Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Raja adil raja disembah, raja zalim raja disanggah

Raja adil raja disembah, raja zalim raja disanggah PDF Print
Monday, 16 March 2009 10:12

Yes, we speak out against the Sultans -- we, who defend the Monarchy from its enemies. But we speak not because we are treacherous. We speak because we love the Monarchy and wish to save it from itself.

Malay customs and culture can be very complicating indeed, even for Malays themselves. From an early and impressionable age, Malays are taught that Allah is above all else and anything else comes second to Allah. Islam, therefore, must be the guiding light for all those who profess Islam as their religion.

However, in that same breath, Malays will say they are Malays first and all else second. This is certainly contradictory. Islam propagates non-race. Malays propagate Malay Nationalism. Each is incompatible with the other. How do you reconcile Islam with nationalism when Islam is opposed to nationalism and declares such concepts as haram (forbidden)?

Probably not a single Malay would be unaware of the Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat, Tun Perak and Melaka Sultan story. While almost all would agree on the storyline, the jury is out as to who is the hero and who is the villain in that story. Some view Hang Tuah as the hero and Hang Jebat as the villain. Others would view the Sultan as the villain, Hang Jebat as the hero, and Hang Tuah as being just plain stupid. However, while the argument is focused on just three personalities, very few even talk about Tun Perak, the most crucial player in this entire scenario, and whose role made whatever happened possible.

In other words, because Tun Perak defied the Sultan’s orders, Hang Jebat died and Hang Tuah lived. If, on the other hand, Tun Perak had followed the Sultan’s orders, then Hang Tuah would have died and Hang Jebat would have assassinated the Sultan. Tun Perak was the man who changed the course of history. But his role is very seldom discussed. Those most talked about are Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat and the Sultan of Melaka.

And this is what makes the Malays most complicating animals. Why are the Malays arguing about Hang Tuah and Hang Jebat and about who should be declared the hero and who the villain? Should not the focus of the Malays be on Tun Perak? Tun Perak defied the Sultan. Is he therefore a hero for daring to do so or is he a villain for not carrying out the Sultan’s orders?

The Malays would rather not tread into this most dicey territory. If Tun Perak were to be declared a hero then Hang Jebat would also become a hero since both were of the same mind that Hang Tuah should not be killed. If, on the other hand, Tun Perak were to be declared a villain for disobeying the Sultan’s orders, then Hang Jebat would also become a villain because he too opposed the Sultan on the issue of whether Hang Tuah should be killed.

This means Tun Perak’s status in the Malay mind -- whether he was a hero or a villain -- would also affect Hang Jebat’s status. Furthermore, how can Tun Perak be a villain even though he defied the Sultan’s orders when by doing so he actually saved the Sultan’s life? So this is something the Malays would rather not discuss.

Some members of my family are most upset that I wrote that open letter to Nizar, the ousted Pakatan Rakyat Menteri Besar of Perak. (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/18734/84/). They are of the opinion I have committed treason against the Sultan of Perak. No doubt the Sultan can’t order my execution like in the days of old. But I can certainly be hauled up on sedition charges, which is what I am already facing anyway.

My reply would be the same as Hang Jebat’s famous quotation: Raja adil Raja disembah, Raja zalim Raja disanggah. If Hang Jebat is a villain in the eyes of my family, then I suppose that too makes me a villain; so be it. But maybe even my own family does not know of my loyalty to the institution of the Monarchy, mainly because they remained silent and refused to surface more than 20 years ago during the 1980s Constitutional Crisis.

I said I am loyal to the institution of the Monarchy. This does mean I will also offer blind loyalty to the Monarchs. To the institution, yes! To the Monarchs, no! I will only be loyal to the Monarchs when they uphold the sanctity of the institution of the Monarchy and not otherwise. There is a difference.

I have been told I must offer a public apology to the Sultan of Perak as well as to the public at large for that open letter to Nizar. I’m afraid I can’t do that. And I can’t do that because I have earned, the hard way, my right to take the Monarchs to task on their errors and wrongdoings.

More than 20 years ago, the Monarchy came under attack from Umno. Most Malays; my family included; kept very silent. No one came forward to speak in defence of the Monarchy. I, however, wrote to the Selangor Palace and requested an audience.

The long and short of it all: I met the Royal Households of Selangor, Terengganu, Kedah and Perlis. I was not able to meet the Royal Household of Perak but word was sent back that although we were not able to personally meet I can take it that Perak was with us on the issue and will undoubtedly endorse the decision of the brother-Rulers.

The issue was simple. Umno was attacking the Monarchy and there was a danger Malaysia would be transformed into a Republic. Our aim was to find a solution on how to defend the Monarchy and ensure that it is not abolished, whereby all the Rulers would be forced off the throne.

