Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow People’s Power, Kuasa Rakyat, Makhal Sakhti, Ren Quan

People’s Power, Kuasa Rakyat, Makhal Sakhti, Ren Quan PDF Print
Wednesday, 18 March 2009 16:10

If Zaid Ibrahim is prepared to spearhead a People’s Movement with a view that it would be a platform for a new ‘People’s Party’ -- whether registered or otherwise -- then we must give him our support to enable this new ‘informal’ party to flourish.

First read this piece that I picked up from YB Lim Kit Siang’s Blog:

BTN communal poison again

Yesterday, I received an indignant email from a recent participant in the course of the Biro Tata Negara (BTN) -- funded by taxpayers but acting as the propaganda arm of UMNO -- pumping communal poison instead of spreading the message of national unity.

Despite criticisms against the BTN, both in and out of Parliament, invariably followed by denials by the Minister or Deputy Minister concerned, it is clear from this email that BTN has not changed one whit its irresponsible ways.

I read out the complaints in the email in Parliament yesterday during the debate on the 2008 Supplementary Estimates, viz:

Their purpose is to convey THEIR Message to us but I think they are absolutely wrong. It made us more irritable towards BN government and make us more stronger to vote opposition.

Here are their messages:

(1) Kontrak sosial about Kerakyatan and Hak Istimewa Orang Melayu

Effects: Non-Malays should appreciate and cannot expect more. They use Malay toleransi us and also “Terhutang Budi terhadap mereka”.

(2) The country is not safe after 308. The government is not strong enough to maintain the safety. The oppositions is creating chaos in the country. They give a lot of examples. If we continues like this, it might explode another 513 or war in Malaysia like in Iraq. They show us the pictures and videos of Iraq. Therefore we need to vote BN for the peace.

(3) To protect Islam and Malay special rights Malays have to bersepadu for Ketuanan Melayu.

(4) Indians and Chinese contribute nothing to this country. It is the non-Malays who wants to join the Pakatan that time and we beg for that. Throughout the course they only emphasize on Malay’s contribution and say nothing on non-Malays.

(5) Their perpaduan means Ketuanan Malay and never sama rata because they said this is according to Kontrak Sosial. They conducted every facts on Chinese Malay and Indian and not mentioning Malaysian.

(6) They claim oppositions is a spy from America and going to attack Malaysia soon.

In allowing BTN to continue such communal poison in its courses, Umno and the other Barisan Nasional component parties are proving in Parliament, the Cabinet, and to Malaysians at large, that they continue to be blind, deaf and mute to the message of the March 2008 general election for reform and that they deserve further punishment by the Malaysian electorate.

Lim Kit Siang (http://blog.limkitsiang.com/2009/03/18/btn-communal-poison-again/ )

I have not edited the contents of the above e-mail to Lim Kit Siang in spite of quite a few grammatical errors as I thought it would be better if I reproduce it as it is rather than be accused of ‘doctoring’ it. Anyway, the message is clear enough, grammatical errors notwithstanding.

The point is, BTN is, and always has been, the propaganda unit of the government. It’s job is to brainwash Malays into believing that the non-Malays want to rob the Malays of their rights, the opposition leaders are all traitors who works for foreign governments, Anwar Ibrahim is an American stooge and a homosexual to boot, liberal Malays are Muslim deviants who have distorted Islamic teachings, the Christians want to mislead Muslims and get them to leave Islam, and whatnot.

The BTN is a government body. Therefore, the Malaysian taxpayers are paying for its running cost. And, according to Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, the non-Malays are paying 90% of the personal income tax, in particular the Chinese. This is what the ex-Prime Minister said and I assume, since he was Prime Minister of this country for 22 years, he must know what he is talking about.

Imagine the Chinese paying for the cost to upkeep something that is used to demonise them? I suppose at this point of my article most of you are expecting me to scream ‘Cina bodoh’! Yes, it is tempting to do that. But I really don’t blame the Chinese. I mean, Malays too pay billions of Ringgit of their hard-earned money to the religious department in the form of zakat, and this money is also misused and squandered. The Malays are only doing what they thought was their religious duty and what God ordered. How do they know the so-called trustees of Islam are screwing them and their money?

So, would I be correct in screaming ‘Melayu bodoh’? Hey, they were just doing their religious duty. How would they know they are being conned by the Malaysian government? In that same spirit, the Chinese also have no choice but to pay their taxes. If not, they would end up in court. So, how can I scream ‘Cina bodoh’ even if they are? Anyway, even if you do not pay personal income tax, you still pay taxes in other ways. Everything in Malaysia is taxable. And that money too goes to the government and is misused.

We, the Malaysian rakyat, pay tax. So we have a right in determining what the government does with our money. We can’t avoid paying tax even if we wanted to -- unless we live in the jungle and live off the land. Then, if we do not earn money and do not spend money, we would be exempted from paying tax. (Hey, that’s an idea. Maybe I will go live in the jungle and save myself from paying taxes. Gunung Tahan, here I come!).

Okay, let’s get serious. The government works for us. We are paying them to serve us. We, the Malaysian rakyat cum taxpayer, are the bosses. It is Ketuanan Rakyat, not Ketuanan Melayu. The fucking exponents of Ketuanan Melayu do not pay tax. They live off the taxpayers. They receive money. The Chinese pay money, 90% of it, according to Dr Mahathir, and this money goes to those who scream ‘Ketuanan Melayu’.

It is time we taught the government who’s the boss. We are the boss, not the government, not the Ketuanan Melayu slime-balls and scumbags. The Ketuanan Melayu slime-balls and scumbags are robbing the nation -- money that we, the taxpayers, the rakyat, are paying the government.

It is time we taught the government the meaning of People’s Power, Kuasa Rakyat, Makhal Sakhti, Ren Quan. Call it by whatever name (in Iban, Dayak, Bugis, Kadazan, Bajau, Dusun, etc., language) the meaning is the same. It means: we, the people, call the shots.

Enough wastage of public funds! Enough corruption and abuse of power! Enough persecution, discrimination, oppression and selective prosecution! Enough racism! We must stop this rot. And only the rakyat can do this. The politicians, both sides of the political divide, appear to have failed us.

The economy is crumbling. By year-end about one million Malaysians will be unemployed. The government quotes figures of only 50,000. Bullshit! It is going to be more than that -- much, much more. As it is now, the unemployment rate is already more than 100,000. However, instead of focusing on the economy, they spend all their time over a hapless tree in Ipoh. Talk about fiddling while Rome burns.

I am proposing that Zaid Ibrahim spearheads a new political movement. Never mind if the government will not allow the new movement to get registered into a political party. The movement does not need to be a registered political party. After all, Pakatan Rakyat is not registered either. So what’s the difference?

