Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow First Things First With Najib Razak

First Things First With Najib Razak PDF Print
Monday, 23 March 2009 10:56

Najib has to assure Malaysians that his personal integrity is beyond reproach. Frontally addressing the many ugly accusations leveled at him regarding the tragic end of that pregnant Mongolian model would be a good and essential start.

M. Bakri Musa

Barring divine intervention, or an incredibly stupid move on his part, Najib Razak is set to be Malaysia’s next Prime Minister come this April. He will assume office with an approval rating even lower than that of the man he will be replacing. He also has a dark cloud hovering over him that simply refuses to fade away.

Despite that, Najib could still lead Malaysia out of its current doldrums and on to greater heights. To achieve that, he must address two critical issues, one relating to his personal integrity and the other, his leadership. For the first, he must answer the many sordid allegations swirling around him, specifically with regard to the brutal murder of the pregnant Mongolian model Altantuya. With the second, he must select a cabinet and leadership team that would “wow” the nation.

One thing is certain. This is not the time for Malaysians to resort to extra constitutional means or set dangerous precedents that could later haunt us just to deny Najib his due. Asking the King to intervene is one such dangerous precedent. Allah aside, only Parliament or UMNO Supreme Council could legitimately remove Najib. As both moves are unlikely, we might just as well focus on the potentially more productive pursuit of at least trying to ensure that his tenure will be successful. We owe that to our children. Love for country should transcend obsession with politics.

This is also not the time to demonstrate on the streets just to express our loathing for the man. That would only hasten Malaysia’s degeneration towards another Pakistan. During these perilous economic times, Malaysians would not forgive their politicians should they indulge their followers in such theatrics.

Every new leader deserves the courtesy of a grace period. There will be time enough in the next election for us to express our judgment on Najib. Meanwhile be thankful that the incompetent and neglectful leadership of Abdullah is finally coming to an end.

The Mongolian Murder Mystery

For Najib to simply deny that he is not in any way involved with the murder or attribute evil motives on his critics – his current strategy – will not cut it. His swearing of innocence over the Quran may convince some mosque attendees but it will not remove the lingering suspicion. The alleged evidences against him are just too specific and detailed. There are the purported SMS exchanges with a prominent lawyer who was initially involved in defending one of the accused, as well as the erasure of the murder victim’s record of entry into the country.

I applaud Najib in not resorting to libel suits to silence his critics. This is a particularly pernicious habit of the powerful in the region, a reflection of their ingrained “might being right” mentality. This is also the addiction of those who think they are powerful (and thus beyond criticism) simply because they have privileged access to the court system.

What Najib should do is to have a full press conference open to all, including and especially foreign correspondents, representatives of the alternative media, prominent bloggers, and his severest critics. I would include here Malaysia-Today’s Raja Petra Kamarudin.

Apart from being thoroughly prepared, Najib should bring to and distribute at that press conference all possible exculpatory documents such as his phone logs and billing records, as well as copies of Altantuya’s visitor entry record. Anything less would only deepen the suspicion. Najib needs to prevail in the court of public opinion, not the court of law.

I am making a crucial assumption here, and that is, Najib is truly innocent. If he is in any way involved in the murder, no matter how tangentially, then he does not deserve to be in Putra Jaya. He should be sent to Pudu Prison instead.

A “Wow” Cabinet and Leadership Team

Tun Mahathir’s warning to Najib that he should not pick a corrupt cabinet, while headline grabbing and stern sounding, is neither insightful nor helpful. Of course no one wants to be associated with the corrupt. Unlike Mahathir’s advice, mine is more specific and practical.

Najib should dispense entirely with the current cabinet, bar none. This includes the most likely candidate for Deputy Prime Minister, Muhyuddin Yassin. This is the team that passionately supported Mahathir when he wanted to build that crooked bridge to Singapore, and then just as enthusiastically backed Abdullah when he cancelled it! These ministers are incapable of independent thought; they serve nothing more than as their leader’s echo chamber. Get rid of them all.

The job of finding enough fresh talent to fill his new cabinet would be made considerably easier if Najib were to substantially reduce its size to about a dozen members. Get rid of the Ministries of Women Affairs, Youth, Tourism, and Information, among others. Apart from the cost savings, such a move would also streamline his administration.

Widen the search beyond UMNO and Barisan, or even outside of politics. Malaysia does not lack for talent, only that many are currently turned off by politics.

