Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow 14 days is a long time in politics

14 days is a long time in politics PDF Print
Wednesday, 11 March 2009 02:10

The Federal Constitution merely states that the Agong shall appoint the Prime Minister from amongst a Member of the House who, in Tuanku’s opinion, commands the confidence of the majority of the Members of the House. It says nothing about the Prime Minister having to be the President of Umno or the Chairman of Barisan Nasional.

Moreover, Mr. Najib brings to the job much political baggage. In particular there is the case involving an adviser to Mr. Najib of a Mongolian woman who was shot and blown up with specialized C4 plastic explosives in Malaysia in 2006. The adviser, the woman’s former lover, was cleared of ordering her death in a protracted court case that drew harsh public criticism and left vital questions unanswered. Two members of an elite police bodyguard unit assigned to Mr. Najib, who were asked by the adviser to “do something” about the woman because she was blackmailing him, have to answer murder charges. The adviser said he had contacted the two policemen through Mr. Najib’s aide-de-camp, and one of them, a chief inspector, testified that the aide-de-camp had instructed him to help the adviser.

Before the adviser was charged, Mr. Najib sent a text message to a lawyer representing his adviser saying that the adviser “will have to face a tentative charge but all is not lost,” according to a transcript of their exchanges. One of the country’s most popular bloggers and online journalist-editors, Raja Petra Kamarudin, faces sedition and libel charges after allegedly implicating Mr. Najib and his wife in the killing. Although Mr. Najib has denied ever knowing the victim, taking the unusual step of swearing his innocence in a mosque, he has been unable to stem an avalanche of gossip, speculation and serious analysis, much of it circulated on the Internet.

Mr. Najib also has long been embroiled in allegations of corruption in the purchase of big-ticket weapon systems during his two lengthy terms as defense minister (1990-95, 1999-2008; he retained the defense portfolio after becoming deputy prime minister in 2003), when he drove an aggressive military modernization program. According to Foreign Policy in Focus, a Washington-based think tank, foreign arms manufacturers use well-connected Malaysians as lobbyists, paying them commissions of 10% to 20% to win contracts. Malaysia’s political opposition says much of the money goes to people closely associated with UMNO, including Mr. Najib’s contacts, though the police and anticorruption authorities have not investigated particular cases to the satisfaction of complainants.

For example, the 115 million euros “coordination and support services” payment for Malaysia’s purchase in 2002 of two new Scorpene and one reconditioned Agosta submarine for 1 billion euros was paid to Perimekar Sdn. Bhd. Perimekar at the time was owned by a company called K.S. Ombak Laut Sdn Bhd — later by two other companies as well — which was in turn owned by Abdul Razak Abdullah Baginda, the Najib adviser who stood trial for abetting the murder of the Mongolian woman. The Defense Ministry denied paying a commission and said Peremkear was awarded a genuine contract to support the acquisition of the submarines.

Najib's Challenge: Clean up UMNO by Barry Wain, Far Eastern Economic Review (http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/19043/84/)

What a day to have lunch together. On a day when Najib is announcing his staggering RM60 billion stimulus package, Abdullah has lunch with Anwar.

I haven’t seen Abdullah looking so relaxed and cheerful for a long time. Click here to have a peek. (http://shamsuliskandar.wordpress.com/2009/03/10/pm-abdullah-dan-dsai-makan-tengahari-untuk-keamanan/)

According to PKR Youth chief Shamsul Iskandar in his blog, both leaders were invited by Al-Fadhil Tuan Guru Syeikh Mahmud Al-Majzubdi (better known as Tok Ayah) for the Maulud Rasul celebrations at the Madrasah Nurul Iman, Hulu Langat in Selangor.

Anwar says people are reading too much into the encounter. But hey, it’s not everyday the PM and Anwar have lunch together; so tongues are bound to wag.

Anyway, 49 per cent of over 5,000 respondents to the poll on this blog think that Abdullah will remain as PM after March while only 11 per cent of you think Najib will take over.  Let’s wait and see what happens.

Anwar-Abdullah lunch fuels speculation
by Anil Netto (http://anilnetto.com/malaysian-politics/anwar-abdullah-lunch-fuels-speculation/)

It is roughly two weeks to go before the coming Umno General Assembly. Two weeks is 14 days and 14 days is a long time in politics. Anwar went from becoming the successor to Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad to a sacked Umno member in only three days. And about two weeks later be found himself in jail facing a possible nine criminal charges, seven which were later dropped after they secured a conviction on the first two, which attracted a total jail sentence of 15 years.

Can Najib Tun Razak still make it as Prime Minister at the end of this month? There is no doubt he will become the Umno President, mainly because he will win uncontested and anyone can win in a walkover. But this does not mean he will also become the Prime Minister because there is no law that says the Umno President must also become the Prime Minister.

Tun Razak, Najib’s father, became Prime Minister while Tunku Abdul Rahman stayed on as the Umno President. Dr Mahathir stayed on as Prime Minister after Umno got deregistered and the MCA President, Ling Liong Sik, took over as the Barisan Nasional Chairman. For all intents and purposes, Dr Mahathir was an independent Member of Parliament and a man with no party for that brief period of time until the new Umno called Umno Baru was registered.

The Federal Constitution merely states that the Agong shall appoint the Prime Minister from amongst a Member of the House who, in Tuanku’s opinion, commands the confidence of the majority of the Members of the House. It says nothing about the Prime Minister having to be the President of Umno or the Chairman of Barisan Nasional. For that matter, Ibrahim Ali, the sole independent Member of Parliament, can become Prime Minister if at least 112 of the 222 Members of Parliament support him as Prime Minister -- heaven forbid.

