Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Play it again, Sam

Play it again, Sam PDF Print
Wednesday, 25 March 2009 06:13

Let’s call a spade a spade. In the 1980s, when Umno attacked the Rulers, the opposition rallied to the Rulers’ side. It was the opposition that defended the Monarchy in 1980 when Umno attacked it. That is a fact that has gone down into history.

Don't twist historical facts, says Najib

Umno deputy president Datuk Seri Najib Razak reminded all quarters not to twist the facts of history in recounting Umno's action to amend the law with regard to the Malay rulers.

"It was never done in bad faith, but rather with the noble intention of preserving the royal institution and upholding the doctrine of the separation of powers which is the basis of any democratic government.

"I wish to take this opportunity to remind all Malays (Malaysians) not to do things which we may regret later. To those who speak with a forked tongue, do not pledge allegiance in the morning only to betray by mid-afternoon," he said in his speech when simultaneously opening the Wanita Umno, Youth and Puteri Delegates' Conference 2008 at the Putra World Trade Centre, here, tonight.

The deputy prime minister said Umno held sacred the position of the Federal Constitution as the supreme law of the land, while the position of the Malay rulers was an essential part of the Constitution.

"Although in our system, the monarchy reigns but does not rule, the state governments and the federal government rule in the name of the Malay rulers as the head above the executive arm of government.

"Therefore, if the Malays (Malaysians) themselves fail to show utmost respect to the Malay rulers who have all this time served as the symbol of unity and stability, then who else will?" – Bernama, 24 March 2009

That was an extract of Najib’s speech at the Pemuda and Wanita Umno general assemblies yesterday. Now it is very clear. Umno insulted the Rulers, dragged them through the mud, defiled them, stripped them naked, and left them with absolutely no dignity back in the 1980s, not to destroy the institution of the Monarchy, but to save it.

I suppose Umno will now say they detain Malaysians without trial under the Internal Security Act not to silence them from speaking but for their protection. Hmm…… come to think of it, they did say that.

What a load of bull. Does Najib think that Malaysians are so gullible and naïve or what? Hmm……. come to think of it, Malaysians are gullible and naïve.

If Najib wants to talk about history then let me take Najib down memory lane and teach him a bit about Malaysian history. The Constitutional Crisis of the 1980s -- there were two, actually -- was a Battle Royal between Umno and the Rulers. Prior to that, Malaysia was in a unique situation of having four branches of government -- the Executive (the Prime Minister), the Legislature (Parliament), the Judiciary, and the Monarchy. Each of the four was independent of one another but worked in tandem.

This means Malaysia has four parallel power bases. And this makes Malaysia unique because most countries have three. Malaysia, however, has four, the fourth being the Monarchy.

Not long after Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad became Prime Minister, Umno decided it would eliminate the four branches of government and replace it with only one -- the Executive. This means Malaysia will retain the trappings of a democracy but in actual fact would become a dictatorship.

First to go was Parliament. That is why Barisan Nasional is so paranoid about losing its two-thirds majority in Parliament. Without the two-thirds majority, Barisan Nasional can’t control Parliament. With the two-thirds majority in Parliament they can scream and shout at the opposition and tell the Chinese and Indians to go back to China and India.

Next to suffer was the Judiciary. When the judges demonstrated independence, they were sacked or placed in cold storage or demoted (by transferring them to the Makhamah Dagang at Wisma Denmark where they spend the rest of their career listening to unpaid credit card cases). We saw that happen also in the 1980s.

That left only one institution that needed to be clipped. And that institution was the Monarchy. So the Constitutional Crisis was triggered in the 1980s, twice, and the last independent branch of government hit the dirt.

With Parliament, the Judiciary and the Monarchy neutralised, the Executive became the absolute power in Malaysia. No longer did Malaysia have four branches of government. It was left with only one. And this gave the Executive, the Prime Minister of course, the powers of a dictator.

That was what the Constitutional Crisis was all about and Najib knows this pretty well. Umno wanted to not only neutralise the Rulers but Parliament and the Judiciary as well. And it did, back in the 1980s.

So what crap is Najib talking about? Umno was treasonous. Going by the ‘old laws’, heads would have rolled. Umno and its leaders declared war on the Rulers. When it lost the first time around in the early 1980s, Umno retreated, and after a new strategy was implemented, came back for a second round in the late 1980s and finished what it started a few years earlier.

And this new strategy that Umno adopted was to disgrace and smear the Rulers to the point that the rakyat rose up in anger and demanded that the Monarchy be abolished and Malaysia get turned into a republic. That was how successful Umno’s campaign of hate was. They succeeded in getting the rakyat disgusted enough to want to sack the Rulers and declare the Prime Minister Malaysia’s first President.

