Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow In His Majesty we trust

In His Majesty we trust PDF Print
Friday, 20 March 2009 15:13

The nation at a time such as this could not be better served than by a man of his prestige, reputation and experience. In this, Malaysia’s hour of need, Ku Li will be just the tonic for a jaded, disenchanted and divided people.

Tunku Abdul Aziz, The Malaysian Insider

Zaid Ibrahim is one person I greatly admire because he, no matter what the subject is under discussion, is ready to take it on with courage and candour.

Zaid is his own man, beholden to no one as far as I know, and is not out there in the public domain to please his political masters because clearly he has none.

In my conversations with him over the last few months on a range of political issues, I have noticed, much to my surprise and delight, that he is apparently incapable of harbouring any malice, not even towards people who have acted malevolently against him.

Such is the measure of Zaid the man who now finds himself maliciously attacked on all sides by the besieged Umno/BN cabal because he had the moral and intellectual courage to suggest to His Majesty the Agong that a person such as Najib whose personal reputation is in complete tatters should be told in the nicest possible way where to get off the gravy train.

Significant numbers of Malaysians are of the opinion that he poses too great a risk to the country and he is the most unlikely person to be able to play a positive role in the rebranding of Malaysia.

This candidate for the highest political office in the land is not even prepared, so it seems, to subject himself to public scrutiny by suing all those who have maligned him and put his personal integrity into question. That would not only teach them a lesson of sorts, but also clear his name, once and for all, of all allegations of impropriety.

There are those among the Umno top brass who say that the Agong should not break with tradition. He should appoint the president of the dominant party in the coalition as the prime minister.

There is nothing wrong with being tradition-bound, but there is everything reprehensible about clinging to a practice that, on this occasion at any rate, could divide our people even more and degrade our country’s international standing. We — whether we like it or not — are not entirely on our own on this planet.

The Agong must fully take into account the sentiments on the ground because so much is at stake should he make an ill-informed decision. The Perak tragedy should be an example to all members of the ruling elite the consequence of arriving at a decision without heeding and ascertaining the true wishes of the people who are often dismissed as the “chattering masses” or even less flattering, “the great unwashed.”

I do, of course, realise that His Majesty would be hard pressed to select his next prime minister because the Umno pool of talent is all but empty, but as many agree, compared with Najib, anyone else would be a brilliant choice.

Umno should consider bringing back Tengku Razaleigh, whom they have put out to pasture, to restore public confidence in the next government. We expect Ku Li will be happy to help out as a duty to the country, as prime minister, ad interim, to give Umno the breathing space (even a lifeline perhaps) it needs badly to rehabilitate its crumbling image.

The nation at a time such as this could not be better served than by a man of his prestige, reputation and experience. In this, Malaysia’s hour of need, Ku Li will be just the tonic for a jaded, disenchanted and divided people.

It is a remedy worth trying. We have nothing to lose and everything to gain by breaking with tradition. Umno should support Zaid Ibrahim’s idea because it provides a way out of its seemingly intractable problem of fast receding public confidence to govern honourably.

You cannot govern by abusing the law to compel and exact acquiescence from citizens who have woken up to the fact that they have rights to justice and truth.

His Majesty the Agong is being presented with a rare opportunity to show his subjects that the noble institution of the king is more than a mere decorative fixture in the elaborate scheme of ancient rituals and symbolisms at the disposal of the ruling party; the power of the king in our Constitutional arrangement is real and truly awesome if used wisely.

The power we have entrusted to our king must be exercised for the absolute good of the country and the people. The Agong understands the wishes of his people and will want to do the right thing by them. Daulat Tuanku.

Tunku Abdul Aziz believes that the only way forward for Malaysia is for all to work towards a return to transparency and accountability in national life. BN will not in a million years be in a position to lead the country to principled governance if it does not start to put ethical public and personal behaviour in the driving seat.

written by Foong, March 20, 2009 15:25:06
After what that has happened in Perak I don't think we should expect much.
written by educationist, March 20, 2009 15:34:37
I read this with great hope. But like Foong, it is temoered by events in Perak.
Yet, at this point in time, it is in him , the Agong we have to trust will do that which will bring a greater good to our nation.
written by timmy, March 20, 2009 15:42:57
You did the right thing in Terengganu.
Let's make it 2 in a row and being remembered as the best Agong we ever had!
written by unomalaysia, March 20, 2009 15:46:27
Tuanku Mizan has the rare opportunity to restore the prestige of the monarchy when Sultan Azlan Shah let it slip. It will indeed be a defining moment for DYMM Tuanku Mizan as the Agong if he do the right thing for Malaysia and deny Najis his consent for appointment as the next PM in our country's hour of need. Tunku, we the rakyat implore you, do not consent to Najis as the next PM. Better yet appoint Tengku Razaleigh. All honest MPs, table a motion of no confidence for Najis and table a motion for either Ku Li as the next PM or for badawi to continue (if he is still willing and has the guts)
written by carribeanking7, March 20, 2009 15:52:38
The best option is to have SNAP POLLS, swear in the Pakatan government,
(I intentionally sound presumptuous because I am convinced they will lose)
and let BN sit in the opposition benches , do reform, soul searching or whatever, and convince the rakyat why they deserve another chance at governing.
I have my doubts as to whether BN can even be an effective opposition.
Case in point that buffoon of an unemployed dentist in selangor.
written by *********, March 20, 2009 15:59:50
The Ball is now in the Royal Court...More http://*********.********.com
written by utuhganal, March 20, 2009 16:29:48
Tunku Abdul Aziz,