I am not able to reveal details of the meetings and about what transpired. Suffice to say the Rulers agreed to the plan but they would have to leave it to us to implement. The Rulers can’t be seen as being involved in politics. It would be extremely dangerous to implicate the Rulers in any move to fight back as this may incur the wrath of Umno and doom the Monarchy for good.

Needless to say, if the plan backfires or we get caught, the Rulers will not be able to come to our aid. They would not even be able to admit that any meeting ever took place. We were entirely on our own. If it succeeds, the Rulers’ position would be secure. If it fails, we would have to take the fall, and a most heavy fall at that.

We then launched our counter-attacks. We did certain things to garner the support of the rakyat. Umno soon realised they could not get rid of the Rulers that easily and thereafter backed off and left the Rulers alone. But they had to create the impression they had won. So they introduced certain new ‘rules’ that gave an impression the Rulers have lost their immunity while leaving the Constitution intact. The recent developments in Perlis, Terengganu, Selangor and Perak prove the Rulers have lost nothing.

I made it very clear I was not doing this for the sake of the Rulers. I was doing it for the sake of the institution of the Monarchy. I did not wish to save the Rulers. I wished to save the Monarchy. And from thereon the Rulers had better learn how to behave, I added. The Rulers are their own worst enemies. It is their misconduct that allows Umno to attack them. If they behave then Umno would have nothing to use against them.

I also made it clear that any misconduct by one Ruler put all the Rulers at risk. Even if just one Ruler commits a crime, Umno would call for the blood of all the Rulers. We must, therefore, make sure that all Rulers behave themselves. And we shall attack any Ruler who misbehaves so that the entire institution of the Monarchy can be protected.

That was more than 20 years ago. The Rulers, then, were under attack. So they agreed that the Rulers should not be above criticism. And if any Ruler misbehaves then he should be taken to task. And he should be taken to task because what he does endangers not only himself but all Rulers as well.

Today, I hold the Rulers to what they agreed more than 20 years ago. 20 years ago the Rulers panicked when they thought their days were numbered. But we came forward to offer to save them. And we presented the plan and they agreed to it. And we, in turn, agreed that if anything adverse happens we would not implicate the Rulers but would instead take the fall even if it meant our deaths.

Today, I have been asked to make a public apology to the Sultan of Perak. But my family that wants me to apologise did not surface more than 20 years ago when we put our safety on the line in defence of the Monarchy.

I have earned my right to criticise the Rulers. I came to the defence of the Monarchy in its hour of need. The Rulers agreed that their position was under threat. And they agreed that we would implement certain plans to garner the support of the rakyat in our effort to ensure that the Monarchy remains intact and Malaysia will not get transformed into a Republic.

Yes, who is the villain? Was it Hang Jebat or Hang Tuah? Or maybe it was Tun Perak. Whatever it may be, the three were just acting in the service of the Sultan. But the Sultan forgets very easily. Those who serve him are condemned to death. But he who the Sultan condemns to death always resurfaces to defend him in his hour of need. And what would the villain be then? Would he still be a villain or would he be the Sultan’s saviour?

History has taught us nothing. Yes, we speak out against the Sultans -- we, who defend the Monarchy from its enemies. But we speak not because we are treacherous. We speak because we love the Monarchy and wish to save it from itself.

There are not many Monarchies left in this world. Even Australia wants to dispose of its Queen. About half the Monarchs live in Malaysia, which has ten. Should we stand by and do nothing and see the demise of the institution of the Monarchy? Or should we speak out and run the risk of treason in the interest of saving the Monarchy?

I chose to speak. I have earned that right to speak. But I do not speak the words of treason. I do not want to see the Republic of Malaysia replace the Constitutional Monarchy that we have now. But as Malaysia grows and our population exceeds 30 million in time to come, how can we stop the tide? And what if the tide turns into a Tsunami? Can a mere ten Monarchs resist the will of 30 million?

The Monarchs need to demonstrate it is the Monarchy of the rakyat -- Raja bersama rakyat. Raja adil Raja disembah, Raja zalim Raja disanggah. That was so 500 years ago. That is still so today. So let me play that most unwanted role of taking the Monarchs to task. But I do so only as a wakeup call. Yes, he who bells the cat becomes dinner for the day. But he suffers so that others can be protected. That is the fate of he who bells the cat.

Bendahara Paduka Raja Tun Perak (died 1498) was the fifth and most famous bendahara, a Malay rank similar to a prime minister, of the Sultanate of Malacca. He served under four sultans (Sultan Muzzafar Shah, Sultan Mansur Shah, Sultan Alauddin Riayat Shah and Sultan Mahmud Shah) from 1456 to 1498. Early in his life, Tun Perak was a soldier-statesman for Malaccan rulers. In 1445, he led the Malaccan army to victory by defeating Siamese invaders. As a result, he was made bendahara in 1456.

