Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The cherry tree: the Malaysian version

The cherry tree: the Malaysian version PDF Print
Wednesday, 18 March 2009 09:59

Remember the story of George Washington and the cherry tree? Well, we have a Malaysian version of that story. Someone sent me this e-mail but I really don’t know where it is from and who to credit this piece to -- but I thought it is hilarious enough to share it with you. (Since then Vijay Kumar Murugavell sent me an e-mail to confirm that he had written it).

Legend has it that George Washington, America's first president, chopped down a cherry tree in his youth. The story goes that George gives the tree a good swing and chops it down with an axe.

His father sees the damaged tree and asks his son if he knows who did the deed. George is quoted as bravely admitting the truth:

'I can't tell a lie. Pa, you know I can't tell a lie. I did cut it with my axe.'

Below is a satire of how some Malaysian politicians circa 2008 may have reacted to the question:

Abdullah Ahmad Badawi

- 'I did not cut down the tree, I was just taking a nap underneath it.'

Najib Razak

- 'I swear that I have never MET that tree.'

Hishammuddin Hussein Onn

- '...but I only own a keris, not axe, how to cut down the tree?'

Dr Mahathir Mohamad

- 'Apa nama cherry tree, yes, I chopped it down because I don't like the idea of Pak Lah sleeping under it.'

Chua Soi Lek

- 'Yes it was me, I resign as caretaker of this orchard.'

VK Lingam

- 'It could be me, it might have been me, but I don't think it's me.'

Anwar Ibrahim

- 'I did NOT do it, and I am not giving any DNA sample for you to plant on the axe handle.'

Mohd Khir Toyo

- 'The new state government should just trim the grass and not waste time asking who cut the tree.'

Ahmad Said (Terengganu MB)

- 'I chopped it because cherry trees are more expensive to maintain than durian trees.'

Azalina Othman

- 'The cherry tree is not included under my tourism MOU so I cut it down and besides there were unauthorised signboards put up around the tree.'

Shabery Cheek

- 'I challenge you to a debate on tree cutting.'

S Samy Velu

- 'I chopped it because Hindraf members were using it as a meeting point.'

Wira Ali Rustam

- 'We have planted durian trees for 50 years and we will plant them for another 50 years. We do not need cheery trees, apple trees, pear trees and all these other foreign trees.'

Rais Yatim

- 'You must see the bigger picture. Ahmad Said said cherry trees are expensive to maintain. Ali Rustam said they are against our national identity. And I needed to test my new axe. So, you see, it is a WIN-WIN situation all around.'

Sharir Samad

- 'I cut the tree because we could no longer afford to subsidise it.'

Karpal Singh

- 'The bigfoot creature did it.'

Bung Mokhtar

- 'The big monkey did it.'

Pandikar Amin Mulia

- 'There is nothing in the standing orders against chopping cherry trees......Kinabatangan duduk! Bukit Gelugor duduk!'

Khairy Jamaluddin

- I did not do it, neither did the Mat Rempits. By the way, what's a cherry tree?'

Lim Kit Siang

- 'Cherry tree also you don't know. You are an insult to Oxford!'

Nazri Abdul Aziz

- 'Racist, racist, racist! When we cut down durian trees nobody made a fuss. Now...'

Malaysian Citizens

- 'Oh for heavens sake! Somebody plant something before we all starve to death!'

Comments (87)Add Comment
written by timmy, March 18, 2009 10:18:45
RPK:

"Let us revisit the history of Cheery Trees and Durian Trees to understand who's the real culprit." Another 5 pages long articles..
agree 133
written by DreamLady, March 18, 2009 10:22:33
Raja Petra, you are betul betul kelakar, I could not stop laughing aloud as the themes are absolutely hilarious! !!! Many thanks for the jest.., it makes my day!!
agree 270
written by densemy, March 18, 2009 10:23:28
Malay denial is alive and well!