The new political movement -- registered or otherwise -- must be people-centred. It must be people-oriented. It must be about People’s Power, Kuasa Rakyat, Makhal Sakhti, Ren Quan! It must be about bringing reforms to Malaysia. Let the Manifesto be the People’s Declaration that was launched and accepted by seven political parties back in February 2008, three of these parties from Pakatan Rakyat. We do not need to invent another manifesto. Why the need to re-invent the wheel when the present one already works fine?

The agenda of the new movement must be to abolish all repressive laws -- and there are many in Malaysia. We must introduce new laws such as the Anti-Race Act, Freedom of Information Act, Bill of Rights, and much more. We must set up an Ombudsman that is headed by people with the characteristics and reputation of Ghandi and Mother Teresa both rolled into one. The Police Force Commission, Judicial Commission, Human Rights Commission, Anti-Corruption Commission and whatnot, must be totally independent and headed by personalities such as those heading the Ombudsman, people with an unblemished and squeaky-clean record.

We must have a People’s Parliament. While the Parliamentarians are elected during the general election, the Senate must function as it was originally intended, as a ‘second-layer’ Parliament. The Senators must come from the rakyat, not from the political parties, like now. The Senators must be representatives from the various councils, organisations, movements, societies, associations, and even from the Blogging community and whatever.

The Senate must have the power to review all bills and laws introduced and passed by Parliament. And whatever is not acceptable will be sent back to Parliament, unsigned and unapproved. Parliament will then have to debate these bills and laws again until they get it right and the Senate is happy with them.

Another possibility would be for 10% of the seats in Parliament to be reserved for the minority groups. We will have to determine who these minority groups are, but the objective is to ensure that there would be no way any one party can have hegemony in Parliament. If there are 222 seats in Parliament, then another 20 seats must be given to the minority group. So we shall have 222 Parliamentarians representing their constituencies and another 20 representing minority interests.

Okay, the arithmetic and mechanics need to be worked out. But the long and short of it would be only 90% of the seats in Parliament will be under the control of political parties. The balance 10% would go to representatives of minority interests who hold no political affiliations or sit in any political party. These would be the ‘direct’ rakyat’s representatives -- a sort of ‘People’s Parliamentarian’. They would therefore not have to vote along party lines since they hold no political party position.

Yes, there are many reforms required and much that can be done to reform the system. We need to think outside the box and break away from tradition. Forget about what we have been doing these last 52 years. The system sucks and we are seeing it break down. Get out of the rut of the traditional system and venture into new territory. Why do we need to do what is normally done? Why can’t we do new things even if they may appear unorthodox?

We talk about democracy and democratically elected representatives in Parliament. That is bullshit. The 222 Parliamentarians that we now have are not representatives of the people who voted them into office. They represent the political parties that allowed them to contest the seat under its party banner. Their loyalty is not to the voters. It is to the parties they represent. The 222 Parliamentarians are not Wakil Rakyat. They are Wakil Parti.

If Zaid Ibrahim is prepared to spearhead a People’s Movement with a view that it would be a platform for a new ‘People’s Party’ -- whether registered or otherwise -- then we must give him our support to enable this new ‘informal’ party to flourish. That would be our only hope for the future. And that too will be the only hope for People’s Power, Kuasa Rakyat, Makhal Sakhti, Ren Quan to succeed.

Over to you Zaid! I hope you will agree to this People’s Movement and develop it into a People’s Party in time to come. And this new People’s Movement or informal People’s Party can also one day contest the general elections. Whether a three-corner fight will emerge or whether it will be a one-to-one fight depends on Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat. If they agree to ‘give way’ to this new People’s Party, say 20 Parliament seats and maybe 50 state seats, then it can remain a one-to-one fight. If not, expect a three-corner fight and we will let the rakyat decide whether they want the traditional ‘two-party’ system or they want to see a true People’s Party emerge. The rakyat, after all, are the boss and we are talking about People’s Power, Kuasa Rakyat, Makhal Sakhti, Ren Quan.

Comments (89)Add Comment
written by Birdbrain, March 18, 2009 16:28:10
Let the Long March begin!
agree 384
written by Mayor of Bangsar, March 18, 2009 16:38:01
A brilliant idea.Zaid start it now to save this country. Zaid it is now or never
we will give you full support.
agree 392
written by OVERLORD, March 18, 2009 16:40:22
RPK...

Tengku Razaleigh should resign and join forces with Zaid Ibrahim to form a People's party......that should muster more seats.....

agree 385
written by SCM, March 18, 2009 16:44:08
Zaid,

I read your speech in full regarding the intervention of the King in the appointment of our next PM. It was very well written. I hope you will now move to the next stage. The rakyat needs leaders that command respect and who are brave enough to challenge the racist and corrupt authority.

When Hindraf did it, they were all thrown into prison as they are all "not-influential" men (according to UMNO at least). You, Zaid, are a different ball game. You can make a difference to a rakyat's movement.

Please consider the request in the article above.

Thanks Zaid.
agree 335
written by Anti Relon, March 18, 2009 16:47:19
CORRECTION!!!
It is RAJA PETRA who should spearhead a People’s Movement with a view that it would be a platform for a new ‘People’s Party’ -- whether registered or otherwise -- then we must give him our support to enable this new ‘informal’ party to flourish.
Candidates under 'People's Movement' can stand as independents and after winning sufficient seats can form a party called 'People's Movement'.
In the UK there was a call recently by a tycoon whowas fed up with main stream political parties and called for candidates to stand as independents. He was willing to sponsor them.
YM< this is your chance to lead the nation.
agree 137
written by rocky, March 18, 2009 16:48:02
zaid do it and I shall join you.
agree 161
written by Oscar Winner, March 18, 2009 16:48:18
Hi Zaid, let it not be a long march. Bring change ASAP and we see dawn of a new era. All become colour blind and united, all treated equally and live happily as Malaysians. If the XMNO goons refuse to be part of change, they can be ostracised by the rest of the rakyat who I believe are more than glad to.
written by Awang Hitam, March 18, 2009 16:48:30
People's Party is long long awaited...maybe the fence sitters like me.
Yeah! I am not a member of any political party but voted in every GE.
I will join People's Party if the ideals set up by RPK and Zahid Ibrahim are the constitution of People's Party. Let's do it to prepare for GE 13, which I think will come in August 2009!
agree 123
written by yeechut, March 18, 2009 16:49:08
The Chinese has a way of making a mockery of State oppression. It is people power at it best. Take a look:

http://humblevoice.********.co...iance.html
Can we do something similar?
written by batsman, March 18, 2009 16:50:59
All the foam and spit coming out of UMNO's mouth serves 3 purposes only..

1st - intimidate the non-Malays and keep them subdued as milk cows.
2nd - intimidate the Malays that the non-Malays are taking over the country
3rd - position UMNO as the hero who will save everybody.