And do at least 112 of the 222 Members of Parliament want Najib as the next Prime Minister come end of this month? Okay, maybe SOME of the 65 Umno Members of Parliament from Peninsular Malaysia do. And maybe SOME of the 13 Umno Members of Parliament from Sabah do as well. But that makes only 78 Members of Parliament who want him as Prime Minister -- assuming ALL 78 Umno Members of Parliament from Peninsular Malaysia as well as Sabah are unanimous in their support for Najib.

And this is only if we assume that ALL 78 Umno Members of Parliament are unanimous in their support for Najib. From what I have been told, at least 20 are with Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. Amongst these 20 are of course Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah, Khairy Jamaluddin and Abdullah Badawi himself. So there is no way Najib can get the unanimous support of all the 78 Umno Members of Parliament. At best he can get the support of only 58 Umno Members of Parliament. This means Najib is still short of 54 Members of Parliament.

But then, can Najib afford to get the support of only 112 Members of Parliament? What if one were to get a heart attack while playing badminton and dies, or his/her nude photographs or sex video suddenly appeared on the Internet and he/she is forced to resign, or something like which is so customary nowadays. Then Najib would be left with only 111 Members of Parliament against 111 who are against him. This would result in a hung Parliament and Najib would find himself as the Prime Minister with the shortest term in Malaysian history.

No, a figure of 112 is just too close to the bone. Najib would need at least 130 to 140 to be home with a comfortable margin. And that means he cannot depend solely on the Umno Members of Parliament. Umno alone can’t give him the numbers. Umno has only 78 while just 58 are with him. He also needs the 30 non-Umno Members of Parliament from Sarawak and the balance 11 from Sabah plus the 20 from MCA, MIC and Gerakan as well.

Najib is banking on full support from Umno. He can of course get full support from the 2,500 or so Umno delegates who will be attending the Umno General Assembly in about two weeks time. But not all the 2,500 Umno delegates are Members of Parliament. Only 78 are while just 58 are with him. Najib has far from secured the job of Prime Minister of Malaysia whatever the outcome of the Umno General Assembly.

Ali Rustam will win the Umno Deputy Presidency and Najib’s cousin, Hishammuddin, is going to lose the Vice President’s post, while Khir Toyo will become the Youth Leader. Najib is going to automatically become the Umno President only because no one is able to challenge him. But he is going to be isolated and surrounded by those who are not aligned to him as far as the other Umno positions are concerned.

If Najib is assured of becoming the Prime Minister then he can be guaranteed the support of the non-Umno Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament from MCA, MIC, Gerakan, Sabah and Sarawak. He will of course not get the support of the 83 Pakatan Rakyat Members of Parliament. But he has a chance of getting the support of the 61 non-Umno Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament.

This, however, will depend on whether he is assured of becoming Prime Minister. People have a habit of supporting the winner. If you are winner everyone wants to be associated with you and wants to become your friend. No one, however, wants to become associated with a loser. And unless Najib can show he is a winner and not a loser he will not be guaranteed the support of the 61 non-Umno Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament.

Abdullah Badawi has more or less resigned to the fact that by 1 April 2009 he would be sent into retirement. He has even bought an iPhone, which he intends to use to communicate with his grandkids. Does he even know how to use that very complicating iPhone? Not yet, but since he will soon be retiring he has plenty of time to learn how to use it and then spend hours chatting with his grandkids. Hell, he may even set up his own Blog and Facebook since he would not have much work come 1 April 2009.

His wife, Jeanne Danker, is also looking forward to retirement. This simple lady does not enjoy the limelight of ‘First Lady’ and will not miss life in Seri Perdana. She would rather spend her time with her husband and kids. But she abhors the thought of handing this country over to Najib. And Abdullah Badawi’s kids share Jeanne’s view. They are not opposed to Abdullah Badawi retiring. They are opposed to the idea of Najib taking over with the porky Rosmah Mansor gracing the halls of Seri Perdana as the ‘First Lady’ and ‘Queen Elizabeth’ both rolled into one.

They say there is no such thing as hell on earth. But then these people have not imagined life with Rosmah Mansor calling the shots as to how this country should be run. In fact, it would be more like run into the ground with her at the helm. And this is also the view of the Agong.

No doubt Malaysia is a Constitutional Monarchy and the Agong ‘shall act on the advice of the Prime Minister’ -- and ‘shall’ has been wrongly interpreted as ‘must’. But there are certain things that the Agong does not act on the advice of the Prime Minister and instead uses his own discretion. And one of these things is with regards to the appointment of the Prime Minister who in Tuanku’s opinion commands the confidence of the majority of the Members of the House.

We have seen, of late, the Rulers exercising their discretion in the appointments of the CEOs. Perak, Selangor, Terengganu and Perlis are examples of this. The Rulers and not Umno decided on who should lead the states. The recent Perak crisis, where the state changed hands from Pakatan Rakyat to Barisan Nasional, is yet another case in point. The Rulers have the power to decide and they have not backed down from exercising this power. And the same applies with regards to the appointment of the Prime Minister.

