Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Arms deal link to death of model

Arms deal link to death of model PDF Print
Sunday, 22 March 2009 11:45

The scandal exploded last week after the French newspaper Libération alleged that the submarines deal and the murder of Altantuya Shariibuu, 28, were connected.

A FRENCH arms company is at the centre of a deepening scandal involving the sale of three submarines, the murder of a beautiful Mongolian interpreter and the man most likely to become prime minister of Malaysia next month.

All three have been linked in a sensational sequence of revelations that has convinced many Malaysians that the woman was killed to silence her demands of a share in the rewards of the transaction.

The scandal exploded last week after the French newspaper Libération alleged that the submarines deal and the murder of Altantuya Shariibuu, 28, were connected.

A glamorous, cosmopolitan woman, Altantuya grew up in St Petersburg, spoke Russian, Chinese, Korean and English, moved in elite circles and has been dubbed “a Far Eastern Mata Hari”.

She became the mistress of a Malaysian political fixer and was allegedly trying to extort money from him at the time of her violent demise.

Two members of an elite Malaysian police unit that protects top politicians are on trial in Kuala Lumpur, accused of shooting her in the jungle and then blowing up her body with military explosives.

Azilah Hadri, 32, and Sirul Azhar Umar, 36, officers in the Special Branch, could go to the gallows if convicted of abducting and murdering Altantuya on October 19, 2006. A verdict is expected early next month.

Their trial is unfolding as Najib Razak, the country’s deputy prime minister, stands on the verge of taking over as premier after a ruling-party leadership election, due within days.

Najib was accused by a young opposition MP, Gobind Singh Deo, in parliament, of involvement in the murder. Deo was suspended by the Speaker for making the remark. The deputy prime minister has strongly denied any involvement.

Testimony in an earlier court case has established an intimate personal and financial connection between the dead woman and a close aide to Najib, who was minister of defence at the time of the submarine deal.

The aide, Abdul Razak Baginda, was acquitted by a court last November of being an accessory in the murder. He has since been working on a doctorate at Trinity College, Oxford.

Baginda admitted that the dead woman was his mistress for about a year and prosecutors said she had pestered him for money after their break-up.

Just before her death she arrived in Kuala Lumpur, accompanied by a Mongolian shaman, who was to put a curse on Baginda if he did not pay up.

Altantuya was dragged away from outside Baginda’s home by two Special Branch officers, but he was acquitted after maintaining that he never gave orders for her to be harmed.

The Libération exposé linking the murder to the shadowy world of arms contracts has embarrassed the French war-ship firm DCNS. Armaris, a firm now merged with DCNS, sold the three submarines to Malaysia in 2002 for £937m.

Attention has centred on why Armaris paid £107m to a Malaysian company called Perimekar in 2006.

Opposition leaders alleged in parliament that the payment was a “commission” for intermediaries and that Perimekar was secretly owned by Baginda. Najib replied that it was not a “commission” and that Perimekar was a “project services provider”.

Libération has alleged that Altantuya, who toured France with Baginda in a Ferrari, wining and dining at expensive restaurants, learnt of the payment. It said she was demanding $500,000 (£345,000).

DCNS has refused to comment. It is already the subject of a French judicial investigation into corrupt practices, thanks to a whistleblower who has detailed bribery and industrial espionage allegations.

Last week, efforts to contact Baginda, a self-styled political analyst, at his new home in Oxford were unsuccessful.

Najib has avoided public comment but his politically influential wife, Rosmah Mansor, told the French news agency AFP that she was “shocked” by attempts to link her husband and her to the case.

Additional reporting: Alex Yong in Kuala Lumpur

Comments (41)Add Comment
written by Cash Money, March 22, 2009 11:54:59
Najib apa macam sekarang, itu orang Perancis bilang you pun ada terlibat,terliwat lagi ambil rasuah.

agree 191
written by Task Force 101, March 22, 2009 12:19:18

Whilst I am happy to see this sad episode getting more and more coverage I always wonder about where the European loyalties lie. I say this coz I remember when Bruno Manser was fighting for the Penans and the orang aslis on West Malaysia, the Msian govt was upset. Concurrently, there was a BAE deal to buy UK training jets. Guess who got the short end of the stick?

