have a submarine at the expense of the Raayat's money and hard work.

All these submarines will be converted into long house for the homeless.

Malaysia Boleh.
written by SamYap, April 05, 2009 15:36:51
I don't quite like the term "pariah nation" but it does seem we heading in that direction. And we only have ourselves to blame. Over the years many fellow Malaysians voted for the likes of UMNO, MCA, MIC and most of them did it for the reasons which RPK wrote about in his articles Bodoh Cina/India/Melayu.

And at present it looks like BN-UMNO is gaining ground with the Malays in Bkt Gantang. I just can't imagine what is going through the minds of these people. Surely they can't be so blind to the tricks of BN-UMNO? Why do they still buy the idea that the Cina and India pose a threat to Malay rights? Why do they still see fellow Malaysians as Cina,India dan lain lain? Why don't they understand that as a nation, we must be united in order to be strong? Why do they still purchase the idea that the Malaysian Cina and India are truly Malaysians and not "pendatangs or orang asing"? Why don't they question those same people if they are orang asing and pendatangs themselves?

Why can't the Bkt Gantang Malays see through the obvious ploy of BN-UMNO to divide the races? Why can't the Bkt Gantang Malays see that we must work together to build a nation which is blessed with abundant resources, increase the wealth of the people, improve the quality of education, imbue a sense of nationalism in everyone, restore the independence of the judiciary, restore law and order, restore the security of the country that people feel safe to leave their home without worrying if we'd be robbed or killed?

I think many Malaysians - at least the 48% who voted for BN in the last election, have had their minds truly poisoned by BN-UMNO/MCA/MIC/Gerakan. GOD help us all!
written by NSTPravda, April 05, 2009 15:38:08
I can and will promise you everything

Keep me always enthroned as your king
I will even swear whatever on the Qu’ran
Living the miserable life of a poor sultan
Look, I might have made just a billion or two
Even so, the money should mean nothing to you
Don’t begrudge me my well earned luxuries

All I want is a simple house full of moneys
Look, a man cannot just live by bread alone
That’s why I am only asking for the measly throne
Anyone would know that I am destined to be high
Now, all I did is buy the best your money can buy
To my critics, this is what I have to say
UMNO will ensure you are treated to our ISA
You will kiss my hand and foot from today
Allah and I guarantee that you’d be semu-nya OK!

Duit lah tuan ku!
Dollar Akbar!
Rasuah saya sayang eh!
written by SamYap, April 05, 2009 15:39:47
Errata: Why do they still purchase the idea that the Malaysian Cina and India are truly Malaysians and not "pendatangs or orang asing"?

SHOULD READ as: Why do they still purchase the idea that the Malaysian Cina and India are "pendatangs or orang asing" , and not truly Malaysians?
written by SCM, April 05, 2009 15:42:25
Razak Baginda,

How do you afford to stay in England for so long? Are you using Altantuya's money? Or did Najib tell you to stay away from the public and paid for your entire stay there?

Are you killing anyone in England or you can't get any C4 over there? Just tell Rosmah to fly over in her private jet and hide some C4 in her sarong. With a fat arse like hers, she can hide enough for you to have hundreds of lovers. Lucky devil you!
written by steven lim, April 05, 2009 15:59:47

SIR<

WE are getting worst..

1995: 1RM : 10baht
2009: 1RM : 9.50baht

1995: 100RM: 350 RMB
2009: 100RM : 250RMB

2009: Msia GDP -4% INDO: GDP 2%

2010: Msia:GDP 1% INDO 6%

In 1981: Dr M relesased 21 ISA detainees

In 2009: Najib released only 13.

written by LILIN, April 05, 2009 17:02:31
http://wfol.tv/

should najib abolish ISA? vote here!
written by lamakawan, April 05, 2009 17:21:23
You are absolutely right, Sydney Morning Herald. The new Marcos was reborn here in Malaysia. We will see more of the niceties of Marcos traits rehatched here in the next few months of Najib's rule.
written by talk2stop, April 05, 2009 19:00:47
I think Malaysia now is at a junction. Either Najib give total freedom or totally restrict information. He may choose to close Malaysia from outside world and turn it into killing fields.
G20 is not too happy with Malaysia.
If you have spare cash I think it is better for you to consider parking you money elsewhere. Anywhere is better than Malaysia at this moment.
Great storm is brewing & heading towards Malaysia.
I am not making any easier or helping Malaysia.
Malaysia needs her people now more than her people need Malaysia.
I am not part of Malaysia just a spectator.
The show is about to start.
written by arazak, April 05, 2009 19:09:08
Not only we are geting a new Marcos. . ., we are getting a new (big fat) Imelda Marcos too!
written by chronos, April 05, 2009 19:45:25
2 former Prime Ministers fully supports Najib's taking of the PM's of Malaysia. AAB had no choice but Mahathir, who is so bloody righteous, just as long as it is his crony. This will be the undoing of the Malay race. Mark my words.