Tun Perak was the son of Malacca's first bendahara, Sri Wak Raja Tun Perpatih Besar. In 1445, he was appointed as Malacca's representative in Klang. Tun Perak was then appointed bendahara in 1456 after he upset the Siamese attack against Malacca. He stopped another Siamese invasion in 1456 as well.

Tun Perak was also instrumental in colonising Pahang, Terengganu, Johor, Riau, Lingga, Bengkalis, Karimon, Rokan, Siak, Kampar, Jambi, Inderagiri and Aru. The rulers of these governments converted to Islam due to Malaccan influence.

Tun Perak was very loyal towards the Malaccan Sultanate. When his son, Tun Besar, was killed by Sultan Mahmud Shah's son, Raja Muhammad, due to a misunderstanding, he did not seek revenge against the Sultan. Instead, he requested Raja Muhammad to be crowned elsewhere. The sultan honoured Tun Perak's request. Raja Muhammad was subsequently made a sultan in Pahang.

He died in 1498 and was replaced by his younger brother Tun Perpatih Putih. – by Wikipedia

References

1. Ahmad Fauzi bin Mohd Basri, Mohd Fo'ad bin Sakdan and Azami bin Man, 2004. Sejarah Tingkatan 1, Kuala Lumpur, DBP.

2. http://sejarahmalaysia.pnm.my/

Hang Tuah's illustrious career as an admiral or laksamana includes tales of his absolute and unfaltering loyalty to his Sultan, some of which are chronicled in Sejarah Melayu (the semi-historical Malay Annals) and Hikayat Hang Tuah (a romantic collection of tales involving Hang Tuah).

Hang Tuah became the Sultan's constant aide, accompanying him on official visits to foreign countries. On one such visit to Majapahit, Taming Sari, a famous Majapahit warrior, challenged Hang Tuah to a duel. After a brutal fight, Hang Tuah emerged the winner and the ruler of Majapahit bestowed upon him Taming Sari’s kris or weapon. The Taming Sari kris was named after its original owner, and was purported to be magical, empowering its owner with invincibility. It is said to be the source of Hang Tuah’s alleged supernatural abilities.

Hang Tuah also acted as the Sultan's ambassador, travelling on his Sultan's behalf to allied countries. Another story concerning Hang Tuah's legendary loyalty to the Sultan is found in the Hikayat Hang Tuah, and involves his visit to Inderaputa, in Pahang during one such voyage. The Sultan sent Hang Tuah to Pahang with the task of persuading the princess Tun Teja, who was already engaged, to become the Sultan's companion. Tun Teja fell under the impression that Hang Tuah had come to persuade her to marry him, not the Sultan, and agreed to elope with him to Melaka. It was only during the voyage home that Hang Tuah revealed his deception to Tun Teja.

The Hikayat Hang Tuah and Sejarah Melayu each carry different accounts of this incident. The Hikayat records that it was Hang Tuah who persuaded Tun Teja to elope with him, thus deceiving her. Sejarah Melayu, however, claims that it was another warrior, Hang Nadim, who deceived Tun Teja.

Perhaps the most famous story in which Hang Tuah is involved is his fight with his closest childhood companion, Hang Jebat. Hang Tuah's deep loyalty to and popularity with the Sultan led to rumours being circulated that Hang Tuah was having an illicit affair with one of the Sultan's concubines. The Sultan sentenced Hang Tuah to death without trial for the alleged offence. The death sentence was never carried out, however, because Hang Tuah's executioner, the Bendahara, went against the Sultan’s orders and hid Hang Tuah in a remote region of Melaka.

Believing that Hang Tuah was dead, murdered unjustly by the Sultan he served, Hang Jebat avenged his friend's death. Hang Jebat's revenge allegedly became a palace killing spree or furious rebellion against the Sultan (sources differ as to what actually occurred). It remains consistent, however, that Hang Jebat wreaked havoc onto the royal court, and the Sultan was unable to stop him, as none of the Sultan's warriors dared challenge the more ferocious and skilled Hang Jebat. The Bendahara then informed the Sultan that the only man able to stop Hang Jebat, Hang Tuah, was still alive. The Bendahara recalled Hang Tuah from his hiding place and the warrior was given full amnesty by the Sultan and instructed to kill Hang Jebat. After seven gruelling days of fighting, Hang Tuah was able to kill Hang Jebat.

