Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Financial crisis and bailouts

Financial crisis and bailouts PDF Print
Thursday, 05 March 2009 09:55

I was in England recently and the newspapers were full of dismal reports on bank and business failures, the closure of well-known businesses like Woolworths and Baratt, the increases of unemployment rate with some 700,000 professionals among the 2 million laid off or unable to get jobs. And there were lots more bad news.

2. The British Government is busy bailing out banks and companies with hundreds of billions of pounds but the economy seemed to have gone into recession despite all these efforts. There is no sign that the crisis is on the mend.

3. Malaysia can feel vindicated because all the things we did in the 1997 - 98, crisis, which were condemned by the economists of Europe and America, are now being done by them blatantly and on a massive scale. They talk about trillions of dollars and hundreds of billions of pounds in bailouts. Where the money is coming from is not revealed. Have they been keeping these huge sums for such an emergency?

4. I am not a financier or even an economist. But somehow I think the bailouts are not going to work although they worked in our case.

5. This is because the banks and businesses we bailed out did not get into trouble because they abused the systems or indulged in fraud. They were forced into that situation because the currency was devalued by currency traders and they found themselves unable to meet their commitments. Once they gained access to funds through bailouts they were able to do business again and to repay the money they had received.

6. They were able to do this because, although Malaysia was in recession, the rest of the world was not. There was much less constraint in doing business.

written by Old Man Jasin, March 05, 2009 10:08:59
TDM,
Don't feel proud of what you had done before.

I am also not a financier . But looking at the ability of our present gomen , more bad news are on the way for Malaysia.

We are not too far behind from the mess created by the so called industrialized countries in their present financial crisis .
written by KotaDamansara73, March 05, 2009 10:35:41
Mahathir,

No matter what you say, the fact is that the Malays are still a very unprogressive race in Asia. The UMNO Malay leaders cannot propel Malaysia economy into an advance status. There is no strong R&D culture among the Malays to spearhead strong high end industry.

The Malays continue to possess low self-esteem and are unable to meet global challenge.

You must remember, during the 1997 Asia Financial crisis, most of the UMNO bumiputra business includes your son's business were heavily in debt due to short cut thinking and short term profit. They borrow huge from American and western bank at 3% interest rate and deposit in Malaysia bank at 12% interest rate. They make 9% profit by doing nothing. Your son and those UMNO bumiputra business just keep doing it knowing that the Bank negara will never let the USD exchange rate fluctuate too much.

They didn't realise that the foreigners have no confidence in the whole of ASia economy and they start selling ringgit in huge amount and Bank Negara is not able to defend it. So all your son and UMNO bumiputra businessman were hugely in debt. Not because of your Petronas money, your son and UMNO bumiputra businessman would have been wipe out from the Malaysian economy.

The small and medium industry mostly own by non-malays were the one standing strong during the Asia financial crisis. Why don't you thank the non-malays entreprenuer for once.

The UMNO Malays businessman until today are still not genuine and still depending on goverment handout.

WHere is the pride in being UMNO Malay businessman?
written by Come clean, March 05, 2009 10:44:58
Boy, is he proud of bailing out MAS, and putting the rakyat in debt by his massive privatization projects?
written by KARMANNGHIA, March 05, 2009 11:25:18
The father of white elephants, wanton waste and cronyism speaks.

written by krising1, March 05, 2009 11:39:34
Why is he writing this piece in English? He does not want his bahasa only speaking audience to know what he is saying? This old man alway has an agenda.
written by michael, March 05, 2009 11:55:55
Ai yah yah. Mahathir. Why you so long winded one.

The cause of the world financial and monetary system collapse is due to extreme leveraging of debts and how can they possibly solve it by creating even more debts by printing more money.

So surely fail one.
written by asguard, March 05, 2009 12:34:58
Dr M ... YOU teach ...students followed your dirty foot steps... now who to be blame ask yourself?
written by Jit Dharma, March 05, 2009 13:27:52
Leaders who rule by fear and secret police/special branch,
as well as kangaroo courts and propaganda are certainly
third-rate.That's all they ever are.To quote Clint Eastwood,
"you're a legend in your own mind".
written by thor, March 05, 2009 13:47:23
Dear Tun, jgn gaya, nothing happen without GOD's Grace. Are u so sure there were no bail-outs during yr time ah? I seem to remember there was once a SIME BANK but was operating under that brand name for not more than a year plus after suffering billion ringgit loses, why ah? How is d progress of a case on its chairman? Sub judice to talk abt it ah? I hve been hearing a lot of jokers saying sub judice this sub judice that, certain d concept of sub judice is not to hide things right?

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES
written by thor, March 05, 2009 13:51:04
Another thing, wasn't it under his watch that there were billions of losses in d FOREX market by d Oops I am sorry man smilies/grin.gif

So definitely I know u r not a financier of any sort, we all know what u r and stand for? Divide and Rule
written by ROBERTNGTG, March 05, 2009 14:15:50
Where the money is coming from is not revealed. Have they been keeping these huge sums for such an emergency?

