Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow The Confession that Never Was

The Confession that Never Was PDF Print
Saturday, 21 March 2009 15:56

A statement by the confessed murderer of Altantuya Shaariibuu raises more questions

In other court testimony, Sirul said Azilah had told him "there was work to be done and just asked me to follow him." Musa Safri, Najib Tun Razak's chief of staff, he testified, "had told him about a friend …who had women problems." 

Asia Sentinel

On November 9, 2006, at Kuala Lumpur's Travers police station, Corporal Sirul Azhar Umar, then a 35-year-old member of the country's elite Special Action bodyguard unit under Deputy Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak, sat down and confessed to the murder of Altantuya Shaariibuu.

See Sirul Azhar's Caution Statement here

The dead woman, a Mongolian translator who had been executed nearly three weeks before in gruesome fashion with two bullets to the head, is at the center of what would be one of Malaysia's biggest political scandals ever, involving not only sex and murder but hundreds of millions of dollars in defense contracts.

But the case, which has been underway in a Shah Alam courtroom since June of 2007, is notable for what neither the prosecution, the defense or the judge appeared to want to be bought into open court.

On Feb. 3, a tearful Sirul asked the court not to sentence him to death for Altantuya's murder, saying he was like "a black sheep that has to be sacrificed" to protect unnamed people who have never been brought to court or faced questioning.

"I have no reason to cause hurt, what's more to take the life of the victim in such a cruel manner," Sirul said. "I appeal to the court, which has the powers to determine if I live or die, not to sentence me so as to fulfil others' plans for me."

Sirul and Azilah are now awaiting sentencing despite the fact that the trial was concluded in February.

Sirul's confession is an extraordinary and chilling document. In the session, tape-recorded and conducted in Bahasa Malaysia, or Malay language, Sirul was told he was not obliged to answer questions but that whether in answer to questions or not, his remarks would be recorded as a statement.

But although the volunary confession indicates that Sirul had been cautioned, it has been ruled inadmissible in the long-running trial of Sirul and his boss, Chief Inspector Azilah Hadri, and Abdul Razak Baginda, the admitted lover who jilted Altantuya after a torrid affair. Razak was later declared not guilty and freed without having to put on a defense. He has since left the country for England.

An extraordinary amount of evidence connects Najib, now preparing to become Malaysia's prime minister, to the case. SMS messages exist between Baginda and Najib reassuring him not to worry when he was first under suspicion, saying Najib would fix things. A private investigator hired by Razak Baginda to keep Altantuya away from him after she returned to Malaysia to confront him said in a statutory declaration that Baginda, a well-connected head of a political think tank, had told him Najib had introduced Altantuya to him. The private investigator was forced to recant his statement and hurriedly left the country.

Although Sirul's statement was ruled inadmissible, presumably that would not have prevented lawyers from repeating the questions in open court in an attempt to get him to answer them. Among other things, in the confession, Sirul says "Azilah talked about a reward of between RM50,000 and RM100,000 if the case was settled."

Since Baginda has been freed, it raises the question of who else was going to pay the two men to kill Altantuya. That question was never asked or answered in court.

In other court testimony, Sirul said Azilah had told him "there was work to be done and just asked me to follow him." Musa Safri, Najib Tun Razak's chief of staff, he testified, "had told him about a friend …who had women problems."

Neither Najib nor Musa has been questioned about who sent the two men first to the Hotel Malacca, where, according to the testimony, Azilah wanted Sirul to kill not only Altantuya but the two women who had accompanied her to Kuala Lumpur in an attempt to confront Baginda.

According to other reports, Altantuya had served as a translator in Paris for the Malaysian government's US$1 billion purchase of three French submarines which was routed through a firm owned by Baginda and which netted him a €114 million commission. Najib, one of Baginda's best friends, was defense secretary at the time and engineered the purchase.

In a letter found after Altantuya's death, she expressed regret for attempting to blackmail Razak. Baginda, in a statement to the police, said she was asking for US$500,000 from him, presumably for her role in the transaction.

Sirul and Azilah went to the Malaya Hotel but decided not to kill the three women "because of the presence of CCTV (closed circuit television cameras)."

