Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Azalina’s office raided by MACC

Azalina’s office raided by MACC PDF Print
Wednesday, 11 March 2009 23:08

(The Malaysian Insider) KUALA LUMPUR, March 11 – Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) officers raided the office of Tourism Minister Datuk Azalina Othman in relation to a probe on vote-buying for the Umno party elections.

Azalina was not present during the raid.

MACC officers spent three hours in her office and inspected documents in relation to the award of contracts by the ministry.

The officers also took away with them a number of files and other documents.

Today’s raid follows the detention last week of Azalina’s political secretary who was caught by MACC officers with RM75,000 in cash in his car.

The arrest of Azalina’s political secretary and the raid on her office today will have a significant impact on the minister’s fortunes in Umno and continued employment in the incoming Najib administration.

The minister is competing for a position on the party’s supreme council.

So far no senior Umno politician has been charged with corruption in relation to vote-buying in the Umno elections though there has been a trail of claims saying that money has been exchanging like never before for Election 2009.

Azalina is the highest profile politician to be under investigation in the current probe on vote-buying in Umno.

In a statement issued after the MACC raid, her office said they noted press reports about the probe into her political secretary’s affairs.

They also pledged to give their full cooperation to MACC officers.

It is understood the investigations are centred on whether the Tourism Ministry had awarded contracts to Umno delegates ahead of the party polls.

Investigators are also looking into the affairs of Pempena, a subsidiary of the Tourism Ministry,
which had shed its investments in five companies after suffering a loss of RM20 million.

This was out of an RM54.4 million total outlay on 24 companies as stated in a summary report of a “high level business review” of the Pempena Group released to the ministry on Nov 6.

In their probe into vote-buying activities for the Umno polls, the MACC has so far picked up 12 party divisional officers.

They were allegedly working to help Datuk Norza Zakaria defend his supreme council seat.

The men are being investigated for distributing between RM300 and RM500 to some of the 2,000 delegates who will be attending the general assembly-cum-elections.

Norza has also been questioned by the MACC but has denied any involvement in money politics, saying that he was a victim of a scheme to discredit him.

written by timmy, March 11, 2009 23:12:59
Anyone knows Azalina is from which camp in UMNO?

I know certainly not from Rafidah and Shahrizat.

Some on-going fights within for the next week power struggle.....
Malaysia just have non-stop drama everyday!
written by Hello Keithy, March 11, 2009 23:15:52
MACC also found lots of shavers. Azalina turns out to be a man. We were right all the time.
written by hiro, March 11, 2009 23:17:13
She's Badawi's niece la. Najib's already consolidating his power and influence over the AG, IGP, MACC Chairman, EC Chairman, and they already have an UMNO CJ on the top of the Judiciary.

I hate to pour cold water over your fantasies, but it's a big joke anyone thinks Badawi is going to stay on as PM past his due date given Najib's all reaching tentacles.

The clearer option is for Badawi to vote with Pakatan that they have no confidence with Najib in Parliament. But that's where the RM54billion from the stimulus package will come in - imagine - how many reps they can buy with that kind of money. So how that turns out is still anyone's guess.
written by Wakeupmsia, March 11, 2009 23:17:26
The purge of ABB'men have begun. More to come. "Next Change"
written by Krepot, March 11, 2009 23:19:15

Just because Najib can't get into her pants, he sets MACC unto her!
Azlina lesbian!
Tu la!
written by Raizzen, March 11, 2009 23:23:26
I think this is just another political ploy.

"Now the opposition can shut their mouths tight since its proven that even ministers also got kantoi one. This goes to show just how thoroughly sincere we are."

Believe me, chances are remote.
written by Jivathma, March 11, 2009 23:39:47
Just another UMNO sandiwara to distract us from the BIG ASS fishes. After a few weeks in the 'pot' all this will end up as NFA (No Further Action).
written by fireduck, March 11, 2009 23:42:01
Two columns on a piece of paper. One 'For', one 'Against'. All those listed under the 'Against' (Najib) will be systematically culled. One by one. Let the show begin. Abdullah could have redeemed himself after the 12th GE, but he didn't. Now, there is no way he can stop this evil from manifesting its intent on the rakyat. Be prepared for a long recession ... of our liberties and freedom.
written by onnetline, March 12, 2009 00:07:08
MACC Ahamd Said Humdan, You are not pursuing the case of the Mas MD who possibly exceeded his authority for maintaining your convicted ' child pornography ' son's employment with Mas still?
written by Fatcat, March 12, 2009 00:19:15
75k only? Where are the BIG fish... ?
written by CM Lam, March 12, 2009 00:51:37
MACC how about raiding Toyol Hantu's office and residence as well ?? Show the rakyat you are doing your job..
written by onnetline, March 12, 2009 01:07:52
The MACC is just putting on a show to cover up the truth, if any.
Either way, she-man will be scot free !!!!
written by bknight, March 12, 2009 01:22:18
here is my 2 cents of analysis.