Let’s call a spade a spade, as Tun Ghazali Shafie was fond of saying. Umno declared war on the Rulers. And they brought the Rulers down through a smear campaign and by using the mainstream media to spin lies. No doubt, some of what they published was true. But much of what they spun was downright lies.

For example, they showed photographs of the Sultan of Selangor’s so-called lavish palace on a hill in Penang that was actually the home of a Chinese towkay. They showed photographs of the Sultan of Kedah’s so-called lavish mansion by the sea in Northam Road overlooking the sea in Penang that was actually Rumah Kedah -- which was for the use of any Kedah civil servant who visited Penang. They accused the Sultan of Kelantan of evading tax on the car he imported whereas the Sultan did not evade tax since he was exempted from tax anyway, according to the Kelantan State Constitution. And so on and so forth.

And there was much more lies that Umno spun -- which the rakyat believed to be true and which resulted in the rakyat becoming disgusted with the Rulers to the point they wanted the Monarchy abolished and Malaysia transformed into a republic. The Monarchy never recovered from this 1980s attack that it suffered. Until today, the Rulers still remember how dangerous it is to cross Umno. And if Umno says it wants the opposition government sacked and the Pakatan Rakyat Menteri Besar replaced with a Barisan Nasional Menteri Besar the Rulers would never dare say no.

Sure, today, Umno says it is the defender of the crown. But if the Sultan of Perak had held his ground and had refused to sack Nizar and replace him with Zambry, would Umno still sing this tune or would Umno, again, take the Rulers through a third Constitutional Crisis like it did in the 1980s?

In the beginning, the Sultan of Perak was actually not in favour of sacking Nizar. When Nizar had his audience with the Sultan, His Highness was actually quite receptive to the idea of dissolving the State Assembly so that new state elections could be held. But His Highness got cold feet after Najib visited him and reminded Tuanku that he would be jeopardising his throne if he took Pakatan Rakyat’s side in the Perak Constitutional Crisis.

Yes, that’s right. Najib threatened the Sultan and reminded His Highness that his future lies in the hands of Umno. And Najib has the gall to say that Umno is the defender of the crown. Bullshit! I know what happened. And that is why I spoke in defence of the Sultan of Perak -- and many Malaysia Today readers whacked me because of that. But I also asked Nizar to hold his ground and not back down even if it results in a Constitutional Crisis.

Let’s call a spade a spade. In the 1980s, when Umno attacked the Rulers, the opposition rallied to the Rulers’ side. It was the opposition that defended the Monarchy in the 1980s when Umno attacked it. That is a fact that has gone down into history. And history can’t be changed. You can rewrite history. But you can never change it. And I challenge Najib to prove wrong what I said.

Comments (68)Add Comment
written by cheekymate, March 25, 2009 06:21:08
This ball-less coward Najis is spewing out shit from his mouth. Call him a spade; a cowardly, useless, womanising, greedy, traitorous, cruel, spade at that.
agree 372
written by hamid, March 25, 2009 06:23:57
Dear RPK, you didn't sleep the whole night after read Najis statements ha??!!!! Poor thing! Me also! smilies/grin.gif
agree 246
written by Pakyeh, March 25, 2009 06:40:14
Thats right Sultans.UMNO will sink the Monarchy. The Opposition (DAP) wiil support it ? Iam not so sure. Anyway its safe to make RPK our PM.Hedefinitely wiil support the Monarchy because he is a Raja and he is also defending us(rakyat)from perampoks(UMNO/BN)

Here is my suggestion...read "Pantun : RPK 4 PM"... at...

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
agree 108
written by Krepot, March 25, 2009 06:52:52
UMNO has been rewriting everything with their MSM, unfortunately with the emergence of the Internet - right thinking Malaysians have neutralized their MSM propaganda and as the days go by, they look damn stupid.
written by Taiping60, March 25, 2009 07:18:21
RPK, if a Sultan can be easily get cold feet and change his stands merely to protect his position how to you expect the Sultan to look after the people? Comparing you and the Sultan, you are not oblige to do anything. You could just pack your beg and migrate as you got nothing to loose. But you did not. You love this country to much to see it going down the drain. You are merely one of the 20 million citizen. What you did make Malaysians proud of you. You were caught, charge on seditious, put under detention on ISA. In spite of all these happening, you still stood firm to defend what is right for Malaysia. I salute you for that. However, in the case of the Sultan, he is obliged to defend Malaysians particularly Perakians. Cow to threat of losing position, does not seem right? It does appear to be the true defender of our country we would like to envisage.
agree 298
written by Almighty, March 25, 2009 07:22:30

Thanks for your insides story. Sometime we should not only see thing from it surface.
written by emirateswenger, March 25, 2009 07:37:21
Thanks RPK.

The rights and functions of the monarchy ought to be restored and immunity given within the context of these functions. However, they ought not be above the law ie. criminal and commercial charges can be brought to bear and heard by a special court. The other thing is there must be transparency in how much is spend to upkeep the monarchy. We do not have a single house of monarch house but many. The Rakyat I am sure will accept these within reason.

