Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Islam condemns racial segregation of Muslims

Islam condemns racial segregation of Muslims PDF Print
Sunday, 15 March 2009 10:11

Here we will dissect the teaching of Islam in local governmental schools. A must read article on racism in Malaysia. My question is to our Muslims-Malay brothers and sisters: Are you pro-racism?

Written by Kazi Mahmood

Islam has been taught in Malaysian schools for generations. In the early 1990's when I set foot in Malaysia, I was given a clear picture how the primary schools virtually imposed the Malay version of Islam on the non-Bumi's. Decades on, the same scenario is at hand and the worst is yet to come if you were to believe me. I faced many non-Muslims hence non-Bumis in general who said they were angered and even disgusted by the informal way they were taught how Islam is better than their faith. They said this was unnatural as it meant they were in the wrong while Muslims were in the right to be followers of Islam. That was in 1992, at Brickfields where I use to share an office with a bunch of guys who ended up being bankrupt, siphoning my money in the process! Well, its normal in Malaysia, said many foreigners to me.

Since this article is more about Islam and teachings of Islam, let me tell you a more recent story. In 2008, a young Italian gentleman landed in Malaysia and went straight to Penang where he wanted to visit his online, Internet girl friend. Indeed she was a Malay girl but the difference here is that she was of another breed and did not seem to me to be from the Area 51 of specially fitted classes in Universities that were restricted for Malays only.

written by imanj, March 15, 2009 10:50:36
The common thing that happens to anyone non-malay in Malaysia,wanting to embrace Islam,is you have become MALAY...And then the trouble begins,some Malays become offended,not realising they actually impose the race,through religion to new converts,and they are others who run down others of different religions into the ground.

Islam,a religion betowed upon Prophet Mohammad,an Arab,if anything,wouldn't one take on the personality of an Arab when converting?!

My comments,not to run down anyone,but when converting as a muslim,and eventually marrying where my soon-to-be spouse,also converted,we have been put through an identity crisis,ever since..And after my baby was born,it seem natural for people to think she was a Malay.!
How and when,after becoming muslims,did we become Malay? How and when,after my baby was born,did she become Malay?

I hope people of religion would search into the insight of one's religion,and know what are the true teachings of "GOD" from the beginning of time..It would help to if others don't impose what isn't and never was part of the religion.

All i see our future as a family,as muslims in Malaysia,is that it's so bleak..We have adopted the sentiment of we don't belong to any race,but respect the race we were born to,and that we aren't confused about the teachings of "'THE HOLY KORAN",and that our daughter is growing up with all the guidance,to never ever emulate a racist attitude..!

The world will soon choose to destroy itself,through conceited,pretentious arrogance.
written by Tompios, March 15, 2009 10:56:09
smilies/grin.gif corec correct korek!! "my religion is the right religion, your religion is no-right. My religion is the best religion and for sure will send you to heaven. Once you embrace yourself to my religion, you will go to heaven. The 'dajal' will never touch you. Why my religion is good because my father, mother, religion teachers and my holy books told me so." What a myopic!! childish statement. Everyone has opinion about something. According to me, M2today is one of the best solution to get fresh information but according to you, we might be in different!! How funny most of Malaysians defend their religion by parroting what people have told them. Academically, this kind of argument sound funny!!
written by Ali Cordoba, March 15, 2009 13:19:23
Enough is enough. Take the example of Indonesia. There is no affirmative action to 'help' Malays or Javanese and yet the people of Indonesia can survive.

There should be a campaign by Malaysians of all faith to stop racism in Malaysia. Say NO TO RACISM then maybe Malaysia will be blessed!
written by Milo, March 15, 2009 13:42:16
Protestant: Jesus is the only way
Muslim: That has changed, our revelation is the latest
Mormon: Nope! Our revelation is even newer. Jesus came to America and told us our Book of Mormon is correct version
Roman Catholic: So what? We are still the biggest organisation representing God.
Jews: All copycats, like pirated DVDs
Hindu: Mine is much older, so all copied mine
Taoist: No right, no wrong - just yin and yang
Confucianist: Can we have a little respect here?
Jain: Argue all you want, but don't kill anything, including me
Evolutionist: We evolved from a common source, so has religion
Atheist: Where is the evidence?
Geneticist: It is in the genes! Religion is coded somewhere in human's double helix
Buddhist: Let's meditate and find the real truth

Syed Hamid: We must legislate to control sensitive discussions
Najib: Yes, do it before it EXPLODES!
Gobind Singh: Ah ha! Did you just mentioned 'explode'?
IGP: Don't believe in rumour!
Raja Petra: Believe anything you like, as long as it is not ISA
Lim Kit Siang: Yam Seng to that!
Anwar: Okay, let's change the government
Haji Nik Aziz: Better still, an Islamic State
Karpal Singh: Over my death body
Dr. M: No need, we already call ours an Islamic State over your living body.
Ayah Pin: Why not a new religion and enjoy tea together?
Pak Lah: I have a new vision - an Islamic Corridor!
written by sydput, March 15, 2009 15:01:49
I thought islam cannot condemn as it is a non-entity.
Shouldn't it be "God condemns racial segregation?"
written by panca, March 15, 2009 16:01:26
Milo,

Cheers but with non-alcoholic drinks! smilies/grin.gif
written by Milo, March 15, 2009 17:59:07
The religious: We are drinking because alcohol is sinful
Other non-alcoholics: We are drinking because alcohol affects health
The alcoholics: We are drinking to help boast the economy
The businessman: We are drinking because we need to drown our sorrow
The bankers: We drink because the alcohol companies are our esteemed customers
The BN politicians: We need the voters to drink alcohol so that they will not side with PAS
The PR politicians: We need both drinkers and non-drinkers to keep the religious and non-religious in balance.
written by educationist, March 15, 2009 19:25:48
Hmm.. this is an interesting take to the issue.
I never realised the UMNOputras also classified non Malay Muslims separately.
Wonder if any Malay Muslim will take up the challenge posed by the writer?
written by densemy, March 15, 2009 21:24:56
Milo... he must have been a Malaysian educated Geneticist
written by babihutan, March 15, 2009 21:53:23
Show me a good example of "good islamic country"?
The answer is :- NO.
Why huh? We all know why, just that we can not openly talk about it, right?
written by Awaken64, March 15, 2009 22:27:22
The thought of segregation among the ummah shows the greed,power and hatred of politician. Their objective is to dominate. The Tun Mamak led by with draconian grip yet begs for all to acknowledge his Malay-ness rather than Malayee status.

It is nice to see Malays realise where they were misled by these sinister,immoral leaders.

The next course is of course to look into unity but PR it is over a year now and the grassroot effort to have unity among racial divide is yet to commence. There are NO excuses this should BE YOUR FIRST STEP WITH SIMPLE ACTIVITIES IN ALL CONSTITUENCIES.... A SUKAN RAKYAT WITH INTERACIAL PARTICIPATION ETCHED IN THE RULES of participation.

Thus you will have everyone making contact and networking to integrate.... isn't this now our OBJECTIVE TOWARDS BURYING THE PAST
written by pedagogical, March 15, 2009 23:44:17
On a different topic, it's refreshing to know that there are malays other than being malay muslims. Do check out these sites: http://evan.tedfox.com/pages/a...christian/ & http://1flock1shepherd.********.com/
written by tino_chan1988, March 16, 2009 09:56:01
Malaysia boleh!

Politicizing religion in order to wield power and wealth.

Malaysia boleh!