the second act by MACC to raid Azalina's office is a message to AAB. we know that the aide was caught last week, but no names were mentioned and this raid came after the lunch meeting between DSAI and AAB.

and yes, the purging has begun..but are we surprise ? it is sooo UMNO SOP.standard operating procedure, but then maybe this is the reaction AAB and DSAI is want from Najib ? why would a meeting happen at the same time najib is tabling the 2nd stimulus ? and why does half of the opposition MP did not attend? can you find any reason except to throw najib off his stand?

now that 1 simple meeting got the whole malaysia talking about it. you say loo of all malaysian? who will be the most thinking about what happen on that meeting? maybe DSAI got bored one day and call AAB, "hey let's meet up to talk kok abit and pull a fast one on Najib" and AAB goes "yeah why not for the fun of it". is there anything to lose from AAB and DSAI? guess the person who will not be sleeping well tonite is najib.

but from a strategy point of view is a good move even if they dont discuss about anything.throw him off guard. let him react.he will run out of idea what to do except to do what has been done for so many years.SOP.

for once i hope the level 4 boys can cook up something, and for once i hope kj can show he is worth an oxford qualification. don't forget in who gave the green light to release DSAI? who personally hand the passport back to DSAI?

food for thought anyone? i welcome both perspective on this
written by arazak, March 12, 2009 01:31:33
Dear UMNO's Puppet MACC Chief Ahmad Said,

I would suggest you investigate the PM-in-waiting "Scorpane commission" before others. If not, we will regard you as a person with no integrity and we, the rakyaat will forever regarded you as a coward!

You do not fear Allah, your Creator. . ., but you fear Najis, your UMNO master! For letting Najis off the hook in stealing our money, we the rakyaat, will not forgive you in this world and in "akhirat". We also regard you as an acccomplice to Najis for stealing our money.

We hope you to will burn in hell til eternity. . .!
written by unomalaysia, March 12, 2009 01:59:20
Because she is in the wrong camp. Nothing more, nothing less...
written by Areyaar, March 12, 2009 02:48:33
Yes, pray tell the Malaysian public what action is being taken against the slumbag of an MAS employee who carted child pornography into another country?
written by Areyaar, March 12, 2009 02:54:06
Frankly, the way things have been going, with crooks getting off with no convictions and no charges (or the charges being thrown out), or there being "no proof" of wrong doing on the part of the high and mighty, it is not difficult to believe that there is little credibility. Don't expect the public to believe everything they read when experience has shown that most times some sort of complex cooking is going on in the political kitchen.

Too much has happened.
written by Areyaar, March 12, 2009 02:55:19
Maybe this is a case of someone getting exactly what they deserve.
written by Zeroed, March 12, 2009 03:11:31
hmm...wayang kulit, sandiwara and hari ini dalam sejarah!!!
written by farah, March 12, 2009 07:15:21
Funny and fun to hear that....in few days she'll be cleared of found 'nothing'...
But 'cowsw issue will go on, no-sodomy case will go on, bright light murder case will cleared off.

sometime i think why GOD TAKING SO LONG....
written by loosecannon, March 12, 2009 09:13:28
Don't get worked up, people. Just another wayang kulit by MACC. Everyone knows she's one of the most money grabbing ministers. After party election, no case lah.
written by kingelvis, March 12, 2009 09:44:27
Hope the bitch gets it this time
written by asguard, March 12, 2009 10:11:38
The games begin to sound like hide and seek between bodowi and najis camp...
written by shamadz72, March 12, 2009 11:22:04
I won't be surprise if they also found material on her girl-girl extra curriculum activity smilies/smiley.gif

written by Sutha, March 12, 2009 12:57:00
Haiy...,
The MACC is merely ArmNo's Corruption Records Laundry Agency.
It (including the chief) is good at drama, politics, and surely
Beruk Nazional leader most trusted lieutenant,
only next to Judy boys and girls.
written by gycgocnt, March 12, 2009 15:32:17
On The end of the Azalina?

Maybe I am a pessimistic person. I don’t think Azalina will charge in the court. Recall yourself the Altantuya case, Azalina scape goat will finally say “I am innocent, I pledge guilty cause I had to protect a person which is not appear in the court!” And there is no any further action would be taken because the Kangaroo Court just wants somebody to admit it only.

Prediction: Azalina will be laughing in the end!
written by cllim123, March 12, 2009 19:19:31
All this is Sandiwara, only to put the persons in their rightful place. Support me or die a painful death of shame and ridicule. So when loyalty is pledged, MACC will say NFA and we the rakyat gets to go for another wild goose chase. don't trust these Umno goons for a second. They will screw us again and again. now they want our RM60billion for their own pleasures, screw them. Voice it out in the Batang and Bukit elections.