It is notable that the two main sources of Hang Tuah's life differ, yet again, on the details of his life. According the Hikayat Hang Tuah, it was Hang Jebat who avenged his friend's death, only to be killed by the same friend. According to Sejarah Melayu, however, it was Hang Kasturi. The Sejarah Melayu is the more historical account, but the Hang Jebat story, as the more romantic tale, remains more popular. – by Wikipedia

Hang Jebat was the closest companion of the legendary Malay hero Hang Tuah. He is well known for his vengeful rebellion against the Malacca Sultan whom he served. After Hang Tuah was sentenced to death, Hang Jebat was conferred by the Sultan of Malacca with the Taming Sari, a sacred kris formerly used by Hang Tuah. Believing that Hang Tuah was unjustly murdered by the Sultan he served, Hang Jebat turned against the Sultan to avenge his friend's death. No one knew, however, except the Bendahara who went against the Sultans orders and hid Hang Tuah in a remote region of Malacca that he was still alive.

With the kris in his possession, Hang Jebat became invincible and there was not one person in the entire Malacca Empire who was capable of killing him. Hang Jebat's revenge had forced the Sultan of Malacca to abandon his palace. Jebat seduced the women of the palace and spent his days eating, drinking and sporting with them. All the warriors sent by the Sultan to challenge him were killed. Even his friend Hang Kasturi was driven out when Hang Jebat realised that the other man hadn't come to join him in merrymaking.

After learning from the Bendahara that Hang Tuah was still alive, The Sultan had him recall Hang Tuah and gave Hang Tuah full amnesty. The Sultan then ordered Hang Tuah to kill Hang Jebat. Being unquestioningly loyal to the Sultan, Hang Tuah obeyed the Sultans biddings and went on to challenge Hang Jebat. After fighting in a battle that lasted seven days, Hang Tuah eventually managed to reclaim the Taming Sari by tricking Hang Jebat. Although stabbed by Tuah, Hang Jebat bandaged his wounds and ran amok in the city square for three days, killing thousands of people before retreating to Tuah's house and dying in his friend's arms.

Hang Jebat's famous quote was "Raja adil raja disembah, raja zalim raja disanggah" which literally means: "A fair king is a king to obey, a cruel king is a king to fight against".

After the fight, The Sultan ordered his men to tear down, burn and throw the ashes of the house into the sea. Two months later, when a lady of the Bendahara's retinue gave birth to Jebat's son, the sultan ordered Hang Tuah to throw the baby into the sea as well. Instead, the laksamana entrusted the child, Hang Kadim, to the Bendahara. – by Wikipedia

Comments (45)Add Comment
written by timmy, March 16, 2009 10:30:11
yes rpk, with the other 5 important institutions (EC, MACC, police, judiaciary and government) suffering from bad public perception and can't function properly, the country automatically can be classified as very ill. In short, we can just say our country has stop working.

And with current leadership allowed to be continue, the negative public perception towards these 5 institutions are just going to erode more and more. Sad to say, perhaps our country is the only country where the 5 most important person is perceived negatively, EC chief, IGP, AG, DPM and PM.
agree 192
written by Littlebird, March 16, 2009 10:39:22
Just one word: If Hang Tuah was truly loyal to the Sultan then he shouldn’t have hidden or allowed to be hidden to save his life but should have committed suicide or at least go back to the Sultan and expose the Bendehara who went against the Sultan’s order to save him. That’s what I call true loyalty. But I guess when it comes to one’s own life rules can be modified and reinterpreted.
written by cahaya, March 16, 2009 10:56:22
It could be helpful to differentiate between true Malays (several generations of Malay heritage and ancestry) and others who call themselves “Malays”. The first group are taught from a young age about their roots and Malay values. The other group are ‘kurang ajar’ thus their bad behaviour in public (lack of respect towards their elders whether Malays or non Malays).
written by truthbespoken, March 16, 2009 11:03:54
No matter what is said, if Malays are still bent on propagating Malay Nationalism after Malaysia had achieved her Independence for 52 years, it's national treachery of the highest order! It’s off-key politics!

What now can be more important than MALAYSIAN NATIONALISM for the whole Nation to move forward as one? Without unity and a Malaysian soul, Malaysia's fate is bound for degeneration!

Let's hope the Rulers are not supporters of this group of diehard 'Malay Nationalists' with an adverse mindset in our Independent multi-racial country. Woe befalls Malaysia if they are!
written by ibabonma, March 16, 2009 11:07:53
The royalties have only themselves to blame for while they are wearing the crowns, they still want to go into business and politic, when they should not be involved in both.
written by mick_err_stan, March 16, 2009 11:09:52
"The Monarchs need to demonstrate it is the Monarchy of the rakyat"

Rakyat = Malaysian = Malay, Chinese, Indians and others born in Malaysia and holds Malaysian Identity card.

written by panca, March 16, 2009 11:20:32
Bro Pete,

Two words, you are a man of principles and substance.