Najib may not remember this, but his father effectively used the senate appointment route to recruit new talents. That was how he brought in such outstanding individuals as Tengku Razaleigh, Ghazali Shafie and Chong Hon Nyan. Tun Razak even sought those who had previously been expelled from the party, as he did with Mahathir. Likewise, Najib must be as daring and unconventional as his father was. This is no time to stick to the old tired playbook.

A pivotal decision for Najib would be his choice for Deputy Prime Minister. Although Muhyuddin is likely to be elected the deputy UMNO leader, he would be a poor choice as Deputy Prime Minister, Mahathir’s endorsement notwithstanding. Najib should politely decline Mahathir’s recommendation and buck party tradition.

Being of the same age and experience as Najib, Muhyuddin would bring nothing extra to the team. For another, there would always be the subtle and distracting rivalry between the two, with Muhyuddin impatiently waiting his turn. We have been through that before! In part to allay our fears of this, he has already displayed the stereotypical UMNO streak of sucking up to his superior, as evidenced by his over enthusiastic embrace of Najib. He also goes to great pain impressing everyone on how well he can work with Najib. In Freudian psychology they call that “reaction formation,” a tried-and-true defense mechanism.

Muhyuddin’s fatal flaw is that he views the office of Deputy Prime Minister primarily as Najib’s chief “gofer” rather than as the nation’s second in command.

Najib should break once and for all the current unhealthy coupling of party positions with governmental appointments. Thus he should keep Muhyuddin out of government and task him to reform UMNO, a monumental undertaking in itself. He had been chairing the committee to reform the party for the past few years. Let him continue there.

Najib should instead invite (beg if necessary) Tengku Razaleigh to be his Deputy. His considerable experience and wisdom would confer upon Najib’s team instant respect and credibility. While that is important it should not be the sole reason for picking him. Rather, Najib should maximally utilize Razaleigh’s skills and talent.

The major challenge would be to make Razaleigh accept the appointment. Appealing to the man’s sense of public duty would help, indicating that this would further his publicly-stated quest for a “unity” government.

The age, experience and temperament of the two are sufficiently different that the two would unlikely get entangled in a destructive rivalry. Instead they would complement each other, recalling the successful Tunku-Tun Razak’s partnership of two generations earlier, only this time with a role reversal.

Early in his term I suggested that Prime Minister Abdullah should choose Tengku Razaleigh as a sort of Co-Prime Minister. Such successful co-leadership teams are seen in many large corporations, the most visible being Microsoft’s Bill Gates and Steve Ballmer. Had Abdullah done that, his (as well as the nation’s) fate would today be far different.

Apart from the cabinet, there are two other crucial senior governmental appointments:  the chiefs of the police and the Anti Corruption Commission. Both institutions are now hopelessly corrupted and irreparably politicized; likewise their senior officers. The only way to regain the public trust is for Najib to recruit internationally, possibly from the FBI, Scotland Yard, or the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. Once he has reestablished trust, then he can revert to local talent.

A One-Term Mindset

To focus on these difficult tasks, Najib should develop a Reagan-like mindset of not worrying about the next election. He should act as if he would be a one-term Prime Minister. That would instill a much needed sense of urgency and discourage him from worrying about short-term political considerations. Such an attitude would also embolden him to make the necessary tough decisions.

By instituting these changes Najib would quickly assert his leadership as well as send the clear message that he is fully aware of the awesome responsibilities of his office and that he has the wherewithal to fulfill them. That would more likely make him succeed as Prime Minister, which in turn would ensure his party’s re-election.

These changes would of course trigger anger among the many powerful warlords in his party. Rest assured that as most of them are corrupt, a reinvigorated Anti Corruption Commission under professional leadership would keep them occupied.

However, first things first; Najib has to assure Malaysians that his personal integrity is beyond reproach. Frontally addressing the many ugly accusations leveled at him regarding the tragic end of that pregnant Mongolian model would be a good and essential start.

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by joeawk, March 23, 2009 11:22:05
Great suggestion but it cannot happen. I would rather that MPs vote for Razaleigh to be PM and then leave it to him to appoint his lietenants.