Anwar Ibrahim’s meeting with Abdullah Badawi yesterday laid the foundation for cooperation between Pakatan Rakyat and some dissenting voices in Barisan Nasional who feel Najib should not be the next Prime Minister. With the 83 Pakatan Rakyat Members of Parliament and another 20 from Umno that makes 103 in all. So all they need is another nine to deny Najib the job of Prime Minister. And MCA has 15, MIC 3, Gerakan 2, Sarawak 30, while the non-Umno Members of Parliament from Sabah come to another 11. Getting just nine from amongst that large group of 61 is not that difficult.

Anwar Ibrahim may never become Prime Minister. But even if he does he is still the lesser of the two evils compared to Najib as far as Abdullah Badawi is concerned. And as far as Anwar is concerned, whether he becomes Prime Minister or not is not the key issue at the moment. What is would be that the Prime Minister must not be Najib. So even if all that Anwar achieves in the end would be for Abdullah Badawi to stay on, that too would be the lesser of the two evils in Anwar’s book.

Abdullah Badawi may have to keep his iPhone in the box awhile longer. He may not have the time to learn how to use it after all. Many are bent on assuring that Najib never takes over as Prime Minister. And if the new Prime Minister is not going to be Anwar, then Abdullah Badawi would have to instead stay on for some time to come. And if this happens then I will personally go to meet Abdullah Badawi to help him with his iPhone. Hell, I might even buy one myself so that I can learn how to use it before I go teach Abdullah Badawi how to use his.

Comments (77)Add Comment
written by Hanif07, March 11, 2009 02:31:45
Yes sir..i agree 14 days is long time in politics. So the meeting between Pak Lah and DSAI has something to do with this yea..
agree 224
written by Umm Adzka, March 11, 2009 02:39:05
and somehow, I am so hoping that RPK is right; that najib will not be sworn as the PM and hell, I don't care if it is going to be Anwar or Pak Lah, as RPK has correctly pointed out, either is the lesser evil...
agree 279
written by clusco, March 11, 2009 02:49:41
I do think Pak Lah will step down and give way to Najib. Najib will take over and try his best to clean up UMNO.

Im sure he cant clean up UMNO because he cant even clean up his own mess....

Then come 13th GE, we rakyat will show how to flush UMNO from being our government
agree 198
written by Tompios, March 11, 2009 02:51:51
Najib will be PM4PM (Prime Minister for Peninsular Malaya) for sure!! Guarantee!! Common Sabah!! Where is your "20 Perkara"? Now, Sabah and Sarawak 100% under Sultan Agong!! Soon 10000% under Najib!!

Be happy their Sabahans!! smilies/grin.gif
written by Tompios, March 11, 2009 02:53:30
opps!! Be happy dear Sabahans!! correction!! Najib as our new Prime Minister! Unbelievable! All the Bugis aka Bugistan in Sabah will be happy! Waiting for their redeemer!!
written by rajaphillips, March 11, 2009 02:57:54
The other MAIN AND IMPORTANT reason why Pak Lah should remain and NOT allow Najib to take over will be so that Mahathir a/l Mohamed Iskandar Kutty can be prevented from using/armtwisting/blackmailing Najib to revive all those wasteful mega projects that were earlier lined by him up for his cronies that Pak Lah cancelled. The nation can ill afford mega projects that benefits cronies esp at this time.
written by wongnoball, March 11, 2009 03:12:51
Najis will be the PM.....just like Tun Munafik did in spite of fear, gloom and doom. Malysia enroute to Chaos like Zimbabwe. Muhiddin will be DPM and Tun Munafik Junior will be Umno Youth President. The trifectar!smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Perhaps Perak was just a demonstration of Royalty power...and see how rakyat react...see if manageable or not.

$60 billion against reserve of $70 billion in Bank Negara....with corruption RIFE, Malaysia will be facing THE Toughest economic crisis EVER. Lets hope in Hunger and Anger we Obliterate regim kejam ganas UMNO-BN FOREVER!! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Umm Adzka, March 11, 2009 03:23:42
clusco wrote:

Then come 13th GE, we rakyat will show how to flush UMNO from being our government

if he would come to power, he would not hesitate to use all available means (c4 not excluded) to ensure that rakyat will be 'silenced' come 13th GE..
be afraid.. be very very afraid!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by Mama Juwie, March 11, 2009 03:25:44
"YAB Datuk Seri Mohd Najib Bin Tun Abdul Razak, Perdana Menteri Malaysia yang ke-6..."

Ptuiihh, that just doesn't sound right!!!
written by bestcoffee, March 11, 2009 03:54:58
Najib has 1 or 2 days left.
His last day could be Friday the 13th
smilies/grin.gif smilies/kiss.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Daryl, March 11, 2009 05:13:59
I will take AAB anyday over Najib. But, as usual rakyat are in the hands of the irresponsible and I am afraid what might happen after 1/4/2009... All of us need to pray to our Allah.. smilies/smiley.gif or our respective God that the evil NAjib never come to power.
written by amjoem, March 11, 2009 05:21:42
Roger!! You are absolutely right. We should prevent Rosmah from becoming the next PM. This will definately brush aside TDM becoming the proxie PM. Let AAB, DSAI, LKS, Hadi, TRH and Yourself RPK, should sit down and map out the next course of action. This is like a reality show.
Anyway, we should thank you YM RPK for having been the first one to have mooted this idea about 6 months ago. Let us henceforth pray and keep our fingers crossed.
written by wongnoball, March 11, 2009 05:35:21
Malaysia continue to be DELUDED daily by spins of Hope! Sit back, relax, close eye and see again....NOTHING REALLY HAVE CHANGED.

