Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow And you said you fear PAS

And you said you fear PAS PDF Print
Tuesday, 31 March 2009 00:00

You might not agree with Islam or PAS’ policies on Islam. But at least with PAS you know what’s coming and you can voice out if you don’t like it. With Umno, you are not allowed such luxuries.

First read this:

News Item 1: Jerai PKR division dissolved

A PKR division chief has pulled out from PKR, taking over 400 party members with him. Jerai PKR division chief B. Kalaivanar said his decision to leave PKR was due to his disappointment and frustration, as well as many other members’, with the party’s leadership that has ignored the voices of those who had struggled for the party. (You can read the rest of the news item below).

Now read this:

News item 2: PKR man faces cheating rap

Parti Keadilan Rakyat candidate for the Gurun state seat in the last general election B. Kalaivanar was charged at the magistrate’s court yesterday with two counts of cheating involving RM3,600. Kalaivanar, who is also Jerai PKR division chairman, claimed trial to inducing R. Patchama, 59, to hand over RM2,000 in April 2004 as payment to process an application for aid with the Social Security Organisation (Sosco). (You can read the rest of the news item below).

Do I need to explain what is going on in Kedah or are you intelligent enough to grasp the situation? It is quite simple really. Contest the by-election and then win. And after you win you negotiate a deal to cross over to Barisan Nasional -- such as a cash payment of RM5 million plus for the court case to be dropped.

Sounds reasonable? Okay, enough about Kedah. Now read the following news item:

News Item 3: Delegates want Islamic law to be ennobled

The Islamic legal and economic systems must be ennobled immediately to ensure that the ummah remained strong and supreme in future, a Puteri Umno delegate, Seriwani Sabtu said today. The Setiawangsa Puteri Umno head said that the role and power of the syariah courts should be widened to enable them to hear various cases pertaining to Islam instead of confining to marriage and divorce cases only. (You can read the rest of the news item below).

What is that I hear? PAS is dangerous because it is propagating the setting up of an Islamic State based on Syariah laws? For those who speak without understanding what Islamic laws are all about, Syariah laws comprise of many laws. The Hudud law, which is a bone of contention to many, is just one of these Syariah laws. Hudud, however, deals with seven specific crimes. But there are other Islamic laws that deal with inheritance, marriage, and so on.

At least PAS openly propagates Islamic laws. In that same breath, however, PAS says it shall not unilaterally implement Islamic laws if it ever comes to power in the federal government. And that, of course, is another issue to argue. How can PAS implement Islamic laws if it comes to power in the federal government when it will need a two-thirds majority in Parliament to do so but it contests only one-third of the 222 seats and wins less than half that?

Nevertheless, PAS has agreed that any policy matter requires unanimous agreement by all the partners in Pakatan Rakyat (and the implementation of Islamic laws is a policy matter). A simple majority is not enough. So, if PAS wants Islamic laws, and even if PKR agrees to this (which it will not of, course), as long as DAP opposes the idea then it just can’t be done. Simple! So the issue is a non-issue from the word go.

But what should not be ignored here is Umno’s plan for Islamic laws. Forget about PAS. They can’t do it. First, they do not control two-thirds of the seats in Parliament. Second, DAP will not support Islamic laws so it can’t be done since it will not be unanimous. But Umno can do things unilaterally. Umno does not need to ask the other 13 members of Barisan Nasional permission to do anything. Umno does what it wants to do. Umno is Barisan Nasional and Barisan Nasional is Umno.

Furthermore, PAS announces what it wants to do. It makes no secret of its plan to eventually see Islamic laws implemented in Malaysia. But it can also accept the fact that it may never see that happening. And PAS is quite prepared to leave well enough alone.

Umno, however, Islamises Malaysia in secret. They don’t make any noise about it, like PAS, which talks but never really gets to do it. With Umno, you wake up one morning and suddenly find out that this or that is a new ruling.

Take the ‘Allah’ ban for Bibles as one example. Take the arresting of non-Muslims who hold hands in public places. Take the ban on the building of Buddhist temples. Take the demolition of Hindu temples. Take the body snatching cases. All these, and more, are either federal government policies or events that happened in Umno run states.

In PAS run states, the Hindus, Buddhists and Christians face no problems. In Kelantan, the Hindus were offered permission to build a temple even though they had not asked for permission. The biggest Thai temple in Malaysia is in Kelantan. While Umno says that non-Muslims can’t use the word ‘Allah’, Nik Aziz says they can. During the Umno days, the Chinese could not slaughter pigs in Kelantan. Now, they can.

Do I really need to run through the entire list, which I have already talked about so many times in the past?

With PAS, you know what you are getting. They will announce what they want to do and you are free to oppose it if you disagree. With Umno, they just go ahead and do it without telling you first. And if you oppose it because you disagree, they will accuse you of insulting Islam and take action against you.

You might not agree with Islam or PAS’ policies on Islam. But at least with PAS you know what’s coming and you can voice out if you don’t like it. With Umno, you are not allowed such luxuries.

If you think you are more protected from Islam by voting Barisan Nasional, think again. Let the track record speak for itself. I too don’t agree with some of the policies of PAS. But I will take PAS over Umno anytime. With PAS, WYSIWYG.