Ultimately, according to the confession, the two went to Razak Baginda's house where "there was a Chinese woman (Altantuya) who was causing a commotion."

The two, with the help of a Malay woman, presumably Lance Corporal Rohaniza Roslan, Azila's former girlfriend, bundled Altantuya into a red Proton Wira and drove her to where Sirul's jeep awaited. Rohaniza later claimed she had been coerced to change her testimony. The prosecution attempted to impeach her as a witness.

"Along the journey, Azilah asked me to find a place to ‘shoot to kill the Chinese woman." Eventually after she was driven to Sirul's house to pick up the military explosives that would be wrapped around her body after she was dead, she was then driven to the Punchak Alam forest reserve near the suburban city of Shah Alam.

"I saw Azilah outside the jeep carrying a bag containing an M5 weapon and silencer from the jeep that was located at the foot rest of the passenger seat and gave it to me ordering me to ‘shoot to kill' the Chinese woman who was inside the jeep."

They took her jewelry and other articles, Sirul said, and "I saw that she was in a state of fear and she pleaded not to kill her and said she was expecting." Nonetheless, Azilah wrestled her to the ground, apparently knocking her unconscious, and "I opened fire towards the left side of the woman's head. After the Chinese woman was shot, Azilah removed all her clothes and I took a black garbage bag and Azilah put all the Chinese woman's clothes into the bag."

Azilah, he said, "noticed movements in the Chinese woman's arm and ordered me to fire another shot but the gun did not fire. I then emptied the weapon and loaded the gun again and fired another shot at the same area which was the left side of the woman's head. I then took a black plastic garbage bag and with Azilah's help put the bag over the Chinese woman's head to prevent blood from spilling."

With Sirul holding her arms and Azilah holding her legs, they carried Altantuya into the woods. "Azilah then carried the bag containing the explosives and handed it to me. I took the explosives and attached them to the victim's head while Azilah attached the explosives on the victim's legs up to the abdomen." After attaching a wire to the explosives, they blew her up.

After returning to the Bukit Aman police station, "I had a bath and changed clothes and put the clothes that I wore during the incident together with the victim's clothes into a plastic bag. After that, I entered the jeep and drove the jeep to a rubbish container in the Bukit Aman area near a construction site. I threw some of the victim's belongings and the wire that was used to detonate the explosives together with the empty bag that contained the explosives into the container.'

Then he went home and went to sleep.

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by *********, March 21, 2009 16:08:21
The way our courts are run, the way the Police and MACC conducts itself, one can safely conclude that justice in this country has been sodomized by the Evil BN/Umno regime. Now it's about to get C4ed with Najib coming in as PM...More http://*********.********.com
agree 257
written by Fuminari, March 21, 2009 16:20:55
the 2000 umno goons,thieves n bandits want najis to lead them,that's their business,
but the majority of sensible ,righteous n conscientious rakyat of malaysia is saying a big "NO" to najis as PM;as far as this altantuya slaying is not cleared properly in the court of law,in an acceptable transparent impartial manner!!it is degrading n shameful for any human being,for any malaysian.
agree 190
written by justice, March 21, 2009 16:33:59

agree 320
written by PAKRAK, March 21, 2009 16:34:56
A tearful Sirul told the court he was "like a black sheep that has to be sacrificed to protect unnamed people who have never been brought to court or faced questioning".

In otherwards, the whole Rakyat and the world already know it and the crystal clear ANSWER to this statement is: "NAJIS C4 AND ROS****MAH ARE THE MURDERERS". Both of them thick skin. Tak malu. I am ashamed because our new PM & wife are not only murderers but corruptors and racists. I have to hide my face like an ostrich.

agree 214
written by greenarrow, March 21, 2009 16:42:40
High rank police officers...Umno leadership are BANDIts & Murderer...Malaysian are very sad
agree 151
written by Badaksumbu, March 21, 2009 16:44:08
for the sake of justice, those in the capacity to continue-please don't let this case rest. I'm very sure some one on the top involved. I wish David Yallop is around to assist me.

