Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Let the truth be told

Let the truth be told PDF Print
Wednesday, 04 March 2009 11:19

Tomorrow, Malaysia Today will reveal the truth behind the Altantuya Shaaribuu murder. How and why was she killed and were Azilah and Sirul hired to kill her, and by whom? Today, we shall recap on what Supt Gan Tack Guan, the Investigating Officer in the Altantuya murder, has thus far told, and refuses to tell, the court during my sedition trial.

Raja Petra Sedition trial: 'It was not C4'
By M. MAGESWARI, The Star

The explosive used to blow up Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu was not C4, a Petaling Jaya Sessions Court heard on Thursday. Chief investigator in the Altantuya murder case, Supt Gan Tack Guan, 49, who is a complainant in the ongoing Raja Petra Raja Kamarudin sedition trial, said this when grilled by the defence team on his findings over the Mongolian murder.

Defence counsel Gobind Singh Deo said he needed to ask Supt Gan about Altantuya’s murder as it was related to the substance of the sedition charge against his client. Asked how Altantuya was murdered, Supt Gan said, “If I am not wrong, one kind of plasticine explosive was used to blow up her body at an empty place at Puncak Alam.”

“It was not C4 (a type of explosive),” Supt Gan, who is Interpol’s National Centre Bureau assistant director based at Bukit Aman, told the packed courtroom.

Questioned further by Gobind Singh, Supt Gan said he did not know how the explosive was placed on the woman’s body before it was detonated. “I was together with (another investigating officer) Asst Supt Tonny (Lunggan)," he said, prompting Gobind Singh to retort that “you are a useless investigating officer”.

It caused lead prosecutor DPP Ishak Mohd Yusof to interject that the lawyer should not humiliate their witness. Upon hearing this, Sessions Court judge Rozina Ayob said that her court should not be used to attack or criticise anyone.

Gobind Singh then asked Supt Gan if Altantuya was still alive when the explosive substance was placed on her body, to which the fifth witness said he did not know.

At this juncture, DPP Ishak said he wanted confirmation from the court over the line of questioning by the lawyer saying that several witnesses, including bomb expert, had called to testify in the murder trial. He said the prosecution was concerned as the Shah Alam High Court was set to deliver its decision on Altantuya murder trial on Oct 31.

“It is our concern that such questions, if allowed, would be subjudice for the murder trial,” said the prosecutor on the fourth day trial yesterday. DPP Ishak said the defence should concentrate on finding out if the article posted online was seditious or not and not if Altantuya was blasted or strangled.

Gobind Singh said he needed to query Supt Gan for his client’s defence as this witness had lodged a police report over the alleged seditious article. “How to do that if we cannot ask question. Then withdraw the charge against Raja Petra and let the Shah Alam High Court decide the murder trial, maybe it will be favourable to us,” he contended. Gobind Singh said he needed to establish the basic point that the murder has angered Malaysians who have expressed their opinions and views on the case.

Lawyer J. Chandra said further that it was crucial for the court to note that the first information report was made by Supt Gan after he (witness) read the alleged article online, analysed its content and found that part of the article had been "concocted". “This (police) report was made on April 30 when the Altantuya trial was still going on in Shah Alam,” he said.

Chandra contended that Section 3(2) (b) of the Sedition Act gave the defence the right to say that “the publication shall not be deemed to be seditious by reason only that it has a tendency to point out errors in the administration of justice,” he said.

The judge then said she would make a ruling on the line of questioning related to Altantuya trial on Monday.

Earlier, the defence team also questioned the prosecution about an appendix to the sedition charge saying that it was not similar to the actual seditious article posted online. Gobind Singh said the article did not have the alleged heading of "Let’s send the Altantuya murderers to Hell".

Chandra said the attached content of the article in the charge sheet was actually a product of re-typing and the photograph of Raja Petra was “cut and paste” in the appendix.

