Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Shadow over Umno

Shadow over Umno PDF Print
Thursday, 26 March 2009 09:04

(The Nut Graph) - AFTER more than two hours and three recounts, Umno Youth's new chief was finally confirmed at 11.30pm on 25 March, 2009. Khairy Jamaluddin, with 304 votes, beat rivals Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir (232 votes) and Datuk Seri Mohd Khir Toyo (254 votes) in a closely-fought contest at the wing's general assembly today.

The long wait saw observers at the Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC)'s main floor getting restless. Rumours had placed Khairy, who was deputy to outgoing chief Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein, and Mukhriz running head to head.

Rival camps, trying to occupy the time, tried to drown each other out with rowdy chanting. One impatient supporter, fed up, shouted "Let Khairy win already!"

The situation after the Umno Youth results were announced was very tense. Rival supporters outside Dewan Tun Hussein Onn were chanting "KJ rasuah, KJ penipu!"

Police were called in to calm the crowd, and they formed a human chain to separate supporters and prevent any violence.

The scuffle is indicative of a problem that shadows Khairy's win. On 17 March, the Umno disciplinary committee found him guilty of breaching the party's code of ethics, due to alleged money politics. Although they then let him off with a warning, it is an allegation that casts doubt on his commitment to the party's official crusade against internal corruption.

Khairy's victory may also be read as a willingness for the party's Youth wing to return to Malay ultra-nationalism.

During the day's debate session, Umno Youth information chief Azimi Daim began measuredly, saying that it was necessary for the wing to assist the party in regaining grassroots appeal. "We must become the voice that is seen as representing the cause of the people, and not that of sycophants," Azimi said.

Vitriol seemed directed at the opposition. Outgoing chief Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein had earlier styled opposition leader (and former Umno member) Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as a Malay (Malaysian) traitor. He kissed the keris, but lust for Chinese Malaysian blood was not discussed. Umno's enemy was opposition politicians, not other races.

However, with Permatang Pauh delegate Mohd Zaidi Mohd Said, the rhetoric turned overtly racial. Asking "If Umno cannot defend Ketuanan Melayu, then who will?", Mohd Zaidi urged the party to lift its suspension of former Bukit Bendera division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail.

READ MORE HERE: http://www.thenutgraph.com/

written by technoboy, March 26, 2009 09:12:06
Hello UMNO morons, if you want to be Tuan you must earned it and not demand for it, what "Ketuanan" when you cannot even earn the respect of your own race by cheating, robbing and depriving them of their rights under the disguise of NEP, bunch of corrupted hypocrites, tak malu kah?.
written by thor, March 26, 2009 09:13:56
However, with Permatang Pauh delegate Mohd Zaidi Mohd Said, the rhetoric turned overtly racial. Asking "If Umno cannot defend Ketuanan Melayu, then who will?", Mohd Zaidi urged the party to lift its suspension of former Bukit Bendera division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail.

Is he MADCOW junior? Does he owns any petrol stations or restaurants or any businesses ? Let the RAKYAT knows. smilies/grin.gif
written by Nadal, March 26, 2009 09:17:19
Sanusi Junid on Helo Malaysia said if UMNO is not careful, just like Singapore, the malays will lose out. He also added if UMNO chooses leaders who buy their way up, NANTI DEPA BOLEH AMBIL ALIH NEGERI! Shocking! I guess you guys know who DEPA is? Funny that he refers to DEPA like pendatang... Sad...
written by tino_chan1988, March 26, 2009 09:25:14
The pot calling the kettle black, that's exactly the whole irony.

I am deeply amused that morons such as Mohd Zaidi Mohd Said can continue to sing their tune of Ketuanan Melayu and all that crap. More likely, it's a racial cry for UMNO votes and personal agendas. I have many Malay friends and they do not go around with such utter nonsense and racial rethoric about other race in Malaysia. Only idiot politicians in UMNO does it, and this eventually will lead their own downfall.

Bloody cows!
written by Ken Liew, March 26, 2009 09:35:19
Didnt you know?? Money politic in UMNO is Halal~!??
written by ibabonma, March 26, 2009 09:39:54
He kissed the keris, but lust for Chinese Malaysian blood was not discussed.