It has gone worst and WILL GET A LOT WORST. Still not enough Anger and Hunger yet to Obliterate regim ganas kejam UMNO-BN. Hope it comes with this Worst Economic Crisis that catches a Nation Unprepared like Malaysia. 51 Years and no Warchest like Singapore to Help. Better Face reality now because to be continually DELUDED is a painful act to watch!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif. MASSIVE Unemployment cannot be hidden like True state of the Economy!

Don't continue to live the LIE and Delusion!..its Sinful!
written by rpremkumar2u, March 11, 2009 05:43:07
I am most unimpressed with AAB and Nah!Cheap. Tun DR M actually left AAB in charge whilst he expected nah!Cheap to sort out his mess. Nah!Cheap is not the guy we are thinking of as mere power grabbing. He has had a notion from his CIMB sibling as to the acute condition of global economy. In any case i have no doubt that TUn wanted a gentleman's agreement to stand till such time when Nah!Cheap was ready to be moved up. We can draw a parallel as to how he and Murmur din of MITI plotted to grab the spoils. Ditto Perak. They want to place their own loyalists. Therefore we can observe a variety of monkey shows as one UMNO (Useless Monkeying Nitwits Organization) performer try to out do another to prove their loyalty to Nah!Cheap. UMNO is far from tiring itself out. Now they have younger performers to out perform each other. Some rival those of Lake Gardens by scampering into the vicinity of the Parliament to obstruct Lions to function.
written by cheekymate, March 11, 2009 05:45:42
I appeal to YAB Abdullah Badawi. If you truly love and care for your people, do what is right and let not Najib ascend to the premiership. You know the truth behind the Altantuya murder.
Our country will be history soon unless their is divine intervention. Hear our plea, save our beloved country, PLEASE.
written by educationist, March 11, 2009 05:53:36
Hey! Pete - thanks a million.
What a wonderful piece to start the day!
We've been reeling day after day since the corrupt and immoral power grab in Perak.
Of course, until it happens we can but wait and hope.
But i really wonder if we can count on those chaps from mca, mic & gerakan to make a stand for a less unsavoury leader to lead the country.
Yet, we can hope!
written by areenna, March 11, 2009 06:06:52
By the time Pak Lah finally has the time to learn to his Ipod, Ipod version 7 already in the market. He better pass the Ipod now to Najib before it get obsolete.
written by singam, March 11, 2009 06:28:09
Once Najib becomes UMNO President, he is in a position to stir up lots of official shit and use the state instruments that depend on his patronage to "legitimise" his actions.

Abdullah as PM may have a tough time containing the UMNO President. In any case, Abdullah may be looking forward to the long-awaited snoozes between hia iPhone lessons.

Which is why I see a third scenario - even before handing over the reins of UMNO to Najib, Abdullah steps down as PM and invites the House to elect a new PM. All Anwar needs is the 32 he claimed he had for 916 (possibly non-UMNO) plus Abdullah's 20 from UMNO... and he has a comfortable margin that is not so susceptible to froggery. And, as Deputy President of UMNO, there's nothing Najib can do officially.

Unofficially, that's another matter altogether. After all, there are state institutions that need Najib as PM so that they can carry on with their dirty games. So there are no safe bets.
written by kenny, March 11, 2009 06:38:21
Pete, I think we MT adherents could be seeing some light at the end of the tunnel. I guess it's just that you can't reveal more at the moment. Well, of course I stand corrected.

You see, on 17 Feb, things moved very fast when the 3 kangaroos unanimously dismissed one after another all applications from Malik Imtiaz and Azhar Harun. I think the saving grace was that after lunch-break, both the prosecution and defence needed one hour respectively for their final submissions, which resulted in a postponement to 23 Feb(Monday).

What aroused the most pleasant suspicion was when Imtiaz applied for a review(20 Friday?), things moved just as fast. It was quickly approved the next day(which was a Saturday) and another panel of three sat for the review which superceded the original panel which was supposed to send you back to Kamunting on the same day(23 Feb Monday).

With such incredible speed of reverse movement in the Federal Court, and with the review by the 2nd panel of the decisions made by the 1st now seemingly in abeyance even having UMNO Zaki as the CJ, one is very much tempted to assume that a very powerful hand is moving behind the scene.

And with the Anwar-Badawi lunch yesterday, the light seems to be getting brighter. This latest article of yours really fits into the puzzle. Good luck, Pete! Good luck, Malaysia!

Close shop Kamunting!

DAULAT TUANKU!!! x 3
written by emirateswenger, March 11, 2009 07:46:43
hmmmmm.

1. Najib takes over PM as "planned".
2. Pak Lah stays on as PM until next GE (unity G)
3. Pak Lah stays on as PM for the time being...but no longer than...
DSAI takes over...
TRH, dark horse takes over...May yet be the best bet for Malaysia now.