It would be difficult to achieve wholesale changes ut at least the judiciary, police and the MACC must be sorted out and then all else wouild fall into place.
agree 115
written by evaangel, March 23, 2009 11:25:40
I applaud Najib in not resorting to libel suits to silence his critics.
No he didn't. Sedition was used instead. Not to mention suspension of an opposition MP when the matter was raised in parliment.

This is a particularly pernicious habit of the powerful in the region, a reflection of their ingrained “might being right” mentality. This is also the addiction of those who think they are powerful (and thus beyond criticism) simply because they have privileged access to the court system.
Well observed. Why don't you think the acts above don't come under the same category?

What Najib should do is to have a full press conference open to all, including and especially foreign correspondents, representatives of the alternative media, prominent bloggers, and his severest critics. I would include here Malaysia-Today’s Raja Petra Kamarudin.
To what end? To smile to the camera and say - Really man, I didn't do it! Honestly! Cross my heart and hope to die! Now stop it already - it's not funny anymore!
To silence his critics, he should allow himself to be investigated. If everything is in the open then no more speculation or accusations can be levied. Anything less of a full investigation is an insult to the intelligence of the average Malaysian and the memory of the victim.
agree 170
written by DreamLady, March 23, 2009 11:28:26
Najib has to consult Mahathir regarding the above plots and plan. If he chooses to be 100% integrity-orientated, and follow the suggested advice, to hell with Mahathir's advice, he could never go wrong, on the other hand he might rise above the other five PMs.

Najib, take the challenge and has a squeaky-clean start as Malaysian's 6th Prime Minister!!!
written by Rundukon, March 23, 2009 11:31:36
Malaysia is doomed. The 'real' PM will be RoastMa.
written by Counterpointer, March 23, 2009 11:39:19
Najib needs to prevail in the court of public opinion, not the court of law.

Nah! Doubt that Najis will ever take up those suggestions to clear his badly soiled name.

He would prefer the Saddam Hussien approach; nobody should make any further mention linking him to the murder or he would be really angry, and you wouldn't like it when he is angry.

Below is an unedited picture of his Botox Boulder taken off NST. Now does it look like she has blood on her body or what?

written by malgal, March 23, 2009 11:39:19
I believe Najib himself wants a `clean' image through his press statements. So first things first is right - remove the spectre of doubt. And practice what you preach on a clean start.
written by Ranulaw, March 23, 2009 11:39:43
Asking Najib to do the above is like asking the Devil to turn over a new leaf.

U can assume Najib to be innocent all u like but u can never take away the perception of the rakyat that he is guilty or at least involved in some way. If not, why try to send RPK to jail using sedition as the excuse. Why not just sue him & challenge him to show proof?!!

Chance of changing the cabinet as suggested is like 2 ppl striking lottery with the same numbers! I believe most of the "important" blood sucking ministerial portfolios have already been decided during the campaign period.

Finally, if there's ever a more reliable indicator of men, it's their character. In this case, I've not seen or read anything about Najib that shows even a tiny tendency to do any of the suggested above. It's good to dream but reality wakes us up eventually.
written by oct, March 23, 2009 11:39:53
Three newspaper around the world has published Najib story namely The Liberation, The Straits Time of Singapore and now The Australian. Soon all over the world, the same story will be told. Yet he is keeping quiet. If he is innocent, he should sue all these newspaper else everyone one in the world will know that our future PM will be linked to the murder. Making no decision is the decision made that he is linked.

Come on Malaysian Govt. Either you censor these news from around the world or we will be the laughing stock in the world for having a future head with a tainted image. Please sue all these newspaper for the sake of the Malaysia!!!!
written by wongnoball, March 23, 2009 11:45:46
I think Dark Clouds over Rakyat Malaysia more Appropriate BUT Don't Over-Rate His and Ros-botox ability. We are in an era of ONCE in a 100 Years Economic CRISIS.it is a GOD Given Opportunity to Change the Constitutions, Rules and those who DESERVE to be in Jail or HANG to Death.

We can only hope that on the day of their Meeting in PWTC all UMNO Big Wig be Obliterated by a Rougue Meteor, A tectonic Earthquake in the middle of PTWC and the building Collapse immediately.
written by Pakyeh, March 23, 2009 11:47:02
Kind of neutral like statements but por Najip.Lacks moral.You need to learn moral from Sheikh Karpal Singh Mr Bakri Musa.
written by mulut murai, March 23, 2009 11:48:52
Mr Bakri,
Surely you have not forgotten that Bill Clinton was impeached for Lewinsky scandal.
Here was the President of the most powerful nation on the earth (which implies he was the most powerful man on the planet), subjected himself to scutiny and embarrasment (no doubt) as required by his nation's democratic principles.

