Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Keris is out again

Keris is out again PDF Print
Thursday, 26 March 2009 13:52

Hishammuddin raises controversial Malay dagger, but says it will now be 'retired' 

By Hazlin Hassan, The Straits Times

Mr Hishammuddin kissing the keris - seen as a symbolic threat by Malaysia's minority, non-Malay, races - after unsheathing it for a fourth year at the Umno assembly yesterday. But he did not wave it around as he had in the past. -- PHOTOS: REUTERS, THE STAR/ASIA NEWS NETWORK

OUTGOING Umno Youth chief Hishammuddin Hussein yesterday repeated his controversial act of raising a Malay dagger at the movement's meeting, but said later that the keris will now be 'retired'.

Despite complaints that the gesture has made Malaysia's minority races feel uncomfortable, he unsheathed the keris on Wednesday for the fourth year.

Supporters in the meeting hall encouraged him with shouts of 'Allahuakbar' or 'God is great'.

Datuk Seri Hishammuddin even kissed the dagger, but did not wave it about the way he had in the past. Instead, he quickly slid it back into its scabbard - perhaps to deflect some of the flak he was sure to receive.

The Umno Youth chief has repeatedly said that he never meant the weapon to be seen as a threat to non-Malays but raised it in an attempt to unite Malays.

'Now the keris has been handed to me for my personal safekeeping. The keris will no longer be in the hands of the Umno Youth,' he told reporters.

'I hope this will bring closure to an issue that has been blown out of proportion and misunderstood.'

His action was closely watched and discussed by the thousands of Umno delegates who will today decide whether to elect him to a higher post in the party.

Mr Hishammuddin is contesting one of the party's three vice-presidential positions in a crowded race featuring eight leaders.

The son of former premier Hussein Onn, he has led Umno's Youth wing for 11 years.

written by ahmadneil, March 26, 2009 13:56:21
for God sake,it's time you give that damn keris to the indian iron scrap collector.It's worthless since scrap iron prices have plunged.
A pocket swiss knife will do a much better job than that shit keris.
written by sydput, March 26, 2009 13:57:00
Rats! it should be hishamuddin who retires.
written by Raja Chulan, March 26, 2009 14:05:22
Funny a bloody Turk with a Keris. Turks will laugh at the Keris

Those who live by the Keris shall die by the Keris.
written by Newkidonblog, March 26, 2009 14:10:19
No worries, he's gone and out! Next meeting Khairy will raise his I-Phone and shout "Hidup Melayu bersama Teknoloji!".

Live in the future, not in the past! Try to point a keris towards your enemy who holds a gun. And guess who die first!? Bodolah!
written by Kaboda, March 26, 2009 14:14:23
Damn its like hes retired his P*&IS
written by Foong, March 26, 2009 14:15:33
Well now that he has done it again despite all criticism hope he will keep it for himself so that he can use it to commit "Hara Kiri" when he loses the vice presidential election in umno.
written by Nunudada, March 26, 2009 14:31:21
Supporters in the meeting hall encouraged him with shouts of 'Allahuakbar' or 'God is great'.

Datuk Seri Hishammuddin even kissed the dagger
You know, God does not like daggers,guns,kris and such other.God denotes the penultimate in love,peace and honesty.A weapon has no place in this scenario,nor a role in a political propaganda.
A political party ultimately deals with people-it should propagate compassion and warmth.A weapon of any sort is an instrument of death-of maimimg,killing and blood-letting,all of which the very sacred nature of mankind loathes.
It is expected of aspiring future leaders to make ample use of COMMON SENSE in their journey of ambition.
written by Hope4all, March 26, 2009 14:36:17
Hisham is doing an emotional "crocodile tears" to get elected. This is definitely his campaign strategy. It worked on Mahathir before.
written by imanj, March 26, 2009 14:43:10
Why not,NOT REACT,to a gesture,in their right to show symbolism?! And see it as facetious,because if anyone would like kissing an object for some sort of assurance to mark their unity,so be it.[Even if others see it in a different perspective].Why let it effect anyone,it just gives more attention and prompts unecessary drama.