NEWS ITEM 1

Jerai PKR division dissolved

By LOOI SUE-CHERN, The Star, 30 March 2009

SUNGAI PETANI: A PKR division chief has pulled out from PKR, taking over 400 party members with him.

Jerai PKR division chief B. Kalaivanar said his decision to leave PKR was due to his disappointment and frustration, as well as many other members’, with the party’s leadership that has ignored the voices of those who had struggled for the party.

“I am dissolving the Jerai PKR division, which has about 100 members; and the Kedah Indian Community Development Committee, of which I am also chairman.

“The commitee has 357 members, who are also leaving the party,” he said during a press conference at the Cinta Sayang Golf and Country Resort here Monday.

Kalaivanar, who is a long-serving member since 1998 and had been detained by police 29 times for taking part in demonstrations, claimed the PKR de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim did what he liked and ignored those who had long fought for him and PKR.

“I am fed up. I don’t want to waste my time anymore and deceive the people. PKR had been deceiving the Indian people just to get their support.

“They played with our sentiments when they went on stage, talked about the five detained Hindraf leaders and shouted ‘Makkal Sakti’ (people’s power).

“When I suggested all Opposition MPs stage a walk out of Parliament for the five leaders’ release (from the Internal Security Act), none of them listened,” he said.

Among those leaving PKR with Kalaivanar are his wife Sungai Petani municipal councillor K. Deivanai, who is also state PKR Wanita deputy chief and Jerai PKR Wanita division chief; and Yan District councillor S. Poobalan, who is also Kalaivanar’s deputy.

When asked if he would ask other PKR divisions to pull out as well, Kalaivanar said he could not speak for them.

On whether he was leaving the party because he was not selected as PKR’s candidate for the Bukit Selambau by-election, he said it was a secondary issue.

“It is alright with me if they do not want me as candidate. The issue is they should have discussed with all PKR members on the selection.

“It also does not matter to me if the PKR candidate (S. Manikumar) wins the by-election or not. I will still be the person the Indian community approaches to solve problems as always,” he said, adding that he would not comment on Manikumar as he did not know him well.

Kalaivanar also expressed his grouses that the state PKR’s top leadership had never seen the appointment of a non-Malay member even though the party claimed to be multiracial.

He also said he was disappointed that the Pakatan Rakyat government in Kedah had done nothing for the people after running the state for over a year.

“They have done nothing but criticise Barisan Nasional and Umno since they won the state.

Kalaivanar said he would campaign for democracy this by-election and hold ceramahs these seven days to reveal the ‘actors’ in Pakatan Rakyat and PKR so Bukit Selambau voters would not be misled.

“I will not join any party. I have not approached Barisan.

“I will campaign under my two non-governmental organisations (NGOs) – the Alternative Action Team (AAT) and the Malaysia Indian Efficiency Movement,” he said, but clarified that his campaign would also not be in support of any of the 13 independent candidates.

Kalaivanar later met Umno deputy president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin at the resort’s restaurant by coincidence and congratulated the latter on his recent win in the Umno general assembly.

Asked if he was now siding with Barisan, he maintained that he and the NGOs he led would back ‘those who can serve’ and act as pressure groups for the people.

NEWS ITEM 2

PKR man faces cheating rap

KPMU.net, 11 June 2008

SUNGAI PETANI: Parti Keadilan Rakyat candidate for the Gurun state seat in the last general election B. Kalaivanar was charged at the magistrate’s court yesterday with two counts of cheating involving RM3,600.

Kalaivanar, who is also Jerai PKR division chairman, claimed trial to inducing R. Patchama, 59, to hand over RM2,000 in April 2004 as payment to process an application for aid with the Social Security Organisation (Sosco).

Known as Kalai among PKR members, the 44-year-old also claimed trial to issuing a cheque for RM1,600 to Patchama on Sept 15, 2005, when he knew that there was no application for the amount with Socso. The cheque bounced.

The offences were allegedly committed at No 24, Kampung Sungai Ibur in Gurun, 20km from here.

Assistant public prosecutor Nuraswan Amuniddin proposed bail of RM4,000 in one surety for each charge.

Kalaivanar, a father of six, who was not represented, pleaded for a lower bail of between RM1,000 and RM1,500, saying that his wife was a housewife and that he worked as an activist with several non-governmental organisations.

Court Registrar V. Kanesan, sitting as magistrate, set bail at RM3,000 for each charge in one surety pending mention on July 6.

Kalaivanar posted bail, but was arrested again outside the bailiff’s office about 1pm.

It is learnt that he was detained in connection with investigations into his alleged involvement in another cheating case in Bahau, Negri Sembilan, several years ago.

Kuala Muda district police chief Assistant Commissioner Hashim Ali was not available for comment.

In the March 8 election, Kalaivanar lost to Dr Leong Yong Kong of Barisan Nasional in the Gurun state seat. He polled 7,035 votes against Dr Leong’s 8,589 votes, losing by 1,554 votes.

He also contested as a PKR candidate for the same state seat in the 2004 general election. He lost to the incumbent state MCA chairman Datuk Beh Heng Seong of BN.

