Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Kugan case: A-G to decide by end of the month

Kugan case: A-G to decide by end of the month PDF Print
Wednesday, 04 March 2009 18:20

(The Star) - The Attorney-General’s Chambers will decide by the end of the month whether there is sufficient evidence to charge police personnel over the death of car theft suspect A. Kugan after it has examined the two post-mortem reports.

Head of the chamber’s prosecution division Tun Majid Tun Hamzah said it would not be that long before a decision would be reached and it would be made public.

He said the chambers would have to study and compare the first and second reports before coming to a conclusion or decision.

“We have to make the comparisons (between the two reports) in order to come up with a proper and just decision.

“Hopefully, we will be able to do so by the end of the month,” he told reporters after accepting the second post-mortem report submitted by Kugan’s family through their lawyer N. Surendran on Wednesday.

The second post-mortem report, conducted by pathologist Dr Prashant N. Samberkar from the Universiti Malaya Medical Centre (UMCC), found that Kugan had died from being repeatedly beaten.

The 22-year-old was arrested on Jan 14 for suspected involvement in a car theft syndicate and was held at the USJ police station. He collapsed and died during interrogation on Jan 20.

The first post-mortem, conducted at the Serdang Hospital mortuary, stated the cause of death as being due to fluid in the lungs.

The second post-mortem, done at the request of Kugan’s family, found 42 marks, burns and contusions throughout the body. It declared that Kugan was beaten so badly that his muscle tissues broke down, made their way into the bloodstream and to his kidneys, causing them to fail.

Comments (51)Add Comment
written by kc kua, March 04, 2009 18:26:46
Let us have al the report and let the public compare themselves. I think the Rakyat will be sound more wisefull and professional than you all.
written by HeeHaw, March 04, 2009 18:28:43
I wouldn't bother to hold my breath. We all know what the outcome will be: nothing! So spare us the bullsyit, Mr AG, and go collect your fat paycheck.

written by sactyr, March 04, 2009 18:31:42
Why wait till the end of the month? So that you people can pack off all the murderers, accomplice etc??

The police who were directly responsibly for Kugan's death must be charged in court. Musa must offer a public apology for what his force did, and then he must resign. The doctor at Hospital Serdang must be charged for being an accomplice in murder. And all the those who have a hand in this murder must be charged as well.

But I know, as long as police gonna investigate one of their own, justice shall never prevail.
agree 127
written by Concerned_Citizen, March 04, 2009 18:32:16
Only blind man could not see the bruises and injuries that sustained by Kugan. Fluid in the lung? What type of fluid? It is acidic? Tocsin?

Just by seeing his physical injuries, a non-blind man could see that he was being treated by a non-human being. Only beasts do that and those beasts are wearing blue uniform.
written by Celestial, March 04, 2009 18:32:36
Why should there be any delay? The evidence is all there in black and white. A month ain't going to be enough to think up excuses especially when the AG department comprises morons disguised as lawyers. Total disgrace to the legal profession. Now I know why there are so many lawyer jokes.
written by Fuminari, March 04, 2009 18:37:18
why a month??are we not supposed to hav employed a professional?? why does he need a month??is he buying time???he is definitely buying himself some time!why??for what?to do what?this is a bigger question!!!!
written by MalayMail, March 04, 2009 18:43:48
WoW, in the 1st place, why only got outcry then only go for 2nd report? Police cover up? and now the 2nd report is ready and why need a month only can mae decision? Do they need another cryout or demo?
written by angkasawan bocor, March 04, 2009 18:44:21
No need for AG's decision! We all know what his decision will be!
written by CheGUvera, March 04, 2009 18:46:58
all serious cases are dealt with utmost slow train speed(hopping the rakyat will forget)eg.lingam 4 in it's 5th.yr, but when it comes to PKR cases it is dealt with within second and with the same expected verdict. This "Malaysia Boleh" gov. will easily get into record book of "boleh" for the speed it apply to decide all PKR actions as illegal,void,not valid..etc..Else BN's killing,robbing the rakyat,raping,etc..all is LEGAL.
written by agadam magadam, March 04, 2009 18:50:17
Hello Mr highly corrupted, scumbag AG... Make sure justice is done... This is a test case for you and the Barisan Goons.. WE, THE RAKYAT, will make sure of that.. Don't treat this case lightly...
B'cos, after justice is done to Kugan's Family, we're bringing out the others, one by one...- Francis' Udayappan, the 19 year old 'clean' guy from Klang who was shot dead in Nilai with 2 others, the latest 6 unarmed guys who were shot point blank in their skull in a house in KUlim... and many2 more..