badaksumbu
written by Wahyu, March 21, 2009 16:50:54
Lets Send Altantuya's Murderers to HELL!!!!!!!!!!!!
agree 198
written by Gerald, March 21, 2009 16:53:00
Dear Najib,

You have a wife, children and families. Please admit to justice if you are involved in the murder. We know that u have the govt tools to conceal all but remember that u will never have the peace in your heart & mind. Otherwise, Karma and God will repay your siblings with similar acts. Najib pse repent and surrender yourself. God will work wonders with u and will expose those unexposed. Amen.
agree 139
written by temanmu, March 21, 2009 17:07:26
was like "a black sheep that has to be sacrificed" to protect unnamed people who have never been brought to court or faced questioning.
--------------

The transcript of the original testimony in Malay should be splashed on billboards across the nation!

It is a welcome gift to Najib! ... alleged murderer PM in-the-waiting to be executed.

The issue has blown so big that it is impossible to conceal!

written by educationist, March 21, 2009 17:19:21
The confession that never was and the questions that were never asked.
Why?
The simple reason ,here in Malaysia, the investigative, prosecution and judiciary are all mixed within the UMNOputras.
With he who is destined to lead featured so prominently in this sordid murder , no one dares to ask the wrong question.
So, the case will draw to its predictable conclusion with the two scapegoats found guilty and all shall be well, all manner of things will be well.
written by SCM, March 21, 2009 17:30:43
Rosmah,

How could you do this to a pregnant mother of 2 children? What is US$500,000 out of Euro114 million? It is probably less than one of your numerous shopping trips to Europe. Couldn't you have given her that and kept the rest? You are truly a greedy murdering pig.
agree 143
written by onnetline, March 21, 2009 17:53:56
The almighty Allah will bear witness to all misdeeds committed and will decide very properly on these sinners !!!!
written by densemy, March 21, 2009 18:10:01
The people of Malaysia have already decided on Najib's guilt... What the Courts decide is irrelevant... but then most of the Court decisions of late have been irrelevant
written by miwaki, March 21, 2009 18:11:52
And the master mind of the murder is .....,even my dogs know the answer.After another 30 years,maybe the program "Deal or no deal" will put this question to the participant before they can cash their prize.
written by mmrokay, March 21, 2009 18:14:20
Cheers along " malaysia set another guinness world record " - Najib most scandal-scared Prime malaysia (blown up human category)
written by savemalaysia, March 21, 2009 18:14:25
Altantuya's ghost will continue to haunt Najis so long as the numerous unaswered questions are not answers and also the PM and Safri Musa must be brought to the stand as witnesses to determine their roles or otherwise in the greasly murder. Without that, no one would be convinved that Najis has no hand in the murder.
written by kkselvam, March 21, 2009 18:50:35
NAJIS CELAKA.NAJIS CELAKA.NAJIS CELAKA!
written by ibabonma, March 21, 2009 19:13:19
Did they ask the Director General of Immigration to answer allegation as to why the immigration traveling records of Altantunya and/or her cousins went missing in Tokyo, Kuala Lumpur and possibly at the Malaysian-Thailand border crossing?

Why should the immigrations be particularly concerned in their visit to and out of Malaysia and without any consideration involved in the removal of such records? There must be a high level connection here. Report must be made to MACC for investigations.
written by imanj, March 21, 2009 19:18:22

No one,except the very person or persons present at the time of the actual crime will know the truth of this brutal situation.Its either the persons in custody,could tell the truth and reveal all,or they get indicted and who knows "set free"..

Its a whirpool of questions and never any real answers.This surely shows incompetency in the investigations,because when and if an interrogation is done,i'm quite sure much would have been revealed.However,if anyone is so brutally murdered,whether local or foreigner,shouldn't there be concern of the mental state of the murderer,and the manner of the crime,where its possible elswhere in the world,but in Malaysia?! This kind of brutal behaviour should be first wiped out, before it becomes serial in nature.. And of course,there should be no impartiality in wanting to let ensure justice is done.It's a life,for heaven's sakes and the ones in custody or involved and released are muslims.What impression does this have on society?
I'm sorry,if what i've said,is not what should be said,i'm saying it because this should not happen to anyone.And all Malaysians would hope that our courts will see that the trail is done diligently and fairly..

written by ibabonma, March 21, 2009 19:29:14
Don't tell me our YAB PM and DYMM-DYMM Sultans are unaware that Najis and Big Mama are involved in killing Altantunya? Or, Khairy for that matter should also has some information!