NEWS ITEM 3

Delegates want Islamic law to be ennobled

Bernama, 28 March 2009

The Islamic legal and economic systems must be ennobled immediately to ensure that the ummah remained strong and supreme in future, a Puteri Umno delegate, Seriwani Sabtu said today.

The Setiawangsa Puteri Umno head said that the role and power of the syariah courts should be widened to enable them to hear various cases pertaining to Islam instead of confining to marriage and divorce cases only.

"Those making statements that disputed the religion should also be heard by the syariah courts and upon conviction, stiff penalties should be imposed so that the religion will not be ridiculed easily," she said when debating the motion on the presidential policy speech, the motion on education and religion at the Umno general assembly, here today.

Seriwani also rejected the organising of any inter-faith discussions to avoid intervention by non-Muslims in Islamic affairs.

"If such discussions were allowed, it would enable certain groups to tarnish Islam. As such, measures to monitor and control such activities should be enhanced," she said.

Selangor Umno representative Datuk Zainal Abidin Sakom said Umno leaders lately appeared to be scared to enforce the existing political power to defend Islam.

Meanwhile, Johor Umno delegate Ayub Rahmat asked the supreme council to revoke the implementation of the teaching and learning of Mathematics and Science in the English language.

Since the policy was implemented in 2003, he said the numerous studies carried out by Umno itself had shown that it was detrimental to the Malay Malaysian students.

"Why is Umno reluctant to accept the outcome of the studies conducted by the party itself?" he asked.

He said studies carried out internationally also showed that out of 45 nations that used the English language as the medium of instruction, only five had emerged as a developed nation.

Comments (80)Add Comment
written by billykbk, March 30, 2009 21:22:24
This stupid Indian gets to my nerves. No suitable word can describe this turncoat.

I'm a poor Chinese M'sian by all standards, but I will never be a SNAKE. PERIOD!!!!!!
disagree 27
agree 393
written by wolf, March 30, 2009 21:23:24
I'm a chinese buddhist and I used to fear PAS but not anymore. Not since the advent of internet where news other than msm propaganda leaks out.

Just 2 weeks ago 1 of my colleague's daughter got beaten up by robbers in the morning. Imagine, 2 burly animals beating up a defenceless 15 year old girl.

Her crime? Running away when she saw them coz they were carrying parang. They were shouting at her 'Lari ha! Lari lah! Berani ko lari!' She was punched in the stomach and got her head bashed open and need stitches. Luckily her skull was not cracked. They moved away- yes moved away!- after they were satisfied beating her up. There were a few other passerbys but they were unable to help coz the 2 animals were waving the parang at them.

Times like these one really wish hudud is enforced. Grab that 2 f*****s and chop off their arms and I'll be at the site cheering on! smilies/angry.gif
disagree 16
agree 511
written by apa jadi, March 30, 2009 21:24:27
we are of the same wavelength on Kalai issue. just wait and see if he turns out ok. as for PAS,you wrote:
"With PAS, you know what you are getting. With Umno, they just go ahead and do it without telling you first."

Or put it simply in your favourite tune:

With PAS, you see a fixed goal post. With UMNO, you see a shifting gold(goal) post.
agree 319
written by Farting Toucan, March 30, 2009 21:28:53
It has to do with the demonization of PAS by UMNO/BN, the ignorance of most people who have never worked with PAS esp. those not from Kelantan, and some of the stuff coming out from the Ulama camp which in some cases get spinned by the MSM.
With websites such as MT, Harakah online and blogs, people are starting to see the real PAS; DAP workers speak highly of their PAS counterparts when they work together. And having the Erdogan faction behaving moderately, and Tok Guru at the helm, you would be nuts to choose UMNO over PAS. PAS needs to keep up their good PR campaign.
agree 150
written by budakindia, March 30, 2009 21:34:41
I will support PAS anytime! smilies/grin.gif
agree 228
written by sorosapril, March 30, 2009 21:38:34
so are we saying all those who have problems with LAWS now need to join BN in order to escape prosecution? just like the two jokers assemblymen from PERAK.

so now this Kalai guy who is being charged is seeking asylum in BN and hopefully can get rid of his problem.

so now we have the ex-PM trying to go back to UMNO/BN, and now this Kalai guy, so UMNO/BN is the sanctuary for problematic guys?

well, good for DSAI that he did not select this Kalai as a candidate, Kalai guy said his non selection as candidate is secondary issue, then why the timing of resigning?
agree 141
written by DanInJap, March 30, 2009 21:48:02
with bn running the country we see no future... why dont we just give PR a chance to run the country, although PR is not perfect. At least we must let the government knows (PR or BN) that people's power will change the government... let's kick bn's butt...
written by wolf, March 30, 2009 21:51:12
btw, you guys might need to refresh your memories a bit. remember early last year when makkal sakthi claimed they are infiltrated by SB & agent provocateurs?

http://politicalwatchmalaysia.********.com/2008/08/hindraf-claims-infiltration-by-special.html

so what exactly happened in bukit selambau? could it be genuinely makkal sakthi going against pkr, or could it be the actions of those moles within?

