Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The Unknown Soldier

The Unknown Soldier PDF Print
Wednesday, 01 April 2009 00:00

Forget about whether it was the Malays or the Chinese who first went to London. Forget about whether it was Umno or MCA who first mooted the idea of Merdeka in their meetings with the British. Instead, remember all those who did not go to London but died all the same so that we can inherit this nation we now call Malaysia

PM: Malays started fight for independence
The Star, 31 March 2009

It is historically true that nationalism and the struggle for independence was first started by the Malays, says the Prime Minister.

However, the country gained independence after the Malays, Chinese and Indian communities united to fight to free the country from British rule, said Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Commenting on Education Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein’s statement on the role of the Malays in the country’s Independence that has caused some unhappiness among other races, Abdullah said “it’s a fact” and true that the Malays, led by Datuk Onn Jaafar, initiated the struggle for Independence.

Saying that “history cannot be forgotten and erased”, he added that Tunku Abdul Rahman took over Umno’s leadership from Datuk Onn and formed an alliance – Perikatan – with MCA and MIC, which eventually saw the country gaining its Independence.

Abdullah said as there were also other races in the country, Tunku Abdul Rahman had the wisdom to bring all together in the struggle.

“Because all the races came together and were united in the cause, the British had no chance to divide and rule. They granted Independence,” he said.

The Prime Minister said the country continued to be governed by the Barisan Nasional under the concept of the people’s participation through the parties that represented all the races.

Meanwhile, Hishammuddin has denied he excluded the involvement of the MCA and MIC when he talked about the process of attaining the country’s independence, saying that several vernacular newspapers had quoted him out of context.

Independence Fighters & Nation Builders
Khoo Kay Peng, 31 March 2009
(http://khookaypeng.blogspot.com/)

Outgoing PM Abdullah Badawi said, "It is historically true that nationalism and the struggle for independence was first started by the Malays." He added that, "the country gained independence after the Malays, Chinese and Indian communities united to fight to free the country from British rule."

There are two factual points, which need to be elaborated and explained. After the world war two, it was clear that the British Empire had lost its invincibility. Due to the devastation of war against the Nazis in Europe, the empire had to focus on reconstruction in Europe. Many of their colonies were set free. There was a plan in London to eventually grant independence to Malaya.

However, it was the people's alliance, which had successfully got together social movements from all races, which pushed the British to speed up independence for Malaya. The HARTAL was a demonstration of people's power. The movement led by several social activists had called for nationalisation of all British assets and companies in Malaya.

The treat was so real that the British had to use a dirty tactic to brand them as Communist conspirators and sympathizers. Most of the movement's leaders were detained under the Internal Security Act. Their detention was able to slow the movement's momentum. At the same time, the British began to look out "friendly" parties to hand the reign of government to.

Hence, the British administration began to court the leaders of UMNO, MCA and MIC. UMNO led by Tunku Abdul Rahman was given the task to lead a delegation to London to negotiate for a peaceful handover of power with a few important caveats. The most important is the protection of colonial interests in the country. Before leaving, the British sold land and other properties in the straits states to private owners.

Hence, we got our freedom not through a nationalistic struggle but through mutual agreement to safeguard the British concessions in the country. Most of the Alliance leaders were Western educated, bourgeois and pro-British.

Second, while the fight for independence was noble, it is equally important for the nation to recognise those who had helped and contributed to build the nation. Nation builders belonged to Malaysians of all ethnicity and creed. A great number of them had helped to transform this nation from an under developed agricultural nation to a successful manufacturing nation. Many of them who worked in the plantations had helped to earn hard cash for this country and put food on the table for thousands of families.

It was the Chinese community leaders and members who started the urbanisation of Malaya. They had poured in their wealth to build town centres and cities, which are still visible today -- e.g. Kuala Lumpur, Penang, Ipoh, Taiping and others.

For UMNO, especially Abdullah, Najib and Hishammuddin, to learn how to appreciate the other races they must recognise the role and contributions of these nation builders. Not just their 'keris' waving members and leaders.

UMNO leaders were not the only true independent fighters or national heroes. Normal, silent and low profile Malaysians, our forefathers, who had contributed significantly to this nation - building roads, schools, towns, economy, etc. - were heroes too.

Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj, the first Prime Minister of Malaysia, led a delegation of Malayans to London to negotiate Merdeka. In that delegation were the first president and founder of the Malayan Chinese Association (MCA), Tun Dato Sir Tan Cheng Lock (photo above), and the fifth President of the Malayan Indian Congress (MIC), Tun V.T. Sambanthan.

We must remember; Umno was the first delegation to London. But they went to London only to oppose the formation of the Malayan Union, not to negotiate Merdeka. This resulted in the British abandoning the idea of the Malayan Union in favour of the formation of The Federation of Malaya.

The second delegation to London was by MCA. MCA’s purpose of going to London was to negotiate Merdeka for Malaya. But the British rejected the proposal. It was the third Umno-MCA-MIC joint-delegation to London that the “Alliance” proposal for Merdeka was really discussed and agreed.

In that sense, who was the first to negotiate Merdeka? According to history, it was MCA. But the British refused to consider MCA’s proposal for Merdeka unless all three races united and jointly negotiated Merdeka. So the second delegation by MCA actually failed. It was the third joint Umno-MCA-MIC delegation that eventually succeeded in getting an agreement from the British.

Okay, that is what history tells us. But that is not really the issue here. Whether it was an Umno, or a MCA, or an Umno-MCA-MIC effort that resulted in Merdeka is just one issue and an issue that the Malays, Chinese and Indians will argue till the cows come home -- as each will want to claim that it was it who was the one who was instrumental in Merdeka. What we must not forget is that all Malayans contributed towards Merdeka, not just the elite from amongst the Malays, Chinese and Indians, as what they are trying to suggest.

An army fights on its stomach. This means two things. One is that the soldier must crawl on the ground when under fire or else his head will be shot off. Most importantly, though, a soldier must eat to be able to fight. A soldier that has not eaten for days will be too weak to fight. So, an army fights on its stomach.

In that sense, the mobile kitchen is very important in any war. If the mobile kitchen and the cooks do not reach the battlefront, then the army is doomed. To force an army to surrender you starve it. This was done in the olden days. That was why the Dutch almost lost Melaka to the Bugis. The Bugis surrounded Melaka and starved the Dutch army. The Dutch eventually had to call for a truce and made a treaty with the Bugis to end the siege.

Many overlook the importance of the simple and most unimportant cook. They shower praises on the brave soldiers and pin medals on their chest. But the poor cook who made sure that the soldiers ate, and therefore were able to continue fighting, are never mentioned. Have you ever seen cooks honoured at the heroes’ tomb? No, it is always that brave soldier who died in the line of fire, never the cook who cooked meals for the soldiers so that they could fight on a full stomach.

Sure, Tunku Rahman, Cheng Lock, and Sambanthan led the joint-delegation to London to negotiate Merdeka. Never mind whether it was the Tunku or Cheng Lock who went first. Let us agree that all three went together -- so all the three races share the honour, equally. But there are many unsung heroes in the fight for Merdeka.

There was the police constable who died. The private who died. The planter who died. The government surveyor who died. The land office clerk who died. The rubber-tapper who died. The postman who died. The driver who died. The waiter who died. The member of the Royal Family who died. The school teacher who died. The Australian who died. The Englishman who died. The New Zealander who died. The Nepalese who died. The Sikh who died. The Indian who died. The Chinese who died. The Eurasian who died.

The list is just so long I would need pages upon pages to honour everyone who died in the service of this nation. No, they did not go to London. They are not honoured with a mention in our history books. But they died, nevertheless, in the service of this nation.

And because they died, today, we have a nation called Malaysia. And many of us were born in this nation called Malaysia because there is a nation to be born into. And there is a nation to be born into because many Malayans, all those who did not go to London, died in the service of this nation.

Forget about whether it was the Malays or the Chinese who first went to London. Forget about whether it was Umno or MCA who first mooted the idea of Merdeka in their meetings with the British. Instead, remember all those who did not go to London, but died just the same, so that we can inherit this nation we now call Malaysia.

I want to call these people The Unknown Soldier. Some of these people were in the army. But not all were soldiers. Many were simple Malayans who served this nation and died in the service of this nation. We do not know who they are. In fact, we don’t seem to care who they are. But these Unknown Soldiers were the proverbial cooks who made sure that the army could fight on its stomach, failing which, the army would have grown weak and would have lost its will to fight.

Comments (76)Add Comment
written by LKO, March 31, 2009 23:21:40
Have to check if the word Unknown Soldier can be used. In fact very soon, if RPK's article is carried on mainstream media, UMNO will be outraged and the word MCA may be banned.
agree 253
written by Rashid, March 31, 2009 23:26:56
We have no independence in Malaysia till today, only the Umnoputras who are the children of the British stooges, homeguards and colloborators have independence and one to steal our wealth and subjugate to us. Umno leaders, the stooges of the British and their children who were born during "Merdeka" are the ones who have been enslaving us. Only when Umno is destroyed and we remove the spoon fed children of the stooges shall we declare independence. Before that we don't care what the Umnoputras tell us. ALUTA CONTINUA (the struggle continues...)
agree 186
written by malaysianboy, March 31, 2009 23:28:27
Great Article! smilies/smiley.gif
agree 160
written by Awaken64, March 31, 2009 23:30:56
RPK the defender of the truth!!!

In short the question here is who funded the trip to London for the Malayan delegation?

Who defended the country against the Japanese? The British Military Army action against the Chinese FREEDOM Fighters!!! The truth is in some small caves in thick jungles across the border in Thailand.

The fact here is to understand that History is the point of view of the one in Power. The internet has given us the opportunity to seek any level of information we wish to seek, depending on the Purpose of our Life.

What is truth for Umno politicians is their view, belief and ideology.
What is important is that we don't have to agree or disagree to the ideology the hold.

The truth is only conventional truth and has no impact on an individual that does not get emotional or defensive on the matter. Thus as parents we need to adhere pragmatic philosophy where no truth is worth to fight against.

written by Fuminari, March 31, 2009 23:34:37
kerismuddin,educational minister??future leader??
allah,oh allah!what's happening to bolehland??
we are having an education minister in the form of a beast,
a creature who likes to kiss the keris!
now,that 'umnotoxic sydrome' get worse,he does not educate,he eradicates history n changes it into stories,umno hoodwinking stories of lies!!!
agree 159
written by DreamLady, March 31, 2009 23:40:19
Thanks a millions for your precious time, Raja Petra, belum tidur ke???

An interesting article written with abundance of naked truth that UMNO goons chose to bury and ignore its existence.The unsung warriors of pre Merdeka day must be tossing and churning in their graves upon hearing the ungrateful dogs from the regime barking endlessly, trying to outdo each other to condemn the genuine heroes of Malaysia!!! May the ungrateful ones rot in hell!!!

May God bless you and family, Raja Petra!! The only thing I am capable of doing to show how much I appreciate your contribution to Malaysian folks is through constant prayers for you...and I mean every word I said..

Take good care, will you !!!
agree 146
written by justice, March 31, 2009 23:42:32
Shame on Umnoputras who rob this country's wealth at the expense of these forgotten & unknown soldier!!
written by onnetline, March 31, 2009 23:47:43
Hei UMNO,

Allah will measure you against his teachings ! !
written by Fuminari, March 31, 2009 23:49:18
the older cousin is evading the truth,the younger one is trying to eradicate the truth!
leaders like this,boleh pakaikah???
written by Admiral Tojo, March 31, 2009 23:52:03
Abdullah and kerismudin should get their facts before they speak. Shame for their lies.

Salaam
written by johntyc, March 31, 2009 23:52:07
I thank those who get Kemerdekaan for us but the focus right now should be to build a glorious Malaysian's Malaysia and not Umno's Malaysia. Malaysia belongs to Rakyat Malaysia.
written by Hockchew, March 31, 2009 23:53:35
During a recent family gathering, my brother told mum that he is buying 4D and if strike first prize, he will treat the whole family to Disneyland Hongkong.My mum said she will pray to my late father to bless the family with the luck.

Indeed the first prize number is also my sister's car number. The fact is my brother did not buy the number. He have build up his fortune and wanted his mother to be happy and treat his siblings. If he had insisted using his money for the trip, my mum would have refused and reprimanded him for being wasteful.

All of us went for the trip and enjoy it.

Mum insisted that it was her prayer and my late Father's blessings. His contribution is the most significant. I dared not reveal the truth, maybe later.

To all of us, there is no question of her contribution because without her, our family may not be united and without her, we may not have insisted on traveling together as a family. Without her, my brother may not have come up with this excuse to treat all of us.

When something good happen, everyone wanted to stake a claim on it. UMNO, MCA, MIC and everyone. There is no need to fight over it. For pride? For pahala? Grow up! That's all history! Life goes on. We are Malaysian. We share the same destiny. If the people accept you, go on lead us. If the people reject you, accept it gracefully and step down. Life is more than power and money.

I salute RPK for his level head thinking. For God sake, stop all the crab about who is the first to fight for independence and ketuanan melayu. Let the people unite and overcome the financial tsunami! When the people is hungry they become angry and guess how they will treat Najib.

Is there no hope for Malaysia?
agree 144
written by truthvoice, April 01, 2009 00:04:20
Exactly! they are the true patriots, this is what the UMNO fella will never understand, they still unable to accept the fact that the Malaysian of all races are one family, and this can be seen clearly from the teachings in Biro Tatanegara, there are only two kinds of thinking in UMNO, one is to control those with low intelligence, and one is those who cannot think with their own brains.
written by MAGELLAN, April 01, 2009 00:10:39
A well written article. Unbelievable that even whilst on his way out as PM, he is still playing the racial card by joining hands with the chief racist, Hishamuddin.

This article is worth its mention and clearly underlines the efforts of all races into making us a nation called Malaysia today!

Look, let's stop bitching about who did what first and so forth, but instead focus on sharing this great nation. After all, all races deserve this! That is why we fight for a nation worthy to call Malaysians, Anak Bangsa Malaysia!!!
written by AlwaysFair, April 01, 2009 00:18:54
RPK you are truly an HONEST Malay. I think your honesty can be considered by some people to be a security threat because they want to dominate everything.

I am so happy and pruod there is such a GOOD Malay like you fighting for our rights in Malaysia.

If you are the Chief Justice in this land I am sure Malaysia will be crime free because all criminals would have fled or migrated. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Sutha, April 01, 2009 00:21:41
What independence? In 1947, the British decided to grant independence when the time was right. It took ten solid years for the bunch to get together and stand united. But was it a real independence in 1957? A mere switch of colonialist... from the honorable British to the Corrupt ArmNo. The SailBoat was an eye-wash, comprising 50% Genuine and 50% Fraudsters. The successor Beruk Nazi-onal was a tool of the dominating group which was outlawed in 1988.

The resurrected New ArmNo was worse than that found in MandelaLand. We have all kinds of draconian and restrictive laws. Human Rights, Environment, Free Enterprise and Minorites' opportunities are being raped. No space for dissent or disagree!

Before independence, some died in the hands of the former colonialist. Today, many folds have died in the hands of the police. Whacked to death reported as fluid in the lungs.

So, what independence then?
written by aeromaverick, April 01, 2009 00:25:19
A very sensible outlook RPK. I must say a matured way to look back at history.
Everyone had a part in the independence of this country.
As for the ''certain'' people who built up the cities of this countries, they were the so called ''Tax Farmers'' appointed by the rulers of those times.
Tax Farming obviously was very lucratively, and hence cash rich ''people'' decided to make good use of that money and built cities.
Let's just say it was the real estate boom of yesteryears.
If anyone wants to gain a better understanding on all this, read The Asian God Fathers by Joe Studwell.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by malsia1206, April 01, 2009 00:29:49
And remember during WWII, many Malayans then went to participate in the underground resistance and fought the invaders gallantly. Many yet were caught, tortured and killed. They sacrificed and paid the ultimate price for their cause for a liberated Nation. Who were these people? Not UMNO, not MCA and not MIC. They were citizens of the country and their children and grandchildren are now labelled as 'squatters'. This is Malaysia at her best. The racial radicals forgot the pages of history to pursue their lies and political agendas. If this attitude does not smack of treason and unloyalty, then tell me what crime is more grevious than mentioning 'Altantuya' in the present 3 by-elections?
written by SotPlug, April 01, 2009 00:33:08
Let it be. I only want to be a Malaysian...
written by James Loh, April 01, 2009 00:55:46
Before Merdeka, there are unity between all races. If you're interested to learn about Malaysia history. Please check out this documentary and you'll not be dissappointed. Its a 30 minutes documentary.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZG3h8nQMyRg&feature=related
written by James Loh, April 01, 2009 00:57:19
The title of the documentary is "Sepuluh Tahun Sebelum Merdeka". The documentary is created by Malaysian filmaker Fahmi Reza.
written by Kuku Burung, April 01, 2009 01:01:58
Someone asked: Who financed the trip to London? Well, I have the answer. The ordinary people. My grandfather used to tell us stories of how the officers came to houses to encourage people to contribute to the so called "heroes" to make the trip to London. My grandfather gandai his precious pedang and his wedding songkit to give to the "heroes". My grandfather was not from UMNO or MCA or MIC. He was just an oridinary rakyat that dreamt for a better future. So I agree with RPK, who are the real heroes?
written by James Loh, April 01, 2009 01:02:16
Link:
http://thecicak.com/hartal-10-...pendence/

Filem dokumentari Sepuluh Tahun Sebelum Merdeka ini menceritakan tentang satu peristiwa tersembunyi dalam sejarah perjuangan kemerdekaan rakyat, di mana seluruh Malaya telah menyaksikan tindakan politik pertama yang melibatkan penyatuan rakyat pelbagai kaum - Hartal Seluruh Malaya pada 20 Oktober 1947.

Filem ini cuba untuk mengetengahkan satu naratif alternatif kepada “naratif rasmi” sejarah perjuangan kemerdekaan negara kita yang dimonopoli secara ekslusif oleh kepimpinan elit UMNO. Filem ini boleh dilihat sebagai satu proses “recovery of historical memory” dengan menerokai asal-usul gerakan kemerdekaan rakyat di Malaya.

Filem ini juga berperanan untuk memperingati dan mengiktiraf sumbangan yang dimainkan oleh golongan politik kiri dalam perjuangan kemerdekaan negara kita.

Aku berharap supaya cerita ini akan menjadi sejarah permulaan “collective history” yang dapat dikongsi bersama oleh semua rakyat tanpa mengira kaum.

English Translation:

Ten Years Before Merdeka is a documentary about the struggle for independence, in which different races across Malaya united and engaged in political action - Hartal across Malaya on the 20th of October 1947.

This film presents an alternative narrative to the official account of our country’s independence, which is exclusively monopolized by UMNO leaders.

It explores the origins of the people’s independence movement in Malaya.

This film also aims to remember and acknowledge the contributions of left wing political parties in the quest for our country’s independence.

I hope that this story will be a starting point for a “collective history” that everyone can share, regardless of race.

–
FAHMI REZA is a contributor for theCICAK.

Fahmi is an arts worker who uses art as an agent for change; to produce new ideas and generate critical thinking. He has worked on visual/graphic design and is currently dabbling in film-making. His first documentary is Sepuluh Tahun Sebelum Merdeka.

written by Chuan, April 01, 2009 01:26:50
Indeed, these unsung heroes are hardly mentioned nor honored in the history books of this nation. Yet, these people had contributed no less than the representatives who'd flew over to London.

A nation is neither built nor destroyed by a handful of people. When a nation goes to war, every children, women and men, regardless of age and races goes to war.

May their souls rest in peace.
written by lysender, April 01, 2009 01:50:05
It always hit me that even though many of the Non-malays have given up their life for the independent and prosperity of this nation they are still termed "pendatang". Is this how a country treats their contributors and people who sacrifices for their next generation of well beings?
written by kenny, April 01, 2009 02:08:29
First they used race. Then they exploited religion. After that they coined 'social contract'. Combining these three, they call fellow M'sians pendatangs. All instigation and provocations seem to be slipping. Now they wanna go back full circle to mouth their own version of Independence. They might as well bring back the Japs, Brits and Commies and see whether them liars will run or lead.

An army fights on its stomach. The poor fights for their stomach. These witless corrupts fight the rakyat with bloated stomach spewing out lies and denials.
written by Daryl, April 01, 2009 02:34:29
I agree with this article because everyone try to claim a stake at who started the Merdeka negotiation and the truth is that only when the three group stood up together we have a country call Malaysia.

Also, the people that build this country are the 'rakyat' not the UMNO, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PKR, DAP, PAS or any political party. When the government stop listening and start taking things for granted than rakyat need to take the country back. The time is ripe for us to stop the decay and vote the ignorant and arrogant one out of the office. Rakyat either with faith or careless or fear voted BN in again and again should wake up and smell the coffee because we do not need to take this everyday in the butt. Don't wait until too late when your only option is to migrate to another country in order to provide a better future for your children.

How do you like to receive contract because you win it fair? Your children education is guarantee if they are good enough and if not there are alternatives for them to explore. The next time you go to a PDRM to report a crime you actually get professional service. Or when you go to the court of law you actually get a judge that are not tie down to a political party. Or when you go to your MP or DUN you are treat as Malaysian not Malay, Chinese or Indian. Or when a public project cost increase you get to see why not 'sorry it is too difficult for you to understand'. North-South-East-West Interstate or Highway that are free of charge.

Are you ready for your dream to come true or just lay down and vote for Barisan Nasional that doesn't care about the rakyat but keep making dozens of millionairess mostly to cronies or members of BN.
written by LJN, April 01, 2009 03:00:03
RPK, Pak Lah, Big Ugly Keris-waving Guy and all,

Here is one more argument you can argu till the cows come home -- UMNO, MCA, MIC and their representatives didn't go there to negotiate the merdeka for MALAYSIA, right?? They went to negotiate merdeka for MALAYA. See the difference? You say this is insignificant? But it is very significant.
written by PresleyP, April 01, 2009 05:03:56
Whether it is the Malays or the Chinese or Indians who first started the Merdeka movement is not really important. Just like whether Hang Tuah is a Malay or Chinese is not important.
The same thing goes with the story that which part of your body is most important to you.
Thus the subject is not worth to argue about. But, our Minister of Education, instead of concentrating on doing better job for the education system in the country, is raising this issue. Such issue has not use to the country except for him to boost his support.

That is the problem with the political arena in this country. People such as Mahathir Mamak, his son, KJ and others frequently come out with some racial issue which has no benefit to the country except to arouse the sentiment of the people. And they get away with it. Simply because they are UMNO scumbags. They never get any punishment. Thus the racial issue keeps pop up every so often.

These scumbags have no idea to create name for themselves except to exploit the racial issue to boost their support.

If you have no idea, please read the Straits Times from our neighbouring Singapore !! Learn it from the professional politician from a First World country, a country once part of Malaysia. And please try to learn from a country which has no natural resources but turn up to be richer than Malaysia.

written by evaangel, April 01, 2009 06:33:53
Beautiful article smilies/smiley.gif *hugs*
written by Pakyeh, April 01, 2009 07:15:08
Dato Onn and Tengku Abdul Rahman are not the real heroes of Merdeka.
Read "Heroes of Merdeka" at...

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by Chokma, April 01, 2009 07:28:24
It seems the leaders of this country is very enthusiatic on debating trivial matters and lack of ability to handle real issues such as corruption, crime and social harmony. When will they wake up to see that the country's natural resources as well as top talented brains are draining out? When are they going to be seriously working on ways to stop these bleeding? Bodoh punya Malaysians!
written by raybeam, April 01, 2009 08:29:38
dear readers,

the statement made by the chairman of the CVLB that the wayward ways of errant taxi
drivers cannot be controlled is most disturbing and shocking to say the least. it is just like the police saying that crime cannot be erradicated as the criminals are too powerful and sophisticated. datuk makiman is certainly a disgrace and liability to the government, and the sooner he is relieve of his post, the better for all malaysians who have to rely on taxi services.

i wish here to congratulate karpal singh and his son for standing up to the might of the barisan nasunal government. the selective prosecution practiced by the ruling clique is most reprehensible.

touching on another matter, i wish to question the selangor government as to why they are wasting money and resources to hold the balkis enquiry, when at the end of the day none of the purpurtraitors can be proscecuted as they have been given immunity. this is certainly a sad state of affairs, to the point that even khir toyo and his wife cannot be compelled to attend the enquiry.

just like many other right thinking malaysians, i believe that the najib razak regime will be more oppressive than that of badawi's and that the pakatan rayat will have a much tougher time governing the states which they control. having been discriminated by the ruling government in the past, and even despite the fact that i am a blind individual, i have the strong urge to stand as a candidate in any future elections with the hope that i can help bring about a better malaysia where all citizens will be given equal treatment.

yours sincerely,
alfred ho.
written by ibabonma, April 01, 2009 08:37:57
My late father together with Sdr Ahmad Boestamam in their late twenties migrated to Kuala Lumpur in early 1945 from Batu Gajah and Tanjung Malim respectively and became founder members of API (Angkatan Pemuda Insaf) or secretly known as Angkatan Pemberontak Inggeris operating an office at No 1 Jalan Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Umno was formed in 1948!

They were among the pioneers championing Merdeka. If their struggle were of no importance, why did the British banished them to Pulau Jerejak, Penang for 5 and 7 years respectively under the Emergency Ordinance (ISA) and gave independence to Umno in their absence?

Who truly is Bapa Merdeka? History will be re-written soon after the fall of UMNO, believe me.

written by teo siew chin, April 01, 2009 08:52:05
people, i am all for his-story but heh, shouldn't we NOW be creating our own history by UNITING in a CAUSE ??? AMAR MAARUF, NAHI MUNGKAR !!!!
written by PRman, April 01, 2009 08:52:56
Its our choice to ignore the ignorant remarks! And its also our choice to vote for PR on the next GE. Malaysians, are you with me?
written by Tornado, April 01, 2009 08:54:19
As usual, the only "BIG PEOPLE" will be remembered.
written by DreamLady, April 01, 2009 08:54:52
Good morning ibabonma! I don't mind confiding in you that I enjoy every comment you made especially the ones regarding the history of the Malaysian royalties some weeks ago. More or less I could sum up that you are a well-read person, and an inspiring character to the readers with your ever-fascinating events punctuated with minute and colourful descriptions. Bravo!!! Keep up with the enchanting spirits!!!

Have a marvelous and blessed day!!!
written by TWOG, April 01, 2009 09:08:20
This article reminds me of the joke below. Just substitute "who went to London first" or "who is more important" or "who died for Malaya/Malaysia" with "Boss".

Who's the Boss?

When the Lord made man, all the parts of the body argued over who would be boss.

The brain explained that since he controlled all the parts of the body, he should be boss. The legs argued that since they took man wherever he wanted to go, they should be boss. The stomach countered with the explanation that since he digested all the food, he should be boss. The eyes said that without them man would be helpless, so they should be boss. Then the ******* applied for the job. The other parts of the body laughed so hard at this that the ******* became mad and closed up.

After a few days...

The brain went foggy, the legs got wobbly, the stomach got ill, and the eyes got crossed and unable to see. They all conceded and made the ******* boss.

This proved that you don't have to be a brain to be boss...

Just an *******.
written by TWOG, April 01, 2009 09:23:29
The censored part refers to the posterior end the alimentary canal, otherwise known as the A-h o l e.
written by hellosunshine, April 01, 2009 09:31:05
Haiyaa..... if MCA and MIC running dogs kept quiet when Kerismuddin and AAB retold history according to UMNOputra version, then these running dogs agree with them. Just goes to show how much influence they have over UMNO. Phtooi! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Rozlan, April 01, 2009 09:58:49
The treat was so real that the British had to use a dirty tactic to brand them as Communist conspirators and sympathizers. Most of the movement's leaders were detained under the Internal Security Act. Their detention was able to slow the movement's momentum. At the same time, the British began to look out "friendly" parties to hand the reign of government to.

Hence, the British administration began to court the leaders of UMNO, MCA and MIC. UMNO led by Tunku Abdul Rahman was given the task to lead a delegation to London to negotiate for a peaceful handover of power with a few important caveats. The most important is the protection of colonial interests in the country. Before leaving, the British sold land and other properties in the straits states to private owners.

Hence, we got our freedom not through a nationalistic struggle but through mutual agreement to safeguard the British concessions in the country. Most of the Alliance leaders were Western educated, bourgeois and pro-British.

I agreed with it.They surpressed the true independent fighters and hand it over to their puppets who continued British oppressive policies till today.Many malay as well non malay leftists suffered in prison after independent and some even meet death in prison.One of them was Dr Burhanuddin Helmi.
written by ibabonma, April 01, 2009 10:12:17
DreamLady, TQ. I am sure my father is smiling in his grave and remembering him, I just like to share what he told me when I was still in my early teens - Don't trust the policemen and never join Umno. See!
written by Richard Lo, April 01, 2009 10:16:51
However, the country gained independence after the Malays, Chinese and Indian communities united to fight to free the country from British rule, said Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
History has proven to us that our independence from the British was not fought out at the battle field but at the negotiation table.
UMNO, do not twist the historical facts!
written by beijing, April 01, 2009 10:21:26
Dear RPK, How long you have to wait to see the "kehancuran malaysia"? It is time for you to lead our nation.
written by teo siew chin, April 01, 2009 10:26:14
"Dear RPK, How long you have to wait to see the "kehancuran malaysia"? It is time for you to lead our nation..."
-----------------------------

sigh....looks like YM RPK is the Forgotten Soldier!!!
written by *********, April 01, 2009 10:30:16
FACT. The Brits would not have granted independence if Umno or the Malays only asked for it. Despite the Brits using their 'divide and rule' policy, the Brits gave independence because all the other races wanted it. FACT. Umno has doctored our History text books to suit themselves...More http://*********.********.com
written by Bandit, April 01, 2009 10:36:12
Are we independent today? Think carefully. Is the Police independant? Is the Juduciary Independant? Is MACC independant? Is the Media independant? What independence are we talking about today? We may have been independant from colonial rule but today we lost our independence to a bunch or morons and racist UMNO bastards and their ever faithful lap dogs.
written by Pakyeh, April 01, 2009 10:48:56
Ya,Ya. I agree with you guys'
Read "Pantun : RPK 4 PM" at..

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by yellowwoman, April 01, 2009 10:53:11
Dear Raja Petra,
I have been mulling the state of our country. Our political mockery, our uneducating education system, our racial disharmony.... etc etc etc... and for the first time, really felt the lingering nausea that comes from knowing one is in deep shit.

Can someone rise and lead us? Someone besides a politician - someone wise, fearless and colourblind? Someone like YOURSELF??
Is it true that politicians are a different breed? And that NICE people, real people, people with a heart for their fellowmen, cannot be a politician/leader? Can a leader not be a politician?? I wonder.

Can a country be lead by genuinely good people - like sincere volunteers whom through their forte in whatever field, come together and work for the nation? Can there be a Minitry of Volunteers? Where the reward is the satisfaction of turning the nation around, and start its healing process?

If volunteers can help in by-elections, support environmental causes, help the poor and sick, why can a concerted grouping of volunteers lead a country??
I started thinking about having someone lead in stopping the cancerous education system of our country. Then i thought why just the education system, why not the entire nation? Am I foolish to even think it?

Can it be done, RPK? Will you be our leader??
I ask of this sincerely, and also to all Malaysians, as my heart bleeds.
written by LALILOo, April 01, 2009 11:01:54
Ahem,...I think part of the credit for such a wonderful write on our history goes to the original writer, KHOO KAY PENG.

Secondly, the minute UMNO starts to appreciate the toil and sweat of non-malay community leaders, only then will the non-malays in Malaysia be accorded equal respect.

Until then, either you can start to bodek them, or, you can make sure that they lose in all future elections in the country by voting against them.
written by densemy, April 01, 2009 11:04:27
"But the British refused to consider MCA’s proposal for Merdeka unless all three races united and jointly negotiated Merdeka"

So much for all that Mahathirist bullshit about the Brits dividing to rule Malaysia... they never had to and they never wanted to. It was UMNO's shame that they tried to hide by blaming the Brits.... How Malay is that?

The 'Struggle" for independence is a word only coined recently, no doubt by one of Pak Lah's speech writers

And RPK... if you want to get a accurate assessment of WHO died in the struggle for Malaysian independence, maybe you should read Singapore Burning, Colin Smith. Penguin Books 2005
written by thor, April 01, 2009 11:08:57
We all know for certain who went to Paris with a large group, all sacrificing their valuable time to that the world hve the benefit of our knowledge on the education system for 7 or 8 minutes. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Straight straight jgn belok belok ( as shown on d TV encouraging the youth to read English papers, how come not shown anymore ah malu ka?) smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

The guy with either the can of biru or the little wavy thing now takes over from Al Bozo and will be in no time the CLOWN of the year.
written by Newkidonblog, April 01, 2009 11:14:00
We have a dumb ass politician in Umno who happens to be the King of Educators teaching history to our young generation. Sigh.....

They never failed to amaze me with their stupidity! Pak Lah is just as dumb! Ain't we glad he's on his way out. Soon we have another dumb ass trying to teach us how to use C4.

WTF!
written by Jan, April 01, 2009 11:19:39
When UMNO says they will reform will you believe? See what the delegates said at their recent General assembly. Listen to what kerismuddin said about the independence fighters. These are not talk of reform they are the thinking of an exclusive group of people who excludes people who are not their kind, never mind how much these excluded people have sacrificed for the country. I honestly don't see how we can continue to support this racist party.
written by lamakawan, April 01, 2009 11:21:05
Hishammudin is a big liar. Now he says the Chinese and Indian newspapers had twisted his speech that he did not mention that they were not involved in achieving independence from the British. He actually did just mention the malays are responsible for achieving independence. This is a seditious remark. he must be investigated by the police for sedition. Will the police investigate him? he is a BN man and the police are BN people. so he can easily escape being investigated!!!
Whatever he says is right. And whatever the rakyat says is seditious. This is Malaysiabolehland. Porr...rah Hisahmuddin.
written by clusco, April 01, 2009 11:24:34

Thanks... smilies/wink.gif
written by arazak, April 01, 2009 11:27:49
This UMNO has no shame, "Muka Tak Tahu Malu". They are always saying they are the only ones championing for this country's independence. They ignored the contribution of other races. They thought we do not know history!

The only thing they know is "angkat bakul sendiri", and wave the keris. Even worst they dare to say those other races who had "built this nation" as "pendatang".

Right now UMNO's contribution to the country is robbing Malysians high and dry. . ., and they still dare to say they are championing for the people. Memang confirm "muka tak tahu malu"!.
written by malaysianohope, April 01, 2009 11:28:33
Abang,
A state of 'denial' is always the trait of umno whilst at the same time trumpeting 'ketuanan melayu'. By uttering that only one race achieved Merdeka for Malaysia the two idiots are dishonouring the lives & blood of our forefather Malaysian who valiantly fought the British colonial master. I wish the British can put on record once & for all the true facts instead of allowing these scums to distort history. Meantime lest enjoy the beginning of their demise starting with the By-elections at the batang & 2 bukits.
written by Jan, April 01, 2009 11:31:16
Apart from lying these putras are incredibly racist. They now want to exclude other people from the country's history books. I wonder why MCA and MIC and other minion parties still hang around this kind of party. Are they going to wait until we vote them out totally?
written by latihanQ, April 01, 2009 11:57:17
And our Education Minister is...Datuk Seri Hishammuddin?
written by malaysianohope, April 01, 2009 12:20:00
Abang,
Just see how these people behaves, especially that 'Waiting to Pee-M'. Before PL resigns invitations already sent out to celebrate his coronation. Memang kurang ajar!
Hope PL will change his mind or better still the King select some other person. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by amjoem, April 01, 2009 13:48:09
Is it or is it not treason to deny that the Chinese and the Indians and the unknown soldiers were totally committed as well as were full participants in our demand for Independence from Britain for Malaysia. I am asking this because from the legal point I am not sure as to what type of action we can take towards UMNO when their indiciplined members just to gain a few votes are seditious and are not being controlled by all those authorities who are being paid a fat salary from the Rakyat's taxes but are no langer fair but totally biased. PR should form a shadow Judiciary, and pronounce a fair judgement on all such cases, so that when the PR takes over the Government, these sentances can be carried out.
written by dassky2000, April 01, 2009 15:38:57
Very well said brother. We should sent UMNO BN goonies back to pre - school.
written by changeformalaysia, April 01, 2009 18:04:47
Thank you RPK... for such a great article.

Education department should not hide the true. Do not twist and turn the history of Merdeka in Malaysia.
Education Minister - Datuk Seri Hishammuddin, are you still sleeping??
written by lvbala, April 01, 2009 18:34:17
Datuk Hishamuddin is teaching Malaysian History after 50 years of independance. Is this what matters now in Malaysian political situation that a minister reminding the citizen about who gain the independance. What actually he is trying to prove? What is his point now? Bunch of clowns.
written by Avanza1, April 01, 2009 21:54:49
>> The treat was so real that the British had to use a dirty tactic to brand them as Communist conspirators and sympathizers. Most of the movement's leaders were detained under the Internal Security Act. Their detention was able to slow the movement's momentum. At the same time, the British began to look out "friendly" parties to hand the reign of government to.Hence, the British administration began to court the leaders of UMNO, MCA and MIC>>

Do that mean prior to all the negotiations, there was already an arm struggle to push the British out of Malaysia. Which means the unknown soldiers in the jungle put up the first fight. What is this claim of who are the first to fight? The truth is the remaining unknown soldiers who are still in south Thailand are the first freedom fighters, thought not the way we or UMNO wanted it to be.
written by Aming, April 01, 2009 22:47:05
Take note of the acts of these UMNO worms and deliver a blow so severe to them in the next GE that the they would be crawling in main street and at best, would be sitting on the Opposition Aile in Parliament.

People, look ahead and be firm in your resolve.
written by LFLee, April 01, 2009 23:09:40
very soon someone in UMNO will start shouting:
"Stop all the discussion about who gain independence
for Malaysia or else we will detain you with ISA.
It is UMNO and UMNO only to bring Independence to
Malaysia, END OF STORY".

Bodoh punya Cina, Bodoh punya Indian, if there is a
single vote any Cina & Indian for BN come 3 by-elections,
you deserve the suffer UMNO gave you.
written by Duke, April 01, 2009 23:53:29
Really good, Pete smilies/grin.gif
written by raven1958, April 01, 2009 23:55:51
Just too many died for a nation to be born and kept...and now to be ruled by a murderer....we have failed as a nation or we just dont have the guts of our forefathers...
written by Malaysiaputra, April 02, 2009 08:27:59
RPK, I wish the truth of what you have written here can be read by All Malaysians, especially the younger generations, instead of the distorted and twisted "truth" of Umno as taught in schools today.
written by flyer168, April 02, 2009 09:04:56
Dear Pet & Professor Khoo Kay Peng,

Thank you for this great article to "Enlighten" all the Anak Bangsa Malaysia.

Malaysia badly needs “Role Model” established Leaders & Politicians of HONOUR with Calibre, Maturity & Tolerance without Fear or Favour & NOT Political OPPORTUNISTS – on BOTH sides of the Political Divide.

Further this nation Desperately needs Intelligent, Time Proven Pragmatic Successful modelled, Financial & Politiical “SOLUTIONS” NOW on BOTH sides of the Political Divide, to MITIGATE the IMPENDING Political & Financial fallout.

The British educated (Oxford, Cambridge, etc) & trained Intellectuals, Professionals (Lawyers, doctors, etc), Economists, Bankers, etc , British Army Colonel (Tun H.S. Lee), etc.

- In 1957 FINALLY gained our Independence from the “Colonial British Rulers” through the citizen’s “concerted” struggle & the Leadership of our Bapa Merdeka Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra & his Malayan cabinet of TRUE TUANS managing the system of Westminster style Democracy & with the Rule of Law in 1957,

That was the old UMNO (led by Tunku), MCA (lead by Tun Tan Cheng Lock) & MIC (lead by Tun Sambanthan) under the banner of the “Perikatan/Alliance” government.

Is not that the “Better & Smarter” choice by the Leadership of our Bapak Merdeka Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra & his Malayan cabinet of TRUE TUANS managing the system of Westminster style Democracy & with the Rule of Law in 1957....

Through INTELLIGENT POLITICAL NEGOTIATIONS & INTELLIGENT POLITICAL SOLUTIONS leading to a “Bloodless” handover & the Independence of Malaya!

It proves a point that Educated, Intelligent, Smart & Wise leaders do not have to resort to Threats, Militancy & unnecessary Battles with collateral damage & bloodshed to the citizens!

I was there at the Dataran Merdeka to witness the occassion on 31st August 1957
- the joy, tears & jubilation of Tunku, his cabinet & every Malay, Chinese, Indian, etc citizen of Malaya!

I hope we can accept the fact that our forefathers suffered but persevered & did not give up the struggle for Independence...., until it was achieved!

Yes, Tunku & his Malaysian cabinet of TRUE TUANS, EARNED the RESPECT, TRUST & SUPPORT of ALL the Malayan citizens.

It was in 1969 our Bapak Merdeka/Malaysia Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra & his Malaysian cabinet of TRUE TUANS managing the system of Westminster style Democracy & with the Rule of Law was “Betrayed” with the “13th May 1969 BLOODY “coup d’état” by the “Elite UMNO Ketetuanan BEGGARS”....Tun Razak & his group....

- some of those are still “Alive, Kicking & Mentoring ALL the New Ketetuanan Beggar Wannabes.”

This great nation, its assets & its Anak Bangsa Malaysia have been abused for the last 40 years by these “Moronic Idiots & their Goons” through “Gutter Politics” & the “Law of the Jungle” ala Kindergarten style.

Desperate People, at Desperate Times, will RESORT to Desperate Henious Actions even if it means “Destroying” their “Honourable Family Legacy”, our Monarchy, All our nation’s Institutions, Pillars of Democracy & Justice, their own “MALAY MUSLIM HADHARI” party “UMNO” beyond “Redemption”, their own Kind, this country & its Many People!

- The “Common Denominator” in the scenario = ALL the UMNO/BN Leaders & Candidates they “Nominate” within their Party & at ALL the Institutions, GLCs & Corporates are Not Selected based on Merits....From top to bottom.

Gone are the days of the Established, Honourable Malaysian TUANS of our Bapak Malaysia Tunku & his 1st Cabinet Minister’s VALUES.

Party promotions based on “nepotism, patronization, money politics, etc” without “Meritocracy and Proven Successful Track Records” leads to “Leaders” that UMNO is inheriting....

- “Elite, Ketuanan UMNO BEGGARS” with their “Gutter Politics” & their “Law of the Jungle” ala Kindergarten style....

- “Quarreling with PR & Anak Bangsa Malaysia whilst still playing with Jaguh Kampung “MARBLES”....

- When all the other nation’s PM & FM are “Strategising & Synergising” on the International Political, Economic & Financial “CHESSBOARD”....

PRESENTLY our UMNO/BN Leaders “DO NOT EVEN Cross Talk” amongst themselves...

Remember “What goes round, will come round to “Haunt” these Desperate UMNO Ketuanan Beggars”

What happened the last 5 days at the UMNO AGM will result in what I call “COLLATERAL DAMAGE” to their own “UMNO/BN Ketuanan” Warlords & their supporters.

All their Grandoise Ketuanan plans....Will Backfire & a SLAP in UMNO’S/BN’s face at the 3 Bye-elections.

Divine Intervention Works Wonders to accelerate their “Self Destruct Implosion.”
This may happen sooner rather than later...

written by Running Sardines, April 02, 2009 11:59:56
Dear RPK

Thank you for your great article but humans are humans ... being greedy, they will not share your thoughts and will cling to power by all means ...worst still, it is Me, myself and I disease. Self centred. Your unknown soldier is not only a forgotten soldier but an extinct species in the present political situation. Today you vote for this candidate but there is no guarantee he will stick with his party ... lompat si katak lompat ...

The root of all these are multiple factors i.e. education system, integration policy, business opportunity, civil service opportunity etc. If only we are "Malaysian" and have concern, mutual respect, trust, tolerance etc. among one another (just look at the way we drive) , then I guess it is a different story ...

written by panca, April 02, 2009 13:21:39
Some day, one day Malaysia Today will be compiled of its article and may be used for future Malaysians and generations to come for reference, history findings and research.

No Kris Waving please, we are Malaysians.

Try speak in the Kelantan slang the word 'bodoh'. Terms and conditions applicable to those waving kris to fellow Malaysians.
written by Chaptokam, April 02, 2009 20:11:21
Just to add
During those times many Malay films were produced and directed by Chinese . I was a cohesive effort between these people from various communities and races that made these films heritage until today . Just take a good look at all those Tun P . Ramlee films , they were all produced by Shaw Brothers and directed by Chinese directors including Run Run Shaw himself .

And what about Penang ? They tried to twist historical facts to suit themselves by claiming Penang was founded by some joker before Capt Francis Light landed and founded Penang or Prince of Wales Island as it was known during that time . I