The public/government servants MUST be anchored to serve the public/nation and not become an extension of the ruling party.
written by OVERLORD, March 25, 2009 07:39:34
Well Pete, if the Sultan of Perak's vested interest really rest with his people, he should have done otherwise. Isn't the reflection of a true Leader perceived as "Sacrifice one's self for the good of the whole"? If his priority was to preserve his throne, he would be deemed equivalent to the forces of evil that plague this land. you for one would understand the meaning of true sacrifice and humility. I still stand firm against granting royal immunity as I have seen first hand how they abused the system. We continue to see the erosion of our constituitional rights by UMNO who seems quite happy playing 2 sides of the coin. Malaysian must solely depend on it's citizens for change. We must bring down the evil regime of UMNO!
written by DreamLady, March 25, 2009 07:43:33
Good morning Raja petra, thank you for the info, you helped to open cans of worms and it is of great help to keep the public informed the lies and the hypocricy practiced by UMNO regime, so that they shall vote wisely come the 13th GE.

Thank you Raja Petra for your patriotism and the abundance of passion you lavishly squander on us.

Please send my salam to Marina, and chidren, not forgetting your grandchildren, and most of all, my love and affection for all you have done to enlighten the people of Malaysia!

By the way I am still praying for your safety, your happiness, and bliss. May God bless you and family always!!!

written by Nunudada, March 25, 2009 07:47:55
The real culprit is MAHATIR-the false malay! Someone better call the pest control immediately!
written by onnetline, March 25, 2009 08:07:16
The real culprit who clipped the powers and standings of even the dignified Malay Rulers were none other than our ex-dictator, Dr. Mahathir Mohamad.

He must be brought under ' treason ' charges with all his ' slave ' warlords from UMNO who are still in power today ! ! !
Bloody hypocrites ! ! !
written by Rashid, March 25, 2009 08:08:22
Najis Rosak: pure evil

Courtesy: bodohland
agree 171
written by by2020, March 25, 2009 08:13:09
The mere fact that someone can resort to killing to get ride of someone so intimate and sleep together at one time (probably more?), the guy is no longer human being..., he is worst than animal.

And you expect the animal to behalf..., only few animal behalf.
written by timmy, March 25, 2009 08:31:18
RPK, how many royals out there who is like you and Tengku Razaleigh, who dares to call a spade a spade?

Among them who would really stood their ground against injustice even though they are under threat?

And who would really go and do a research on history to make sure they don't fall from UMNO latest propaganda, to remind themselves that UMNO is twisting the facts?

You and Tengku Razaleigh are their only hope of conscience, and I hope all the royals family will listen to you two to make right outcome come next week.
written by Badrol, March 25, 2009 08:48:06
I think it is high time all Sultans rally behind the rakyat. And with the rakyat behind the Sultans what can umno do? They will be dead and gone. We will bury them not 6 feet under but 20 feet under. I hope all the Sultans read this comment of mine.
written by anak melaka, March 25, 2009 08:58:53
The botak is so cute and some found it sexy dying to work for him or with him not due to his charm or sweet talk, rather they fall from his empty promises and his prospect. This scumbag is as good as his sinister poster boy smile. And when he did open his mouth, you will get nothing but SHIT. So smell it kills your day.
written by LFLee, March 25, 2009 08:59:45
"Hmm……. come to think of it, Malaysians are gullible and naïve."

Couldn't agree more. M'sian let this joke become their prime minister without doing anything. Now the whole country is really a laughing stock in the International stage. Time is ticking. we really get Najib as PM? 2500 UMNO goons
decide who is the PM for the whole country. What a joke!
written by malsia1206, March 25, 2009 09:11:29
Day-in, day-out it's UMNO ,UMNO and more UMNO. And they always make the headlines for all the bad news. UMNO cannot survive without Malaysia. But Malaysia can survive without UMNO.
Change we need.
Change we must.
written by justice6, March 25, 2009 09:19:28
if only more from the royal families speak up for themselves and for the rakyat.. but too bad.. most are more interested in business deals and throne. most of the rakyat are struggling to have meals on their table, if were to struggle, the royals should struggle SIDE by SIDE with the rakyat, not behind them. Then I would say it's worth defending the Monarchy.
written by Farmer, March 25, 2009 09:22:35
Dear RPK, thank u for reminding the History to our nation.
written by biggun129, March 25, 2009 09:23:26
He will be sitting on the 'Executive' seat very soon, and the way he talked, he made all the UMNO delegates going through the sleepless night like in Las Vegas, and the rest of Malaysian was in 'Insomnia',He is not the 'One' that we want, he is the leader only for 2500 malaysian,and he is aware of that, the delegates should know what to do, or else, you will see UMNO sink like the 'Titanic'!!!
written by TWOG, March 25, 2009 09:27:29
Rashid - good picture.
written by eskay, March 25, 2009 09:48:04
Dear RPK

Doesn't Sultan Of Perak understand that whatever materialistic gain, position & fame in this life will not be taken with him or his family when they leaves this world , what will leave behind when one leaves this world will be the good deed, good merit ? I thought it's mentioned in the Islam teaching that we have to be a good guest on this planet?