i truly don't know. perhaps waytha moorthy can answer that...
written by Concerned Malaysian, March 30, 2009 21:57:27
billykbk, pls do not make assumptions about all indians that they are like this ass. look at perak and you'll know what the two malays and one chinese did and it took an indian single handedly to stand by the principles. Of course the indians will feel ashamed of this uncouth character but most indians know whom to vote when the time comes as they are prepared for change more than anyone. I strongly urge the indians in Bukit Selambau to be level headed and make the right decision not only for themselves but also for the nation moving towards bangsa malaysia.
written by timmy, March 30, 2009 22:03:23
To put it in another words:

PAS always tell the truth.
UMNO always lie.
agree 148
written by hakuna, March 30, 2009 22:07:54
People at the moment are voting for the party and if this guy thinks he is indispensable then he should stand as an Independent.
It is very difficult to monitor all the heads but Pakatan should really do a thorough search on the character of all individuals prior endorsing them as candidates - we don't want FROGS.
written by malgal, March 30, 2009 22:09:52
WYSIWYG - ya, better upfront than daggered at the back. also that jerai person better take his corrupted person and join a corrupted party. birds of a feather better flock together.
written by teo siew chin, March 30, 2009 22:15:03
PAS : WYSIWYG
BN : WIIFM
written by fan73, March 30, 2009 22:17:37
bro,

you just amaze me with you word...
so I don't agree with bodoh RPK!

RPK Pandai....

written by Spear Bing, March 30, 2009 22:24:06
When you have many PKR Indian members in the like of Kalaivanar, then you can expect what kind of image and reputation the party will project.

You can put him to stand in any by elections anywhere but with this kind of tainted character and allegations of CBT, the party will smell like a sewage.
written by Rozlan, March 30, 2009 22:34:29
Good that Kalaivanan go away .Who care about him.A born swindler.He pulled out from PKR to save his ass from the law..I dont know about other Indians.is it true 400 Indian PKR members follow him blindly???
written by journeyman, March 30, 2009 22:38:34
when pas explains their intention to implement hudud, and reasons for doing so, they whack pas left, right, centre. when things like the above happen, the phobiacs wish for islamic laws. when their loved ones become victims, they pray for the laws. they should join fft and wear incontinence diapers.
written by PRman, March 30, 2009 22:39:06
I just waved to a car with PAS flag yesterday on highway to show my support for them, and I am a Malaysian!
written by loosecannon, March 30, 2009 22:40:27
PKR is much better off with this corrupt moron. Let him join the BN where I'm sure he'll be very much at home.
written by Daryl, March 30, 2009 22:44:49
Editor of the THE "F#$#%#%" Star
The Star as its stand show how bias it is. Didn't even mentioned once that this person has a checkered pass that is why he is not a candidate. If you are not bias put it in at the end of the article otherwise you are just another BULLSHIT media without any credibility. We need to report this to the watch dog somewhere to bring Malaysian Press freedom down further.
written by smalluncle, March 30, 2009 22:45:00
We don't need Indian of your type Kalai. Even if you are chosen, after winning, you will be like Hee and Gang, BOUGHT by BN.

We need Indian Like Speaker Siva. smilies/smiley.gif
written by KM Wong, March 30, 2009 22:46:00
Currently Kalaivanan is only worth RM2000, that poor bastard!! So he's trying to raise his worth by sucking up to BN who will most likely offer him RM2001 which is higher than what he's worth. So this dickhead is going for it as it's 1 RM more, mah? Go Kalaivana, go...
written by MyBUDAK, March 30, 2009 22:51:50
BN = Reject Shop.
written by thumb, March 30, 2009 23:03:34
Good riddance to this Kalaivanan,luckily he showed his true crab mentality early.
written by BennyG, March 30, 2009 23:07:55
Could someone confirm the rumour that I heard regarding the printing for textbooks for Science & Maths had started and it's in BM?

So, why the sandiwara? No wonder more & more noise was being generated. For those who thought that they could make a difference. smilies/sad.gif
written by johntyc, March 30, 2009 23:11:07
Arresting of non-Muslims who hold hands in public places, demolition of Hindu temples, body snatching cases etc etc. These are strategies that Umno thought able to pancing PAS's voters. But luckily, they backfired.

B.Kalaivanar's decision to leave PKR is a good thing. Its good to get rid of corrupted person and racist one. We don't want those who cared for just one particular race and ignore others.
written by Mee Udang, March 30, 2009 23:20:01
Kalai,
By looking at your hairstyle, i know you are a TRAITOR!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by roadbarra, March 30, 2009 23:26:05
Kalai, don't blame BN when you decided to protest and you're showered with acid laced water cannons.
written by Wudan, March 30, 2009 23:37:24
For the first time I witness PAS supporter carry DAP flag and Chinamen carry PAS flag. Pictures courtesy of Xenan http://xenanhu.********.com/
written by MAGELLAN, March 30, 2009 23:38:04
Dai Kalai! I have only one word for you....podah tambi!
written by wolf, March 30, 2009 23:39:14
Typical of people like you. Start a holy war and drag fft into it at the same time... but never wonder why there's breakdown of law and order to such an extend that even non-muslims sometimes wished there are hudud laws
written by JaguhKampung, March 30, 2009 23:47:19
We seem to have a lot of problems from PKR members. DSAI must do a lot more to screen members before nominating them to hold any offices.
written by merchant222, March 30, 2009 23:48:53
KALAINAVAR Burn in HELL tomorrow together with BN UMNO!
written by merchant222, March 30, 2009 23:53:10
MY GOD!, sometimes I wonder to myself why am I becoming so vulgar. Why?, because we RAKYAT cannot stand to see such indecency in the people the RAKYAT supported!