DPP Ishak said he needed time to “observe and consider the charge”.

The judge set Monday for continuation of the hearing.

At the outset of hearing yesterday, Supt Gan told DPP Ishak that he had read the seditious article twice on April 30. He said he lodged a police report over the article upon finding that several issues raised in the article were untrue and concocted. He said he lodged another police report after detecting a mistake about the date the article was posted online.

Supt Gan said he was later called by investigating officer DSP Mahfuz Abdul Majid to record his statement to assist in the investigation over his police reports. He said DSP Mahfuz also printed a copy of the seditious article where he (Supt Gan) later highlighted four aspects which he felt were untrue.

He confirmed that the article was posted by Raja Petra on April 25 based on the date that appeared in the posting. Questioned by Gobind Singh, he agreed that he did not look at the truth of the whole article as a complainant of the case. (9 October 2008)

Defence argues Najib at the heart of RPK sedition trial
By Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

The sedition trial of prominent anti-establishment blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin continued today at the Sessions Court here amid much drama — with the Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s name often cropping up.

In his cross-examination of a key prosecution witness, defence lawyer Gobind Singh Deo, tried to establish that the sedition charge against the Malaysia Today editor was “politically motivated”, as he told reporters outside the courtroom later.

The cross-examination of Superintendant Gan Tack Guan lasted over three hours.

During that time, Gobind shot question after question over Gan’s failure, as the police officer who lodged the report against Raja Petra, to record the DPM’s statements despite being named in Raja Petra’s allegedly seditious article published in his website on April 25 last year.

Raja Petra — popularly known by his initials RPK — was charged with sedition last May for allegedly implying Najib was involved in the sensational murder of a Mongolian woman in an online article titled “Let’s Send the Altantuya Murderers To Hell”. If convicted, he faces up to three years in prison or a fine not more than RM5,000 or both.

“Did you, at any point of time during the investigation of the Altantuya case, question Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak?” Gobind questioned while referencing Raja Petra’s article.

“No,” Gan replied.

“If you did not investigate Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, how do you know the content of the paragraph is untrue?” Gobind pressed.

“I got to know the facts from the investigating officer ASP Tonny Lunggan,” Gan answered, looking uncomfortable.

Assistant Superintendent Tonny Lunggan was the investigating police officer who headed the probe into the gruesome death of Mongolian model, Altantuya Shaaribuu, whose blown-up remains were discovered in a jungle clearing in Shah Alam near here close to three years ago.

Raja Petra, who is out on bail, attended today’s trial with his wife Marina Lee Abdullah and several supporters dressed in black “I Am With RPK” t-shirts.

He appeared amused at the interrogation tactics employed by Gobind and the resulting agitation showed by Gan, frequently turning around to smile at the public from his seat in the dock.

The trial will resume with Gan’s cross-examination on Thursday. (10 February 2009)

Raja Petra’s lawyer grills cop over Razak’s link in murder case
The Star

The lawyer for Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Raja Kamarudin continued grilling a senior police officer in an attempt to link political analyst Abdul Razak Baginda to the murder of Mongolian Altantuya Shaariibuu.

Replying to Gobind Singh Deo, the police officer, Supt Gan Tack Guan, 50, however, maintained that throughout their investigation, police had only suspected Razak of abetting two policemen in killing Altantuya.

As Gobind Singh repeatedly queried Supt Gan in Raja Petra’s sedition trial in the Sessions Court here yesterday over Razak’s role and the meaning of abetment, the witness gave the same reply or said he did not know how to answer the question. This resulted in Gobind Singh asking him if he had read the definition of abetment under Section 107 of the Penal Code.

Supt Gan immediately asked the lawyer to refer to the law book, and then read out the definition that abetment means “engaging or instigating another person to do a thing”.

Supt Gan, who is Interpol’s National Centre Bureau assistant director based at Bukit Aman, then said: “If instigate means abetment under the law, I agree (to a question that Razak had instigated both policemen to kill Altantuya).”