It just shows what credibility Mahathir has. With all his wisdom, experience and twisted ways.
written by Fatcat, April 05, 2009 19:54:28
=) arazak, i wonder how many pairs of shoes fatty imelda has...???
written by jchew, April 05, 2009 20:06:15
Even if they are sentenced to death; they will be given new identities and live. Hanged will be unknown from prison cells. They are so many waiting to be executed. Malaysia boleh! Faham?
written by Eskay Lim, April 05, 2009 20:42:52
Razak Baginda is now in UK reading for his PhD at Oxford.
The topic for his thesis would most probably be....
"How to murder a lover and get away scot-free.... but of course must have top political connections".
written by educationist, April 05, 2009 20:50:50
I believe many of us who cared had done what was within our ability to do so, to try to convince those in a position to so so, not to allow him to take over the PM seat.
But the powers that be , believe he is fit to lead our nation.
And so, I will hold my peace and pray to god he will not lead us down the path to be another pariah nation.
written by JulieT, April 05, 2009 21:41:57
Has anyone sent this article to Oxford University? If not, can someone do it?

A prestigious uni like Oxford should not be tainted by having an association with someone like Razak Baginda.

Oxford U. should be warned.

written by bknight, April 05, 2009 22:22:49
the news carry by china Daily in their internet BBS

[url= http://bbs.chinadaily.com.cn/v...tid=629183

[url= http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...efault.jpg

Also, included in the site is the link to the youtube video believe to be made by Stev Shaariibuu, at the end of the video, the is a short clip filmed about Altantuya's son, who apparently is crippled.

my fellow malaysians, do you feel for her ?? check it out yourself

written by bknight, April 05, 2009 22:24:03
China Daily
http://bbs.chinadaily.com.cn/v...tid=629183

Youtube Video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...efault.jpg
written by Khan, April 05, 2009 22:36:10
"South-East Asia seems to be getting a new Marcos."

This is so true!!! Thanks Hamish McDonald for opening the eyes of the larger world about this Najis...
written by jstom98, April 05, 2009 23:00:30
My guess is, the two will be found not guilty caused by shoddy investigation. Simple and everyone's (who matter) happy!
written by tumbledore, April 06, 2009 00:33:26
Oxford University was a reputable place before.
but now used by murderers and dictators to
get their qualifications. NO COUNTRY should
allow a suspected murderer and swindler to take refuge
in their university.
it proves that money can buy you anything.

the English establishment should be ashamed of itself
to give refuge to someone who has stolen the
malaysian taxpayers money.

what say you to that, Your Highness Queen Elizabeth, to that!?

since when has England become the dumping place for criminals
of this world?
written by Diz, April 06, 2009 10:56:00
Fyi, RB's PhD is on Malaysia-China relations. He'd more or less finished it before the trial began 2-3 years ago.
written by amoker, April 06, 2009 11:00:29
The writer is right. he is in the same mahathir cabinet that did not reform. He is the other half of AAB that is dysfunctional. would he do better?
written by ROBERTNGTG, April 06, 2009 11:25:30
Najib Razak, 55, is widely expected to cement his hold on power with more of the media shutdowns, national-security detentions without trial and fabricated charges against rivals that have already marked his ascent.

YES, WITH THE DICTATOR BACK AT THE HELM, BRING BACK THE GOOD OLD TIMES - OPS LALLANG I, II, III....
written by panca, April 06, 2009 12:27:30
Mr. Hamish,

Nothing is real news from MSM reported in Malaysia. Except chemical-laced water used on their water cannons onto those heroes who marched for truth, clean, fairness and justice were greeted with evil intention, you are testimony to that.
written by Abajawi, April 07, 2009 12:19:39
Najib will be the greatest puppet PM Malaysia will have. With Mahadet back in UMNO, the real power will be the old man, and I dread to live through this regime for the next 3-4 years, (insya'Allah)!
written by Abajawi, April 07, 2009 12:28:09
Will this new PM be able to wipe out RMon€¥ PO£ITIC$ ? I doubt it very much for RMon€¥ PO£ITIC$ is the life blood of UMNO.
written by Running Sardines, April 07, 2009 15:37:56
written by Abajawi, April 07, 2009 12:19:39

Najib will be the greatest puppet PM Malaysia will have. With Mahadet back in UMNO, the real power will be the old man, and I dread to live through this regime for the next 3-4 years, (insya'Allah)!

Malam sikit lah if MahaFiraun think he still can control the newer generations of the IAmNo politicians ... with the looming economy giving a very bad picture, it is me, myself and I situation nowadays ... just watch and see ... the best hope we have is still in Pakatan Rakyat ...
written by LFLee, April 08, 2009 01:47:54
Guys, please post this in your blogs, MSN, Yahoo messenger,
your MySpace, your Facebook, your Friendster, etc.

Help spread the news of this shameless-sh*t-self-claim-PM
of Malaysia. Go to Hell, you damn Najib!
written by Tok Din, April 08, 2009 22:22:24
If our PM has any personal integrity and self respect he should immediately sue the newspaper for defamation and libel. A PM must be well respected and his behavior must be beyond reproach.

If not he should step down because he has shamed all Malaysians beyond belief. How can we stand this kind of accusation without taking action. Unless of course we are afraid to face the truth.