Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Another Aunty laid to rest

Another Aunty laid to rest PDF Print
Sunday, 05 April 2009 00:09

Sharifah Saiha was admitted into hospital about a week ago. She had been suffering from cancer for some time. Last night, she suffered a heart attack and went into a coma. She died after her second heart attack.

Sharifah Saiha Binti Syed Ali (left) and Tengku Puan Nor Sa'adah al-Marhum Sultan Ala'eddin Suleiman Shah (my Grandmother)

Another Aunty of mine died last night. She passed away just after 10.00pm. This is so soon after I lost Tengku Eusnie Binti Tengku Mohd Yusof on 25 February 2009, the wife of my father’s younger brother, Raja Datuk Arshad Bin Raja Sir Tun Uda. (Read: Good-bye Auntie).

My Aunty, Sharifah Saiha Binti Syed Ali, was the widow of Raja Datuk Redzwa Bin Raja Sir Tun Uda, another of my father’s younger brothers, who died on 28 January 2004. {See: Raja Datuk Redzwa Bin Raja Sir Tun Uda (4 May 1926-28 January 2004)}

Sharifah Saiha was admitted into hospital about a week ago. She had been suffering from cancer for some time. Last night, she suffered a heart attack and went into a coma. She died after her second heart attack.

My daughter phoned to tell me about it and said that the family wanted to know if I would come back to see my Aunty before she died. That was soon after her first heart attack.

I told my daughter there would be no way I shall return to Selangor -- as I had mentioned in my article: I am now persona non grata and living in exile. My daughter said the family suspected I would say that so they had suggested I sneak back late at night when no one would notice. But it is not merely about sneaking back late at night undetected. It is about my pledge not to return to my home state on point of principle.

My late Aunty would have understood. When they read out my article to her and informed her of my decision she cried. She said that the Palace, and those who sympathise with the Palace, needs to be taught a lesson and that “only Peter is capable of teaching them”.

It saddened her that I was in self-imposed exile. But she supported what I was doing and agreed with my decision. In fact, she felt that the Palace was wrong and needed to be taught a lesson.

My Aunty’s late husband, Raja Datuk Redzwa, was equally anti-establishment. He was pro-Anwar Ibrahim and despised Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad for what he had done to Anwar in 1998. In 2000, my Uncle even participated in the Kesas Highway demonstration. In fact, the police had cordoned the highway and would not allow anyone in. But my Uncle stubbornly tried to get in and the police stopped his car and threatened to arrest him if he defied the police order to turn around.

But this was Raja Datuk Redzwa the police was threatening, one of the fiercest of my Uncles. He asked the police to look at the crest in front of his car and defied them to arrest him. My Uncle was a member of the Selangor Royal Council and that crest on his car was testimony of his position.

The police quickly apologised and begged him to turn back. Seeing that they were now so nice about it and were practically on their knees, my Uncle obliged them and turned around.

My Aunty, his wife, Sharifah Saiha, was in turn pro-Mahathir. We used to engage in heated debates with my Aunty on one side and my Uncle and me on the other. The children knew better than to get involved and they all remained silent observers in what could be considered a most hostile family confrontation.

In 2006, when my Aunty was told that I went to Mahathir’s house for Hari Raya, she was very pleased. She felt that in spite of my differences with Tun I should still show respect to a man who was not only much older than me but an ex-Prime Minister to boot. I told my Aunty I not only paid my respects to Tun, I even kissed his hand, as a junior to a senior should rightfully do.

When you next meet Mahathir please send him my salam, my Aunty reminded me. She was very disturbed when Tun was admitted into hospital and she asked whether it was possible to visit him. I told her that may not be possible because Mahathir was in a precarious situation and they would not want too many visitors to stress him out.

