Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Maybe Najib Rides it Out: a flashback of 2007

Maybe Najib Rides it Out: a flashback of 2007 PDF Print
Saturday, 07 March 2009 10:19

Despite a damaging week of revelations in the Mongolian murder case, clout and connections are likely to keep Malaysia’s deputy prime minister where he is

Given Abdul Razak’s close relationship with Najib, there is little doubt that he at least met her, and may well have shared conversations with an increasingly desperate Abdul Razak, who was being blackmailed by Altantuya, a fact she even acknowledged in a letter read in court.

Matt Salleh, The Asia Sentinel, 7 July 2007

It has been a bad week for Najib Tun Razak, the deputy prime minister of Malaysia.

With his close friend Abdul Razak Baginda on trial for her murder, Najib was identified Monday by a witness as having had his picture taken with the victim, Mongolian translator Altantuya Shaariibuu.

But the worst could be over, leaving Najib weakened in his quest to succeed Abdullah Ahmad Badawi as Malaysia’s prime minister, but probably able to fend off political demise, unless there are further revelations. Burmaa Oyunchimeg, Altantuya’s cousin, who said she had seen the picture of Abdul Razak, Najib and Altantuya having dinner together, finished her testimony and has returned to Mongolia. No picture has been shown in court and none is likely to be.

Earlier in the week, there were reports that Tengku Razaleigh, a Malay prince and member of the old guard, former finance minister and one time pretender to the premiership, was working to challenge Najib for the job of deputy prime minister. But that challenge appears to have been blunted as well.

Altantuya was murdered on October 19 last year and dumped in a jungle clearing near the suburban city of Shah Alam, her body blown up with explosives after she had been shot twice. Abdul Razak is accused of engineering the killing at the hands of Chief Inspector Azilah Hadri and Constable Sirul Azhar Umar. Azilah was head of Najib’s personal security team and both men served as bodyguards to the country’s top political leaders. According to testimony this week, Azilah told officers that Sirul had killed the woman. There are questions over the admissibility of the confession and Sirul took the stand Friday to deny he had confessed.

Because the links of the case to top political figures, the trial is being treated with extraordinary sensitivity by the tame local press, partly because the leading newspapers, the New Straits Times, the Star and the top Malay-language papers, are controlled by the country’s ruling ethnic political parties. Thus, the photo revelation – an obvious front page story   was buried deep inside the major papers.

At the time of Altantuya's death, Abdul Razak was head of the Malaysian Strategic Research Center and perhaps Najib’s closest advisor. In an affidavit filed in December in his defense, Abdul Razak said he had contacted Azilah through Musa Safri, Najib’s aide-de-camp, to ask for help in dealing with Altantuya, who by that time was demanding as much as US$500,000 for the care of a baby she said Abdul Razak had fathered.

But despite the connections between Najib, the bodyguards, Abdul Razak and Altantuya, so far there has been no suggestion that Najib knowingly supplied the bodyguards to Abdul Razak. That gives Najib, the son of the late Prime Minister Tun Abdul Razak and the presumptive heir to the premiership, the chance to rebuild his battered connections with the old guard of the United Malays National Organisation, the lead party in the country’s ruling national ethnic coalition, the Barisan Nasional.

“Najib's credibility ahead of taking over as PM is certainly dented to an extent over the Altantuya case,” says a Kuala Lumpur-based lawyer. “Despite the allegations of complicity in the murder trial and questions about the submarine sale (Abdul Razak and Najib have both been accused of profiting from a Malaysian government purchase), the fact remains that Najib is a well-entrenched politician. The Razak family history practically guarantees his rise.”

The universal assumption in Malaysia’s political and business community is that Najib certainly knew Altantuya and may well have partied with Abdul Razak and the woman, a petite, jet-setting beauty the political analyst met in Hong Kong and escorted on a whirlwind romance through Europe, showering her with money and jewels. Given Abdul Razak’s close relationship with Najib, there is little doubt that he at least met her, and may well have shared conversations with an increasingly desperate Abdul Razak, who was being blackmailed by Altantuya, a fact she even acknowledged in a letter read in court.

Prior to publicity over the murder, many in Malaysia thought Najib was growing powerful enough to challenge Badawi for the premiership, especially with former Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad carrying on a vitriolic campaign against Badawi, who has been perceived as a weak and tired leader. Considerable resentment also has been stirred up against Abdullah Badawi’s son-in-law, Khairy Jamaluddin, whom many see as an opportunist.

“There is very little faith in Pak Lah (Badawi) and the feel good-factor has long dissipated,” one observer said. “Parliament debates this or that and the fact is that Badawi is never around, always overseas.” Thus much of the day-to-day administration of the government falls to Najib, who also functions in the powerful position of defense minister.

“Much of the real administration or tackling of issues lies with Najib. I understand that Najib since the beginning of being deputy prime minister is chairing more than 25 committees,” the lawyer said. “Most public pronouncements on major issues are made by Najib,” giving him increasing clout both with government figures and with those who need government favors.

But, says another Kuala Lumpur-based analyst, “The Mongolian affair altered the whole power formula.  Najib's previous arrogance towards Pak Lah has been replaced by humble deference.”

Certainly, Badawi has relied heavily on Najib to provide a semblance of leadership and discipline. He is likely to allow Najib to stay on if he can be assured of Najib’s loyalty. Onetime head of UMNO youth and a parliamentarian since he was 23, the 54-year-old Najib is now deputy president of UMNO and deeply entrenched in its leadership and political machinery.

“Najib could probably contribute more than any other UMNO minister towards ensuring the prolongation of UMNO’s political power,” said the analyst.

“Tengku Razaleigh is a dark horse.  His recent reactivation in UMNO politics is a reflection of his undying ambition and considerable backing by UMNO veterans to fill the leadership void, particularly after the Mongolian affair, when Najib has become very vulnerable,” said an observer. But don’t look for it to happen.

Malaysians accept all these scandals as a way of life here, said the lawyer, who is close to the Mahathir family. “A lethargy has set in. Our Inspector General of Police, Deputy Security Internal Minister and others have been accused of corruption, and all sorts of other scandalous allegations are swirling around. After a while, people get tired and confused. And really the system allows it. They pat your back and tell you to do it again.”

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by justice, March 07, 2009 10:33:43
Because the links of the case to top political figures, the trial is being treated with extraordinary sensitivity by the tame local press, partly because the leading newspapers, the New Straits Times, the Star and the top Malay-language papers, are controlled by the country’s ruling ethnic political parties. Thus, the photo revelation – an obvious front page story was buried deep inside the major papers.

What a shame to the Editors of New Straits Times, the Star, Utusan, Berita Harian, etc!!! Shame on you!!! You guys have no conscience at all!!

agree 283
written by Macrophage, March 07, 2009 10:35:45
I have come to like Tengku Razaleigh. UMNO or not. But only him. The other bandits are still a bunch of zeros.

I wish him well and will be willing him on.
agree 140
written by sedan, March 07, 2009 10:42:27
Lets look at the reality here.

1) Tun M wants Najib to take over, and it has been his agenda all along. Now, many are looking back to those glorious days when Mamak-logic ruled the country in "peace, justice and freedom."

2) The dissident sphere was infiltrated by the likes of Rocky Bru who wants Najib in Power. Elizabeth Wong, how do you feel now about cohabitating with those "seeking justice?"

3) Khairy can be given a powerful post in the cabinet. But i think Najib will go for Mukhriz instead. Tun M.mamak will now be a mouthpiece for the government. After all, all of Mahathir's sons are failed businessmen who need constant bailouts.

4) Najib's image was dented long before he became DPM. He wanted to dip his kris in Chinese blood in 1987, and now has instructed the Royal Malaysian Police to shoot up some black k-lings to provoke demos and riots (doesn't matter if they are peaceful). So, where is the credibility in any case? Just because a Mongolian was shot up and blown up? What about Malaysians who disappeared?

5) The same brain power that served Mahathir are ready to serve Najib.

This was how the government functioned under Tun M.mamak but back then (1980 to 2004), Chinamen and assorted shitty businessmen could be given contracts, and bribes for Umno. Now, the money has bottomed out.

and here is my earlier post again

Here is the deal. BN wants a "psychological warfare" division to combat online media lies. I don't think they even know what that means. Anyway, here are some points for you brave dissidents:

a) Najib is taking power. That is bad news. A few months from now, Badawi will be regarded as an angel. Najib got this boost from Tun M.amak (where is the freedom of expression for this word?) and it was Tun M.amak that kept up the rants to push Najib in the PM's post (till Mukhriz is presented as an angel for you Malaysians)

b) The Mongolian case is not going away, and it is also going nowhere. Don't expect much from the French or Spanish or EU parliament. The broker here will be Transparency International Ramon Navaratnam. He is the kind of person like Raja Nazrin -- all talk but plays ball with the government of the day.

c) So, Rosmah Mansor will stay as well and be First lady. And she is the weak link.

Here is a tip for all of you:

Find out everything about her. I heard some fascinating stories of her at Tunku Kurshiah College where most of our Malay high and mighty women were her college mates. Yes, some of them became ministers, and attained big or influential posts. None of them are either smart or productive but they bark well.