The one question that has answered in my mind now based on the caution statement is that the poor young lady was blown up coz she was carrying the baby of someone. Both hitmen did not know that. But whoever gave that order and authorised the use of C4 knew.

One interesting point is that until now in a murder trial mind you no party both prosecution nor defence seems to want to see nor question a link betw her prenancy and her murder.
agree 128
written by Good News, March 22, 2009 12:27:01
After he becomes the PM, the real Najip will emerge to terrorise those who has offended him earlier. The Agong better not let him be the PM!
agree 172
written by PAKRAK, March 22, 2009 12:28:02
ROS****MAH pandai pelakon. The whole wide world knows that both Najis and Ros****mah are directly involved with the grissly murder and you, Najis let Razak Baginda off the hook. Najis nobody will believe what you say. Wait till you or your aides deal with International countries they will give you their terms and conditions knowing you are UNTRUSTWORTHY and especially investors will shun Malaysia when you are the PM. GOODBYE MALAYSIA... this is the downfall of our beautiful country.
agree 152
written by ibabonma, March 22, 2009 12:30:08
In this case, both the prosecutions and the defendants lawyers are equally guilty. All of them seemed to be aware that both the accused will be released otherwise why are they allowed to wear face masks, and under whose directive?
written by hckit, March 22, 2009 12:46:53
Najib : pls sue French newspaper !!!!

Show us your ball on international stage
Don't just show ball to local boys like RPK, Gobind and etc.
agree 235
written by Alice, March 22, 2009 12:52:33
I really hope that the French Government would carry out a thorough investigation regarding the submarine dealings and expose all truth related to it. We Malaysians are totally unhappy and disgusted that a man with no conscience and linked with murder is going to become our next Prime Minister. Please help us.
agree 134
written by Remo, March 22, 2009 13:07:36
I hope Najib will have to sue the french daily to proof him not guilty.
I don't think he dare because the french must have enough evidence before writing this article.

Come on Mr.PM in waiting, show that Malaysia boleh!
agree 151
written by SCM, March 22, 2009 14:13:00
Najib,

How can you allow a foreign journalist to insult and shame our Prime Minister (in-waiting)? We are proud Malaysians and we cannot allow such a grave insult on our nation. We are a proud rakyat that will not take such lies standing up.

Please sue this newspaper for billions. Get Razak Baginda to do what he is good at, i.e. tour Europe in a Ferrari with a model by his side and do the middle-man work for you in suing this outright silly allegation against our honest and decent soon-to-be Prime Minister.

If you do not sue them, it is like admitting to the murder. You didn't kill Altantuya, right? Rosmah did it, right?
agree 141
written by Loh, March 22, 2009 14:52:20
///Opposition leaders alleged in parliament that the payment was a “commission” for intermediaries and that Perimekar was secretly owned by Baginda. Najib replied that it was not a “commission” and that Perimekar was a “project services provider”. ///

The operational accounts of Perimaker should clarify whether it was a commission or a payment for services. As commission, Perimekar does not have to spend beyond expenses on collecting the commissions. As services provider, Perimekar would have to spend a percentage of the 107 million Euro, or RM 500 million to buy services so that they can be provided to the submarine. The Registrar of company can easily clarify the matter by revealing the detail. MACC should clarify this matter.

Half a million US dollar is only 0.1 per cent of what Razak Baginda got from the business whether as commission or as fees. It was pea-size expenditure in comparison to the windfall rewards, and Razak could have easily paid off either to silence her or to repay past services! Is Razak baginda so stingy with money that he could not just pay off the late beauty? That was particularly unreasonable when it was said that Atlantuja was pregnant. Was Razak the father or some other Mongolian?
written by cruzeiro, March 22, 2009 15:06:41
Did anyone see the botoxed fat lady in today's Star paper?
My god - does she look stupid, fat & ugly ....
written by Cinakelate, March 22, 2009 15:16:57
Gantung lesen akhbar Liberation, dakwa pemberita itu dengan akta hasutan. ISAkan dia.
written by PAKRAK, March 22, 2009 15:41:46
For your information it was not just the arms deal that linked to the death of the beautiful model Altantuya Shaaribuu. REMEMBER she was pregnant at the time she was blown to bits and pieces to destroy any shred of evidence and DNA. Whose child was she carrying? Najib Razak or Razak Baginda??? Ros****mah was one of the witnesses to the "explosion ceremony". Your guess is as good as mine. Altantuya merely came to ask for her commission on the submarines deal and her alimony/expenses for the unborn child.
written by BennyG, March 22, 2009 15:56:22
"It is already the subject of a French judicial investigation into corrupt practices, thanks to a whistleblower who has detailed bribery and industrial espionage allegations."

