Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MAIS Wants Agnes Monica's Song Declared Haram

MAIS Wants Agnes Monica's Song Declared Haram PDF Print
Friday, 13 March 2009 23:57

The Selengor Islamic Council (MAIS) wants action to be taken to declare haram an Indonesian song entitled Allah Peduli (Allah Cares) because its lyrics, among other things, says "...sebab Allah Yesusku mengerti (...because my Allah Jesus is meaningful)."

MAIS chairman Datuk Mohamad Adzib Mohd Isa said although he has not heard the song, it is appropriate to declare it haram considering that the song touches on sensitivity that affects the question of religion.

"In Islam, our belief in Allah does not have the same meaning as god which is worshipped other than Allah and Prophet Muhammad is his messenger, it is clear that we acknowledge Allah is One, therefore a prohibiton of the use of Allah by other religions is to avoid confusion among Muslims" he told reporters here Friday.

He was asked to comment on the songs by Indonesian singer Agnes Monica. In that song, the word Allah is repeated several times and the words 'because my Allah Jesus is meaningful' is heard in the final verse of the song which runs for 3 minutes 40 seconds.

"There is among us who do not understand the lyrics and sing it blindly. The lyrics affect our faith unconsciously," said Mohamad Adzib.

He said MAIS will declare the song haram and will withdraw all albums in circulation that contain this song to scrutinise it.

"We are asking the relevant authorities at the Federal level to monitor and take appropriate action to protect the sanctity of Islam," he said. (Bernama)

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by Lim Lim, March 14, 2009 00:18:33
nampaknya kaki umno semua dah short circuit on high tension cable!
all these fanatics , hypocritical racists n fascists ought to do is.... jus hav to 'haramkan' themselves n malaysia would definitely be a better place n tomorrow would be a better day.
written by Fuminari, March 14, 2009 00:22:05
hey!Mohamad Adzib Mohd Isa ,do u know that indonesia is the country with the largest muslim population in the world???
written by SiHangChai, March 14, 2009 00:23:57
Allah is a universal word means 'tuhan' and as far as I know, it refers to GOD and no specific that it refers to Islam. What surprisingly is if MAIS really go and buy some Christian religion scriptures in Middle East; be it in Israel, Eygpt or Turkey, don't be shock that Allah is also referred to Allah Jesus. No offence, MAIS, I am kind of lost here as over in this Arab countries, it tends to be acceptable. I knew that in Indonesia, or even in East Malaysia when Christian sermons are conducted in Bahasa Malaysia or Indonesia, the word 'Allah Jesus' is being . As Christianity has long existed before Islam, now I am really lost. I need some clarification here.
written by mikewang, March 14, 2009 00:31:31
Hymns in east malaysian churches are similarly sung as in the now banned album.
So what are you people in government going to do ?
Ban singing in church?
Ban preaching in church?

How about banning East Malaysia too and let them go their separate ways ??
written by RumahPanjai, March 14, 2009 00:41:04
Its a sick joke by an imbecile council flexing its muscle in the wrong direction. What are they trying to gain by declaring things they don't hear or see "haram". Goes to show the extend how these nitwits hope to gain the blessing of and by acting stupid in the name of "Allah".
Those christians in Batang Ai should take note of this when casting their vote this time round. Heaven forbids what they will declare as "Haram" next. The christian hymn books and the bible?
written by MasterYoda, March 14, 2009 00:51:22
Eh Mohammad Azib!,

a little bit also your faith can goyang ah.... then what kind of foundation do muslims have in Islam?... you make it sound as if muslims are weak in faith...
and a little bit of language can affect them... mind you, there is no manipulation or coercing (its just a song sung by christians)... So you are saying that if we cast a spell on muslims, they can be definately be affected la...

As a muslim one are either be devout or lukewarm...
Let Allah worry about the lukewarm muslims, you dont need to take his job...
written by qwerty, March 14, 2009 01:02:24
What's Next?

I am a Johorean & dammed proud of it! My state anthem implores Allah to bless the Sultan. ie:"ALLAH Peliharakan Sultan..."Does that mean that from now on, I can't sing my state anthem as I am a non muslim?