We are also forwarding all reports in the media and blogs regarding Kugan, to the International media and HAF - Hindu American Force( a powerful Hindu Organisation in the USA) who has been in touch with Badawi as regards to HINDRAF..; till Kugan's case is solved and the 2 cops who murdered him be brought to Justice.. We need a face as well, of the murderers.................................. I will try and post their-HAF website here, later...
Fcuking Petai.l... Do this job right, this time..Sabahans are waiting to stone you..
written by boeytahan, March 04, 2009 18:50:50
Dear A-G,
In my own opinion, can I decide on your behalf? Kugan's case has been outdated. So my final decision is NFA and all those concerned not admissible for charges. Happy? NAH!
written by Kampong, March 04, 2009 18:51:45
Umm, decision after UMNO election..

But this is as predictable as the Altantuya case, where the murderers walk.
written by PASOK, March 04, 2009 19:07:51

How come it takes one month to decide whether this was murder?
Or does it take one month to arrange a cover up?

The AG and his rotten staff have no credibility.

Another institution corrupted beyond repair by UMNO.

written by biggun129, March 04, 2009 19:31:46
Its 'MURDER'!!!They killed Kugan!The world is watching the brutal acts!The God is watching!Will you cried to death if it happened your Children???
written by Urangsabah, March 04, 2009 19:42:17
Wah hv to wait to month end, but itu Perak sana kalu benefit untuk UMNO, faster the the speeding bullet...

Habis bukan UMNO, indapa lama lama turus NFA..............
written by malgal, March 04, 2009 19:46:12
The pathologist's report is out. Kugan was beaten to death. One month to verify this?
written by Lim Lim, March 04, 2009 19:54:15
kugan's case has reflected that hindraf has been some how right!!!
this boy has been murdered even before being proved guilty right infront of constitutionalized law!
does umno be end believe in the rule of law with the basic essentiality of the constitution in the first place???or they are merely treating them jus like pieces of hoodwinking sh.it??
does u,ur future generations n every malaysian deserve jus this n let umno ruining it??
rakyat,u make the judgement n the call!it is ur right.
written by fan73, March 04, 2009 19:55:12
seeing this don't you guys prefer Hudud and Qisas instead?
written by asiana888, March 04, 2009 20:17:47
Wow! Wait until end of month. Why so slow? Please go learn from MACC Head - straight away he can proclaim judgement!

What is there to compare? I suggest AG go compare both the doctors' qualification and experience. The first doctor who reported that Jugan died due to 'fluid in lungs' should be de-registered by MMA! Also please check whether the 'doktor' got pass STPM or not? What kind of 3rd rate doktor is that? He/She brought shame to the profession.

While Kugan may not be an angel, he is still a human being created by God and deserves some measure of dignity. You (BN goons) are murderers and licensed- gangsters. Don't you have any human conscience in you as Kugan screamed and screamed for mercy from the injuries you inflicted on him?????

May your GOD show you no mercy on your judgement day with Him! AG - you will also be called by GOD on judgement day and account for this matter. So how la? Takut BN or GOD?

written by red1, March 04, 2009 20:22:11
Stinks to High Heaven
written by Lis LQ, March 04, 2009 20:38:42
OH MY GOD!!!! What evidence do you all want,the second report is all BLACK & WHITE,and why wait till the end of the month to decide??? What is the motive behind the waitings??? I hope you all will meet such death in future,and may the Soul of Kugan haunt you all till you all go crazy...swine!!!!
RIP Kugan,and please haunt those responsible for your sufferings.
written by Shiva, March 04, 2009 21:00:44
STATE CPO AND NATIONAL CPO - NEED TO RESIGN -TO SHOW THE ACCOUNTABILITY
written by smalluncle, March 04, 2009 21:17:57
Aiyoh. With all the evidence, still need up to month end to decide? (to negotiate, is it?)

When RPK / DSAI involve, it was decided "Yesterday"!
written by KARMANNGHIA, March 04, 2009 21:27:25
AG, your exceptional speed in prosecuting the opposition politicians, bloggers is exceptional.

here we have a young feller beaten to death and you need 1 month to decide if you should prosecute the 11 executioners?

No wonder the rakyats says you are BIAS.

written by kooler, March 04, 2009 21:29:02
Waiting for another alleged murderer to be PM before AG decides. The justice system in this country sick. We hold our heads in shame before the world. As in John Donne's words " The bells toll for thee"
written by MAGELLAN, March 04, 2009 21:53:11
The AG will say NFA and close the case. They will classify it as self inflicted injuries, as what had happened to DSAI.

I pray to God for reform in Malaysia to happen and fast!!! Otherwise, our future generations will have no more future!
written by patlu, March 04, 2009 21:53:13

Lets do our part to stop police brutality and deaths in custody. Email everyone this campaign page.

written by ganbing, March 04, 2009 22:24:21
Why need to wait 1 month. Simple. The AG wants the anger to subside first, then declare NFA!

He can take a tack from the EC. Here we have 2 reports, one say he died of natural causes, the other says he was beaten to death. Since we cannot decide which report is correct, we decided on No Further Action.
written by peter, March 04, 2009 22:24:29
The brutal murder happened in a police station and they need months to investigate. It did not happen in some jungle in Puncak Alam. The Polis Raja di Malaysia (PDRM) have all the records and know who were the murderers so what this lengthy investigation.

They will drag their feet in matters like this but take immediate action when it concerns any member of the opposition party.

What is there to compare? The doctor who did the first autopsy should be charged for collaborating with the pariah dogs in blue (fed by the nazi party - umNO) to hide evidence. He should never be allowed to practice medicine again.

This country is so corrupted. If Kugan's case happened in other countries the government of the day would have been brought down to its knees. Look what happen in in Greece where police shooting sparks the Greece riots.
written by Experienced, March 05, 2009 00:01:27
Waiting for new PM ke?
written by ez24get, March 05, 2009 00:03:58
For a start, the first pathologist at Serdang Hospital should be probed for professional negligence!

If he had done it in Kugan's case, God knows how many cases he had been negligent or acting in cahoot with the police in closing cases similar to this! He should be probed to find out whether anybody has requested to "close one eye" on the post mortem. If not, this not going to be the first and the last case!

He cannot be working in Serdang Hospital after the 2nd pathologist report has revealed the gross negligence on the 1st examiner's part! He should either resign or be unceremoniously sacked!

The Ministry of Health should investigate and come out with a statement how this could have happened!
written by Fuminari, March 05, 2009 00:06:03
what's next for the 1st dude that falsified the report??
what's next for those 11 subhuman butchers??
what's next for the PDRm beast musa n the cpo???
what's next should happen to the most notorious s.o.bi.tch sh.it botak???
what's next going to happen after this moron AG patahi buying himself in a month's time???
barisan najis is sick,very sick!!!
written by aykf9439, March 05, 2009 00:16:04
F U la , those at the AG Chambers .........

WTF now , buying time to give some stupid excuses or maybe to declare it as " No Further actions " better i supposed ????????

Close Case !!!!
written by raven1958, March 05, 2009 00:16:29
Prof Dr Abdul Karim Tajuddin of University Pertanian Malaysia who did the first post mortem cannot be faulted......he is a veterinary pathologist

Meaning he may be medical doctor ..but since he is at UPM he has mainly been doing post mortems on goats, horses, and cows...it is possible he mistook Kugan for a cow....honest mistake. MOH....is this how low your standards are at Ministry Hospitals...
written by cruzeiro, March 05, 2009 00:20:00
We need one month ...

Maybe, by then we will have an explosive leadership.
Maybe by then we can start a different bushfire.
Maybe by then, we can distract the public.
Maybe by then, Mr. "Melayu mudah Lupa" will be back in force.
Maybe by then, we will have an emergency.....
Maybe by then too many will be dead to focus on this?

Just maybe ....
written by Daryl, March 05, 2009 00:22:20
I understand that this need to take a little longer to digest because it is a murder case and we need to find the actual culprit or culprits. However, as usual the outcome is what I am concerned about because most likely it will be NFA and embarrass again with our inability to solve crimes concerning police brutality. Sad but that is the fact and will only get worst after April 1st.
written by Joe, March 05, 2009 00:23:41
Its obvious this is an academic exercise.

But to all you people breying for blood, please note that it is not outside of the boundries of the police to set up other officers to take the fall for them.
Yes the go to jail, but their families are taken care of, they are given food 3 times a day, good treatment, because they are police officers behind bars, they might be given extra care to be protected from other inmates...

All this can happen behind bars, and none of us will be wiser. They wont go punished. They will go secured.

With good behavior (this is granted regardless) they come out quietly and disappear with their money after 10 yrs. By which time all would have forgotten Kugan.

This is just an academic exercise, thats all.
written by Joe, March 05, 2009 00:26:57
Would also be interesting to see how they just keep a blind eye to the first post mortem, and see that nothing happens to PROf Dr ABdul Karim Tajuddin.
written by Wakeupmsia, March 05, 2009 00:38:02
Well, ag, why do you need to take so long?
We know, we know - Insufficient evidence, SO NFA! 2nd post mortem by UUMC irrelevant.

BTW, you're already tainted by misdeeds as mentioned and pursued by RPK. AG, may God have mercy on your soul.
written by Hanif07, March 05, 2009 01:31:44
Prof Dr Abdul Karim Tajuddin of University Pertanian Malaysia ...go to mental hospital Tg Rambutan laa better...IDIOT !!!
written by SamYap, March 05, 2009 01:42:48
This is whats happening...there is a lot of horse trading going on between the AG and the PDRM. There are 11 PDRM personnel directly involved, not including the CPO. The AG has demanded that someone must be held accountable for Kugan's death, not least because it is high profile, but a lot is at stake for UMNO, what with the 3 by-elections coming up and public pressure.

The deal is like this: A minimum of 2 persons will be charged for manslaughter. The AG wants 3 but the PDRM is resisting because it is costly to pay off 3 families of the selected personnel who will be taking the fall.

At the moment, there are 3 parallel activities. One is the horse trading between the AG and the PDRM including the fabrication of oral evidence to support the charge of grevious hurt and manslaughter. The second activity is the horse trading amongst the 11 personnel involved and the senior police administration with the exception of the IGP who will be kept informed and will only act on an exception basis, example if the AG continues to demand 3 culprits instead of 2. The third activity is collection of funds by the CID personnel to pay off the families of the 2 or 3 personnle who will be "volunteered" to take the blame.

Where do they find these funds? Easy. The CID officers will be dispatched to visit their "usual suspects" operating illegal gambling parlours, prostitution dens, massage parlours, illegal bookies, fences, and so on. It would take them probably about 2 months to raise 2 or 3 million RM and most of it are considered advance payments. Some of the 2 or 3 millions will not reach the "volunteers" as the officers will pocket some for contingency.

The charge will be causing grevious hurt and manslaughter i.e.culpable homicide not amounting to murder.

The case will be whizzed through and the "volunteers" will be found guilty as charged. Part of the money will be paid to the families before the names of the "volunteers" are made public. The rest will be paid to the families when the sentence is passed.

The rest of the police officers will be found negligent and the PDRM will take the blame. These officers will be demoted and some may be required to resign. This to satisfy the public who are demanding for justice. The contingency money kept by the senior officers will then be paid to these officers as compensation.

IF the Kugan case had not been given so much publicity and IF it had been during a time when Hindraf did not exist, UMNO is not in trouble, then Kugan's fmaily would have been compensated as well. Now its much too late for the PDRM to do that, to secure their silence over this murder.

If Kugan's family is lucky, the court may suggest in passing, obiter dicta, that perhaps Kugan's family might wish to seek financial redress by way of civil suit against the PDRM in tort. That would clear the way for the PDRM to enter into an out of court settlement.

