Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Appeal by Pushpa, Updated with Bank Details

Appeal by Pushpa, Updated with Bank Details PDF Print
Wednesday, 04 March 2009 22:40

I am truly overwhelmed and touched at the response from good people in Malaysia as well as abroad.

I am listing my particulars hereinafter-
Pushpaneela V N Suppiah-Ambank (M) Berhad Account No:0830020014817

Many thanks,

Pushpa

Dear Fellow Malaysians, 

It is not easy for me to write this appeal but I am compelled to as a result of what is happening to me and my family.

One of the reasons for the Government to put people away under the ISA is to break the spirit of the detained and at the same time create trepidation amongst family members thus disrupting the harmony therein. 

Manoharan is a good son, son in-law, husband and a good father to our lovely three kids ranging from 9-11 years. My husband has aged parents and his mother is wheel-chair bound. They are both dependant on him for monthly expenses as well.  

One year and two months have passed since my husband's detention. His recent appeal was rejected by the court, and we are told that he shall be in detention for  two years.  

Our three children are deprived of their social activities, love, guidance and they have lost confidence and constantly living in fear. They are also having nightmares so they are not themselves anymore. I am worried for them as I feel that they are scarred for life with this stigma that their father is a ‘prisoner’ what the future holds for them.

As you are aware my husband M. Manoharan was a legal adviser to the banned Hindraf and is currently under detention under ISA, without trial. He is a graduate in Economics from UM and also a law graduate from UK. He was having a reasonably successful legal practice in Suite B-4-1, Tower B.Plaza Pantai, Off Jalan Pantai Baru, Kuala Lumpur, under the name M. Manoharan & Co. He started his practice in 2001 with very little funds. I stopped work as a teacher and helped out in my husband’s legal firm. There have been many occasions when his firm has performed legal work free of charge for poor and destitute people.  

I am a homemaker and now at a loss as to how to manage his law practice as there are no funds or new cases coming in. I tried to downsize his legal firm from ten staff to six staff from 1st Jan 2007 and have used up all our savings to maintain the office. I have also been issued a summons to settle the arrears in rental amounting to RM120K plus interest. Thus, I am in urgent need of financial assistance to help save his firm which is on the verge of closing down. His allowance as Member of Parliament puts food on the table but is far short of the monthly minimum required to pay bills.

I need to keep the firm afloat as this is important to keep my husband sane and give him a reason to push on. It will definitely break his heart and he will be devastated if the firm is closed down. I have exhausted and stretched my resources to the maximum to keep the firm running but cannot cope with the mounting pressure any more.

My husband has laid down his life, his career and his personal life to fight for the basic rights of right - thinking Malaysians and I am now appealing to the generosity of the same kind-hearted people to help us tide over this difficult period of settling our debts, which have chalked up due to my husband’s unfair detention without trial. I shall be grateful to receive whatever assistance to sustain the legal firm as well as to start paying up our outstanding debts.  

Sincerely Yours,

Pushpa

Comments (56)Add Comment
written by MAGELLAN, March 04, 2009 22:53:57
Give us your account number and bank details, I am sure most Malaysians will help for a worthy cause!!! Tell your husband to keep his spirits up!!! We may have lost the war! but we shall win the battle!!!
agree 207
written by Thian, March 04, 2009 22:54:49
Pls let us know the accounts and name. Thank you.
written by red1, March 04, 2009 23:03:16
I know Manoharan many years ago, when he started representing the rakyat's political rights. It brings tears to my eyes to hear of his sacrfice been borne also by his whole family. His pain must be ours too. He is one of us, limb and soul and blood.
written by SaveUsFromBN, March 04, 2009 23:04:10
give us your maybank or cimb account number and i am sure that there are many peace loving peolpe who would glady contribute for a worth cause.
written by bknight, March 04, 2009 23:06:11
let me know how to donate, i am not in country

written by Dualties, March 04, 2009 23:14:55
Pushpa :

The Rakyat will always support a worthy cause. Provide us your bank account information so that you can quickly setup a fund to help his legal practise and keep your family going free from stressful financial constraints.

We believe the Rakyats own him and the Hindraf ISA detainess for their disrupted otherwise harmonious lifestyles in Malaysia. We appreciate their contributions to Malaysia and they will often remembered for their courage, sacrifice and their valiant acts of love for a democratic Malaysia.

BELIEVE IN THE RAKYAT RATHER THAN BN INHUMAN ATTITUDE TOWARDS LOVE, PROSPERITY AND HEALTH OF ALL LIVING BEINGS.
written by mykantree, March 04, 2009 23:15:18
"We may have lost the war! but we shall win the battle!!!"

I believe MAGELAN meant "We may have lost the Battle! but we shall win the War!!!"

I do concur with Magelan that Ms Pushpa must be strong and resolute when faced with such injustice by a government that is so uncouth and heartless.It is a sacrifice that will be rewarded in time.The people of this country is with Mano and his family.Just be patience for those who have imposed these hardships on Mano and family must not succeed in their deeds.There is no reason to believe that they will be around for very long anyway. For God is great.
written by Ireland, March 04, 2009 23:30:29
Dear Pushpa,
Don't worry, keep fighting....Makkal Sakthi will win & thats for sure.... 2012 is a revolutionary year (mark my word).... i can bet you on that.... hang on. Your husband will be back and your children will get thier father, so do other ISA detainees family....

i am in overseas....
please let us know your account number.....

Valge Makkal Sakthi.
written by atan, March 04, 2009 23:30:31
yr account no.please.I share yr predicament.Malaysia for all malaysians
written by Wakeupmsia, March 04, 2009 23:38:59
Dear Pushpa,

You did the right thing. It's an honor to contribute. Give us an account. In fact, the 'war' will be long and tedious. Setting a "H5 Fund" will be more apt, for the benefit of their family while our Five Heroes are in Kamunting. We will prevail! In God, we trust.
written by raven1958, March 04, 2009 23:47:51
Please send bank details.

Some advice. Dont burn a hole paying rental at that useless Plaza Pantai. Get out of there!!! Use the money to move to a shoplot where rentals are RM500-1000..
written by pulaiman, March 04, 2009 23:58:27
yes dear sister plse forward your acct no as soon as possible. plse take advise and shift your office.maybe we could all take turns to visit the children just to keep their spirits high. words nor tears can describe the you and family are enduring. all is not lost be strong.
written by dumbfounded, March 05, 2009 00:01:14
yes do post your acc # & let your husband know we remember him
written by murali, March 05, 2009 00:01:28
Dear Pushpa,

the account number please.
written by Joe, March 05, 2009 00:06:56
We need to help her and her family people. State the account number, and we will do our best sister.
written by aykf9439, March 05, 2009 00:07:48
Dear Mdm ,
i understand ur plight , the sadness and the anger that is brewing as days passes by ...... Keep the fire burning , Mdm , pls dun give up bcoz when there is a fire burning in our heart , God promise us that eventually He shall see us through !!!!

Actually , i'm just a normal chinese Malaysians but it really touches my heart to see how HIndraf and their fellow members sacrifice and fight for a better future for their fellow brothers & sisters and most important their future generations to come .

Mdm , as i read some of the other comments above maybe u can just advise us ur Maybank acc and we shall try our very best to contribute to assist and in the meantime i would try to disseminate this info to as much people as possible . . . Keep it up !!!!!!! Go !!! Go !!!! Go !!!!!
written by ananth, March 05, 2009 00:24:02
Dear madam,
Hope to get your account details soon. i will allocate some amount on monthly basis from my salary. It won't be much compare with what your husband sacrificed. You husband stood for all malaysians. I hope the same malaysians will stand by for all the family of unlawful ISA detainees.
written by SamYap, March 05, 2009 00:24:49
Name and Bank Account Number. Thats all we need.

There a few other things you can consider. When you next visit Manoharan, please ask him if he would consider moving premises to somewhere smaller and cheaper. Plaza Pantai isn't cheap. Office space is in abundance at the moment. Check them out. I'll do some checking and post the rates here in the next couple of days.

Have you also spoken with some of your husband's colleagues in the profession about your problems. As far as I know there are many sympathizers amongst the legal fraternity, but do becareful because there are some buffons who might take advantage of the situation.
written by magickriver, March 05, 2009 00:26:53
Pushpa, if I knew how to contact you I would be very pleased to befriend you and your family and contribute my time to the well-being of your children. I'm sure when MT readers know how to donate towards Manoharan's noble cause, you will receive far more than you expected. All decent Malaysians are angry and frustrated that Kamunting and the evil ISA continue to be used as a political weapon against honorable dissenters. If you are reading this, kindly email me - This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it - thank you.
written by Fat Zorro, March 05, 2009 00:28:02
I would like to extend help. Please give me you account number/bank/account name.
written by Fat Zorro, March 05, 2009 00:30:03
Just realised, we can issue cheques in name of the law firm and send directly to the law firm.
written by The Hammer, March 05, 2009 00:35:02
Kindly open an acount at either the Standard or OCBC bank or any other local bank other than MBB or CIMB or any banks still in the hands of UMMO proxy. Why should we boost their income! MDM, please do what is best. Will definetly help!
written by hellboykl, March 05, 2009 00:44:07
Dear Sister Pushpa,

Please give your bank account number and name to bank-in.
I also agree with the suggestion to setup a H5 fund.
I thank you and your family for braveness to overcome all the obstacles you faced in life.
written by apa jadi, March 05, 2009 00:55:25
Pushpa,

We appreciate the sacrifice your husband made for his stand. The Hindraf group did contribute much to the 308 tsunami. We appreciate PR can also help into your predicament. Cutting down your rentals and utility bills will definitely help reduce your losses.

Meanwhile for us the forumers here, the best we can help is contributing money to cover your expenses, while we try fighting for the release of your husband.

By all means, give us an account number that we can bank in.
written by redaero, March 05, 2009 01:06:56
I am one of the daily MT reader, but the seldom comment type. Today I am compelled to say a few words. The true spirit of a Malaysian was shown, yet again by our readers. I feel proud to know that there are so many others out there, who still has a good heart. Bravo to our MT readers. SamYap went further by offering good advice and real action. Kudos to you bro. Probably thats what we should do also, apart from donating, find solutions to ease their plight.
written by ricky, March 05, 2009 01:35:59
Just realised, we can issue cheques in name of the law firm and send directly to the law firm.

No ... Inland Revenue fellas may deem it as income of the law firm and hence subject to tax. Better bank into personal account.
written by bknight, March 05, 2009 01:50:43
Dear all,

is it possible if any of us back at home setup a campaign for them ? to bring awareness to Mdm Puspha plight ?? i would love to give a hand too but i am living and working abroad...therefore the least i can do is to contribute to her in monetary terms

written by Darth Vader, March 05, 2009 01:55:46
Dear Ah Kah, yr appeal brought tears to my eyes and my tears cant stop flowing. Yb will have my vote anytime if he stand for election in my area.

I am sure that there will be some MT bloggers who owns office space, shop lots. i appeal to you to let it to YB for free if it is still vacant. it is better to lend it to the rakyat struggle than leaving it empty.

i am also appealling to bloggers who are lawyer, retired lawyers to lend a helping hand. work for YB equates to working for the rakyat.

As for the urgently required funds, please let us know yr banking details. It will be my honor to help Yb's family out.
written by cheemengwong, March 05, 2009 03:13:49
Tell me how, and I shall do my bit. Let your hubby know we are here for him and his fellow brothers fighting for the same cause.

Cheer up.
written by jasongaust, March 05, 2009 05:14:42
MT, can you help this brave lady to set up the Manoharan Appeal Fund a/c on this site so we all can response to her appeal and all contributions are orderly directed to the one proper channel, either locally or overseas.
Thank You.
written by cheekymate, March 05, 2009 05:26:17
Count on me too. Will remit money when I know your bank details, madam.
You are not alone in your fight, a nation of good people is right behind you...
May God bless you and your whole family always.
written by nothing less, March 05, 2009 05:35:03
Madam just put you Bank AC no here.This will be my LENT contribution to the needs of you family.
written by sonofmalaysia, March 05, 2009 07:50:19
Maam, let MT readers know about the bank acct, we will certainly help. Be proud of your husband !! Let your sons know Manoharan is a hero, not a prisoner !!

Be strong, good MAlaysians (not just Hindu or Indians) are behind you !! MAlaysians owe gratitude to the Hindraf 5 and many others !!
written by temenggong, March 05, 2009 07:51:45
Downsize the firm to 3 staff, and move to cheaper premises.

Account number please.
written by evaangel, March 05, 2009 08:48:46
Instead of downsizing consider making all your staff part-time or jobshare. That way, no one gets fired and loses their income completely. Given them flexibility to get a second job e.g: working half a week or shorter hours. Give them the option to leave. It's hard times. I'm sure they will prefer to have some income than none. Also if you fire I think you have to pay some kinda compensation or something no? (I'm not that hot on trade laws in Malaysia but when my dad's firm changed name after his demise we had to pay the workers some kinda lumpsum even though no one lost their jobs - pretty evil on widows with no income and hard assets)
Move to cheaper premises or run the business from the house.
Account number please.
written by Ranulaw, March 05, 2009 09:18:43
Sorry but here's my 2 sen.
You can't run a marathon with extra weight on your back. Stay light. In these turbulent times, retrench everyone, move out of premise & operate from home. It's a long, long battle ahead. Good luck.
written by gas, March 05, 2009 09:26:01
I am a regular blind reader of MT. I have been contributing to all appeals. I am not rich, but I promise to contribute. Please provide your account number. I am glad to help a worthy cause.
written by Comodo, March 05, 2009 10:44:41
Dear sis,
Please provide account number. We are Malaysian and I believe all genuine malaysian Indians knows who enlighten them.
To light an oil lamp, we need to feed the lamp with oil for brightness.
written by farah, March 05, 2009 11:36:29
Madam Puspa /Admin, please provide us the necessary information for our contribution.

HINDRAF 5's, definately you have ENLIGHTENED the Indian Communities.
written by Kuku Burung, March 05, 2009 12:25:39
I would like to support you but let me suggest a longer term solution. Instead of a one time donation, lets set up a fund for ISA cases. This fund could be ongoing. Otherwise, people will just forget after one time giving. At the mean time, please give us your account, and I would like to contribute immediately.
written by evaangel, March 05, 2009 14:08:11
I think the ISA fund is a great idea. It could also be used for legal fees as well as to help out the families. That way individuals wouldn't have to publicise their account details on the internet which is dangerous.
written by SamYap, March 05, 2009 17:11:47
Hi Pushpa,

As promised, I have found a couple of places for you and Manoharan to consider. The prices are reasonable.

1) KELANA LAKEVIEW: 1800 sq ft, RM2,500 per month, unfurnished/not renovated

2) KELANA CENTER POINT: 1200 sq ft, RM2,000 per month, Fully renovated/furnished

3) KELANA CENTER POINT: 1500 sq ft, RM2,500 per month, Fully renovated/furnished

There are 4 to 5 units available in Kelana Center Point.

Professional movers will be probably cost you, RM5000 to move. Packing and unpacking. Don't bother to call Crown Movers, they are top market movers, expensive.

The above office space are located near to the Kelana Jaya Putra LRT and have ample parking space. There are no unhealthy activities, such as gambling or massage parlours. Its quite well appointed with a number of professional firms operating in the premises.

If you need help, write to Superadmin and ask him to kindly forward your email to me. I will then contact you via email and we can take it from there.

IMPORTANT NOTE:
I AM NOT IN THE REAL ESTATE BUSINESS AND I HAVE NO FINANCIAL INTEREST IN THIS MATTER AT ALL. JUST HELPING OUT.

written by Littlebird, March 05, 2009 21:54:01
Dear Admin, please make sure this item remains in the first page. I hope RPK like fund raising can meet its target. Hope other bloggers join in too.
written by boeytahan, March 05, 2009 23:59:05
Hi Comrades,
If those supporters of RPK were to inch out RM10 each, then it would convert to millions to Mrs.Manahoran's funds to keep her going for a long time. That's the least that I'm aming for. Let's contribute k?

If KU LI were to be PM comes April, I'd believe that Pakatan's 1st. condition is to free all political prisioners! Hope that there's light at the end of tunnel!
written by malaysian, March 06, 2009 00:20:48
Madam,

Malaysians are forever indebted to the Hindraf 5 for their sacrifice!

Glad you made this request. I am very happy to help in any way. Will go to bank first thing tomorrow morning.

Please give Bank A/C details of other Hindraf detainees too!
written by peter, March 06, 2009 00:21:28
I'll do my part. I send you greetings and pray that you will be brave during this very difficult time. Take care Ms Pushpa and God bless.
written by Bloodhound, March 06, 2009 00:28:54

You need to set up a PAYPAL Account for overseas donors to contribute. It is easy to set up and very convenient for overseas contributors to donate without needing them to release personal details over the internet.

Don't write off overseas contributors, they are willing and able to help.
written by tumbledore, March 06, 2009 01:01:15
pls set up a PAYPAL account to enable us from overseas to contribute or set up Fund.

thanks and take care
written by future, March 06, 2009 02:41:00
Insyaallah...i will make it to the AmBank today.
written by romerz, March 06, 2009 02:53:50
Dear Pushpa,

Please thank your husband for sacrificing his freedom for us. Tell him not to worry too much as there are many decent Malaysians who appreciate what he has sacrificed for us. Many more than those of the ruling elite.

Even if it means I have to join him in Kamunting, so be it.

I too have aged parents who are both wheelchair bound and it frightens me if I'm unable to care for them but there has to be a limit to our tolerance.

I will make a small contribution first thing in the morning and I would also like to appeal to my fellow decent Malaysians to take it one step further than provide financial assistance.

This country needs able minded and bodied Malaysians to step forward be counted. Talking about it is one thing but physical walking the talk is another!

The change that we hope for needs help. The PR needs help for 'technocrats' to volunteer and offer their services in order for them to transit from an "opposition" role to a mainstream political entity.
written by penangboi, March 06, 2009 08:36:45
Hi Pushpa
I am by no means wealthy but I shall help out with whatever I can afford.

But more importantly, pls convey this message to Mano : Keep his spirit up. The government might have succeeded in physically defeated him by putting him behind bars, but the rakyat are with him all the way.

We need heroes like Mano, RPK and all the others who so willingly put their lives and livelihood up for sacrifice for the noble cause of a better Malaysia. For this we, the rakyat cannot express our thanks enough.

We all understand how hard it is. But the objective for a just and fair government is not far off. It is only a matter of time but it will happen, just as sure as the sun is going to rise tomorrow.

Keep strong.
written by Zeroed, March 06, 2009 08:53:39
Anything for a good cause of a better Malaysia.

I'm doing an interbank GIRO Transfer through maybank2u. One of the field i need to enter is your IC. Kindly supply.
written by ibabonma, March 06, 2009 09:18:45
It remind me of those days when my late father, crucified by the Perikatan Government, resorted to sending similar appeals to his socialist comrades, the like of Ahmad Boestamam, Hasnul Hadi, Lim Kean Siew, Dr Tan Chee Koon, V David, Yeoh Teik Chye and many others. History seems to be repeating. There are many kind hearted peoples around.

Pushpa, like many others, UMNO/BN is forcing your children, (your family) to learn to continue to hate UMNO/BN. Multiply these numbers over time, soon UMNO/BN will slowly decay.

On their demise of UMNO/BN, Malaysia will be a peaceful and prosperous multiracial country
written by colorsinlife, March 06, 2009 11:04:04
I do not understand - the name and account is mentioned in the second sentence of this articel..

... I am listing my particulars hereinafter-

Pushpaneela V N Suppiah
Ambank (M) Berhad
Account No:0830020014817

Pls make sure you all fill up the account as promised ...
Walk the talk

written by rpremkumar2u, March 06, 2009 15:05:28
Pete, pls confirm, do we have your go ahead? Is that the account number as above?
written by jstom98, March 06, 2009 15:58:07
Dear Pushpa,
Yes We CAN ! Just put in something into your account. God Bless.