IN THESE COUNTRIES, THEY SAVE FOR A RAINY DAY. BUT IN BOLEHLAND, WHERE THE MONEY
HAS GONE, NOBODY KNOWS. IT DISAPPEARS LIKE MAGIC, NOW U SEE, NOW U DONT.
AND YOU WERE THE MASTER MAGICIAN. TODAY YOU HV GREAT SUCCESSORS CONTINUING THE GOOD WORK.
written by joeawk, March 05, 2009 14:23:27
Cut thye buyllshit. That the west is doing what we did then does not mean that what we did was right.

The good money could have been better utilise than to help your cronies. That is a fact, nevermind what the west is now doing.
written by Susanna, March 05, 2009 15:09:06
I would rather all of us be moderately well off and relatively poor but remain united and flourish working hard together than be rich through dubious ways with cronies milking and reaping off the nation's wealth and pretend they care for the rakyat. Beside destroying and controlling the judiciary, the police, the anti corruption agency, just to be in control of power and wealth. That kind of legacy is rotting our country to this day. We need to re-establish the foundation for justice, truth and unity set up by our founding fathers destroyed by the man who professed to bring so much development but truly only for himself and his cronies
written by mob1900, March 05, 2009 15:23:51
TDM,
We are reaping the 'benefits' from your pervesion of our Judiciary now, thanks to you, your 'loyal' AMNO warlords are using every level of Gov Agencies and even the courts to persecute the rakyat and anyone who dares speaks against their wrongdoings, yes, just like you did.

Thanks to you, our sultans are constantly being extorted by AMNO Warlords to do their biddings, including re-intepreting our laws and constitution inorder to grease AMNO's path to power, especially thru states which they've lost since march 8th, 2008.

Thanks to you, law-enforcement which were meant to serve the rakyat are used as tools to subjugate the rakyat and C4 uncoperative targets.

Thanks to you, half of KLSE-listed companies are still being bailed out using Public funds meant for developement.

Thanks to you, animosity has grown to its worst since the introduction of your 'Ketuanan' & 'Boleh' concept, your AMNO colleagues and goons are milking your ideas as a front to steal, rob the rakyat, impedes the eradication of real poverty and sped up the death of meritocracy.

Thanks to you, secret backdoor deals are constantly being made using gov agencies with inept gutter politicians holding key ministrial posts which burnt billions of taxpayers' money under pretense of building dubious white elephant projects.

Thanks to you, the Main Stream Media, ie: TV, radio & prints are monopolised using Public Funds and abused to peddle useless information and propagandise party politics, and with your warped misintepretation & stranglehold on the Publications licenses, journalism is dead in Malaysia.

Thanks to you, the rakyat are being robbed by loopsided contracts which favored your cronies(developers/toll-concessions/contractors/independent power producers). Most of these blood-letting of the Rakyat's jugular will continue on for decades.

Thanks to you, you have thousands of blind followers who lost the ability to think and work for themselves. Their only rememdy is to return you into power soo they could be cronies and get handouts again, just the 'old' days.

Thanks to you, it will take decades or even generations to undo your 'legacy' of corruption, extortion and insatiable greed within the current administration.

Care to explain the 'good' you did again, sir?
written by gycgocnt, March 05, 2009 15:33:54
Mahathir, sorry for not calling you Tun, you don’t deserved it. Keep your mouth shut and ‘Goyang Kaki’ in your kampong house.

You are out. No matter how much of excuses given it still proved you are wrong. By bail out hand, you promote a corruption, laziness, Ali Baba style, and cronyism culture in Malaysia.

Ask your own race, the Malay, the hardcore Malay, would they forgive you for cheating their support to enrich your cronies.

You are out! Old man! You are the one to be blamed for Mockery of Democracy, the executive under your 22 years controlled both of the judicial and legislature.

Don’t fools us around here, and you are not suppose to give even a words of comment at here. This site reserved for the people who have so much love to Malaysia, but not a people like you, who was created so much of draconian law in this country.
written by malsia1206, March 05, 2009 18:24:58
TDM, come on, come on. You need not be in England to read all those negative nrew. If you have time to surf the net, you'd find all these news day in-day out for the past 5 months. But do not expect the Government to follow these news seriously. They are still busy trying to
1. nail down the MB of Selangor with cars and cows
2. seek devious ways to topple the Perak State Govt
3. hide the truth of the death of the Indian detainee while in Police custody
4. making efforts to get the DNA from Anmwar
5. you still want more examples?
I thought you did pick Badawi and his (yours too?) UMNO goons as your specially selected choice for PM? Maybe I suggest you join Mugabe and stay at his HK residence for a break. Malaysian politics can shorthen your life and surely you would not like that to happen to you.