Sitting in such an important position but not protecting his subjects for personal interest, doesn't make him a good guest, not matter what. Or was it the faith towards Allah is not strong enough to believe that doing the right thing gets the protection from God, the gratefulness & respect from the rakyat itself is a positive energy that will become a protective power. It's painful to see the once highly respected Royal family has come to this stage, it's never too late to change the whole situation. May our Monarchy be blessed with wisdom.
written by malaysianohope, March 25, 2009 09:48:19
Wow, I like it when Abang writes with fiery facts so why is it that the Royalties are still doubtful about where Raja Petra's heart lies? I tell you he is a true Royalist but with principles surpassing all his distractors. I am thankful that we've got a Raja of this calibre & I can say point blank that Pakatan should be grateful of this.
So Aunty Fuziah please read this article carefully before you disown our Abang.
written by PRman, March 25, 2009 09:51:32
We will vote UMNO out coming next GE. Its still few years away, so we have time to talk to strangers, friends and families in the mean time to garner their support. Once they are with us, it would be difficult for UMNO to get their votes no matter what goodies will be thrown to the citizens before the next GE.

Lets do our part! Thanks.
written by wongnoball, March 25, 2009 09:53:03
Note from Admin: Kindly refrain from "shouting". Thank you

Can you accept that the Sultan have considered the situation and this was his best decision at that time, like Agong did when he sack Singapore from Malaysia at the prompting of none other than UMNO? I can assure you that a majority of malaysian would agree that we Rakyat Malaysia will not Judge based on Skin Colour, Position of Hierarchy, Royal Blood but BY THE CHARACTER of The Person!

We hate "MUNAFIK-Hypocrate" and even if it comes from a Royalty, Iman, Utaz, Pastor, Priest we will Condemn. I Choose to spend less time understanding the Politics and more time Figuring out a way to Hurt UMNO-BN more each day! While these Regim Kejam Ganas UMNO exist, there is NO HOPE For Malaysia.
written by malgal, March 25, 2009 09:58:32
umno calls the spade any name that serves them.
written by Rozlan, March 25, 2009 10:08:01
Thanks for clearing the Perak matter.However I believes those in position be it the HRH Sultans,MBs or anybody should bear in mind that their actions should be in the interest of the people..Threats,blackmailing etc are the tribulations that they have to face bravely.If they dont have this important characteristic, then they are not fit to hold the position.

What could Najib do to dethrone the Sultan without 2/3 majority to amend the Constitution further? Sultan Perak have the people behind him if Najib dare to harm him.But what happened now? HRH images had been tarnished by UMNo severely.HRH Sultan Perak was adored by almost everybody before but now I dont know.The answer is with the men in the street.

People from all walk of life should sacrifice and take their stand at one point in their life.The Kings are no exception..

So I hope HRH Tuankus will take their stand once and for all.History always remember and praised Kings who sacrifice for their subjects.
written by KM Wong, March 25, 2009 10:16:41
This goes to prove that Mahathir IS THE ROOT OF ALL EVIL in Malaysia. He has single handedly destroyed the country and now he is exercising his influence from the sidelines using his puppet, the evil Najib. He should be hanged for treason.
written by mvivek, March 25, 2009 10:17:23
Could someone, anyone, translate the above material in all languages to be made available to every corner of this country???

I am sure there are many out there who DO NOT KNOW THIS part of our History!!!
written by timmy, March 25, 2009 10:21:21
Now you know the important of history? To detect lies even from a very inspiring speech (to some who don't use their brain to think)!
written by East Highlander, March 25, 2009 10:24:48
Kasihan ya. Kalau apa RPK kata tu benar, kasihan sungguh, DYMM Sultan Perak kena buli, kena ugut oleh Najib.

Tapi kasihan lagi rakyat Perak.
written by merlin2001, March 25, 2009 10:36:54
Najib is the going to be sixth PM, together with his 66 points, that makes it 666.
If this number is indeed the Devil then Malaysia will be ” The Devil Incarnate” over his rule.
We the people will be in deep trouble, fire and brim stones will spread like wild fire.
A persistent dark cloud will over hang this Nation as never the likes seen before.
Wake up people it is now the time to get charms to protect your family or go to your God to seek salvation before all new born have horns.
Malaysia will be burnt to the ground or sunk like Atlantis never to be found again.
May God Bless Us All.
written by biggun129, March 25, 2009 10:39:12
If the 'Cow' dont want to drink the 'Water',How to make the 'Cow' drinks 'Water'?They knew how to make the 'Cow' drinks the 'Water'!That's why they can dictate the terms, They make it 'A willing buyer, a willing seller'!And they call it 'Win-Win situation', the 'Loser', the Malaysian!What the Malaysian can do is if we 'Love' the 'Cow' then we should brings the 'Cow' back home! if not, we 'Korban' the 'Cow' like the MB of Selangor and distributed it to the people!
written by sydput, March 25, 2009 10:46:23
In the good old days, the rulers were above the LAW.
Today, it is UMNO who are above the LAW.
Even the police are protecting the law breakers within UMNO.
Najib's speech not inspiring enough like OBAMA's.
Full of subtle warnings to those who are different from UMNO.
The whole world knows that we have a criminal in the next PM.
written by box, March 25, 2009 10:48:43
Correct me if i'm wrong. The 3 branches of a typical democracy should be the lawmakers (parliament executive), the judiciary and the law enforcers (police).

However, the police in Malaysia has been placed directly under the home ministry and therefore under the executive. That's why the police is behaving like BN's bodyguard. Sit woofi, sit..... good....
written by *********, March 25, 2009 10:49:18
Umno has long used the Monarchy to sustain its own political relevance and survival just as it has long used Islam and Malay Special Rights to deceive and hoodwink the Rakyat. Time for the Royals and the Rakyat to send Najib and BN/Umno to the sewers...More http://*********.********.com
written by Fido, March 25, 2009 10:50:43
I dont know what check and balance the monarchy can offer to malaysia. Even pre 80s constitutional crisis, we did not see any executive powers displayed by the rulers.
In fact, as much as i do not agree with TDM, i do agree that there were excesses within the monarchy. No doubt there was media spin at that time, but how can we forget the 'golf caddy' incident, the 'hockey coach' incident and also the lack of restraint by certain princes and sons of princes?

BN did many wrongs, but removing the immunity of the rulers was not one of them. I am all for making rulers accountable for any of their actions that goes against the law, and pre 80's crisis, rulers could get away with anything.

TDM and BN made many wrongs indeed, but removing the immunity of the rulers was not one of it.
written by pixieface, March 25, 2009 10:51:21
A incoming politician premier threatening a HR being dethroned, is food for thought. A learned royalty being threatened by a mere politician? And all for WHAT? Like someone said, it would take two thirds majortiy to do that.
written by joeawk, March 25, 2009 10:55:53
More malaysians, especially the malays must be reminded of the truth. Copy and send out emails to as many as you have on your emailing list.

UMNO has to be brought down or the malays will be cursed for committing treason together with UMNO.

written by imanj, March 25, 2009 11:01:10
Yes many Malaysian may be gullible and naive now,but not back then..!

The older generation and the teenagers going into adulthood,back in the 80's felt the tremendous changes.I had a friend who was pro-Mahathir from day one,where nothing else mattered.I would annoy the situation by hailing 'DAP,GO ROCKET GO'.

The history of Malaysian Politics could not be easily distorted,misunderstood or forgotten by some.One-sided information,lacking transparency didn't diminish the obvious changes.How many Malaysians can be 'booked' and charge now for relating or telling it,as it was? Could you put away many with personal experiences that have mountained up the situation of how the country's gotten to now,especially the detoriation of human attitude and the unfairness in the system?

Even DSAI was part of the Mahathir regime.The layman were powerless then and will continue to be powerless,if the country isn't run with a new team who believes that restoration and reconstruction comes first.That's why Pakatan Rakyat who show all signs of reformation is the biggest and only rival,to this country ruling party..So the need to ensure that they fall,is the main issue..Distorting facts,tear gasing etc..anything to bring about their downfall.

I did not vote anyone till now,but i will vote for DSAI and his team..!

written by Tompios, March 25, 2009 11:06:26
As common people, I really want to see our Sultans and "all the kerabat diraja" visiting the rakyat jelata in their respective kampungs and try to communicate with the rakyats.

I never see any king with my ear and listen through my eyes in my entire life. Never!! I almost saw one of the young princess in Labuan 1990s when he was trying to get a pretty girl (student) from my school.

RPK, I only need one small 'dot' to destroy my respect to royal behaviour. Why? Because I expect too high for royal descendants to do noble things like you, Pete.
written by Rundukon, March 25, 2009 11:35:40
I am confused. Are we saying that a royal should be given immunity to kill people? i.e. the case where a caddy was beaten to death with a golf club.

And are we saying that a royalty can just land his airplane on a soccer field at his whim?

Are we saying that a royalty has the right to slap people when his vehicle was overtaken?

