Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Altantuya allegations flare up again for Najib

Altantuya allegations flare up again for Najib PDF Print
Thursday, 05 March 2009 17:07
By Leslie Lau, The Malaysian Insider

For Datuk Seri Najib Razak, his alleged links with the Altantuya Shaariibuu murder trial just will not go away.

Today, influential blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin put up on his website a police cautioned statement from Sirul Azhar Umar, who is a co-accused in the murder trial of the Mongolian woman, detailing how he and co-accused Azilah Hadri were expecting to be paid between RM50,000 and RM100,000 to “settle” the matter.

On the same day, French newspaper Liberation also published a story detailing grisly details of how Altantuya was allegedly killed.

According to the “cautioned statement” published by Raja Petra, Sirul claims Azilah told him of a payment of between RM50,000 and RM100,000.

But it is the article in the French newspaper which is particularly damaging to Najib’s image, and which will not be welcome as he prepares to take over the leadership of Umno and become Malaysia’s sixth prime minister at the end of the month.

The article in the Liberation details how Altantuya allegedly begged for her life before she was shot.

According to Liberation, Altantuya was allegedly shot on the left side of her face, and a second time when her assailants noticed her hand was still moving.

The newspaper says it obtained the information from a “cautioned statement” which had been leaked to its writer.

Altantuya was eventually stripped of her clothes, and explosives were placed on different parts of her body. Her assailants then allegedly set off the explosives.

But these were not the parts of the article which were particularly damaging to Najib.

The newspaper claims that Najib had indeed met with Altantuya, who was the mistress of Abdul Razak Baginda, his close aide and associate, in Paris in 2005.

A photograph was allegedly taken showing the three in a Paris nightclub, the Liberation said without providing any evidence.

The Liberation also suggested that Abdul Razak had been Najib’s intermediary for arms purchases.

In October 2006, the newspaper claims that Altantuya was informed that the commission paid by Armaris, a Spanish company involved in Malaysia’s acquisition of three submarines for one billion euros (RM4.7 billion), had been deposited in a bank account in Malaysia.

The commission of 114 million euros was allegedly paid into the account of Perimekar, a company Razak controlled.

Altantuya then allegedly flew to Kuala Lumpur to demand her share of the commission, which was to have been US$500,000.

The Liberation provided no documentary evidence of the sensational details.

But the resurfacing of these links with the Altantuya murder appears designed to embarrass Najib.

Najib has consistently denied any involvement in the murder and has also said he had never met the woman.

But the issue just will not go away, and has been used by rivals to damage his credibility and has proven to be a significant liability for the ruling Barisan Nasional government.

The Shah Alam High Court is set to deliver its verdict on Azilah and Sirul on April 9.

written by SamSan, March 05, 2009 17:18:43
I still remember vividly the Bofor's defence scandal that shadowed Rajiv Ghandhi,the then Prime Minister of India for at least 5 or more years and only stopped when he died. Some scandals are indeed difficult to shrug off and the more you cover the more it resurfaces. That is why I agree with our beloved Ku Li's advice that the more lies you tell, the more lies you need to keep on telling to cover those lies, until one day it swallows you.
written by miwaki, March 05, 2009 17:23:26
DPM's image is tentatively damaged but all is not lost !
disagree 23
written by SamYap, March 05, 2009 17:30:55
Yes, agree with Samsan. Thats the reason why Najib must be called as witness. If he really wants to clear his name, thats the only it can be done. During cross examination, the truth will emerge. You can't keep telling lies especailly during cross examination. It is obvious that Insp Gan was either lying or terribly inept as an IO when he came under fire during the cross examination.

If Najib is telling the truth, the consistency of his answers during cross examination will be tested. Consistently denying knowing the woman Altantuya by issuing press statements and public announcements is not convincing at all.

But the stakes are so high for UMNO now, his party will do the utmost to keep him safe. Its a case of "do you are damned and if you don't you are damned" for UMNO. If UMNO abandons Najib now, the party will fall apart because everyone in it has been shielding him and by exposing him only now, they will lose all the fence sitters who had been supporting UMNO. But keeping him is also a huge liability. Najib is truly an Albatross around UMNO's neck.

Really nice to see UMNO squirm, after all the misery they had brought upon the country.
written by Stormquest, March 05, 2009 17:31:36
UMNO, do you really want to chance it by having someone who has allegations like this lead your party, not to mention, the nation, irrespective of whether he is guilty or not? Search your soul. This could well have been your girlfriend, your wife, your mother.....
written by loosecannon, March 05, 2009 17:33:32
Greed and Sex, this is the downfall for many a powerful men. And it's something that Najib has a propensity for.
written by Democrats, March 05, 2009 17:35:06
Tommorrow Headlines : Boycott French Products and people because of the article.

This is how our "matured" Malaysian government handles conflicts and disapprovals....
written by OVERLORD, March 05, 2009 17:38:51
I guess Najib will revert to what he did the last time ala Bill Clinton style.....He will just deny everything and swear on the Quran.....
written by hellboykl, March 05, 2009 17:38:55
I think Najis is planning for a C4 attack on the French Reporter now.

or maybe considers ISA.
written by BGs, March 05, 2009 17:43:59
Only in Bolehland would you see a national leader maintain his innocence in the face of such public accusations by keeping quiet or inaction. Maybe that's why it is called Bolehland.
written by lamakawan, March 05, 2009 17:45:00
To whoever is trying to reveal whatever that should not be revealed, please be prepared for a new operation lallang 2009!!!!!!
Anything can happen these days.
C4 could be already at your backyards.
Be prepared!!!
written by chanatak, March 05, 2009 17:47:32
We can be sure that the corrupt court system will cover up the case making use of contrived logic and verbose acrobatics.

