Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Grassroots behind me, insists Muhkriz

Grassroots behind me, insists Muhkriz PDF Print
Thursday, 26 March 2009 21:32

By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

Losing Umno Youth chief candidate Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir said the result of the contest did not reflect the wishes of grassroots members.

The son of former president Tun Dr Mahahir Mohamad had lost out in what was seen as a proxy battle between two past leaders when outgoing president Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's son-in-law Khairy Jamaluddin triumphed in the bitterly fought three-way battle.

Commenting on his last-place finish, Mukhriz insisted that he had come into the contest with the majority of Youth members backing his leadership.

"I have the support of the grassroots. But their wishes did not translate into votes from the delegates," he said.

The Jerlun MP, however, refused to "speculate" on how Khairy had won, when quizzed over alleged graft in the election.

After the results were announced last night, supporters of Mukhriz and Khairy clashed after the former accused the latter of corruption and cheating.

Mukhriz explained that the supporters he had brought with him were those wearing black T-shirts with his slogan and they were disciplined.

Those who had caused trouble were supporters who had come on their own.

When asked about Abdullah's opening address, where he asked Umno not to turn back to old ways, Mukhriz quipped that it sounded like "self-criticism".

"If you mean that small voices of dissent like mine are no longer encouraged, then it could be bad. But decisive leadership, especially with economic matters, that is fine," he said.

On his future with the party, he said he was a loyal party man and would be more than willing to help newly elected president Datuk Seri Najib Razak in whatever capacity.

written by Navigator, March 26, 2009 21:39:44
He is just a spoilt brat and an immature politican who cannot understand that people are fed up with his father. Even Mahathir is deluded that people still respect him.
written by AlwaysFair, March 26, 2009 21:41:33
No it is not true the grassroots are supporting you, Mukri, it is the "Old Oak Tree," supporting you.Without the oak tree you would not even be among the grass. smilies/wink.gif
written by No nonsense, March 26, 2009 21:43:37
Even if all the grassroots a are behind you so what? You lost and what can you do? Maybe ask your father for advice and he may come up with something. Hope to see what will happen to you.
written by ahmadneil, March 26, 2009 21:48:31
Ha Ha Ha.I'm throwing out all my nasi lemak! If you have the support then how on earth you lost to Khairy.My,God,where is your sense!
written by rajaphillips, March 26, 2009 21:48:41
Podahlah thambi, sudah kalah sudahlah, lu kalah lu punya bapak punya pasal tau kah. Orang dah benci dan fed up.
written by Aming, March 26, 2009 21:51:06
Hi, daddy's boy, you mean the delegates are not from the grass-root? So you have your support, but do you have sufficient numbers? Luckily you loose,otherwise your warped logic would do alot of damage to society.
written by red1, March 26, 2009 21:51:38
Guys, guys.. he didn't use money la... that's why la he lost.
written by Old Man, March 26, 2009 21:58:47
Muhkriz, next time try to get the Rakyat to vote for the post of PM ( instead of just UMNO votes )if your mind is set of becoming a PM! Otherwise you can continue to dream on....
The politics of Race and Religion is simply a two-sided razor blade. Think about it! TQ
written by JaguhKampung, March 26, 2009 22:09:10
Dear Mukhriz,

Thanks to your dad's last minute attempt to run down another person (you know who). I guessed it back fired to you instead. Don't be disheartened, try again in the next election ok? smilies/wink.gif With the grass root support you claimed you have, I am sure you will be the next chief.
written by Remo, March 26, 2009 22:09:12
You people think that without you all Malaysia will die or what?

What the ****, you have lost accept and pack your bag and go.

What you to assist the president. So many others are waiting to assist Najib.

Tak malu ke?
written by Remo, March 26, 2009 22:15:52
The voters are 700 over deligets only.
Khairy is won only 304 votes.

In actual fact, Khairy is Ketua for 304 delegates only not ketua pemuda UMNO.
If all the UMNO youth come out vote then it spell out he is the UMNO youth chief.

Please don't cheat. Where got democracy.
Look at US presidential election.
written by toroono78, March 26, 2009 22:24:42
Dear MUKKIRISS don't blame anyone for your loss.You loss because of your father.
written by OVERLORD, March 26, 2009 23:01:33
Don't be a sore loser and cry baby...your daddy no longer can support you because he has been admitted to IJN....!
written by smalluncle, March 26, 2009 23:08:05
KJ win because he takes a moderate approach to NEP and Race! smilies/shocked.gif

Moooo Kris lost BBECAUSE of NEP and Ketuanan which was made worst with his father's last minute fanning on Chinese Schools

Let that be a lesson to all.
written by red door, March 26, 2009 23:09:19
Yeah! You know why they are behind you?! They are your food in UMNO... Eating GRASS & ROOTS!
written by fireduck, March 26, 2009 23:13:41
.....would be more than willing to help newly elected president Datuk Seri Najib Razak in whatever capacity.

Of course lah. Goes without saying mah. You're the loser, and will now have to depend on Najib for whatever, even if he ask you to polish his marbles, you have to do it. Because you're now nothing but a mere ahli Pemuda. Winner takes all, pal!
written by PAKRAK, March 26, 2009 23:22:24
Mukhriz... wait for Papa to do his third cardiac surgery and then he will be well prepared to help you have a shot at No. 1 the next time. He will arrange to bring in the full machinery from Kerala and you would'nt have any more complaint about how dirty your rivals are.
written by tenang, March 26, 2009 23:40:31
Mukhriz,

The results serve you very well. Prior to the election, you have shown you bigotry through the interview conducted by MalaysiaKini and published also in MT. Your dad has again attempted to raise racial sentiment, as what he had done for eon, as a way to shore up the support for you. Your and your dad's tricks have been the same, but we the common people including the Malays majority have awaken to reject bigotry, despite our other differences and political leanings. Your lost should serve as a turning point of Malay youth sentiments in rejecting bigotry in politic. Being the son of Mahathir and following his footstepping of manipulating the public with racial sentiments will not serve you well this time around. The trick is still the same, but people have changed, albeit slowly.
written by Milo, March 27, 2009 00:01:19
The grass may be behind you, BUT the root has been digged empty!
written by merchant222, March 27, 2009 00:07:30
Tomorrow, YOU go eat GRASS, and tell your OLD-MAN to do the same, OK?
written by Nadal, March 27, 2009 00:58:39
Don't be a sore loser MOOO... Youth in UMNO don't want you, Youth outside of UMNO don't want you too. We don't want to return to the dark ages! Heck, if you can lose to a guy like KJ, what more can I say? By the way, your old man is pretty quiet since your defeat. Feeling shame is it?
written by SamBall, March 27, 2009 04:32:33
No one wants this son of old kera'lite

mookris s/o mohd s/o kutty, enough of your cranky old man, enough of you.

You lost because you are:
1. Useless
2. Hopeless
3. Corrupt
4. Nothing without your father
5. Nothing because of your father

Thanbi, is it clear or you need more reasons?
written by Sutha, March 27, 2009 23:30:42
Yes, the grassroots were behind you. But you did not know that the grass was lallang.

The main reason for the defeat: Father was in front of you.
Voters needed a man, not a baby.
When your Papa stood for elections, was Mohamed Iskandar Kutty appear in front of his son?
written by Commonsenses, March 28, 2009 10:54:18
Moo Kris failure is because his personality could not move beyond his father"s shadow.