Yes for the good of all, The Monarchy of the People.
written by DatoSeri, March 16, 2009 11:21:41
Completely agree with you RPK...

There still are people cannot make out how corrupt UMNO is. With all the happenings from utilising all government apparatus to judiciary, NOW to using royalty, to their personal/political agendas.

And, my opinion remains, sultan must stay impartial and not taking sides. The episode in Perak now linking to royal family's interests being blackmailed for a favourable outcome to one particular side, true or imaginative, is too late to be proven otherwise... and so the respect is gone, too.
written by Rozlan, March 16, 2009 11:50:06
RPK, the Tuankus look at at us as if we are the rebelious buggers and UMNo are the one who stand by them all the time.It seem The Tuankus let their good names to be use at UMNO whim and fancies..Cant blame UMNo also.They just take advantage..
written by DezMalaysia, March 16, 2009 11:52:44
Chinese will more likely to admire & support the style (brotherhood spirits / semangat setia kawan & upright principles) of Hang Jebat instead of blind loyalty without differentiating right or wrong.
written by Susanna, March 16, 2009 11:55:43
In ancient China, many trusted officials like Tun Perak and even maids risk their lives to save the babies of dying dynasties. Why do they bother? Because they love their kings and were doing everything possible to ensure that there is a line of continuity. Raja Petra is risking his life to save others. Some even non deserving as shown by histories of Chinese dynasties whose kings were cruel and yet there were remnant of loyal people still trying to save the lives of their offspring when their dynasty fell. If more royal families are like Raja Petra, Sultan Mizan (our current agong), Sultan Kedah and Sultan Selangor who have made great impact to their rakyat that cause even other State rakyat to admire and respect them, they can be sure the institution of monarchy will last a long way. Sultan of Perak used to be counted as one in that high profile respected Sultans. Unfortunately, don't know what happened to him to bend that much and now he has to earn back his people's respect. I wish I have a loyal friend like Hang Jebat who will die for his friends who are wrongfully wronged and seek justice for them.
written by malaysianohope, March 16, 2009 12:03:47
Abang,
We share your frustrations & laments about certain Rulers, about not being Rakyat centric but I do admire your stand. You are certainly spot on the analogy with Hang Jebat where he uttered the quote: "A fair king is a king to obey, a cruel king is a king to fight against". In the end by their selfish actions or inactions the Institution may be the victim.
written by educationist, March 16, 2009 13:02:46
I have commented on the ex lord president and the UMNOputras on the basis that as a citizen of our country I have every right to voice my opinion.
I make no claim to be representative of any group except that I speak from the heart, for what I feel is fair, just and democractic.
I am , of course very gratified that RPK has chosen to stand with the rakyat so that we can have a fair king 'untuk disembah'.
written by BennyG, March 16, 2009 13:17:41
Perception of a lot of Rakyat is that the Monarchy could not stop the plundering of Umno. Even worse, the Monarchy could be threatened by Umno at any time Umno wishes.
written by wongnoball, March 16, 2009 14:13:09
We Judge EACH Sultan Not by their Legacy, Skin but BY THE CHARACTER OF THE PERSON. I will also Not Lay down my life to DEFEND A CORRUPT, Murderous and Illegal Sultan. The OPPOSITE is also true in that I will Lay down my LIFE to defend a RIGHTEOUS, HUMBLE and FAIR Sultan under attack from regim kejam Ganas UMNO. In short for a Better Malaysia, Regim UMNO must Go. Otherwise without a free media, judiciary, law and order there is no hope for Malaysia. We continue the Legacy of LIES and Damn Lies!

It does bother me that without any annals, written facts....just here say, Myths, some objects, the whole Ke-Sultanan is NOT Credible. Everything in Malaysia starts with Parameswara MEMELUK AGAMA Islam.....so that those racist Bigots UMNO can claim supremacy of Islam and Malay.

Prior to that have malays consider what religion and nationlity was all these people?? Have malays considered that Orang Asli was in Malaysia Prior to Parameswara??

2ndly If Hang Li Poh came with her brothers Hang Jebat, Tuah, Lekiu, Kasturi as Merchants & Mecernary. Possible after Admiral Cheng Ho came to trade and found source of Spices. It does prove that Chinese was in Malaysia way before malays came. Malay Sultan saw such a well dress lass, thought she was a beautiful Princess(which may be in chinese eyes). Quickly married her and she too memeluk agama Islam(so the malaysian education systems try to brain wash us to belief)! ....How can Sultan claim to be 100% pure malays and yet not speak out against Racism in Malaysia?

51 years and no Sultan really spoke out against Racism of regim kejam ganas UMNO-BN policies....Please don't give us this Script that each time UMNO prepares a script for Sultan to read and he MUST Read! You mean we have NOOB Sultan??

