Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow State paid for MB’s wife to visit son in Melbourne

State paid for MB’s wife to visit son in Melbourne PDF Print
Wednesday, 25 March 2009 16:09

By Neville Spykerman, The Malaysian Insider

Permodalan Negri Selangor Berhad (PNSB) chief executive officer Datin Khairiyah Abu Hassan testified before the legislature today that the state subsidiary was ‘instructed” to pick up the cost to Melbourne for the wife of former menteri besar Datin Zahrah Kechik to visit their son who was studying there.

Khairiyah told the Special Select Committee for Competency, Accountability and Transparency (Selcat) that she received the instructions directly from Zahrah and was “told” to accompany her on the three day visit, in 2007.

Over RM14,000 was spent to purchase return business class and economy class tickets sometime in December 2007.

Khairiyah says she remembers travelling in business class with Zahrah but could not explain the discrepancies in the invoices for travel which was provided to the committee.

She admitted that the trip was not an official visit and Zahrah used the time to visit her son and to buy souvenirs.

Selangor Speaker Teng Chang Khim, who is heading Selcat’s probe into the now defunct Wives of Selangor Elected Representatives Charity Organization (Balkis), remarked that the trip may have not been official but the cost was.

However Khairiyah said Zahrah paid for the hotel accommodation while in Australia.

The startling revelations could not come at a worse time for Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo, who is contesting the Umno Youth chief’s in the party’s general assembly.

Comments (50)Add Comment
written by ellyna, March 25, 2009 16:15:18
Ahli-ahli UMNO sekalian, Tidak mengapakah mempunyai pemimpin tak berintegriti sebegini yang menyalahgunakan sumber kewangan negara beribu-ribu ringgit(wang rakyat) untuk kegunaan peribadi? Adakah anda sekalian masih mahu jadikan dia Ketua anda???? Tenat lah negara ini!
agree 153
written by tehewe, March 25, 2009 16:16:21
MACC we demand that you take action immediately! With this kind of disclosure and if you do not take any action then it is confirmed that you are biase!
agree 207
written by Milo, March 25, 2009 16:19:23
The MACC is busy....there are too many cars and cows issues to deal with since they took office.
agree 163
written by Kaboda, March 25, 2009 16:28:28
LOL classic comment Milo, a big MOOOOO and a hok hok to that.
written by ACENAZ, March 25, 2009 16:30:20
Cheap skate.
written by OVERLORD, March 25, 2009 16:31:43
Scums.......modern day "Bonnie and Clyde"!!....Indo mee's wife just as bad!
written by Jan, March 25, 2009 16:31:49
Looks like a clear cut case of abuse of power. Toyo should be finished as a politician.
If the MACC don't do anything the people will lose all the confidence in it.
written by Jan, March 25, 2009 16:34:59
The greed of some people knows no bounds. The husband already make so much money yet still want the rakyat to pay for her trip. Business class some more. Grrrrr.....
written by citizenmy, March 25, 2009 16:42:05
I bet the one who abused the power will never go behind the bar for even a day.
written by dzcorleone, March 25, 2009 16:43:25
Laki bini perangai macam setan. Mak bapak si Zaharah ni x ajar ke anak dia dosa pahala?? Tanggung la akhirat nanti...
written by a_bad, March 25, 2009 16:44:18
The disclosure by Khairiyah is nothing new since the same has also been practiced by other MBs in BN-controlled states. A friend, who used to head one of the state companies in Kedah, related to me how his company had to foot the bills for an ex-MB and his entourage to Australia to attend his convocation ceremony. The reason for choosing his company is simple, his was the only state-owned company to have the fund at that time. How pathetic!!
written by Fatcat, March 25, 2009 16:46:48
Tip of the iceberg..... 14k peanuts.
written by Malaysiaputra, March 25, 2009 16:50:43
Khir Toyol, you thought you could fool the country and pretend that you are mister clean. This revelation has shown how crooked you are.