I think you'll find that Najib actually said something like " I do not know that woman". Seeing she was dead at the time his statement was perfectly correct
written by KC Chin, March 18, 2009 10:29:29
Tengku Ahmad Rithauddeen
2009 We cut the cherry tree. It is a crime? No, our basis is ethics, not crime. Ours is ethical crime.
written by Krepot, March 18, 2009 10:32:16
A bloody good laugh, TQ!
written by renoir, March 18, 2009 10:35:48
Well, that incorrigible skeptic, Mark Twain, opined that Washington was a smart kid who, even then, was thinking about a political future. Hence those righteous remarks.

written by sukinong, March 18, 2009 10:37:15
MACC - Malaysia Anti Cherries & Cows
"We had to cut it coz we don't want anybody to step on the cow dungs around the tree. By the way, who let the cows running around, huh?!"
written by KC Chin, March 18, 2009 10:37:28
Rosmah Mansor, 2009
Let's not do anything unethical to stop it. It is his turn to chop down the cherry tree.
written by KC Chin, March 18, 2009 10:39:46
Rosmah Mansor, 2009
"God says it is his turn, it is his turn," it is his destiny to chop the cherry tree.
written by Michael Pg, March 18, 2009 10:42:13
Perak Frog lady:

'I don't care what tree, buy mine is Money Tree and is still growing.'
written by JJFoo, March 18, 2009 10:42:53
Very funny, but too close to the truth for comfort.
written by Firaza, March 18, 2009 10:42:55
Morning Pete,

Thanks for posting the article and it actually was shared by a comrade from Australia. Let me check further about the brilliant writer....

Cheers,

Firdaus Christopher
written by justice, March 18, 2009 10:43:48
Dear All,

I too received one and would like to share with you:

----------------------------------------------------
The cycle of missing goes like this in Malaysia;

Get Vietnamese workers, dogs missing.
Get Bangladeshi workers, Malay girls missing.
Get Indonesian workers, money missing.
Get Indian workers, jewellery missing.
Get Chinese workers, husbands missing.

The new additions:
Call the police, the evidence goes missing,
Call the lawyers, the judge go missing,
Call the ministry of transport, the reports go missing
Change the government, funds go missing,
Say something and you may be missing.

Cheers!
agree 251
written by Zym Zym, March 18, 2009 10:54:02
RPK, thanks for sharing this piece of joke. We had a good LOL here.
written by Taiping60, March 18, 2009 10:54:44
I have another version,

Did a SD, police come after me,
Get VD, everyone run away from me,
Mentioned about me on VCD, everyone want to see me.
Trying to run for Deputy, the discipline committee disqualified me.
written by budaktapah, March 18, 2009 10:59:30
My 5 years old son;

Ayah..hebattt tu ayahhhh...Power Rangers tebang pokok ceri..hebattt.
written by arazak, March 18, 2009 11:17:06
Well, you know who;

"I did not cut the tree but I C4ed it as I suspected that my husband had been sleeping with the cherry tree".
written by Msian Idol3, March 18, 2009 11:21:19
Vel Paari -- I give it liquid ammonia everyday and every time. Now it is ballooning too big too handle. So daddy's bull-lock cart parking spot is being taken over & have to cut it down lah.

Thanks for the good laughs Pete.
written by imanj, March 18, 2009 11:25:54

SYED HAMID ALBAR

I did not chop down the cherry tree,i ISAed it,together with all the others who chop down the tree...!!!

oops..hope everyone would find anything said hilarious,as we could do with a little humor right now..

Have a good day everyone...

written by educationist, March 18, 2009 11:29:58
This satire ought to be change to that famous democracy tree in Ipoh, the Yellow Flame.
Perhaps, soon the Ipoh City council will decree that all Yellow Flame Trees be cut down for instilling unwholesome democractic ideals in citizens!!
written by carribeanking7, March 18, 2009 11:43:11
I was the original author of chopping down the cherry tree joke,
the original version came with a message that was lost after several forwards,
I was quite amused that it went on in email forwards and eventualy came back to me.
Original version is at this link http://www.facebook.com/topic....topic=5296

malaysiakini version http://www1.malaysiakini.com/letters/87228
written by clusco, March 18, 2009 11:45:26
you were hugging the big monkey man.... - Mukhriz
written by alan cheong, March 18, 2009 11:51:26
Bravo!

rotflol ... hatz off.
how apt.
written by tkahyap, March 18, 2009 11:58:03
hey guys..lets add some more jokes.

Raja Petra: I don't care who I whack, durian or cherry or sawit tree..NO HOLDS BARRED!
written by tkahyap, March 18, 2009 11:59:38
Theresa Kok: I will sue anyone one claimed I chopped the tree. RM 3 million! These allegations are baseless and aimed at tarnishing my image! This must be the work of Utusan!
written by tkahyap, March 18, 2009 12:02:03
Ali Rustam: I accept the accusation, but I will appeal. All please remain calm.
written by panca, March 18, 2009 12:02:36
Bro Pete,

The part between KJ and LKS had me in stitches, of course, with much imagination how LKS would have shot KJ with this cherry statement!
written by teo siew chin, March 18, 2009 12:03:31
a totally hilarious piece!!

but kinda wondering to how The Raja will answer smilies/grin.gif.