The truth will only surface when PR takes over the government. If that happens, all these corrupt judges will have to flee the country, together with the corrupted AG, MACC head, the PIG, and Najib. Which is why Najib cannot afford to let the PR take over. It will use the army and police to cause a national emergency even when the PR gets a landslide victory in 2012

written by Dragon888, March 05, 2009 18:10:31
PR should hire private detectives in Paris to find people there that may have seen Altantuya, Baginda and Najib together. If there are nightclub, coffee shop employees and hotel employees who have seen them, it would be a break through. This would put nail on Najib's coffin....This shouldn't be that difficult..
written by La Cha Mau, March 05, 2009 18:13:30
The DGSE or Direction générale de la sécurité extérieure, the French military external intelligence agency, has full documentary, photographic & video evidence of this case in their possession. Of course, such national intelligence agencies will never release any info to the public but will use them to hold the countries involved to ransom so as to perpetually favour their national interests.

If HE becomes PM be prepared for the influx of French businessmen in every strata of Malaysian society and the end of economic power for the Bumiputras.
written by Jack Hui, March 05, 2009 18:18:23
Hopefully we can send the real killer to court (of cause not our jangle court)as soon as possible!!!!
written by La Cha Mau, March 05, 2009 18:21:42
UMNO should be well-advised that the threat of Lord Sivakumar and his Pakatan kuncu-kuncu is small fry compared to the threat of the French looming over the horizon. Dateen Ros will also be nowhere compared to Carla Bruni who will most probably use her as her footstool. As for me, I will take French lessons without delay.
written by NSTPravda, March 05, 2009 18:31:54
Why would Altantuya allegations flare up again for Najib?
Just when he is about to be the captain of the national ship
He has already sworn by Qur’an that he is as innocent as a baby
Please let him wallow in peace and his hard earned prosperity

Just give him a few more weeks he will be home and dry
Nothing then will stick to him regardless of how you try
All evidence, witnesses, plaintiffs and trails will disappear
When he becomes the ruler, you renegades will live in fear

For the love your children, you should support him as before
Else he’d necklace each of them with his favorite C4
He has the magical power to make his enemies disappear
His polis, judges and UMNO will help him to instill fear

He already has a sultan, the polis on his beck and call
MACC, EC, AG and judges are well paid to form a wall
If he profited from “commission” or kill a Mongolian or two
It is because he divinely protected to do what he has to do

He is ordained and supported by UMNO with licence to kill
Watch UMNO help him out of trouble while you foot the bill
When he becomes the PM, you renegades should all kneel & pray
For those who are rude to him, you will not be semua-nya OK!

Duit-lah tuan ku
Dollar Akbar!!
Rasuah sayang saya
written by OVERLORD, March 05, 2009 18:32:32

Let just look at this in a simple manner..If Malaysia buys subs from France, who benefits the most other than Najib? The French company DCNS" Direction des Constructions Navales Services"... And who are they? Just do a wikipedia search and one would uncover that it is part of the French Government........So are we looking at an International cover-up?
written by Anyone, March 05, 2009 18:59:29
Hmmm...the time feels right for ANOTHER swearing on the Holy Quran.

This time Fat Rosie too maybe?

Saiful should be in attendance since he has experience in this things.
written by fireduck, March 05, 2009 19:07:50
No, I do not know who SaifulAltantuyais....

Oh wait, I remember now. HeShe came to see me for some scholarshipcommissions.....

Well, actually heshe has a problem with hisherrear opening, so I counselled greasedhimher.

written by bknight, March 05, 2009 20:49:07
boycott french product ? well then return all the submarines then. but i would love to see that action. you know why, then it will agitate the french government and they will then launch their own investigation.if that happen najib is a goner go launch the boycott french product campaign and return the subs! saya sokong sepenuhnya!
written by MalayMail, March 05, 2009 23:30:28
How many of you agreed that Najib has any involvement please VOTE agree!
Just a market survey!
written by temanmu, March 06, 2009 01:19:14
AG:

Please charge the French author & newspaper for criminal sedition!

U berani ka?
written by 1eyecls, March 06, 2009 08:54:55
it will surface,it will be surfaced,the 3 fellas' picture just outside the nightclub maybe recorded in the cctv,some1,pls get the copy and send to the Hague,International Court,later,Najis will have no choice but to admit it!

written by astina, March 06, 2009 09:21:04
To all umNO memebers ..this is the scandal plagued leader you are getting to lead umNO ..
Well done smilies/grin.gif
written by KUMON, March 06, 2009 09:55:36
What a great SPY Movie this script will make, I mean you have SEX, MONEY, POLITICAL FIGURES, MURDER and CORRUPTION...All the essential ingredients that will make this a BlockBuster!! smilies/grin.gif
written by Prem, March 06, 2009 12:22:25
Friends, it HARAM or HALAL having murderers,looters,sex-scandals actors and abusive PDRM,as governing authority?????? I am confused about the meaning!!!!