Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The Sedition Act for Dummies

The Sedition Act for Dummies PDF Print
Friday, 06 March 2009 13:05

Actually, my case is very complicating indeed. The police report against me was that I was seditious because I had lied (di ada adakan). Therefore, should not the focus of my trial be on whether I did or did not lie? The government realises that this was a mistake so it is trying to amend the charge without officially amending it.

I am currently on trial for the crime of sedition. It seems, according to Malaysia’s Sedition Act, I have committed a crime. The novel thing about the Sedition Act is that it does not matter whether I had lied or had told the truth. Even if I had not lied and had told the truth it would still tantamount to sedition. Therefore, I can go to jail for telling the truth if the government can prove that the truth I told is seditious. That is the fate that awaits me.

This means the court can block the truth from surfacing. I can’t use the truth as my defence. Therefore, I would not be allowed to adduce any evidence to support what I wrote or said. Never mind if I have evidence that so-and-so were the people behind the Altantuya murder or so-and-so were also present during the murder. This is not crucial to my defence and the court is not interested in seeing this evidence. The question would be: did I write or say what they allege I have written or said? If I did, then I am guilty. Whether I lied or not is not crucial to the charge and the court is not in the least interested in looking at whatever evidence I may have.

Now can you see why they chose to charge me under the Sedition Act as well as for criminal defamation for the second trial? This is so that the truth or falsity of what I wrote and said need not be argued. They only need to focus on whether I did it. This would mean the truth can forever remain suppressed and need never surface during the trial.

If they had instead charged me for making a false declaration or for signing a false Statutory Declaration, then I would need to prove I did not make a false declaration or had signed a false SD. So the truth of what I said and wrote would be very crucial. We would need to get to the bottom of things so that I can defend myself. The truth must be established so that we can prove I had not lied. Alas, this will not be the case because what I have been charged with does not require the truth to be established.

Actually, when they initially brought me in for interrogation, it was for the crime of making a false declaration. They probably realised that this would be suicide in the event I have the evidence to prove I did not make a false declaration. So they changed their mind and instead charged me under the Sedition Act as well as for criminal defamation. This would be safer as the truth of the matter need not be argued and can in fact be blocked from ever surfacing.

Let us look at what the Sedition Act is all about. This is actually a law from the time when the King was appointed by God and could do no wrong. To question the King is tantamount to questioning God and would therefore be an act of sedition. But those were in the days when the King could send you to your death. Today, the King is purely a Constitutional Monarch who does not possess the executive powers of the Kings of days gone by.

In Public Prosecutor vs. Param Cumaraswamy, the sedition charge against Param was:

That you on 24 July 1985 at about 11:00 a.m. at the office of the Selangor and Federal Territory Bar Committee in the old High Court Building, in the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, uttered seditious words to wit, that part of your press statement as underlined, (the full text of which is attached as Sch. ‘A’ to this charge) and that you have thereby committed an offence under s 4(1)(b) of the Sedition Act, 1948 (Revised 1969) and punishable under s 4(1) of the said Act.

The judge in this case was Justice NH Chan, who has now become famous because of his opinion on the Perak Constitutional Crisis where he said that Pakatan Rakyat is on solid legal grounds.

Another case involved Marina Yusof who was alleged to have made a seditious statement during a DAP ceramah in Penang. Marina successfully proved she had not lied but they still found her guilty. This, as I said, is because the truth of the matter is not crucial to the charge. Even if she had told the truth, which was proven she did, she is still guilty.

Because of her age, the court decided to just fine her instead of sending her to jail. She paid the fine and went home. If she had not been over 60 and a grandmother to boot, they would have sent her to jail. And she was found guilty not because she had lied but because she told the truth. But the truth she told was considered seditious.

My defence in my sedition trial, therefore, becomes very dicey indeed. I can’t adduce whatever evidence I have. If I do, I will go to jail. Instead, I will have to allow them to prove that I committed the act. And if they can’t prove that then I will be home free. To admit that I committed the act by attempting to prove that I had not lied and by adducing the evidence I possess means I am confessing to a crime and would therefore lose my case.

Many are hoping that the evidence I have will surface during my trial. The government, however, is clever enough to make sure that it never will. And even if I am prepared to lose my case and risk going to jail by taking the line of defence that I may have done it but I did not lie, the court can still block this evidence as ‘not relevant’ to the case. They can bar me from adducing any evidence unless it involves proving I did not commit the act. If it is about whether I had told the truth or not, then the court does not want to see it.

