Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Freedom of speech does NOT exist in Malaysia

Freedom of speech does NOT exist in Malaysia PDF Print
Tuesday, 17 March 2009 12:49

Now, before you get all excited about Gobind Singh Deo’s one-year suspension and about Karpal Singh being charged for sedition today, please read this piece and understand that, in spite of what you may have been led to believe, freedom of speech does NOT exist in Malaysia.

First, see these two videos of Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah’s speech in Parliament in 1993:

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=asNTbvlK7Eo

Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SRMDrtn6898

Okay, now read what Tengku Razaleigh wrote in his Blog (http://razaleigh.com/) about a week after the recent Perak Constitutional Crisis.

Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah on the Constitutional Crisis of 1993

This is not the first constitutional crisis in which the rights of the Rulers have been touched upon. Today’s crisis in Perak is about the legitimacy of the process by which a new state government has been formed in Perak. It’s not about the status of the Rulers.

In comparison, the Constitutional Crisis of 1993 arose from an ugly confrontation between Umno and the Rulers over a question that had direct and profound implications on their sovereignty and that of the Yang diPertuan Agong. For good reason, the Head of State in most countries may not be prosecuted in an ordinary court of law. In 1993, the government campaigned to remove this immunity through amendments to the Constitution.

I opposed these amendments.

In the event, the Rulers and Parliament were railroaded by the government of the day and the amendments duly passed. These are the very same amendments, which, today, make it legal for a Ruler to be prosecuted. Mr Karpal Singh, though I disagree with him, was acting well within his rights that an Umno-led government enacted in 1993 when he earlier proposed to sue DYMM the Sultan of Perak.

Let’s reflect on this irony. Does Umno serve the Rulers more genuinely by upholding and protecting the Constitution, which guarantees their status, or by histrionic displays tuned for the coming Umno elections?

This bears upon the question of the kind of leaders, and the kind of party, we want. Do we want to be led by those who can understand and address the foundational issues facing our society today, and shall we have leaders capable of forging “mutual consent by debate and discussion, inquiries and elections”, or shall we again be landed with those whose main talent is to strike poses that people outside a small, insecure circle in Umno, and particularly Malaysia’s internet generation, find ridiculous?

Was greater harm done to the sovereignty of the Rulers in 1993 through Parliament or a week ago on the streets of Perak?

And is today’s Umno, with its inconsistent adherence to the rule of law, its inconstant respect for the key institutions of our country, a credible or effective defender of the Rulers and of the laws upholding this institution?

Or do we actually harm what we claim to protect?

Above is a video recording in two parts of the speech I made in Parliament in 1993 opposing the amendments to the Constitution.

I stand by my argument.

Article 10 of the Federal Constitution of Malaysia

(1)Subject to Clauses (2), (3) and (4) -
(a) every citizen has the right to freedom of speech and expression;
(b) all citizens have the right to assemble peaceably and without arms;
(c) all citizens have the right to form associations.

(2) Parliament may by law impose -
(a) on the rights conferred by paragraph (a) of Clause (1), such restrictions as it deems necessary or expedient in the interest of the security of the Federation or any part thereof, friendly relations with other countries, public order or morality and restrictions designed to protect the privileges of Parliament or of any Legislative Assembly or to provide against contempt of court, defamation, or incitement to any offence;
(b) on the right conferred by paragraph (b) of Clause (1), such restrictions as it deems necessary or expedient in the interest of the security of the Federation or any part thereof, or public order;
(c) on the right conferred by paragraph (c) of Clause (1), such restrictions as it deems necessary or expedient in the interest of the security of the Federation or any part thereof, public order or morality.

(3) Restrictions on the right to form associations conferred by paragraph (c) of Clause (1) may also be imposed by any law relating to labour or education.

(4) In imposing restrictions in the interest of the security of the Federation or any part thereof or public order under Clause (2) (a), Parliament may pass law prohibiting the questioning of any matter, right, status, position, privilege, sovereignty or prerogative established or protected by the provisions of Part III, article 152, 153 or 181 otherwise than in relation to the implementation thereof as may be specified in such law.

Article 10[1][a] of the Federal Constitution provides that every Malaysian citizen shall have the right of free speech and expression. Taken in isolation, it appears to be a guarantee of that right. Sadly, as we all know, the guarantee is not absolute. Starting with Article 10[2][a] and [4] of the Federal Constitution, we are immediately reminded that any such guarantee is, in fact, illusory. Furthermore, restrictions to free speech are enshrined in legislation, such as the Sedition Act 1948, Printing Presses and Publication Act 1984 and the Internal Security Act 1960.