Do I feel remorse, angry and sorry for myself for saying such things? NO!
BN UMNOputras can "BURN in HELL", and I curse them so! BBBUUURRRNNN!!!
written by Nadal, March 30, 2009 23:59:19
Good to see PKR is more careful with their candidate. We don't need another frog in the camp. At least we now know why this joker is upset. Shouldn't select people with unwanted baggage to run. Not a lost to the party.
written by Taiping60, March 31, 2009 00:00:56
PKR has to be careful. Many of their members are full of shit. They need to screen their members particularly their leaders. Just look at what happened in Perak, it is a shame. They should learn from PAS and to a certain extend also DAP.

Anwar, quality and not quantity that count.

written by Goldfinger, March 31, 2009 00:10:17
Valar you are of the same breed as the Jelapang Hee. go on and claim your juta-juta.you idiot.why have the Hindraf all of a sudden forgotten about how biadap the Useless Moronic No Otak regime together with the blessing of the so called semua toll Samy tore down Hindus' Kuils.and isn't it all this disrespect and all their lies that had sparks of this revolution.Hindraf!Now you are no other than another gogolo but a real stinky onelah.golah and enjoy your evil money in hell.
written by merchant222, March 31, 2009 00:11:32
Looks plain and simple! This Running Dog see Prostitute Hee buy a new Mechidis Beans, he oso want one BIGGER Beans (S350 perhaps). So Do like what the other FROGs do lah! Very simple mah! This BUStard from HINDRAF ah? or just pretending to be one? His heart is very much with the US Dollah.
written by aeromaverick, March 31, 2009 01:01:26
What this stupid fellow did is beyond words and justification. But calling indians (very inclusive indeed!) snakes shows the shallowness and stupidity of the chinaman (billykbk)of course! And I really can't figure out why he calls himself a poor chinese M'sian? The very reason we are in this state of affairs is because of specific indian and chinaman like this!
written by Milo, March 31, 2009 01:23:36
The problem is not PAS per se, but Islam and how those leaders who are religious evolve with growth in power. UMNO has both and look how progressive they have evolved themselves to be - from bad to worst! Look at countries with both elements and name me one that is really progressive because of the mixture? Then name me those who are failed states. The tendency to move towards extremism once the power becomes available is just a "sincere" urge to propagate the religion. The plausible explanation is that when you sincerely believe that your (religious) way is the only right one, then what others think will automatically become a threat. And with unquestionable religious dogmas to guide decisions as a response to these "deviant" thinking and imaginary "threats", it is easy to guess what actions would these religious leaders take. PAS should be supported over UMNO because they do have cleaner and more committed leaders because of their religious beliefs. But let's not be blinded to the fact that these dogmatic beliefs are a two-edge sword.

UMNO is a gone case (at least as we can observed for now), so the next best if an Islamic-based party is to be selected, it has to be PAS. At least, we have some hope that their radical urge to Islamise the country can be controlled. What UMNO failed to see was that the more they try to follow PAS, the more non-muslim votes they would guarantee lose, while they will continue to lose the religious muslim voters and those muslims who are moderates who do not want more stifeling Islamisation of their lives. Their leaders' hypocrisies are just too evident to attract the truely religious minded especially if you compare that to PAS.

So people, whatever your fear of PAS is, for now, just vote them!
written by picadilly, March 31, 2009 01:29:23
RPK can I share something.

This Kalaivanar started out as a maverick activist, he became famous fo certain cases and commands a crowd in bkt selambau area. all said and done, he is the same guy who created chaos at batu caves on the eve of Hindraf Rally. This fella as one single individual used a hailer as early as 1am to start a damn campaign againts samy velu and using abusive language at batu caves. His was provoking the police and screaming at temple authorities and using lodspeakers and creating havoc and unecessary trouble just for the folks.

Many were alerted due to this guy and police FRU came down in hordes to arrest everyone there. there was an entire lockdown in batu caves and a murder case is going on there because of what this guy had started.

please look into DVD that this clown did on this incident. you can see him ranting and raving but this puke is planning to stick Samy ass togethr now. what a lame dick
written by Mickey, March 31, 2009 01:53:03
He is a traitor, and the only thing to do is to ignore him totally. He thinks about himself only and you think he is fighting for Hindraf rights, forget it.
written by AnakBangsaMalaysia, March 31, 2009 02:09:50
God bless Tok Guru Nik Aziz, PAS, and the brave and honest supporters of PAS.

Malays who are willing to forgo artificial economic development and lose out on perks that the ruling party promises them have got to be the most honest symbols of people who love their country and want to see it become great.

If i ever had to start a business and fill up my bumi quota, i would definitely look for passionate young PAS members and supporters. That way i know i wont get slackers, shoddy work, and dishonest practices afflicting my business. A business with that kind of staff is bound to succeed and that would allow us to employ more Malaysians who want to improve themselves and their community.

