Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Made in Malaysia

Made in Malaysia PDF Print
Wednesday, 01 April 2009 15:04

What do foreign investors face when they come to Malaysia? How do they overcome the government bureaucracy and the many rules imposed on foreign investors? Imagine this typical scene in a government department when a movie producer tries to get approval to shoot a documentary in Malaysia.

Excuse me, but I’m wondering if you could help me.

Tengok itu. (The officer points to a sign on the wall that says: GUNAKAN BAHASA MALAYSIA).

I’m sorry. I don’t understand.

Mesti guna Bahasa Malaysia.

I’m sorry, but I’m an American. I don’t understand the local language.

Must use Bahasa Malaysia. Not American language. I cannot speak American.

But we don’t have an American language. We speak English.

Oh. Why don’t you get your Bumiputera partner to come if you cannot speak Bahasa Malaysia?

I don’t have a Bumiputera partner.

How can? All foreign companies that do business in Malaysia must have Bumiputera partner.

But we are not doing business in Malaysia. We do business in America. I am here to find out how to get a permit to shoot a documentary in Malaysia. We are a movie company.

Oh. You want to make a movie in Malaysia. Very good. Malaysia has plenty of history and culture. Good place to make a movie. You must show the Twin Towers and the Penang Bridge and the Iskandar Development Region in your movie.

No, it is not that kind of documentary. We are making a documentary about the murder of Altantuya Shaariibuu.

Aiyah! Cannot mention that name. That name banned.

Banned?

Yes. Government ban anyone mentioning the name Altantuya.

Oh. Then how do we address that?

I don’t know her address. Maybe you ask the Mongolian Embassy.

No, I don’t mean her address. How do we solve the problem of her name?

Altantuya Shaariibuu can’t be used. But you can use Aminah Abdullah. That name not banned by government.

Okay then. I want to make a documentary about the brutal murder of Aminah Abdullah.

That one okay. Government can approve. But you must also show the Twin Towers and the Penang Bridge and the Iskandar Development Region in your movie.

But those have nothing to do with the documentary. The documentary is about the murder of Altan…..

Ah, ah, ah….

Sorry, I mean Aminah Abdullah.

Why you can’t also show the Twin Towers and the Penang Bridge and the Iskandar Development Region in your movie?

Okay, maybe I can show some clips of the Twin Towers and the Penang Bridge and the Iskandar Development Region in the documentary.

Good. But must show the Twin Towers in Kuala Lumpur okay? Cannot show in Melaka like that Sean Connery movie, Entrapment. Our PM was very angry. He said the foreigners distort the truth.

Okay. The Twin Towers will be shown in KL.

And also the Penang Bridge and the Iskandar Development Region.

Okay, I will also show the Penang Bridge and the Iskandar Development Region in KL.

No, the Penang Bridge is in Penang and the Iskandar Development Region is in Johor.

Okay, I will take note of that.

And what about the songs?

Songs?

Yes, must show some local songs.

But this is a documentary about the murder of Al…….

Ah, ah, ah.

……Aminah Abdullah.

But can still show some local songs even if the story is about a murder. You must show Siti Nurhaliza singing. At least two songs.

Okay, we shall show City what’s her name….

Siti Nurhaliza.

……City Nurlaziha singing……

Nurhaliza.

Nurhaliza singing two songs.

Good, good. And what about Umno history?

Umno history?

Yes, must show Umno history and how Umno fought for Merdeka from the British.

But what’s that got to do with the murder?

You must show Umno history and how Umno fought for Merdeka. If not government can’t approve.

Okay, I shall show the Umno history and how Umno fought for….fought for….

Merdeka.

….Merdeka from the British.

Good. And don’t forget to also include the new PM’s speech.

New PM’s speech?

Yes, Najib Tun Razak.

What has his speech got to do with the movie?

Must show. Must show new PM declare he never met that Mongolian woman.

You mean Aminah Abdullah?

No, PM just said he never met that Mongolian woman. He never mention any name. Must show that speech in the movie.

Okay, we will show that as well. Do I take it if I agree to all those terms I can get permission from the Malaysian government to shoot the documentary in Malaysia?

You got Bumiputera partner?

No.

Must have Bumiputera partner. See list here. You must choose one Bumiputera partner from this list.

Okay, I will choose a Bumiputera partner from this list.

And must give 70% contract to local Bumiputera companies.

I don’t understand. What contracts?

70% of your work must be done by Bumiputera companies.

But we don’t need local participation. We shall be bringing our entire crew from the States.

But make sure not from Pakatan states. That one government can’t approve.

Pakatan states?

Yes. Penang, Selangor, Kedah and Kelantan.

No, I mean our entire crew will be brought in from the United States of America.

Cannot. Must have 70% local. Only 30% from America.

Okay, I will try to squeeze that requirement in.

And which state you want Datuk?

Excuse me. I don’t get that.

You make movie about Malaysia you can get Datuk. Which state you want? Can choose.

Oh, I don’t think I’m interested in Datuk, whatever that is.

Aiyah, people pay RM250,000 for Datuk. Why you don’t want? You make movie on Malaysia can get Datuk free. No need pay RM250,000.

Okay, throw in the Datuk for free then.

Okay, we will arrange Melaka Datuk for you. Where you shoot the movie?

In Selangor.

Aiyah, Selangor cannot. That is Pakatan state. Choose another state.

But the murder happened in Selangor so we need to shoot the documentary where the murder happened.

Selangor cannot. If Pakatan state, government cannot approve. You shoot in Melaka. Melaka very historical.

Okay, okay, we’ll go along with what you want. Is there anything else I need to know?

When you launch movie the First Lady must be invited.

The Queen?

No, not Queen. Rosmah Mansor.

Will she come to the premier?

Of course. If Shahrukh Khan go, she will go.

But Shahrukh Khan is not in the documentary.

Why not? He is very popular in Malaysia and First Lady like him. He also got Melaka Datuk like you. Must show him in movie.

Look, can I come back to you on that? We shall have to decide whether we still want to shoot this documentary in Malaysia.

No problem. When you already decide you come again to see me. We welcome all movie companies to Malaysia and will extend our cooperation and help you. Foreigners always welcome in Malaysia.

Comments (70)Add Comment
written by tehtarik, April 01, 2009 15:13:44
dear RPK,
is this an april fool's joke?
LOL.....
agree 365
written by DreamLady, April 01, 2009 15:15:12
Once again, you make me laugh too loud and too much with this incredible dialogue!!!

Cheers!!! Raja Petra, you belong to the rare species of the human race!!!You are just incredibly humorous!!
agree 439
written by AO Musa, April 01, 2009 15:17:38
this is awesome! Despite its a joke but its truly about Malaysian bureaucracy!
agree 336
written by DatoSeri, April 01, 2009 15:20:48
This is the image not only in the hearts of foreigners, but edged deep in Malaysians, too... you "story" (or fact) here is one great proof. Ha ha ha!!!

Thanks RPK!
agree 215
written by malaysianohope, April 01, 2009 15:28:41
Aduh! ROTFLOL!
Abang your are totally, utterly hilarious but with a catch that its a reflection of the reality of the types of hurdles facing Foreign Investors. GOTCHA! It's April Fool Day but for real!
agree 146
written by Tornado, April 01, 2009 15:28:44
Kah kah kah kah kah kah kah kah......
This story can cheer up Rosmah if Agong not keen to choose her husband become PM.
agree 110
written by ilovepakatan, April 01, 2009 15:28:50
PETE!

You can be a movie producer or a script writer. I wanna act in your movie.
written by Oscar Winner, April 01, 2009 15:29:44
It's parody of reality. Those who consider this a joke are naive and not in touch with reality. If this isn't reality, what kind of change are we fighting for?? It's typical movie from UMNOwood production mill everyday. Similar productions must be stopped. Come next GE, UMNOwood must be destroyed!!
written by Kaboda, April 01, 2009 15:30:15
LOL you got one warped mind RPK.
Anyhow I guess that business model can be applied to all foreigners who wish to do business in Malaysia.
written by johanssm, April 01, 2009 15:44:39
After reading this piece by RPK.
Now i know why Walt Disney wont come.
We will have Mohd.Mickey Bin Abdullah!
Not just foreign investors have to overcome such red tapes but locals too.
written by Wudan, April 01, 2009 15:49:02
I think BN banned the word,'Altantuya', because it was a huge embarrassment to them on nomination day. The PR supporters was singing 'Altan-tuya! Altan-tuya! Altan-tuya Na-jib Mon-golia! Altan-tuya! Altan-tuya! Altan-tuya! Na-jib Mon-golia!
(to the tune of 'When The Saint Go Marching In'.)

Then we chanted "Altantuya! Altantuya! Altantuya! Altantuya!." in raising and louder voices.Macam EPL supporters la kan. Siap buat 'Mexican Wave' lagi and moving a gigantic PAS flag up and down the hill. Imagine we did this from 8.30am to 12noon. We really had a good time and 'We are all brothers'at "the bukit".

That funny tune is still ringing in my ears after 4 days.
written by Hello Keithy, April 01, 2009 15:53:49
Pete, hats off to you, mate. You make my day. I haven't had a good laugh since the coup d'etat in Perak. But once in a while I do get a good laugh looking at Zambry's silly arse face. Keep it up, so to speak.
written by medicshan, April 01, 2009 15:57:12
Thank you, RPK! Laughter is a good medicine. I have yet to recover from "The Incredible Bulk" pic..... in the earlier posting.

But in all seriousness, Najib and his kunju-kunju won't be laughing at this one.
written by Admiral Tojo, April 01, 2009 16:01:37
the Altantuya tune will have to be edited for the 3 By elections (buy elections for BN). It will have to be Aminah Abdullah dari Mongolia instead as Altantuya is banned. Remember Kuala Trengganu where the tune started??? Oh by the way, my singing has improved somewhat a bit like the late Pavaroti.

Cheers and Salaam
written by cheekymate, April 01, 2009 16:02:12
You are one heck of a humorous dude,RPK!
Tonight, Najis will be having hard time from Roast MaMa and they will be hurling najis at one another. Boy, wouldn't I like to see that fight. Will bring along shit-proof jacket with all that najis flying around...
written by Durnfordi, April 01, 2009 16:02:15
Kah! Kah! Kah! $%^&*!!! Laugh until stomach-ache! Thanks RPK.
written by unomalaysia, April 01, 2009 16:06:49
And I bet it will happen exactly as written above. Malaysia Boleh.
written by ahmadneil, April 01, 2009 16:07:48
sure,and don't forget 2 say that if u want to do business here ,u must first pass us some money and that we call 'under the table money'.
As for partner,we call 'sleeping partner'.
plus this,if you need the police help to control crowd,then pay some money we call' kopi o'.
written by teo siew chin, April 01, 2009 16:08:11
OMG....ROTFLMAO !!!!
YM RPK...u can kill with that humour of yours!!!
written by Democrats, April 01, 2009 16:08:57
You are a funny man....... RPK, with murderous intent.

I nearly choked on my donuts reading this!!!!

Especially this part.....

Must show. Must show new PM declare he never met that Mongolian woman.

You mean Aminah Abdullah?

No, PM just said he never met that Mongolian woman. He never mention any name. Must show that speech in the movie.
written by truthbespoken, April 01, 2009 16:14:19
Hahahahahahaha! Surely this scenario cannot be more Malaysian than it should be in the everyday life of Malaysians! Laughing at our own foolhardiness can be quite torturously funny sometimes! Haahahahahahaha! Thanks RPK!
written by Farida, April 01, 2009 16:22:48
RPK, you are brilliant!
written by malsia1206, April 01, 2009 16:23:04
They restrict the usage of the word 'Allah'. Now it's Altantuya. Both words start with an 'A'. Maybe the next word usage they would restrict is 'Abdullah'. Or Tun Abdullah?
written by delCapo, April 01, 2009 16:49:12
ahahahahahaha.....
should offer Jibby & Rosie as main characters.... well, they are any way, no?
ahahahahahaha... RPK, u d man!
written by tumbledore, April 01, 2009 16:54:14
humour is made in heaven
but politic is made in HELL

but we say, it is helluva funny!

a good one Pete!

the only language fit for these civil servants is Bahasa Tanjong Rambutan!
god save the Queen (I don't mean HER!)
written by densemy, April 01, 2009 17:02:29
Thanks RPK... at times like this we need all the humour we can find
written by ohuat, April 01, 2009 17:12:48
Jokes? Fun? Humuorous? My friends out there, this is real. Nothing to laugh about.
written by singam, April 01, 2009 17:16:54
Pete, I wish I could laugh. But my mournful state is not just on my arm. smilies/sad.gif

Where are we going? Is there no sudden dramatic change of plot in our documentary?
written by johntyc, April 01, 2009 17:19:56
...and we wonder why foreign companies always choose to invest in other countries whenever they can. sigh. what's with our Malaysia!
written by mikefonz, April 01, 2009 17:20:18
I remembered a time when I went to apply for a license from the local district and the officer insist I speak in Bahasa saying he don't understand Englis well. While trying hard to explaine my story, his phone rang. He starting blabbling away in English on the phone and then he realised I was staring at him with disgust. Then he entertained me in English. What a fool he is.
written by ibabonma, April 01, 2009 17:26:11
RPK you should mention, unknown to almost all Malaysians, that foreign investors need to pay certain amount of money just to make an appointment to see our PM and ministers, especially Minister of Defense. This is real.
written by lysender, April 01, 2009 17:27:30
A very well done humorous skit by PRK which accurately describe and portrait problems in Malaysia. Syabas! =)
written by beijing, April 01, 2009 17:41:40
Pariah punya BN Government..
WHAT??? Since when Malaysia have "First Lady"...hahaha...itu Pariah punya mama la...hahaha...
written by pixieface, April 01, 2009 17:43:24
Dear RPK, your article is hilarious. BTW is there a campaign fund for the bloggers
esp in Batang Ai. Are they short of funds esp logistically it being so remote.
Any ideas anyone ??? I think the sarawak bloggers need funds badly.
Can someone do something.
People need information which account to remit and its proper usage.
Anyone Anyone Anyone !!!
written by kukamelon, April 01, 2009 18:00:37
That was a very funny story that has got much to do with reality in our country. We do really really really need a reform in Malaysia. The Indians are making the Indians more stupid and the Malays are making the Malays more stupid, so that those Indians and Malays that are at the corridors of power can easily manupulate the stupids. Don't know about the Chinese.
I hope the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong will not promote Mr. N to be the next PM. It's equal to unleashing hell on earth. I can already feel the heat... Hope it does not get hotter...
written by ymmityas, April 01, 2009 18:07:37
don't you think is fishy that rpk still has the mood to write jokes when his no 1 enemy will be sworn in 2 days time....
hmm... rpk appeared to be very confident that it might not be what we thought would be.......

well, just a hope to think there's indeed miracle.
written by arazak, April 01, 2009 18:22:44
Pete. . .

You owe me one lunch. . ., I could not stop laughing till I spill my lunch on this laptop. Lucky thing the laptop is stil working. . .!

Now, time to clean up my desk and this damn laptop. . .!
written by ScooL, April 01, 2009 18:34:52
RPK : u need another site to write about "Made In Malaysia" smilies/smiley.gif, this just starter ....
written by cruzeiro, April 01, 2009 18:41:09
Reminds me of the script for a "movie" which you wrote a long time back - ah yes, the Kongolia story.
Can we have a rehash of that please......
written by tee, April 01, 2009 19:01:30
This is the best and this is the most honest thing that we can read or know how our govt people operate, best joke, i mean honest joke, malaysia govt is exactly like that and this is the INSULT 2009 to the govt. syabas
written by OilMan, April 01, 2009 19:08:55
Jokes aside, it is true that foreign investment is difficult in Malaysia. Even with our lower currency, foreign companies prefer to do business elsewhere due to the red tapes and rampant corruption.
written by asiana888, April 01, 2009 19:14:24
Dear YM RPK,

A friend of mine is a movie producer in States. He told me that making a comedy is a challenging affair. I think I will introduce you to him .... if you ever thought of writing scripts for comedy.

Gelak gila!!!

written by shiokguy, April 01, 2009 19:47:43
I like the part on English!

Dear RPK, if the official is a Chinese Man, then you will have those direct translation type of conversation. I have one call Daddy's Love Letter.. It is a good laugh but you must know both English and Mandarin to appreciate it..

http://shiokguy.********.com/2...etter.html

Enjoy..
written by mmrokay, April 01, 2009 19:51:45
Good on you, RPK It's about we do something for this brutal killer
written by Heaven8402, April 01, 2009 20:01:23
Very kelakar la. I even read them twice and still can't stop laughing!
written by onnetline, April 01, 2009 21:09:40

Think the UMNO warlords and their party parasites won't be too happy about the truth of the matter.

A given good scenario for the foreigners to form their impression of Malaysia under the rule of these scumbags !

Well done indeed !
written by Taufique, April 01, 2009 21:12:04
though this is funny, this is pretty much what happens. Some relatives of mine from overseas came to Malaysia to set up their business, and mind you, these folks were going to pump in LOTS of money, but with the amount of BS they were given, and the absurd rules, they decided to take their set up to Singapore.

And they never regretted it.
written by justice6, April 01, 2009 21:53:27
our govt think they own the world...and they think Malaysia is the only place in this world for people to invest..
written by roadbarra, April 01, 2009 22:35:04
RPK, I like your sense of humour during this tough time we're all going to go through..Ugh! Keep it up, that's the spirit.
written by fromamovingtrain, April 01, 2009 23:35:22
Welcome to the all-new jib & rosie's show...
written by Fuminari, April 01, 2009 23:50:47
typical umno way of 'untuk agama ,bangsa dan pocket'nya.
written by Birds Talking, April 02, 2009 00:01:28
Your article is hiliarous! Because I am about to make a HD Video documentary, your guide is very useful!! Ha!Ha! But I am going to send you my medical Bill.
I fell off my chair while laughing so hard!!!!!
Cheers and great work.
Birds Talking Too
written by clusco, April 02, 2009 00:24:15

Hahaha... So funny....

Pakatan states?
Yes. Penang, Selangor, Kedah and Kelantan.

Anyway, why Perak state you didn't mention?
written by chilten, April 02, 2009 06:03:34
Haha.. that Malaysian dude is really a typical Malay who supports UMNO. I meet that kind of people all the time. Those are the kind of people who have never seen the outside world so they what they have is the best. It's so true RPK smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Azril Way, April 02, 2009 08:06:30
LMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
written by chilten, April 02, 2009 08:09:58
Haha.. that Malaysian dude is really a typical Malay who supports UMNO. I meet that kind of people all the time. Those are the kind of people who have never seen the outside world so they think what they have is the best. It's so true RPK smilies/cheesy.gif
written by malgal, April 02, 2009 09:47:47
instant cafe, comedy clubs - here's your script, now pls pay royalty to rpk.

written by 1eyecls, April 02, 2009 09:56:15
dear chilten,

you are wrong my dear,infact,i think these are the ppl that always go for "lawatan sambil belajar" kind of travelling packages that paid by rakyat but guided by toyo's crony travel agency!

Despite seeing the those modern n freedom countries like france,japan,usa,uk..........their mindset still KETUANAN MELAYU!

we can see how toyo behave,and he has plenty of followers,right!
written by Old Man, April 02, 2009 10:01:18
Sir RPK, my foreign friends were also looking for Bumiputra partners to do business in Malaysia BUT must be Bumiputras with political connnections. Intitially 30%, then 40%, then 51%, now 70%.. BUT our profit margin is only 15%! At last they decided to give the so-called putras 100%.. 1MALAYSIA kut! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Almighty, April 02, 2009 10:11:58
Ha,Ha,Ha.... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif "The true story about loyal servant dogs who want to protect their evil master, end up splash their own shit on their master face" Malulah......
written by carribeanking7, April 02, 2009 10:24:09
Ah ha ha ha ha heh heheh heh, hilarious Pete.

................but it also carries a message,recently when they revealed the stimulus package, one of the measures quoted was

"Foreign Investment Committee to adopt a more liberal approach to bring positive changes and nurture a more investor-friendly environment to attract more investments including foreign direct investment."

To me this another vague "we have no idea but are working on it statement."
What about cutting down on red tape and doing away with the 30% Bumi ownership requirement.
As recently as November last year the government defended the need for this quota citing
"It is in line with the national development aspiration, which is to rectify the economic and social imbalance and pay attention to the development of a bumiputra industrial and business community,"
This is a factor that puts off many foreign investors who come from countries where meritocracy is practiced, who have no patience to
listen to the government as obedient Malaysian citizens do, so they just take their money elsewhere.

written by AngryTaxpayer, April 02, 2009 10:38:21
LOL!!!!

You really crack me up RPK......sooo funny that I'm not sure whether to cry or to laugh anymore smilies/cry.gif
written by nincumpoop, April 02, 2009 10:56:41
Wonderful...RPK...Can you imagine if this abstract were to be played on LIVE Drama in a stand-Up Comedian Act in a pub...Sure all hell will break loose. But Kudos to you for the scripts...well thought...
written by Alice, April 02, 2009 14:03:43
LOL thanks for that entertainment RPK. How are you RPK? I sometimes wonder how you really feel now that your 'good' friend is going to become the PM. Hehe . Take it easy ok. We will all sit back,and watch the drama.
written by Running Sardines, April 02, 2009 16:41:19
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif

There was once my friend in university, who is poor in English and he happened to come across one American who is lost in KL and trying to go to Pudu Raya. Being kind hearted, he volunteered to bring him there. And along the way, my friend calmly said," We walk here. And lets cut the road here" ... (translated from mari kita potong jalan sini) ... and the Mat Salleh just could not understood what my friend was talking about while we were laughing our heads off ...
written by AstralQueen, April 02, 2009 20:55:27
Lol! Hillarious! That is freaking genious. XD
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, April 02, 2009 23:05:53
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif It seems the NEP supposedly to bring prosperity to the Malays have become the bane of the race as it is not helping to bring us a step or level up but that it brings us to what you call moronic zone. Then our lingo is as RPK portrays - very unfriendly to investors.
written by FRETEO, April 03, 2009 14:41:12
one more to add......

April 03, 2009 14:18 PM

AirAsia Is World's Best Lost Cost Airline

KUALA LUMPUR, April 3 (Bernama) -- AirAsia took Skytrax's "World�s Best Low Cost Airline" award in a ceremony held at the Aircraft Interiors Expo 2009 in Hamburg, Germany on Wednesday.

In a statement here today, AirAsia said the award, given by Skytrax under the 2009 World Airline Awards, was handed to AirAsia following a survey, which lasted eight months, covering interviews with more than 16.2 million travellers.

It said the award followed the final results of the annual World Airline Survey by Skytrax between August 2008 and March 2009 and which had respondents from diverse nationalities.

The survey evaluated passenger satisfaction for an airline's products and service standards.

AirAsia said the highly regarded award, also dubbed as the "travellers' choice", has cemented its competency in providing excellent and value-for-money services through its incessant innovations and trend-setting measures.

"The award marks a major milestone for AirAsia as the award is acknowledged the world over and the only award to be conferred based on independent judgements of our very own guests," said Datuk Seri Tony Fernandes, AirAsia's group chief executive officer.

Meanwhile, Skytrax chief executive officer, Edward Plaisted said the dramatic growth of low cost airlines across the world in the past two years has made the award won by AirAsia as one of the most fiercely contested under the Skytrax awards.

London-based Skytrax, established in 1989, are specialist research advisors to the air transpot industry.

-- BERNAMA

written by Angela Ooi, April 03, 2009 16:42:26
Gawd, you're evil RPK. I just had an op and its a killer to laugh. You'd certainly make a good script writer so seriously you should look into this! hahahaha
written by lampard, April 04, 2009 18:13:30
smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif good kok tok king!!!