We the Rakyat NOW Give the Sultan to speak their MIND Against Racism, Freedom of Religion, Corruption, Freedom of Press, Freedom from ISA and to use the ARMY to Obliterate UMNO-BN Forever for a Better Malaysia. Don't make us wait another 51 years!
written by A MI, March 16, 2009 14:57:44
we all know what happened to "mighty" Firaun...so....
written by clusco, March 16, 2009 14:59:41
Penuh dengan tersurat dan tersirat...

Bukan saja untuk rakyat membaca dan memahami malah untuk kaum kerabat RPK jua..
written by Abajawi, March 16, 2009 15:32:16
YM RPK,
Please just tell one thing: Malays are Muslims in Malaysia. They are followers of Prophet Muhammad (SAW). Malay rulers are supposedly heads of Islam in their own states. They are referred to Duli Yang Maha Mulia (DYMM for short). Even the Prophet is not given this honorific, but are often referred to as merely our 'Penghulu'. You know what a penghulu is in the Malaysian context!

Many Malay ulama argue that 'Yang Maha Mulia' is reserved for Allah the supreme being. Three of the 99 names have 'yang maha mulia' as their common meaning, i.e. Al-Karim, Al-Majiid, and Al-Maajid.

So, are the Malays right in using the DYMM for their sultan/raja? I know some ppl think this as trivial; but as Muslims, we want to do the right thing. This world is only a stopping place to gather provisions for a very, very long journey. We don't want unwanted baggage.
written by Richy, March 16, 2009 15:53:49
The truth is, rulers in Malaysia are not so pertinent to the day to day life of Malaysians. Nevertheless the Asian values that we have been upholding rather make us to be loyal and respectful to them. But we do so because the palace does not meddle with our (people) choice of leader and government at least until Perak incident.
However the recent sacking of Perak menteri besar shows there is a direct invasion of palace into the life of rakyat. So, like you have said RPK, when raja does something that directly affects the livelihood of Malaysians, this Malay saying will surface “Raja adil raja disembah, raja zalim raja disanggah".
Our wish is royals remain highly impartial and if at all they involve it would be in the utmost interest of public, not political parties.
written by malgal, March 16, 2009 16:03:04
Hang Tuah and his merry band of warriors had chinese ancestry according to a learned source, they came to malacca as part of the royal retinue of princess hang li po.

written by johntyc, March 16, 2009 16:25:46
Hope HRHs listening.
written by Admiral Tojo, March 16, 2009 16:48:11
YES I hope HRHs are listening. You have the Military Sir! Just use it.
written by hellosunshine, March 16, 2009 17:23:40
Whatever Tun Perak and gang did in their days were for 'yee hei' (brotherhood), king and country but the soon to be anointed present day 'Tun Berak' and his merry gang of thieves are for me, myself and I. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Joe, March 16, 2009 17:33:53
My personal take on the Monarchy is that we should have a monarchy, and we should support it. We shouldnt become a republic. A Monarchy gives a country character.
written by *********, March 16, 2009 17:52:25
The Monarchy must remain ceremonial and nothing else. Politics is a dirty business, so please don't get the Monarchy and religion to be mixed with politics...More http://*********.********.com
written by kenny, March 16, 2009 17:55:43
RPK, just like all of us, definitely knows what's right or wrong.

"Why are the Malays arguing about Hang Tuah and Hang Jebat and about who should be declared the hero and who the villain? Should not the focus of the Malays be on Tun Perak? Tun Perak defied the Sultan. Is he therefore a hero for daring to do so or is he a villain for not carrying out the Sultan’s orders?"

My take is that it's not so much about who the hero or villain was. It's simply about what was right or wrong. In politics, in life or in whatever, we must reject the funny part where some people claim that there is no right or wrong.

Based on the article above, I would venture to say that all 3, i.e. Tun Perak, Hang Tuah and Hang Jebat were right in their own way. From another viewpoint, they were all victims of circumstances. Something must be very wrong when one could be killed for being right. So what actually was wrong? Was it the illogical powers vested on some mortal?

Even the two most powerful persons on earth right now, Presidents Obama and Hu Jin Tao, have to do things right; otherwise, their positions will end with the world. And for us, we only have to talk about our tiny but beloved Malaysia, where real power belongs to the people!

The people, including the sultans, must always defend what is right to avoid more wrongs.
written by Zym Zym, March 16, 2009 20:15:38
Yes, Islam propagates non-race but Islam creates division; the believers and the kafirs. Anyone may argue till the sky turns red about the greatness of Islam but the fact is, it doesn't unite the humanity at all. Sadly, it only further divide. What a shame.
written by timmy, March 16, 2009 20:57:14

I re-read your letter to Nizar to retrace one of lines that captured my attention and renew my hope:

"I speak as a Royal but speak for the Rakyat. And rest assured there are many other Royals who share my view."