She said if she was not allowed to visit Mahathir then at least send him her salam. I contacted Marina and requested her to send my Aunty’s salam to her dad. The next time I met my Aunty she asked whether I had sent her salam to Mahathir. I confirmed that I had, through Marina. She was excited and wanted to know what Mahathir had said. According to Marina, Mahathir smiled, I told my Aunty. She was so happy.

Tonight, that Aunty left us and I was not able to see her before she died. But my Aunty will understand. She in fact agrees with my decision to turn my back on the Selangor Palace and go into exile for refusing to obey the Palace that I apologise to the Sultan of Perak for what I had said. At least, before my Aunty left us, she was able to see me reconcile with Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and that made her really happy.

Rest in peace, Aunty Shef. Al Fatihah.

Comments (60)Add Comment
written by iswary, April 05, 2009 00:23:08
please accept our condolences...
agree 229
written by justinlian, April 05, 2009 00:33:04
RPK, so sorry to hear that you lost another aunty of yours again and furthermore you could not be by her side before she leaves.
Do you know that actually cancer can be cured? if not cure also it may prevent to spread more.
My mum was a cancer patient last 18 years ago , she has gone thru all the neccesary in GH and was given 3 months to live but one day she took some kind of seafood and she live to see another 18 years of her life and still living.
We introduce people to take but no one cares much but insist that their way is better.
Pls accept our condolences .
written by fireduck, April 05, 2009 00:45:43
Our condolence.

But not sure what to make of the part about your reconciliation with the old man. Do you condone what he has done or what he will be doing from now on via his proxy PM?
written by timmy, April 05, 2009 00:50:30
My condolence.
God bless RPK.
Take heart to know that your aunt will love you always, and we will support you always.
written by Taufique, April 05, 2009 01:21:24
Al Fatihah to your late Aunty.
Please accept my condolences RPK. Fighting cancer is a tough situation to be in.
God knowing, Allah loves her more.

to justinlian : I wish I had found alternate medicine as well, but it was too late for my late mom. In fact, we had sourced out for alternate medicine but by the time it arrived, she already passed on.

Al-Fatihah to all our loved ones whos gone away.
written by magickriver, April 05, 2009 02:13:08
Sounds like a feisty aunt. Glad she left gracefully without prolonged suffering. A bit sad though that she liked Mahathir. A million adulators can kiss Doc Croc's hand. The greatest kindness I can offer him is that he can go kiss the donkey he controlled for 22 years with a plastic carrot and tongkat ali. With some entities the only time one can think kindly of them... is after they're dead and no longer dangerous!
written by jchew, April 05, 2009 02:51:42
TO RPK

Heartiest condolence

JC
written by ScooL, April 05, 2009 04:04:58
Thanks RPK.
From Perak.
written by nightcaller, April 05, 2009 05:11:41
My sincere condolence. Would u pls consider going back to Selangor for a while to pay your last respects? Afterall, heaven and earth belongs to al Mighty, not to any individual....
written by arnab76, April 05, 2009 06:09:21
Mahathir did many wrongs and I wonder how can one do not oppose him? I can forgive but not forget unless he SAID it out publicly why he supports Najib to be PM while najib is tainted so badly. Come on Mahathir, arent you a great sepaker and defender!!

We rakyat just wants to know???
written by malaysianohope, April 05, 2009 06:27:30
Al Fatihah, Auntie Shief!
Abang, its sad that another of your Auntie has gone to be with the Lord and that you are not able to see her due to your differences with the Selangor palace. Perhap as an after thought political differences should be treated differently from family ties but knowing you you can be quite stubborn.
written by yapsir, April 05, 2009 06:47:40
May the peace of God Almighty be with you and the family.
Her calling away is remembered by us,thanks for sharing from the heart.
The fight for true,justice,fairness,righteouness will continue on.
"These people were still living by faith when they died."
Her faith to see a New Malaysia will come true one day.
Take care,we hope and pray,one day you shall return from the "exile".
The remnants here are waiting and continue the wars against injustices.
written by Angela Ooi, April 05, 2009 07:23:13
My heartfelt condolences dear RPK. My heart is also feeling rather 'heavy and cold' (it's an understatement) towards the Selangor palace for not asking you to return for your beloved aunt's funeral.
written by BennyG, April 05, 2009 07:37:58
Deepest sympathies.

Another chapter of your life that we had yet to understand the amount of sacrifice that you had to made for the people.
written by mypanida, April 05, 2009 07:52:39
Al Fatihah to your late Aunty and family.

Yang Mulia RPK, be steadfast, God is testing you.

Your sacrifices will be the talks of our coming days.
written by Krepot, April 05, 2009 08:24:18
principals vs family, its not easy......
never easy!
written by ahmadneil, April 05, 2009 08:34:54
Deepest heartfelt condolence,RPK!
As we aged, these are the things that will come along and we all have to face it with courage.He, who comes from God,goes back to HIM.
"Christ's work makes us safe; God's Word makes us sure".
RIP.
written by Bigdawg, April 05, 2009 08:38:56
RPK.

Deepest Sympathies on your loss.

That aside, I wonder how you can say you've reconciled with toon mohtahir. If that is for a real fact, then our days are darker than black.
written by Rozlan, April 05, 2009 09:14:24
My condolences to you RPK
written by tokbahaman, April 05, 2009 09:16:48
Inna Lillahiwa Inna Ilaihi rajiun. Al-Fatihah.

My heartfelt condolence to her family.
written by cruzeiro, April 05, 2009 09:39:44
But she supported what I was doing and agreed with my decision. In fact, she felt that the Palace was wrong...
==================================

Your aunt had her heart in the right place.
God Bless her soul.
My deepest condolences ...
written by asiana888, April 05, 2009 10:40:01
Our heartfelt condolences to you. We cannot imagine the sacrifices you have made .... but we all appreciate it greatly. Have a kleenex if you need.

God bless.
written by biggun129, April 05, 2009 10:49:40
Deepest condolence to you, RPK!What ever happened, the 'Hijrah' is still on!!!
written by Xerxes, April 05, 2009 11:19:18
It must have been such a huge sacrifice to be absent from your Aunty Shef's funeral. I can read beween the lines your deep affection for her. Condolences....
written by Australian Malaysian, April 05, 2009 11:28:54
My apologies to the typo as the timing of my keystrokes differ from the timing of the print.

My deepest condolences to you, your family & your loved ones especially to those who had got to know your Aunty. It is obvious that she was very dear lady & must've been a very good Aunty.

May her soul rest in peace & may the ones who know her have comfort & reassurance in their hearts knowing that she is now in a better place & in very good hands.

God Bless
written by SL Chan, April 05, 2009 11:37:09
YAM RPK,

My condolences to you.....
written by Littlebird, April 05, 2009 11:38:35
Our condolence to you. Last two three years you have been having a rough ride. Be strong.
written by talk2stop, April 05, 2009 12:20:55
Condolence to anyone that depart this world. We come to this world from the same way. We go in different ways.
My deepest condolences will be reserved for those unfortunate and forgotten children.
written by onnetline, April 05, 2009 12:49:49

Our deepest condolences to you!
written by Jit Dharma, April 05, 2009 12:58:30
Brother RPK, my condolences to you and your family.
written by raven1958, April 05, 2009 13:03:22
The Perak fellow is responsible for the Perak Mess. calls himself a man of the law or something like that. to your uncles who stood and fought on principles of honour and truth may God Bless them for the rest it will be kinder not to comment. It is heartening to know that there are royalty who still stand for honour and integrity.
written by Aduh, April 05, 2009 13:03:28
Innalillahi wainna ilaihirajiun. Al- Fatihah.
written by my oumrie, April 05, 2009 13:05:03
Deepest condolences to you and family. My doas for your recently bereaved aunties & uncle - Allah humma firghlahu, warhamhu, wa afee'ee, wafuanhu. Allah humma la' tahrimna ajrahu, wala tudil lana ba'dahu. May they live with the righteous forever. Ameen, Rabbil Alameen.
written by Raja Petra, April 05, 2009 13:42:23
Dear lampard, but then I was brought up properly and was taught how to respect elders even though you may disagree with them. Maybe your parents should be blamed for bringing you up wrong.
written by Raja Petra, April 05, 2009 13:44:15
Dear SBennit, maybe so. But aren't you guys also kissing Indian asses in Kedah to try to get them to vote for Pakatan Rakyat? Let's face it, we all need to kiss Indian asses, as you have put it.
written by Raja Petra, April 05, 2009 13:48:53
Dear Bigdawg, I also reconciled with Anwar Ibrahim in 1998 and forgave him for joining Umno in 1982. Maybe I am a person who does not carry a grudge and someone who is prepared to forgive and forget if that person repents (and continue to oppose that person if he does not). But then, to do this you have to discard your superiority complex and holier than thou attitude, which may be extremely difficult for people like you.
written by Raja Petra, April 05, 2009 13:59:59
Dear magickriver, even Saladdin sent his doctor over to help treat King Richard (the Lion Heart) when he (King Richard) got sick. And the Muslims and Christians were are war and were killing each other at that time mind you. This would be probably something you and many MT readers could never understand and also why you can't understand how I could be civil to an adversary.

Do you know, in a war (like WW2), the European soldiers would salute higher ranking POWs (prisoners of war)? A British colonel would salute a German general and vice versa. In Asia, they will mistreat captured enemy soldiers even if they are of a higher rank.

I suppose I have Kwai Loh mentality while many of you think like Asians. You feel you must spit and urinate on the enemy. I don't even do that to dogs, let alone fellow humans.
written by teo siew chin, April 05, 2009 14:03:50
Dear Yang Mulia Raja Petra

Sad for your loss.
You know...u r mighty lucky to be surrounded by strong, brave, loving women in your life...and you give them credit too in your noble cause.
Your women are surely proud of you.

written by teo siew chin, April 05, 2009 14:36:12
hehhhhh no fair dude!
asian dont spit and urinate on their enemies !!!
only on their food.
written by Siapabohong, April 05, 2009 15:04:27
Dear YM RPK,
A deep regret to read that you have lost another auntie and not be able to see her for the last time. Perhaps the past week was one of the worst you have come to face. I believe you are forever strong to face all these challenges and you be blessed always.

To justinlian, I wish you could reveal the seafood that have save your mum, because I believe many out there are looking and searching for an alternate medicine as well to cure the ailment either for themselves or their loved one. Like Taufique, my siblings and I were hunting for any alternate medicine that can cure my late mum but alas unsuccessful, now it remind us to the pain we have gone through to see our mum gone without much help could be given to her and all the failure to get hold of an effective medicine for her. All seem to be late for her.
Life is such unpredictable....
written by Wudan, April 05, 2009 15:26:32
Al Fatihah. The only certainty in life is Death.

Tun, not the newly minted one, knows that the greatest challenge against Umno is not Pakatan Rakyat, PAS or Anwar Ibrahim but people with empty stomach and drowning in debts.

After 500 years we have a leader like Tun and we will not see another one for the next 500 years. Only Allah knows how much time Tun has left in this world. Good need evil to co-exist. We cannot appreciate light without darkness. Peace will only exist when the the two forces are in equilibrium.

You take care RPK.
written by ibabonma, April 05, 2009 15:42:38
RPK, my sincere Al-Fatihah to accompany her departure, semoga Allah memberi keampunan yang sewajarnya.

Talking of Tun Mahathir, I will only respect him if he is in total retirement.
Talking of Sultan Perak, I am sure my late father is feeling restless in his grave!
written by wartank, April 05, 2009 16:29:21
My heartfelt condolences to you, RPK.