Having second thought about slaughtering the Chinese, Popeye? Going for Anwar instead? Why waste your time on him? It's about UMNO General Assembly not a political rally. The rakyat laughed at you extra big mouth .... (nampak sungguh huduh)

Cakap-cakap mengelabah macam itu menggelikan hati rakyat tetapi dikalangan orang Umno mungkin nampak gah. Sebenarnya, cakap-cakap macam itu langsung tidak membimbangkan Anwar, malahan ia lebih menggelikan hatinya. Umno, carilah pendekatan lain.
written by sydput, March 26, 2009 09:44:25
never did hear tengku abdul rahman, tun razak or hussein onn talking about ketuanan anything. It was only after the rise of mahathir that these topic became prominent
written by fireduck, March 26, 2009 09:45:07
It always happen. There will always be a couple of rabble-rousers purposely planted by the chief to shout out racist remarks. And like lallang, they will watch how the wind blows. If it sways the way of the racist stooge then the leadership of UMNO Youth will also talk that way. ANd that was how Hishamuddin got carried away with his own rhetorics in the past. He was too dumb a leader to have a greater sense and feel of the currents beneath the wind in the hall, which was most probably bad wind released by the supporters back end anyway.

So, this Mohd Zaidi guy's rhetoric was probably made known and endorsed by the leadership too, and that would be Hishamuddin. However, the infighting and the general mood was not for that, so it got drowned out.
written by Democrats, March 26, 2009 09:49:36
Its a worry that such unruly behavior represents the majority that runs our government. Like beruk hooligans..... good that they stop the live telecast of the assembly. A humiliating shame to potray that as Malaysia.
written by zarms97, March 26, 2009 10:14:58
Malaysia turns to have four main Races:
1.Malay
2.Chinese
3.Indian
4.UMNO..NO..NO...NO...NOOOO
written by *********, March 26, 2009 10:41:08
Umno is split beyond repair. There are too many factions within Umno. Malay support is evidently swinging behind PAS/PKR. Time to disband Umno and work with Pakatan Rakyat for the nation's sake...More http://*********.********.com
written by ROBERTNGTG, March 26, 2009 11:06:38

WAH, CAKAP BESAR. ASK THE MALAY GUY ON THE STREET WHAT IS KETUANAN MELAYU. IF U EQUATE IT WITH AMENO, THEN YOU ARE RIGHT CAUSE NOBODY GIVES A DAMN NOWADAYS.
written by Remo, March 26, 2009 12:37:37
What ketuanan melayu?
Just want to rob from others, malu lah.

You want to be the boss, you must be smarter, cleverer , with high education level with merit not on quota system education and hard working (not lazy cow).

Then you claim your ketuanan but not want everything in a 'ALI BABA'way.

Compete with other races and proof yourself.
Get university entrance with merit not quota system.

Come on man, be a genuine winner and don't cheat or rampas from others.
It is HARAM.
written by takbolehtahan, March 26, 2009 12:48:15
Well bloggers, what do you expect ... ketuanan melayu is the ONLY tune they know how to sing, and sing it well too. They will continue to sing it as long as they sell a million records of it. And Umno morons (and a few others) are the only ones who are buying it.
written by Almighty, March 26, 2009 13:13:20
"Sanusi Junid on Helo Malaysia said if UMNO is not careful, just like Singapore, the malays will lose out. He also added if UMNO chooses leaders who buy their way up, NANTI DEPA BOLEH AMBIL ALIH NEGERI! Shocking! I guess you guys know who DEPA is? Funny that he refers to DEPA like pendatang... Sad..." By Nadal

Sanusi is the ex-MB of Kedah & Tun M@M@k strong supporter. He is the idiot come up with infamous idea " Konsep rakyat menanam di atas bumbung". Now you know how good he is.............. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by BGs, March 26, 2009 13:33:41
One thing is for sure. These AMENO guys are arrogant, self centered & full of hatred. There is no way there can grow out of these. Let's accept them for what they are & boot them out in the next GE! Meanwhile boycott all their activities ,their businesses,etc. Supporting DSAI & PR is the only viable alternative.