When questioned by Gobind Singh on how Razak instigated the policemen, Supt Gan, who was chief investigator in the Altantuya murder case, said he did not know.

Questioned by Judge Rozina Ayob, Supt Gan said he could not understand and did not know how to reply to Gobind Singh’s question.

Asked further by Gobind Singh, Supt Gan, who is a complainant in the Raja Petra sedition trial, said he had not investigated abetment cases before.

“This (the abetment case against Razak) was the first,” he said. (Razak was acquitted of abetment in Altantuya’s murder on Oct 31. Two Special Action Force (UTK) operatives, C/Insp Azilah Hadri and Kpl Sirul Azhar Umar, who were charged with murder, have been ordered to enter their defence.)

Raja Petra, 59, had on May 6 last year claimed trial to publishing the article Let’s send the Altantuya murderers to hell on the www.malaysia-today.net website. The article is alleged to have contained nine paragraphs of seditious words.

Supt Gan denied that his investigations found that Razak had paid the two policemen to assassinate Altantuya. He disagreed that he deliberately concealed material evidence in the trial.

The hearing will continue on April 23. (13 February 2009)

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by mountain man, March 04, 2009 11:35:01
Can NAJIS sleep tonight, the stake is getting higher and so is the risk? RPK we pray for you and hope good sense from those still in power will prevail and prevent our nation from appointing a criminal as PM.
agree 316
written by OVERLORD, March 04, 2009 11:39:40

Sounds like you are going to stare down the barrel of the "GAN" again...This kamikaze act is bordeline between utter madness and bravery.......If only I have the" balls" dto do so like you....Be careful RPK......We will continue to support you.......Godspeed....
agree 193
written by chanatak, March 04, 2009 11:43:58
The courts of malaysia, together with the monarchy has already shown that they are not there to serve the people, but to serve the political master of the day.

With this total loss of sense of decency, we can be assured that the guilty will be released with ingenious excuses.
agree 143
written by justice, March 04, 2009 11:47:43
agree 234
written by eagle22, March 04, 2009 11:49:46
C4 ... explosives... or none C4... lebih kurang lah... all same what... explode.. BOOOMMM !!!!!!.... like indo mee.. maggie mee.. cintan mee... different names .. still same... stomach filling when eat..
written by michael chick, March 04, 2009 11:53:29
written by malsia1206, March 04, 2009 11:55:40
Wow! Even before the dust has settled at the Tree's Assembly meeting the drama on Altantuya's murder begins to unfold. Bits and pieces the Barisan machine must surely be stripped, demolished and cast into the scrap yard. Change we can, change we must.
written by cheekymate, March 04, 2009 11:58:14
Dearest Pete,

You are going for broke, my friend. Please take extreme care always. You are dealing with ruthless murderers who will stop at nothing to stop the truth from being exposed. May Allah walk with you in your fight for liberation of the truth!
agree 141
written by cahaya, March 04, 2009 12:00:58
Last night, Anwar told a crowd in Seremban that some Malaysians are wondering why the police have not investigated "who was Altantuya's ex boyfriend?".
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P-xxF0EvdZk

Anwar did not have the answer, but some in the crowd thought they knew. We wait for the Truth revealed tomorrow! At last, we will know How and why was she killed and were Azilah and Sirul hired to kill her, and by whom?
written by Rundukon, March 04, 2009 12:03:57
Isnt it only logical that Mr Najib be subpeoned to testify in court as to whether RPK has indeed been concoting stories?
written by temenggong, March 04, 2009 12:05:05
Since we have somewhat of a stalemate in the courts, it's best more disclosure is made of the conspiracy behind the murder of Altantuya!
written by ibabonma, March 04, 2009 12:09:12
“It was not C4 (a type of explosive),” Supt Gan,

To prove a point that plasticine explosive can be bought above the counter or smuggled from a quarry operator that uses them for rock blasting and that, C4 was not from the Ministry of Defence of which Najis was the Minister and in-charge.