Sir James Stephen’s definition of sedition found its way into the Criminal Code of the Gold Coast. Section 326 sub-s 8 of the Criminal Code of the Gold Coast, 1936 Revision, c 9, states as follows:

A ‘seditious intention’ is an intention:

(1) to bring into hatred or contempt or to excite disaffection against the person of His Majesty, His heirs or successors or the Government of the Gold Coast as by law established; or

(2) to bring about a change in the sovereignty of the Gold Coast; or

(3) to excite His Majesty’s subjects or inhabitants of the Gold Coast to attempt to procure the alteration, otherwise than by lawful means, of any other matter in the Gold Coast as by law established; or

(4) to bring into hatred or contempt or to excite disaffection against the administration of justice in the Gold Coast; or

(5) to raise discontent or disaffection amongst His Majesty’s subjects or inhabitants of the Gold Coast; or

(6) to promote feelings of ill-will and hostility between different classes of the population of the Gold Coast:

It is not a seditious intention if:

(a) to show that His Majesty has been misled or mistaken in any of his measures; or

(b) to point out errors or defects in the government or constitution of the Gold Coast as by law established or in legislation or in the administration of justice with a view to the reformation of such errors or defects; or   

(c) to persuade His Majesty’s subjects or inhabitants of the Gold Coast to attempt to procure by lawful means the alteration of any matter in the Gold Coast as by law established other than that referred to in para (2) of this sub-section; or

(d) to point out with a view to their removal any matters which are producing or have a tendency to produce feelings of ill-will and enmity between different classes of the population of the Gold Coast.

Provided that none of the acts or things mentioned in provisos (a), (b), (c) and (d) shall be deemed to be lawful if they are done in such manner as to effect or be likely to effect any of the purposes (1) to (6) which are declared in this section to be a seditious intention.

‘Seditious words’ are words expressive of a seditious ‘intention’.

And what, you may ask, is ‘seditious intent’?

In both the Stephen and the Criminal Code of the Gold Coast definitions, an intention to achieve one or more of the objects specified in the definition is an essential ingredient of the crime of sedition. The important question is whether the “intention” must be proved. In article 94 of the Digest (4th Ed) Stephen put it thus:

In determining whether the intention with which any words were spoken, any document was published, or any agreement was made, was or was not seditious, every person must be deemed to intend the consequences, which would naturally follow from his conduct at the time and under the circumstances in which he so conducted himself.

In Wallace-Johnson v The King, counsel for the appellant contended (a) that both in English common law and in the Criminal Code in question there must be some evidence of intention outside the mere words of the instrument before a seditious intention can be said to exist; and (b) that in the present case, when the document is read, there cannot be found in it any seditious intention at all; and therefore before the appellant can be convicted there must be some evidence of seditious intention extrinsically, and, there being none, this conviction cannot stand on any ground.

3. (1) A ‘seditious tendency’ is a tendency:

(a) to bring into hatred or contempt or to excite disaffection against any Ruler or against any Government;

(b) to excite the subjects of any Ruler or the inhabitants of any territory governed by any Government to attempt to procure in the territory of the Ruler or governed by the Government, the alteration, otherwise than by lawful means, of any matter as by law established;

(c) to bring into hatred or contempt or to excite disaffection against the administration of justice in Malaysia or in any State;

(d) to raise discontent or disaffection amongst subjects of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong or of the Ruler of any State or amongst the inhabitants of Malaysia or of any State; or

(e) to promote feelings of ill-will and hostility between different races or classes of the population of Malaysia; or

(f) to question any matter, right, status, position, privilege, sovereignty or prerogative established or protected by the provisions of Pt III of the Federal Constitution or Article 152, 153 or 181 of the Federal Constitution.

(2) Notwithstanding anything in sub-sect. (1) an act, speech, words, publication or other thing shall not be deemed to be seditious by reason only that it has a tendency:

(a) to show that any Ruler has been misled or mistaken in any of his measures;

(b) to point out errors or defects in any Government or constitution as by law established (except in respect of any matter, right, status, position, privilege, sovereignty or prerogative referred to in para (f) of sub-s (1) otherwise than in relation to the implementation of any provision relating thereto) or in legislation or in the administration of justice with a view to the remedying of the errors or defects;

(c) except in respect of any matter, right, status, position, privilege, sovereignty or prerogative referred to in para (f) of sub-sect, (1):

(i) to persuade the subjects of any Rulers or the inhabitants of any territory governed by any Government to attempt to procure by lawful means the alteration of any matter in the territory of such Government as by law established; or

(ii) to point out, with a view to their removal, any matters producing or having a tendency to produce feelings of ill-will and enmity between different races or classes of the population of the Federation if the act, speech, words, publication or other thing has not otherwise in fact a seditious tendency.

(3) For the purpose of proving the commission of any offence against this Act the intention of the person charged at the time he did or attempted to do or made any preparation to do or conspired with any person to do any act or uttered any seditious words or printed, published, sold, offered for sale, distributed, reproduced or imported any publication or did any other thing shall be deemed to be irrelevant if in fact the act had, or would, if done, have had, or the words, publication or thing had a seditious tendency.

Actually, my case is very complicating indeed. The police report against me was that I was seditious because I had lied (di ada adakan). Therefore, should not the focus of my trial be on whether I did or did not lie? The government realises that this was a mistake so it is trying to amend the charge without officially amending it. In other words, they want the court to focus on the seditious act itself (whether I wrote the article) and not on whether the article is true of false (di ada adakan).