However, at this time isn't less more? Don't we already have too many personalities with their own pet eccentricities? If we are to have more - everybody should come to agreement to reduce ego and not jump at every eccentric statement or speech of the others.
written by timmy, March 18, 2009 16:51:06
full text of zaid ibrahim's speech today reproduce here.

http://timmysay.********.com/2009/03/if-truth-be-told-zaid-ibrahim.html

hope admin can put the entire speech on m2day without the link. everyone should read it wholly.
written by Wisdom above, March 18, 2009 16:52:32
Finally RPK brought up this urgency.

" Mari Berpuasa & Berdoa " for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.

Let's Pray in the Spirit & in Tongues for enlightenment.

Let the prophecy for CHANGE be fulfilled in due time.
written by mountainking, March 18, 2009 16:52:46
UMNO all these while has lived by the sword and cut the rakyat into pieces. as the saying goes "those who lived by the sword will die by the sword".

the rakyat eventually one day will cut UMNO into pieces...we are of 26 million people. is UMNO stronger or the rest of the rakyat are stronger?

i am warning MCA and MIC don't play with fire and know your stand. don't play up the racist and religion agenda to surpress your people by teaming up with UMNO..same goes with the rest of the BN components. if you torture us, one day, we will send all of you to prison. if we have seen revolution in china, france and iran .... our context in malaysia will be revolution against BN. people are already tormented 50 years and we will not allow BN to reign anymore. wanna threaten us on death threat and ISA..? you think everyone is afraid of death and ISA?
written by vaistlin, March 18, 2009 16:56:16
In conjunction with the recent hype about the founding fathers of America. I too will share a little.

This person is not one of the founding fathers, but he's a great man never less. He fought for the liberty of the American blacks in which at the time in 1863 are very much slaves in many areas in America. Yes, the American fought a civil war in regard of those slaves. The Union states vs the Confederate states, being the latter in support of slavery. Many of the Union's whites lost their lives for someone who are NOT even their race. They believe in liberty and freedom for all, regardless. This great person and a president at that, to lost his life in defense for the slaves. He, before his death had propose equal rights to the blacks, including voting rights. He was assassinated by a Confederate sympathizer. He was Abraham Lincoln
After a particular bloody but yet decisive Battle of Gettysburg, Abraham Lincoln made a famous speech regarding Liberty and Equality. Below are the famous Gettysburg Address.

Four score and seven years ago our fathers brought forth on this continent, a new nation, conceived in Liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal.

Now we are engaged in a great civil war, testing whether that nation, or any nation so conceived and so dedicated, can long endure. We are met on a great battle-field of that war. We have come to dedicate a portion of that field, as a final resting place for those who here gave their lives that that nation might live. It is altogether fitting and proper that we should do this.

But, in a larger sense, we can not dedicate -- we can not consecrate -- we can not hallow -- this ground. The brave men, living and dead, who struggled here, have consecrated it, far above our poor power to add or detract. The world will little note, nor long remember what we say here, but it can never forget what they did here. It is for us the living, rather, to be dedicated here to the unfinished work which they who fought here have thus far so nobly advanced. It is rather for us to be here dedicated to the great task remaining before us -- that from these honored dead we take increased devotion to that cause for which they gave the last full measure of devotion -- that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain -- that this nation, under God, shall have a new birth of freedom -- and that government of the people, by the people, for the people, shall not perish from the earth.

Abraham Lincoln. Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. November 19, 1863

I am particularly touched by the final sentences.

Makhal Sakhti!!!!
written by 1six5, March 18, 2009 16:59:29
good piece bro RPK...and a very new ideal in democratic view. unorthodox yet unique. ideas like this would propel this damned country to new heights. zaid is a big personnel in the business world...for him to have the guts to request the King from a corner shows his mettle and true understanding since his is a law background. in my own business office...i dont have the picture of badawi...onli the King & Queen and LGE. if najis goes up i wont put his damned face either...later feng shui affected la smilies/tongue.gif
written by malaysianohope, March 18, 2009 17:01:16
I can support the forming of the 'Peoples Party' as a starting point, despite knowing umno will never allow it since it's seen as reducing their hold onto power but then again we have to eventually unless we want Malaysia go the way of Zimbabwe. Full credit to Abang.
written by blogsmith, March 18, 2009 17:15:37

First thanks for all that you have done. There will be hundreds of comments but please I beg you to read this carefully and think.

Regarding this People Movement, I am all for it. However I read with great dismay regarding this possibility of 3 corner contests. Now the BN machineries and resources and control over various Malaysian Institutions are already very tough hurdles. We don't need this complication and the possibility of splitting the votes. I am all for this People Movement as long as we work together with other parties to bring about positive changes but I am totally against 3 corner fights.
written by A MI, March 18, 2009 17:21:06
(6) They claim oppositions is a spy from America and going to attack Malaysia soon.

Yes and the idiots who attend the brain-washing will swallow that wholesale.

Whoa! To think the very people who make up to more that 90% taxpayers pay for course designed to hate them.

Taxpayers money does not only go towards course like these, don;t forget all the other community colleges and the like where similar brain-washing is being conducted quite aggressively.

Want to hear one more "lie" going around? It does like this "You know the non-bumi are very happy that the bumi cannot excel in IT; the non-bumi know that everything is going electronic soon and in this way they will be in control. And so .........
written by PangurBan, March 18, 2009 17:25:12
written by yeechut, March 18, 2009 16:49:08
The Chinese has a way of making a mockery of State oppression. It is people power at it best. Take a look:

http://humblevoice.********.co...iance.html
Can we do something similar?
======================================================= =============================

State oppression has always spawned satire and other subversive genres. You cannot suppress the people's voice. If what needs to be said cannot be said openly, it will still be said, but in code. The trouble with us is that we're a fractured society without a common language, a common culture or a collective consciousness. For the past 50 years, UMNO has tried its best to ensure that none of these came into being. 草泥马works very well in China because that country has had such a long tradition (unfortunately) of subverting oppressive government in this way, but also because they have all those things listed above. We have neither. 50 years might seem like a long time to us, but it is a mere blip in the history of humanity. But who knows, there might just be a genius out there who can transcend all the barriers that separate us.
written by Pakyeh, March 18, 2009 17:39:13
Salam RPK,
I agree with the ombudsman. I suggest clerics of different religions be included. These clerics must not be government employed.Honest individuals independent of Government and political parties should be included. These are the people we want to be the Surohanjaya Pilihan Raya to ensure no hanky pangky in elections.Besides donig S.P.R. job they could also be on Comissions etc.Its like a government to ensure that "true Democracy" is implemented.Infact the interfaith platform can be used. Government clerics however must be banned from the Ombudsman.
written by malsia1206, March 18, 2009 17:43:24
Many are unsure whether Anwar has the mettle to lead Pakatan and the rakyat to reshape the destiny of this Nation. If Zaid Ibrahim makes a definite decision, against all odds, to come to the forefront, I am absolutely sure the majority of the rakyat would rally behind this team. Change we need. Change we must.
written by DOITNOW, March 18, 2009 17:45:14
RPK, this is the most brilliant idea, and greatly needed for our nation at this time before we fall deeper into the abyss. I sincerely suggest you spearhead this movement together with those eminent persons who have the interest of Malaysia and its people at heart. off my head, I will call upon Zaid Ibrahim, Justice Chan, Haris Ibrahim, Malik Imtiaz, Tengku Razaleigh to lead us forward. Lets start this new wave of consciousness to envelop the whole country and re-steer our blessed ship in the right direction and out of the current whirlpool. God save us.
written by SL Chan, March 18, 2009 17:51:32
I am for it but think YM RPK spearhead together with Zaid will be great!!!
written by densemy, March 18, 2009 17:58:41
About time too...

