Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Gobind deserved what he got, says Nazri

Gobind deserved what he got, says Nazri PDF Print
Monday, 16 March 2009 15:41

By Chan Kok Leong (The Edge)

KUALA LUMPUR: Member of parliament Gobind Singh Deo (Puchong-DAP) deserved the punishment meted out to him today and his most serious offence was to accuse the Deputy Prime Minister of murder.

Explaining the rationale for the length of the suspension, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, Datuk Seri Nazri Abdul Aziz said it was a fair sentence.

"This is a fair sentence for him as this is about accusing the deputy prime minister of a heinous crime. So, he must be punished for the severity of the accusation made.

"If he had made the allegation against another MP, maybe the sentence would have been lighter," said Nazri.

But the minister denied that he had discussed with Datuk Seri Najib Razak before tabling the motion.

"I went to see the Speaker and discussed this. I took the decision to table this motion because I’m the minister in charge of Parliament. I’ve every right to decide this on behalf of the government.

"It wouldn’t be fair for me to talk to Najib as this involves him personally."

He also dismissed the need for referring the Puchong MP to the Privileges and Powers Committee as the Dewan Rakyat was already aware of the offence.

"We didn’t refer him to the Committee because it happened in the House in front of many MPs," said Nazri at the Parliament lobby.

"The Select Committee is for fact-finding but the facts were already before us; there was no need to refer him."

Quick action was also necessary to not give strength to his allegations and to prevent further abuse, he added.

The question of immunity also did not arise unless Gobind was being brought to trial, said Nazri.

"The decision to suspend him was done in the House as he was being punished for the abuse of privileges in Parliament. Hence, immunity is not an issue.

"If he were to be brought to court then the question of immunity would have to be resolved first," he added.

On the opposition’s claim that Gobind should be granted immunity, Nazri said this was not the case as the suspension was due to an abuse of privileges.

The minister also disagreed with Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s suggestion that Gobind be asked to explain his statement.

"This is not a crime. This is an offence made in the House and hence it is enough for him to say something (abuse of privileges) for action to be taken. We don’t have to look at the mens rea (Gobind’s intentions for the statement).

The minister added that the first-term MP’s statement was made in bad faith as he refused to repeat the allegation outside the Dewan and chose to only do it inside the Parliament because of immunity.

"Anyway, immunity does not cover someone accusing another person of murder in the Dewan," said Nazri.

The decision to suspend Gobind is final and cannot be challenged in court.

Comments (59)Add Comment
written by unomalaysia, March 16, 2009 15:47:08
Taxi Nazri the Thug, you are full of shit and you also deserve the shit coming your way. First Kangaroo Courts, now kangaroo parliament.
So Nazri is now the new b@lls polisher for Mr Shit.
agree 135
written by joseph81, March 16, 2009 15:49:00
suspend all oppositions and rule the country with iron fist, Hi Hitler
written by fireduck, March 16, 2009 15:49:45
Si Bodek. So blady obvious. But remember, no one is above the law.

written by Colomboloner, March 16, 2009 15:57:40
"The decision to suspend Gobind is final and cannot be challenged in court".
The same thing shall apply to Speaker Sivakumar in Perak State Assembly. As usual in Malaysia, there are two set of rule of law. One for BN goons and one for us...
agree 128
written by loosecannon, March 16, 2009 16:07:31
Nazri you damn fool. You may be able to shut one man up but you cannot shut the rest of the country up. Let Najib defend himself if he can. And how the hell do you know he's not guilty?
written by malgal, March 16, 2009 16:07:41
nazri described the crime as `heinous' - he is right, it was a murder most foul and malaysia has to shoulder this embarrassing murder committed on our soil. he must like most malaysians expect full vindication of true justice to see the murderers condemned.
written by budaktapah, March 16, 2009 16:09:26
what? u think we're so stoopidd? it Perak punya cerita apa hal?
written by blackpea, March 16, 2009 16:10:36
Nazri you are so good of bodeking, i hope Najis will repay you back. By the way Allah has a funny way of remembering people like you. And you will learn the true teaching from him sooner or later.
written by HeeHaw, March 16, 2009 16:12:25
ah yes, Nazri, murder is OK. Accusing someone of murder isn't smilies/smiley.gif

As I said before, it was a stupid outburst by Gobind, so I'm not surprised by this outcome.