So kiss away the 'symbolic keris' and wave it around.I'm okay with it,because i have my spouse and adorable little daughter soft lips and smooth silky skin to to kiss...I'm more interested in how well the party executes their duty in the administration of this country for its people!
written by Hakim Joe, March 26, 2009 14:55:45
Next year he is going to pull down his zipper to reveal the other keris.
Sadly it is as unusable as the one he is seen kissing.
Or does this imply that he loves kissing keris(s)?

written by rpremkumar2u, March 26, 2009 15:12:46
Why the phallic tendency?
written by Hakim Joe, March 26, 2009 15:15:17
Hey rpremkumar2u! You need to ask why meh?
Answer: Faggotry Inclinations!

written by Counterpointer, March 26, 2009 15:26:04

This bigger blade rules !

written by jason, March 26, 2009 15:33:35
Look at Khairy's worried face,he seems to say "you are not going to do it again, Allah help me". So it is a great relief to give the keris to Kerismuddin for keep. He can now run around naked in his house and scream his head off with the keris and nobody would be bothered. Wise move. smilies/grin.gif
written by cheemengwong, March 26, 2009 15:53:46
Khairy is looking through the corners of his eyes to see what the idiot is trying to do with the keris this time! He was hoping that it is being waved threateningly again so that there will be less competition in UMNO.

Kerismuddin never learn... he should now wave a Bazooka. Nowbody uses a keris to fight anymore. You are bound to lose to a gun or even a catapult. How can he go on as a Minister of Education? What type of example is he setting for the young ones?

Keris is but a kitchen knife. It can even slice a piece of chicken nicely lah.
written by tuahjebat, March 26, 2009 16:18:49
Khairy was almost smiling la. He must be thinking....what an idiot this Hishammuddin is.... Education Minister my foot. Then after kissing the keris...the majority shouted " Khairy Menang hidup Rempit"
written by thor, March 26, 2009 16:41:07
Why retire d little wavy thing? Buat lagi lah, lepas tu bagi kpd sepupu mu utk main lagi, tengkuk lah kalo pilihan di Bukit2 tu akan berpihak kpd mu Ameno and sekutu mereka yg tak bermakna tu smilies/grin.gif
written by Remo, March 26, 2009 16:58:15
This stupid keris story better shaft it inside your ass.
No on uses keris anymore, you are really a fool man.

Why teach your followers all this nonsense.

The stupid keris is out dated
written by mikewang, March 26, 2009 17:29:25
It looks as if Khairy was saying ... "oh no, not again! we have 3 by elections after this."
written by The Hammer, March 26, 2009 18:49:20
Better still hand it over to the musueum and place a foot note;
The Kris that brought down UMMO down!
Let all the rakyats and visitors view this in"famous" knive.

Hey Hissudin what are plan to do with the blade, scratch your itchy backside?
written by Hakim Joe, March 26, 2009 19:51:01
Why didn't anybody think of poisoning the keris beforehand?

written by Lim Lim, March 26, 2009 19:57:51
he retired the keris??
that keris should hve retired him n umno in the first place!!
written by vaistlin, March 26, 2009 19:59:00
The Kris is outdated and the new Youth Chief wouldn't want an outdated symbol during his tenure. So he'll be using a new symbol, The Kapchai. He'll be riding it to the stage of every opening of Umno assembly from now on, Undertaker style.
written by Joe, March 26, 2009 20:48:03
Hishamuddin would probably be regretting his acts with the Keris. Its not going to leave him. He may retire the Keris, but the stigma that comes with what he did will never retire.

The people will remember how UMNO threatened the non-malays!
written by Milo, March 26, 2009 23:53:11
What the people want is not to retire the kris but to retire the one who wave and kiss it.
written by shiokguy, March 27, 2009 03:58:39

The new use of the Keris! May be it is time to retire it and use it for preparing Laksa in Sarawak! What say you the voters in Batang Ai and Bukits?

http://shiokguy.********.com/2...aysia.html

written by SamBall, March 27, 2009 04:49:57
hey Kerispudding,

Why not slip it to the monyet on your right?

Tell also cannot learn, Minister of Education