PR gets full mandate in the next GE to form G for scenario 2 and 3.

written by *********, March 11, 2009 07:48:29
You reap what you sow! That's what you get when the Malay, Chinese, Indian, Kadazan, Dayak in you vote for Umno, MCA, MIC, PBS and PBDS. A vote for BN is a vote for the despotic and racist Najib Razak...More http://*********.********.com
written by biggun129, March 11, 2009 07:55:11
While majority of Malaysia do not support Najib as our next Prime Minister, What happend??? If Najib become our Next Prime Minister,will it be the end of our country???What shall we do then, will the country be in the 'Chaotic'situation?I dont think so, Life will still goes on as usual!Because there are still a lot of 'Greedy' and 'Selfish' people around us, they care for their 'Interest' first rather than the nation!Their 'Interest' is above all, chances is that they would not like to be 'Loser'!In the history, I have never heard that the 'Rich' wants to be 'Poor', and the one on top will not abandone their 'Superior'position! Its the one who 'Have' deny the right of the one who 'Dont have', Its the 'Rich' against the 'Poor', will the 'Poor' make its way to deny the entry of Najib to be our next Prime Minister!It may be the 'Longest day' for Najib, but the day will come, and can he make his 'Dream come true'? Lets wait and see! It wont be long!!!
written by biggun129, March 11, 2009 08:23:28
Who will be the 'King maker' for our Next incoming Prime Minister,If Najib obtain enough nos of support from the members of our House of Parliament, will the Ruler deny his entry to be our next Prime Minister?And, will the members of parliament vote him out to be our next Prime Minister? we are the Citizen of 'Bolehland', everything is possible, and for Najib, he can make the impossible to be 'possible',we need not worry whether 'Najib' will be our next Prime Minister!But just need 'To worry' what happen if 'Najib' will be our next Prime Minister!
written by timmy, March 11, 2009 08:28:47
smilies/cool.gifI don't support Najib to be PM.

Either Pak Lah stays or Ku Li goes up.
But Pak Lah agrees to the Perak impasse, I just can't imagine how can I support that.

As rightly as RPK pointed out, no PR can become the PM, but certainly PR can influenced the country dropped into the right hand.

Tengku Razaleigh is certainly a good choice for Malaysian now. I know this is hard, but it is worth a try. I just want my country to move forward. Pak Lah never able to do that the last 5 years, Najib has too many baggages.

Now TRH is our hope to take care of the country for 3 years before PR takes over.
written by Franky, March 11, 2009 09:00:15
I am not a physcologist, but I can read from Najib's face when each time he spoke about Altantuya murder case over the TV. He is not a honest man. I pray very hard that he will not become our Nest PM.
written by AngryTaxpayer, March 11, 2009 09:09:34
I saw Rosmah close up on TV last nite....and let me tell you this....I'm not going to accept a freak-show to be calling the shots in this country!!!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by chaiksyn, March 11, 2009 09:41:03
Oh my Pete....this is very juicy indeed. Thanks mate, I can now go to my toilet and do my natural business happily! smilies/grin.gif
written by ibabonma, March 11, 2009 09:43:49
It seem, for the moment, I have to address him as AAB instead of Bodoh-wi, the sleepy head and see how things develop.
written by hellosunshine, March 11, 2009 09:46:26
All this talk talk talk, speculations, wheeling and dealing amongst all Malaysians. Aiyoyo, so simple lah. Just take out those evidence and Bala and we'll put Najis and his fat lady (who can't sing) away for good. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by asguard, March 11, 2009 09:48:32
Please not Najis as the PM!
written by Hakim Joe, March 11, 2009 09:52:01
78 Multi-Millionaires coming up!!!

written by malgal, March 11, 2009 09:53:56
Pet, please go buy that iphone. if not for anything, at least it will recrank the multiply effect and help stave off the poor retail activity. You can also iphone the aab and give him the right advice lah ....! Go buy it.
written by kclim, March 11, 2009 09:57:27
TDM threw out DSAI on a lesser trumped up charge of being a sodomite. The job then fell upon squeeky clean AAB.
Heck I hope AAB is really not that silly to give the job to someone who is a suspected dynamite.
written by smeagrooo, March 11, 2009 10:05:06
the only cleaning najisman will do is clean up the coffers!

on another note, after reading what RPK has to say abt the Agong's power ie who he can appoint as PM, then we must look back at Perak as to the choice made by the Sultan. Could this be a ploy altogether by PR? In Perak, UMNO stood firmly that we must respect the SUltan's decision and now if Agong were to appoint AAB as PM again, UMNO shouldnt even protest?

Hmmmmm.
written by Democrats, March 11, 2009 10:19:23
If he cannot garner the support of the country, he will annexxed out East Malaysia and PR controlled state including KL to form a new Malaysia, just to get his majority. New Malaysia capital - Pekan. This is how badly he wants to be PM.
written by Newkidonblog, March 11, 2009 10:27:32
Najis stimulus package didn't stimulate me but when I read Pak Lah and Anwar having lunch.........I felt stimulated. Just hope this stimulant can last for another 14 days in order to get a another bigger dose which will last me for a long long time!

Better than Viagra!

written by Lyon, March 11, 2009 10:43:19

Its now left to the electorate to urgently inform their respective MPs that NAR is unacceptable. And thereafter, the MPs should communicate the Rakyat's stand to the Agong through the proper channels.

"....... it would be more like run into the ground with her at the helm. And this is also the view of the Agong" - very interesting indeed.

Cheers mate
written by Hockchew, March 11, 2009 10:46:03
UMNO said Sultan of Perak have the sole authority/rights to appoint the MB and nobody can question the decision. This precedent will enable the agung to make a similar decision. Najib is digging his own grave without realising it. TDM try to eliminate all power of the Sultan and Najib accidentally restore their power just because of a single state. He he he....pound foolish but penny wise.....

If AAB wanna retire, Ku-Li can take over as well. as long as AAB & Co will support Ku-Li.
written by cahaya, March 11, 2009 10:58:37
Pak Lah has got a new mobile phone (and now RPK also want?)