Sheesh!
written by Sabahfan, March 14, 2009 01:06:03
IT ONLY SERVES TO SHOW HOW THESE ISLAMIC NGOS OR GROUP HAVE REAL INSECURITY AND INFERIORITY COMPLEXES....

HOOOI... BIKIN MALU AJE LAH
written by Tompios, March 14, 2009 01:36:55
Jika agama ala YoYO pasti pengikut juga ala YoYo!! smilies/grin.gif inferior and myopic!!
written by Daryl, March 14, 2009 02:39:16
MY God look at the explanation. The God or Allah you pray too is not the word itself but the meaning that you have in your heart. Just because the song lyrics call Allah you mean your faith in your God will drop?

Pardon my directness but are Malay Muslim so weak in their believe or totally naive about the teaching. Until the Arab demand exclusive use of the word Allah Malay will have to wait in line for their turn.
written by Mama Juwie, March 14, 2009 03:03:25
We have a bigger issue like Big Mama trying take over the country and you are bothered with the ban of a song that you have never heard of in a state that you are currently not staying, why are people so busybody?

Let them ban lah, so what? Get on with you life!
written by renoir, March 14, 2009 04:53:33
Hahaha! I think many Malaysians know the popular song about "Mary's boychild Jesus Christ" that goes:

"Hark, now hear the angels sing, a king was born today,
And man will live for evermore, because of Christmas Day."

Will some people object to the idea that "a King was born today" and that "man will live forever more because of Christmas Day"???

I remember how someone advised Christians not to mention Jesus in their Christmas carols.

Clearly, some people have too much time on their hands....

written by Watchdog, March 14, 2009 06:11:01
Thanks to this nonsense I am now aware of such a song. Just check it out on you tube and key in allah peduli. You will find a wonderful clip. All churches should now start their service because God/Allah/Tuhan truly peduli smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by Watchdog, March 14, 2009 06:12:24
All church services must start with this song all over Malaysia. Allah Peduli!!!!
written by apanama, March 14, 2009 06:23:12
HALO!!! KAU BELUM DENGAR LAGU TU, CAMNE KAU TAHU LIRIK TU BETOI, BANGANG?
KALAU AKU KATA BINI KAU TIDUR DENGAN ORANG LAIN, KAU PERCAYA BULAT BULAT BUTA BUTA KE? BANGANG.
written by jstom98, March 14, 2009 06:51:05
They want Christians to use the word 'Tuhan' t represent the Christian God. Then Muslims should not use the word Tuhan also as this would confuse non Muslims !!! This means Muslims SHOULD NOT SING THE NATIONAL ANTHEM ! LOL !!!! Does it mean Muslims have been forced to sing about Tuhan Yesus all this while? CRAZY LOGIC !!!!!
written by Urangsabah, March 14, 2009 07:21:36
Indonesia has the world largest Mulim population and the word "Allah" is a non issue. In Malaysia the world "Allah" seem to be confusing our highly schooled religious people.....

This really show up Malaysia...
written by Msian Idol3, March 14, 2009 08:19:54
My christian Dayak friends sing songs with the words Allah.... So are we going to tell this indigenous people their holy songs are haram ! My ghosh, these religious people in MAIS have nothing better to do. How about taking over the job of nabbing people who are corrupted. Its haram too, isn't it or is it OK to be corrupted & have sex with underage girls like the ex-chief minister from Malacca. Work on issues thats day to day to help the govt run the country rather than dwell on songs. Just a bunch of goofers.
written by mrbean, March 14, 2009 08:51:51
takda kerja lain ka si MAIS ni
written by Avanza1, March 14, 2009 08:52:54
Ya, very true. They have too much time to bother on such matters. They are using much of our national resources for non issues such as this. Again waste of tax payers money. They should be spending more time teaching Muslims who Nabi Isa is from the Quran. Why in the last day there will be a person called Anti-Christ and no Anti-Adam or Anti-Mohammad.