Malaysian citizens would loath to have people like you in places of power so that you could did into more of the rakyat's money.
written by Bandit, March 25, 2009 16:50:50
Tip of the iceberg. This is just UMNO at state level. What about National level? Fat mama is going shopping in Beverly Hills for her big fat underwear and Malaysians are going to pay for it.
written by Rundukon, March 25, 2009 16:53:37
What was spent by Mrs Khir Toyo may be peanuts as compared to what Mrs Najib spent. I was told that even the Armed Forces Generals kow tow to Rosmah.
written by Littlebird, March 25, 2009 16:55:48
Alas, if only they had bought ONE cow the MACar and Cow would have found strong evidence.
written by bknight, March 25, 2009 17:09:31
i wonder where will the arm forces stand if, and i say IF the same type of cases is brought up against our ever so loving PeeM and porkie in the public?

i believe porky is rude and abuses the generals verbally.. smilies/grin.gif
written by bknight, March 25, 2009 17:10:09
will the arm forces stand in support of our royals and rakyat ? or with the ex DM soon to be PM ??

written by mick_err_stan, March 25, 2009 17:14:33
This is SICKENING !!!!! Instead of helping the needy, they are going on holidays and buying gifts for themselves..... Ptuuuiiiiiii!
written by Rozlan, March 25, 2009 17:15:35
The CEO of PNSB was asked to be personal assistant to former MB Selangor's wife on her personal visit to Australia? I am truly sick to hear all these confession..These UMNo leaders really rob the country coffer to the bottom
written by Almighty, March 25, 2009 17:18:11
Satu lagi contoh "Hak Keistemewaan" UMNOPUTRA yang menjijikan dan banyak lagi kes-kes yang belum terdedah.
written by Tornado, March 25, 2009 17:40:40
Orang kata UMNO ada 3 juta ahli. Maka 3 juta ahli inilah yang bodoh, membiarkan segelintir ahli mereka (yang dipanggil pemimpin) untuk memperkosa maruah, merompak khazanah dan merosakkan imej negara.

Renung-renungkan...
written by ChandraJ, March 25, 2009 18:03:04
Just imagine what the BN goons have been doing at the state level, albeit a rich state. Now, imagine what the Pakatan government can unearth if given a chance to govern at the Federal level. What dirt will be unearthed! Watch out the ministry of sports and tourism.
written by PAKRAK, March 25, 2009 18:05:30
This is just a drop in the ocean. If Toyol becomes UMNO Youth chief he may demand a govt. jet just for him and his family and tell Fat Mama to fly AirAsia.
written by ultraman, March 25, 2009 18:18:48
Ahmad Said, what are you waiting for?
Go on and get the corrupted!!
Forget about the cows la!!
Forget aboyt Sivakumar!
Show that you have balls!!!
written by loosecannon, March 25, 2009 18:19:41
Like husband, like wife. What a pair. Looks like Rosmah has got a stiff competitor here.
written by onnetline, March 25, 2009 18:33:19
Don't believe that MACC will act and prosecute if the case don't involve Cars or Cows ! ! !

Child pornography ........... most definitely, I believe ! ! ! !
written by Fuminari, March 25, 2009 18:40:02
this is 'ketuanan' at its best!
sampai jumpa anak pun wang rakyat dia pakai.
written by Tan Tan, March 25, 2009 18:54:18
How the heck can we live in such a country? The corruption is getting so bad. Do all Malaysians realized that as long as we still stay in Malaysia, our life is being affected and drag down by such corruptions and ministers.

Please wake up and register yourself as a Voter and do something for yourself and your family.

If u r not rich enuff to migrate, then defend your right and your lifestyle.
written by Hakim Joe, March 25, 2009 19:17:57
"However Khairiyah said Zahrah paid for the hotel accommodation while in Australia."