YM RPK: I will keep it short so as not to be 'cheong hei' but in the beginning.....
written by Siputman, March 18, 2009 12:16:20
Wahahahaha...........bloody damn shiok to read. Many thanks.
written by budaktapah, March 18, 2009 12:27:13
some umno member in Terengganu;

Kami nak pokok ceri, natang...
written by hellosunshine, March 18, 2009 12:41:04
Ipoh mayor and municipal council

'Oh! Was that a rain tree we chopped down? We thought it was a cherry tree. Never mind, we'll plant a buah cherry tree to replace it and feed it full of najis.' smilies/cheesy.gif
written by emg385, March 18, 2009 12:41:54
Any D-U-M-N-O political Leader,
Nobody should question our Right To Cut down any Cherry Tree. All Cherry Tree Lovers should respect The Social Cherry Contract.without question. It is our entrenched rights in the Constitution to cut down any Cherry tree. We will defend our right to cut down any Cherry Tree till the last drop of our Cherry-red blood.Don't try to cause Racial unrest and threaten the national security of our Country with all your Cherry-Tree loving statements.
written by Pakyeh, March 18, 2009 12:42:28
Syit Hamid Albar..."I cut the cherry tree to save it from itself".
written by Fido, March 18, 2009 12:43:45
The last part "Malaysian Citizens" is the best part of this joke
written by scottiebabie, March 18, 2009 12:43:47
...and who says there's no comedic talent in bolehland?? bravo....stuff worthy of "The Tonight Show" smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Chimera, March 18, 2009 12:48:13
i really roll down from my chair...hahahaa...a very gud one.. by de way... i like de bigfoot , big monkey....n de lim kit siang's 'Cherry tree also you don't know. You are an insult to Oxford!'......lolllllll

Made my day...!!!
written by emg385, March 18, 2009 12:52:06
The IGP....
" We have not given any permit for any gatherings near any Cherry Tree. Anybody found within 50 metres of any Cherry Tree in the country will be immediately arrested & charged for Illegal Gathering.We have a court order saying so too!!!
written by rakyatmalaysia, March 18, 2009 13:27:18
saiful : "The tree sodomise me..so i report to polis, they label the tree under ISA and chopped it."
written by Gargamel, March 18, 2009 13:34:11
Thank you, carribeanking7, for a good laugh. Damn far-ny!!!!!
written by son of soil, March 18, 2009 13:34:15
"Ali Rustam" I only bought the cherries not the tree.
written by OVERLORD, March 18, 2009 13:40:49
Najib:
I ate the cherry but did not blow up the tree

Rosmah:
It is the Destiny of the tree to be chopped down..
written by Rhan, March 18, 2009 13:51:36
Deng XiaoPeng “I don’t care whether it is a crook axe or a straight axe, as long as it cut down cherry tree, it is a good axe”

Mao ZeDong “Does the cherry tree have capitalism character? If do, we must chop it down”

Umno “Chopping down cherry tree is not the issue, who chop down cherry tree is the issue”

PAS “Chop cherry tree is un-islamic, ban it”

DAP “The previous government action is the reason why you don’t see many cherry tree around, it's their fault”

PKR “The Sabah cherry is going to drop, follow by Sarawak cherry, but our concern now is on Perak, it seem there is no more cheery tree in Perak, only democratic tree.”

Raja Petra “Please show me which part of constitution telling us we can’t chop cherry tree”
written by Angela Ooi, March 18, 2009 13:57:53
Roastporkymah:

I chopped the tree cos when I looked into the mirror, I saw the tree instead of my face
written by ladasiber, March 18, 2009 14:24:00
Azalina: I despise cherry, I dont even care if I had "what did you call that?".
written by pillars, March 18, 2009 14:29:59

YM RPK, thank you, its hillarious !!!

I love the 'Kit - KJ' part most smilies/smiley.gif
written by Pakyeh, March 18, 2009 15:11:42
Heh,heh,this is fun.
Rosmah : I c4ut it becuz I hubby screwed it.
Najip : I C4ut it becuz it was having my baby.
written by malaysianohope, March 18, 2009 15:17:03
Oops! Its me who killed the tree after I pee on it, says Dolly.
written by cruzeiro, March 18, 2009 15:39:09
Harmid Alblar:
Yes, I chopped it down!
As Ali ketam says it was a matter of national identity - hence, it is also a matter of national security.
So sue me - I'm not afraid!
written by cahaya, March 18, 2009 15:41:30
Court judge: In future, the Speaker shall not convene meetings under a tree.