'Fireproof' is just a family drama movie. Why is it banned in Malaysia? MAI in Malaysia in this time of economy downturn, please justify yr worth of to be in the Malaysia's budget.

written by vineeth menon, March 14, 2009 08:54:39
what about these song, you idiots.. why dont you demonstrate in front of Indian embassy for these songs below.. I challenge you all.. Bloody Fools.. yes.. i mean it this time..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sAP6m9jCe74
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfE61h98svw
written by cruzeiro, March 14, 2009 11:20:29
I just checked out this song on you tube - and guess what - my staff started singing along.
And she is a devout Muslim, who insisted on prayer area at workplace - which I provided. Incidentally, she is a model of a polite dedicated & efficient staff!

When asked if she knew about it being banned, she just said that she just appreciates a good song with good intentions in lyrics. Just becos it is sung by a christian doesn't change that fact.

These MAIS guys just want to highlight differences and portray themselves as defenders of a "deen" they don't seem to understand, I suppose.
written by cruzeiro, March 14, 2009 11:28:02
My god!
this song is more than a year old, and only now they highlight it?
Sounds like they are splitting hairs to show that Islam is "under attack".

They're hard-up for issues to play up or what?
They must be trying very hard to show that they are doing something ....
written by fishhook, March 14, 2009 11:34:56
Is it even translated correcly? I would translate "Allah Yesusku mengerti" as "My Jesus God understands" instead of meaningful.
written by wood, March 14, 2009 11:54:37
OMG, what is happening?
written by Bandit, March 14, 2009 11:57:55
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f5JtqiLukqM. Sikhism as a universal religion. Come ban us also Dickhead. B*loodyfools.
written by onnetline, March 14, 2009 12:13:43
MAIS Adzip,

Are you as pure as the true teachings of Islam ????

If not, don't be a big hypocrite and try to confuse others !!!!!
written by Catharsis, March 14, 2009 13:41:17
Malaysia with a population of 25 million is MORE ISLAMIC than Indonesia with a population of 200 million...............ALLAH JESUS PLEASE SAVE THESE lost INTELLECTUALS
written by macakmy, March 14, 2009 14:08:33
What the problem? Bloody NINCOMPOOPS!! She 's a Christian singing a Christian religious song. What's wrong with that???!! If that is wrong then why don't you ban Nasyid as well?? Bloody MORON!!! IMBECILE!!! (Sorry chaps, its all those British training kicking in)
written by imanj, March 14, 2009 14:11:11

Another weekend,

The Fight over naming "GOD",the fight over 'LANGUAGE',the fight over a 'RAINTREE', now the fight over a 'SONG'...

Can't wait for next weekend's soap..!!!!

written by kodoktua, March 14, 2009 16:37:24
Agnes Monica is an Indonesian, the song is in Bahasa Indonesia & originated from Indonesia. The decision to ban or not to ban the song is at the sole discretion of the Indonesian authorities. I wonder, since when was MAIS or Datuk Mohamad Adzib Mohd Isa given the green light by the Indonesian government to declare this song as haram?

Since the MAIS chairman admitted that "he has not heard the song" yet, he should listen to it first. I won't be surprise at all if he might just fall in love with the song. Here's the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-x_0ChywET8
written by temanmu, March 14, 2009 19:33:46
MAIS ... please ask to ban the internet too!

It is so easy to find the song & lyrics... and is so easy to save, transmit, burn into CD etc.

Dr Chua S L sex videos appeared free of charge on street corners ... i am sure if some people wanted to promote this and other "Allah" songs, it could be done easily & cheaply.
written by Wudan, March 14, 2009 21:47:27
My dear anti-jihadist,

Can you understand that it is stupid HUMAN, like MAIS chairman Datuk Mohamad Adzib Mohd Isa, who gave Islam a bad name.
written by faridw, March 14, 2009 23:31:59
Maybe MAIS should come out with a regulation that says when singing the Selangor state anthem, when they come to the word 'Allah', Chinese residents of Selangor must substiute the word "Tua Pek Khong", Indians can use 'Krishna' or 'Ganesh' or 'Siva' and Christians can use 'Jesus' since they all cannot use the word 'Allah'.