The 1983 Constitutional Crisis involving the Rulers and the 1993 constitutional amendments to, inter alia, remove the personal immunity of the Rulers clearly demonstrates that a new ethos has evolved during the Mahathir Administration that permits the discussion of matters that involve the Rulers.

Chin Thye Choo

The issue is simple. Article 10 of the Federal Constitution of Malaysia guarantees all citizens the right to freedom of speech, assembly and association. However, this same Article 10 allows the government to take away that right when deemed necessary. In short, you do not have automatic freedom of speech, assembly and association. The government decides when you can and cannot have it.

If you were to note what Tengku Razaleigh said in his 1993 speech in Parliament (in the videos above), there are certain things that can’t be questioned. These are issues related to the Rulers, Malay rights and privileges, the National Language, and Islam. Even two-thirds of Parliament can’t change this. The only people who can change this would be the Rulers’ Conference. Even then it must be a unanimous decision by the Rulers’ Conference. A simple majority will not be sufficient. Just one dissenting voice from one of the Rulers is good enough to block any move to make these changes.

It therefore becomes unlawful for anyone to challenge the position of the Rulers or the position of Islam and the National Language or to challenge Malay rights and privileges.

Nevertheless, in 1993, ten years after the First Constitutional Crisis, Parliament removed the immunity of the Rulers. This matter was heavily debated at that time and was opposed by Tengku Razaleigh. However, Umno, at the behest of the Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, wanted the Rulers’ wings clipped. So Parliament passed the law that now subject the Rulers to prosecution and court action, which prior to 1993 was not possible.

Yes, Umno removed the Rulers’ immunity. And, as Tengku Razaleigh said, it was done after an orgy of Ruler-bashing (pesta mencaci raja-raja, as he put it). The mainstream media went to town in revealing the excesses, transgressions and misconduct of the Rulers to the extent that even the international media picked up the issue, which made a mockery of Malaysia’s Rulers.

The Rulers were run into the ground and driven through the mud. They were defiled and insulted. If an opinion poll had been conducted at that time, probably 90% of Malaysians, across the board, would have opted for the abolishment of the Monarchy and for Malaysia to be transformed into a republic.

As Tengku Razaleigh said, it was Umno who had harmed the Monarchy beyond repair. The Monarchy was no longer perceived as the noble institution as it once was. It was now viewed as a joke and something that Malaysia could do without.

Ghafar Baba, the then Deputy Prime Minister, said there is nothing wrong in criticising the Rulers. In fact, the Rulers should be criticised considering that many of them had misbehaved. What can’t be argued is whether the Monarchy should be abolished and the country turned into a republic. That would be seditious, said Ghafar. Everything else is fair game.

A nationwide campaign was launched to bring the Rulers to their knees. The mainstream media ran expose after expose about the excesses, transgressions and misconduct of the Rulers. By the end of it all, very few Malaysians had respect for the Monarchy and many openly said that it is time for the Monarchy to go.

State Assemblies debated the issue of the ‘corrupt’ Rulers and how the Rulers were beneficiaries to state land, timber concessions, and government contracts. ‘Tengku’ Wong was exposed as the ‘Ali Baba’ front man for the Sultan of Pahang. ‘Tengku’ Yong was exposed as the same for the late Sultan of Terengganu. The mainstream media ran photographs of the lavish palaces in Penang owned by the Sultans of Selangor and Kedah (which was all bullshit, of course, because the Sultans did not own these properties). Exposes of pig farms, gambling debts, lavish lifestyles, and whatnot, were done, all linked to the Rulers of the various states.

The government impounded the Sultan of Kelantan’s Lamborghini on allegations he had refused to pay the import duty on the car -- when in actual fact he was exempted from paying tax. But even when it was later proven he never avoided paying the import duty, the damage was still done. Malaysians were aghast that the Sultans were each buying dozens of multi-million Ringgit sports cars and did not have to pay any tax like the rest of the rakyat.

Heck, after seeing what the mainstream media revealed, even I became ashamed to admit I am from the Royal Family. Umno had totally and absolutely demolished the Rulers. Even Malays were openly condemning the Rulers.