I offer my sympathies.. but I'm certain this will only make you stronger.
written by bambolero, April 05, 2009 16:43:40
My sincere condolence and deepest sympathies.
written by future, April 05, 2009 17:01:55
Al Fatihah.........
written by Azril Way, April 05, 2009 17:44:19
Innalillahi wainna ilaihirajiun. Al- Fatihah.
written by lvbala, April 05, 2009 18:41:26
My deepest condolences to you bro. You are a symbol Truly Malaysian.
written by Kopi37, April 05, 2009 18:47:32

You are a man of die-hard and good principle, I always salute you and Datin Sharifah Saiha sure will bless you from far Heaven, for your success in the good cause!

My condolence to the family of late Auntie of RPK.....

God Bless!
written by lvbala, April 05, 2009 19:33:27
Whats wrong with you MSIABOLEH? Someone is dead and you are talking nonsence. This is not the time for being hero.
written by Super Admin, April 05, 2009 20:18:03
Yap Kang Wei ( This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it ), jangan biadap.
written by panca, April 05, 2009 20:55:27
Bro Pete,

With Deepest Sympathy and Heartfelt Condolence To You.
written by Wave33, April 05, 2009 21:47:30
RPK = "Dear magickriver, even Saladdin sent his doctor over to help treat King Richard (the Lion Heart) when he (King Richard) got sick. And the Muslims and Christians were are war and were killing each other at that time mind you. This would be probably something you and many MT readers could never understand and also why you can't understand how I could be civil to an adversary.

Do you know, in a war (like WW2), the European soldiers would salute higher ranking POWs (prisoners of war)? A British colonel would salute a German general and vice versa. In Asia, they will mistreat captured enemy soldiers even if they are of a higher rank.

I suppose I have Kwai Loh mentality while many of you think like Asians. You feel you must spit and urinate on the enemy. I don't even do that to dogs, let alone fellow humans"

Yeah, I remember that scene in "Kingdom Of Heaven". I also seen that too in a lot of war movies.

I have also kept secret of my present "enemy" or friendship turn sour. Why so? Because I have promised during our times as friends even we are not now. Many believe it is their right to expose once friendship turn sour OR for monetary gain.

After reading many articles of RPK, I am not sure of RPK standing on these matters.

My condolences to you, RPK. It is a hard decision in life.
written by Apache3, April 06, 2009 03:09:06
Bro RPK, My condolence.
May her soul rest in eternal peace.

MSIABOLEH please show some respect for the deceased and the family in mourning.
written by mountainking, April 06, 2009 10:35:18
my deepest condolences to you and family and to your Aunty Sharifah Saiha Binti Syed Ali's family too.

RPK
I hope the Palace one day will realise who is their enemy and your relationship with them will be reconciled.

can i pay you a visit, if you could provide me your email add and i will get in touch with you via email?
written by pinsysu, April 06, 2009 11:07:43
sori for ur lost. may her soul rest in peace.
written by bluesky, April 07, 2009 09:22:56
Malaysia should go back to the true teachings of islam ..and the way of the 4 rightly guided caliphs...There was never such a thing as a hereditary rule in Islam...Any true and honest muslim can be a leader...and there is no such thing as a preferential rule for rulers...like what is happening in Malaysia..the rulers are immune from the law...what absurdity is this!!!

In the eyes of Allah everyone is regarded the same except for his good deeds and character...The malays have ridiculed islam and made people or rulers bigger than tthe true teachings of islam!!
written by dumbfounded, April 07, 2009 09:58:03
Sorry to hear about your loss of an aunt. One that sounds spirited and kind at the same time. My condolences to you & family.
written by theedenproject, April 07, 2009 10:48:19
we are so sorry for your losses. please accept our sincerest and heartfelt condolences as well.
written by DontPlayGod, April 07, 2009 17:37:53
To Justinlian,

Perhaps you can reveal the secret recipe seafood that cured your mum's cancer.