Did you read yesterday’s Dilbert comic strip by Scott Adams? Dilbert describes his relationship with his new phone.
“I’ve fallen in love with my phone. It entertains me. It knows where I am. It responds to my touch. It never judges me.”
so, it is like a woman to you
“way better! ….”
http://www.dilbert.com/strips/comic/2009-03-10/

Some local politicians will want to ask Dilbert “Which model you get??”
written by DontPlayGod, March 11, 2009 11:13:08
If Najib is so tainted, then why did the UMNO divisions nominate him to be the next President? Are the UMNO leaders so blind, or so idiotic?
written by pengembara, March 11, 2009 11:17:32

Pete

IF that happens, I will buy you the iPhone

written by SBennit, March 11, 2009 11:20:26
Is Tok Ayah that great cool Sufi preacher?? never thought that corrupt Badawi is one of his supporter..........

Malaysia would be a peaceful place if more Malays and wanna-be Malays (i.e Indians like Mahathir)suscribe to Tok Ayah's preachings.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by AIS, March 11, 2009 11:58:12
The country is already changing. This sort of power brokering if true comes straight from BN templates. This will have nothing to do with upholding any party ideologies and principles.
Remember, principles are not something one believes in only when it's convenient to do so....Struggle will have it's victims and sacrifices but only a principled struggle will bring about a durable change...

NO to copying BN template to grab power...
written by fromamovingtrain, March 11, 2009 12:00:22
written by pengembara, March 11, 2009 11:17:32

Pete

IF that happens, I will buy you the iPhone

And i will teach you how to use it so that in turn you can teach aab how to use it.
written by malaysianohope, March 11, 2009 12:06:45
Abang,
59% of Malaysians do not want C4 to be their PM & Badawi carries less than 50% approval rating, so the only way to get out of this is to leave the PM post vacant with Badawi remain the caretaker PM until the next election. Afterall Malaysia is already on auto pilot. Just look at the economy... the RM 60 billions stimulus is way too late to save Malaysia from a recession, again not enough stimulus for the Corporate sector & taxpayers, too much goodies for the Motor Industry which only help the few cronies, leakages... blah, blah, blah. Malaysia is doom.
Abang, save your money on the iPhone, perhaps he need a bloster pillow more than a techy equipment. smilies/grin.gif
written by panca, March 11, 2009 12:09:56
Not only our fingers crossed, our arms are folded and legs crossed too, we want the Agong to effect change as what the Rakyat have ALL called out aloud.

PM Badawi stays on or Agong call for new election for Malaysia.

written by hiro, March 11, 2009 12:10:47
U guys are forgettin something. Within these 14 days, Najib will have the support of special branch, MACC, judiciary, EC etc.. to shore up his hold on power. PM may not relinquish his position, but if Najib could walk up to Perak Sultan and ask for Perak MB position, what makes you think he might just be able to do the same with YDA?
written by Running Sardines, March 11, 2009 12:25:45
May there be good things that will come out between the lunch together of AAB & DSAI. I pick AAB anytime over Najib as he has too much rubbish matters attaching to him before being PM ... bad for investor confidence ... bad for rakyat ... although ot RM600 Billion stimulus plan, it won't really help the man in the street as it again will be 'makanan' for the cronies ...
written by Taikohtai, March 11, 2009 12:29:22
I just find it absolutely abhorrent that with so many unanswered questions hanging over Najis' involvement in the murder of Altantuya yet he is now so close to becoming the next PM. Yes, many rakyat have voice their objections yet the powers that could decide the next direction and fate of the country including the royalty have raised not one itsy-bitsy of 'wait a mo!'. Are Malaysians that meek and servile that they have even gone below the level of Singaporeans in terms of kiasu and kiasi? But then again, if one repeats a lie so many times, the masses might actually start believing in them............ current scenario in Malaysia? smilies/angry.gif. Its now up to heroes like RPK to stem the rot but the odds will increase exponentially once Najis becomes PM.......................aaaaarrrrgggggghhhhhhhhhhh!
written by Bosan, March 11, 2009 12:41:09
So, now the 60 billion is in Na...'s hand,anything can happen, 10m for him, 20m for that felar, I think 54 or more supports of him will not be a problem.
written by teo siew chin, March 11, 2009 12:55:39
"..If Najib is so tainted, then why did the UMNO divisions nominate him to be the next President? Are the UMNO leaders so blind, or so idiotic? ..."
------------------------

DontPlayGod - it can be a number of reasons : fear, money, stupidity, ignorance, money, power, money, promise of iPhones....errr guys, wats with the fixation for hi-tech thingys - they aint got tits ! duhhhhhhhh smilies/grin.gif
written by Huador, March 11, 2009 13:07:41

I am looking at some recent indicators telling us that Abdullah might stay on as Prime Minister.

1. A new religious advisor for a PM that is going to retired in less than a month?
2. The rise in toll rate was shot down by Abdullah who was in Bangkok while the Minister of Finance look stupid in Kuala Lumpur.
3. Khairy is not going to win UMNO youth. If Abdullah staying a while longer it might help.
4. Problems in Perak was started by Najib and now he has no solution to resolve it.
5. Atlantuya case suddently see a new police report by Kpl Sirul that previously unseen.
6. Bala is still missing.
7. MACC already admitted that Mahathir( former Kedah MB)is already captured in Video. When will it surface ad who finance the deal to buy Kedah Adun. Mahathir will have to tell the MACC. Can Najib just say I don't know?
8. What about police report by ADUNs in Perak that there were attempt to buy them.
9. Why there are treat of court injunction to stop UMNO meeting by two UMNO members?