Its time people started talking about the truth that is really Malaysia instead of brushing the truth under the carpet because it involves sensitive issues

For all intents and purposes the People's Manifesto has died in the hands of the "Opposition"

Zaid Ibrahim may well be the man of principle that Anwar has proven not to be. Anwar too interested in power
written by educationist, March 18, 2009 18:03:27
Yes, it is time that the seeds that have been sown in the run up to 308 be allowed to germinate now.
Perhaps, this movement can be used as a pressure group to ensure that a new PM that "must be beyond reproach in his dealings both official and private" takes over from Badawi.
written by imanj, March 18, 2009 18:05:35

Spearheading a People's movement to form a new People's Party,would be absolutely welcoming,if the agenda is has a completely new outlook to form a new Malaysia.Can anyone convinced Malaysians that the right direction to start with,is to adopt a one raced based Malaysia,with equal rights,just rules,respect of one's faith,etc..etc..

Blogsmith has got a point..Much of this might cause complications,and the current situation might be just too much for a new party to handle..But on the other hand a new party,with a good agenda,would certainly get the attention of the present parties..

But i would still stick with a party that is sure of their direction,and that they will never falter on their agenda and it would be a workable/fair agenda...

written by Jay Krish, March 18, 2009 18:08:10
Saya sokong!
written by SamYap, March 18, 2009 18:11:04
Zaid has my support.
written by timmy, March 18, 2009 18:11:50
Over the years, these 3 persons have been just holding on to their principles even though at times it is an disadvantage for them.

Bravo to Tengku Razaleigh, Zaid Ibrahim and Karpal Singh.

More politicians like them please!
written by thor, March 18, 2009 18:17:30
I will support this party in a small way with my vote in the coming GE.
written by aryn, March 18, 2009 18:18:05
Count me out.
This is what happened in Sabah. We have too many political parties, (at one time 14), and they all professed to be People's Party or movement or whatever initially and then they ended with BN.

If Zaid Ibrahim is sincere, go join PAS, DAP or PKR. Work your way up. Zaid position is neither here nor there. Indecisive even now on what he wants to do. His speech at the Rotary Club was nothing new. About Najib, the commission and Perak.

PR leaders, supporters even Umno leaders like Razaleigh Hamzah have made stronger comments. Mahathir too commented. Even MT readers were more vocal a. Zaid's voice came after most people voiced their concerned and criticism. Mana telog?

I'll support PR cause but I'll be their biggest critic too. I'll give them a chance after all, baru satu tahun.

As for Zaid, you'll only split the votes and the support. The beneficiary will be Umno/BN. Besides, Zaid have't proven himself much except talk and not well known leader either.

In other word, he is not tested. He has not gone through what many of the PR top leaders went through.
written by est, March 18, 2009 18:18:07
Electorate constituency must not be delineated according to the whims and fancies of Election Commission. It should go be for example every 100,000 -110,000 per constituency.
written by mmrokay, March 18, 2009 18:20:58
What a Joke! new ‘People’s Party’ Get real. THIS will never ever happen in Malaysia mark my words.
written by kavidibaku, March 18, 2009 18:27:41

bayangkan amerika, australia dan new zealand tanpa mat saleh. bayangkan juga malaysia tanpa orang cina dan india.
written by Legion, March 18, 2009 19:07:04
I trully agree with you RPK, for long Malaysians only have 2 alliances to choose from, BN or the Opposition (Pakatan Rakyat). It is time we have a coalition of real Wakil Rakyats to represent the people instead of being absolutely greedy for their own pockets.

A 3rd party would keep the 2 main political alliance in line to be people-centric as when it comes to a parliamentary vote, the Wakil Rakyats would be the ones swinging the votes.

It is time that we all have alternative representations.
written by SamYap, March 18, 2009 19:07:16
aryn, please think again. Zaid is really in fact more useful on the outside rather than inside any political party. We need people like him, RPK, Haris Ibrahim etc to help keep these politicians in check. It does not mean that the MPs from Pakatan Rakyat can be trusted 100% (especially after the hooha in Perak with the 2 PKR ADUNS and Hee Yit Foong). We need Zaid and the likes of him to watch over the people we elect. Maybe one day we can get an Ombudsman set up with RPK and Zaid as prominent members.
written by carribeanking7, March 18, 2009 19:12:16
BTN is institutionalized racism like its cousin the ku klux klan.
I hear stories that participants are screened toroughly to ensure syllabus is not exposed(no handphone/camera's allowed) and participants are sometimes threatened that the syllabus is covered by the OSA.
BTN comes under the ambit of the PM's dept, when complaints were lodged in the past,
UMNO smugly asked for proof.
written by Badaksumbu, March 18, 2009 19:13:00
As always, our people would like to say setuju for this and that. How relevant is this RPK's proposal at this particular point of time? Doing too much things at a single moment may strenghten BN in particular the UMNO-if we see Pakatan Rakyat can't do, perhaps it worth have the backing as such this proposal, otherwise we are neither here nor there. We really have to think, if PR is not our enemy why create one when in the end we all lose.
written by kenny, March 18, 2009 19:18:19
I'm of the same view with Blogsmith.

At this point of time, whatever strength of Pakatan should be augmented in all ways possible and not diluted in any manner.

For the moment, any People's Movement to be set up by us, the people, should only act as one formidable pressure group to squeeze out a better performance from Pakatan. Once People's Movement gets off the ground and gains recognition, we should even search for and provide help and talents to Pakatan; to force more meritocracy on them. The 3 parties in Pakatan must act in accordance to The People's Declaration with which they have signed before the last GE. Therefore, they should give respect and lend credence to a People's Movement which has the well-being of the rakyat uppermost in mind for its intended existence.