I do not have your intelligence but allow me to share yours. At the moment, only 2 persons in UMNO who can serve as Prime Minister. If Pak Lah is unwilling to continue, KU LI is the best person to lead us out of all these uncertainties. And I believe that he will be able to unite all of us irrespective of race and religion.
written by zandi, March 20, 2009 16:33:12
Much as we dread that what happened in Perak will take place at the national level, we have no choice but to put our trust in the King to bring us back from the brink of the destruction of Malaysia. We cannot trust Parliament to pass a motion of no confidence on Najis, not when it is now nothing but a useless institution populated by lawless uncouth BN MPs who will, given the slightest chance, totally reject a vote of no confidence on Najis. Perak has, in fact, set the precedence - the Govt did not honour the Perak State Assembly, so Malaysians will not honour the Parliament. Zaid, we salute you for your bravery in articulating the rakyat's heartfelt desire. Our ONLY hope now is the Agong. We pray the King will listen to the people in our hour of need.
written by aryn, March 20, 2009 16:50:28
Pray we do not misplace our trust in HM Agong.
You are brave to defy Umno in the appointment of your BM in Terengganu.

For the sake of Malaysia and the general rakyat, we pray that you once again rise to the occasion in the appointment of a new PM.

We pray, sire, you exercise your constitutionalpowers and send Najib back to Parliament and let Parliament put a vote of confidence or no-confidence on Najib. For that is the lawful thing to do.

Please don't appoint blindly on Umno/BN so-called 'convention'.
written by ibabonma, March 20, 2009 16:51:40
He knows he will not last long at the wheel and will become the most dislike among the politician in Malaysia and definitely will resort to arm twisting to remain in power. It will be murky for Malaysia in allowing him to be the PM for he will surely ruin Malaysia’s reputation in international platforms and forums.

How could ‘today’ an MP in Parliament pointed finger direct in his face alleging: “you are a murder?” This allegation (no less in Paris) was in reference to the killing of Altantunya, the Mongolian beauty) and in the ‘next’ day, the same alleged murderer sits in Parliament as PM and as though nothing happens?
written by aryn, March 20, 2009 16:52:08
Should read MB not BM.

To Tun M, ignore him. He has done more harm than good to the nation.
written by raven1958, March 20, 2009 17:06:20
Tunku Abdul Aziz...are you off your knocker...after what the Perak fellow did...Malaysians should only focus on how to get rid of the monarchy...The monarchy are all beholden to UMNO for their palaces, cars, women, projects, etc..and are devoid of any spine in making independant decisions....you of all people should know this.....
written by CM Lam, March 20, 2009 17:12:05
Based on current events, since AB has decided not to remain as our leader, then the best thing for UMNO is to appoint Ku Li as the interim PM until a time Najib can clear all accusations against him. Set a decent time frame. Meantime, set up a panel to address the economic and financial crisis first as well as a panel to sort out Najib's case.
DYMM TUANKU, we love you as our KING ..the more conflicts and controversies not properly addressed would really hurt not only us as rakyats but our whole country as well.In the end , everyone suffers. We pray that DYMM would feel our heart for the country and exercise your rights for the love of your people.
written by JohnQ, March 20, 2009 18:23:13
I kept and fed my dog, at least it occasionally barks at strangers at night, semmingly gurad the house.

The rakyat fed them with taxex for decades, yet when they have problems or discontent, none of them says a single "wisdom" voices for the rakyat !

Rakyat should now keep more pets than paying taxes ! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Goostee, March 20, 2009 18:57:33
Tunku,