But the fact still is that a murder was commited , and we still don't know where Najib stands in all this. But I guess Nazri is so squeaky clean these gutter politics will never touch him.......
written by cheekymate, March 16, 2009 16:16:01
Can the syariah courts please take immediate action on Nazri's son for participating in immoral activities overseas? It is befitting to set an example for Malaysian Muslims to see that he has indeed acted in a haram manner and should be flocked in public, especially on a specific anatomy where the offence had taken place.
written by blackpea, March 16, 2009 16:16:29
YB Gobind Singh Deo pls challange this punishment in court. If Perak speaker can be challenge, why not the speaker of this parliment. Someone file a police report about this Speaker for abuse of power. Since UMNO like to challenge Perak speaker, let all the Speakers be challenge.
written by ChandraJ, March 16, 2009 16:16:40
BN has not suspended YB Gobind for a year. BN has suspended the Puchong voters for a year. Gobind will rise from this ashes like a phoenix and taunt the BN govt in the future. One cannot keep the Panther of Puchong silent.
written by Taikohtai, March 16, 2009 16:20:03
You can suspend Gobind but Najis will always be haunted by his involvement in Altantuya's grisly murder. Baginda has fled to England to avoid the stigma but Najis is tied down by his Rosmah who thinks she is the God's chosen first lady!
One day Gobind will be proven right. When that day comes, I hope those involve in suspending him will jump into the KL river.
written by Oxy, March 16, 2009 16:25:36
The ocean is bigger than BN's coconut shell.
Its time for Gobind to go sailing...
When Odysseus returns,every single one
of these suitors will be slaughtered
written by razzwill, March 16, 2009 16:36:11
To be fair, Najib has never sworn on oath, in a court of law, that he is not guilty. So Gobind cannot be punished so severely for uttering what is, still, a debatable issue.
written by sactyr, March 16, 2009 16:39:53
How come Nazri was not suspended for his "You Racist!" remark?
written by mikewang, March 16, 2009 16:52:24
Better follow the PM advice like what happened in Perak and report the speaker to the police. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by mikefonz, March 16, 2009 17:02:51
BN like small boy "Tit for Tat". Please grow up and recognize your mistakes.
written by educationist, March 16, 2009 17:20:46
Of course, to the UMNOputras Gobind got what he deserved.
But to us who still believe that the real murderer of Altantuya is still at large, Gobind has struck a gong for fairness.
Never mind, that he has been suspended 1 year, it is already a foregone decision once the UMNOputras tabled the motion.
I hope his PR colleagues will take the cue. At every opportunity, relevant and pointed question should be directed at the relevant authority to uncover what they are not doing to find out who the real murderer is.
written by ellyna, March 16, 2009 17:21:07
You UMNO goons should listen to yourselves. You are just making the rakyat hate you more and more. The next GE, you are all going to be finished! Nazri, no point bodekking, you going to sink with the ship. Besides, you gonna have bigger problems with your son's escapades.
written by clarity, March 16, 2009 17:28:14
Another fine example of double standards. What happen to the bunch oh savages that threatened Karpal within the compound of Parliament? Did they get what they deserved. No of course not! Only excuses from Nazri, as usual.
written by SamYap, March 16, 2009 17:41:19
Hehehe! Nazri, you had better becareful with what you say because you might be getting a surprise soon, very very soon. You had better hope that Najib will become PM or else you will be fried.
written by Fatcat, March 16, 2009 17:43:41
The decision to suspend Gobind is final and cannot be challenged in court.

Looks like someone is playing jufge, jury and executioner. Power to the Speaker!
written by aeromaverick, March 16, 2009 17:45:17
Why is this decision not within the purview of the Judicial Court?
When the resignation letters of three Perak assemblymen/woman were not considered to be within the purview of the Speaker!
When the locus standi of the Emergency Assembly Meeting in Perak, called on by the Speaker was not allowed, by the courts, police, etc.
When the Perak Speaker is dragged to the Courts with no right to represent himself or appoint his own lawyers.
We are in interesting times when all caution is thrown into the wind.
But alway remember, if you vomit into the wind, its going to hit your own face!
written by Admiral Tojo, March 16, 2009 17:46:42
Nazri, you deserve the children that you got. Fascism at its UMNO's best.
written by *********, March 16, 2009 17:55:48
Nazri should teach his son morality instead of polishing Najib's ass...More http://*********.********.com
written by Democrats, March 16, 2009 18:14:59
You're right nazri. That is what god will tell you too when he send you down to hell.
written by malsia1206, March 16, 2009 18:15:30
Yeah yeah. And this Minister gets ****** to do the dirty work to cover up his 'holier'than-thou' sensational photos in gutteruncensored.com. Look at how he and his apple-polish religious father-and-son team basked in all those women and booze pixs. Greatt theme for breakfast-till-supper talk topics. Malaysia Boleh from the Menteri himself. Right from the horse's mouth.
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, March 16, 2009 18:17:37
The Deputy Prime Minister is not a Constitutional position so why is Parliament according that any higher than other MPs?