A 3-party fight will only bring failure to both Pakatan and any new movement for now. Planned three-party fights should only be attempted after the fall of UMNO/BN which is the biggest challenge at present.
written by DatoSeri, March 18, 2009 19:30:25
Biro Tata Negara is poisoning the rakyat?
Gheezz, this is not new. It has been happening since...so long ago that cannot remember when. And yes, they have been getting a sizable budget from rakyat's money (paid up by all responsibled Malaysians, and a large large portion of it came from orang Cina. Note, I am not racist here, but talking facts that even TDM agreed whole heartedly.) year after year to carry on the campaigne. Any effort to rectify? Don't think so, so long if UMNO/BN continue to rule at federal level. It is SAD, indeed.

Tell you another story below and you tell me why and what happened???

I recently had a chance to visit my long lost friend in Penang. Followed him the couple of days including when he ran erants since I stayed with him. He wanted to pay up his land assessment fee, so we went to the Kepala Batas land office. After some asking, finally we found it. It was housed in the ground floor of UMNO building. Six officers, one security guard, and one lady attending to Qmatic machine at the from office (no idea how many at the back office). Suprisingly, we are the only one there at 11am, then followed by an Indian couple 10min later, 2 Malay individuals 5 min after, ... but at any one point not more than 5 to be served in queue.

OK, here the thing I found odd... I saw the pictures of DYMM Agong and Permaisuri, Tuan Utana Pulau Pinang and Toh Puan, PM AAM hanging on the wall. Hey, mana dia Ketua Menteri YAB Lim Guan Ing?

It became discussion topic on our way back, and my friend has this to say: "Ala, kan ini bangunan UMNO?"

Long story... but what do you think?
written by peter, March 18, 2009 19:38:59
Yes, RPK and all readers of mt.. we REALLY got to do something. Enough is Enough! The Filipinos, the Thais, etc have again and again shown who's the boss. Here we let the Nazi-party umNO continue to sow racial & religious hate so they can divide and rule.

And come end of this month the murderer and sodomite will be the PM. Can we just sit and let it happen?

We have achieved a great feat on 8 March 2008 so we must believe in ourselves get rid of these racist pest once and for all.

written by SamYap, March 18, 2009 19:42:56
mmrokay, why so negative? Before 8th March 2008, very few thought that BN would be denied the 2/3 majority, and even fewer thought that Selangor would become a PR state. Everything was thrown against the opposition and all the scare tactics were used, and not to be outdone, even the wonderful balls carrier & spinner WONG CHUN WAI of TheStar wrote a piece to remind the public of the horrors of May13 (he is very fond of the history of May13 riots.)

So whats so difficult to form a People's Party? Unless......the unthinkable happens...emergency rule!
written by truthbespoken, March 18, 2009 20:23:46
NOT EVEN ONE of those animals manning the BTN should be spared long jail terms when Malaysians succeed in changing the UMNO government! This is one case that no mercy should be shown to those morons who are 100% bent on dividing the people!
written by NRR, March 18, 2009 21:03:51
I read LKS's post and can confirm what the email said is 100% accurate. I have had two relatives attend BTN course and it is the same message day in day out during the course. It is always telling the Malays that non-malays are 'pendatatang', they dont contribute anything to this country and they are always out to get the Malays. Imagine these nincompoops are paid by Malaysians and the govt continues the funding for this without any qualms. The govt to date has not denied this indoctrination publicly. The elected representatives should raise this again in the Parliament and see what reply the govt gives. Then we can provide proof. It is confirmed that nothing that can record electronically or on paper is allowed and the only means of record is in the 'head' of the person attending the course. I am amazed how these young Malays who attend the course fully agree with this propaganda.
written by sahabat, March 18, 2009 21:28:21
Better for Zaid and Ku Li to join either PKR, DAP or Pas. It is stronger to have less political parties. Less means less internal frictions.
written by kawaputra, March 18, 2009 21:54:06
Buli ba kalau kau ZI!
written by Goostee, March 18, 2009 22:00:46
I believe Zaid calls for our immediate response, i.e. now ! To wait would be too
late !! Time to pay another visit to our beloved AGONG !!!

written by kenny, March 18, 2009 22:10:20
This is for the BTN slime-balls and scums.

My father was born in KL in 1918. He passed on recently. His father(granddad) was a recognized martial arts expert with powerful chi-kung. They personally fought the early triads to help bring peace to their village. Grandad helped set up Foh Hup Omnibus in Jln Silang to provide service for KL-Seremban with non-fixed stops, a very long distance at that time. One long-nose bus was the whole initial set-up. The bus conductor(his disciple) was instructed to give free rides to the needy.

Granddad studied in Chinese and learnt enough to coin the name 'Foh Hup' for its literal meaning of 'Peace Together', before the 2nd world war.

But it did not prevent you later mamak indon arab pendatangs from shouting at us to go back to China. Where in China? That might also mean many Chinese will have to desecrate the graves of their loved ones for re-burial don't know where in China. The Chinese like me will bathe you with their blood.

These pendatang trouble makers who always stoke racial fires in trying to advance their selfish ambitions are the most poisonous scums. They don't even know they may be tired of xxxxxx.
written by Blackgiring, March 18, 2009 22:17:18
....RPK, do you think your idea will be supported by all the millions of the rakyat? I doubt it...and with due respect Zaid is not the right person to lead the so called Peoples Power/Kuasa Rakyat/Makhal Shakti.....if you really have the guts and believe in what you said...you are the one who should lead the way...
written by cinapek, March 18, 2009 22:49:40
RPK, how about us Malaysians voicing out with a simple gesture to show our unity in NOT wanting Najib as PM? What if we wear a simple black armband until the Agong himself sees the millions who are silently united?

You are the right person to start the ball rolling because all you have to do is say the word, get the other bloggers to announce, and we will see thousands in black armbands. Surely the press and the Agong cannot turn a blind eye.

Just a small suggestion. I hope it doesn't sound stupid. I just feel so powerless, as I watch my beloved Malaysia crumble.
written by JaguhKampung, March 18, 2009 23:32:28
No wonder the Bumiputra hates the non Bumis for no apparent reasons. If this is they way they treat the non Bumis, you guys better wake up. Better get some insurance elsewhere.

1. Don't spend your money in Malaysia anymore, don't buy cars, don't buy houses, save as much as you can and have all your assets in liquid form. Don't buy shares in KLSE.

2. Progessively park your money in safer heaven. Singapore, Thailand, Hong Kong are safe place to put your money. Your money has better chances of appreciation.

3. When this Bumis strike, buy the next ticket and fly off. Be prepared to start a new life.

Let the Tuans build the country from now on, we never contribute to the country anyway as far as they are concerned.

Malaysia boleh (fly kite), thanks to BTN created by UMNO!
written by JaguhKampung, March 18, 2009 23:53:25
There's too much question mark on this incumbent leader.

1. The opposition has been saying about it
2. The court has not been transparent and appeared covering the mastermind to let him get off the hook
3. The foreign press are talking about it
4. A foundation has been set up to fight for justice for the victim
5. The rakyat is also doubting his 'cleanliness'

There is just too much question marks on this person. If he is the real mastermind of this case, what kind of person is Malaysian putting on the throne as their leader? Are we prepared to take the risk? Should we just play safe and put a person free from scandals to lead the country?

