Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Police summon Speaker over suspension order

Police summon Speaker over suspension order PDF Print
Friday, 06 March 2009 18:58

Perak Speaker V. Sivakumar was again summoned by the police to give a statement at the state contingent over the deluge of reports lodged against him for suspending Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Dr Zambry Abd Kadir and six executive council members from the state assembly.

He however failed to show up Friday, instead sending his lawyers Ipoh Barat MP M. Kulasegaran and Anthony Augustin to explain his absence.

Kulasegaran said Sivakumar’s office was informed by the police at 3pm Thursday to come forward and record his statement at the Criminal Investigation Department Friday.

“He is unable to be present as he is now on holiday outside the state,” Kulasegaran said, adding that Sivakumar was expected to be available by Wednesday.

Noting that Sivakumar was asked to give a statement under Section 111 of the Criminal Procedure Code, Kulasegaran said the explanation was to clear the misconception that the Speaker was being uncooperative.

Beside Friday’s questioning, Sivakumar had last month been questioned by the police and the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission over the same issue. (The Star)

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by educationist, March 06, 2009 19:15:03
Oh WEll! What to do? what to do/
The police can be the armed wing of the UMNOputras.
So, it's better that Siva does as summoned.
Otherwise, we may find an armed cordon outside Sivs's house with baclava clad armed mercenaries escorting him to the police station.
written by OVERLORD, March 06, 2009 19:30:42
What the..??? This is blatant harassment....Isn't this the second time they have summoned him? make it 3 after MACC...Why treat Siva like a criminal? ...Idiots!!
written by kodoktua, March 06, 2009 19:33:10
Only in Malaysia and under BN/UMNO we hear such nonsense that Mr Sivakumar's actions has made him a criminal & being corrupt! No wonder Malaysia has become the laughing stock of the world. Yes, "very good image" for the PM in waiting indeed!!! smilies/cool.gif
written by Fuminari, March 06, 2009 19:35:28
what does the police got to do with the speaker suspending zambry n those excos??
is it a crime??since when the police hav the power to supercede n interfere with the legislature???
this makes malaysia no difference with a communist state,a military dictator state or a fascist,nazist state!!!
written by Almighty, March 06, 2009 19:49:40
I was wondering if I can lodge a police report because my neighbour Raju refuse to allow his dog entering his house. Animal abuse..very serious crime!
written by apa jadi, March 06, 2009 19:53:43
The security personnel barred entrance to the state building.

The MACC looking for cars and cows in those who attended the historic assembly under the YELLOW flame tree (raintree).

Now the police questioning the Speaker over the assembly.

The cart and the horse. Which is in front? Malaysia...............aiii......
written by arazak, March 06, 2009 19:55:04
UMNO's licking dog, lapping dog, running dog. . ., you name it! Always barking and harrasing whoever gets in the way of UMNO.

These dogs do not work for the rakyaat, they work for UMNO and only UMNO!!!
written by Hakim Joe, March 06, 2009 19:55:49
Q: When has a Speaker of the House ever been interrogated by the police for performing his duties as the Speaker?
A: ONLY here in Malaysia.

written by Yacob, March 06, 2009 20:23:58
Dimana-mana pun di dunia ini, polis selalu jadi bodoh dan penakut hanya disebabkan penguasa yang pandai menggunakan mereka. Senario sedemikian lebih menonjol di Malaysia sekarang.

written by denkoh, March 06, 2009 20:30:58
The Police might as well be the speaker.
better still...let the police be the Prime Minister.
Malaysia=toyland
written by Richy, March 06, 2009 20:55:48
I would appeal to YB Sivakumar to defy the summon. Police should not and does not have the capacity to question the speaker according a good friend of mine who is familiar with law. Let us see if the police could arrest him for that.
written by Sudahlah tu, March 06, 2009 20:58:47
kalaulah anjing umno ini telah menjalankan tugas mereka semenjak kemerdekaan , tak akan bangsa melayu diperalatkan oleh umno hingga tiada maruah harga diri ...
kalaulah anjing umno ini telah menjalankan tanggungjawab mereka mengikut amanah dan teladan , tak akan mat rempit, bohsia dan mat minah hidup di buangan dan mungkin mereka ini menjadi manusia yang berguna kepada negara ..
kalaulah anjing umno ini melaksanakan perundangan mengikut perlembagaan , tak akan peguam zalim berpeluang mengawal semua golongan elit yang lemah kerana tamak ..
kalaulah saya seekor anjing umno , saya rela mati daripada hidup berzalim dan merosakkan bangsa Malaysia kerana tamak diri ..
kalaulah saya seekor anjing umno , saya rela mati kerana merosakkan nama keluarga dan kebanggaan nenek moyang saya ..
nasib baik saya tidak rela menjadi seekor anjing umno ... ha..ha ..haaa
written by Richy, March 06, 2009 20:58:59
This is complete intimidation and beyond police jurisdiction. Even the bar council which represents the law fraternity has recorded their strongest disapproval against this action by police. No don't attend and be intimidated by them.
written by Urangsabah, March 06, 2009 21:16:22
IGP, itu Kugan punya kes apa jadi ah, masam snail pace saja. Wah itu Perak punya banyak laju, sia ingat banyak grease bah mangkali......

Welcome to Zimbabwe eeh wrong Malaysia If You are Not UMNOed, you are guilty. The UMNOed Law....
written by born2reign, March 06, 2009 21:18:07
Sh*t Botak may use ISA to detain Sivakumar for his safety. Najis and BN are certainly getting well-deserved world recognition as the dumbest govt ever.
written by alpha100, March 06, 2009 21:42:36
why police involve in such case? do they have right? or is SHA going to come out again and say " It was a mistake!" smilies/grin.gif flip and flop again! my! my!
written by IbnAbdHalim, March 06, 2009 22:08:16
When the Speaker of Parliament suspended Fong Poh Kuan and Karpal Singh why didn't the police take statements from the Speaker? Enough is enough. We, the citizens are sick of the biased and impartiality of the police. Stop playing lapdogs to UMNO and play your own role as peace-keepers.
written by SamYap, March 06, 2009 22:35:44
This is becoming very dangerous. UMNO is playing with fire. UMNO is dependent on the police to keep them in power. This will lead to two very unpleasant situations. First, UMNO is losing its grip over government matters. Second, which is a consequence of the first, the police is assuming more power. That, my fellow readers, is the road to a real police state.
written by onnetline, March 06, 2009 23:01:17
Two known pariah dogs today namely, PDRM and MACC !!!!
written by Rozlan, March 06, 2009 23:06:22
Well,Siva.Just tell the police to **** off..It isnot their job anyway...Those dogs were so loyal to UMNO.They dont learned any lesson at all from Azilah and Sirul case..
written by Fuminari, March 06, 2009 23:43:57
very soon,it wouldn't be a surprise or a shock ,for u wake up one day n found that bukit aman would be a place where malaysia laws are made!pathetic.
jus like what razaleigh said earlier,by then that piece of constitutions n laws would be jus pieces of paper as good for washroom.
is this the type of legacy,a doomed democracy we are going to leave down for urselves,our future generation???n this is what umno be end is sending all of us there,without exception!
written by fireduck, March 07, 2009 00:05:35
Slowly but surely Malaysia is turning into a police state. The system is being abused by everyone, and the police grows stronger in power. Police reports are made over every damn thing. It's abuse! And the selective investigations and prosecution -- that's another abuse!

Now, the police is so powerful that can act as they like, and it moving towards very dangerous grounds, where soon the various checks and balances are no longer able to function effectively. Eventually our society and our nationhood will suffer. I hope the leaders who are encouraging such dangerous trend, will wake up before it is too late.
written by CM Lam, March 07, 2009 00:06:29
It has been extremly quiet by PM recently....surprisingly Smallvalue and ongcheepat also silent...any ideas ?
written by tenang, March 07, 2009 00:39:25
Police,
Your action is outrageous. You need to stick to your responsibility of ensuring the safty of the public from criminal activities. You have no role, may I repeat "NO ROLE", in determining the political outcome of the nation. Your abuse of power is outrageous! We will speak out against your trangression again and again, in and outside internet, until you get the message.

written by Fuminari, March 07, 2009 00:46:24
arazak,u hav forgotten to mention that,in fact these dogs are being fed with public fund,rakyat's bloods,sweats n tears money!!!
written by StevenO, March 07, 2009 02:24:19

Unlawful harassment by UMNO guard dogs!!
written by renoir, March 07, 2009 03:39:48
The unelected police, who depend on citizens for their salaries, have no authority to interfere with legislative matters. The Perak legislature, on the other hand, should consider the possibility of conducting a legislative inquiry on role of the police in affairs outside their (the police's) jurisdiction. The Perak police chief and other officers should be ordered to explain themselves in front of a select committee set up by the state assembly. Subsequently, the same select committee could conduct probes of possible corruption, past and present, within the police force.

written by Mama Juwie, March 07, 2009 07:37:43
Fact No. 1: The Judiciary has no power whatsoever to interfere in the matters of Legislative.

The judge in that case has no jurisdiction over the proceedings of the legislative assembly. Even if the legislative assembly was improper, it is only for the Legislative themselves to correct it, not the Judiciary. Hence, the injunction was invalid.

Fact No. 2: The Police (under the control of the Executive) has no power whatsoever to interfere in the matters of Legislative.

The 'Under the Tree' assembly was not an offence to begin with because the injunction was invalid (See Fact No. 1).

Fact No. 3: Even if the Police is so concerned about the matters happening in the Legislative, then why on earth in the incident where UMNO Youth threatened to assault Karpal Singh (a Member of Legislative), the Police claimed that they would take no action regarding the incident unless instructed by the Speaker to interfere. Why suddenly the Speaker has the power over the police whereas in Perak's case, the Police has the power to summon and investigate the Speaker? Why the double standard? Which one is the right one? (Neither is right since the Executive and Legislative are supposed to be separated in both cases).

You UMNO guys are so screwed up, you think that governing a country is like playing 'dam haji' at the kedai kopi or what?

written by Tompios, March 07, 2009 08:03:59
go go PDRM (Power Dirangers Malaysia). go ahead PDRM. we all know that is your main job to do UMNO's works. all we know that your entire family bellies fed by the UMNO government. yes, what we ask more? nothing! we just smile and put some great hope inside our heart to survive in our own land.

yes, you and your weapons can easily 'kugan-ing' us but then..still put some hope that someday we have better life and better treatment from you Power DiRanger Malaysia (PDRM).
written by asiana888, March 07, 2009 08:50:04
What a bunch of Pariahs Di Raja Malaysia. No better things to do, ah?

You (Polis) is paid by the rakyats and not by UMNOs - to protect the rakyats. You even dare to harass the 'wakil rakyat'. No shame is it? Like that PDRM must also undergo 100% over-haul when PR takes over Federal Government. That will be WHEN and not IF it will happen.

When UMNO finito in next GE, where are you going to hide?

I pray for Speaker YB Sivakumar's safety and his steadfastness in protecting the rights of Perakians.

written by Sudahlah tu, March 07, 2009 10:42:55
nasib baik ibubapa saya tidak mengajar saya menjadi seekor anjing umno ...
mereka lebih memahami kehendak Allah dan memberi jalan kebenaran untuk saya mengharungi cabaran kehidupan yang disempitkan oleh umno ...