With your article today, does this line still hold water?
Thanks.
written by apa jadi, March 16, 2009 21:21:55
I hate to meddle into this monarchy issue. But reading your article, I feel that you have been under tremendous pressure from members of your family over the letter. As such you debouch the x-file you kept for 20 years.

Look at the matter the other way, should you have kept quite over the attack on the Monarchy then, what would the scenario be like now? Malaysia would have been cleared of the monarchs, and a Republic by now. Good and Bad to consider.

The good thing is, will UMNO still use the monarch as a tool to fall back to in situation of adversity against them? Would they have the chance to chant alibi of PR's treasons?

The bad things is, at the past development have shown us, UMNO will have the coffer at their wish. The nation may have turned into Myanmar by now. The road to democracy may have set 100 years back into the future.

You served your purpose in the path of history. Now, you may be just an unwanted tattered shoes to these monarchs. Wearing you is a pain, as it hurts walking with torn soles. So be it, history will take its course. Lets see if we are heading for the better or worse.
written by Rozlan, March 16, 2009 22:01:34
RPK

I think the best analogy for Perak political situation was about Tun Mutahir,one of the last efficient and responsible Prime Minister of Malacca empire.He kept Malacca Empire intact,while Sultan Mahmud busily entertaining himself with palace luxuries and neglect governing the empire..What did Tun Mutahir got in return? Naik pangkat?Naik gaji?.No...He got a six feet deep hole in the ground.He was accused by corrupt palace officials for trying to rebel against the King..

So what did Ahmad Nizar got for being honest and uncorrupt? No prize for correct answer
written by tokbahaman, March 16, 2009 22:02:54
I said I am loyal to the institution of the Monarchy. This does mean I will also offer blind loyalty to the Monarchs. To the institution, yes! To the Monarchs, no! I will only be loyal to the Monarchs when they uphold the sanctity of the institution of the Monarchy and not otherwise. There is a difference.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
YM Raja Petra. I share your view. I am Hang Tuah as far as defending the Institution of Contitutional Monarchy is concerned.I am Hang Jebat if the Monarch veers.

written by Taiping60, March 16, 2009 22:13:36
What happened 500 years should teach us a good lesson?

Sultan sentenced Hang Tuah to death, Tun Perak did not carry out the death sentence on Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat revenged Hang Tuah death and Hang Tuah summon to kill Hang Jebat.

What can we learn from all the above. There should be a fair trail conducted so that people will know the truth. If Hang Tuah was guilty of having an illicit affair with one of the Sultan's concubines, people will be more acceptable to the decision if there was a fair trail. Maybe Tun Perak will not go against the Sultan will and Hang Jebat will not revoked.

If Hang Tuah was not guilty then no action will be taken against Hang Tuah and therefore Tun Perak did not have to act against the Sultan and Hang Jebat will not have to do anything.

Was the sentence overkill for the type of crime accused. Did the Sultan even consider the services Hang Tuah have rendered? In the case of Tun Perak, could it be that he directed Hang Tuah into hiding because he believe Hang Tuah was innocent or he felt the sentence was too heavy for the crime Hang Tuah committed? Could it be Tun Perak was acting out of love for his Sultan or state for not sentencing Hang Tuah as directed by the Sultan? Could he be waiting for the right moment to appeal to Sultan to forgive Hang Tuah like he did 500 years ago? As for Hang Tuah, he too like many of us who love our friends and will do anything to help them. Is he guilty for that? Maybe taking the law into his hand is wrong but why didn't Tun Perak persuade Hang Jebat since he knows the truth? Could it be Tun Perak dislike for Hang Jebat and therefore made not attempt to help him? What about Hang Tuah, is it his loyalty is more for the sultan than his friend? Could it be Hang Tuah was never told why Hang Jebat acted on his revenge?

As you can see, a small matter involving merely four people can lead to a change in the history. There are many what if but we can leave to discuss this in another time.

I suppose in the era when the Sultan has absolute power, what differiate a good sultan to an average or bad is his ablility to control his emotion and rule the country or state is a fair manner. In current day when Sultan no longer having such power, it is more important for them to behave.

I suppose in this context, Raja Petra is our modern day's Tun Perak. He is doing for his love of the country. He does not hesitate to do so in spite that his action may lead him to a lot of troubles including from the very institution he was trying to save.

Raja Petra, Malaysians salute you for your bravery, for your unselfish act, for willing to stand up against those who were wrong, for daring to speak out and for your sacrifice. We wish all the politicians out there have 10% of what you have, this country will be a better place to stay.