Thats the way it is and has been for years.
written by ChiaCY, March 05, 2009 01:57:15
A human's life will take months to proove, and months to decide whether is he died naturally or being murdered. But when it comes to the cattle issue, it is blindingly fast. Rest in peace Kugan, we make sure this time they will not escape
written by Areyaar, March 05, 2009 02:26:16
You mean it is going to take till the end of the month to decide? Who are they kidding? Why do they want a whole month to sift through the glaring evidence of brutality?

Again we have a case of the people being expected to swallow a load of BS.
written by DOITNOW, March 05, 2009 06:58:22
this is disgraceful. Now that the true facts are out, we expect appropriate actions.
the first post mortem report should be made public. We want to know how the first pathologist can come to so different a conclusion and whether there was a malpractive and collusion with the police if so, then the doctor should be charged, tried and disbarred. if found guilty, he is a disgrace to his profession, to himself and his family. A report should be made to the MMC for this alarming discrepancy so that they will conduct their own investigations. When will all these shennigans stop???
written by evaangel, March 05, 2009 07:45:57
Don't be so hard on the A-G. This is a very complex case and it is hard to conclude who inflicted the wounds on the victim while he was in custody by the police. Obviously anyone could have gotten to him while he was in jail for e.g:
a) the X-men mutant that can walk through walls
b) any amount of malevolent ghosts of people who have died in the cells before him wielding hot irons
c) Batman
d) Wong Fei Hung
e) Giant Spagetti Monster

Hence they need to explore all avenues completely.

p.s: for all of you who are about to hit disagree I'm being sarcastic btw.
written by wood, March 05, 2009 08:40:23
Maybe wait one month to look for a third pathologist to do a third post mortem to support the results of the first pathologist? Anything possible in Malaysia Bolehland!
written by Bloodhound, March 05, 2009 08:58:42

When the police lies through their teeth and the institutions prompty but illegally covers-up lies to protect their own interests, there is then, a breakdown in law and order and the public has every right to question the police actions, activities, inactivities, and/or lack of actions or lack of logic in their actions.

When the police forces compromised their independence and blatantly uses their resources to threaten the people at the whim and fancies off certain parties, the police can then no longer be the security forces for the people. They have become legalised gangsters for interested parties unleashing their misguided authority against the people, suppressing their legal rights as citizens of the nation.

The breakdown of law and order always starts with the directives or lack of action/commitments from the top echleon of the nation. When the public starts questioning the validity of illogical actions of the police forces, and/or politicians, the trust in the institutions of the country will begin to erode.

As can be observed, the erosion of trust in the police/security forces has already started with.......read on...... http://sjsandteam.*********.co...y-father/.

Next would be the judiciary with judgements that bears no resemblances of rules of law or dictates of certainties. When rules of law changes to suit certain parties, the faith in such institutions will forever be tainted.

We were once a nation which stood tall and proud amongst nations on the principles of democracy....... until....an opportunist came along and cast our rights and freedom into the high seas and now we are laden with the wreckages of the law of the jungle!

When the pillars of democracy fell in a state, we have a failed state. When the pillars of the nation crumbles, we will then have a failed nation. Are the politicians so blind that they will not see? ....or is it that they are too busy being greedy that they can't see or they do not care?

Does it always have to be self interest first?? We need to put the nation's interest first if we do not want our nation to fall within the shadows of a failed nation.

The nation awaits while the politicians plays!

written by Bloodhound, March 05, 2009 09:01:04
Cont'd....

Read on....

http://sjsandteam.*********.com/2009/03/05/to-johor-police-chief-who-killed-my-father/
written by ROBERTNGTG, March 05, 2009 09:07:14
Kugan case: A-G to decide by end of the month

AND THE VERDICT: THESE WOUNDS WERE SELF INFLICTED TO FRAME THE POOR
HONEST AND HUMANE COPS. CASE DISMISSED.
written by astina, March 05, 2009 09:24:28
I really hope his family will also sue our all the relevant people and department concerned !!!
written by cllim123, March 05, 2009 18:26:48
The police personnel should be arrested by now. This is a murder case. Why wait one month to decide? Are they buying time to spin more stories like the Dr Norzi bullshit they tried to shove down our throats? By now I am sure some are already on holiday to unknown destinations. Faced with murder rap, you think they would be happily and dutifully attending to their desk jobs? Run to Zimbabwe or anywhere man! Why wait to be arrested and hanged later?