Are we saying that a royal can veto decisions made by Parliament?
written by merlin2001, March 25, 2009 11:45:07
Dear Fido,
Two bad incidents or 2 bad apples does not necessarily contaminate an entire barrel.
There are many instances where the Royalties have done right to their subjects.
Besides the original constitution allows the Royalties to act as a check and balance.
What took place in the late 80's created a monster of a Dictator over a 20 years
period. We are still living in fear of that scenario where every sector of the civil administration became a tool of that dictator.
It is due to this that we Malaysian are cowards but wise, as we are not able to march in numbers like other countries do. Here we will get chemical sprayed or shot.
If you take the example of the our neighbors who dare revolt ask yourself why?
That is the reason why we are prepared to eat salted fish while the cronies of the dictators eat caviar.
We also cannot fight an unmo whose war chest runs into billions. It is naive for us to say let us contribute. Can we contribute billions to buy off the PDRM to protect us if we march by the millions? I don't know about the army.
Here for now at least we are the wiser until a day comes when one good man takes over the the PDRM and say enough is enough. Then we march without fear.
All it take is one miscue by Umno.
written by renoir, March 25, 2009 12:24:19
RPK, I guess there's really a need for older citizens like us to tell the young the truth. If someone were to dig through the archives of even the mainstream papers, he or she might find a report that the Mahathir people were suprised at the Opposition's passionate defense of the monarchy. And many who spoke for the monarchy, if I remember rightly, were from the DAP. This is partly due to the recognition that the rulers could serve as check and balance to an elective dictatorship, and partly due to a desire to keep the tradition.

UMNO's attacks on the monarchy - which occurred even in recent events such as the calling of one of the rulers "natang" in Terengganu - involved, as you rightly noted, a desire for total power. It's also, I think, a racial one - an attempt by a small and particular group of people of mixed parentage to undercut the powers of the Malays. Some people could never forget the contempt the Tunku had for them, though it was their unsavory behavior that infuriated the Tunku, not their ancestry.

My father and grandfather were ideologically royalists, and that influenced me until the 80s when the BN-controlled mass media did their hatchet job on the royalty. Even then, I didn't fall for their propaganda: I merely moved my position from support to the center - feeling that the royalty could serve the function of presidents in our Westminster-type of government. But of course with the legislative and the judiciary totally under the thumb of the executive, the last shred of democracy has been missing from this country decades ago.
written by malaysian, March 25, 2009 12:46:43
"Najib threatened the Sultan"

Pete, please except my sincerest apologies! I whacked you too because I thought you were showing blind loyalty to the Sultan who clearly neglected the will of the people.

I wished I knew about this threat before. I had such a high opinion of this Royal family because of his legal background.

Legally speaking, if I C4ed Najis and got charged in an UMNO court, can/will any Sultan grant me a royal pardon ?! I know that a retiring US President can do that.
written by ultraman, March 25, 2009 12:53:20
these people are double headed snakes.
At first they habtam the Royalty and now they claim that they are the defenders of the Monarchy.
The real defenders of Manarchy are people like us, the Rakyat whose only hope is for the King to step in if the Ruling parties abuse power.
Yes, we will defend the Monarchy to the last drop of our blood.
UMNO only cakap sahaja hoping to appeal to the kampong folks by saying that they champion the rulers' cause.
Hey, kampung folks atre no fools. They know who remove the Rulers' power.They know that it is UMNO who are the culprit!
Too late, UMNO. All your dirty tactics are well known.
RPK is a true defender of the Sultans and King and so are his bloggers!!!
LONG LIVE THE MONARCHY!!!
written by asianguy, March 25, 2009 13:03:23
RPK, please inform the Sultan of Perak that, if the next time the Sultan makes a ruling that is beneficial to the Rakyat, no matter what happens, the Rakyat will support the Sultan against any wrong-doings by Najib and gang. It's really an easy solution, and the right thing to do - take a chance on giving the Rakyat true democracy, and the Rakyat will support the Monarchy all the way.
written by bknight, March 25, 2009 13:06:29
so can you explain about Perak ?? please don't patronized us

written by ibabonma, March 25, 2009 13:15:40
Najis, hutang wang dibayar dengan wang, hutang darah dibayar dengan darah, hutang nyawa dibayar dengan nyawa .... itu sebab jangan berhutang. Kan dah susah sekarang hinggakan tak boleh tidur dihantui oleh Altantunya. Lagi pun, Sultan pasti berdendam dengan engkau.
written by bknight, March 25, 2009 13:23:24
All of Us should start standing up for the Monarchy! let the Monarchy knows that the rakyat is with them so they don't get cold feet when face with the traitor UMNO!

i have mentioned in many comment sections that our monarchy is our identity, our culture, our's as malaysian (be in malay, chinese, indians, dayak et al).
they should be protected by us the Rakyat!

written by cruzeiro, March 25, 2009 13:38:27
The Umno convictions stop, where money starts.