Ini tipu punya polis.
written by jayenjr, March 04, 2009 12:09:44
Malaysian Quote of The Year:-

“you are a useless investigating officer”
-------------------------------------------------------

High 5 to you Mr Gobind.

agree 150
written by OVERLORD, March 04, 2009 12:34:58
justice,

Love your pics... However I must disagree on the $100 million award...I know many people out there who are willing to contribute information leading to the prosecution of Najib for free!!!!....Cheers!
written by biggun129, March 04, 2009 12:39:38
In our country, when someone reviewed the truth, then someone will 'Cover up' the truth,it is not easy to let the truth be the truth,and all the time it will be "it aint over til its over",may be Tomorrow 'The truth'will come up, and its possible it will be 'Cover up', its a game of 'Hide and Seek', the Malaysian get very frustrated for all this kind of on going roll over and over again, the question is, when can we settled it once and for all? Without the Power of People, without the Struggle of all the People of our country, I presume it will end no where, most probably, in due course, all will forget about what ever things happend previously, and throw into the South China Sea!Malaysian must Unite to have the 'Change',unless we are determined to 'Change',if not nothing will 'Change', and its back to square!!!
written by evaangel, March 04, 2009 12:56:10
Damnit now Duran Duran's Please Please tell me Now is stuck in my head and won't go away!
Keep safe dear RPK - we wait in anticipation for tomorrow.
written by SamYap, March 04, 2009 12:56:31
We await with baited breath for the TRUTH. I also hope that the "truth" will be backed up some evidence. In some cases, evidence would have to be adduced during trial, but the truth can be presented in a manner where the readers can come to a firm conclusion that even if no solid evidence is presented, such truth as it may be would be produced under oath. I am hopeful that the truth be told as the rakyat has very high stakes. IF the PM-to-be is indeed an accessory to murder, then our country is doomed, if he ascends to the position. The future PM would be totally exposed. One does not need to be a graduate in political science to realize that IF another country has some evidence of the murder and is prepared to use it by asserting influence over the PM, our country would in effect be controlled by a foreign power. And our country has a lot to offer in terms of resources, wherein another resource hungry country would wish to have. When faced with the choice of his life and working with a foreign power, its a no brainer that the PM will submit to the foreign power just to save his own life.

And if you think that is a far fetched scenario, then try this: if any evidence falls into the hands of some UMNO warlord, God forbid that it would, the warlord would have a freehand to plunder and rape the country.

Its not merely about bringing a man to justice, its about saving our nation which means saving ourselves. Truly, its not a time to think "Ketuanan Melayu", "Cina dan India Pendatang Asing" and all that bloody rubbish. Its time that the rakyat rally together to save the country.

Thats why, though Superadmin didn't quite see the spirit of my comment in another article, I am rather worried that the TRUTH might not emerge after all. The truth, in whatever shape or form, must materialize otherwise we'd all be goners. And that is something no reader here can do - to reveal the evidence or truth - we have to depend on RPK to do it. I hope and pray for our country's and RPK's sake that the truth will set us free.

And don't say I am whining or moaning, that I must do something because when it comes to this matter, no one here can do anything, except RPK.
written by Prem, March 04, 2009 13:03:30
Don't hold your breath! Justice is only a word in the dictionary of our Malaysian Judiciary system,which has no meaning as far as our 'honorable'Judges are concerned. RPK and his family should not have had their home "invaded" by BT. Aman jokers, if justice is present.Charging him, without investigating whether there is any truth, in the material written, is the criteria of any honest investigating officer,but unfortunately, you have to agree that they behaved like 'trained....' obeying blindly,their master. I am amazed how devoted our JUDICIAL system, PDRM,MACC,Army are to their UMNO MASTER.
written by pinsysu, March 04, 2009 13:12:44
does that mean tonite najis and roastmah will have a 'peaceful' sleepless nite? all the Malaysians and Mongolians need to know the truth. waiting for tomoro ...
written by Wudan, March 04, 2009 13:17:23
There is a 'Director's Cut' of the 'Russian Roulete' scene in the movie, Deer Hunter, where Robert De Niro requested 3 bullets to be loaded into the pistol chamber and he walked away with 'Nikky' at the end of the movie.

