Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow High achievers want Science and Maths taught in English

High achievers want Science and Maths taught in English PDF Print
Sunday, 15 March 2009 23:00

(The Borneo Post) - SMK Kapit No. 2’s seven top achievers in last year’s Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) hope the teaching of Mathematics and Science will continue in English.

Avina Melia Balai (12As), Sonia Sandah (11As, 1B), Mading Nyalang (10As, 2Bs), Dura Nyambong (9As, 1B, 1C, 1D), Kiumman Puso (6As, 2Bs, 2Cs), Grace Dema Eli (6As, 1B, 1C) and Seni Empangau (5As, 1B, 1C) were among the 21 top SPM candidates from the Kapit Division.

When met at the school, all seven girls said they enjoyed learning Mathematics and Science in English because they felt it made the subjects easier to understand.

Responding to media reports of organisations calling for the government to abolish teaching Science and Mathematics in English, the girls said the issue had been politicised.

“We are Ibans, it doesn’t mean that by learning Bahasa Malaysia or English, we forget about our mother tongue – Bahasa Iban. Nowadays in this competitive world, the more language one know, the better, especially for us living in a multi-racial society.

“We call on the government, the Education Ministry, to be firm on its stand.

“Don’t give in to these groups of people, who are so called champions for education. The government has made the right move to introduce English as the medium of instruction for Science and Mathematics because it is an international language,” said Avina.

“The public shouldn’t waste time arguing on the subject any more. Adults should spend more energy working productively. Teaching Science and Mathematics in English or mother tongue should best be left to us – we are the students and we know best what is good or bad for us and our future,” said Sonia.

“Maybe it is time the government listen to our voices, we are disappointed with the argument. Why not let us, the students decide what is best for us,” she added.

To improve their command of English, Kiumman and Seni said they simply read more storybooks written in English and surf the Internet.

Last year, 278 candidates from SMK Kapit No. 2 sat for SPM and 92.54 per cent of them passed.

Overall in the Kapit Division, six schools entered a total of 1341 SPM candidates and the average school pass rate was 93.54 per cent.

written by PAKRAK, March 15, 2009 23:13:49
Since the BN govt. is still adamant in using ISA....just ISA the next person or group who brings up this issue again. It is politically motivated.
written by cheemengwong, March 16, 2009 00:22:27
English language cannot be used in Malaysia becos not many Malay students can speak, read or write English. So how?

Continue to use BM but even the Ministers use BM mixed with English. Many are now confused and think English language is the same as Bahasa Malaysia because so many Englih words are used in Bahasa Malaysia.

written by Darth Vader, March 16, 2009 00:44:43
Sunday March 15, 2009
Mr Likeable cashing in on charm
By JOCELINE TAN and SA'ODAH ELIAS

Are you upset when people say your proficiency in English is not so good?

It doesn’t matter to me, I am not sensitive. It is not so bad.

this goons cant command good english and be expected to represent Malaysia IF he ever becomes the DPM.

Goons, please continue NOT to master the English language. We will be the laughing stock of the world!!!! Even the people of China are now realising the importance of English and here we have bunch of morons saying otherwise.

I was in shanghai just last week and realised that even Mat Salleh speaks fluent Mandarin!!!.

written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, March 16, 2009 00:58:48
Do such comments from these students count for our Ministry of Education's decision?

The teaching of Math and Science may soon be back in BM, as recently reported.

Who really cares what these high achievers think? The Minister or the Ministry of Education? Unlikely!

http://proud2bmalaysian.******...ert-to-bm/
written by honeylemon, March 16, 2009 04:11:09
MCA controlled newspaper, The Star did not mention about Nik Nur Madihah.
Do they think that they live in Shanghai?
Clear racist.
written by apasalahku, March 16, 2009 04:21:17
damn sohai
written by Qcumber, March 16, 2009 07:22:57
high achievers? if you are like adik nur madihah from sekolah agama rakyat maahad muhammadi in kelantan, who got 19A1 and 1A2 and dreams of studying physics...then you can be called high achievers.

So who said students from rural areas cannot catch up with PPSMI? If Nur madihah, a fisherman's daughter can do it, why can't anybody else?

written by expat70, March 16, 2009 08:35:22
Wonder has an independent survey been done on the acheivements of the rural kids on how well they cope in maths and science using either BM or their mother tongue.

Being nationalistis is one thing but our future generation must be confident and competent in facing fierce competitions from a globalized world.

written by Democrats, March 16, 2009 10:26:37
Even 17year olds are smarter than our politicians and NGO leaders.....

Only the weak are afraid of challenges and the inferiors develops paranoia that their language which is spoken by only 26 million people will be drained if they learn other language....

Yet, a glance through the UTUSAN paper today, you see this so called "MALAY CHAMPION paper using words like "Interbiu Eklusif" on their caption lines. What's so MALAY about it? Whatever happen to words like "temuduga" or "khusus". Ashame of your own language???
written by NickChan, March 16, 2009 13:49:54
Teaching Math&Sciences in english "may" help students. But look at our SPM standard of English subject - Laughable !
written by Sutha, March 17, 2009 01:37:33
High achievers want Science and Maths taught in English.....
Low achievers want Science and Maths taught in Bahasa Melayu.

What else could low achievers think!