Another case of deflecting the issue where the truth of the matter will never be discussed but it's a procedural infringement. Asking Najib to clarify the issue is an infringement. Who decides what can and cannot be asked?

We now have a Parliament where the ruling can act on whims and fancy with total disregard to getting to the truth. Nobody is interested to know if what Gobind asked has any merit of truth. They just want the truth to be silence? The present action seems to say so.

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...ert-to-bm/
written by sahabat, March 16, 2009 18:36:54
Let us bury Umno through the 3 by-elections in Bukit Selambau, Bukit Gantang and Batang Ai.
written by ckw, March 16, 2009 18:36:58
nazri, pls look at www.gutteruncensored.com.
written by BennyG, March 16, 2009 18:39:25
Since Dr. CSL resigned b'coz of his sexual prowess, now it's time for Nazri to resign since photos of him (gutteruncensored) was revealed. I believe that Nazri will deny everything and MACC will claim that the woman could not be found and No Further Action. There is no way Nazri will resign and contest again as what Dr. CSL did. He is all talk & no action, gutless and totally shameless.

All the UMNO religious bodies will suddenly become very quiet or claim that no evidence is found.
written by shamadz72, March 16, 2009 18:46:50
Say the taxi boy smilies/smiley.gif

written by panca, March 16, 2009 18:54:08
See what is happening....And now the regime is charging the Senior Lion for sedition....what a coincidence to implicate matters at this time to keep the Lions out!

Najis is Shit! Right?
written by michaelT, March 16, 2009 18:55:41
Who decide the severity of the offence and who decide the 1 year suspension Nazri or the Speaker. Gobind just wanted the DPM to give a simple answer Yes or No in the murder of Altantuya invovlement. Why is he not accountable to Parliament by not answering. Why did not the Speaker allow Gobind to answer. I call all the mutiracial Puchong voters to remember to kick UMNO/BN out of Puchong. Gobind will by principle have more time for the constituent . Why is Najib glum over the French detail report of the Murder. Nazri should break away Diplomaticy with France. He can call the shot. he is very powerful even to get all taxi licence.
written by johntyc, March 16, 2009 19:05:48
This guy is fighting with Najib and S.Hamid to be Malaysia most hated person. Almost forgot Rosmah.
written by zanie, March 16, 2009 19:36:28
Nazri comes from an elite politician of an UMNO family; yes umno has the legacy of passing on the posts from father to son, even though the second generation is money craze.Looks like after him, the son is gonna be given the same opportunity as he is now being trained so hard to be a good UMNO politician. See the picture below to have a clearer idea of what I'm saying;

http://4.bp.********.com/_614_...320/19.JPG
written by Susuit, March 16, 2009 19:42:13
Sabahfan, Ngam itu.
written by Changes, March 16, 2009 21:40:06
Say less DO MORE, just get out of the parliment house if you feel things are not RIGHT.When the sea tide comes inn like it did in ACHEH, it will take the HELL out
written by Pangkis Pangazou, March 16, 2009 22:16:53
Yes... and you Nazri will have your justified "reward" in due course. But i guess you don't have to worry if you don't have any skeletons in the closets... or do you... smilies/grin.gif
written by Good News, March 16, 2009 22:54:01
'who let the dog out'
written by merchant222, March 16, 2009 23:03:25
TO ALL MINISTERs, Use your BRAINs; that is you have any at all.

If not, then just SHADDUP and take your salary and 'LET THE COUNTRY ROT' like you fellas have been doing for the last 5 decades under BN rule.

Be warned that you will not live to survive the next ELECTION!
THE RAKYAT WILL REBEL! MCA, GERAKAN, MIC....got NO BALLs to tell your UMNO master what they do is Bloody Wrong? SCUMBAGs!
written by zachary, March 16, 2009 23:07:27
well, let us pray he will find it fair on judgment day when he faces his Maker.
written by merchant222, March 16, 2009 23:20:16
And one for the road, Nazri, you see the photo of your ****ing son ROMANCING in Foreign land where the MALAYsians you are so called 'FIGHTING' for is suffering here in our homeland?

PUI! You got the GUTs to even show your face in Parliament. This message goes out to all other SCUMs of BN Leaders whose children are enjoying life in
"OUTER-SPACE". Yeah, we have many photos in the e-mails and blogs to show your children's indecency abroad. Semi-Value's one oso got in lesbian footage.