Woooow...two week is too short to answer all this clue..No ?

written by chin, March 11, 2009 13:58:57
ABB is a weak leader but still a recognizable one.

Pakatan Rakyat may be able to gain a couple of seats in the cabinet if a deal can be struck. The Ministry of Finance would be the most important in these desperate times. Anwar may be able to make a difference here.

UMNO and other BN component parties are all about money and position,ABB can easily "buy" support from the MPs with promise of cabinet positions.

Now if only he is still interested, The man is rather soft. It is strange that such a weak leader would have the ability to united the whole country.
written by Siputman, March 11, 2009 14:11:50
"Bloddy shit !! U said u wanted to handover the job to me. U said i will become PM come this april. Now you wanted it back"...."I am not gonna let you do this"...."I will give you a taste of my C4, @#$%^&*". Kanasai !!
written by BGs, March 11, 2009 14:22:28
Najis himself will hv to take a bucketful of chlorox to clean up AMENO!
written by biggun129, March 11, 2009 14:42:54
Dont ever pray hope on this Pak Lah, this guy have 'No Ball',even you have 2/3 majority of votes of members of parliament to support him to stay back, I doubts he will say 'Yes', the transition is on as scheuled, and is cast on the stone, come this 4/April/2009, after the last cabinet meeting on the April Fool day, he will definitely hand over his Prime Minister's post to Najib,It is no point for us 'Crying over the spilled milk', and what Najib proposed on the recent stimulus plan, if it doesnt work out, you will see how the Malaysian reacts, he will definitely have to abandone his Premiership, and most probably there will be a 'Lightning' General Election for the nation!!Beware of the Dirty Job of EC,the culprit that will help Najib to be reelected and keep the premiership!That will be the Killing point!
written by delCapo, March 11, 2009 14:57:16
i like the maths...
20 with AABzzz
83 with PR
need only 9 more to snook Jibby & Rosie....

any one of the MPs can become PM, right? as long as the sitting AAbzzz recommend & the Agong endorses...
If not DSAI... wadabout Ku Li????
written by ChiaCY, March 11, 2009 16:38:30
Personally, I do not think DYMM will appoint anyone else other than Najib should the time come. It is also hard to believe that BN MPs are going to abandon Najib, even a handful of them.

We have seen too many cases lately, too many cases where things just went off course.

The sad thing is: There's too little for a layman like us to do to change the landscape, we are far too weak and powerless as opposed to what we thought ourselves are.

We wanted a change, we wanted a better government that serves the people and not the other way round.

A humble wish, right? But who is listening? And who is taking it serious and doing something on this?
written by zandi, March 11, 2009 16:46:00
Hey RPK, you son of a gun! This is the BESTEST news so far! Gosh, how I enjoy guffawing at your wonderful sense of humour. And I luv your maths, too; though, it may not be in BM as the GPM and our poor rural kids want it, nonetheless, your maths make me want to eagerly wake to many more mornings with a sleepy head but good-hearted Prime Minister to keep Malaysia from complete destruction by Najib. Anything, and I mean any THING (take your pick..an iPhone-crazy grandpa wannabe, a sleepy head, a flip-flop...any THING), is better than Najib as the Prime Minister of Malaysia!
written by Anti Relon, March 11, 2009 16:48:47
From Dail Mail (UK)
This idea looks like a good idea. Hopefulyy someone in Malaysia will follow this notion of bring stabiity and break the monopoly of main stream political parties. Presently it appears this is the best solution for the country.

Tycoon's vision to smash partisan politics with X-Factor-style independent MPs

By Daily Mail Reporter
Last updated at 10:15 PM on 08th March 2009

* Comments (4)
* Add to My Stories

Sir Paul judge

Sir Paul Judge, pictured in 1993 when he was director general of the Conservative Party

A former Tory tycoon yesterday launched an X-Factor-style political party which he claimed would restore the public's faith in Parliament.

Sir Paul Judge said repeated sleaze scandals and the narrow, career-mindedness of many politicians meant the existing system was 'broken'.

He is launching a movement called Jury Team which aims to use the internet to enable the public to select candidates from outside the ranks of party politics.

The group, which hopes to be up and running in time to field 72 candidates in the European elections in June, will have no manifesto or specific policies.

Instead, Sir Paul, who is funding the party from his estimated £30million fortune, said nominees would have to commit to behaving honestly and selflessly if elected.

The businessman, who was a director general of the Conservative Party under John Major and who launched his new party's website yesterday, said any elected candidates would sit as independents and would not be told how to vote by party whips.
written by ganbing, March 11, 2009 18:17:41
Don't forget that Yong Teck Lee has 2 MPs who are independent and will probably vote against Najib. So that makes another 7 needed to pull Najib down.