I suggest that you conduct an immediate poll for Tuanku's intervention. There's no other way we can convince His Highness of our plight.
written by MNor, March 20, 2009 19:29:15
Agreed 101pct with Tunku Abdul Aziz. If at all there is any decency with the Royalty, now is the time to correct it while the rakyat are now very suportive of the institution, failing which, sad to say it will be gone forever as an estimated 50 pct!!! (maybe more)of the Malays (except those who always carry 'changkul' with them) no longer trust UBNO and their votes will certainly be a death warrant.
written by BGs, March 20, 2009 20:06:27
Agreed Tunku Aziz but unfortunately history is not on our side. It is not likely that Royalty would do as suggested. It has to be initiated in parliament itself.
What are the chances that their would be enough #s from both sides of the divide to support Tengku Razaleigh? Hopefully recent events & the voice of the rakyat could move some of the BeEnd MPS to seriously consider this. What each of us could do is to keep up on this & let our MPs know who we want or rather not want to be the next PM!
written by harmanamri, March 20, 2009 23:05:51
If God wants to save this country, it will not be through the agong or any of the royals. Yes, I would agree with the title to this piece of "fantasy" writing if by "His Majesty" Tunku Aziz meant Allah the Almighty.
written by Richy, March 20, 2009 23:41:37
I truly hope the effort initiated by people of highest integrity like Zaid and Tunku help us create the wave to stop Najib from becoming PM. It's for all Malaysians.
written by Old Man, March 20, 2009 23:57:52
Tunku Abdul Aziz is a man of INTEGRITY and WISDOM. Needs no further introduction! TQ
smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Sutha, March 21, 2009 02:03:52
Instead of R.A.H.M.A.N, R.A.H,M.A,T. also can what!

Think Tunku Razaleigh.......

with Zaid Ibrahim as Deputy Prime Minister.
written by renoir, March 21, 2009 02:42:34
We hope for the best, no matter who's in charge. Unlike most people, I don't think a leader must necessarily be blameless in his private life, though it would be wonderful if there's such a person. I think even criminals could make good leaders - many of our world leaders were either criminals or they often become criminals once they take office (e.g. think of those who declare wars to rob other nations' wealth). The danger with Najib lies not merely the people's perception of his trangressions. Rather, it lies with the possibility that he could be blackmailed by foreign forces and thus render our national policies hostage to those forces. IF he's really guilty and IF he truly loves his country, then he could bargain with the next PM (it would be difficult even for the Agong to select another person without Najib's agreement) and seek his support for a state/royal pardon.

I'm no objection having Ku Li as our next PM - I think he'll be a good one.

written by renoir, March 21, 2009 02:48:44
>I'm no objection having Ku Li as our next PM ]]

Should be: "I've no objection having Ku Li as our next PM ..."

Perhaps Najib could be pardoned along the lines of Ford's pardon of Nixon, though of course Najib's "crimes," if he did commit them, are much more serious.

written by AlwaysFair, March 21, 2009 02:53:17
I think we just have to be patient and wait for the next GE.
I don't think the royalties have the guts to stand up against UMNO's wishes.
Look at Perak & Appointment of Zaki as chief justice inspite of appeal to the Agong.

Of course, I hope I am wrong and some miracle will happen.

written by Loh, March 21, 2009 20:50:14
The King has the prerogative to appoint a prime minister after the election. The former King appointed AAB.

AAB will soon resign his office. He can tell the King that he has resigned his cabinet, and the King can choose to dissolve the parliament if AAB so suggests.

AAB can tell the King that he resigns his post, and suggest one person to be considered for appointment as PM. The person AAB suggests does not require specific qualification in terms of party position. It is for the King to decide whether the person recommended would command the support of the majority of the lower house.

If AAB decides to recommend somebody who is not favoured by the majority of Malaysians, judging from his reputation and his envelopment by scandals, and that the King chooses to appoint another person, the country might end in confusion, and the outcome could be worse than what happened in Perak. However if AAB recommends to the King a person from UMNO who is not a subordinate to Najib in UMNO party position but who has the support of the general public, then it paves the way for the King to appoint such as person as PM, without any doubt as to constitutional convention.

AAB was forced out of his PM position by a group of persons elected to UMNO supreme council. AAB was criticized by UMNO members for his transition plan through private negotiations with Najib, as though the country’s future is the private property for the two to decide. The way AAB conducted such negotiations gives rise to speculations that AAB was seeking Najib’s promise that AAB’s personal interest would be protected after he leaves the PM post. That includes the business interest of AAB’s son such as Scormi, and the political future of his son in law. Whether that was true was immaterial, but perception counts.

AAB promised to reform the country. He listed a few projects such as reforming the judiciary, the ACA and the police. ACA has been converted to become Malaysian agency for car and cows. The police and the court in Perak have shown loyalty to UMNO rather than the rule of law.

It is clear that AAB have no ability or willingness to reform the country. Can we ask him to do a special reform on himself? He should reform his mindset. He should stop to use his position for the pecuniary benefits of his son and son-in-law, and to accept the philosophy that they should fend for themselves and look after their future. AAB has squandered the goodwill and the hope of the citizens who gave him unpredecented support in 2004. He should stop selling off the future of the citizens and the country for the benefits of his family.

The agreement he had with Najib was based on self interest. He might still be forgiven for all his sins if he would now use his little intelligence to feel as an ordinary citizen who he would prefer to be the PM that takes over. If he insists on Najib, then he is beyond redemption.