It is like saying that the thief stole all the cash and jeweleries but the getaway car was of his/her own. What a joke!

written by arazak, March 25, 2009 19:34:06
This Botox-Toyol is too much. . ., dia buat harta rakyaat Selangor macam Kepala Bapak dia punya harta!!!
written by Su Dhanoa, March 25, 2009 19:37:51
This CEO should be kicked out!! On what grounds did she accompany Zahrah!! Its time all are sued for this uncalled for expanses - money of the rakyat!!
written by Fuminari, March 25, 2009 19:52:05
don't u agree ??
this indon-thief couple really 'wife steals while husband robs"
written by seethinkact, March 25, 2009 20:09:00
We've been hearing the clearly predictable reaction that had been blurted out from our Al-famous MACC...Now the guessing game and open betting are centered on what will be the classic answer the MACC will give to get out of this.

To expect them to act is something Malaysians have given up a long time ago. This is gonna be fun.
written by denkoh, March 25, 2009 20:15:06
toyo=thief
kechik=thief wife
son=thief son
written by Path Fighter To truth, March 25, 2009 20:25:21
WHY PAY FOR HOTEL BILLS IF THE TRIP IS OFFICIAL?
SHE MUST KNOW THAT IT IS NOT AN OFFICIAL TRIP.
GREEDY AND CORRUPTED PEOPLE.

WHY NO INVESTIGATIONS for the dentist despite so many complains.
written by shamadz72, March 25, 2009 20:34:33
"However Khairiyah said Zahrah paid for the hotel accommodation while in Australia."

How sure are we that she was not staying in her own mansion over there throughout her visit?

smilies/smiley.gif
written by shamadz72, March 25, 2009 20:38:41
written by Darth Vader, March 25, 2009 20:39:25
WOW so many expose.

Toyol , only the big devil can save u now.

written by Sabahfan, March 25, 2009 22:19:56
AND ALL THE BLOODY UMNO LEADERS STILL TALK AS IF THEY ARE PURER THAN THE ANGELS... HA HA HA HA HA

TOYOLS WIFE MAKAN DUIT RAKYAT ALL THESE TIMES.
written by onnetline, March 25, 2009 22:26:22
Head of MACC,

We, the rakyat of Selangor hereby demand that you sit and do nothing until further instructions from the UMMNO Boss, okay ? ? ? ?

And if you listen, we'll throw you a nice bone too !
written by Xerxes, March 25, 2009 22:27:32
Wow!!! This is even better than "Desperate Housewives"!!! Must make into a movie. Ask Samy or Ali Rustam to introduce their Bollywood friends to make this movie. I can think of a couple of present BN types who could play the male lead role and some ex Wanita members for the female lead role. This movie will win Oscars for "original screenplay", "best actor and best actress" because they are acting out their real roles in life.
written by Daryl, March 25, 2009 23:31:34
PKNS
I only require economy class from TX to Malaysia. Please send me a link for me to apply for free ticket. If you only have free ticket to Australia please make US your next destination.
written by Daryl, March 25, 2009 23:36:34
I just send an email to PKNS to see if I can get a free ticket to Australia for my wife. I think she will be happy with a economy class ticket.
written by thor, March 25, 2009 23:51:57
Encik Broom man ie Mr Penyapu dan keluarga masih bersih? Susan nak percaya, sifat orang tamak pasti tamak, mana macham keadaan RAKYAT tak tolong ka?

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by jangantipu, March 26, 2009 00:38:45
MACC, we demand that you take action against toyol and wife now! Otherwise, rakyat will spit at the mere mention of your name i.e. Kereta-Lembu.
written by Aduh, March 26, 2009 01:07:49
Ooi anak toyo!!!, Dengar sini. Sumpah seranah yang kau terima dari orang ramai selama ini adalah pembalasan kau di dunia ini. Bagaimana agaknya di akhirat kelak ???
written by Nadal, March 26, 2009 08:22:12
Muka tak malu!! Cakap aje pandai. Tapi macam mana nak malu, muka dia pun tipu...
written by Msian Idol3, March 26, 2009 09:08:29
Who is robbing & abusing the Malays ?? New UMNO leaders, please take a courageous look and act on it.
written by Sutha, March 27, 2009 23:55:44
And who paid fot Toyol's viagra and Zahrah's lubricant cream?