We all know the hogwash Umno peddles to their unthinking supporters, when we hear it. This thing about defending the Monarchy and holding sacred the Federal Constitution is all crap.
The Federal constitution has been gang-raped to death by pirates - and soon enough, they'll be suggesting a brand new Fascist Constitution. That's when we'll see the sparks fly .....

Without a doubt - The Raja-raja Melayu were subjected to blackmail by our "resident evil" and what you say is true. Yes - they have been sullied through & through by certain quarters.
However, it must be remembered that it takes two to tango.

You once wrote about some people's "business dealings" a long time back (in Loony Malaysia, it became MT), and I know they are true.
The various changes made to the ascension to the thrones in certain states, through the workings of Umno also added to the emasculation of the august offices of the Raja-raja Melayu, as each apparently tried to appease their "power/status/wealth-brokers".

Umno cannot afford to get rid of the Sultans, as they legitimize the rule of the aristocrats' plunder of the nation's resources. Without the royalty, the aristocrats are dead meat.
The royalty to make an effort to clean up their act and return their mandate for legitimacy to the people, and then call Umno's bluff - only then will the scumbag aristocrats sit in their seats quietly.

Until this can happen, they and the people along with them, will remain subservient & at the mercy of traitors & pirates .... and mind you, these pirates know greed when they see it!
written by cruzeiro, March 25, 2009 13:45:33
written by Rundukon, March 25, 2009 11:35:40
I am confused. Are we saying that a royal should be given immunity to kill people? i.e. the case where a caddy was beaten to death with a golf club.
======================================

Rundukon,
The removal of the immunity was probably justified - however, be very clear about one thing -> it was just the pretext for a bigger agenda.

The agenda was to render the Royalty, a "rubber stamp authority" in passing laws bulldozed through parliament. As such there will be no more counterchecks on the power of the executive.
written by HL5, March 25, 2009 14:22:06
I do not quite read your articles often but have done so more often in the last two months. The difference between your articles and other blog's is your articles comes out with something new almost every time; Some further revelation on the issue at hand. Your insights too, into new or old issues, are just as fascinating. These, I suppose is what made the other blogs or e-newspapers unable to hold a candle to your site!

My only comment on the royalties as a whole is this question : Should royalties get involved in business? Aren't they getting into a conflict of interest situation when they are required decide or 'adjudicate' in any matter of public interest? Won't they be placing themselves in a compromising position by less than scrupulous ruling governments? And what about their subjects? Shouldn't they be letting their subjects have the opportunities to make a living than they taking up the business opportunities? Aren't they sufficiently comfortable with the stipends from the Consolidated Funds?

Your views on these are much appreciated.
written by Bandit, March 25, 2009 14:58:25
Well it looks like the Royalties have more faith in UMNO then its subjects.
written by amjoem, March 25, 2009 15:30:41
Even if it was my father, if he had favoured the wrong course just to protect his status, I will not hesitate to expose him. In the sight of GOD all of us are His children, be it my father, my mother, HRHs, the PMs or anybody, we are all the same in the sight of GOD. The moment we die, and when our soul departs from our body, the soul will not recognise as to who our parents, siblings, relatives, friends, politicians nor the Royalties. Let us remember that our soul is but Spirit and it does not have brains to think or remember anything. Upon the soul being judged, it will either suffer in hell or gloryfy in the presence of GOD. Well, the Sultan has to really beg for the mercy of GOD! He did failed GOD when he failed to uphold righteousness. He especially, having been a Lord President, has let his people down.
written by Ben, March 25, 2009 15:34:00
All that is necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing. There is a grim inevitability about this week's armno. In the last 52 years since the signing of the Merdeka Agreement the nation's politics have moved relentlessly towards the extremes of race and religious. armno, the political lead of the bn coalition, have grown weaker on stalemate in Perak and other more personal indiscretions.

This week, it is possible that evil will triumph and capture all of their seats as planned, albeit a slap on the wrist for some who were caught in a web of bribing and for some a more decisive ban from contesting for he same offence. If that happens, it is possible that will be the demise of armno. In part, their demise is a consequence of peace: voters feel safe voting for the extremists because they do not fear a return to violence. They believe they are opting for the toughest negotiators on their side and hope that toughness will deliver a stern warning to all non-Malays who dare qustion their special prvilege. But it is a strategy riddled with danger.

armno has failed and their party grounded in deceit and bribery as reported by the msm and also past leaders who are concerned. Its leadership talks peace, but is inextricably bound up with an organisation that practices terror and engages in heinous acts of criminality. The party's mendacity has been exposed by its reaction to the brutal attacks of various ethnic demonstrations against ISA and wrongful deaths during police incarceration. Even murderers may never face justice because those who witnessed the tragedies of killing have been intimidated into silence or just disappear. paklah, armno's leader, has has spoken publicly of his determination to bring Altantuya's murderers to justice, but in reality he and his party have done nothing to confront the killers in their midst. Instead, however, of suffering at the hands of the voters, najib and his colleagues may reap reward. This is the sad reality in Malaysia today, unless.....
written by DezMalaysia, March 25, 2009 15:35:18
The sad reality is, most of our country monarchies are weak and succumbed to UMNO's threats most of the time. But, when I look at Johor... I think UMNO fears the Johor Royalty as it's well known among common folks that Johor has its own small military battalion or something to defend Johor from threats.