The responsibility now rest with whom? DYMM Agong is having the ball at his feet. Tuanku, we request you go on long leave beginning 2nd. April.

Surely the rakyat cannot wait for the next general election to save Malaysia; for who knows by then he will turn himself into a dictator.
written by Sudahlah tu, March 21, 2009 19:54:57
Mengapa begini : -
i. Kesucian Islam diperalatkan oleh umno untuk mengawal bangsa melayu ?
ii. Penggunaan ilmu hitam yang begitu ketara di kalangan pemimpin umno yang selalu
melaungkan kebanggaan keagamaan hinggakan bangsa melayu begitu mengagungkan
mereka ?
iii. Benarkah kekayaan dunia lebih penting daripada Ajaran Allah ?
iv. Selama 52 tahun , apakah rakyat Malaysia tidak mempunyai jati diri hinggakan
dijadikan bahan pertaruhan kezaliman umno ?
v. Bilakah baru generasi bangsa Malaysia dapat menikmati kebebasan jati diri ?
vi. Mengapa seramai 26 juta penduduk Malaysia masih hidup serba kekurangan
sedangkan golongan elit memperbodohkan agenda perpaduan negara ?
vii. Apakah bangsa melayu sendiri sebenarnya tidak bersatu dalam kepentingan bangsa
sebab asal usul berlainan dari segi adat resam dan kepercayaan ?
viii.Mengapa begini ...?
written by Msian Idol3, March 21, 2009 20:42:21
See how fast Baginda ran away. He has millions and until the world court takes action, the truth in Msia would disappear. Even Bala & family have disappeared very quickly. 100% the 2 coppers in custody would be hanged. I just hope the french authorities would dig into this case & the Mongolian govt takes case to world court.
written by Franky, March 21, 2009 21:07:14
The Murderer should be sent to Hell.
written by zanie, March 21, 2009 21:08:08
Let's listen to Altantuya's appeal which she wrote before she was murdered;

Published on: Friday, June 29, 2007 in court by Amy, Altantuya's cousin-The Star

"Dear all Malaysian government or police, or Embassy of Mongolian, or newspapers. My name is Shaariibuu Altantuya. I came to Malaysia to see my boyfriend Mr Razak Abdullah Baginda.
"He (is) married and lives with daughter Roweena and wife and parents in Damansara Height, Jalan Setia Jaya 22. His office (is) in Jalan Ampang.
Yes, I have been visiting his house and office because I needed to see him.
Yes, I asked from him money but I have reasons.
"I am a nice person, I can't hurt someone but Mr A. Razak Baginda is a powerful person. He has money. He has connections in (with) police, in government. He (is) trying to scare me, trying to kill me.
"He send his two Indian men to follow me, one of them Suraj (K. Suras) Kumar, he (has) been coming to my hotel room every morning around 5am and knocking (on the) door, trying to scare me.
"They (have) been following me for four to five days. Even to my hotel, where I'm staying, workers (also) know. That time I (was) really scared, I have some problems now.
"Mr Razak Baginda promised to help me when I was (in) Mongolia. That (is) why I came to see him and for help. But he (is) trying to kill me and that Indians told me they have connections with police, so they will put (me) to jail.
"Yes, maybe I did mistake to bother him, to blackmail him but if he didn't promise to me, I would never come from far away to Malaysia. The only reason I am here is I'm asking help from Mr Razak."
"I get P.I., private investigator Mr Poh. But today, he told me that Indians would kill and put (me) down from window. And before I write (this) letter, I suicide myself because I have no choice, he told that they have my letters so they kill (me) and say she suicide."