Rosma, it is destiny that Najis will not get away with this. Destiny is for the murderers to get what they deserved!
written by *********, March 22, 2009 16:02:38
Watch out for the damaging expose on Najib-Altantuya by the International Herald Tribune. All to be revealed...More http://*********.********.com
written by steve, March 22, 2009 16:20:21
As a layperson, there are a lot of unanswered questions surrounding this whole issue. It appears that both the cops defence team and prosecution appear to be going to extreme lengths to AVOID bringing in the name of NAJIB RAZAK.

WHY????????????????

I will tell you why not - because EVERYTHING points to the FILTHY HAND of NAJIB RAZAK.
Lets see:-
1.When Baginda was arrested, his wife exclaimed "why are you arresting him? He is not the person responsible" or words to that effect.
2.Najibs text to Baginda when he was arrested telling him to keep "cool" and all will be OK.
Does that not smack of use of his political influence to "buang the case"??
3.The disappearence of all Altantuya's immigration records. WHY ARE THERE NO QUESTIONS FROM EITHER PROSECUTION OR DEFENCE? Everybody agrees that she was killed in the country and was in the country. Ministerial interference again??
4.At the site of her death, newspaper reports say that there was DNA evidence of 8 or 9 other human remains. Again - NOBODY IS ASKING THE QUESTION-WHO ELSE HAS BEEN KILLED BY MALAYSIAN COPS?
5.Altantuya - blown up using C4. Where did they get the C4 from? Only for military use - Najib-defence minister. Its a case of 2 2=4 isn't it! Explosives are so tightly controlled in Malaysia. Have you ever heard of criminals using C4 in Malaysia in the past - the answer is NEVER! Again - nobody asking the correct questions.
6.The cops themselves. Was the question asked - WHY did you EXECUTE the woman. I do not recall that question being asked. Also WHO gave the ORDER to kill her. Again - silence from the prosecution.
7.The questionable role of the Mongolian Honorary Consul. The loss of eveidence given to him by Altantulyas father.
8. The naming of Najibs wife as being at the scene and the surmounting evidence pointing to NAJIB RAZAK - have the cops EVER questioned NAJIB?? It will never happen.
9. These cops hold the key to whomsoever organised this execution, and they are NOT TALKING or...... the prosecution AND defence are deliberately NOT ASKING the correct questions.

In conclusion, it is a fact that if you are the deputy prime minister of Malaysia - you can actually get away with MURDER.
written by takbolehtahan, March 22, 2009 16:31:00
hckit, how to show balls when there are actually no balls?!!! Balls already been cut away, but maybe got marbles la!
written by longjaafar, March 22, 2009 17:53:19
The danger in all this is if the French or even CIA has strong and conclusive evidence about Najib, it can be used as blackmail.
What might then happen is that we as a country will be beholden to whoever has the evidence, be it in the form of photographs or documents.
It is inconceivable that there are no records of Najib's and Razak's movements in Europe as well as that of Altantuya. That the French immigration and secuirty is very silent on all this is baffling. Of course in Malaysia the immigration dept simply deleted Altantuya's records (Malaysia boleh). Come to think of it, has anyone asked Hamid Albar how that could have happened. I'd like to hear his reply. Must be a real gem, because he is noted for coming out with really classic statements.
written by arazak, March 22, 2009 17:54:23
Hmmmn. . .! In light of these exposure after exposure in the international media, I do not know how Najis, our future PM could face the international audiences in world platforms such as the United Nations, OIC, ASEAN and others.

