Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Pak Lah says Khairy won fairly

Pak Lah says Khairy won fairly PDF Print
Friday, 27 March 2009 19:30

By Lee Wei Lian, The Malaysian Insider

Sidestepping Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad's attack on Khairy Jamaluddin's election as Umno Youth chief, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said his son-in-law deserved the victory as he worked hard for it.

The Prime Minister, who handed over the Umno presidency to his deputy Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak yesterday, said the party polls were done according to procedure despite Dr Mahathir's claims that Umno Youth had endorsed money politics by electing Khairy.

"What is there to be raising all sorts of questions again and making people doubt about the election and choice of leaders, now is the time to look forward, do what is needed to strengthen party," said Abdullah, who is speculated to step down as Prime Minister next week.

"I'm happy for Khairy that he won. He worked very hard," he added.

Dr Mahathir wrote his latest post at his chedet.cc, saying he chose not to attend Umno general assembly opening because he did not want to be associated with a corrupt organisation.

His son Datuk Mukhriz came out third behind Datuk Seri Mohamed Khir Toyo in the three-way fight for the Umno Youth post.

The former Umno president and member had called Mukhriz's rivals corrupt and campaigned against them.

The veteran politician handed over power to Abdullah in October 2003 but later waged a campaign to unseat him after saying both his successor and the son-in-law had undermined his legacy.

Malaysia's longest-serving prime minister had also said Najib has not shone as deputy to Abdullah but hoped he can form a clean cabinet to ensure Umno remained in power.

written by cheekymate, March 27, 2009 19:40:20
Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely. This is the core of what umno is made of. There is no reprive for anyone in there.
written by KingSolomon, March 27, 2009 19:45:59
It is balanced : Mahatahi has a god-son, Najis and Bodowi has a son-in-law, KJ. The young cikku is holding the older crook at ransom.
written by garuda, March 27, 2009 19:46:39
Worked hard for it? KJ? You mean forked out hard is it? Come on badawi u really expect us to believe a person found guilty of money politics by UMNO, than has a different sentence than Rustam, than takes 6hours to count 790 votes to declare him a winner?

Surely my fellow Malaysians have better sense and know better!! Dont insult our intelligence badawi, een general election with 30,000 voters took less than 3 hours to decide, u mean to say we all are idiots!!

Whatever badawi, its yr son in law, we all know the 4th floor protocol, its ok,life goes on,KJ will know real soon the winds of change
written by justice, March 27, 2009 19:47:09
written by red1, March 27, 2009 19:55:55
So when is Najib going to become PM? I got some project proposals for the sake of this country to be tabled to him. smilies/smiley.gif
written by toroono78, March 27, 2009 20:27:09
TDM was the one who created the corrupt UMNO and now that his son has lost the youth leader's post he does not want to be associated corrupt UMNO.
written by cruzeiro, March 27, 2009 20:37:37
Nice pix justice - I'm borrowing it.
written by chronos, March 27, 2009 20:52:52
Khairy is the only choice that can happen in UMNO Youth, Khir Toyo is not worth 2 bloody cent to any party or organization, hasen't he proved himself to be worse than corrupt???? Oh, he's Mahathir's people so he's alright.
Mukriz?? is still sucking his father's toes, how did he become so bloody rich?? Oh, he has good business accumen ?? Rubbish!! He will be a nobody if Dr M is just only a doctor.
written by eloofk, March 27, 2009 22:03:06
Hey Old Man,

Since you've said you didnt want to be associated with a corrupt organisation, why dont you advise your son to resign from this organisation otherwise he is seen to be also a corrupted man amongst the corrupted.
written by alpha100, March 27, 2009 22:05:40
Congratulation KJ! Glad u won! U may be bad but u better then the other 2! Hope u do your job well! Just ignore TDM remarks! He is power crazy and still wants to rule the nation! He don't know how to let go for others! Pray he learn to let go!
written by DezMalaysia, March 27, 2009 22:11:48
LOL ! Justice, that's one of the funniest crap picture I've ever seen so far... great job ! I had a great laugh...
written by malgal, March 27, 2009 23:14:33
In da kingdom of the blind!
written by fireduck, March 28, 2009 00:47:26
The way we see it, the reason why you didn't attend the UMNO GA is because you and your son are sore losers. You bet on the wrong horse, and you couldn't stomach the loss.

And Abdullah, you can whack the old man kau-kau now that you are no longer UMNO President. Nothing to hold you back. Go right ahead and give it back to him.

Drums roll, cymbals crash.... let the games begin!
written by Hakim Joe, March 28, 2009 01:17:22
Oh course Sleepyhead will say that KJ won fair and square.
He can't possibly say that there is corruption money politics involved, can he?

written by malaysian, March 28, 2009 01:31:25
Mahathir PLEEASSE don't have another heart-attack and die yet!

Give us Rakyat just three more years.

We would like the honour of wheeling you into the inauguration ceremony of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim - our new Prime Minister!!!
written by jangantipu, March 28, 2009 02:53:31
Justice,

Great humour. I had a good laugh. Najib and Pak lah's laughter are certainly infectious. Don't believe me; one look and your face automatically smile. The bubble talk is soo funny!
written by Vincent, March 28, 2009 10:46:37
Jangan jangan ini adalah satu bohongan yang terakhir darinya ???
written by Siputman, March 28, 2009 11:23:19
Bodowi said KJ won fairly. I say he screwed your daughter lagi fairly.
Bodowi said KJ worked hard. I say he fcuked hard.