Take care RPK and may you and your family be under Allah's protection always.
written by wongnoball, March 04, 2009 13:19:25
Najis must be Shitting and Fat Rosmah Botox "Panic and Pening"...like Zambry.

apparently a bird told me that Botox Ros gave Zambry an earful for not being able to handle the Fiasco well and may consider using that Racist Othman Adun to replace him as next Perak MB. BotoxRos also had to change her mobile because so many people were sending her SMS "I Divorce you " millions of time...

A reliable source said BotoxRos Shouted at Zambry, like she did to Sultan of Selangor, just like Taib did to Zakaria Mat Deros. Lets hope Zambry have "Panic, Pening and Heart attack"!!

One can say UMNO-BN Perak is DEMORALISED.....all looks so Bodoh and seeing their millions down the drain
written by ultraman, March 04, 2009 13:32:47
Kasihan this Gan fella!! Dou you think he cares to complaint against RPK on his own??? Think!!!
Yes, Gobind Singh did a very good job! Grill him till he shit bricks. If possible, get Najib to testify and let us see his answers!!!
written by Counterpointer, March 04, 2009 13:36:16
Okay,Okay,Okay, I think I got it!

I suspect Mrs. RosBotox with the C4 Explosives in Puncak Alam

Can we check the CONFIDENTIAL envelope please?

written by Long Man, March 04, 2009 13:36:37
Hope that whoever responsible to Altantuya's death, will commit suicide tonight...

You've got our prayer... God Bless You...
written by SCM, March 04, 2009 14:59:20
Supt Gan said: “I agree to a question that Razak had instigated both policemen to kill Altantuya.” So why is this brutal murderer allowed to roam the streets freely? Shouldn't the police secure the nation by putting this murderer in jail immediately?

Oi Najis, why do you allow your "partner-in-crime" to roam our streets freely?
written by Vera, March 04, 2009 15:29:12
Good job Mr Gobind Singh! You possess the same mark of a statesman like your much respected father Mr Karpal Singh! Grill that Supt Gan until he spills the beans as the rakyat are more interested in knowing the truth.

If Supt Gan lodged the polis report against RPK for sedition using his own initiative, then he should be able to confidently reply all questions posed to him without resorting to " I don't know " or "I do not know how to answer the question."
written by KARMANNGHIA, March 04, 2009 16:28:10
Interpol, is this your best fler in Malaysia?

written by imanj, March 04, 2009 16:47:00
ETHICS :

"Man is by nature timid..when evil befalls him,he panics,but when good things come to him he prevents them from reaching others."
This pettiness causes individuals to become so submerged in nature that they lose sight of its CREATOR - only when nature fails them do they,in their frustration,turn to GOD.Because of their shortsightness,people fear that charity and sacrificing for others will result in their own impoverishment
written by Rundukon, March 04, 2009 16:53:45
Yeah Let The Truth Be Told. Subpeoned Najis to court!
written by deathorses, March 04, 2009 18:32:05
god bless you RPK
written by malgal, March 04, 2009 19:15:57
God bless Pete, may His Hand be on you and your family.
Truth has a way of wriggling free of the tangles evil has wrought.
written by Blackgiring, March 04, 2009 19:27:29
RPK....I will only believe when I see the pig flys....
written by MalayMail, March 04, 2009 19:48:27
No wonder so many people in the market are saying that Najib won't be the next PM! Even if let him be PM, he will be shorter than PakLah! There is a saying "Paper can't cover fire too long!"
written by Mama Juwie, March 04, 2009 19:55:17
NAJIB
Need A Job, Indian Bomoh?

