Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow RPK, a liar for Islam, or just incredibly ignorant?

RPK, a liar for Islam, or just incredibly ignorant? PDF Print
Monday, 09 March 2009 18:25

A piece for all of your perusal, a rebuttal I have written in response to RPK's latest column. It's doubtful that anyone in Malaysia has the cojones to post this, but I'd like to be proven wrong.

by The Anti Jihadist

Today, here in fair Malaysia, it's the so-called 'Prophet's' birthday and hence a national holiday for everybody. Well, I certainly don't mind having a day off, so I cooked a nice tasty haram bacon breakfast, and now I'm going to write my first column in several weeks. What better way to celebrate the birth of that delusional, 7th century psychopathic 'prophet'?

My favourite Malaysian writer and provocateur Raja Petra ('RPK') has an annoying habit of writing pieces that apologise for Islam, the aggressive and intolerant ideology that somehow has won his allegiance.  His latest piece has a jaw-dropping title that is breathtaking in its audacity: Freedom of opinion and speech in Islam. And RPK's main idea here? Rather than paraphrasing, I shall quote from his piece thusly:

"The concept of freedom of opinion as applied by the Prophet is mentioned in various verses of the Quran revealed in both Mekah and Medina. The total freedom of opinion and speech is a principle that was guaranteed by Islam since the beginning of the revelation."

Wait an infidel moment...is he kidding?!? Islam guarantees freedom of speech? The idea is laughable, ridiculous and absurd, until one realises that RPK, that powerhouse writer, intellectual extraordinaire, is being absolutely serious. Hence, RPK's thesis deserves a careful and thorough debunking.

First of all, RPK fails to mention in his own article which verses of the Quran supposedly guarantee 'freedom of speech.' Perhaps we're supposed to just take his word for it, then? And what does RPK mean when he says 'freedom of speech', anyway? Does he mean that Islam or its founder can be criticised? It stands to reason that Mohammed, were he alive, would certainly disagree with RPK's notions; Mohammed had critics of his movement (the poet Ka'b bin Al-Ashraf, among others) assasinated on his personal orders, during his own lifetime [1]. In other words, Muslims have a word for 'freedom of speech' and 'criticism of Islam', and that word is blasphemy.

Mohammed's followers have diligently followed their prophet's example, killing untold numbers of people (Muslims and otherwise) over the years who dared to criticise Islam.  Dutch filmmaker Theo van Gogh was stabbed to death in broad daylight on a street in Amsterdam in 2004 by a Muslim immigrant following the release of his film 'Submission' which was highly critical of Islam [2]. At the trial, Gogh's murderer Mohammed Bouyeri was unrepentant -- and absolutely clear about why he murdered van Gogh. “I did what I did purely out my beliefs,” he explained, Quran in hand. “I want you to know that I acted out of conviction and not that I took his life because he was Dutch or because I was Moroccan and felt insulted….If I ever get free, I would do it again.” He was, he said, acting in accord with Islamic law: “What moved me to do what I did was purely my faith. I was motivated by the law that commands me to cut off the head of anyone who insults Allah and his prophet.” [3] Other well-known critics of Islam, like Geert Wilders and Ayaan Hirsi Ali, require round-the-clock protection and face nonstop efforts (litigation, death threats, etc) from Muslims and others to silence them.  

But this barbarous Islamic behaviour is not just a recent phenomena. Nor was van Gogh the first critic of Islam to be silenced.  Back in 1946, Islamic radicals of a group called Fadayan-e Islam murdered Iranian lawyer Ahmad Kasravi in court; Kasravi was there to defend himself against charges that he had attacked Islam [4]. Four years later, members of the same group assasinated Iranian prime minister Haji-Ali Razmara after a group of Muslim clerics issued a fatwa calling for his death. In 1992, Egyptian writer Faraj Foda was murdered by Muslims enraged at his 'apostasy' from Islam--a capital offence under traditional Islamic law. Foda's countryman, the Nobel Prize-winning novelist Naguib Mahfouz, was stabbed in 1994 by more of RPK's co-religionists after being accused of blasphemy [5]. 