Look at the way Perak government being fallen. There is totally no regard to people's feelings. All the people's votes casted means nothing to them. It is just everything for himself.

You guys decide.
written by vaistlin, March 19, 2009 01:34:53
I don't very much agree with JaguhKampung to relocate to greener pastures if things went bad. I'm pretty sure many others will and are sharing his/her views about moving. I, myself have been told to seek better living elsewhere like in Australia, Canada, Singapore, UK and the States, but I CHOOSE to remain. Even I might be more successful in other countries, yet I CHOOSE to contribute to this Nation. Why?

Because (a) I have nowhere to go. Like I have high enough credentials to be elsewhere. (b) I'm surviving with my merger pay which most had gone to my home and transport plus my living expenses. (c) Most of my family are here

The above 'reasons', I believe are shared by many others who are still in the country. Even if we wanted to, we can't be elsewhere.

The truth is, I can be elsewhere. Sell my house, my car and hope on the next plane to somewhere better poses very little problem to me. But, I abandon my friends and family who are less fortunate. I'll abandon my fellow countrymen who are unable to be with me. I'll abandon my country in her hours of need. I'll be a coward who can't face the darkness which ails my nation. I'll be a 'refugee' or 'pendatang' to other countries. I'll be a deserter who deserves to be shot in the back.
What am I, going to tell my descendant? I ran with my tails between my legs? My great grandfathers had ran before and I'll make sure, I'll never run. I am born a Malaysian and till the day I'm interred into my final resting place,I'll remain as a Malaysian. I was born here and I will die here. This is my 'tanah tumpah darah' and if my country requires me to spill my blood for her, I WILL. If she's in ruins, I'll pick up her stones and rebuild her. And, she's still NOT in ruins nor she ever will if we stand together in her hours of need.
The battle had not ended, the war had not ended, there's still hope. My vote even if it's only one, will still make a difference. My voice even if it's small will still make a difference. I will not abandon those who had fought for my future, leaving them high and dry. Their fight will be in vain. Their sacrifice will be in vain. I appreciate their efforts so I'll stay and carry this dark time through.
written by fireduck, March 19, 2009 01:52:38
A third force? THE Third Force in Parliament? Not a bad idea. Keeps the two parties honest in their dealings. May the Force be with us all!
written by Firaza, March 19, 2009 02:03:31
Dearest Pete,

Thanks for your enlightening piece yet again and am in absolute agreement. As much as I reckon that we are carrying out a splendid job from the "outside" applying pressure to the politicians from both divides, I believe it has come to a point that we need to inject brighter, more charasmatic leaders with fresh ideas to make Malaysia a more civilized place to stay with only emphasis for the beloved RAKYAT.

I am with you, the Barisan Rakyat bloggers, Zaid and fellow Anak Bangsa Malaysia. If required, I am of service for the People's Movement/ Party and will be ever willing to particpate/ stand in future elections.

Regards.

Muhammad Firdaus Christopher
written by Daryl, March 19, 2009 04:17:24
I don't like the idea of a third party coming into the fray. PR need more capable leader other than DSAI and few others. Zaid will be a good addition to the current PR leaders. IS an idea but I think that will not get us pass the first hurdle which is the biggest one. Bring BN down and they will fall like dominoes once the money stop flowing. Than it will be easier (keeping my finger cross) to clean up the house.
written by apasalahku, March 19, 2009 06:24:37
To all you idiots, please read George Orwell's Animal Farm and then talk
written by Ali Cordoba, March 19, 2009 06:37:03
Zaid, face reality, live up to democratic ideals. Create a new party in this conjuncture will only divide the votes further and fulfill the aims of a one man show.

Unless u got the support of a large number - i mean very large here - of MP's from BN, its no point creating a party. The people can do without such parties...indeed.

If you are afraid of being termed stooge or a transfuge, then stay away from politics until after the next GE. That way no one can point out that you betrayed anyone. If you think your role as an agent of change is very crucial for a change of regime in the country, then jump in the PR bandwagon and live and let others live!

That is how it should be, there's no 32 solutions here.
written by onnetline, March 19, 2009 08:14:14
Datuk Zaid,

Please lead on .... !
written by evaangel, March 19, 2009 09:42:46
Zaid has been my choice for PM all along. I have full confidence in him.
written by batsman, March 19, 2009 09:45:27
When you talk about People's Power, Kuasa Rakyat, Makahl Sakti, Ren Quan, etc, the most basic assumption you make is that the People are united and of one voice. I wish this assumption is true, but 51 years of UMNO style Ketuanan Melayu rule says that this is not true. The fact that you have to transpate People's Power into several languages already says that you don't even have faith that the People are one with one voice.

As it is, the PR is already dogged by strong differing opinions. Fortunately for us the persanalities who express these differing opinions have shown maturity and patience and willingness to listen.

Adding one more extra voice causes one more extra complication. I hope that voice will show the same patience and wisdom to listen to others. In which case, it is better for that voice to act as a lobby group rather than as an independent political party.

First things first. Line up for your chance. If everybody scrambles for their piece of cake even before UMNO is defeated at the polls and its monopoloy power loosened in order for true democracy to flourish, then there is no queuing system. Everybody must rush to have their say and beat down everybody else. Everyone will claim his is the truest message and deserving of the biggest piece of cake.

Have a formal alliance first, then start your political parties within this alliance if you must.
written by gbas, March 19, 2009 09:53:05
hi RPK, i strongly agree to ur suggestion on luanching tis PEOPLE MOVEMENT.. i would like to suggest mayb we could start by recruiting members for this movement fornally..i do not know if there is any law regulating this however i am prepared to joim this suggested movement and willing to give my entire committment to participate to recruit members for this movement. My support is genuine. I m located in Penang and if by any chance you need any human resouce to help please do not hesitate to contact me.. my email is This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it .
BRAVO
baskaran
written by batsman, March 19, 2009 09:54:00
Apasalahku - I am glad you think of yourself as a human who is the only one fit to run the farm well. All the rest of us animals are here to serve you even if the pigs hate the cows and the horses hate the goats etc.
written by Apache3, March 19, 2009 10:42:56
written by mmrokay, March 18, 2009 18:20:58
What a Joke! new ‘People’s Party’ Get real. THIS will never ever happen in Malaysia mark my words.

I agree with mmrokay under the following circumstance...