Yes, when it suits Umno, there is absolute and total freedom to attack the Rulers, run them into the ground, and drive them through the mud. They even change the law in Parliament to remove the immunity of the Rulers so that they not only can be attacked but can also be dragged to court as well. But when they want to silence the opposition, they declare that criticising the Rulers is a crime.

I was informed they are considering charges of treason against me for that open letter to Nizar, which was posted in Malaysia Today. The Al Maunah group was also charged for treason. If I am found guilty, the sentence for treason is death by hanging -- like what happened to the Al Maunah people who were hanged in the Sungai Buloh Prison in August 2006.

Yes, that’s right. They can’t get me under the Internal Security Act or the Sedition Act or for criminal defamation. So now they want to hang me for treason for writing an open letter to Nizar asking him to defy the Sultan even if it triggers a Constitutional Crisis in Perak. However, history has shown that Umno did more than what I could ever do to the institution of the Monarchy -- and we have this on record.

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by evaangel, March 17, 2009 12:57:20
To paraphrase a wise Malaysian...
Freedom of speech isn't the issue here... It's freedom after speech that cannot be guaranteed.
agree 317
written by blackpea, March 17, 2009 13:09:47
Very soon we be classified by Govts around the world as having a tyrant Govt in Malaysia, I hope someone out there will help us. "US are you watching us". pls help.
disagree 22
agree 133
written by teo siew chin, March 17, 2009 13:10:37
We are all free to speak if we CHOOSE to.
We can choose to speak of truth, fairness, honour.
We can choose to speak out against corruption, against evil.
YM RPK does!
He fears not the evil that metes out injustice supposedly thru 'laws'.
written by timmy, March 17, 2009 13:11:09
although i write and write about the wrongs of the government, but there's a part of me keep warning me that it's not safe to do so .... that's the feeling of what freedom of speech is about in Malaysia, I guess.

We have created the fear to voice out.
written by Cash Money, March 17, 2009 13:22:19

Come on Anwar. You are going to be railed rolled if your team does not get its act together.
Both the Singhs, if PKR let them down now it will be a far more disapointing day then Najis becomimg the PM.

written by OVERLORD, March 17, 2009 13:30:12
This is a real catch-22 situation.......the same articles that guarantees your rights, also leave you out in the cold after the speech or words has been muttered. Sounds more like a Venus fly trap to me.....It seems freedom of speech nowadays are confined to our own livng space.."
"At no time is freedom of speech more precious than when a man hits his thumb with a hammer" Marshall Lumsde
written by asguard, March 17, 2009 13:34:23
UMNO does not understand what does the constitution means! They only understands themselves... don't have write so long chapter .... just get to the point! And because they have no brains to think! Untuk Monyet Nakal tiada Otak that's what UMNO stands for!
written by wongnoball, March 17, 2009 13:40:04
We know there was no Freedom of Press/Speech for 51 years........otherwise we would not be in this SH*T today!!

All media, police, judiciary, election commission in UMNO Arms and we rakyat are just angry and mad!! Still want unity government with al those TOXIC Baggage of UMNO?? Not Me!!

Malaysian now needs to get prepared When the Regim Ganas Kejam UMNO Shuts down Internet Access. How and what will be the rakyat reaction. UMNO is expert in doing media news blackout when they are in trouble and needs ISA. Don't Forget when that occurs, do your best to Disrupt, disrupt, disrupt Regim Ganas Kejam Telecomunication tower and Channel. Tie a Rope and Pull it down. We cannot lose this momentum and with economic Pain and Hunger & Anger...do not wate this 1 in 100 years opportunity to RESET Malaysia!!
written by sorosapril, March 17, 2009 13:51:21
wonder how did the Malaysia government changed the constitution in 1993 when any laws passed in Parliament, need the Agong to sign before it became the law, why did the then Agong sign that amendment then?

if i am not mistaken, one of the amendment was -- any laws passed by parliament if it is not signed by the Agong within certain days, it will still become the law.

well for this provision to be effective, the Agong needs to sign first otherwise how could this be in force?

sorry, i am not expert in laws, perhaps some one out there can enlighten me on this issue?
written by peter, March 17, 2009 13:57:16
This totalitarian country run by the nazi-party umNO for almost half century has never had any freedom of speech.

What we need now is a good website / article to document the 1983 and the 1993 nazi-umNO's fierce attack on the Rulers.

written by Littlebird, March 17, 2009 14:04:14
Now I know how it would felt like living under Saddam Hussein.
written by malsia1206, March 17, 2009 14:17:40
The charge pressed against Karpal presupposes a few things -
1. Place had completed their investigation
2. Papers forwarded to the AG who had studied the issues and agreed with the charge
3. High political connection in Putrajaya agree to go along with the charge
4. Royalty likely to have been informed
Look at the above 3 factors carefully. They all carry a common theme - the UMNO connection. As to factor No.4, the rakyat has to come to their own conclusion. Change we need. Change we must.
written by mountainking, March 17, 2009 14:20:02
i will continue to speak ....let them charge lah, whatever treason they may want to name it. since we are already in a police state and life is too short to be "all care bout your ownself". i rather do something before my children suffer the same fate as we do. if we have to die, let it be meaningful. since no one can avoid tax and death.

why care about death?
written by Admiral Tojo, March 17, 2009 14:30:31
Malaysia, a Facist Police State. Look what happened in Madagascar today, the have undergone reformasi. UMNO and their running dogs better take heed.

written by savemalaysia, March 17, 2009 14:30:48
Make no bone about it. UMNO is the greatest hypocrite on planet earth. It twists the law to suit their whims and fancies and charge others for not respecting the rule of the law. I wonder who is the real culprit throwing the law into the gutter?
written by malaysianohope, March 17, 2009 14:38:31
Abang,
There will never be freedom of speech in Malaysia as long as umno is ruling the country, never mind the skewed Justice and all the Government machinery in the like of PDRM, MACC, Judiciary, AG, MSM & Civil service were thrown against the Oppositions . All I can say is that Malaysian Voters have long memories and we will teach them a lesson they never forget, beginning with the Bye-Elections in the two Bukits & one Batang. Remember this MALAYSIAN VOTERS!
written by DatoSeri, March 17, 2009 15:01:25
Heck, after seeing what the mainstream media revealed, even I became ashamed to admit I am from the Royal Family. Umno had totally and absolutely demolished the Rulers. Even Malays were openly condemning the Rulers.

It's sad to read your write up. Many of us know how the royalty being manipulated and suppressed by UMNO. And, I am sure many symphatise the royalty, sultans etc.

That is why my opinion that the royalties (sultans included, of course) must be above the politics and be exceptionally fair in handling the situation such as Perak coup. Must not be seen as siding the corrupt, and must uphold the democracy and trust/respect placed upon them by the rakyat. Sadly, failed the rakyat miscerably.

We wish consciencious sultans can come together and support the obvious to boot out the corrupts. There is hope, there is hope, only when all of us work together to make it materialises...

"Rescue Malaysia!"
written by smalluncle, March 17, 2009 15:03:57
Can we still make police report of sedition / treason by UMNO to the Sultan in 1993, The Natang case and Paklah's statement on Sultan of Trengganu? The 1993 incident is many times more serious than what they are charging Karpal. If guilty, the whole UMNO team need to be hanged.
written by hellosunshine, March 17, 2009 15:14:58
Sorry RPK, I disagree with you on freedom of speech does not exist in M'sia. Ok ok, before all you guys wallop me, please go check on the speeches by the UMNO warlords in their election campaigns and also this coming UMNO GA.
Therefore, a correction is in order. smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by IbnAbdHalim, March 17, 2009 15:18:48
...but Pete that bangsat party is above the law in Bolehland. You and me can be prosecuted on any charge but not them. Altantuya's spirit is still roaming and Gobind gets the axe. Karpal is in for a big trouble. And you for all God's sake is in deep, deep trouble.
written by cheekymate, March 17, 2009 15:22:31
Hello there Smalluncle,
I fully agree with your analysis regarding Natang case and the 1993 incidents. Do you mind if I reinforce your statement that if the umno is found guilty, they should be hanged BY THEIR BALLS? Sorry, these idiots bring out the sadistic worst in me, but I am sure a lot of readers agree with me!
written by longjaafar, March 17, 2009 15:39:22
I propose that we get all those newspaper articles like the one posted of Utusan Malaysia by Peter, and put them all on the net. Then people will be able to judge who the real villians are.
written by ROBERTNGTG, March 17, 2009 16:31:51
Was greater harm done to the sovereignty of the Rulers in 1993 through Parliament or a week ago on the streets of Perak?

And is today’s Umno, with its inconsistent adherence to the rule of law, its inconstant respect for the key institutions of our country, a credible or effective defender of the Rulers and of the laws upholding this institution?

THEY TOTALLY ABUSED, BELITTLED AND INSULTED THE ROYALTY AND GOT AWAY WITH TREASON. WONDER WHAT IS HAPPENING. WE ARE BEWILDERED!!!
written by Pakyeh, March 17, 2009 16:32:53
I support Dr M on the removal of the Royalties immunities.Either we say everyone is equal or everyone is not equa.Lets not be hipocratic about it.Ku Li is hipocratic for supporting immunity of Royalty. Immunity of Royalty only make them into God. Only God is above the Law.We are idolators if we still have humans that are above the law.As far as the constitution is concerned it does not make everyone equal because of the overruling/ammendment of all laws by the existence of undemocratic and evil laws of ISA and sedition law.These are the 2 laws that must be removed from our constitution before we can say Malaysia has freedom of speech.
Therefore we fight fo the abolition of ISA and Sedition act.
written by Zym Zym, March 17, 2009 16:45:35
Actually Karpal has created a window of opportunities for the RULERS to claim back what is rightfully theirs. Now is the time the RULERS should act. Please don't wait any longer. Do it now or Tuanku will lose this chance. DAULAT TUANKU!
written by Pakyeh, March 17, 2009 16:53:32
Laws/constitutions are like the tides,they come and go.sometime diong a good cleanup job,and sometimes destroying the landscape..lake the tsunami.
This British constitution that we inherit is undemocratic if it puts Royalty above the law.It is also undemocratic as long as the ISA and Sedition act is used.
Dunia ini palsu ! Manusia berdusta ! Listen to P.Ramlees song from the article "falsafah P.Ramlee"
at
http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by Long Man, March 17, 2009 17:04:22
RPK

God is Great, God is our Guardian...

i bet, they can't bring you down... instead, they who bring you down will fall down... and the clock is ticking... hope it'll very soon...
written by panca, March 17, 2009 17:09:59
Now is time for the Monarchy institution to exercise within their rights and place priority on his subjects, the Rakyat right to choose again a legitimate government for Perak.

This is the time to see if umno will toe the line of the right exercised by The Sultan to call for a fair game - the dissolution of the state assembly and the call for a fresh state election.

Let see umno will respect the rights of the Monarchy or otherwise. With wisdom, justice must only be done but seen to be done. The Rakyat will stand behind HRH's decision to dissolve for a new government mandate. It is far too long, it is time and now. Let's see if umno is derhaka or toe the line? The Rakyat is counting on HRH.
written by notsosmart, March 17, 2009 18:11:47
POLITICS..POLITICS....POLITICS. In Malaysia, it's nothing but politics, not nuclear science, not nano technology.....not even philosophy. Maybe our local uniuversities should consider making political science as their major attraction to the world. Especially the unethical, immoral and barberic ways of governing the country. You could even earn your PhD in how to plot a sodomy on your opponent. Malaysia Betul Betul Boleh.

The downfall of the Ruler during the time of the Old Man should not be solely blamed on the gomen, but also the rakyat. The Rakyat! YES.....The Stupid and Useless Rakyat! But that was yesterday, today we hope the rakyat are not as stupid as before. They should wake up to reality in this time of the modern world. We know the gomen is corrupt, most countries gomen are corrupted, but that reason should not stopped the rakyat from changing the path of better future and progress of their own country. Too much corruption will brings the country and its rakyat down. So....we all should says that 'Enough is Enough'.

EITHER WE ALL MARCH FORWARD AS ONE, OR WE WILL BE FOREVER A POOR NATION OF DEPENDENT. ( And don't F the few percentage that marches the other way. There is always resistant to changes )

Proud of being a Malaysian? I don't think so. Not till we changed.
written by aeromaverick, March 18, 2009 00:59:46
Yep, it does not exist, because if it did then we cannot have "Destiny Talks".
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by educationist, March 18, 2009 04:44:51
RPK, all I can say is that I hope your royal blood will be somewhat of a 'brake' against the UMNOputras charging you with treason now.
But if those immoral morons do proceed, may God bless and protect you.
No one else can now, those unscrupulous scroundrels have taken over the last institution of the state meant to protect ordinary citizen against the excesses and bullying of the executive.
Yes, all of us who value freedom of speech knows it exist not in Malaysia.
Which is why a media like Mtoday is so invaluable, it provides an avenue for people like me to get our feelings off the chest even if no good will come of it.
I'm just thinking out, is asking not to be treated as second class citizens tantamount to questioning the rights and privileges of the Malays?
There are the poor among the Malaysian Chinese, Indians and other non bumiputras.
What's wrong with asking that affirmative action cover them as well? Are they not citizens of our nation?
The rich bumiputras are still given 7 - 10% discount for high-cost house purchases? Is asking for this to be reviewed questioning malay rights? Won't it be fairer for all Malaysians to be given, say a 5% discount for low cost houses if the discounts for high cost houses are discontinued.
The list can go on but I think you get my drift.
Yes, in terms of nation building our country is still young and much as I have grouses against the UMNOputras I will like to give credit where credit is due.
Right until 1969, (I classify this as Alliance era) and during the UMNOputras reign they have avoided the fatal errors that would have turned our country to say Zimbabwe or Burma today.
But, the time for change has come.
And, Change we can and Change we must!
written by ibabonma, March 18, 2009 08:32:49
What can’t be argued is whether the Monarchy should be abolished and the country turned into a republic. That would be seditious, said Ghafar. Everything else is fair game.

CONSTITUTIONALLY, GHAFAR WAS RIGHT.
written by imanj, March 18, 2009 09:40:47
This isn't a shock,and should anyone be surprised?!

WHO being the BAIT to a hangman's noose is what the politics are a about!
At this rate,any observation made will be looked upon as threatening.YES,it would be ideal,if the content of argument,was more dignified,without aggression and not incriminating.

But where the Laws are manipulated,so obviously,and when people in power using their own idealogy to no end,then if one needs to face a situation,consider not rising to the occasion to your enemy!

'THE CAT ISN'T IN THE BAG YET'..so to speak

To RPK and all that make good sense,bringing some light to many unanswered questions,issues for most to understand and probably just to think,would it be too much to swallow..? Or would anyone see its substance as facts to consider addressing...?

However we want to support for a better Malaysia,may look bleak,but there is always light at the end of the tunnel...!

Don't lets loose sight of the cause,keep the emotions in check,do we need to see another Law bent into the wrong direction?

written by Aramsawafer, March 19, 2009 22:39:33
Dear All Bloggers, Are we all ready to canvas for ther masses to go to the street if hell break loose and tyranny landed in Malaysia. There will be no hindraf, or makthai sakti, or pas or dap or pkr. It will be all malaysia rakyat, young and old, malays chinese & indian, mamak or nenek, townfolk & kampong folk, scholars or workers, all creeps absolutey, bantal the Ameno BE-End. Send them to the South China Sea smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by sulphate, March 20, 2009 09:25:00
Again, YM RPK, this is a very enlightening article.

However, methinks that the original spirit of Article 10, when it was written, is not as what is being interpreted today. The whole thing has been twisted by the ruling Gov't and used to expedite its own agenda. Methinks Article 10 (2)-(4) was meant for the very same things as ISA was meant for -- i.e. national security. However, Article 10 (2)-(4) is now being used as and when this corrupt Gov't sees fit.

If this gets any worse, in the days, weeks and months and years to come, the rakyat has the right to invoke their Right of Revolution.
written by carribeanking7, March 20, 2009 18:02:16
I don't think they can charge you with treason, which is waging war against the yang di-pertuan Agong.
At most they can charge you with Lese Majeste.
Then you will become the first royal, charged with insulting a royal.
written by Yew Loke, March 21, 2009 09:59:20
3 words to all UMNO. GO TO HELL!!!
written by gycgocnt, March 21, 2009 11:37:08
We should not fear our government, the ****ing government should afraid of us. We don't care what the draconian will press down on us, or what force to use to put our mouth shut, just write it, comment it, and speak loudly. Believe it, we will restore our true democracy once a day, maybe 5 years, 20 years or 50 years. But it must has a start, it must has somebody willing to sacrify for it. This is the exact time to start it, we should not wait until the situation getting worst like Pakistan, Indonesia etc. Because we need to use 'BLOOD' to exchange for democratic right if it can be happen.

From now on, keep blogging, commenting, suggesting in order to make this coutry more pretty and healty.