But Muslims are not content with the mere murder of individuals, however prominent they may be.  Criticism of Islam or of its prophet is against the law in virtually every country with a Muslim majority or with a Muslim-controlled government. To wit, in supposedly 'moderate' Malaysia, such activities are deemed as a "national security threat", punishable with fines and/or imprisonment, with or without trial or charge [6]. These blasphemy laws permit the arrest, detention and torture of suspects of either Muslims or non Muslims on the slimmest of evidence. In some of those countries, such as Sudan, Pakistan, and Saudi Arabia, such criticism is a capital offense [7]. Curiously, these laws have never aroused the ire or disapproval of any Muslims or Muslim groups.  Rather, it is always the other way--Muslims continuously wish to shut down debate regarding Islam in their own nations and elsewhere, via censorship, blasphemy laws, lobbying, lawsuits, litigation and any other means at their disposal [8]. What kind of 'freedom' are Muslims peddling here?

Is it possible that all these Muslims, from every part of the world, over the course of decades (if not centuries) have all somehow 'misunderstood' the teachings of their prophet?  This is what RPK desperately wants everyone to believe. Or rather, have these Muslims faithfully carried out the core teachings of Mohammed? The traditional Muslim view, supported by centuries of Islamic jurisprudence and enunciated by Pakistan's Federal Sharia Court, is simply this: "The penalty for contempt of the Holy Prophet...is death and nothing else." [9]

Does this sound like anything remotely resembling 'total freedom'? RPK, what planet are you living on?

References

1. Website URL http://www.answering-islam.org/Muhammad/Enemies/kab.html. Accessed 9 March 2009

2. Robert Spencer, "The Politically Incorrect Guide to Islam"  Regnery Publishing, 2005, pg 214

3. Website URL http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/4716909.stm. Accessed 9 March 2009

4. Website URL http://www.iranchamber.com/personalities/akasravi/ahmad_kasravi.php. Accessed 9 March 2009

5. Website URL http://www.frontpagemag.com/Articles/Read.aspx?GUID=EF975B5C-FE43-4AD0-B748-C296AB891464.  Accessed 9 March 2009

6. Website URL http://www.asianews.it/view.php?l=en&art=5707. Accessed 9 March 2009

7. Website URL http://www.trosch.org/bks/islm/blasphemy.html?_ptr.html. Accessed 9 March 2009

8. Website URL http://www.americanthinker.com/2008/02/universal_islamic_blasphemy_la.html. Accessed 9 March 2009

9. Ashok K. Behuria, "It is Election Time...," Asian Affairs, October 2002

Comments (55)Add Comment
written by Urangsabah, March 09, 2009 18:35:15
Wah buss, masam kau mara sia ni, masam si RPK kau arch musum numero uno......chill la buss, to big how to read.

Is it not nice to have a gentleman discussion on who is more holier than the other.

I hope come April 1st, the Anti-Establishment media would not be silenced.

Anywhere
A piece for all of your perusal, a rebuttal I have written in response to RPK's latest column. It's doubtful that anyone in Malaysia has the cojones to post this, but I'd like to be proven wrong.
guess you are wrong here, your piece got published. But what if RPK sent to Utusan.........just thinkinh out loud
written by chanatak, March 09, 2009 18:49:46
Islamic teaching is so deceptive you can find arguments to support both militant and peaceable views. On the one hand it can preach tolerance, and immediately in another chapter you will find the reverse - telling believers to kill every unbeliever.

And of course, it is not possible to have an open debate or discussion. To criticize Muhammad is to attract death threats at best, and actual execution as often proven. See Salman Rushdie. To criticize the koran ....... horrors! horrors!

So RPK has no choice but to sell the good side, while criticizing those fake proponents.

Sometimes I wonder.... If I have the truth, why can't I let the truth defend itself against criticisms and verbal attacks. Why must I threaten those who criticize with vitriol and death threats? Sounds like bullying others into silence, rather than the truth defending itself.

agree 157
written by Raja Chulan, March 09, 2009 18:59:50
“Everything may be given up for the sake of truth, but truth cannot be given up for anything.” - Vivekananda

Only the TRUTH shall set you free
written by tumbledore, March 09, 2009 19:02:33
with all the importance and attention given to the belief Islam one should tend to think that malaysia is full of ANGELS, at least all the muslims.
dear friends, don't we have other things to do? why all this permanent harping on islam? religion solves no problems but to the contrary creates many. leave the religion at home and please tend to the problems we are facing - our auto-pilot can't go on forever!

sorry, I did'nt read the article from RPK. the title told me what to expect. therefore I'm not criticizing.

if you want to know about freedom of opinion and speech one should talk to the impoverished people of this earth. if it is all true as you say why are'nt they being heard - because they are poor?

freedom of speech-opinion is only for the rich and mighty. a good portion of the believers who dispense religious ideas do it for their own profit.

thanks for the article Pete and also for the good article above.