Pas supporters are true followers of Islam. UMNO just uses Islam as political leverage.

I don't fear PAS and I think there are more non-malays out there like me who want to give PAS a chance and others who will support them if they were to be enlightened about what PAS really is and what it stands for.

written by miwaki, March 31, 2009 02:56:30
To defeat BN/UMNO,I'm prepared to support a con man and later on,kick his ass.
written by singam, March 31, 2009 06:24:22
PAS still has a side that can be fearful to non-Muslims. But there are two balancing forces, one within PAS and another outside, that can keep the Pakatan Rakyat on an even keel. I can't imagine that DAP will ever become anything like MCA. But the balance within PAS can always shift. Religious fervour can easily cloud rational minds. We still need to be cautious about this.

Kudos to Datuk Nizar's team for showing the face of PAS that non-Muslims are happy to see and for demonstrating what compassionate leadership is all about.

Kudos to the alternative media for allowing the real PAS to be seen as well as for revealing the hidden UMNO agenda.

We are walking on a tightrope... but the future looks bright.
written by hamid, March 31, 2009 06:35:08
Bodoh punya Puteri Umno head, Ask her to see the Afghanistan women, what was happen to them, can be happen to Malaysian women as well. This Puteri Umno head don't want to use they're stupid brain, The first mangsa is the Islamic women, if Malaysian transform became Taliban state. Before regret later repent now
written by anak penang, March 31, 2009 08:33:47
You are right there RPK This guy just wants to win on a PR ticket and then jump to Mic. The pariah bastard Who the hell he thinks he is

I am an Indian and I dont want him DSAI was right in not picking him Blady opportunist And the rest of those pariahs standing as independents There are all waiting for some handouts from BN

Well, rest assured the majority of indians will support PR and not these fly by night candidates
written by *********, March 31, 2009 09:20:45
Umno is a threat to society not PAS...More http://*********.********.com
written by lobster, March 31, 2009 09:38:42
billykbk, your snake comment disgusts me. I am sure not everyone agree with Kalai.

All generalizations are bad on some level.
written by ibabonma, March 31, 2009 09:41:45
I think Umno and the authorities must have fixed him thinking that he would be the candidate to represent PKR in the by-election but Anwar got the tips earlier.
written by ladyzinta, March 31, 2009 10:01:56
Why is it when an indian jumps ship- the whole indian community are branded as snakes ??
has everyone forgotten about HEE??? "jelapang"
WHy would you want garbage to remain in the house...its better for the garbage to leave..if not it will smell, become infested with maggots and everybody will have to suffer with the smell for months.
So the garbage crosses over to umno...why is it our problem, its their party thats gonna smell even worse...
written by fencesitter, March 31, 2009 10:07:50
DSAI made a good judgment in not selecting Mr Kalai as a candidate, after all. Kudos to him.
written by Taiping60, March 31, 2009 10:07:56
Frankly RPK, I do not think the non muslim are fearful of PAS. We respect PAS and their choice of religion. Just don't impose them on us.

We want PAS to be like Nizar and his characteristics;
1) politician with principle
2) politician who are not afraid to stand up for what he believe
3) politician who have integrity and not corrupted
4) Politician believe in God and strong religously
5) Politician who recognise the various races and religions practices by the rakyat
6) Politician who is consistent

I know there are not many, that's why Nizar shine.
written by malaysianohope, March 31, 2009 10:08:26
Abang,
Personally, I've got no fear of PAS but with a proviso, that Abang, Tok Guru & others are around to reign them in whenever they are out of line. But then again PAS have been behaving good, making the right noise where it matters. One shining example is Perak duly elected Menteri Besar, YB Nizar.
Meantime to all my Abang & Kakak in the Batang & 2 Bukits show us the way & sent them especially the Pee-M in waiting to the dustbins of history once again.
written by A MI, March 31, 2009 10:47:46
I second Concerned Malaysian,
billykbk, pls do not make assumptions about all indians that they are like this ass.

Let us exercise restraint and not resort to generalized racial slurs no matter how idiotically these $$$-minded fellas behave. This disease is not race-based!

I can't helped but say this though..if some politicians are snakes but there are very good snake charmers in BeEnd and in AMNO in particular.
written by Chavin, March 31, 2009 10:58:16
i know this tamby's a traitor by the way his side-burn looks like. smilies/grin.gif
written by Zym Zym, March 31, 2009 11:10:50
I have no problem with PAS but I have serious grudges with UMNO. I wish to see how how UMNO would die a natural cause.
written by temenggong, March 31, 2009 11:14:30
People join politics and try and get nominated for a seat because they want to solve their legal and financial problems. smilies/grin.gif
written by batsman, March 31, 2009 11:59:08
The things RPK writes about does not only happen in the Muslim world. It happens in international politics as well. In the past, the US libelled China as the world's most evil nation and with its nuclear capability, is a eminent threat to everyone. At the same time, the US increases its own nuclear capability 3 fold.

Today, the US accuses North Korea of being the world's most terrible and evil nation and must be stopped at all costs in its nuclear development. The same treatment is meted out to Iran. In the meantime, the US helps Israel invade Gaza and commit genocide with white phosphorous bombs, free for all killing of civilians, etc. It also bombs Pakistan secretly and causes political instability with its black ops operations.