Anyway, those who know someone who studied with Rosmah should post the fascinating accounts referred to above here. I can tell you that they are stories that makes your mouth drool.

Yes, Sedan is back in March as promised. The trip away was worth every pound sterling. The last time i was MT, I had warned that there will be fewer bloggers posting stuff onto MT due to the fear factor.

Guess I am right. But i am here to stay till bloggers themselves tear each other apart which is exactly what Umno might do if they know the meaning of "psychological warfare." However, i doubt Umno has enough brains to find brainy people for this task.

Next few months are going to be exciting to say the least.
written by sedan, March 07, 2009 10:44:17
Why is the word M-a-ama-k banned? Do we fear Indian Muslims when Islam's Prophet Muhammad can be subjected to even more scathing descriptions here? Maybe, I was away for too long.

So much for freedom of expression.
written by sedan, March 07, 2009 10:44:49
Or, are we still ruled by Tamil Muslims?
written by ACENAZ, March 07, 2009 10:53:23
Despite of everything being exposed, if Najib still make PM, JUST blame no one EXCEPT the imam besar hadari
written by sedan, March 07, 2009 10:53:54
Ghazali Shafie was right about Tun Razak's eldest son alright. I personally heard the old man recount this creep's antics while he was a young MP.
written by jchew, March 07, 2009 10:59:47
Darkest day has already begun in Malaysia long before C4 gang becomes PM! All that has protected c4 gang will continue to rule Malaysia...the Police, the Judges, the forces..sad...truly sad! C4 gang run Malaysia.
written by educationist, March 07, 2009 11:06:41
The heading should read: Najib rides it out in 2009 as well.
He's slotted to take over the PM seat and thus far there's nothing to indicate there's going to be any change.
written by OVERLORD, March 07, 2009 11:14:47
Guys...please check out this blog by the MIghty Pen...it contains a mongolian video production in memory of the late ALTANTUYA SHAARIIBUU...

http://sjsandteam.*********.co...6/#respond
written by timmy, March 07, 2009 11:15:47
The main objective of us now is to prevent the evil to take over the country.

Here is how's the plan can work.

1. Get all PR MPs to sign declaration to support Tengku.
2. Get Anwar's BN 30MPs (trojan) to sign to support Tengku.
3. Try to get a vote of confidence (this is hard, will likely be rejected by Pandikar).
4. Present it to Agong as an alternative to Najib. Tell him that he has set the precedence in T'ganu for rejecting Idris, now he can do it again.
5. Get Tengku to convince the Royals to endorse his appointment.

No matter what, we have to try our best to prevent the worst leadership of all time to take over. We must do our part to try. Let's start promoting Tengku as PM everywhere.

If we do not do anything and hoping something will happen to Najib that prevent him from becoming PM, we are certainly waiting to drown together with this beloved nation.

Help the country by promoting Tengku. Save Malaysia now. For those who thinks someone from PR can be PM, please stop dreaming. It can't until it can control the Parliament. You still need someone from BN to lead until GE13 before PR can take over. And there's no other candidate in BN other than TRH!

Spread the word.
Follow him here: razaleigh.com
written by NSTPravda, March 07, 2009 11:46:07
Hidup UMNO!
Hidup Najib!
Hidup Rasuah!
Dollar Akbar!
smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by A MI, March 07, 2009 12:31:26

Sedam freedon of speech DOES NOT HAVE TO BE racist, derogatory or ehnocentric.
You may hate TDM , he may be of Indian Muslims parentage that does not give you the right to attack other Indian Muslims.

Would you like to be called k-ling or cink?

The term that you so love was a name given by malays to Indian Muslims and the latter do not like it!
and one more thing if Penang can have a Chinese Chief Minister and DAP wanted one for Perak, so why can't a Malaysian Tamil Muslim also be a leader? What is it that you have against Indian Muslims. Why do you imply Indian Muslims are lesser citizens?

written by sedan, March 07, 2009 13:03:40
written by A MI, March 07, 2009 12:31:26

Sedam freedon of speech DOES NOT HAVE TO BE racist, derogatory or ehnocentric.
You may hate TDM , he may be of Indian Muslims parentage that does not give you the right to attack other Indian Muslims.

Would you like to be called k-ling or cink?

Call me anything you want. I am neither keling nor chink. Where were you when Prophet Muhammad was described in less flattering terms? What's your religion?

Mamakism? or is it Kima-ism?

BTW, the Tamil Muslims I know as lower rung workers who serve me coffee or change my pounds sterlings and US dollars when they want other Malaysians to boycott US products are indeed low lifes who do not practise what they preach.
written by sedan, March 07, 2009 13:06:50
I mean you attain Bumiputera status (even among those illegally brought in by their relatives from Tamil Nadu), and then you are complaining that I am deeming Indian Muslims as lesser citizens?

I did not study here, but ask Malaysians who could not join public universities. Mamaks get in through their acquired bumi status. Lesser citizens?
written by Motherchell, March 07, 2009 14:06:53
THIS ANIMAL WILL BE HUNTED DOWN WHEREVER HE IS . EUROPE KNOWS HIM TOO WELL NOW ! THE PAPARAZZI IS WAITING WITH EAGLE EYES FOR BAGINDA , ROSMAH AND THIS ANIMAL BELOW!

written by A MI, March 07, 2009 14:16:05
It does not matter what faith I practice. I am not a member of any political party!

I am just thankful my heart is not filled with hatred a for a group of people based on their race. I am not full of skewed myopic ideas either.
I do not look down on people based on the work they do either - low rung or otherwise. FYI The toilets in the building I work are cleaned by Malays.

What is obvious from your ranting is that you have succumbed so lowly to the green-eyed monster and you are so envious of a group that is making money.

Why don't you talk to your elected representative and get them to stop the government giving licenses to all Indian Muslims businesses. You can then get your coffee at Starbucks and kopitiams and change your pounds and US$ at Bureau de Change operated by banks.

If all the Indian Muslims pack up and leave some politicians will die standing! There is a huge restaurant in a gov-linked complex in a small state. The contract to run the restaurant was originally was given to an AMNO member's crony. He couldn't keep up with the payments to the state government ran away and then the CM had to beg a restaurateur from Penang to come down and run it. The state government is very happy with the over RM30K monthly rental paid in a timely manner.

I do not understand what you hope to achieve from all the insults. Maybe you are one of those AMNO cyber troppers instigating racial unrest! smilies/grin.gif

So you didn't study in Malaysia. Phew thank God. There is hope yet for education in Malaysia. smilies/grin.gif
written by malaysianohope, March 07, 2009 15:29:13
As a foretaste of things to come, the Government has banned the import of Perrier mineral water from France starting 4 March 2009, as a retaliation for the French article about Altantuya. I'm cocksure C4 has a hand in this.
Guys things don't look good if C4 takes the throne come April Fool's Day!!!
smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Urangsabah, March 07, 2009 19:31:19
Buss Najib, kau bilang taun dulu, kau ada itu operasi besar besaran halua itu Malaysianise Bumiputra of PTI (Filipin/Afgan/Pakistan/Mamak origin.

What happen ah.....Now look like Sabah is now importing Pakistan/Afganistan/Mamak and Malaysianise and Bumiputranisation of these people and exporting to KL....just go to the low cost terminal.....wah no quite a big crowd of thei new Malaysianised Bumis sending one them off to KL or receiving new members.

written by BennyG, March 07, 2009 19:40:40
If I were Baginda, I would not be able to sleep as I would be the only link from Altantuya & Najis. Rosma will do everything to severe this link. The family will not be safe. I would have more money (if my assets are not frozen) to go elsewhere and disappear forever.

I would pack my bags tonite & disappear (before a fresh bag of C4 is ready).

Run. Baginda. Run!
written by ibabonma, March 07, 2009 21:20:27
May be Singapore Government is in possession of the CCTV at the Diamond Show where it was claimed that Najis introduce (handing-over) of Altantunya to Razak because he was then a DPM. Imagine, Singapore dangling the photographs across the straits and blackmail him and the country?
written by mrbean, March 08, 2009 09:38:49
Those who supports Najib and Umno are accomplices to the Altantuya case.
Which means the supporters are the same , corrupted, unscrupulous and without any morals, accesories to murder.. shame on UMNOputeras. Another Zimbabwe in the making...
written by Rozlan, March 08, 2009 11:07:32
The mighty Malacca Sultanate was destroyed five centuries ago due to the Sultan Mahmud who was corrupt,womanizer couldnt care lessa attitude.Infact most regimes/dynasties was brought down with similar reasons..UMNO had all those characteristics.

Najib will go on as PM.NObody in UMNo want to bring him down.Why should they?Birds of the same feathers fly together
written by Franky, March 09, 2009 16:53:06
We must send the MURDERER to hell. It simply costs the Citizen too much in every single sense. I believe my wish will come through soon.
written by fromamovingtrain, March 11, 2009 10:48:53
He wanted to dip his kris in Chinese blood in 1987
_______________________________________________________ _

Well, instead he dipped his 'kris' into Mongolian blood 20 years later.