I will always look forward to reading your articles, nevertheless.

written by Milo, March 09, 2009 19:30:26
written by chanatak: Islamic teaching is so deceptive you can find arguments to support both militant and peaceable views. On the one hand it can preach tolerance, and immediately in another chapter you will find the reverse - telling believers to kill every unbeliever.
-------------------------------

Ya, just like the horoscope. It is written in a way you can pick and choose what you like, and what you do not.
written by patriotic1994, March 09, 2009 20:01:25
There is no perfect book, nor teaching, nor religion.

Religion is the "excuse" to do what you want in life - your way. Once you believe in something and found that it is "supported" in the book, you just go ahead to do it.

In the name of religion, you can do good thing as well as bad things.

In Christianity, Mr. Christ (some said he is son of God) challenged the existing religion (Jews) and tell people to have "mercy", basically stand up and fight off the existing government (High Priests). He was put to death because he claimed himself Son of God (the excuse the High Priests use). It was a great sin to the government at that time.

Mr Christ had inspired many people until today.
disagree 26
written by PASOK, March 09, 2009 20:02:05

This article is inspired by and is rooted in religious hatred and hatred towards the Muslim religion.
Every human has freedom to speak and act but all religions assure us that there are consequences to the use of freedom. For Christians the penalties for sin are even more dire - as hell is eternal according to them.
Also at times the practitioners of Christianity or any religion for that matter, have been what we would regard as barbaric and evil. Is any religion guilt-free when it comes to the charge of atrocities against fellow human beings?

But it is people like Raja Petra who are trying to carve out this space of freedom and tolerance. Just like Martin Luther tried to carve out a similar space for Christians during the 1500's in Europe.

Why try to shut him down with your prejudice?
What is wrong for him to appeal to his fellow Muslims to accept that concepts of freedom and tolerance are not antithetical to Islam?

Come on la, give the guy a chance. He is taking such risks for such noble causes.
Try to learn from his inspiration and be less consumed by religious prejudice and hatred.

May the Good Lord bless you Anti Jihadist
disagree 19
written by pinsysu, March 09, 2009 20:08:38
i read the heading, i read the 1st para and the last. i skipped what's in between. and my conclusion? RPK speaks the truth! more often than not, God's message is very simple: love thy neighbor like u love thyself. it's the evil men who twisted God's words to suit their own hidden agenda. if you can understand the meaning of love, forget about mastering the holy bks. waste time, waste time!
written by densemy, March 09, 2009 20:18:55
Patriotic 1994... does that explain why Malaysians of all races are obsessed with religion??
written by pinsysu, March 09, 2009 20:24:17
typo ... if you can't understand the meaning of love ...
written by Frankfurtguy, March 09, 2009 21:02:52
even bible is abused by people under the influences of the satan.
so....same for any other holy book such as Quran

Why you guys just look at the superficial of it and forget the very fundamental:
ALL holy books or religions are to guide us to be a good human kind, not like those scumbags in BN

No points arguing and critising RPK
RPK is a good man and he is just clarifying certain aspects in the Holy Quran
Why make a fuss......??
written by atan, March 09, 2009 21:08:02
A man or a woman had to lay aside the selfishness that seem so endemic to our humanity if he or she wished to apprehend the reality of God, brahman or Nibbana.
The Chinese philosophers taught that people must submit their desires and behaviour to the essential rythms of life if they wanted to achieve enlightenment.
The Hebrew prophets spoke of submission to the will of God.
Later , Jesus would tell his disciples that the spiritual quest demanded a death to self: a grain of wheat had to fall into the ground and die before it attained its full potential and bore fruit.
Muhammad would preach the importance of Islam,an existential surrender of the entire being to God.
The abandonment of selfishness and egotism would become the linchpin of Gautama's own dhamma.
Karen Armstrong.

written by SocratesI, March 09, 2009 22:10:03

Kudos to Anti-Jihadist for writing the article and RPK for having the cojones to print it !

Orangair, we are people of the world who not only critically assess Muslims/ Islam but also all the religions in the world and their followers, if not how are we to choose the religion to follow, or not, as the case may be ?>?

Clusco, I am sure RPK has done some research, but I sure would like to have his references and sources like what Anti-Jihadist has done above. RPK is trying to educate people into not hating one another, Anti-Jihadist is trying to portray the Truth as he sees it - there is a difference here.

