Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Khir Toyo chastised for being ignorant of tax laws

Khir Toyo chastised for being ignorant of tax laws PDF Print
Wednesday, 04 March 2009 11:14

By Neville Spykerman (The Malaysian Insider)

The Selangor government took another swipe today at Datuk Seri Dr Mohd Khir Toyo for his apparent “ignorance of law" in relation to the non declaration of benefits he received from Permodalan Negeri Selangor Berhad (PNSB).

Last week, the state disclosed that the state investment arm had never declared ‘benefits in kind’ including cars, holidays and gifts, provide for staff, to the Internal Revenue Board (IRB).

As the former chairman of PNSB, Dr Mohd Khir was provided with a Toyota Harrier and driver by the state subsidiary.

The former mentri besar, in an interview with Berita Harian last Friday, said the matter (non-declaration) was ‘a standard procedure’.

“If I paid tax on the car it would mean a double payment to the IRB because PNSB was also paying tax for it.”

Today, the political secretary of the Selangor mentri besar Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad attacked Dr Mohd Khir for his ignorance.

“His statement shows his shallow understanding, as the former mentri besar, in administrating the state government and subsidiaries.”

Nik said officials from the IRB had confirmed yesterday that all ‘benefits in kind’ received must be declared in the EA forms and there are no exceptions, even for senior staff of PNSB.

“Does Dr Mohd Khir even know the meaning of ‘benefits in kind’?

“If he doesn’t it’s very shameful, since he was mentri besar for two terms, or he could just be trying to avoid taking responsibility for the offence.” said Nik Nazmi.

He added Selangor was still evaluating all state subsidiaries to ensure they are transparent and responsible.

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by mountain man, March 04, 2009 11:27:15
This RACIST guy should be banished from politics forever, with guys like him around Malaysia will have no peace, very soon he will take over the post of Ketua Samseng in UMNO following footsteps of Kerisham who started the Samseng culture in UMNO and hence the commotions at Parliament house over Karpal.
written by OVERLORD, March 04, 2009 11:28:55
“If I paid tax on the car it would mean a double payment to the IRB because PNSB was also paying tax for it.”
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Toyol, is that why you swiftly returned the expensive watch?? I wonder what you would call wtihdrawing money from a charity group... No wonder the Selangor's finances during his reign was in shambles....
written by murali, March 04, 2009 11:36:18
What you expect from a moron... and he was a MB for a state for 2 terms.. what a disgrace to some of the truly honest politicians, especially those from PR.
written by spinderin, March 04, 2009 11:39:19
What IRB ? Did anything been done to check on the Zak palace ?
written by lamakawan, March 04, 2009 11:40:45
Toyo is not ignorant of the tax laws. He is not Mohd. Mohd. Taib who does not understand simple languages. He is trying to be evasive.
written by Richard Lo, March 04, 2009 11:42:41
Do we expect anything more from a man whose brain is the size of a grain?
written by OVERLORD, March 04, 2009 11:46:43
Richard Lo,

I wouldn't give him that sort of compliment....
written by clarity, March 04, 2009 11:50:15
This is not ignorance but disregard for society and its system. This type of mentality is typical of crooks ans you can be sure he has avoided paying taxes on many occasions. Excuses cannot be accepted and he should be charged in court.
written by myke, March 04, 2009 11:50:45
Just grill him and fry him up, I like that..
written by Concerned_Citizen, March 04, 2009 11:55:38
How come a person with a dr. in front of his name is so brainless like this? This Toyol is really a cheapo, small money also he didn't want to let go!

But as of other cases, the AMNO will bury this one deep in the shit dung!
written by Hello Keithy, March 04, 2009 11:56:12
Someone please hang Khir Toyo by the balls and let him dry in the sun. We don't want to know more about this idiot.
written by murali, March 04, 2009 12:17:01
Hello Keithy,

last time i heard Khinzir Toyol got no balls.....
written by shamadz72, March 04, 2009 12:18:43
Khir Toyo shouldn't be worry too much, since Ahmad Said is only interested with a crime that involve Lembu and Kereta only...

written by born2reign, March 04, 2009 12:24:45
Don't lar you all kutuk Toyol like that. He may be doing us all a favour.

Since we all pay indirect taxes on our cars, service taxes on our food, clothes, handphones, etc...taxpayers of Malaysia can now claim that the Toyol case is precedent ... ie we should enjoy tax-free break on our BIK too right? Otherwise got double tax...

Maybe Toyol's accountant graduated from UiTM (HAHAHAHAHAHAHA)
written by AO Musa, March 04, 2009 12:26:36
I agreed with Khir Toyo...

He should not pay the tax because he was referring to Indonesian (Java Island) law and we are talking about Malaysian law.
written by Littlebird, March 04, 2009 12:45:36
Selangor state government should lodge a report against Khir to privileges committees for the alleged offence he may have committed as a member of state assembly men.
written by Jan, March 04, 2009 12:55:55
Even you report this man nothing will happen to him. There are two sets of laws in this country, one for him and his ilk and the other for the rest of us. It's just incredible, countless reports of corruption had been levelled against him yet nothing seems to happen.
written by Krepot, March 04, 2009 13:00:27
What do you expect from an Indonesian,
he has no respect for Malaysian tax laws!
Ignorant Indon!
written by ultraman, March 04, 2009 13:17:10
Such person can be MB of Selangor for so long? No wonder our country is going to the drain.
Toyol, actually you are a NUT!!!
written by Catharsis, March 04, 2009 13:21:59
THIS IS DEFINITELY A LAWMAKER OF THE SELF AND BY THE SELF- HOW DISGUSTING..................
written by KARMANNGHIA, March 04, 2009 13:30:55
Well, chat can I say? besides he is a second generation Indon and a BN honcho?