There is no way a person of Najib's baggage can assume the leadership of this country without coming out clean through the court of law or Parliamentary debate (as asked by Gobind)......certainly not through Court of Public opinion, or Sedition Act, or ISA.

written by timmy, March 23, 2009 11:50:37
"This is not the time for Malaysians to resort to extra constitutional means or set dangerous precedents that could later haunt us just to deny Najib his due. Asking the King to intervene is one such dangerous precedent. "

We have been duped into believing what we are practicing is actually true democracy over 50 years. That's not the case of playing with constitutional means. The handling over of PM to DPM without the consent of Agong and vote of confidence in Parliament in unconstitutional.

Just enlighten by Tengku Razaleigh's here in his latest posting:
http://razaleigh.com/2009/03/23/how-a-new-government-is-formed/
written by michael, March 23, 2009 11:50:52
Your suggestions are truly great, but it is like hoping that pigs can fly. You might as well suggest that Najib takes action to charge Mahathir for corruption to regain the People's faith in the integrity of his new Administration.
written by Pakyeh, March 23, 2009 11:53:02
Read this tribute to RPK ..."Pantun: RPK 4 PM" ...at...

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by born2reign, March 23, 2009 11:54:16
Sure Najis is assumed clean, as clean as Saifool's a**hole.

Sure he can have clean Cabinet.
He must select those that have been to ISA detention because those dirty ones are housed in UMNO and rewarded with big bungalows, and those squeeky clean ones are/were in ISA and live in humble homes. Or those suspended by Parliament.

Choose wisely Najis.
written by asguard, March 23, 2009 12:15:34
Najis will continued to denied as he always will do... no matter what he won't say its his fault even with Perak fiasco!
written by oneofthesedays, March 23, 2009 13:36:49
Najib is a lost cause. Don't you know by now that some people have no "better angels".Stop wasting your and our time. While you and others are "advising him", he's already stealing another few billion $ to bolster his war chest for The War Against The Malaysian People (TM).
written by arazak, March 23, 2009 13:49:19
He had already "Wowed" us by robbing half-billion ringgit of our money.There might be other moniey stolen from us but not accounted for. . .! I am sure they are somewhere in Switzland, Bahamas, Caymen or Panama.

ENOUGH of his "wow"!
written by Bigjoe99, March 23, 2009 14:04:31
What is being asked here is a drastic change by Najib. Its totally unrealistic to expect Najib to change drastically when he has no history of ever doing so. We all are very familiar with Dr. Musa unrealistic expectations..

Najib is on Malaysian political Idol and everyone else is Simon Cowell. To win, he need to be talented even exceptionally talented and he is not anything else but talented...
written by East Highlander, March 23, 2009 14:10:24
Bakri, is lining up to kiss both of najib's butt cheeks!
written by Susanna, March 23, 2009 14:27:11
"What Najib should do is to have a full press conference open to all, including and especially foreign correspondents, representatives of the alternative media, prominent bloggers, and his severest critics. I would include here Malaysia-Today’s Raja Petra Kamarudin" He would have done it without your telling if he is truly innocent. This is the first and fundamental PR to do. To go straight and dispel any misconception or perception. Since he has never gone down this road, what does it show? That he cannot and would not because he would just be exposing himself. Why else would he continue to remain silent even when Gobind directly asked the question. No innocent man worth his cup of tea and integrity would not have people simply accuse him. All those things written are really ideal and simply the best way to go forward. Unfortunately I believe Najib can never be man enough to do this. Already his wife is already perceived to be the one running the country, and has made Tun Mahathir so indignant about this matter, how can one then expect Najib to rise to the occasion and do the extraordinary?
written by cruzeiro, March 23, 2009 14:40:57
Bakri,
Did you smoke some weed or what? Never mind all the other outrageous ideas you came up with - what's with the Scotland Yard & FBI?
You must be bonkers to suggest it - you might as well have suggested that we become the HQ for Mossad, CIA, KGB and what not!
Jeez- sober down, man ....
written by EUGTAN, March 23, 2009 14:57:18
While I always enjoy Bakri's writing, I wish to point out two disagreements. First, he asks that Malaysians should not resort to extra constituional devises like asking the king not to appoint the President of UMNO as PM. But the appoinment of UMNO President as PM is not a constitutional issue, just a customary one. He then asks that the winner of the vice president vote should not be made Deputy PN just because he does not like the man. Many who do not like Najib as PM would see a contradiction between the first appointment and the second non appointmnet since both are customary practices. Bakri asked that the whole team should be done away with. I applaud that but surely the biggest handicap is the to be appointed PM himself. As we near the appointment, newspapers in the region and around the world, always eager for sensational news, will no doubt go to town on the scandal-ridden politician to be appointed PM of a nation trumpeted as a model Islamic nation. Liberation, the prominent French newpaper, The Sunday Times (UK) and a leading Australian newspaper have already published articles on the case. At this rate, Razak Baginda may soon have to face the Master of Trinity College about the continuation of his PhD. In the next few days, Malaysia's name will be dragged across the mud. But this is not likely to cause UMNO any concern.