Well this initiative of a "PEOPLE'S MOVEMENT" is bound to fail if the people follow their hearts and NOT their brains in analyzing the situation.
written by teo siew chin, March 19, 2009 11:07:44
emmmm....slowly moving towards a 2-party system?
PR and PP? smilies/wink.gif
written by ROBERTNGTG, March 19, 2009 13:25:02
I am proposing that Zaid Ibrahim spearheads a new political movement. Never mind if the government will not allow the new movement to get registered into a political party. The movement does not need to be a registered political party. After all, Pakatan Rakyat is not registered either. So what’s the difference

RPK, WE THE RAKYAT FULLY SUPPORT THIS. LET US KNOW HOW TO DO SO. PRESUMABLY,
U WILL NEED TO RAISE FUNDS. BUT I FEAR NAJIS WILL SWOOP DOWN WITH HIS SUKHOI PLANES AND C4 THE PLAN BEFORE IT CAN TAKE OFF.
written by Taiping60, March 19, 2009 13:28:16
Agreed, the current system sucks. Parliamentarians voted by the people have no interest to serve the people who voted for them. They were there to follow instructions from their boss in their respective party.

RPK suggestion is excellent but does Malaysians brave enough to join this journey to change for the sake of course children.
written by blogsmith, March 19, 2009 14:01:28
From Malaysiakini: Repression

"Umno is counting on four assumptions to sustain their repressive regime:-

1 A few in the ruling elite are able to oppress the majority through the use of force on the few dissidents to deter the others;

2 There will be government officials willing to perform the various functions to maintain the regime. These include surveillance, arrest, the running of prisons and detention camps, controlling the court system and the general management of the government;

3 The opposition is fractious and will not be able to coordinate in a manner to offer an effective challenge;

Note No. 3. We must not create a situation where the opposition is fractious for that will only benefit UMNO
written by blogsmith, March 19, 2009 15:27:51
Here is another piece from Malaysiakini: Dogs pissing on trees in Batang Ai

"This is bad news for opposition supporters. The setting-foot of Snap into the muddied river water of Batang Ai will only confuse the issues during the campaign, divert votes away from the PKR, and help ensure a Barisan Nasional victory."

See the complications when we have too many parties? Our main focus now should be on getting rid of the corrupted BN regime. Let us not do anything that may jeopardize that objective by for example creating a situation of multi-corner election contests. I think I will keep on harping on this issue until I get a response from RPK
written by blogsmith, March 19, 2009 15:34:33
Sim Kwang Yang:

"On the other hand, when PKR has arrived in Sarawak in such a sensational way, attracting a lot of Dayak politicians and opinion makers, the other Dayak opposition parties must feel threatened. This also has something to do with the running feud between the Sarawak PKR and Sarawak DAP. It is all about territorial imperative, like dogs pissing on trees. In the end, the Barisan Nasional top leaders will win and laugh all the way to their banks!

Do we want Barisan Nasional to win????
written by blogsmith, March 19, 2009 15:38:14
From dogs pissing on trees

"The self-serving prejudices of territorial imperative must give way to a coordinated effort at toppling the common foes. Again, Mao Tze Tung's tenet must be repeated here: the enemy of my enemy is my friend, for now at least. We must build a common front to confront Abdul Taib Mahmud and company. The common enemy is just too powerful for a divided opposition."
written by aryn, March 19, 2009 15:46:59
SamYap, we are all watchdogs here. Not just RPK, Haris Ibrahim or bloggers like them. At a time like this when Njib is going to be next PM ( and we all know he is Tun M's mould), we don't need another so-called people movement to jump into the bandwagon. We just have to be united. Too many cooks spoil the soup. Whichever way you look at it.

If Zaid wants to remain static as he is now a la Raja Nazrin stance, let it be. If he harbours to be an active politician, it's better he joins one of the PR parties and help strengthen them.

If it is RPK, I'll weigh down the pros and cons first. Like I said, I don't support blindly.
written by blogsmith, March 19, 2009 16:29:00
Let's imagine this proposed People's Movement is already form. Let us imagine that in Bukit Selambau we have BN, PKR, Hindraf and People's Movement plus other independents contesting. What do you think would be the outcome of the by-election? Do we want the BN to win?
written by zandi, March 19, 2009 17:44:57
Hey, slow down a bit people. Think carefully, please.

A new People's Party??? Then what about Pakatan Rakyat? I thought all this while, the majority here are already on the side of PR or the RAKYAT. This talk about 3-cornered fights worries me a lot. Think about this now: In a 3 cornered fight - BN, PR & the new People's Party - BN will win hands down! Why? Because the rakyat & the opposition will be split between PR and the new People's Party. RPK, don't you think you are going into dangerous ground here...cos this move will divide the rakyat/opposition against BN. Imagine the might, the strong resources, and the unethical politickings of BN against a divided and very weakened PR & Ppl's Party. If this 3-cornered fight ever happens, then rest assured that BN & UMNO will rule and dictate Malaysians forever and ever, and the rakyat will die! Please RPK, rather than have a new party, why not strengthen and unite just ONE People's Party (Pakatan Rakyat, or whatever u wanna call it). If One on One with BN, the People will win. Please think this carefully...
written by CPY, March 19, 2009 18:21:11
Well I'm antiUMNO, but NOT antiMalay, anti hak keistimewaan UMNOputra, but NOT anti hak keistimweaan bumiputra. Let us distinguish UMNO from ordinary Malays, who are suffering from grinding poverty. Ok. The equity figure may be manipulated, but the demographics will tell us that the Malays are, on average, quite poor. Thei Total fertility rate(TFR) are much higher than Indians & Chinese. Well, if u examine the facts, developed states has low TFR, while developing states has high TFR. To all the Malay buddies, I would suggest
1) Late marriage
2) Use contraceptive(I dunno whether izzit haram or halal)
3) Encourage Malay women to seek higher education & good carrer(since if women work, GDP naik, TFR turun one)
written by shulan, March 19, 2009 21:15:33
Dear RPK

the chinese word for people's power is Renmin Liliang, not Ren Quan. Ren Quan is human right.
written by ScuZziE, March 20, 2009 13:32:36
Our political issues are heading to "recession" too especially in recent days and to make it worse, the whole world is currently laughing at us with the latest Altantuya news make its debut in European most read daily news; Liberation (France).

Thus, all of us are seriously in dire needs to rescue the nation but in my personal point of view... it's much better to save our economy in the first place. Not even the so-called "stimulus package" launched by Najis can't help and we need financial thinktank with personnel like Tony Pua of DAP or the infamous DSAI of PKR. I've heard a news in the radio this morning, that DELL is planning to lay-off at least 5,000 employees via VSS! As you've just mentioned that unemployment rate might shoot up to 1 million by year-end and this figure alone is scary, very scary indeed! Like you said, "instead of focusing on the economy, they spend all their time over a hapless tree in Ipoh. Talk about fiddling while Rome burns."

Whilst the suggestion of a 3-corner fight seems interesting to me, I would rather call to resolve our economic situation at this present moment of time; from the macro-scale to micro-scale and what's not. Time is running out, we will definitely feel the bigger impact of recession come this April, based on my experience from commerce point of view.