I say UMNO just picking on the weak. They are balless to pick on the strong one.

UMNO loves to tell us (Chinese) to go back... Do they actually know that China are willing to accept back rich or medium rich chinese families from Malaysia & Indonesia ? Many businessmen already stash their money in China in case if race-riots break out ! Thanks to those threats, money are flowing out !

Stupidity has no cure... Malaysia has to learn from Indonesia ! Human rights are far better there...
written by jshing2158, March 25, 2009 16:21:42
it is indeed strange and unfair to see a lack of avenue for the sultans to express their thoughts and to express or expose the wrongs that is happening in our country. They may be above politic but that should not stop them from expressing their views and what should be done to make our country a good place to call home and make us proud to call ourself Malaysian. If the Sultan is right he sould say his piece and if the rakyat thinks he is right, they will support him. No amount of lies spin by the executives could hide the truth in this wonderful cyber media call the internet. We the rakyat are no fools and we can see and feel the going on that is happening in our country. Daulat Tuanku... FEAR NOT CAUSE THE RAKYAT WILL BE WITH THE TUANKU.
written by Rundukon, March 25, 2009 16:46:23
DezMalaysia, I have been to China. They have no use of rich what more medium rich overseas Chinese to come back to China. What they need is the multi-millionaires. Do you know that there are not least than 1 million millionaires in China?

And where did you get the ideas that human rights are far better in Indonesia? Do you know that there are 5 millions people in Jakarta alone that earns less than RM500 per month? And they are the victims of their own people.
written by aryn, March 25, 2009 17:37:44
All the more reason why Najib must not be made PM.

I pray the Agong will have the guts to reject him and appoint even if it is Tengku Razaleigh. That day, I'll stand by the Agong come what may.
written by Eskay Lim, March 25, 2009 19:24:08
UMNO, the defender of the monarchy?
And he still thinks that all Malaysians eat grass.
written by DezMalaysia, March 25, 2009 22:44:00
Rundukon, will a person do not want more money ? Will a country do not welcome or accept a millionaire to be their Permanent Resident ? Yes there's one, only Malaysia will not grant citizenship to rich people. The discrimination & prejudice elements in evaluating a person's eligibility for a citizeship is far outrageuos or near impossible ! The place is Hong Kong & Macao.

Regarding Indonesia, you're talking about earnings. I am talking about human rights. They have anti race discrimination act & laws to protect minority's interests. The freedom that the minority enjoy now are much better after post 1999 racial riot.

If you do not believe that rich people are very welcome in China, I can tell you that bosses of an instant mee company from Malacca were once given a special military welcome when the plane touched down in China. Don't believe ka ? Go and ask !
written by bknight, March 26, 2009 01:38:04
DezMalaysia,

i agree, my uncle operate a 3 stars hotel in hainan island for many years, my granny told us that once she followed him to hainan island, and they were given VIP police convoy

another thing i want to point out. during the 98 crisis, we know that indonesian was running rampant in destroying indonesian chinese business, many rich indonesians sent their kids to singapore and malaysia (dont believe, ask those studying in kdu, kbu and many more) and 1 very good example. 1 indonesian tycoon who owns a conglomerate in indonesia, started to move his base on singapore and all the wealth outside of the country.

these umno farkers! still do not realise one thing, they more they fan this racial politics against malaysians, they will just hurt malaysia, there will come a time when the non malays will say enough is enough and move out from malaysia and never come back. right now we are all calling malaysia our home because this is where tanah tumpahnya darahku. so bloody stop calling us pendatang! we hold the same mykad, we hold the same passport.

written by carribeanking7, March 26, 2009 10:28:02
Samy Velu is now very upset with you, he saw the title "play it again Sam" *****ed on it and was very dissapointed there was no mention of his illustrious exploits.
written by takbolehtahan, March 26, 2009 11:55:32
Taiping60 has hit the nail right on the head. And I am a little disappointed with RPK this once for saying, "And that is why I spoke in defence of the Sultan of Perak -- and many Malaysia Today readers whacked me because of that." TO use an analogy: Is it all right to defend the mother who stood by and allowed her husband to rape her little daughter because he threatened her? The mother is the only other parent who could and should have defended her daughter by sacrificing her life. The same goes for the Sultan. They were the last hope left to save the rakyat.