smilies/smiley.gif

he should be strip off his citizenship!
written by shan, March 04, 2009 13:40:45
This bastard is the biggest bullshitter in the universe.,.with all his corruption money ,he bought over the Chi liung 18 story building in Klang under his bitchy wife's name and the building is rented by the IRB Klang.he has also forced all the banks to rent his building.,.And with such raport with the IRB, how can he claim he is ignorant of the law.,It's just matter of time when all the people of Klang go to his home to fling faeces on his face,., smilies/angry.gif
written by Long Man, March 04, 2009 13:53:16
hahaha...

if like this, no employees need to pay to irb anymore since their employer also pay tax...

shame on you toyol... dah la toyol... menipu pulak tu...
written by Fuminari, March 04, 2009 14:53:10
this husband robs while wife steals khinzir toyol cuma main 'buat tak tahu' sahjalah!
soundly proven,he is jus an indon thief within the malaysian mist.
written by Concerned Malaysian, March 04, 2009 14:56:34
yalah, kan di tu orang UMNO, satu tidak tahu cakap bahasa inggeris di Australia dan yang ni tidak tahu undang 2 tapi jadi MB Selangor.....aiyo...tak malukah UMNO...pilih orang indon ini.....
written by adan, March 04, 2009 15:10:56
Pretending ignorance of the law is an excuse used by the highly corrupted hypocrites.
written by atan, March 04, 2009 15:15:13
Say no to recycled politicians.Umno is playing musical chairs.We the rakyat just laughs at their theatrical acts.Dia bagi kita ambil.Kita tetap pangkah itu bulan penuh,bulan gerhana dan roket.Keris tak main lagi.Ini 21st century.

Say big NO to racial politics. Malaysia for Malaysians. Muhibah.
written by carribeanking7, March 04, 2009 15:17:57
Oh I see, so you decide what is taxable issit ? not declare and let IRB decide, walau eh.
OK OK enough UMNO style drama, first deny, then when caught feign ignorance.
Please also how you can afford to pay rental of RM25k a month for your Bungalow and maintain a fleet of cars.
Only your braindead UMNO followers will fall for you semuanya OK line.
The souls of those who died in the Bukit Antarabangsa landslide will never rest until you are punished.
written by thor, March 04, 2009 15:34:56
Soalan utk Encik Penyapu, "Yg mana satu morally wrong, tak bayar cukai or tidur tanpa baju?", sila beri pandangan "jauh" mu smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by tuahjebat, March 04, 2009 15:38:55
Can somebody just pay and get this dumb bastard killed????!!!!!
written by bknight, March 04, 2009 17:42:01

smilies/shocked.gif , is that some dumbarse comment or he is trying to twist the fact ? any benefit in kind have to be declare, so that it is recorded as expenses in the corporation and is tax on the individual who received it right?

or am i wrong ?

written by Democrats, March 04, 2009 17:45:17
He knows the law...he just thinks he is above it, given that he is from UMNO.
written by volkswagen, March 04, 2009 17:56:17
Selangor State UMNO produces very comical leaders. Some don't understand 'Simple English'. Some don't understand 'Basic Tax Law', some don't understand 'What is Building Plan'. Very comical, isn't it.
written by Badrol, March 04, 2009 22:31:31
Hey toyol, my employer paid me salaries and my employer also paid income tax so does that make me tax exempt? You stupid fool!
written by Jimbo, March 05, 2009 00:36:35
Don't you all know that all these ****ing umno leaders have no brains, only have shit between their ears. One minister does not understand English and bring tons of cash in and out of Australia, another does not know income tax laws in Malaysia, he only knows the laws of Indon, everything can bribe one mah!, of course the Oxford grad supports hooliganism the mat ****ing rempits of this country, second finance minister knows how to lose our billions of hard earned money, another knows how to screw Mongolian girls and blow them up with C4, etc etc. God have mercy on umno and malaysia.
written by Darth Vader, March 05, 2009 02:27:56
The former mentri besar, in an interview with Berita Harian last Friday, said the matter (non-declaration) was ‘a standard procedure’.

**** IT IS ALSO STANDARD PROCEDURE FOR YOU IDIOT TO CHECK WITH YR TAX AGENT REGARDING THE TREATMENT OF "BENEFIT IN KIND". IF IT IS NOT TAXABLE, WHY DOES IRB REQUIRE THIS IN EA FORM. BLOODY LIAR!!!

AGAIN YOU ARE SHOWING YR STUPIDITY.GO CHECK THE INCOME TAX ACT 1967 LAH IDIOT. IT IS UNDER SECTION 13 OF THE ACT.

PNSB pay tax because they make profit. Do you know how they derive profit. it is after taking into account all the expenses lah. PNSB charge all this as expenses in their accounts. in other words, they already dont pay tax on this lah idiot. if PNSB dont pay tax on this, you enjoy this benefit, it means that you pay tax lah.

Aiyo, do you know how malaysian tax work or not. i am wasting my time here lecturing you lah. idito. Ptui

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by ROBERTNGTG, March 05, 2009 09:15:57
Khir Toyo chastised for being ignorant of tax laws

QUICK. BORROW THE SAME LINE FROM M2M: I NO SPEAK INGLISH.
I TAK TAHU UNDANG CUKAI. I HANYA TAHU PIKIN WANG.
written by KARMANNGHIA, March 05, 2009 11:33:09
he should practice his dentistry instead.