Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow A lesson in Malaysian culture, for foreigners

A lesson in Malaysian culture, for foreigners PDF Print
Friday, 03 April 2009 18:14

Today, we take a peek into a briefing session for the wives of foreign diplomats who have just set foot in Malaysia. This briefing session is to help these wives of foreign diplomats to better understand Malaysian culture and to avoid embarrassing situations or diplomatic booboos.

Ladies, ladies, ladies, let’s get down to business.

Welcome to Malaysia. You are going to be here for at least two years and to make your stay here enjoyable and free of sticky situations, we shall take you through a crash course in how to understand Malaysian culture.

First of all, there is no such thing as a Malaysian. What we have are four groupings labelled as Bumiputera, which is another word for Malay; Chinese, spelt C-I-N-A and pronounced Chee-Ner; Indians, sometimes referred to as Keling or Hindu by the Bumiputera; and the lain-lain or ‘others’. We, I’m afraid, do not fit into any of these four categories. The Bumiputeras call us ‘Mat Salleh’ while the Chinese refer to us as ‘Kwai Loh’.

Now, while I said there is no such thing as a Malaysian, the Indians and Chinese will insist you refer to them as Malaysians. The Indians, however, would argue that they are Indians and will talk about Indian rights and Indian interests. But, while they claim to be Indians, you must not call them Indians. They will get very offended. You must call them Malaysians. And the same goes for the Chinese.

For the Malays it is even more complicating. They insist they are Bumiputeras, which means ‘sons of the soil’. But they will demand you refer to them as Melayu and they will argue about things such as Ketuanan Melayu, which means Malays as Lords, and other such rhetoric. But never mind, over time you will begin to understand how Malaysians think, which will eventually give you the impression that they can’t really think.

Each grouping has its own culture when it comes to gatherings. Chinese culture is quite straightforward. They love lavish dinners and young half-naked women dancing and singing on stage while they eat. The Malaysian government has officially adopted this as Chinese culture and you will notice that all government-sponsored gatherings will be of the like.

Malay gatherings are not as sexy. They always start their gatherings by screaming ‘Ketuanan Melayu’ and which will end with the kissing of little curved knives that are called keris, pronounced ‘Chris’. Being Muslims, they are not allowed to have young half-naked women publicly singing and dancing on stage. Most of these things are done behind closed doors and away from the public eye.

Indian culture, when it comes to gatherings, is less sexy or militant. Normally, they will invite the President of the Malaysian Indian Congress to grace their gatherings and they will sing his praises, hug him, and kiss his hand. Sometimes, they go into frenzy and will wail and throw slippers at him. It, of course, depends on what time of the day it is to see which ritual the Indians would adopt.

You will never see a Chinese chauffeur. While most of the big and lavish cars are owned by the Chinese, their chauffeurs are always either Malays or Indians. The same goes for security guards. They are all either Indians, Malays or lain-lain, never Chinese. We assume this is because the Chinese do not trust their own kind to drive their cars or to handle their security.

When entering a Malaysian home you must take off your shoes. This appears to be the one and only thing that all four groupings share in common. When you invite Malaysians to your home you will notice that they will also take off their shoes before entering. So it is advisable to place a shoe rack outside your house in the event you wish to invite Malaysians over to your home.

Religious holidays are synonymous with the handing out of little packets that contain money. The Chinese will hand out red packets and the Malays green packets. The Indians do not appear to share this Chinese and Malay custom of handing out packets of money on religious holidays. However, they will never refuse receiving it if you offer them one, especially during an election.

The official language for Malaysia is not constant and keeps changing. It used to be Bahasa Kebangsaan and then was changed to Bahasa Melayu. Then, for a short while, the government adopted Bahasa Baku as the official language. Now, the official language is Bahasa Malaysia. Actually, all four are the same except for the spelling, which changes each time they switch over.