It seems everyone is evil except the US. This is true of UMNO. As far as UMNO is concerned, everyone is evil and out to threaten national security except UMNO.
written by batsman, March 31, 2009 12:00:51
In the meantime you guys know what UMNO does. I don;t need to elaborate.
written by Remo, March 31, 2009 12:08:38
It is good that this Kalai leave PKR.
DSAI should check their back ground before recruiting members for PKR.

**** this Kalaivanar, we don't need this idiot.
I heard he is not a good guy from Buntong, Ipoh.
He can't survive in Ipoh that's why he left Ipoh.

Let us support Manikumar PKR.

Manikumar is also an Indian, hindraf have top accept this.

We are malaysian, don't have the mentality of the ****ing UMNO who wants to divide and rule.
written by Remo, March 31, 2009 12:14:27
I used to fear of PAS but I am very happy with them and their tolerance.
I am sure PAS will need the non muslims support and the muslims need the non.

What ever said and done, Malaysia need all the races and religions cooperation to survive or progress.

Please don't have the divide and rule policy.
written by panca, March 31, 2009 12:23:34
With character of Kalainiamah that is in cahoot with Immoral politicians will cause more death of Kugans. Are the Indians with him prefer to be stupid and selfish?

SELFISH BAS-TARD.
written by ROBERTNGTG, March 31, 2009 13:06:38
And you said you fear PAS

Kalaivanar later met Umno deputy president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin at the resort’s restaurant by coincidence and congratulated the latter on his recent win in the Umno general assembly.

BEEND'S LOSS OF MY SUPPORT IS NOW PAS'S GAIN. I EVEN DONATED FOR THE TRENGGANU
BY ELECTION. NIZAR, LET US KNOW THE ACCOUNT NO. TO DONATE.
AS FOR THIS PARIAH KALAIVANAR WHO WILL PROBABLY SELL HIS MOTHER FOR ANY PRICE,
HOW MUCH DID U GET. YOU CAN CRAWL INTO THE SAME HOLE AS HEE.
written by Dreamlander, March 31, 2009 14:48:22
To Non-Muslim MT readers.

Even though PAS and UMNO may be opposing each other in Parliament, there is nothing stopping them to vote for a motion to adopt & implement Syariah (Islamic) laws in Malaysia.

This event occurring is only a matter of TIME.

Is Syariah (Islamic) laws bad for non-Muslim Malaysian?
Well, how many of us participate in Islamic banking activities?
I do and there is nothing wrong with it.

Maybe we should request RPK to open up a special section in MT to explain and clarify what constitute Syariah (Islamic) laws and the possible implications its introduction may impact on the normal daily lives of non-Muslims. Knowing what to do and what not-to-do in advance is the best defense.
written by Thinkwisely, March 31, 2009 14:56:00
Hi Pete,
It is quite interesting to read your article as you are always very brunt about the current issue. I agree with you that non-Muslim fear PAS because of their policy i.e. to separate the queue and swimming pool between man and woman before you even talk about Hudud. This is something very scary indeed because it really have big impact to our daily life hood and paint a very bad image to foreigner. Besides, we also question PAS leadership whether they can bring the nation to the next level knowing they are mostly religious scholar and may not have in-depth knowledge in developing the nation.

Anyway, that doesn’t means we totally reject PAS. We salute PAS of their religious spirit that stand firm in anti corruption if compare with others. All the while we use to believe BN has the talent to develop the nation and we accept them even though we aware that the corruption is rampant under BN administration so long they deliver even in a higher price. As you mention in your "Bodoh" article, that is because we all need to "cari makan" whereby politic & economy stabilization is very key to us.

However, thing start to change now as more and more people start to realize that we cannot allow rampant corruption to continue like this because our depending on the natural resources will be gone one day. Moreover, the new generation who has been taken good cared by their parents no longer endure "inequality" policy. They are born in globalization decade and to them so long they are capable they can always work in others country.

Sadly we can't always have ideal situation where we can have a politic party who are talent and corruption free. There is no way we can curb corruption by using force either by human law or by religion law. Because human being human are smart to abuse the system. There is also no such thing as 0% corruption in any country, we can only try to minimize it thru the separation of power and a more transparent process & procedure.

I can only wish that Malaysian can start to think more mature and rationally. Do not easily believe or influenced by rhetoric and racist game played by the unscrupulous politician. we should always hold on the principal of seeing it is believing, trust only those who deliver and not those who talk big and no action (NATO).

Special note to those opportunist who wish to become instant rich via politic and also those who take bribe for their short term benefit, think of your next generation to come. You could be the one that cause the downfall of our nation in the long run.