I don't know why I'm feeling this but honestly speaking, I have no interest in our political issues at the moment, though staying updated with what's happening behind the "curtain" (the mainstream media, of coz!) is also utmost important but the main priority now is to save the country from heading into real deep shit. Mind you, I'm now attached to a global MNC at the decision-making level and even the billions asset won't help as the company is now being held under 100-days EMERGENCY, and failure to cope up with the pressure will probably see Malaysian branches closing down. I wonder who would be up there to save the company? There goes another statistic, fingers crossed!

While we may see it necessary for another changes in political scene due to the failure in keeping promises by both BN & PR, another brainchild to storm our current financial crisis is also needed in order to stay put with the current market scenario. Else, I'm afraid the effort to rescue the political could be futile if economy situation is all neglected at the end of day. Even the great America requires at least 2 years to stabilize, what about us labelled as the 3rd World Country?

From A Worried Citizen
written by panca, March 20, 2009 16:28:26
Bro Pete,

I am all for this great step!

Makkal Sakti, People Power, Kuasa Rakyat, Ren Quan has always been 'what' we need to be in to be 'who' we are as far as we want to shape and progress this country. The political parties solely become the government of the day but they must bow to the right of justice, fairness, truth and all encompassing policies for all Malaysian and the ombudsman is a great vehicle to drive this political journey for change to take effect...the root of change!

Any political party cannot be allowed to run like has happened now and for the last 50 years that allow themselves to wriggle out of their wrong-doings, too much of abuses because of insulation they get because of non-independent government agencies. In short, we are going to be forever ****ed let alone talk about change as political parties will continue to dominate and dictate when they become government.

Therefore this big step is a must to take if we want to talk about change, the People must come together and embark on this People's Power Malaysia.

Bro Pete, I cast my vote, over to you and Dato Zaid.
written by tan_eng, March 20, 2009 20:42:00

Count me in.

Malaysian Fighting For Malaysian
written by JaguhKampung, March 21, 2009 01:18:32
Malaysia will fall into a deep recession, due not mainly to world trade but more to failure to manage the country.

Malaysia has enough resources, reserves and sizeable domestic economy to minimize the damage from external trade. Malaysia was not exposed to the sub-prime like Singapore. Although Malaysia's external trade is double the economy, the contribution to the country's GDP is less than 50%. Malaysia's economy has a high content of domestic consumption.

Because of the government's focus on politicking, they totally ignored to run the country. Had they been more focus, there is a high chance Malaysia could still continue to grow even at a very much slower rate. But now, because they have been slow in doing what they supposed to do, recession (and it is a deep one too) is unlikely to be avoidable.

Brace yourself for double whammy.
written by JaguhKampung, March 21, 2009 01:26:47
Dear vaistlin,

I didn't asked anyone to uproot or relocate to greener pastures. I only suggest people to get some insurance. I am sure you are aware even our leaders, a lot of them have big houses in other countries, some even have PRs. In today's globalized world, it is not a crime to have assets in other countries. It doesn't mean you are not loyal. It is just insurance or in business terms diversification.
written by tan_eng, March 21, 2009 07:35:38
Dear Sueteh,

Well first of all I am a Malaysian and you would probably say that I am from a high class society, if you know me. smilies/tongue.gif

Now for your information, shopping at bazaar ramadan at Kampung Baru and many others- Been there, done that and would still do it again.

Racism is personal choice - TRUE
Racism is also cultivated through systemic propaganda. Even the toughest heart sometimes falls for bangsa,bahasa dan agama crap after years of brain washing so it would be wrong to just blame an individual because of his choice when he had been brainwashed so much.

My best friend is a Malaysian Malay. I can't seems to get as close as i got with him with my other friends. He is like my brother since the day he called me to sit next to him when i first joined my new secondary school.

No racism exist between me and him.

Yes, i would agree that the Chinese seems to be the most racist community in Malaysia but there are many Chinese out there who are living as Malaysian. Why can't you reach out to them.

Chinese, Malay, Indian essentially everyone is good human souls. I am someone who believes that we are born with pure heart but systemically turned into racist soul. The Chinese has been corrupted by the MCA and Chinese schools, The Malay has been corrupted by UMNO and PAS, the Indians has been corrupted by MIC and Tamil Schools.

This systemic segregation for politic advantage has turned many into racist bigots. That is what i believes needs to be removed.

I would consider anyone who carries the Malaysian Spirit with them as my own brother without looking at their skin colour or the language that they use.

If you want a company to go to Bazaar Ramadhan again, call me, lets go together.

Malaysian Fighting For Malaysia.
written by HL5, March 21, 2009 13:39:46
Good article. Checks and balances .. getting it to function the way it was supposed to be, and more .. you have my support. But I get the impression the "People"s Party" is more for people like us ... English educated amd English speaking, and western values to the core. And for the fiercely independent the boss, "Pete" Kamaruddin. I have no objection to that. Just like him, I sometime has "no-holds barred" too when I speak my mind. You do deserve it .. after having or prepared to put your life on the line. Zaid too, has put his life on the line .. and out of his comfort zone. I respect and admire that and the least I can do, is support him and "Pete".

Other than this, the proposed PP, in my view, will naturally dilute support for PR's exiting component parties. But still reflect an inclusive Westminster style parliamentary democratic system, except that it takes cognizance of Malayasia's convoluted multi-ethnic and hybrid ethnic and hybrid lingo-ethnic diversities prncipally English-speaking-western values-Malaysians of whatever race or mixed race.

I need a representation like that as I can't speak my own mother tongue very well. English is, more or less, my first language and mother tongue of my children. (Is there such a sociological urban trend here in Malaysia?). Yes,I would join up if you want me to register and subscribe. Personally, the main reason is intellectual affinity and no one-race dominance. I tried to join or rather volunteer my services to PKR in a "third-class" city just am hour's drive out of KL, but received the impression of not being welcomed by the branch chap. I conclude resignedly, it may be due to race and politics (and at such an early stage!). So, PKR is losing intellectuals and professionals like me.
written by blogsmith, March 21, 2009 15:41:40
Form People's Power or whatever you want but please please please don't ever create 3 corner contest and split our precious votes. Work with whatever coalition that you feel deserves to rule Malaysia.
written by rayfire, March 23, 2009 16:20:08
Yes, yes, Zaid you are the right man to do so, I was hoping Raja Muda Perak to be the one, but seem to be silenced and since his dad contradicted the decision hoped for by the people, he is no longer the right one.
Zaid , despite claiming him to be stupid and insane, I believe is the only person who thinks for the well being of all Malaysians alike akin to RPK.
So ,Zaid will you lead us please.
I always hoped that one day you will be the PM for all Malaysians literally, unlike some who use it as slogans while doing just the opposite.
True, opposition is also losing their act.
Feel kind of off balance and fearful as the day approaches for the 6th PM to take over. smilies/tongue.gif