Therefore, there is no such thing as a Malaysian language per se. So, maybe this is the problem the government faces in establishing an official language for Malaysia. Most of the Malay vocabulary is borrowed from the Thai, Indian, Chinese, Portuguese, Dutch, Arabic and English languages. I was told there are only five or six words that can be regarded as originally Malay.

The federal government is led by three main political parties within the ruling coalition called Barisan Nasional. You will notice, however, that the names of all three of these parties -- Umno, MCA and MIC -- are in English. None are in the Malaysian national language. Nevertheless, all these three parties are very passionate about defending the Malaysian national language even though none of them use the Malaysian national language in their party names.

Okay, that ends our first lesson in how to understand Malaysian culture. Tomorrow, we shall talk about other aspects of Malaysian culture and traditions, such as the education and economic policies of this country and the quota system attached to these policies. The education quota system is actually quite easy to understand. In certain institutions of higher learning, 100% of the students are Malays and none of the other groupings are allowed places in these institutions.

We hope, by the end of this three-day crash course, you will be able to understand Malaysia better. Invariably, you will discover that Malaysians are quite difficult to comprehend. They say one thing but they mean the opposite. For example, when you invite them to join you for dinner, they will say ‘no thank you’. Actually, they mean ‘yes please’. And if you take that to literally mean ‘no thank you’ they will get very upset and consider you sombong or pompous.

Comments (47)Add Comment
written by lampard, April 03, 2009 18:36:33
Pet, you are a joker, you forgot to tell teh mat salleh, the only words that keep us together everyday, words like...chee by, poo kee, pun dhek, pan tat, chow hai, joo bor...etc!!!
disagree 20
agree 139
written by Raja Chulan, April 03, 2009 18:43:23
The famous universal Malay word is AMOK. Just as well because that is what most of the them good at. MENGAMUK.
The other universally accepted malay word is Gudang i.e Godown. Probably it is synonamous with hording by Umnoputras.
written by johntyc, April 03, 2009 18:49:49

LOL
agree 196
written by karyeowl, April 03, 2009 18:50:41
Well done again, Pete!

Place this message as a sticky! smilies/wink.gif
written by pillars, April 03, 2009 18:54:38
When filling up a form its a must to mention your race, Malay, Chinese, Indian or Others, even just a form for Dept. Store membership.
agree 132
written by Pakyeh, April 03, 2009 18:56:57
I think what RPK is trying to say is that there is no Bangsa Malaysia.
Read more "Bangsa Malaysia is Rubbish", at...

http//warongpakyeh.********.com
written by Abajawi, April 03, 2009 18:59:43
Another aspect of Malay(sian) culture is the invitation to eat with them, while they are already eating (say at a food stall). Don't take the invitation seriously--they only "ajak ayam" (literally inviting a chicken). They know you are at the same stall to eat privately. Since you bumped into them by accident, they are not seriously inviting you to sit with them! But this doesn't mean Malaysians aren't friendly. Otherwise, how do you explain the "open houses" during festivie seasons. Except fo politicians, open houses held by private people are not actually open to all; they are by invitations, really. You got to be invited to go to one. Politicians have open houses that are truly 'open to all and sundry'. But these are not held at their homes! The would rent a hall (e.g. PWTC if held by UMNO leaders) or Chinese assembly hall, if held by 'opposition' (read non-BN/UMNO) party leaders.

So much money is spent on these open houses.The Malaysians try to outdo each other--especially the Malays, who celebrate their hariraya for a whole month. Sometimes the open-house spills into the following month (11th month of the Islamic calendar).

Another aspect of Malaysian culture is the great respect shown for UMNO leaders. They cannot do any wrong. You must not have doubts about their innocence even if there appears to be a lot hanky panky going on. National instititutions are mobilised to keep dark secrets of leaders. Don't expect a leader to be impeached like what Pres. Richard Nixon of the USA suffered in the sixties or 70's. This is Malaysian culture.

Also in the Malaysian culture, Non-BN supporters are often laced with acid water and tear gas if they are found demonstrating against the govt without a permit. Permits are required for almost everything here. But if you put up an UMNO branch sign before setting up a new squatter settlement, you may be excused, even if you have no permit.

written by ahmadneil, April 03, 2009 19:01:13
During chinese new year the chinese like to wear red and during the first day of new year,everything they wear is new and red,even their underwear and bra are also red.They believe that it bring good luck to them .When visiting them you must not wear black,yellow or white.These are colours of mourning.
written by biggun129, April 03, 2009 19:02:23
I think to provide such knowledge to them is good, our hospital is congested, to avoid them of being infected with 'High Blood Pressure-Darah naik tinggi', 'OTK-Otak tak betul-Tiga Suku' and 'Heart Attack-Sakit Jantung',and please advise them to carry substantial of 'Ringgit' when going around, because they may need it, Too Many 'Beggar in Official Uniform' in town!
written by Kaboda, April 03, 2009 19:07:52
Half naked ? Full Monty please !
written by eloofk, April 03, 2009 19:20:52
One piece of advice to all the wives of diplomats in Malaysia. As far as possible, do not accept any invitation from the Prime Minister of Malaysia to attend dinners, banquets or parties.

Well known that he is, about that Mongolian lady nicknamed Aminah who was gruesomely murdered and her body blown to pieces by explosives.

Once he has set eyes on you, this playboy will stop at nothing to have sex with you and then 'boomed',you'll be exterminated without a trace and he will be protected by our kangaroo courts, the police and what else, you name it. He is immuned to prosecution.

Protect your vanity and avoid this bastard.
written by Jay Krish, April 03, 2009 19:30:47
"Orangutan" is also an original Malay word,that's why there are many running round in the top echelons
written by lvbala, April 03, 2009 19:32:34
Remember this too as RPK said, UMNO, MIC and MCA is all in english but there are fighting for National Language.
1. UMNO ~ U Malays No Otak
2. MIC ~ Malaysian Indian Coward
3. MCA ~ Malaysian Corrupted Association

The biggest snake in history is in charge. He is not going to defend as what Dollah did, but he is in the attack mood.

Bro RPK, I think you should consider this. He is in the attack mood.
written by malgal, April 03, 2009 19:44:17
selamat datang, dear foreigners to our land.
initially you might mistake us for people from neighbouring thailand, india,indonesia.sri lanka or even singapore.
but no we have our unique ways about us. the way we speak for example. we talk loudly about food, our children, their friends but especially when it comes to politics, we at best whisper and look over our shoulders for fear of being heard.
written by my2cents, April 03, 2009 20:04:24
Soliciting and pandering (prostitution) is illegal in Malaysia unless you pay for it.
written by allmenarebrothers, April 03, 2009 20:38:36
Dear RPK
How about this unique character of Malaysian culture?
Members of one political party can do no wrong? They are above the law.
The country's tag line: Malaysia: Macam Macam Boleh
written by kenny, April 03, 2009 21:06:58
Ha!Ha!Ha!...thanks Pete. LOL! Nothing was worth laughing today until I see this humourous write-up from you even in times of adversity.

It reminds me of the black comedian Richard Pryor -- Richard had a habit of lighting up little fires when intoxicated. For that, he burnt and landed himself in hospital one day. Upon discharge, the first statement he made to the press was: "You know something I found out!? When you're on fire running down the street, people will make way for you!"

Let's brighten up for the coming by-elections, people!
written by elmo world, April 03, 2009 21:15:05
while all "suspect" are suspected hv committed crime,had to go to poloce station to provide statements, but the head of the country who is also one of the crime suspect never need to do so. while the people of the coutry are so angry & embarassed, he is still choosen, we the people need the ANSWER....HELLO!!!!!!!!!!
written by Tompios, April 03, 2009 21:18:12
smilies/grin.gif don't forget to give limit your fellow Malays only 100cc of Carlsberg if the insist want to drink alcohol. If you give them 500cc beverage that contained 5% alcohol they will scream like crazy just like those Kadazan who get drunk after drank 100 'tumpung' of rice wine.
written by Khan, April 03, 2009 21:21:51
A fantastic one Pete... Despite being a black day in Malaysian History, you still made me laugh out of control with your wit and subtle messages

God Bless You!
written by ibabonma, April 03, 2009 21:24:41
The mamak race from Umno was not mentioned i.e. peoples like Mahathir, Lawyer Shafee, MB Zambry, PM adviser Shahrizat?
written by Super Admin, April 03, 2009 21:52:08
talk2stop, what has got into you?
written by jangantipu, April 03, 2009 22:24:27

Thanks for lesson one. Very interesting. Looking forward to learning lesson 2.
written by chiongguo, April 03, 2009 22:45:39
One local culture you should not forget to mention is our court's(ruler) civil servant. In china of old we had the court eunuchs that wielded considerable power and they traded it to the highest bidder. In malaysia we have the equivalent in those civil servants serving in the courts. They could even sent out invitations without the king's instruction. Did some umno goons yanked some eunuch balls to get it done ? Ohhhh... I forgot ! These eunuchs have no balls

written by lynn, April 03, 2009 22:52:06

You are so clever, funny & talented.

Thanks for the laugh!

BTW, some of the world's best comediens like George Carlin are original & hysterically funny. Why, dear George, he is an Atheist too (like me though am no comedienne).
written by JaguhKampung, April 03, 2009 23:39:19
This is going to be an interesting and a block buster series. Keep it up RPK smilies/smiley.gif

When entering a Malaysian home you must take off your shoes. This appears to be the one and only thing that all four groupings share in common.

Just like to add, other things the four groups share in common. Nasi lemak, teh tarik and sambal belacan are their favourite food. They usually like to hang out in restaurants own by another race called 'mamak'.

Another traits shared by the four groups, they have consistently voted Barisan Nasional as their government in all general elections no matter how unhappy they are with the government's performance.

ibabonma said it correctly. We should also mention the mamak race in this country:

Some people called them the Malaysian Jews. Similarly like what Mahathir said, Jews rules the world by proxy, the mamaks rules Malaysia by proxy. Mamaks hold many important government positions. Many sources said Mahathir himself is from this race. They dominate the food chains frequented by Malaysians ,i.e. mamak stalls. Even money changers business are dominated by this group. Mamaks like to call themselves as Malays or Bumiputras but the Malays don't recognize them as such and still prefer to refer them as mamaks.

written by Fuminari, April 04, 2009 00:04:27
RPK,hat off to u!u are forever so hilarious but really exact, right on the bull's eye!!keep it coming!!
written by hakuna, April 04, 2009 00:05:08
Good on you Pete - you made my day. It was really a nice piece and I laughed and smiled continuously. Nice to tickle the senses when things are down.

Will wait for the 2nd tuition!!!
written by fireduck, April 04, 2009 00:36:54
Thanks for the laugh, Pete. Some of you are so serious in responding to the article. Pete's tongue is practically poking through his cheeks, and some of you take it so seriously.

Anyway, my contribution to this 'advice' to the wives of the foreign diplomats, as well as the not so diplomatic too. In order to avoid getting into trouble with the Home Ministry here, please check your immigration papers. Due to some inexplicable technical errors that can happen sometimes, your entry may not be recorded with the Immigration Dept. If that happens, please consult a Chinese who speaks Hakka and tell him your dire situation. If he answers 'Si For' (deep sh*t) means he will go all out to help you. smilies/grin.gif
written by mikewang, April 04, 2009 01:34:09
When an aggrieved Chinese girl commits suicide on your account, she'll wear all red, including her undergarments.
It's a sure sign that her spirit will come back to haunt you forever.

*I wonder whether Aminah was wearing red panties on that fateful day *
written by Apache3, April 04, 2009 04:11:09
allmenarebrothers said..
"The country's tag line: Malaysia: Macam Macam Boleh" please allow me to add
"UMNO: SERBA BOLEH"
written by lysender, April 04, 2009 06:14:03
As an oversea Malaysian, I still refer myself as "Chinese Malaysian" rather than "malaysian". Hmmm...I wonder what made me lack of patriot spirit? Hello! Corruption and years of repression by the Malay! But then again, I know many good malay friends that have went to Chinese school and I respect them because they earn their degree and believe in hard work just like the Chinese.
written by TURTLEMAN, April 04, 2009 08:10:19
YM RPK,

Simple and short....Wat you heard about Malaysia from a Malaysian is False.Check with the neighbouring country.And to add there is one more group which is called MAMAK.They are indians islam= malays(they call themself).And bro the "Keling" word really tense me up but its ok since you admited RPK Bodoh so its ok wit me smilies/tongue.gif
written by asianguy, April 04, 2009 09:06:50
A "blowjob", in any other country, implies having oral sex with someone.

In Malaysia, a "blowjob" involves military-grade explosives.
written by malaysianohope, April 04, 2009 11:41:26
Abang, LOL!
You getting very comical these days but I like it. You reminds me of our very own Lat but a non pictoral version of cartoon characters. In Malaysia there is a good pool of cartun characters starting with the you know who two "Tun" and self elected Pee-M & wannabe First Lady. I wish I've retired now instead of slogging to earn a decent living & contributing my precious taxed income to fund these scumbags. You have a good weekend, Abang!
written by densemy, April 04, 2009 12:10:48
... and those five or six true malay words are used in every possible comnbination to name suburbs in Malaysia

BTW... you forgot to mention. When taking your shoes off before entering a Malaysian house be SURE to remember to leave them slap-bang in the middle of the doorway

Very funny ... and very observant Thanks RPK
written by timothy cheng, April 04, 2009 12:49:22
HAHA. how true.
unity is not having something in commmon among races. it is about accepting the differences and EMBRACING them.

keep plodding on RPK.
written by Anak Kampung, April 04, 2009 13:42:27
Yang Mulia, I am very offended by your assumption that all foreign diplomats are men. smilies/angry.gif What a chauvinist!

Other than that, carry on! smilies/grin.gif
written by wartank, April 04, 2009 18:53:12
C'mon Guys,
RPK is actually sending this message to US.. not the foreigners. The underlying message is to look ourselves in the mirror long and hard, and ask ourselves if we are actually the Malaysian that we claim ourselves to be.

Good stuff RPK, awaiting eagerly for the next "lesson"!

written by longjaafar, April 05, 2009 16:57:34
If they want to drive a car, they will have to follow malaysian rules, such as : They can use the mobile phone while driving; they are allowed to make U turns at traffic light junctions; they do not have to signal when they are turning or changing lanes;they are supposed to park their car as near to the entrance as possible, even though it there are legal parking lots just a short distance away.
When stopping at traffic lights, they are supposed to stop outside the box, and exceed the lines drawn.
written by JulieT, April 05, 2009 22:32:11
Great article! You should compile it into a book with these hilarious pieces. Similar to what Lat does for his drawings. This will be a bestseller!

So true! I just laughed my head off. You are so very talented! Thank God Malaysia has you around to keep us sane. Thank you.
written by vistar, April 06, 2009 08:50:25
Spreading anger.. GREAT!

This is what Malaysia need whilst other region bleeding in the crisis. We keep on playing politic drama... end of the day... guess who is suffering.. no one but Us.

YES! WE!!! RAKYAT JELATA. TERSEPIT ANTARA GAJAH GEMUK.
written by bluesky, April 07, 2009 09:05:07
Pete...we have to be on our toes now...as the greatest monkey ahs joined the stage together with his leech advisor...be very careful now of the repercussions that are going to take place..and i am sure all this will happen within the first month after the 3 by-elections...lets be prepared now.....Fight them!!
written by Running Sardines, April 07, 2009 11:13:46
Dear Pete

You are so funny ... have a good day and may God bless you always.

written by bkho, April 09, 2009 10:14:05
Hahahaha, great article, Pete!
You should've been a copywriter!