To all Malaysians,

Now that Raja Petra has lead the way, please do not let him fight a lonely battle. Please do not walk away from him. Let support him all the way and if anyone or anybody wrongly acted against him including the Sultans, Government and the Oppositions, we Malaysians should all rally behind Raja Petra. Our hope for this country.
written by justice6, March 16, 2009 22:57:38
..and now our MB Nizar is not granted the audience with the sultan... clear cut which side who is on...
written by singam, March 16, 2009 23:27:07
There is one truth the non-Malays of Malaysia have to come to terms with.

So long as the Raja-raja Melayu remain in place, no matter how ceremonial their role is, this land will be considered Tanah Melayu.

If the monarchy is abolished, Malay politicians will do everything they can to control political power so that this land remains Tanah Melayu.

So abolishing of the monarchy will simply lock us into a racial divide. There will be no more possibility of a Bangsa Malaysia. But if the monarchy is maintained, if Malaysians of every race accept the role of the Raja-raja, and if all race-based socio-political policies are dismantled, we can look towards a possible future where race no longer matters.

Which way should we go?
written by apa jadi, March 17, 2009 00:19:35
Rozlan,
Your analogy of Tun Mutahir (oops,not Mahatail) brought back some of the lost memories of the Malacca Sultanate. Dig further, you are finding the traces of the fall of Malacca Sultanate coming alive at this very moment.
written by alfchuah, March 17, 2009 07:17:28
First of all, the Sultanate of Melaka and a lot of Malay history are not 100% accurate due to political correctness and public perception of the Malay race.

Second of all, whoever eats chillies feels hot & spicy! Sultans, governmental figures, celebrities must be open to criticism. The public owns them. Otherwise, don't become a public figure.
written by Running Sardines, March 17, 2009 09:48:08
Dear Pete

The Rulers are at a crossroad now ... this is the time HRHs are also tested as ordinary humans ... sacrifice for the rakyat or sacrifice the rakyat ... and again this depends on the values each of them has ... just like we voters, vote for changes that might come with uncertainties or vote for the same old thing but later all will be lost ...
written by ROBERTNGTG, March 17, 2009 11:41:29
Yes, we speak out against the Sultans -- we, who defend the Monarchy from its enemies. But we speak not because we are treacherous. We speak because we love the Monarchy and wish to save it from itself.

RPK, U TOOK THE WORDS RIGHT OUT OF OUR MOUTHS. COULDN'T HV PUT IT BETTER.
YR HEART IS OF PURE GOLD, UNTAINTED BY ANY DECEIT OR CORRUPTION AND IF THE ROYALS FAIL TO TAKE HEED, THEN THIS NATION IS DONE FOR. U SPEAK WITH THE HEART OF A LION KING WHO FEARS NONE.
written by antiilluminati, March 17, 2009 12:34:24
If i am not mistaken you have won many hearts of the Malaysian people.

May GOD bless & family you always.
written by teo siew chin, March 17, 2009 12:58:23
Dear Yang Mulia Raja Petra

For a long time, you are always fighting for truth, justice, end of corruption without fear or favour, without promises of recognition or reward.
Yours have been a relatively lonely battle but a definitely painful one hurting not only yourself but your family and loved ones.
And your cause is for the love of the nation, for the love of us - the ungrateful ignorant rakyat!
Will you ever just let it be?
Do you not tire from this quest that is destined to be never-ending?
"Some are destined to succeed, some are determined to succeed."
written by longjaafar, March 17, 2009 15:16:05
A very good piece. Recently, the Perak state govt gave out 10000 lapel badges with a picture of the sultan, to be worn by govt officers. This, I think, is the height of hypocrisy.
written by NEP, March 17, 2009 16:00:19
Oh ini bermakna dulu, sultan itu adalah tidak bijaksana kerana baginda tidak memeriksa semua perkara secara terperinci sebelum membuat sesuatu tindakan. Memanglah sultan itu tidak disukai oleh rakyat. Saya berharap zaman kini, peristiwa ini boleh menjadikan teladan kepada kita semua.
written by alan cheong, March 18, 2009 10:59:15
we speak out because we love JUSTICE.
we speak out because JUSTICE must be SEEN to be done.
we speak out because MERCY must not be neglected.

NOT because we love the monarchy.
as far as the man in the street is concerned, the monarchy = ONE HUGE PARASITE.
written by minds, March 20, 2009 22:54:23
Hikayat Hang Tuah? All the story already change after 500 years.Who actualy Hang Tuah(Hang Tu Ah),Hang Jebat(Hang Ji Pat),Hang Lekir (Hang Ler Kia),and so on.............?and Who is Hang Li Po????????????????? of Malacca????????????????????