City Council: No, we did not chop the tree. We only served a notice to the tree because the marble plaque below was an “obstruction” to the public.

CCTV across the street: The video recording shows who chopped the tree.
written by Milo, March 18, 2009 15:46:14
Syed Hamid: You can't use the word 'Tree' for cherry trees in Malaysia, it will confuse the malays who may think it is the same as durian trees.
written by OVERLORD, March 18, 2009 15:54:41
Cherry Tree : Who stuck this notice on me?
written by Almighty, March 18, 2009 15:59:26
Some Police officer:" Who chopped the Cherry tree not too important, but we will definately screw those who disclose the insidents of cherry tree been chopped & those put the video in Youtube."

Dr. Khor (Gerakan): It could be Ting, Cheah, Kah Chun or Ah yew. All got chance, will let you know after election.

written by kenny, March 18, 2009 16:02:00
Hoi!!! Baargger Carribeanking7 you and RPK!

My cherry tree in my backyard really got chopped down by somebody!

Heeheehee....

written by timmy, March 18, 2009 16:03:59
Muhd Taib: I don't know English. I do not know Cheery Trees neither I understand what you all talking about.
RPK: Hey, you just spoke English! Australia, he knows English!!!
written by mikewang, March 18, 2009 16:07:58
Rithauddeen:-

Ali is banned from planting a tree because he bribes others for that privilege.
written by amjoem, March 18, 2009 16:09:40
Ha! Ha! Pet, I frankly knew you as a serious minded person. Thank you! You are indeed humourous. We all had a good laugh.
written by mikewang, March 18, 2009 16:13:13
Perak Frog lady:

Forget about that tree, I want my Camry.
written by apa jadi, March 18, 2009 16:13:20
ROTFLMAO.....another good hilarious joke. I will have a pdf file kept for my kids when they come back...hehehe....and let them enjoy the Malaysian jokes...

But the way, you have left out Nizar, Zambry and Ipoh town council over the cherry tree. An oversight?....It would be fun....
written by cahaya, March 18, 2009 16:33:36
city council workers: Ooops! We chopped the wrong tree! That one was cherry tree. Boss told us Chop down the rain tree.
written by Almighty, March 18, 2009 16:43:47
Syed:" We chopped the Cherry tree and detained under ISA, we wan't to give protection to the cherry tree."

Ahmad:"Cherry tree is pendatang! Who care?

Perak Frog Lady :" You all don't see Cherry tree doesn't mean it missing, the cherry tree might be sick & only rest at home"

Gorbind:"Pembunuh! Pembunuh! Why the police never investigate who murder cherry tree."

Kapal:" I want to sue Speaker, I want to sue cherry tree."

Nasri," We banned any cherry tree be planted for 1 year"

Nizar," this is our democratic tree, we want to investigate who chopped the tree"

Zambry," Hee, Hee, Hee, I chopped the tree because it is not legal, Durian tree is the only legal tree approve by our lord"
written by kenny, March 18, 2009 16:50:01
MPSJ: Kerana daun semua jatuh ke-luar.

Me: You takda panggil itu Indon Khir Toyol sapu kah? Banyak broom dan sampah dia ada sembunyi.
written by rakyatmalaysia, March 18, 2009 17:21:41
samy velu : "that tree doesn't represent the our comunity, only MIC TREE does"

mahathir : "that tree was not part of my grand idea, why no crooked tree, apa nama "

nazri " We should ban the tree from growing for one year, so we request speaker pandikar to chop the cherry tree"
written by Shimshon, March 18, 2009 17:28:10

It's actually funnier - because Sir RPK included the pictures/photos - along with the quotes/satire.
Minus the pics, it's funny, but I/we won't laugh out loud (just laugh, smile within us).
With pics, we do LOL.
written by OVERLORD, March 18, 2009 17:37:37
Jamalluddin Jarjis :- I wish to stroke that cherry tree
MACC CChief Ahmad Said :- My son would "love" the cherry tree
Rafidah Aziz :- Can I sell appoved permit to plant this tree?
Nazri Aziz :- "gua punya lagi besar daripada lu punya pokok cherry"!
MACC :- We will investigate the cows and lexus parked
next to the tree
Zambry :- In Pangkor, we have lots of cherry tree...
Syed Hamid :- what cherry tree? i thought that was a durian tree!

written by bknight, March 18, 2009 17:51:38
Najib:

i popped the cherry, but i never met the tree

Rosmah :

since the cherry been eaten, i C4 the tree, it is destiny
written by Zym Zym, March 18, 2009 17:53:26
I had a second read at this article. I really find it hilarious with the photos on it. This is the Malaysian joke of the year. Kudos to whoever wrote this.
written by SimpleSoul, March 18, 2009 18:54:19
Rahim of Melaka - Why bother chooping the tree.. i rather 'pop' the cherry of a 15 of tree..
written by cheemengwong, March 18, 2009 19:39:41
My salesman says he did it!
Here is his story....
Ever since he saw the cherry tree he gets a permanent erection. Went to Petaling Street and bought a sexy miniskirt and wrap around the trunk. He has been exercising around the cherry tree every day and yesterday it just fell down!

What to do?
written by roggon, March 18, 2009 21:10:30
MUSA AMAN, SABAH:

Who cares about cherry tree..I chopped it looks like timber!!!!
written by cruzeiro, March 18, 2009 21:14:18

Najeb: "What cherry tree - it's a conspiracy. I only know my 'Cv^ -tree'"
written by teo siew chin, March 18, 2009 22:16:05
The 'add-ons' to the cherry tree story by you commenters are amazingly creative & and i m absolutely ROTFLMAO!!! keep em coming!!!

and tq much Vijay Kumar Murugavell.
written by LJN, March 18, 2009 22:24:26
Syed Hamid Albar: "All other parties and religions except UMNO are banned from using the term “Cherry" because we don't want our people confused. If the Catholic Herald wants to use the word, it must have a chop “For Catholics only” on all the pages"
written by Lim Lim, March 19, 2009 00:08:19
i hav to chop the tree n get a piece of it to make jampi n fix it up at the back of bodowi!
question:who is this???????
written by meilui, March 19, 2009 01:13:46
Muhammad son of Muhammad: Me no speaka England, no chop chop cherry tree?
written by Edmund, March 19, 2009 06:25:55
I did not harm the tree, if you are innocent, what is there for you to address? I am not a politician and I am not running for any post. I’m just the wife of a politician"
rosmah
written by mikewang, March 19, 2009 08:32:55
1st lady wannabe:-
God says I can have any tree chopped.
If it's my destiny, it's my destiny.
written by letsbefair, March 19, 2009 09:19:53
Tengku Ahmad Rithauddeen
Chop cherry tree is a crime but how you chop it depends on the gravity of the crime.

Chop just one time is a lesser crime than keep chopping repeatedly for 20 times! Now that is a more serious crime...
written by letsbefair, March 19, 2009 09:28:25
Oh yeah forgot to mention...

Tengku Ahmad Rithauddeen also added,
Its manslaughter of cherry tree if chop only once but its premedited murder of cherry tree if chop continously for 20 times.
written by letsbefair, March 19, 2009 09:39:50
correction.

...premeditated murderof cherry tree...
written by batsman, March 19, 2009 09:59:50
And what did RPK say? "I did not cut down the tree because Kuasa Rakyat demands that I stick to my beliefs of protecting that poor helpless tree, not cut it down!" heeheehee!
written by Rozlan, March 19, 2009 10:24:34
RPK

I like "The Malaysian Citizens" comments..More than willing to do it.. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by emg385, March 19, 2009 10:35:44
Anwar Ibrahim.....
"We have the numbers....The Cherry tree will fall on our side by Sep 16..oops...Dec 16..... I request The Speaker to call for an Emergency session of Parliament to determine on which side the Cherry Tree will Fall!!!
written by gycgocnt, March 19, 2009 12:17:18
Demolish the Plaque,Chopped down the Cherry Tree will cost you bigger in the next election. It must be the work of a gang with the trade mark of 'Celaka', Got it???
written by mikewang, March 19, 2009 12:27:26
Huan Cheng Guan (Gerakan Penang CM wannabe):-

There is a caterpillar on that Pinang tree.
Chop it down.
written by Milo, March 19, 2009 14:27:30
Ku Li: The UMNO Disciplinary Board cannot proclaim one of its trees corrupt while treat that tree as not corrupt under the law of the land.

MACC: We will investicate all corrupt tress BUT UMNO's trees are governed by the law of the jungle; so it is out of our jurisdiction.
written by teo siew chin, March 19, 2009 15:51:34
those cherries on the tree are a kemaluan besar ... guess who?
written by sambal muncha, March 19, 2009 18:20:48
Malaysian Citizens

- 'Oh for heavens sake! Somebody plant something before we all starve to death!'

The great Sufi, Mevlana Celaladin Rumi:

Don't plant anything but love...