Don't expect the Agung to reject Najib, he got to watch over his shoulders too. What Badawi should do after Najib is appointed PM is to get somebody to call a vote of no-confidence against Najib. With some backdoor canvassing it should not be too difficult to get the numbers against this "heavy with baggage" guy. Perhaps the ghost of Altantuya can help.
written by banzai, March 11, 2009 18:40:00
P.M = Pergi Mongolia.
written by my2cents, March 11, 2009 19:53:45
IT MAY BE THE BIGGEST APRIL FOOL'S JOKE EVER.
All said and done, Najib as PM would be good for the country. With him as PM, people will be able to see more cleary UMNO in all it's glory. His appointment as PM would be the catalyst for the beginning to the end of Umno/BN.
written by Wakeupmsia, March 11, 2009 20:29:31
How I wish this to be true. AAB is a weakling and hence he will not dare do the impossible.
written by cble, March 11, 2009 22:35:04
Kenapa tidak pihak pembangkang membuat usul undi KEPERCAYAAN VOTE OF CONFIDENCE kepada PAKLAH untuk terus menerajui Kerajaan Perseketuan sehingga pemilu ke13 kelak. Susah sangatkah cadangan ini hendak dilakukan
written by Commonsenses, March 11, 2009 22:48:02
Yeah Iphone has better funtionality if u "jail-break" it. Hope u can break away from jail threat hanging over ur cases
written by LFLee, March 11, 2009 23:51:57
"What if one were to get a heart attack while playing badminton and dies, or his/her nude photographs or sex video suddenly appeared on the Internet and he/she is forced to resign, or something like which is so customary nowadays. "

RPK, how about photographs of their sons?? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

See:
http://www.gutteruncensored.com/2009/03/sons-of-malaysias-rich-and-powerful.html
written by shiokguy, March 12, 2009 00:33:31
ABB as PM and DSAI as Deputy

This is option 3 of my choice http://shiokguy.********.com/2...april.html

I would prefer RPK as PM (Independent PM, NOT BN nor PR) so he can Kick BN ass or PR ass.. whenever some ass needed to be KICKED

written by Bigdawg, March 12, 2009 01:57:21
Tuan2 dan Puan2,

Please stay calm and listen to me very carefully. Be seated.... and now feel the underside of your comfortable chairs...now don't peel off the masking tape!

You see, my Lt.Kol.s visited Parliament last night to beef up security.

Now make your votes wisely. You may stand up very slowly after I have been voted-in
as PeeAm.
written by sueteh, March 12, 2009 08:47:53
If the wind/breeze does not blow, can the leaves of the trees and fields sway?? Masa-kan kalau angin dan bayu tak bertiup, tak kanlah daun pokok dan rumput padang bergoyang. In the case of Pak Bibir Ros Najib, more like cyclone grade 10 and angin bala.

wah..Iphone..huh..like a woman..Iphone like a handsome man for me lah. gua tak da money lah..ekonomi meleset, so cannot buy lah..just download Iphone photos only.
written by sueteh, March 12, 2009 08:53:45
don't you hate it, it is a real peril and risk to be kind to people. you helped them then they straight away take advantage of your kindness. then, you think..oh my god..i kena kantoi, screwed. yalah..stupid me why i go and help that person. many people think of nothing, human beings are meant to be USED and taken ADVANTAGE of. maybe they themselves don't mind and thick skinned people who may have also used them. you sratch my belakang, i sratch your backside lah. people do get hurt. Next time, don't want to help them anymore, sudah takut..once bitten twice shy.

So sad, nowadays, people see each other as utility used kawan kawan.
written by joejoe, March 12, 2009 09:42:10
Here's my birthday wish.

I wish that on the day before Najis is supposed to be sworn in, the real evidence suddenly appears. The Agung has no choice but to cancel the swearing in, and seeks a new PM through fresh elections.

Remember that RPK said in his Statutory Declaration about a report on what really happened, and that one of the Rulers even has a copy of this report? Remember that there is supposed to be a photograph to prove that Najis knows Tuya? I wish these would just appear.

Otherwise, I just wish that we just have snap elections so we can express the collective wishes of all Malaysians.
written by flyer168, March 12, 2009 15:01:41

"ALL TRAILS LEAD TO THE LOCAL INTERPOL NAMED NAJIB"....

may I add..."Remote Controlled by C4"....and if he misses a step...to reach "Seri Perdana by hook or by crook", even for one day...he will be C4-ed by Fat Mama!

Just look at his face now...with the 28/3 date to cope up with, the 29/3 for the nominations, the 2, 3, 4, maybe 5 bye-elections...(Aiyooo, why "Guruji" not coming back lor...hope the Sarawak one can WORK!)

Devine Intervention will see him on 28/3 with "HIS OWN HUNG UMNO EXECUTIVE COUNCIL" followed by "Anarchy & Chaos" amongst possible "20 Wannabes" & their Lapdog Groups/Goons AGAINST one another....

yes...the last one at the Parliament was a "Practice Run" for the coming "Mother of all!"

Remember..."What goes round...Will come around" & we shall watch them "Ketetuanan UMNO Beggars".....

"DESTROY" themselves bringing about the "DEMISE" of "UMNO"....Past, Present & Future!

Fat Mama & PM wannabe will have to "RESORT TO" the "LAST ACT"....exactly what his late father "PRESCRIBED" & DID in 1969...

So, will we see the 29/3 for the nominations, the 2, 3, 4, maybe 5 bye-elections ????

May God Almighty save us ALL!
written by dusunbukit, March 12, 2009 15:02:20
ironically, out of 27 million malaysians, only 2,500 given the mandate to elect our next PM.. there must be something wrong with the system..

written by lhccys, March 13, 2009 09:26:37
Quoted Kenny "With such incredible speed of reverse movement in the Federal Court, and with the review by the 2nd panel of the decisions made by the 1st now seemingly in abeyance even having UMNO Zaki as the CJ, one is very much tempted to assume that a very powerful hand is moving behind the scene."

I don't underestimate Khairy's strength and influence. Of course I deny saying that he is the "powerful hand" moving behind the scene. I don't know because I am/was not with him.

But one thing I am quite sure is that Khairy would be the last few who is keen/happy to see his father in law's position taken over by someone (by force/plot). Pak Lah should stay. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif