Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow People’s hope in the judiciary has been misplaced

People’s hope in the judiciary has been misplaced PDF Print
Friday, 06 March 2009 15:32

P Ramakrishnan, ALIRAN
Confronted by crisis in Perak, the people had reason to believe that the judiciary would be our last hope for justice to prevail. That hope is apparently misplaced. What a disappointment that proved to be!

It is difficult to believe or accept the decision of the Judicial Commissioner, Ridwan Ibrahim. To say the least, Malaysians are shocked into disbelief by his verdict. Technicalities were used to prevent a fair trial and counter arguments to help the judge to arrive at a sound decision. In this instance we are reminded of Aeschylus who said, “Wrong must not win by technicalities.” But that was what happened in the Ipoh High Court on 3 March 2009. It is a matter of grave disappointment to all of us.

To begin with, his decision to hear the case in chambers – not withstanding his discretionary powers - came as a complete surprise to the nation. Knowing that the entire country is very concerned with what is happening in Perak, the appropriate thing would have been to hear the case in open court as requested by senior lawyer, Tommy Thomas, representing the Speaker of the Perak Assembly. This fair request was denied.

What is at issue in this instance concerns every Malaysian and they have a right to know what persuasive arguments have been presented to support this case that has been brought to the Ipoh High Court by Zambry and others. We have a right to know what prevailed upon the Judicial Commissioner for his decision. Now, we will never know what transpired in the chambers.

Secondly, the decision to deny representation by lawyers of the Speaker’s choice on mere technical grounds is perplexing. The argument that the five lawyers chosen by the Speaker to represent them have no locus standi is difficult to accept as justifiable grounds to deny the Speaker his defence. That goes against natural justice.

To insist that the Speaker should be represented by the office of the state legal advisor is indeed baffling. It is incredulous that the court failed to see the obvious inherent conflict of interest. The legal advisor is currently representing ‘the other MB’ Zambry Abd Kadir in a case brought to court by the legitimate MB Nizar Jamaluddin. How could the legal advisor now seriously and consciously defend the position of the Speaker? Is it even possible? This is stretching absurdity to the extreme limits!

If it is true as is claimed that the “officer” of the government – in this case the Speaker - must be represented by the legal advisor, does it mean that the court recognises that the Speaker and his Executive Council is the legitimate government in Perak?

Or put another way, since the legal advisor is representing “the other MB” on behalf of the government in the High Court case in Kuala Lumpur, does it not imply that Zambry and his Council members are accepted and recognised as the “legitimate” representatives of the Perak government? That being the case, how can Zambry and the others then be represented by private lawyers and not by the legal advisor? Shouldn’t the same argument prevail that this so-called government must be represented by the state legal advisor? Why this double standard?

Thirdly, we are appalled that the request by Tommy Thomas to hold a watching brief with speaking rights was denied by the court, which ruled that he could hold the watching brief but could not submit or participate in its proceedings. This decision is clearly absurd and incredible!

How could the court in the name of justice choose to pass judgment without hearing the other side? How could the court arrive at a just decision without the benefit of the counter argument? How could the court not allow representation before passing judgment? “Fairness is what justice really is,” said Potter Stewart. Where is that fairness in this case?

Fourthly, the court has issued an indefinite restraining order - to stop the Speaker from summoning the sitting of the State Assembly - after a one-sided 90 minutes of submissions and 10 minutes of deliberation. Does this decision take into consideration the consequence of that ruling? It has been stated by legal experts that if the Assembly does not sit at least once within a span of six months then the Assembly is automatically dissolved.

The much anticipated reformation in the judiciary is illusory. It will not take place with the present set up of the judiciary. It would take a complete overhaul of the judiciary with new appointments of competent people of absolute integrity.
The crisis in Perak cannot be solved by the judiciary. The proceedings in the Ipoh High Court brought to mind what Thomas Fuller rightly observed, “Rigid justice is the greatest injustice.”

Ultimately, it is the will of the people of Perak that must solve their dilemma - not someone else or some other institution. Aliran hopes and pleads that common sense will prevail in the larger interest of the nation.

As we see it the only solution lies in the dissolution of the Perak State Assembly and holding fresh elections. Let the sovereignty of the people decide once and for all who should form the government in Perak.

Are we Malaysia or are we Zimbabwe ?

This seemingly ridiculous question has to be asked because of what is happening in Perak. The BN has failed to display the political maturity as the ruling coalition of a nation that has experienced 52 years of Parliamentary Democracy.
What is taking place in Perak brings us disgrace and disrepute. Malaysia comes across as no better than Zimbabwe or even Myanmar where the rule of law has been cast aside. It is no better than these despotic states that do not recognise the principles of democracy or the sanctity of the due process of the law.

We have, unfortunately, descended to this gutter level because of the corrupting influence of power and position. This greed for power has totally corrupted politics in Malaysia that we no longer pay homage to truth and justice; we no longer honour the will of the people.

In the maneuvering and manipulation that is taking place in Perak to topple a legitimate government by foul means, the BN politicians seem to have forgotten that sovereignty remains at all times with the people and they do not forfeit it even though the might of the ruling party has been brought into play to sabotage the democratic will of the people.

written by mountain man, March 06, 2009 15:37:52
UMNO controls the media, PDRM, MACC, government agencies and obviously the courts. Only way to CHANGE is to BURY UMNO in all forthcoming by-elections, any SNAP election in Perak and most importantly the next GE. With a ruthless guy yearning to ascend the highest office of our nation, we can expect more cruelty to follow in the treatment of PR representatives and leaders.
written by kamal, March 06, 2009 15:39:58
This clearly shows that the Judiciary is fully controlled by the UMNO-led Barisan Nasional government and is and NEVER will be INDEPENDENT.

The poor rakyat will always be the VICTIM of UMNO.

The time for the rakyat to completely overthrow UMNO to seek their FREEDOM.

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com
written by Hakim Joe, March 06, 2009 15:42:47
P Ramakrishnan...Welcome to Malaysia.

written by Wahyu, March 06, 2009 15:44:21
Terang-terang!!, orang-orang UMNO ini termasuk Justice ridwan ibrahim nak memastikan Speaker Sivakumar kalah dalam mahkamah.

We are Zimbabwe.
written by aeromaverick, March 06, 2009 15:45:04
It is a dangerous game. It is easy to undo institutions while takes years to build it. BN in its rush to stay in power is pulling down everything in its way. Years to come will show the actual damages done to the nation. The same precedence set today will come back to bite the powers to be in the future.
Meanwhile, do we the people have the right to dream of a better Nation for our children?
written by atan, March 06, 2009 15:49:55
Soon over time ,the rakyat will be poor.
written by Limang, March 06, 2009 15:53:38
Nothing short of a people's revolution can save Malaysia from becoming a failed state.

Arise, O Malaysians! See what UMNO has done to the country with the greed for power and wealth and continue to rule with lawlessly and impunity.

Your rights and future and the future of your children are in your hands.

If you don't get rid of the evil UMNO once and for all, the country is doomed to collapse. Nothing can help you, not the sultans, not the police, not the judges, not the military, EXCEPT YOURSELF.

The only salvation for all Malaysians is the total destruction of UMNO and all those associated with it - MIC, MCA, and GERAKAN in West Malaysia and BN Sarawak and the BN Sabah.

Give PR a chance to right all the wrongs and injustices inflicted on the people of Malaysia by UMNO and its consenting associates.

Vote for change. Vote PR!!!!
written by freerpk, March 06, 2009 15:59:57
Why do you think from the beginning till recently GOD has beeen sending messengers to his people....To tell them they have been sinning. Lets face it...there are more sinners in this world then there are GOOD men/women.
written by onnetline, March 06, 2009 16:04:51
Another obedient 'legal dog ' doing it's bosses bidding or be shot !!!
written by 2edgedsword, March 06, 2009 16:05:28
Are there any more persons of sound moral value in UMNO? If there are, why are you so silent? Fear or cowardice?
written by penangboi, March 06, 2009 16:07:53
I go further than this.

Not only is our hope on the judiciary misplaced but the same goes for our hope on the royalty to do the right thing is also grossly misplaced.

Whenever I read comments from people pleading with the royalty to do the right thing it really fires up my emotion.

If we all have to depend on the sultan to make all decisions then like I have said before, we might as well turn our democracy into a full monarchy.

Unfortunately the truth is that all forms of law and order, be it the judiciary, the royalty or the enforcer ie the police (and especially the police), have broken down.

So don't hold your breath for them to save us all.
written by BGs, March 06, 2009 16:11:03
Shameless! How can we not believe AMENO has their dirty hands in all these?
To me, on the contrary, this is another nail in AMENO's coffin. AMENO would only their own members as supporters by the time this Perak crisis is 'resolved'.
written by malsia1206, March 06, 2009 16:11:11
Judiciary? The Malaysian Judiciary? I thought it ceases to exist since 1988. Change we need. Change we must.
written by whiteheart, March 06, 2009 16:18:34
I have now come to a conclusion that Malaysia is no longer a government based on rule of law but rather a government of "rule of guns" ala Myanmar and Zimbabwe. It is a foregone conclusion that neither the PDRM, judiciary, MACC, SPRM nor PR can protect us or save us, the people. I don't blame the royalties as they are suppose to stay above politics and have no real power nor mandate to protect the people. It is people with guns like UMNO and Koo Tee Yam that are now running this country. We, the people of Malaysia, are now like poultry in the slaughterhouse, waiting to be sacrificed at any moment for the well-being of the overlords in UMNO and the armed triads. As we ordinary rakyat of Malaysia who will never take up any form of armed revolution, we can only pray very hard every moment that we are not the next chicken in line to be slaughtered to feed the overlord's lust.
written by Richard Lo, March 06, 2009 16:28:43
Honestly, it does not take one with much brain to figure out there is a conflict of interest to appoint the state legal counsel to represent the Speaker..but then can't blame the judicial commissioner though cause he has no brain at all!

To the writer's statement "The BN has failed to display the political maturity as the ruling coalition of a nation that has experienced 52 years of Parliamentary Democracy." I can only say that BN mentality after 52 years is still equivalent to a 3 year old child.
written by Sinewy, March 06, 2009 16:35:08
It is ironic that such judicial fiasco happened in the state of Perak where the beloved sultan is once the highly respected and admired Lord President of the country. It really pains the rakyat who are principled minded that such bigotry is taking place under the nose of the sultan of Perak and put democracy to the grave yard. If there is still a glimmer of hope and conscience, his royal highness will be most needed to act to bring back the dignity and liberty of his rakyat in Perak and to allow them to choose the government of their choice again. Please stop the rape of the Constitution and Democracy by the unruly and racist UMNO.
written by acks160, March 06, 2009 16:39:41
The image of our judiciary has been forever marred by recent happenings to me, and I hazard, to the rest of right-thinking Malaysians. Serious suppression and serious corruption seems to be the order of the day here in our unfair land, putting Malaysia's judiciary on par with many of the World's most corrupt like Zimbabwe and Argentina! Another shining example of "Malaysia Boleh"!!!
written by Sinewy, March 06, 2009 16:42:42
A former Information Minister who was interviewed by Al Jazeera about the violent break up of public gathering, was found shouting at the top of his voice that malaysia was not like myanmar. Now what we have is that malaysia looks like myanmar, sounds like myanmar but she is not myanmar...
written by OVERLORD, March 06, 2009 16:51:41
"if it is true as is claimed that the “officer” of the government – in this case the Speaker - must be represented by the legal advisor, does it mean that the court recognises that the Speaker and his Executive Council is the legitimate government in Perak?"

Exactly.......BN will be manipulating the loophole of Ridwan Ibrahim' term as a Judge.....If the Perak assembly's action was found to be legal..Trust me, BN will pull the plug on Ridwan and claim his extention as Judge wasn't approved, hence nullify any of his previous decision.....
written by astina, March 06, 2009 17:32:07
its all the work of one.i hope he lifes till old age and suffers for his wrong doings.

this country has gone to the dogs
written by clarity, March 06, 2009 18:01:39
Once the judge decides to hear in chambers, you know the outcome already. And when it suits the govt. everyone must follow the law, evryone must accept what the judiciary says. But when it does not suit the govt. they will tell you we fought very hard for the country's independence and constitution so ecery one must follow the constitution. But right now it appears that they have thrown the constitution in the waste papaer basket.
written by anakmalaysia777, March 06, 2009 18:21:58
Mr Ramakrishnan - Thank you. Your clear analysis helps us lay people understand the legal process and issues. Obviously, the BN is not worried about the sanctity of institutions and processes.

You should have added another critical point to your list. How come a 'judicial commissioner' rather than a full blown judge can hear this critical constitutional case, particularly when the extension of his appointment was still not published. Can this judicial commissioner, whose contract is subject to annual renewals by the government, be expected to make objective and unbiased decisions?

The fact that he held the hearing in chambers shows his immaturity or incompetency or both. The BN does not care about these niceties as long as its power is maintained.

Under the circumstances, the Rakyat have only one aspiration - allow a new election. Otherwise all PKR elected members should resign and show BN if they still have the confidence of the people. That is the only way when the judicial process fails. Then the people and the World will know what sort of government this country has. They should force the election now. UMNO will be forced to postpone its General Assembly and some good could come out of it.
written by educationist, March 06, 2009 18:45:33
I bet to differ.
I had long ago[since 1988] cease to believe in our judiciary as neutral and independent.
The Lingam videos only helped to confirm the suspicions.
Those few gems of real judges are real difficult to find and when they surfaced they are posted out of harm[for the UMNOputras] way.
written by OutsideLookingIn, March 06, 2009 21:32:58
Now, we heard our MCA and Gerakan "leaders" saying not that long ago that they will no longer stand on the sidelines as silent partners in the coalition. Do they not see the injustices occuring. Why are they silent at this crucial moment in history? Any one reading the Chinese daily read any comments from them? How can they be respected when the excess we see in front of us over the past weeks and months is met by complete silence on their part? What dignity do they still have? Is this not further evidence that they are just someone's lackeys?
written by Davy McChester, March 07, 2009 01:49:18
"Heads I win tails you lose" & Absolute power corrupts absolutely. You have a kangaroo chief and joeys below ,so do not expect justice ? 52 years of the same brand and the same post independence UMNOputra colonial power "divide & control" is taking the nation to the edge of disaster. Desperadoes shamelessly hanging onto power when the masses want them to leave town for good. Nothing is fair and honest as long as UMNOputras are around. Boot them out and save Malaysia so that we can compete- without "interim expatriates awaiting qualified UMNOpuras to fill up positions- with surrounding Asean nations technologically and intellectually. UMNOputras are only good at being behind "middlemen" eyeing their share percentage over government purchases/contracts. Nothing anything close to dynamic you can describe them ,except parasites sucking the blood of their own people and Malaysian tax payers. There is enough of "proof" ; they cannot account how they have come to posses when their legal income grossly below their tangibles ? You do not need ACA or the other "new "replica of ACA,to investigate . An account clerk can easily come to a conclusion faster than any UMNOputra watch dogs. A sinking ship awaiting to be towed to its graveyard still trying to hang on to its 52 years of bullshit.
written by gorshan, March 07, 2009 09:33:56
hey, i heard nowadays judges are a dime a dozen, is it true? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by kawaputra, March 07, 2009 12:05:22
Lets not put our hopes too low friends. The institution of the court is not all slimey. There are segments of it which are still clean and all for untainted justice. Although it must be admitted that the cancer of corrupted/obedient judges have spread to cover a lot of the judiciary as a whole. We need to acknowledge the presence of honourable judges, and they need to know that we acknowledge them. To give each other hope. If Pakatan gets to form government one day, one of the first thing they should do is to reform the process of appointment of judges and bring the judiciary back to its glory days.
written by Milo, March 08, 2009 10:20:53
The problem is not the court nor the other government institutions; it is the government itself that has turned cancerous, and those in charge are actively spreading the disease of corruption in order to stay in power. Change the government to a better one and the rest will fall in place sooner or later.