Come-on, teach your own children how to behave before you want to teach the opposition how to do so! Don't you guys feel you should hide your faces for your childrens' HARAM act? We give up! You simply and obviously have 2 standards! {erhaps you should also tell all Malaysians that your son don't practice your faith and has been eating BACON every morning for his breakfast.

Wat about Kerismuddin? You want to tell the truth, NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH? You BN SCUMs think the RAKYAT is as stupid as ABC? THINK AGAIN how long and how FAR you SCUMs are going to play the political RHETORICs, especially come this UMNOputra assembly! MCA, GERAKAN and MIC...HOW long more are you SCUMs going to play our BACK-SIDEs? BURN in HELL, the time WILL COME!
written by Taiping60, March 16, 2009 23:32:15
Yes we cannot be sure Nazri is telling the truth
Yes we cannot be sure the speaker is telling the truth
Yes we cannot be sure Najib is telling the truth

What we can hope and pray is God will purnish Nazri, the speaker and Najib if they lied, and God will purnish the cruel murderer/s of Altantuya severely regardless of whether they acted directly or indirectly.
written by wood, March 17, 2009 00:08:04
Say what you like and do what you like. Thanks to you more rakyat are getting pissed by the day !
written by Kunta Kinte, March 17, 2009 00:12:23
clear cut bodekking. Hoping for a good post when Najib takes over. Sure can count on it, Nazri. Gobind will only become stronger and more popular from this. You got this one wrong, mate!
written by onnetline, March 17, 2009 00:32:03
Nasree, you're an S hole from Barisan Najis !
written by Tompios, March 17, 2009 01:06:15
Nazri..Nazri...setiap kali engkau bercakap...bau busuk terhidu di mana-mana. Pepatah Melayu mengatakan, "malu bertanya, sesat jalan"!! Gobind the son of Singh @ Singha (Lion) Raja Rimba, ingin bertanya kepada penghuni hutan rimbah, apakah penghuni hutan rimbah dalam jagaanya telah membunuh bidadari dari Kayangan. Itu saja? Bertanya salah tidak bertanya juga salah! Opps lupa, patutlah busuk, mulut Saiful pula dipakai bercakap!!
written by Ben, March 17, 2009 02:00:09
So I learnt a new phrase from nazi. Immunity in Parliament does not cover MPs for alleging murder but allows MPs to lie in Parliament. MPs can therefore exercise with impunity, to lie a thousand lies and make wild allegations and vulgarize the proceedings without any repercussions. Mr. speaker you have outdone yourself as far as partiality is concerned. May Allah break this bondage and free the slaves as the truth is revealed. May the punishment for the masters of bondage and their agents be swift and just. Amen
written by iceman_taft, March 17, 2009 02:05:50
Aiyah...who went and let this guy out of his kandang la?Now he has to go and open his mouth and bark!Bark!Bark! again.Hmmmm...do they even think before talking?Dear God,I hope that the truth and justice will prevail...let PR win all the states and korek back all the monstrosity that these people and their family has done to the hardworking rakyat of Malaysia.Amen!!
written by SamBall, March 17, 2009 03:37:02
Nazi is a bully dog; good for barking and protecting his master

"Who let the dogs out? woof woof woof woof"

The thing is this man is a dog in and out of parliament; and always will be a dog.

Who ordered Tuya killed? I hope the anjing will find out!
written by Atilla III, March 17, 2009 06:55:44
Nazi, what Gobind deserves is giving you a kick in the *****. BN thugs only know how to use their brute majority to silence any shit uncovered by PR MPs. If BN feels what he says is not true, why not let him explain himself and if he cannot do that, then I will support the suspension since the allegations are so serious and involve an incoming PM. This act of suspending him will only convince more malaysians of Najib's guilt !!
written by kingelvis, March 17, 2009 08:23:08
Gobind dares to speak for us and so does his father!
written by tengkolok, March 17, 2009 09:13:51
Nazri Aziz anjing yang mudah bertukar warnanya. Suka menjilat b###ot orang yang berkuasa!
written by lamakawan, March 17, 2009 11:50:06
I appeal to Nazri to let Najib defend himself. Give him a chance to refute allegations against him, be it in parliament or outside parliament. If you Nazri do not let najib defend himself, we can safely say you are acting in collaboration with Najib. And any accusations or allegations against Najib will become a fact.
written by cllim123, March 17, 2009 16:25:12
Nazri, you will also deserve your time of 25 years in Sungai Buloh penjara, where the Pakatan will rename the DOG POUND, to lock up all Umno corrupt scum dogs.
written by ROBERTNGTG, March 17, 2009 16:49:29
Gobind deserved what he got, says Nazri

AND THE RAKYAT AWAIT THE TIME TO GIVE U SCUMS WHAT U DESERVE