See the consistency between that of Bala's first statutory declaration and what Altantuya's stated? The two indian men were Bala and Suraj, Bala's assistant! When the facts are all consistent the only conclusion we can make is Bala speaks the truth. Najib is involved and the police knows it. they just protect him because he's the boss now.
written by roggon, March 21, 2009 21:13:33
Almost all those culp[rits involved in this heinous crime of the highest order are muslims....well...just pray 5 times a day, fast and go to haj....your sin will be cleansed!!!! is this true...then I think i should convert to islam , go to putrajaya and whack theat bastard...then pary 5 times a day, fast every ramadhan and go to haj...I'll be as pure as a baby!!!! CORRECT!!
written by cheemengwong, March 21, 2009 22:15:21
Dear Real murderer/s of Altantuya...

You can pray 5 or 10 times but God did not hear. He has shut up his ears so that what you pray will be in vain unless your sins are forgiven!

How?

First confess your sins and then ask for God's forgiveness. Men can sent you to jail or be hanged but God must hear your confession!
written by uxzee, March 21, 2009 22:26:52
This is really a sad state of affairs in Malaysia.

The only way we can get to the bottom of this is thru a change of government. And a change of government is something that Najib will go all out to prevent. Najib will abuse all the government machinery, as we are seeing now, to save himself.
written by by2020, March 21, 2009 23:02:24
If Yang Dipertuan Agung were to sworn in Najib as PM, then His Highness will not just tarnish the name of the country, but the God where all of us are His subject!

Tuanku should be wise enough to make the right decision. Daulat Tuanku!
written by Good News, March 22, 2009 00:09:25
Malaysia has finally reached a stage where she will have a dangerous PM who is capable of C4-ing his opponents and get away with it. All his opponents better watch out, even they are in UMNO!
written by asianguy, March 22, 2009 00:51:09
I hope the moguls in Hollywood would get a hold of all of this story for a blockbuster movie in details that surpass what Hollywood could even have dared to imagine. Of course, no one could have imagined that such gross miscarriage of justice could ever occur, but occur it did because this is Malaysia, the land of Boleh.

I cry for Altantuya, I cry for Malaysia, my beloved country.
written by chilten, March 22, 2009 03:05:53
Sirul brought a gun with a silencer near Altantuya's hotel room but failed to kill her because the hotel has CCTV. Then he kidnapped Altantuya, shot her twice in the head and blew her body with a C4.

Despite killing the mother of 2 children, he said "I have no reason to cause hurt, what's more to take the life of the victim in such a cruel manner".

Sigh...even a retarded person would know that he did that for the RM50,000 reward.
written by nextgyouth, March 22, 2009 05:29:02
when the police fail, courts fail, and the government fails,all 3 branches who are meant to be independent - to protect the interest of the people, instead of protecting the interests of certain people; you know the country is in deep sh*t. .
there is only one other safeguard, the Monarchy. will it flex its muscles ? if not sit tight for a troublesome few years to come before the next GE...like Zaid Ibrahim says, its hard not to be cynical and disappointed, but as ordinary citizens what can you do besides being a mere spectator ? you can't protest peacefully (no permit), you can't expose the truth ( sedition charge) and somtimes you can't exercise your votes to the full extent ( postal votes makes the difference)...its like watching a horror movie, but you don't know if its a 2 hour film or a 3 hour film....or you don't even know if its a movie anymore ....scary....
written by Pakyeh, March 22, 2009 08:16:30
Woi all you AMENO idiots,add up all the witnesses and you definitely can tell that your Boss No2 is guilty.Boss No 1 is not realy sleeping but knows about it and so are all of you.You are all guilty if he becomes the P.M. So act now to stop him or rot in hell.
written by Rozlan, March 22, 2009 11:05:30
Azilah and Sirul..

So what?you die for UMNo what?.So no regret isnt it?.Isnt that what polices are supposed to do?Dying for the sake of UMNo..

YOu live and die for UMNo..Why crying and call it conspiracy?
written by Fist of Asia, March 22, 2009 11:33:38
The most shocking part of Sirul's apparent confession is that both him and Azilah moved Altantuya to the Jeep in Bukit Aman, behind the Officers' Mess!
Isn't that a serious security breach?