The oher point I wish to contest is his applauding of Najib for not pursuing his case in court. Bakri does not understand the dynamics of trust in politics. In Singapore, when a minister is accused of corrutpion, it is his responsibility to pursue the case in court, or else he loses his job. When he pursues his critics in court (for slander), he then puts his case in the open to clear his name. That is the only way Najib can clear his name, on this and other matters. Silence is not an option; calling a press conference is an improvment but it a staged event and a politican's practiced responses will not clear doubts.
In contrast to Bakri, I see the only way for the nation to recover is for the king not to appoint Najib. That will send shock waves to the political establishment. Overnight, polics as a means to a personal end will be re evaluated. A government of national unity may then ensue with the best possible talents, shaped by a sense of service and integrity coming forward. Malayisa deserves no less in this hour of need.
written by Su Dhanoa, March 23, 2009 15:12:48
This monster / moron who has got both his hands in the cooky post / chest, do you think he is ever going to give up that easily. We can moo and moo all we want, but this moron is not going to do anything about it!!!! He is just too corrupted !!!
written by nada0802, March 23, 2009 15:50:09
Should all this happen,what do we say to Shaaribu Setev?
written by imanj, March 23, 2009 16:41:42
I don't think so. It would seem less complicated for doubtful Malaysians,if one chooses to leave the building,and leave the crucial reconstruction of this country,to someone who isn't in the same predicament.

To be blunt,in all fairness,there many victims who are condemned unfairly and in most ways,trying to make recovery in a comeback,are facing more obstacles by their rivals.So instead of assuring Malaysians one's intergrity is beyond reproach,one should be reprobated..!!

written by zandi, March 23, 2009 17:08:27
Geezz, Bakri... Is anybody home?! (knocking on bakri's skull). Understand this: NAJIB HAS NO INTEGRITY! PERIOD!
written by Siputman, March 23, 2009 17:30:55
"Bakri, we are living in a fantasy world of Bolehland which is lagi best daripada Disneyland, not United States of America".
written by Taiping60, March 23, 2009 18:49:52
Agreed. We cannot afford another Perak.

So no Ruler intervention. Everything has to be within the law. If majority of the MPs wants him to be the PM, he should then be the PM.

As to Altantuya'case.
Swearing in quran will not solve proof anything. Similarly, having a press conference will not solve the case either otherwise we might as well do away with courts, judges and lawyers.

If Najib is innocent he should do the following to assist the judiciary system to find the truth and catch the culprit causing this;
1) open the case to the public
2) allow both the prosecutors and the defense lawyers the freedom to work within the law to find the truth
3) the case must not stop until we find the truth

Press conference will not solve anything.

written by bexe, March 23, 2009 18:51:40
Hahaha what wishful thinking.
Najib is guilty AS HELL!
written by alfchuah, March 23, 2009 19:05:06
Second paragraph into your article, I already couldn't continue - stop your BS! I am not even gonna say why people disagree with what you say.

If you wanna lick Najib's balls go ahead but don't wag your tongue at us.
written by MSIABOLEH, March 23, 2009 19:12:24
"....Najib could still lead Malaysia out of its current doldrums and on to greater heights. To achieve that, he must ..... FIRST answer the many sordid allegations swirling around him .... SECOND select a cabinet and leadership team that would “wow” the nation."

When I read this second paragraph, I just simply could not control my violent laughter. HA! HA! HA! HA! Mr Bakri, do you think Najib is Tom Cruise in MISSION IMPOSSIBLE? His name is now stuck to Altantuya like cement stuck to a brick. Furthermore he himself is deeply tainted with corruption, how can he select a cabinet and leadership team that could "WOW" the nation but "WOW" us in the wrong way. Mr Bakri not everything can be "kow-tim" even in BOLEHLAND. Hope you'll come back soon from Dreamland.

written by areenna, March 23, 2009 19:26:19
First thing with Najib:

PKR newsletter Suara Keadilan and PAS newsletter Harakah are suspended form publishing for three months, effective immediately 23 Mac 09

A mini preview of what will come.
written by miwaki, March 23, 2009 19:43:25
I'm sorry M Musa,your suggestions are fantastic but I'm guilty.I think the best thing to do is not to implement your proposal but to quit politic altogether and escape before they get me !
written by sulphate, March 23, 2009 20:39:04
He also needs to get rid of that fat blob of meat following him around (sometimes it makes statements like "It is his destiny").
written by son of soil, March 23, 2009 21:16:27
First thing first,the witch hunt have already begun..today it was "Suara Keadilan and Harakah"....Blogs are going to be next...Courtesy of our premier in waiting.Dark
years for our beloved country are here
written by sambal muncha, March 23, 2009 21:36:11
Bakri,

Your impassive attempt at impartiality is becoming, but when the effects of the ?? has worn off, you'll find that the reality of what you've suggested is very far-fetched indeed.
written by ultraman, March 23, 2009 21:48:01
What Najib should do is to have a full press conference open to all, including and especially foreign correspondents, representatives of the alternative media, prominent bloggers, and his severest critics. I would include here Malaysia-Today’s Raja Petra Kamarudin

Great idea! Include RPK as one of the panelist!
It is just like presenting a goat(Najib) to a tiger(RPK) . Ha!Ha! I simply love the see RPK posing questions of Najib.
My bet is Najib will be shivering in his pants!!! GOOD!GOOD! I like it
written by medicshan, March 23, 2009 22:23:01
This is a perfect example of

IF YOU CAN'T BEAT 'EM, JOIN 'EM.

Najib upon becoming PM will first silence all critics under some pretext. SHE has bigger designs, and it is still to be believed that the the rakyat's and nation's well-being is the object of her focus. And Najib will have no choice.
written by Kaneeneh, March 24, 2009 03:12:36
3 drumbeats:
1. Mongolia
2. Altantuya
3. Submarine
written by educationist, March 24, 2009 04:57:06
"..be thankful that the incompetent and neglectful leadership of Abdullah is finally coming to an end." Yes, i am but I regret it is to be taken by a leader who has shown himself to be of an unsavoury character and not beyond unscrupulous methods.
"I applaud Najib in not resorting to libel suits to silence his critics.." I think there's another viewpoint in that the couple do not dare face his accusers in open court. Nontheless he is using the instruments of the state to do that for him - see the charges against RPK.
Perhaps Bakri feels he ought to be given a chance. But the same argument against Muhyddin and the rest of the Cabinet holds against Najib himself. Yes, getting the Agong to intervene may set a dangerous precedent but these are extraordinary times for our country.
Yet, I believe many of us knows that Najib will take over as PM and we'll see a return of authoritarian dan dictatorial methods of Mahathir's era.
written by apasalahku, March 24, 2009 06:21:50
Citizens!
TIme to storm the Bastille
written by truegrid, March 24, 2009 12:52:15
i'm afraid this looks like our doctor friend in silicon valley feels he needs to play politics now. It looks like he's selling out while trying to maintain some semblance of integrity. It looks like he's "accomodating" to Najib already, leaving the door open, easing up to the power to come however nasty it is. If Bakri thinks the entire fish should be discarded, why leave the rotten head? Proposing Tengku Razaleigh for Deputy PM to the most corrupt of them all is just ridiculous. He should be PM. THEN we expect a clean up. And no, it's not divine intervention that's required. That's part of the lie, and the good surgeon should be sorry to be helping spread it. It's just the Agong exercising his constitutional responsibility in a way that Umno is not used to. I'm really disappointed with Dr Bakri Musa. I hope he returns to writing without fear or favour.