ROSMAH
Ratu Of Sandiwara, Monstrous After Handover

PAK LAH
Preparing Another Kite-flying Leisure After Handover

KHAIRY
Kiss His Ass If Racist & Youthful

ALBAR
Another Low Blowing Annoying Racist

NAZRI
Nagging A$$h0le Zero Rating IQ

ZAMBRY
Zimbabwe Aspired Menteri Besar Royal Yes-man

written by chaiksyn, March 04, 2009 20:47:54
wow..this explosives and very YUMMY..... smilies/tongue.gif
written by Semut Jantan, March 04, 2009 21:16:45
Did that "useless" investigator take an oath "to tell the truth, nothing but the truth"?

Then he has committed yet another offence.

Dear Mr. Gan, why do you stoop so low? How much is your soul worth? Please keep searching; I hope you would find a price tag -- it includes you and your posterity's eternal peace of mind. Nature will come back to haunt you in mysterious ways.

Learn from others who have gone before you. It is not worth it, my dear son.
written by kywl1981, March 05, 2009 00:15:15
RPK, i hope that the truth you will be revealing tomorrow, is the truth and nothing but the only truth...and definitely must be supported by evidence, otherwise, some people will assume that you cook up the story and it's no different than the saiful backside's case... it will be like a case of pot calling the kettle black...

i hope later on you won't say that you cannot reveal your sources and you'd rather go to jail...if you decide to tell the truth... then please reveal everything including the evidence, then we will believe you...

you have my utmost respect, seems like you're really going all the way...kinda do or die thingie huh? good luck!
written by Caesar, March 05, 2009 00:34:55
That this fella is Malaysia's Interpol pointman points to the scarcity of 'capable' persons in the PDRM.
written by raven1958, March 05, 2009 00:55:05
Altantunya WAS pregnant….by Baginda, Najib or others…..there is no perfect crime…..it never was…..it has been messy from Day One. The Malaysian public, castrated as they are, will only grumble in private…..but perhaps the world community can fix this…
written by mendela, March 05, 2009 02:02:19
WOW!

http://sloone.*********.com/2009/03/04/french-newspaper-reveals-identity-of-altantuyas-alleged-assassins/
written by flyer168, March 05, 2009 08:59:53

Desperate People, at Desperate Times, will RESORT to Desperate Henious Actions even if it means “Destroying” their “Honourable Family Legacy”, their own “MALAY MUSLIM HADHARI” party “UMNO” beyond “Redemption”, their Own Kind, this country & its Many People!

Remember “What goes round, will come round to these Desperate UMNO Ketetuanan Beggars” - Past, Present & Future.

Do keep up your “Prayers” to God Almighty in your own way for “Sanity, Human Rights, Justice, Freedom, Equality & Peace to “Prevail” over “EVIL”

You & your great League of Brilliant Defence lawyers have researched & done your "Best" against the "Opressors", so let us all pray & let Allah do the rest.

I am confident that through "Devine Intervention", the "Opressors" will "FAIL" & Allah will ensure "Justice" will be done.

Allah's anointed "Defenders of Truth, Justice, Freedom & Equality" will prevail, Insha'Allah.

The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.
- Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

We must accept finite disappointment, but must never lose infinite hope.

For all RPK's supporters :

True peace is not merely the absence of tension, it is the presence of justice.

We know through painful experience that freedom is never voluntarily given by the oppressor; it must be demanded by the oppressed.

John Quincy Adams:

“Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.”

…..AND MIRACLES APPEAR !

May Allah bless, protect & guide you, Marina & family.

written by BimBang, March 05, 2009 16:57:04
Abdulah will retain the PM by bringing down Najis as what happen to Mahathir bring down Annuar.

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif