Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysian blogger to pay RM1 million

Malaysian blogger to pay RM1 million PDF Print
Saturday, 04 April 2009 04:47

Raja Petra Bin Raja Kamarudin (left), editor of the popular Malaysia Today news Web site, was told on Thursday to pay one million ringgit in libel damages to Abdul Azim Mohamad Zabidi, treasurer of the ruling United Malays National Organisation. --PHOTO: NSTP

A MALAYSIAN court has ordered a prominent online commentator to pay more than RM 1 million to a senior ruling party politician, a court official said on Friday, the latest in a series of troubles for bloggers.

Raja Petra Raja Kamarudin, editor of the popular Malaysia Today news website, was told on Thursday to pay RM1 million in libel damages to Abdul Azim Mohamad Zabidi, treasurer of the ruling United Malays National Organisation, said a court official who declined to be named because she was not authorised to speak to the media.

Details of Raja Petra's commentary about Mr Abdul Azim were not immediately known. However, Raja Petra, one of the country's best-known online writers, frequently accuses senior government officials and corporate figures of corruption and other crimes.

He has also claimed that Prime Minister Najib Razak, who took office on Friday, and his wife were linked to the 2006 slaying of a Mongolian woman.

The couple has denied the accusations, dismissing them as 'lies'. Critical online commentary has mushroomed in the country as an alternative to the country's government-linked mainstream. But recently bloggers have increasingly faced detention and court action by government officials. They accuse the bloggers of spreading false information and rumors.

Mr Abdul Azim had claimed several articles published on Raja Petra's website defamed him, the court official said.

She could not give any further details. Raja Petra and Mr Abdul Azim could not immediately be reached.

Raja Petra has already been charged with sedition and was separately detained for two months last year under a strict security law that allows the government to indefinitely hold people who are seen as a threat to national security.

Last year, in the country's first successful libel case involving online writing, Raja Petra was ordered to pay RM4 million to a state-run university and its vice-chancellor for publishing a defamatory article.

The court also told an opposition-run newspaper to pay RM3 million in damages for reprinting the article. Raja Petra and the paper refused to pay the amount, claiming the case was a political move to silence them. -- AP

READ THE ARTICLES HERE

A scam, by any other name, smells just as foul 

The new Member of Parliament for Putrajaya, Azim Zabidi

Zul Rafique and Azim Zabidi, PLEASE go to hell!

Umno, AG and PDRM checkmated  

'Sultan' Zulhasnan, the RM700 million man 

written by NSTPravda, April 04, 2009 05:07:11
I am destined to be the Perdana Leader

Kiss your ass good by, my deviant brother
I have dictated to Allah to make me innocent
Let Him try keep me away from government
Let anyone try to stand in my way

And I obliterate you with my ISA
Let me tell you all that resistance is futile
The evidence against me will be rendered sterile
And all that is left will be made to disappear
Now I can clean up and wipe all stains clear
There will be spins too boost my image sky high
UMNO is still be the best gang that duit can buy
You all will have to prostrate and do things my way
And sing praises that I am great and semua-nya OK!
written by Kaneeneh, April 04, 2009 05:57:31
The burned Joan of Arc, imprisoned Nelson Mandela, banned Aung San Suu Kyi, because they fear the ruth will come out. Be brave, and we are all with you, Pete. History is on your side
written by Celestial, April 04, 2009 06:34:35
Another decision from a Kangeroo court. My advice to RPK is to totally ignore this stupid biased judgement. Don't even waste time and money to appeal. What are they going to do? Seize RPK's assets. RPK would probably own nothing in his name so at best they can do is to bankrupt him. As if RPK gives a hoot. As it has already been written - "Zul Rafique and Azim Zabidi, PLEASE go to hell! ".
written by Bigdawg, April 04, 2009 06:36:01
Eh ? Why have to pay 1 million rm for a 2 kilo dressed chicken?
written by biggun129, April 04, 2009 07:44:31
I dared anybody in this country to tell the 'truth', from today onward, who dare to tell the 'Truth'? Now, you see it, what's happened to RPK, the way he wrote, he need to have a 'Money Printing Machine' to enable him to compensate the 'Truth',for no amount of 'Money' will keep his mouth shut, and he will not be 'Paying out' a single penny for what he said, he will never swallow the 'Truth', and there is no 'Price' and 'Prize' for him to tell the 'Truth', he is an ordinary people like the others, but how many of us dare to follow his 'Foot steps' to tell the 'Truth',not easy, and you will feel 'Uneasy' to tell the 'Truth'! This is Malaysia, the country we love without the 'Freedom of expression', the 'Freedom of Speech', you will not be given the 'Freedom' of telling the 'Truth'unless your are another RPK or Billionaire!!!
written by johanssm, April 04, 2009 08:05:38
RPK will pay.
RPK will pay 10 sen a day.
vincent tan won his case because of VKlingam conspired with the judge and at the end ,MGG Pillai was telling the truth.
written by Braino, April 04, 2009 08:21:16
The price of truth is high and only those who are brave will walk the path that's less travelled!

No matter what's the price...truth will remain as the truth!
written by TURTLEMAN, April 04, 2009 08:34:02
hello, how to sue a bankrupt man.one million ringgit huh how easy to find money these days ah.malaysian courts are merely transforming to courts mammoth...shit
written by Raizzen, April 04, 2009 08:36:53
Lay down the bank account numbers. Lets fund raise this thing. So that RPK will keep the hell raised for them.

Raize Hell.
written by Good News, April 04, 2009 09:47:06
The damn UMNO is behind the toothless court's ruling! Void and null!
written by Old Man, April 04, 2009 11:46:11
Sir RPK, even if they make you financially bankrupt you'll not be bankrupt of ideas! If they do succeed in making you finacially bankrupt, just let us know your current address and we shall contribute you in cash, personally!
Quote: If a person is bankrupt of ideas he cannot survive wherever he goes! Cash is everywhere and we cannot take it with us when we kicked the bucket. smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Fido, April 04, 2009 13:19:21
pfft..!
they think this RM 1 million can intimidate RPK? hahaha
all MT has to do is start a donation drive and this amount can be collected in 1 week...
written by anakmalaysia777, April 04, 2009 13:50:06

I respect and consider YM RPK to be among the few true visionaries, patriots and human rights activists who have emerged in this country since independence. We know that he is a true folk hero with a large following including people who cannot or unable to articulate their thoughts into a coherent philosophy as he does and message and people who are truly scared of UMNO and ISA.

He is a true Malaysian and like many revolutionaries, perhaps far ahead of his time. His contributions will no doubt leave a lasting impact on Malaysian polity and will be recorded into the annals of Malaysia.

But I am dumbfounded why YM RPK did not even care to defend the truth of his very revealing article. This does not seem to be because he did not have the means to do so, but because he willfully refused to do so. Would this not be contrary to the very principle of AMAR MAKRUF, NAHI MUNKAR that YM RPK preaches?

Some have stated that it would be a waste of resources and effort defending a case in a broken judicial system that is neither impartial nor competent. But could failure to mount a defense in such a cases not lend credibility to BEE EN’s contention that these are nothing more than malicious reports intended to mislead the people?

Should the judicial system be written off without any challenge – there may be other brilliant and fearless judges, such as the one who, against all expectations, freed YM RPK from ISA detention with the simplest of arguments with which any lay person could readily agree.

We are worried about the dire consequences this case may have for the revolution that YM RPK is spearheading. We hope he would clarify this for us, if it will not jeopardize any further action that he may have in mind.
written by Hakim Joe, April 04, 2009 17:51:44
Hah...what is RM1 Million? If worse come to worse, all RPK has to do is to publish the bank account number and contributions will be overwhelming. I for one will fully support this endeavour.

written by mob1900, April 04, 2009 19:21:00
come, come, let's pay Latuk seri Azim 1 million ringgit:

written by Samwise, April 04, 2009 22:08:35

Shouldn't you be thinking of leaving the country? Afterall as far as Cyberspace is concerned, it don't matter where you are physically. You can fight your battles anywhere in this world! You won't have access to Internet if you were in Kamunting!
written by magickriver, April 05, 2009 00:06:10
Things may appear hopeless at this point, since all our combined efforts have been unable to thwart Daim & Mahathir's campaign to install their man Mr Pink Lips in the PM's office. Behind D&M is an entire cabal of old-time crony capitalists - tycoons like Vincent Tan, Romeli Musa, Ananda Krishnan - not to mention Musa Hassan's triad bosses! Same situation in the US when George W Bush was muscled into the White House by big corporate money & Daddy Bush's powerful friends in Skull & Bones & the CIA-Yale University establishment. They need some fall guy like Pink Lips to distract the public & the opposition while they quietly continue looting the nation's wealth. See what happened right after Bush left the White House? Wall Street imploded!

Anyway... my gut feeling is that Pakatan Rakyat will still form the government... and we won't have to wait 4 years. A snap election can be called anytime, in the event enough MPs participate in a vote of no-confidence against the PM.

Then we the people will be in a position to honor & reward RPK for all his heroic efforts over more than a decade by either quashing all these unfair sentences or reducing them to reasonable scale and paying them off, so RPK will be free of the burdens of bankruptcy and can enjoy a new lease of life as Malaysia's most celebrated son.
written by Sutha, April 05, 2009 02:48:37
Can someone tell the Teasurer A-Z and the Chambermaid No-Heart to wait at Bank Umnoputra Malaysia Bread to collect their money?

RM 950K for him and RM 50K for her.

Accounts tallied.