Only a person who have "tebal muka" (maybe 6in.thick"), would be able to face other world leaders with a straight face. Even for me, an ordinary Malaysian, I feel so much ashamed thinking about this!

I feel ashamed now to interact with my expartirate friends. Maybe they would mock me behind my back for having a suspected murderer as a Prime Minister!
written by cilimalaysia, March 22, 2009 18:12:38
oi najis, bila rakyat negara ini tanya, org-org u bising kat te house. but now orang luar negara tanya. u hanya diam. org2 u pun diam. apa ni? u jaga orang luar ke org senegara u? malunya i. lagi nak jadi Piem. amboi amboi.
written by mmrokay, March 22, 2009 19:20:52
Najib Razak Rosmah will be sentenced to JAIL.
written by imanj, March 22, 2009 19:36:03

Just need to ask and make some sense of all this.Altantuya Shaaribbu's identity and how she fits into the whole business deal is somewhat established.Where it's common for any huge deal in the making,there will be commisions,kickbacks for the taking.So there isn't and shouldn't have been a problem in the pay-offs.

Which stage of her pregnancy,where it's not been stated,only people close to her like her cousin would know,or if the taxi driver who drove her may have seen if,her pregnancy was visible.Why i say this is if she Altantuya,had been paid more to get rid of the baby,it may have not come to this.But Altantuya may have been emotionally involved,she may have been in love,with the man,when she concieved.And she had so wanted to keep the baby,and the man was just a stud,wasn't interested in anything more.So that's when the trouble began,the threats,no payment,and probably she's not my lover,she's just a girl that says i am the one,and the kid is not my baby.

So whoever wanted her dead,is the man responsible for her getting pregnant..And only that man,and that man alone knows what happened to Altantuya Sharribu..And if he had accomplices,it would have been a well written 'Murder she wrote' novel staged.

written by Watchdog, March 22, 2009 19:38:00
Should a suit be filed against the French govt in France? That way, some things will hve to come out in the open. Doesnt matter if the claim succeeds - some light will be shed to illuminate the darkness they are trying to create here. smilies/cry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by malaysian, March 22, 2009 21:15:28
Malaysia is about to have a murderer for Prime Minister.

Malaysia boleh!
written by Drift_king, March 22, 2009 21:18:23
Well let the Foreign newspapers and columnist take it up as it seems to be a crime in Malaysia to voice out as there seems to be no freedom of speech, equal justice....
Is Malaysia now going to severe ties with the French Government? Rais...wake up!
written by Drift_king, March 22, 2009 21:25:23
Why would tourists visit Malaysia? People can be murdered and blown-up with explosives for "fun"
I concure with steve....so many questions but no answers! With what is being reported, investigations and the decisions of the courts. Anyone can become an IO, Lawyer and Judge, no qualifications necessary only connections.
written by zanie, March 22, 2009 21:47:41
ALTANTUYA'S APPEAL TO ALL MALAYSIAN BEFORE THE MURDER AS READ BY AMY IN COURT;

"Dear all Malaysian government or police, or Embassy of Mongolian, or newspapers. My name is Shaariibuu Altantuya. I came to Malaysia to see my boyfriend Mr Razak Abdullah Baginda.
"He (is) married and lives with daughter Roweena and wife and parents in Damansara Height, Jalan Setia Jaya 22. His office (is) in Jalan Ampang.
Yes, I have been visiting his house and office because I needed to see him.
Yes, I asked from him money but I have reasons.
"I am a nice person, I can't hurt someone but Mr A. Razak Baginda is a powerful person. He has money. He has connections in (with) police, in government. He (is) trying to scare me, trying to kill me.
"He send his two Indian men to follow me, one of them Suraj (K. Suras) Kumar, he (has) been coming to my hotel room every morning around 5am and knocking (on the) door, trying to scare me.
"They (have) been following me for four to five days. Even to my hotel, where I'm staying, workers (also) know. That time I (was) really scared, I have some problems now.
"Mr Razak Baginda promised to help me when I was (in) Mongolia. That (is) why I came to see him and for help. But he (is) trying to kill me and that Indians told me they have connections with police, so they will put (me) to jail.
"Yes, maybe I did mistake to bother him, to blackmail him but if he didn't promise to me, I would never come from far away to Malaysia. The only reason I am here is I'm asking help from Mr Razak."
"I get P.I., private investigator Mr Poh. But today, he told me that Indians would kill and put (me) down from window. And before I write (this) letter, I suicide myself because I have no choice, he told that they have my letters so they kill (me) and say she suicide."
written by Milo, March 22, 2009 21:50:20
Just curious, how come we do not hear Najib condemning the killing? As a DPM, shouldn't he led the charge to condemn such an act - especially if he is innocent? mmm....
written by cheemengwong, March 22, 2009 22:46:42
Dear Najib,

