Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Abdullah's legacy one of broken promises: Yong

Abdullah's legacy one of broken promises: Yong PDF Print
Sunday, 05 April 2009 00:39

(Daily Express) - The Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) hopes new Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak will be different from his predecessor, who it claims left behind a string of broken promises to Sabahans.

Its President Datuk Seri Yong Teck Lee, whose party pulled out of the Barisan Nasional coalition and tried to move a motion of no-confidence against Abdullah last year, said:

"Abdullah's repeated broken promises to solve the illegal immigrant issue and cancel the gas pipeline from Bintulu in Sarawak are costly legacies that Malaysians in Sabah would have to bear for a long time."

He said Malaysians would also remember his administration for failing to make any decision on the use of English to teach Maths and Science and lack of commitment to solve the Queen Elizabeth Hospital debacle.

"Word is already coming out from people in the medical profession that QEH patients are dying unnecessarily," he alleged in his statement.

Now that the country has a new Prime Minster, the people also expect a district hospital in Nabawan promised by Najib, he added.

Yong also called on the new administration to expedite the Borneonisation of the federal civil service in the Borneo states as intended in 1963 upon the formation of Malaysia.

He said SAPP, on its part, will continue to press for the fulfilment of the legitimate interests of Malaysians in Sabah under the party's "8 Points Declaration".

"For instance, socio-economic imbalances such as high costs of living, highest poverty rate, low quality education and health care and social problems caused by illegal immigrants must remain high in the national agenda.

"Discriminatory policies as recent as the unfair subsidy on Super Tempatan 15 per cent rice, the non-availability of the auto-scrapping scheme and the expiry of the fuel rebate must be removed and unfair polices such as the Cabotage policy and Felda profit-oriented policy must be reviewed without delay."

SAPP, he said, will also keep on the agenda the return of Labuan to Sabah and an equitable sharing of 20 per cent petroleum and gas resources by oil producing states, namely, Sabah, Sarawak and Terengganu.

"With the swearing in of the new Prime Minister, we expect to hear the chorus of support from BN leaders hailing the appointment of Najib.

"These are the same BN leaders who had obligingly pledged unconditional support to Abdulah as Prime Minister in June last year when SAPP announced our loss of confidence in him.

"SAPP's only hope for our Sabahan leaders in the BN Government is that they will use this new era of the Najib premiership for Sabah's legitimate interests," he added.

written by Jan, April 05, 2009 00:48:33
Yong, you are not the only one lied to in fact all Malaysians have been lied to and misled by his string of broken promises. After doing nothing much he's gone back to sleep. I don't think he deserve that Tunship.
written by savemalaysia, April 05, 2009 01:18:09
If Jimmy Carter, considered a weakling, was the peanut president of the USA, then Abdullah Badawi must be the taufu PM of Malaysia. It was beyond comprehension how the former No 1 man of the country could be so lethargic, apathetic and carefree.

It wasn't far-fetched to say that he was at the helm merely to enjoy the lucrative salary, allowances and perks plus enriching his son and son-in-law through dubious and favoured contracts at the expense of the taxpayers. This is Badawi's legacy for you and me which is also a poignant manifestation of the malaise of UMNOputraism in the country.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, April 05, 2009 01:58:43
written by PASOK,
No principles this SAPP - Sabahans dont be fooled. This is the No.1 opportunist party of history.

The way i see it, SAPP are MORE principled than most of the Sabahan parties in BN right now. It is not wrong to admit ones' mistakes and make a u-turn. It takes real courage to go against the "mighty" BN while still being a member of that current government. We have been waiting for too long already. At that material time maybe the leaders of SAPP really thought that BN was Sabah's salvation but you will eventually get fed up when you are fed with promises after promises. By virtue of YTL being an ex CM under BN, i'm pretty sure he knows what he is talking about.

For me, he is more "osiou" than our Huguan Siou at this moment and it is quite amusing to me that PASOK seem to suggest that YTL is afraid of Musa Aman. Another thing... an opportunist would never leave a party still in power... an opportunist will accept a Senatorship instantly (by way of a political bribe, AAB did offer this to YTL to make SAPP stay). SAPP left BN knowing full well of the consequences and you know what PASOK... i think more and more Sabahans are on their side right now. Including me.
written by mypanida, April 05, 2009 08:03:04
Yong Teck Lee, You did a mighty good job sniping at them.
You dare to go against BN and that is very good but don't let your guard down.
Kick Umno out from Sabah !!!!
written by NSTPravda, April 05, 2009 08:28:26
All we can say is this..
Lest we forget by UMNO's bribew
That if we don't learn from our mistakes
And keep falling for the same trick
Never in the history of Boleh politics,
That so many been misled
And so much been squandered by one person doing so little...
You'd have to sadly bid good riddance to bad rubbish...
And lament the insidious a legacy we have to live with.

May Allah save our nation.
written by chiongguo, April 05, 2009 09:27:13
Najib is very clever at shifting from one position to another. You can call him a shifting cultivator if you like.Shifting cultivators are destructive by their very nature.

Badawi during his last days in office acted more like a president, with all the ceremonial pomp, than the prime minister out to reform the nation's ail.

The nation deserves better.

written by ahmadneil, April 05, 2009 09:53:16
Sabahan,do not relied on those false hopes.I tell you,the PM may not be the same,but the party that preaches racist is the same and that's umno.Until all promises are fulfilled ,I say just keep your finger cross.
Mr Najib, show us that you are different from AAB. Walk your talk!
written by Milo, April 05, 2009 11:58:25
Pak lah will be remembered as a nice but failed PM in the history of Malaysia's PMship.
written by onnetline, April 05, 2009 12:13:47
These UMMNO scumbags are liars and hypocrites and need to be removed from the government ! !
written by burmen, April 05, 2009 12:45:27
Pasok, Pangkis Pangazou,

Good intelligent comments from both of you. This is what MT readers should be made of, rather than most who just shout at the top of their voices without much constructive substance.
written by Aduh, April 05, 2009 14:10:03
Stop dreaming !!!!
written by peace, April 05, 2009 18:39:57
SAPP is much better than PBS who sold off the native and Sabahan rights to thier evil master umno and it becames a tootless tiger, YES TUAN attitude.

Next GE, Sabahan should unite and KICK THE EVIL UMNO out from Sabah as well as all the ball licking local BN parties like PBS, PBRS, LDP and MCA. GET LOST!
written by Old Man, April 05, 2009 19:18:43
YTL, the illegal immigrants issue is not only serious but deadly as a time-bomb!
Majority of you Sabahans esp the KDM natives seem to chicken out whenever they hear the word Philipino and/or came across one! This fear factor has to be removed before you Sabahans can resolve the illegal immigrant issue! Everybody has to die sooner or later, so why fear those illegal immigrants?
If you people fear of these illegals who are squatting on your land how can you move forward to compete outside Sabah.
Firstly, all you Sabahan leaders ( irrespective of political affillations ) have to unite with one voice! Stop telling your people about the stories of greatness of your Great Grandfathers! Instead you have to pool your ideas to solve the illegal immigrant issue for the sake of your children. It's NOW or never!
Despite your accumulated wealth there's still nothing like residing in your own land below the wind called Sabah.
The PDRM and/or Army has to be on your side otherwise you can talk until the cows come home and Project I/C will continue!
written by batsman, April 05, 2009 21:25:03
Don't worry about AAB. TDM is a lot more dangerous. Neglect the danger at your own peril.