But what about the seditious tendency of the act I was alleged to have committed? And what if my intention, assuming I want to take the risk of admitting I wrote the article, was: to point out errors or defects in any Government or constitution as by law established or in legislation or in the administration of justice with a view to the remedying of the errors or defects? Well, then it will not be seditious in nature and I, therefore, have not committed any crime. But I will have to first admit I wrote that article to explain why I wrote it and this would mean they would be able to nail my balls to the wall.

Sigh…..damned if you admit it and damned if you don’t.

I think I will be a lawyer when I grow up.

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by red1, March 06, 2009 13:15:49
Under such a charge of Sedition, your innocence is even more clearer. You have acted in defense against the highest material threat to the nation as it can involve the highest executive office and its ascension into criminal mischief. You thus have to ask the persecution to prove otherwise.

Your proof of evidence is still needed. Interpretation of what stipulates into Sedition can be the turning point of your case.
agree 134
written by red1, March 06, 2009 13:17:26
Thus you have to admit your act of making such an SD, and you may quote the case of Thomas More vs The Crown. Of course in his case, he was executed. But in later years he was made a saint and his guilt absolved.
written by Oscar Winner, March 06, 2009 13:18:47
I salute RPK for his untiring effort in helping to bring change.

The heights the great men reached and kept,
Were not attained in a sudden flight.
But they, when we were asleep,
Were toiling upwards in the night.

Dear Pete, I know you have been toiling every night. Take care
written by panca, March 06, 2009 13:21:35
Bro Pete,

Your Sedition Act for Dummies will be Bestsellers.

Dedicated to The Malaysian Gomen.
written by OVERLORD, March 06, 2009 13:26:38
Pete...
Sigh...looks like your eventual "get out of jail card" lies with a royal pardon.......Whether that would be a reality is anyone's guess similar to what is happening in Perak at the moment.....This is the problem when people get confused between constituitional monarchy and absolute monarchy......I wondering if you could seek some legal advice from the QC or commonwealth courts..Hahahahha..I know....BN did the same...But the laws was created by the British..I'am sure they could find a loophole......take care Pete
written by Windchime, March 06, 2009 13:28:57
Dear YM RPK,

We are living in a situation now where a lot of things are conveneiently 'made up'. There is no law - just something created and bent so that it favours the other. It is skewed from the truth sadly.

Fortunately, Malaysians have in general grown up. It is now a matter of time before an avalanche of sorts comes to clean all these mess up. It will take time and a lot of sacrifice along the way. But it will come.

In the meantime, stay healthy and safe for your family and your 'extended' family! The whole of Malaysia still needs you.
written by red1, March 06, 2009 13:30:11
As far as I know, an SD is not a seditious act in itself as been a legal instrument, it is meant to be declared for a court of law application and not for wanton consumption as the case is with seditious acts and words, and that you are serious and responsible behind it. Thus reason for going through an SD. Then you ask that it be proven wrong, unaware that it could be termed seditious. Like you said, even if proven right, it can still be regarded seditious. Fine, but prove the instrument of SD first as not your intent of been seditious quoting comparison with many seditious acts prior. This is because if the purpose of SD is not seen, then you can claim that SD is not your mens rea - real intent to be seditious.

Your intent was a deeply serious one and the court should take that into account. As been false, you will lose more than just a case but your whole reputation. By putting up such a high price, is prove that your intent is noble enough to be considered. Thus at least prove that SD false in order to prove its meaning of sedition. One cannot be charged for a content of a legal instrument without the context of the medium containing it, which is the obvious action and purpose in itself.

But as in such cases, even if you lose, the world gives you another nod, and shall turn its back on the dear system as having failed its most sincere son and prince. This is not just a test individually. It shall leave a legacy unerased. I dare the political power that be to just try it.

May they make your day.
written by teo siew chin, March 06, 2009 13:30:12
"..Never mind if I have evidence that so-and-so were the people behind the Altantuya murder or so-and-so were also present during the murder..."
------------------------------------

The Court of the Rakyat decree that you ARE allowed to adduce the evidence here in Malaysia-Today.net
written by cahaya, March 06, 2009 13:35:05
When we grow up, we also want to be lawyers. It would be fun to learn how to write these long sentences for Section whatever of something-or-other Code.

For the purpose of proving the commission of any offence against this Act the intention of the person charged at the time he did or attempted to do .... shall be deemed to be irrelevant if in fact the act had ... had a seditious tendency.

We think you are innocent, until someone can prove you are guilty!
written by smalluncle, March 06, 2009 13:38:17
Dear Pete, since you knew that head they win, tail you loose. I hope you will send all those " secrets" to Arnaud Dupus before you goes back in to Kamunting. (I hope not).
So long its not publish in bolehland I think its OK.

(p/s keep the original in case your mail got hijack)

This is so TRUTH be told and many, like me, will not be disappointed for paying for this movie.

Am sure you had experience watching movie that "had no head, no tail" one, its damn cheese off.
written by Malaysiaku, March 06, 2009 13:39:43
RPK, can you then expose all the incriminating information on the internet so that everyone is able to see and know the truth? Wouldn't that be the avenue to solve the issue of the guilty parties trying to shut you up? Don't die with the truth unrevealed.
written by *********, March 06, 2009 13:43:55
The Judiciary, the Police and the entire Civil Service needs to be purged once Pakatan Rakyat comes to power. PR can never rule effectively as long as you have these BN/Umno Demons running around...More http://*********.********.com
written by Comodo, March 06, 2009 13:47:26
Hmm….. problems related to law is due to the law itself or representative of the law????. Only the victim knows.
written by johntyc, March 06, 2009 13:47:54
This Sedition Act is so much like the Official Secret Act! You expose the wrong doing by the government and produce the proof, they punish you for 'witnessing' it, and the real wrong doer get away without punishment.

"An unjust law is itself a species of violence. Arrest for its breach is more so"-Mahatma Gandhi
written by cahaya, March 06, 2009 13:49:20
RPK, take care. We continue to pray that God will give you and your legal team wisdom to outwit them.
written by OVERLORD, March 06, 2009 13:56:58
Zym Zym,

Hhahaha....Either you are crazy or you are just trying to set a new MT record for having the most "disagree" votes....cheers...
written by wongnoball, March 06, 2009 13:57:38
After consulting my QC & Psycho therapist and having read your works for so many years we have concluded you have BI-POLAR DISORDER......

Case Dismiss!!

I cannot remember, behave erratically but truthfully, occasionally depress, cranky and moody, manic mood swings, passion and patience(took it from Zambry), Suicidal tendancy....I rest my case and Case be adjourne to Nov 2012 for you to undergo some medical checks.

Meanwhile a known Therapy (acknowledge by medical profession) to improve Bi-Polar disorder is to KEEP WRITING and do what is natural to you.
written by cruzeiro, March 06, 2009 14:12:28
Quite a spot huh, Pete?
It is quite difficult if we have an emasculated Judiciary which advocates the doctrine of "Guilty until proven Innocent", instead of vice versa, as per the concept of justice in the rule of law.

First we need to define the word "sedition", as you rightly did - that should be the focus of the judgement, and not if you had done it.

It isn't going to prove anything (where "sedition" is concerned), should the focus of debate be on the act of highlighting an issue of mentioning it. If an act of contesting an opinion/concept is seditious, all amendments to the Federal Constitution by the Acts of the Parliament can be deemed "seditious"!

The problem here is when despots dictate definitions at their whim and fancy, to a mindless Judiciary.
Zimbabwe, Rwanda, Somalia - here we come!!
written by dumbfounded, March 06, 2009 14:39:28
would it help if someone from overseas pretends to be get all hot and bothered by your article and files a law suit in the international court? Take care of your safety. Get out of the country if you can. THere's just too many of them and so few brave people like you. Just remember to come back to cast your vote during GE. Do continue writting as a foreign journalist smilies/grin.gif
written by cooljoe1306, March 06, 2009 14:41:06
Wahai manusia, dengarlah baik-baik apa yang hendak kukatakan, Aku tidak mengetahui apakah aku dapat bertemu lagi dengan kamu semua selepas tahun ini. Oleh itu, dengarlah dengan teliti kata-kataku ini dan sampaikanlah ia kepada orang-orang yang tidak dapat hadir disini pada hari ini.

Wahai manusia, sepertimana kamu menganggap bulan ini dan kota ini sebagai suci, anggaplah jiwa dan harta setiap orang Muslim sebagai amanah suci. Kembalikan harta yang diamanahkan kepada kamu kepada pemiliknya yang berhak. Janganlah kamu sakiti sesiapapun agar orang lain tidak menyakiti kamu lagi. Ingatlah bahawa sesungguhya kamu akan menemui Tuhan kamu dan Dia pasti membuat perhitungan di atas segala amalan kamu. Allah telah mengharamkan riba, oleh itu, segala urusan yang melibatkan riba dibatalkan mulai sekarang.

Berwaspadalah terhadap syaitan demi keselamatan agama kamu. Dia telah berputus asa untuk menyesatkan kamu dalam perkara-perkara besar, maka berjaga-jagalah supaya kamu tidak mengikutinya dalam perkara-perkara kecil.

Wahai manusia sebagaimana kamu mempunyai hak atas isteri kamu, mereka juga mempunyai hak ke atas kamu. Sekiranya mereka menyempurnakan hak mereka ke atas kamu, maka mereka juga berhak diberikan makan dan pakaian, dalam suasana kasih sayang. Layanilah wanita-wanita kamu dengan baik dan berlemah-lembutlah terhadap mereka kerana sesungguhnya mereka adalah teman dan pembantu kamu yang setia. Dan hak kamu atas mereka ialah mereka sama sekali tidak boleh memasukkan orang yang kamu tidak sukai ke dalam rumah kamu dan dilarang melakukan zina.

"Wahai manusia, dengarlah bersungguh-sungguh kata-kataku ini, sembahlah Allah, dirikanlah solat lima waktu, berpuasalah di bulan Ramadhan, dan tunaikanlah zakat dari harta kekayaan kamu. Kerjakanlah ibadah haji sekiranya kamu mampu. Ketahuilah bahawa setiap Muslim adalah saudara kepada Muslim yang lain. Kamu semua adalah sama; tidak seorang pun yang lebih mulia dari yang lainnya kecuali dalam Taqwa dan beramal saleh.