For PAS, our hope is to see more professional and talented people to join the party especially from non-Muslim since PAS is for ALL. We would like to see a more balance effort to be given to both nation development and religion not just focus on religion.

written by Rhan, March 31, 2009 16:00:31
Should continue to whack PAS for their stupidity. But must give PAS all the votes, kick UMNO out.
written by Kunta Kinte, March 31, 2009 16:18:49
We don't need Kalai...period. I think DSAI must have given it a lot of consultation and thought before coming to a decision as to whom will stand for this seat. Instead of supporting your leader, your are like a cry baby sore loser. Grow Up!
written by ilovepakatan, March 31, 2009 17:51:11
I will not support PAS until they stop banning Avril Lavigne concert! Focus lah on uniting Pakatan. Wasting time doing stupid things. Ishhh.. Bengang aku. Whenever I think of them harping on issues like miniskirts and concerts. Think big, aim big, ok?
written by M3C, March 31, 2009 18:27:40
MINISTER;S SON INVOLVED IN KILLING?

http://www.gutteruncensored.com/search/label/Malaysia
written by mikewang, March 31, 2009 19:11:12
I hope in the next general election for the state of Perak, PAS gets to replace UMNO totally.

Between race and religion, race listens not to reason.
written by batsman, March 31, 2009 20:32:25
When r u Bodohs going to learn? PAS is a pussycat compared to Najib.
written by kukamelon, March 31, 2009 21:05:00
I agree with Daryl, and I would like to urge all Malaysians to stop buying THE STAR paper. Why support a news paper company who's partial in it's statements? The only thing that I view in that paper is the cartoon column (Kee's World) and new movies that is showed in TGV. And that also if I see it in a bookstore or in a mamak shop.
To Kalaivanar,.. dei madaiyah! Why u so muttal wan? To your statement, "PKR has been deceiving the Indian people just to get support". Dei Kalai, you eating parpu curry or what?
I reside in Selangor.
Did PKR not give free water to all Selangoreans including the INDIANS? I was paying RM 15 a month and when PKR took over, the JBA came and digged in front of my house and changed something and the next thing you know my water bill is just mere RM 6 a month and I don't even have to pay a cent for it cause it's free! Perhaps the BN government were cheating all of us by taking money from us without us even knowing it! And the stupid Umno's have choosen Khir Toyo to lead UMNO youth? Bodoh ke Melayu UMNO?
Did the MB not give cash token for SPM students who got many A's including the Indian students?
I came across of a Tamil school whereby PKR gave it RM 10,000. And what do you call that? And how come you can say that PKR (Anwar) has done nothing?
Perhap Anwar should have kicked you out earliera and should not have given you the chance to serve in PKR. The change should come from WITHIN. What did you, Kalaivanayee, do for the people? Ask commision from a poor lady for helping to settle a SOCSO case which you did not even settle hah? Real bodoh lar you.
Eh, by the way... the photo in THE STAR, can see your members not so enthusiastic as you lar... So, how much Mr. N gave you? Or was it Muhiyidin? Make sure you give some to your members... What goes around come around....
Dear friends, change should come from within and unless we are united, nothing can be done.
written by AhLiew, March 31, 2009 22:26:45
From what I see in Bukit Gantang, the problem is not whether non-malay fear of PAS. It's Malay fear of DAP. smilies/sad.gif
written by renoir, April 01, 2009 00:00:32
kuka melon wrote:
>change should come from within and unless we are united, nothing can be done.]]

True. And the last GE shows that Malaysians of all ethnic groups CAN unite to change history. Despite present frenzied attempts to divide and rule the people again, the huge multiracial crowds in Perak, Kedah, and Sarawak are ample testimony that the people have enough of racism compounded by corruption, cronyism, and nepotism. Phantom voters might be on the rise, but with persistent and consistent efforts all of us can create history again.

Go, Pakatan!!!

written by dassky2000, April 01, 2009 16:01:21
billykbk, wolf.... you ass#%&*$ are stiil refferring to yourselves in race and religion. Aren't you Malaysian? First learn to address youselves as Malaysian before you make comments on anyone. Comprende??
written by sdcsrcc, April 02, 2009 03:45:15
Malaysians....

There is only BN and Non-BN!

Until and unless we learn this and live with this,BN shall reign.
Non-BN should stick together along some same principles and strive for it all the time with or without the silly people in the NOn-BN parties.They come and they go...but true NON-BN remains!

What makes a Malaysian is not and never the colour of our skin?With BN....no one is ever a Malaysian but only a Malay , Chinese and Indian. Capitalise on this...NON-BN Parties. Multi party government do exists...and strong as well. Why can it first for Malaysia from the NON_BN?

written by kukamelon, April 02, 2009 11:04:03
To all Indians, let's not fight againts one another. If you have been practising the caste system, please don't practice it anymore. It'll only bury us deeper. Let's support one another. Let's respect each other as another human being.
Stop saying that I'll only want a Telungu daughter/son in law or a Ceylonist daughter/son in law. Let your children,brothers,sisters just marry any Indian regardless of their caste.
Can you all be a bit more open minded? What is wrong with S. Manikumar. He is young and is a tourism management graduate from Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM). He also holds an MBA from the same university. The PKR Merbok Division member, who hails from Taman Ria Jaya here, has been a freelance lecturer at UUM and speaks fluent Malay, English, Tamil and Spanish. What else you Indians want? Can you just give him a chance. Within this one year period, and with a lot of pressure from the dark BN powers has PKR not proved that they're capable? With Selangor giving it's residents free 20 cbm, it's only a matter of time for the rest of the states to receive the same. Not good kah for a start?
We have to stay united. We have to trust one another. We have to be patient. Rome wasn't build in a day and the Indians didn't reach puberty right after they were born! It takes time...