I am sure RPK will come back with a rebuttal, and I look forward to reading nit, hopefully with the relevant references and sources clearly listed down this time.

written by Msahibul56, March 09, 2009 22:15:24

Is it possible that all these Muslims, from every part of the world, over the course of decades (if not centuries) have all somehow 'misunderstood' the teachings of their prophet?

Dear anti-jihadist. The answer to you question is YES.

Why? Because Muhammad himself states in the Quran: "My Lord, my people have abandoned the Quran."

Fact is, most of the so-called Muslims do not follow the Quran. The majority of them follow the rebellious devils who coined beautiful sounding words and made them appear as if they are from God or the Prophet when they are not so as to deceive the people.

And God himself warns against following the majority stating that majority, even among those who claim to be believers, have deviated from the true path.

"Only a few among you actually take heed."

Your mistake, thus, in writing this article is to perceive Islam the way it is being practised by the majority of the so-called Muslims.

True Muslims submit totally to God and regard all life, as God states, as sacred. They are only allowed to kill in self defense those who fight them among the hypocrites and disbelievers, or those who prevent you from carrying out your duties to God.

Against those who criticise their religion or the prophets (true Muslims are not suppose to make any distinctions from among the propheys), God's command is simple: "Leave them be. They will surely find out after they die. They will surely find out."

written by malsia1206, March 09, 2009 22:19:28
Anti Jihadist, go to gutteruncensored.com and see what our Ministers VVIPs' sons are doing. Frolicking with girls on public and boozing their lives away. Are they Muslims or not?
written by atan, March 09, 2009 22:31:53
Quran 49:6

O ye who believe! If a wicked person comes to you with any news, ascertain the truth, less ye harm people unwittingly, and afterwards become full of repentance for what you have done.
written by khongja, March 09, 2009 22:32:42
Anti-jihadist,
You made a well researched analysis on unwavering stand of those die hard muslims.Rpk is using the subtle way to let his muslim bretherens in malaysia knows they are one big bunch of hyppocrits running around for their own agendas.Furthermore he hits out at those supposedly learned muslims clearics professing islam their own version or the umno version. We agree your views in some areas but as they say this is a varied world.
written by razzwill, March 09, 2009 22:34:23
Some religions tell us "you can choose to believe or you can disbelieve" (or words to that effect). Lest this be misconstrued as "freedom to choose" by a 'benevolent' and 'charitable' God/being, you're dead wrong. There is always a price to pay for the choices you make, particularly if you choose not to follow what scripture prescribes. The bottom line is that there really is no freedom of choice, and that the road ahead has been carved out for you since the day you were born. And if you think no one is watching, think again. The self-proclaimed 'guardians of God and religion' standing on the waysides will make sure you stay on the chosen path, even if it means beating you to a pulp or killing you. It's quite depressing really.
written by parsona, March 09, 2009 22:55:17
Muslims here know what antijihadist says is true, but just goes around the bush not even trying to counter his point simply because they can't. Those who bash him as anti-islam, please at least try to prove that what he says is wrong.

As for RPK saying what he said, RPK may be wrong but his heart is still in the right place, his intentions were good.
written by Qcumber, March 09, 2009 22:57:24
If we believe in one God and there is no other God, then we shouldnt discriminate other religion by saying what they worship is not God. God ever since the time of creation has tried to teach human the concept of God. Throughout the history of man, the level of mental maturity was different, so the teaching methods were different, thus become different religion. All religions are from one source. If you deny other religions, you are denyingthe very own God you worship.

Think about it.
written by sorosapril, March 09, 2009 23:01:29
whatever it is, that religion called "ISLAM" has got something no right, it makes the believers very violent and extremist in behaviour. if not how u explain why every time go demonstration and always hide inside the mosque whenever there is trouble or after creating trouble.

or like i always say, either the religion is wrong or those who claim they are well versed are shortcircuited and misread the teaching of ALLAH.

and talking about ALLAH, sound like those in Malaysia try to be hero and patent righted the word, what are they trying to do, apple polish ALLAH??

typical malay muslim, i hope there are a lot of malay buddhist and malay christian around, because malay muslim like to claim things belong to them and not allow others to have a share, just like the land called Peninsular Malaya, Sabah and Sarawak, they claim belong to them and yet that religion only came to this land in which century? long before that they were hindu, and so on.

the ban of use of ALLAH only showed how insecure those people having this religion, why got no confidence in the belief in this religion? then why worry about people using the same word
written by Farouk, March 09, 2009 23:01:31
Dear AJ,

It's good to see you back but sad to see you filled with so much hate in an attempt to anger Muslims. Do you feel its emotive to me that you eat bacon? My God man, you can do better than that and in a nicer way too.

I'm sure you know that in order to essentialise Islam, that is to find what it is, not what people say about it, the only way to go is to its source, Quran itself.

Why bother with what a bunch of fanatics say? Why not quote other Muslims who find peace and happiness in our religion? Selective quoting from a polyphony of voices isn't fair.

It's good to hear from you anyway.
written by sorosapril, March 09, 2009 23:07:09
worst still, those who came later also enjoy better benefit than those non muslims who had been here long long long time ago.

and i notices those who came later, like those mamak, indonesian malays and filipino muslims are the one who are shouting the most and stirring up the racial issue now, trying to impress people or whatever.

Malaysia is going bust with these type of mentality and UMNO youth is supposed to be the future leaders, with that calibre and quality? we need ALLAH and all the gods to bless Malaysia
written by Jit Dharma, March 09, 2009 23:07:49
A compassionate person will produce a compassionate theology
and a power-crazed one a theology of control and oppression.
written by informalaysia, March 09, 2009 23:37:56
The Quraisy, the ruling tribe of Mecca, have rebuked, mocked and abused Prophet Muhammad by calling him a crazy man, a liar, and perhaps a psychopath. They have beaten and tortured the Prophet's followers mercilessly. They even waged wars and planned to kill the Prophet on numerous occasions. Yet, when the Prophet entered Mecca victorious with a strong army of 10,000, he and his followers did not take any revenge on anyone. He forgave the people of the city, including his most bitter enemy, Abu Sufyan, who was involved in almost every battles to destroy the Prophet and the followers of Islam.

The people and the leaders of T'aif used to throw rocks at the Prophet when the Prophet came to the city to spread the message of Islam. The Prophet forgave all of them and prayed to God for the blessings of the people of the city. When asked why the Prophet didn't pray for the destruction of the people in the city, the Prophet replied, 'they just didn't know what they were doing'.

Abdullah bin Ubayy, the leader of the 'munafiqin', or the hypocrites in Madinah, betrayed the Prophet and the Muslims by withdrawing 300 of his armies in the battle of Uhud, spreading lies and slander about the Prophet's wife Aisya, and by involving in many conspiracies to harm the Prophet. Yet, after Abdullah bin Ubayy died, the Prophet offered his funeral prayer and asked God to forgive him.

Habir ibn Aswad was another vicious enemy of Islam and the Prophet. When Zainab, the daughter of the Prophet, was on a journey to Madinah, Habir and a group of polytheists from Mecca obstructed Zainab's caravan and Habir threw Zainab off the camel she was riding. She was pregnant at that time, and the poor women was badly hurt and had a miscarriage. Habir would later repent for his crime, and when he went to seek forgiveness from Zainab and the Prophet, the Prophet forgave him (as for Zainab, it is unknown whether she had forgiven him or not).
(continue..)
written by informalaysia, March 09, 2009 23:38:37
(continued.)

Does Prophet Muhammad sounds like a murderer or a psychopath? Nah, I don't think so. Gandhi, in a statement published in 'Young India', 1924 said:

'I wanted to know the best of the life of one who holds today an undisputed sway over the hearts of millions of mankind.... I became more than ever convinced that it was not the sword that won a place for Islam in those days in the scheme of life. It was the rigid simplicity, the utter self-effacement of the Prophet the scrupulous regard for pledges, his intense devotion to his friends and followers, his intrepidity, his fearlessness, his absolute trust in God and in his own mission. These and not the sword carried everything before them and surmounted every obstacle. When I closed the second volume (of the Prophet's biography), I was sorry there was not more for me to read of that great life.'

George Bernard Shaw wrote in 'The Genuine Islam,' Vol. 1, No. 8, 1936.:

"I have studied him - the wonderful man and in my opinion far from being an anti-Christ, he must be called the Savior of Humanity."

"I believe that if a man like him were to assume the dictatorship of the modern world he would succeed in solving its problems in a way that would bring it the much needed peace and happiness: I have prophesied about the faith of Muhammad that it would be acceptable to the Europe of tomorrow as it is beginning to be acceptable to the Europe of today.”

The fact that I follow Muhammad's teachings and his kind actions towards his enemies is the reason why that 'nice tasty haram bacon breakfast' of yours wouldn't be your last meal on earth, dear Anti-Jihadist. I pray to God the Most-Merciful for your forgiveness and I hope you will find the real truth about Muhammad and his teachings. Now I'm off to celebrate Maulidur Rasul, and I will leave with this verse from the Quran:

`Keep to forgiveness (of Muhammad), and enjoy kindness, and turn away from the ignorant' (Quran 7:199)
written by informalaysia, March 09, 2009 23:43:14
Sorry guys, a typo, the verse should read:

`Keep to forgiveness (O Muhammad), and enjoy kindness, and turn away from the ignorant' (Quran 7:199)
written by AO Musa, March 09, 2009 23:47:52
This is a clear indication that we can never achieve multiracial party in Malaysia. If we can tolerate with differences in race but on the other hand we will fight because of the differences in religions!!!!

We Malaysians are the most educated bastards in the world!!!! I'm sick of all these people! All of you are bunch of useless seeds who still fighting like school kids over the religion matter. Grow up guys!!!

Shoot me now! I deserve it coz wasting my time read stupid articles and comments like this!
written by Nizzywizzy, March 10, 2009 00:01:12
Here we go again, everyone is getting on the bandwagon to bash Islam. What you fail to see is the core massage RPK trying to say.

I don't know what is the religion of the author is but he put his arguments based various websites on the internet which themselves are biased without giving direct quotes from the Quran. What is said in the holy books and how a person or country interprets and behaving is different thing.

Tell me which non Islamic country in the world practices absolute freedom of speech and what religion do they belong to? If you want to base your argument on the basis of number of people killed or persecuted, then the biggest atrocities are committed not by Muslims but people calling themselves representing other supposed to be peaceful religions.

Robert Mugabe, Stalin, Bush, Karadzic, Hitler are all belongs to what religion? Hindus killing Christians and Muslims in India, Atrocities committed by Japanese during WWW2, Chinese, North Koreans - supposed to be believers of peaceful Buddhism. So we can pick on every religion if we want to.

Do you think absolute freedom of speech exists in the west? Try saying the wrong thing in the US, UK or in Europe and see where you will end up. Freedom of speech is one thing but freedom to offend is not acceptable in any society. Most of their criticism are ignorant and about bad cultural/political practices rather than Islam itself. For example the Bumiputra policy in Malaysia is not Islamic and Islam condemns inequality. Even in England the Blasphemy law still exists to safe guard Christianity.

So instead of putting your one sided argument based on unreliable, biased web sites, please look at the positive thing in all religions and say how we can live together in this complex world without cutting each others throat. Hope you have enjoyed your bacon breakfast and for your information the bacon is haram only for the Muslims and they don't give a damn about what you eat.

For the people on the bandwagon, please see below a table of people killed in atrocities by various nations just 20th century from 1900 - 1999. See the total number of people killed by countries calling themselves Islamic nations compare to all the (supposed to be) peaceful religions and atheist countries.

Source: Genocide and Mass Murder Since 1900 By R.J. Rummel
http://www.hawaii.edu/powerkills/NOTE5.HTM

TABLE 1.2
20th Century Democide1

REGIMES YEARS DEMOCIDE2 RELIGION?

U.S.S.R. 1917-87 61,911,000
China (PRC) 1949-87 35,236,000
Germany 1933-45 20,946,000
China (KMT) 1928-49 10,075,000
Japan 1936-45 5,964,000
China (Mao Soviets)31923-49 76,702,000
Cambodia 1975-79 2,035,000
Turkey (Armenian Genocide)1909-18 1,883,000
Vietnam 1945-87 1,670,000
Poland 1945-48 1,585,000
Pakistan 1958-87 1,503,000
Yugoslavia (Tito) 1944-87 1,072,000
North Korea 1948-87 1,663,000
Mexico 1900-20 1,417,000
Russia 1900-17 1,066,000
China (Warlords) 1917-49 910,000
Turkey (Ataturk) 1919-23 878,000
United Kingdom 1900-87 50,000,000
Portugal (Dictatorship)1926-82 741,000
Indonesia 1965-87 729,000
USA 1900-87 2,792,000
WORLD TOTAL 1900-99 262,000,000
Total by Islamic Nations1900-99 4,993,000
Total by other religious nations 1900-99 257,007,000

1. From STATISTICS OF DEMOCIDE.
2. Includes genocide, politicide, and mass murder; excludes war-dead. These are probable mid-estimates in low to high ranges. Figures may not sum due to round off.
3. Guerrilla period.

written by imanj, March 10, 2009 00:40:10

Can any political party in the name of justice and equality fight for a country, whose minds are so tainted...

It's like a push button,'press start' and it's..GO..GO..GO..and the mind races off in the wrong direction!!!

I posted two comments [one in reply to sabahfan] in the Article; Political Leaders Urged To Back Signature Campaign..Do read it..

Freedom of speech = Freedom of speech with substance,without prejudice,without malice and without ridicule..
And what's wrong with that..????

IF we so believe that "GOD" is same for everyone then consider this...
THE ONE AND ONLY THING THAT MAKES "GOD" THE ALMIGHTY SAME FOR EVERYONE IS,

"THE LOVE FOR HIM AND THE LOVE FOR MANKIND"

Islam a teaching 500 years after "JESUS" where he was betrayed by the Jews,

"GOD" gave us "JESUS",it wasn't good enough for mankind,and "GOD" gave us "MUHAMMAD" and it still wasn't good enough..

PEOPLE choose to destroy this love and the world to GUARD/PROTECT with LOYALTY, in faith in "GOD's" name purely on conceited arrogance and ignorance..
And we all suffer far it..

Like informalaysia,i too will say a little prayer for all the children who continue to be mislead....

So 'Press start' and ..GO..GO..GO.. to sleep Malaysia,rest your minds and awake to a new day,and maybe,just maybe in the right direction....

written by Oxy, March 10, 2009 01:53:49
RPK is championing FREEDOM, full stop.
Whether in state or mosque, his heart cries out
to communicate this single Virtue to his people
who otherwise are doomed.But this swing from politics
to religion is confusing to most people and distressful to others.
He attempts it by highlighting the Law as given by Mohammad, by Moses.

“A prophet is not honored in his own land”,
We are more comfortable with Hadi Awang and Mahatir
who sing to our tune, the anthem of Ketuanan Ku.
For them:
State is God and people are the submissive servants.
Islam is Religion, others are not.
Malays are Bumis, others are flotsam landed on the beache.
This is the idolatry of State, Religion and Race which
Mohammad. the messenger of God is against.

RPK warns us about the wolves in sheep clothing who wants
to keep the Malays ignorant, arrogant and stupid,
neatly parceled like nasi lemak, so they can be controlled
by a divide and conquer regime. These enemies of the people
in BN and PKR must be overthrown to be FREE.

It happens that others are also listening in, but have little understanding
of the soul of these chosen people. Some are influenced by Christian and other lobbies who attempt to downgrade Islam, tit for tat, and do not know how to discerning the facts from the lie.
But I am a jihadist, regardless of any religion you would like to call me.
written by johanssm, March 10, 2009 03:54:52
wait a minute , a real Muslim will not kill . kill and kill.
A real muslim will show the surah found in the quran and kindly guides Raja Petra.
The article by anti jihadist sounds like a threat.
Looks like a threat and smells like a threat.
Dont tell me that in Islam , if i say the wrong word the muslims will kill me?
Raja Petra is a provocateur of truth .
Raja Petra provokes people to think.Is this also an offense in Islam?
Pete's material might be annoying to the writer but i found anti jihadist to be most annoying.
written by Super Admin, March 10, 2009 05:36:34
SocratesI, March 09, 2009 22:10:03

Clusco, I am sure RPK has done some research, but I sure would like to have his references and sources like what Anti-Jihadist has done above.

Dear SocratesI, Anti-Jihadist's sources of references are anti-Islam websites. That is like researching Najib and quoting from Parti Keadilan websites. How strong would this kind of 'research' be?

And RPK did mention his source in case you missed it in the article.
written by seeker, March 10, 2009 05:51:48
anti jihad membuat contoh dan mendatangkan bukti pada penganut Islam bukan hakikat islam. jadi siapa yang jahil sebenarnya!!!!
written by flyer168, March 10, 2009 06:35:46

Malaysia badly needs "Role Model" established Leaders & Politicians of HONOUR with Calibre, Maturity & Tolerance without Fear or Favour & NOT Political OPPORTUNISTS – on BOTH sides of the Political Divide.

This nation Desperately needs Intelligent, Time Proven Pragmatic Successful modelled, Financial & Politiical "SOLUTIONS" NOW on BOTH sides of the Political Divide, to MITIGATE the IMPENDING Political & Financial fallout.

The 8th March 2008 elections offered us an "Alternative to the UMNO/BN Autocratic Government.

In 2009, We are ALL Anak Bangsa Malaysia led by our "RPK, Haris & all the Defenders of Truth" to restore "Justice, Equality, Human Rights & Freedom" with our struggles to achieve our 2nd Independence....

Not from the British Administration, BUT from our own Autocratic Ketuanan UMNO Baru, MCA & MIC) regime.

This great nation, its assets & its Anak Bangsa Malaysia have been abused for the last 40 years by these "Moronic Idiots & their Goons" through "Gutter Politics" & the "Law of the Jungle".

We must all SHIFT our “Ketuanan/Racial/Religious/Opportunist/Personal/Selfish, Etc Paradigm” and start thinking about “OUR GREAT NATION MALAYSIA for ANAK BANGSA MALAYSIA” as with the original “VALUES” of our Bapa Merdeka Tunku together with his first cabinet adopted - From TOP to BOTTOM.

Let us ALL Pray to God Almighty in our own way & faith for “SANITY, Human Rights, Justice, Equality, Freedom & Peace to “Prevail” over “EVIL”
written by OVERLORD, March 10, 2009 06:53:07
RPK is just pointing out the hypocracy and religious bigotry that exist within the ranks of UMNO ...they hide behind their religion, with the guise of piety and humility, similar to what they are doing now when UMNO cowardly hides behind the notion of preserving the rights of Malays and Royal sanctity.....
written by evaangel, March 10, 2009 06:53:26
I can understand the bias against islam. After all the daily news is full of stories of muslim fundamentalists either blowing themselves up or blowing up other people. So when someone writes an article saying Yeah free speech and freedom of thought is encouraged in islam you scratch your head and say HUH???
Therein lies the problem - you have to seperate the religion and the twisted ideology of those fundamentalists who are born into a society of perpetual war. You can interpret any religious book to say what you want. I challenge any christian to tell me that the God of the Old Testament was not an angry and bloodthirsty god.
I will admit - it is hard for me to do. I have read the horror stories on faithfreedom.org. I have read books on how women are mistreated in Arab countries. Is this the religion or the culture hiding behind a religion?
RPK provides a balanced argument - of how one man sees the true spirit of a religion - lives it... breathes it... there is no RPK without islam - he doesn't just go through the motions. That is what a religion should be for everyone.
I may not agree with him completely but his articles on islam are reassuring to me as a non-muslim, that islam is not a religion to be feared but to be respected.
written by Tornado, March 10, 2009 09:55:16
Anti-Jihadist,

Kerajaan BN/UMNO kata setiap perbuatan mesti disertakan dengan rasa tanggungjawab, walaupun diorang sendiri tak buat.

Kebanyakan kes yang saudara sertakan tidak memenuhi kata-kata dari BN/UMNO, sebab tu berlaku kekacauan.

Kalau dah tahu benda camtu boleh buat kecoh, jangan la buat...Sendiri cari pasal memang kena.
written by Ijalz, March 10, 2009 09:59:15
Hatred will destroy all, no matter which side your on....
written by JC Tan, March 10, 2009 14:09:15
There is the religion, then there is a human (or so called the religion's faithful).

Do not intermix the human and the religion.

The most beautiful thing on earth is tainted whenever human intervene.

-JC Tan
written by JJFoo, March 11, 2009 11:02:26
Well written AJ, it is interesting to have both side of the same coin presented intellectually by sound minds.

What AJ sum up maybe quite unpalatable to many, for some, its bordering if not downright blasphemy. AJ may not be totally correct but he is certainly not far from the truth (in view of the carnages commit in recent time by believer of the Islamic faith, committed with total disregard to innocent life and beyond any sensible logic, expect to be rewarded by their Devine an eternal perfect afterlife in haven if killed in the process).

I do believe at times RPK too did go bonkers observing such deviated ideologies, which in my humble opinion no true religion should or will condone or advocate. RPK may not be perfect but what he is trying to accomplish was done with “pure good intention” and most admirably with a “selfless” attitude for the betterment of the society and nation.

Kudos to both of you good people RPK & AJ for presenting both side of the same coin.
written by SamBall, March 11, 2009 22:48:57
Salman Rushdie can perhaps answer this question as to whether there is "freedom of speech" and "criticism of Islam" of Islam