Ingatlah, bahawa kamu akan menghadap Allah pada suatu hari untuk dipertanggungjawabkan diatas segala apa yang telah kamu kerjakan. Oleh itu, awasilah agar jangan sekali-kali kamu terkeluar dari landasan kebenaran selepas ketiadaanku.

Wahai manusia, tidak ada lagi Nabi atau Rasul yang akan datang selepasku dan tidak akan lahir agama baru. Oleh itu wahai manusia, nilailah dengan betul dan fahamilah kata-kataku yang telah aku sampaikan kepada kamu. Sesungguhnya aku tinggalkan kepada kamu dua perkara, yang sekiranya kamu berpegang teguh dan mengikuti kedua-duanya, nescaya kamu tidak akan tersesat selama-lamanya. Itulah Al-Qur'an dan Sunnahku.

Hendaklah orang-orang yang mendengar ucapanku, menyampaikan pula kepada orang lain. Semoga yang terakhir lebih memahami kata-kataku dari mereka yang terus mendengar dariku. Saksikanlah Ya Allah, bahawasanya telah aku sampaikan risalah-Mu kepada hamba-hamba-Mu.

Khutbah terakhir Rasulullah SAW
written by carribeanking7, March 06, 2009 14:49:33
Renowned Bangladeshi writer Shahriar Kabir, charged in 2001 with sedition for speaking out in favour of religious minorities, but was exonerated by a Dhaka court only after 7 years.The truth will eventually prevail.

Your best defence seems to be "2(b) to point out errors or defects in any Government or constitution as by law established (except in respect of any matter, right, status, position, privilege, sovereignty or prerogative referred to in para (f) of sub-s (1) otherwise than in relation to the implementation of any provision relating thereto) or in legislation or in the administration of justice with a view to the remedying of the errors or defects."

What you have done is simply as per your SD states that dutifully as a citizen reporting a crime after been "reliably informed" and beleiving the same to be true, after all not reporting a crime is in itself a crime.

The other angle I can think of are the ingredients of the charges, like time , date and place of the alledged offence, I am sure in the charge sheet
they stated that the place of offence is your residence, can they prove that you were actually there when you alledgedly typed on the keyboard, if you have
an airtight alibi that you were at starbucks or elsewhere, the charge is defective as you were not at there at that time or place alledged,
remember many of our laws have not factored in the cyberworld.

Another possible defence is notwithstanding clause 2(b) is that there were precedents of potentially BLATANT seditious actions
by others that escaped the scrutiny of the law, showing clear bias and selective prosecution, that will make a mockery
of the court if it prosecutes you on what is widely seen to be opaque chargest.
In fact in the piece "Lets Charge them all under the seditions act" I wrote in May 2008 , I point out 6 other UMNO politicians who have potentialy run foul of the seditions act http://www.facebook.com/topic....topic=4733 .
that was before the poster boy of sedition , Ahmad Ismail made his brilliant statement.
Regards
written by thor, March 06, 2009 14:56:47
If Acts and whatever are created by corrupted man with no morals or sense of justice? Are these binding? There is a greater law where all bow to, that is one's GOD, so pls lah insaf and taubat so that GOD's Mercy is upon u.

RAKYAT is suffering and d ppl in power keeps d country from moving ahead with their divide and rule policy, create uneasiness and pain. Each and everyone of us wants what is good for our family irrespective of race and religion.

Only Ameno wants to keep the gravy train going their direction.
written by Taiping60, March 06, 2009 15:09:01
I thought court is a place where justice is served.

Don't worry RPT, Malaysians are behind you. You have done a lot for the country more than the combine effort of the 3 million UMNO members, more than a million MCA members and MIC which is Samy Veloo and Samy Veloo is MIC.
written by xgovtservant, March 06, 2009 15:16:24
In this country the Judges are not accountable for the verdict. If they can give an explaination for each of the points raised quoting the law, their verdict will be accepted by everyone. They should not hide behind "my view" or my opinion I remeber Tun Mahathir once told the home ministry staff to spell out the conditions for thr issue of passports and citizenship certificae. He said that there should be no "discretion" but fulfillment of conditions only.

Now we have Judges who give their own opinion, Prosecutors "fail" to prosecute or investigators "fail" to investigate properly in cases involving people involved with UMNO. Cases involving Non UMNO or those going against BN leaders are promptly investigated even in very minor cases and casea publicly anounced in the Media. It is very sickeng.
written by freerpk, March 06, 2009 15:23:41
It is a sad day when one cannot obtain JUSTICE in the court.
written by Hakim Joe, March 06, 2009 15:38:53
I don't think the verdict of this charge against RPK will be in accordance to the Word of Law, but rather on the instructions given to the judge on that particular Day of Judgment. The Sedition Act is one of the laws the gomen uses to suppress the public. If the gomen deems a phrase seditious, anyone saying this phrase can be charged with sedition. The presecuter just have to show proof that this person uttered the phrase and he will be convicted.

RPK, unless you deny ever writing that article, they will find you guilty.
If you are to vehemently deny it, then it will up to them to show evidence that you have indeed written it.

written by Navigator, March 06, 2009 15:42:18
After yesterday's revelation, Najib and everyone keeps quiet as if nothing happened.He is determined to stay on at all costs. Even Mahathir keeps quiet. They all have their interests to look after. If it had been Badawi, Mahthir would have torn him to pieces. The courts, the police, the army and the anti-corruption agency, including royalty are all compromised. In effect, he is a dictator even before he becomes PM.

The people are not dumb. They know what is going on and UMNO is losing popularity, especially amongst the Malays who now know they have been manipulated. If Najib becomes PM and UMNO loses the next elections, he will start a racial riot and introduce military rule to stay in power for ever. Looking at UMNO's reaction, they cower in fear at times and then act as a bully if they can bully.
written by BGs, March 06, 2009 15:47:31
Is it still seditious if it is good for the country? Good shall prevail over Evil!
written by lobster, March 06, 2009 15:48:46
OVERLORD, I am one of the few persons who had *****ed agree for ZymZym's post, just to help him secure his biasiswa. ZymZym, I sugest to seek advice from Saiful. smilies/grin.gif
written by DontPlayGod, March 06, 2009 15:53:14
M-T readers will not be able to help RPK in this case. But, if RPK is sent to jail by UMNO, then at least let the truth be known. Say it out loud and clear and let the whole world know that we have a PM who is.......
written by ONGJJJ, March 06, 2009 16:07:18
Good one Pete. In legal terms, those idiots are trying to interpret "STRICT LIABILITY" into the Sedition Act, which universally requires "MENS REA" and "ACTUS REUS". Indeed, Malaysia Boleh! I think you would make a better CJ or JC (or whatever they are called nowadays).
written by budakindia, March 06, 2009 17:06:43
Pete, my best guess is that your lawayers knew that the charge must have a
location and the prosecution can prove beyond reasonable doubt that you committed
the crime at that particular time and location.

Try proving that with a server located off shore and not within the boundaries
of Malaysian law. Also how to prove that you're the one who writes those articles?
Owning a server under your name and putting contents in it is 2 different
thing. How to prove that you write it?

They can charge you of in possession of that article but how to prove the possession when the server is off shore? Can Malaysian laws exceeded it's boundaries? smilies/wink.gif
written by Ireland, March 06, 2009 17:08:13
i am wondering what DAP,PAS & PKR is doing...? when you need pete's help he is the hero.... but when he is there in difficulties... nobody voice out.... come-on evrybody..... whats happening in Malaysia... Quickly do something.... i wish i am a superhero who can just smash all those donkeys and save pete from the hell call ISA... but GOD is great... hang on pete Pakatan will take over, if not now, for sure it will be the next GE 2012-2013. Valge Makkal Sakthi. Valge Pete.
written by OVERLORD, March 06, 2009 17:12:55
Zym Zym,

I would prefer the term tag team...If you claim fatty bom bom Rosie was involve, well guess again...You aspect Najib to turn a blind eye when someone is threatening him? .....so the feeling is mutual...better kill two birds with one stone....By the way, about your biasiswa, just be wary when you bend down in front of Najib...just ask saiful...that is how he was initiated...cheers
written by budakindia, March 06, 2009 17:19:36
One more thing how to equate the current technology where the information
is located in one location and it's up to the readers like us to access it?
So there must be a voluntary from our part to access it than disseminating it through flyers or posters or even broadcasting it through the air. So if you find Pete guilty how about the readers who are equally guilty of reading the articles also. What about those who are from your camp and your media who made the media coverage too? Are they equally guilty accessing it too? smilies/wink.gif What about other readers who aren't not Malaysians? Can we take action against them also? Then again how to prove that they are the one's who is accessing the websites? They must accept it that the Sedition Act is no longer relevant just as ISA and other suppressing laws.
written by lamepug, March 06, 2009 18:19:22
an old chinese say... 管字两个口

管 guǎn = to take care (of) / to control / to manage / to be in charge of
字 zì = letter / symbol / character / word
两 liǎng = both / two / some / a few
个 gè = individual / this / that / size / classifier for people or objects in general
口 kǒu = mouth / (classifier for things with mouths such as people, domestic animals, cannons, wells etc)

the in-charge have two mouth = you can't argue say he say you're dead meat and you are dead meat, if he say you're free and you're free...

Above are Malaysia laws... pity.. smilies/sad.gif
written by AstralQueen, March 06, 2009 18:58:24
I haven't visited your website in a while because it's depressing me how you're getting charged with all these crap charges. I can't keep up with it - I feel angry at those in charge and it drains me. All I can say is good luck and God speed in your fight to defend your freeedom. We are all praying for you, Pet.

Rest asured that there is still hope for us; you have a loyal fan base and it's important that you know that.

oxox
Shar from NZ
written by jeya, March 06, 2009 19:11:04
•all agree that this offence came into being during a period when the divine right of rulers was not only accepted but believed to be necessary,
when the rulers who dispensed laws were largely above question and criticism,
and when criticism of rulers was considered sinful as well as unlawful.

Some date the genesis of sedition from the Statute of Westminster, 1275, 3 Edw. I, c. 34. (repealed in 1887).

If we conceive of the governors of society as superior beings, exercising a divine mandate,
by whom laws institutions and administrations are given to men to be obeyed,
who are,
in short, beyond criticism, reflection or censure upon them or what they do
implies either an equality with them or an accountability by them, both equally offensive.”

These antecedents to the Sedition Act bestowed powers that were sweeping enough to be used arbitrarily by Rulers not accountable to ordinary citizens with none of the balancing of state powers and individual rights, nor the legal protections necessary to maintain that balance which have become cornerstones of modern democracy.

The fact that sedition has often been used as a political tool and not for a legitimate public purpose is another factor contributing to its repudiation by common law courts.

Lord Denning is less qualified in his remarks about the offence of Seditious Libel:
“The offence of Seditious Libel is now obsolescent.It used to be defined as words intended to stir up violence, that is, disorder, by promoting feelings, of ill-will or hostility between different classes of His Majesty’s subjects.
But this definition was found to be too wide.
It would restrict too much the full and free discussion of public affairs...

So it has fallen into disuse for nearly 150 years.
written by Sabahfan, March 06, 2009 19:43:11
DEAR RPK........

there is no need for more explanation now...

we all know that UMNO leaders can lie, cheat, maki, swear at the sultan, swear at god, swear at the whole country, but there will not be any charges at all, what more sedition..

But for us NON UMNO, i can be sleeping in my car, yet i can be charged with sedition and given dogs food....

SO THERE IS ONLY ONE THING LEFT TO DO.... WE MUST DESTROY THIS UMNO GOVT FROM THE FACE OF THE EARTH
written by patlu, March 06, 2009 19:54:12
written by Ireland, March 06, 2009 17:08:13
i am wondering what DAP,PAS & PKR is doing...?

I think we should ask, "Hello, what are the BN component parties (UMNO, MCA, MIC, Gerakan, etc) doing?"

WAKE UP BN COMPONENT PARTIES! By your silence and not raising up in defence of RPK, you are condoning to the acts of a couple of politicians to destroy the entire country, get it?!?

It is so very obvious that UMNO Supreme Council members via Home Ministry uses and ABUSES the Internal Security Act, the Sedition Act and whatever Act they can use to pursue their personal agenda. In the name of race and religion too, they also interpret and act against the Federal Constitution in bad faith.

This article again glaringly shows that not only PDRM, our judiciary is also made up of mindless and worthless "Yes Minister/Sir", an INSULT to their profession and themselves as decent human beings.

I hope PDRM and the judiciary is reading this. I hope their children are also reading this. Are you PROUD of what your parents are doing in the name of God, King and Country?

Pat Lu
written by Jit Dharma, March 06, 2009 21:30:09
King kangaroo( the rockhead of Gibraltar} is doing his little dance
with his fellow marsupials trying to keep in step but Bro.RPK's fancy
footwork keeps tripping them up.These cases make you want to weep for
the transparent nature of their unfairness. But, we will not forget
come voting time.Then it's LANDSLIDE TIME.
written by cahaya, March 06, 2009 21:53:16
RPK, to uncomplicate a complicating case, how about sincerely but creatively answering of questions in Court?

Suggestion 1 : Use the "Lingam" solution.

KUALA LUMPUR (The Sun, Jan 21, 200smilies/cool.gif: Despite being identified by earlier witnesses, lawyer Datuk V.K. Lingam today insisted before the Royal Commission of Inquiry probing a controversial video-clip that the person featured in the clip "looks like me and sounds like me".
"Irrespective of what others said, it looks like me and sounds like me," he told the commission. He then added: "I have conducted my own checks and the only way to verify its authenticity is to have the original equipment used to record it and the original recording is produced.". .

Suggestion 2 : Audition for the role of Inspector Clouseau

PETALING JAYA (NST, 13 Feb., 2009): A police officer told the Sessions Court yesterday . . . When pressed further, Gan repeatedly said he did not know how or what . . . He also avoided answering several questions by either saying "can't remember" or "I don't understand the question".

We know it is tough for a Pink Panther to change role, but you could try!
written by notsosmart, March 06, 2009 22:09:06
...............This means the court can block the truth from surfacing. I can’t use the truth as my defence.

===================================================

If a country like Malaysia could practice such kind of law. Then all of us, citizen and non-citizen of Maklaysia, could be easily punished for demonstrating good principle, moral value and integrity. Why can't we be righteous and makes our nation proud.
How would you feel when you go to a country and says that you are a Malaysian and all you get is the kind of glare as thought you are one of the crook from Malaysia. Sickening isn't it? The gomen had makes the laws that are putting shames to its Rakyat. What's wrong with our country now!!
Times for us to wake up and change for goog before it's too late.
written by born2reign, March 06, 2009 22:13:53
to point out errors or defects in any Government or constitution as by law established or in legislation or in the administration of justice with a view to the remedying of the errors or defects

RPK you are not pointing out defects. You are reporting to the authorities about a murder, a crime so terrible that the murderer must be hanged for it.

Can the murderer charge the "reporter" for sedition?

BN is already dead, dead for supporting a murderer PM-wannabe Najis, and will be buried together in deathly embrace. For fools love their evil deeds.
written by Msian Idol3, March 06, 2009 22:55:48
Holy smoke! Pete you are really having a huge dark cloud. As far as I am concern this Sedition Act can be easily be abused & applied to anyone the gomen. In fact, most UMNO leaders could be put away but the gomen have double standards. What the gomen is trying to do is to silence the truth and this is untolerable. Where will justice be heading and I hope the "learned" judges could understand the truth & get rid of such wanton abuses of power to rob a decent M'sian is BASIC rights. The irony is we have a judicial system where most judges acts on what the leaders in power wants. Its time we put a panel of Msians to judge whether each case is seditious or not as the judicial system is likely to be totally bias. Pete, they can throw U in jail but what is more important is you & many others have already planted the seeds. There will be more Pete's to give them hell. The Royalties from today onwards should start awarding outspoken Msians who dare speak the truth & be counted. This is for the good of the country & all Msians. Such recognitons are no small feats.
written by flyer168, March 07, 2009 06:39:51
Dear Pet,

I can't blame you for all your apprehensions as to your case as they keep "shifting" the "Goalpost"....Heads I win...Tails you lose Judiciary charade by AG & his people.

I would like to share this with you & your readers, on who we are dealing with....

Remember this one....Bolehland's Jaguh Kampong vs ICJ at the Hague ? What a joke! Breaking News/World Malaysia hopes to win island dispute with Singapore Agence France-Presse First Posted 09:10pm (Mla time) 11/02/2007 Filed Under: Foreign affairs & international relations

KUALA LUMPUR--Malaysia said Friday it was ready to win a legal tussle with Singapore over sovereignty of rocky outcrops in the South China Sea as the two sides prepare for a clash at the International Court of Justice in the Netherlands.

"We are well prepared and our team has all the documents and evidence to win the dispute," Attorney General Abdul Gani Patail, who is already in the Hague, told the state news agency Bernama.

The ICJ is expected to resolve the almost three decade-long dispute over Pulau Batu Puteh, which Singapore calls Pedra Branca island, Middle Rocks and South Ledge, all located in the waters off Johor state, Bernama reported.....

Now read this...
http://stocktube.********.com/2008/05/island-for-singapore-rocks-for-malaysia.html Saturday, May 24, 2008 An island for Singapore, rocks for Malaysia – Amazing!

I almost fell off my chair, not because I was extremely sad that Malaysia lost her island but from the extreme laugh, probably one of funniest episodes - the verdict of 28-year territorial dispute on a small island.

The International Court of Justice’s 12-4 decision in favor of Singapore on Pulau Batu Puteh (known as Pedra Branca to Singapore) was actually a slap on Malaysia’s face, considering that the small island is merely 7.7 nautical miles from Malaysia but is a whopping 25.5 nautical miles from Singapore. The fact is Malaysia has just lost her sovereignty on Pedra Branca.....

Malaysia did not only lose the island but also all natural resources and minerals in the territorial waters of Pedra Branca. But could the result be any difference if Malaysia engaged better lawyers. Singapore engaged two top international lawyers - Professor Alain Pellet of the University of Paris X-Naterre and Queen's Counsel Ian Brownlie.

On the other hand, the team from Malaysia comprising Foreign Minister Syed Hamid Albar, Attorney-General Abdul Gani Patail and his son Federal Counsel Faezul Adzra Gani Patail had to resort to using a blog’s unverified photo of Pedra Branca (Right) to present their case to the judges at the International Court of Justice (ICJ). The blog was said to be newly created and the jokes were that Malaysia was so complacent (arrogant?) and ill-prepared that they have to resort to present false evidence.

Malaysia AG Gani Patail-Maybe Malaysia government thought it could win the case easily since the top brain AG Abdul Gani Patail was leading the team. Furthermore how many lawyers in the world could make a public announcement that only three people and no others are involved in the murder case (Altantuya), even before the trial started?

If this was not a show-case of top-brains I do not know what is *grin*. Perhaps Malaysia Attorney General should be confined to domestic case only such as to suppress oppositions or anyone who dare to question the government’s policy and nothing else. That was the AG’s specialization area so do what he was good at. What a bunch of arrogant “Jaguh Kampung” or Village Champions – simply unbelievable!
written by Old Man, March 07, 2009 09:09:51
Dear Sir RPK,
There's nothing wrong with our Courts, the problem is that a great number of Judges are interested politics rather than the points of law and the TRUTH.
Majority of Malaysians know that you're telling the TRUTH! In life, one has to decide, "To be or not to be". Sometimes we just have to stick it out! smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by arankaru19, March 10, 2009 14:31:59
Does he count? smilies/cheesy.gif