1. Please initiate legal action against the French newspaper, the reporter and whoever make such accusation against you to clear your goodname. If you don't, your ascension to be premier of Malaysia would be tainted and Raayat like me would not have faith in your leadership.

It is a serious allegation and you should seek and pursue the matter to its conclusion even it it means going to the highest court available in this land and the world.

How would your name go down in history if you just keep quiet in the international circle? How would other politicians and the citizens of this world view you?

Please Najib, do the necessary. Gobind is out but this French paper is still in business. Do something!
written by SamBall, March 22, 2009 22:54:22
Now even the recalcitrant Ozzzies are talking about it!

How, now, najis, soon everyone will know??
written by Fuminari, March 22, 2009 22:56:48
how many of those 2000 odd umno delegates dare to come out ,jump onto the street,telling in open that they believe that najis has got no involvement at all one way or the other as far as this slaying of altantuya is concerned!put it on record.
do it in the name of ur god,allah!do it in the name of the holy koran!do it deep from ur heart,from ur very own conscience!
najis being not investigated could not be an excuse,it is not plausible;every body under the sun knew that he has not been investigated becos they hav been blatantly abusing the legislature,the judiciary n the executive system of this country!
written by Littlebird, March 22, 2009 23:07:03
When it comes to Malaysia, France would turn out to be just French fries. Nothing would come out of it especially if it involves another leader of foreign country. Though I wish I am proven wrong.
written by MalayMail, March 22, 2009 23:10:15
By next month Najis will ask French Government to close one eye and malaysia will Government invest alot of money in French. Who do want $$$$$?
written by temanmu, March 23, 2009 03:52:36
Now 2 major newspaper have taken up the story... of course, this is as exciting as a Hollywood movie!

Sexy girl, murder, corruption, scams, involving the highest office of the land!

This a blockbuster Bolehwood movie starring Najib (as himself)!

The shit is gonna hit the fan soon!
written by mountainking, March 23, 2009 11:33:54
i hope the French govt are not corrupted and willing to expose the doings of malaysians that are involved in this episode of murder.
written by born2reign, March 23, 2009 12:19:11
Yahoo!

1st Mahatahi chose Bodowi Sleepyhead
2nd Mahatahi chose Najis the murderer to bring more shame to UMNO and Malaysia.

And French govt are more afraid of her people than the oth way around. Hope they'll investigate and bring Najis to international court!
written by apa jadi, March 23, 2009 16:15:27
Can only happen in Malaysia! A scandal riddled minister (DPM in this case) can still continue to scoop his power. BOLEH!

Timely Report too. Hope that the French will not do a cover up too. The French are just as guilty of arms deals under counter, not just submarine to Malaysia.
written by zandi, March 23, 2009 17:18:12
Yes, Najib, come on, sue that lying French newspaper! Just like you shut down Malaysia Today sometime back to defend your wife's rosak name, so now, show us you have the balls to sue the French journalists!
written by Blackgiring, March 23, 2009 20:16:37
.... if it is true DSN did involve with the Altantuya's case in any way... Sirul and Azilah should have known it and should have blow the wistle in court rather than facing death sentences....they got nothing to lose to tell all accept their own life....
written by antiilluminati, March 24, 2009 10:38:13
Anyone could sue the French Paper for defaming our DPM !. Can some do that pls ..