Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Perak drama: The showdown begins

Perak drama: The showdown begins PDF Print
Tuesday, 03 March 2009 10:27

Asia News Network

All eyes are on Perak Tuesday as the former Pakatan Rakyat state government, which maintains it is still the legitimate administration, attempts to oust the newly-formed Barisan Nasional government through an emergency sitting of the state assembly.

The emergency sitting was called by State Assembly Speaker V. Sivakumar, saying he was invoking Standing Orders 8 and 11 so that the assembly could vote on two motions.

While he declined to reveal what the motions were, except to say that they involved the constitutional crisis in Perak, former senior executive council (exco) member Ngeh Koo Ham later said the two motions involved seeking the dissolution of the State Assembly and reaffirming support for Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin as mentri besar (chief minister).

The current Perak Mentri Besar Dr Zambry Abdul Kadir of Barisan has described the emergency sitting as “invalid and unlawful” because it had not received the consent of the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah.

“He has used his powers unfairly to achieve his own political agenda and he had ridiculed the proceedings of the House,” he said.

Pakatan lawyers say the Ruler’s consent was only needed to summon a sitting by way of royal proclamation if the assembly had been dissolved or prorogued (adjourned by royal prerogative). But because the last sitting was adjourned, the assembly could carry on its usual business in an emergency session.

Sivakumar had earlier barred and suspended Dr Zambry and his six exco members from the assembly.

To prevent the sitting from taking place, the current administration issued orders for the entrance to the state secretariat be barred. Police and Federal Reserve Unit personnel were already deployed late Monday to prevent anybody from entering.

Snap polls

Pakatan, which took over the state after the 12th general election last March, has been trying to call for new state elections after it begin to see its rule slipping away earlier this year.

The crisis began on Jan 25 when Bota assemblyman Nasarudin Hashim resigned from Umno to join Pakatan component party PKR, which led to rumours of many more cross-overs to and from both sides of the political divide.

The crisis deepened after Behrang assemblyman Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi and Changkat Jering assemblyman Mohd Osman Mohd Jailu, both from PKR and both facing corruption charges, went “missing” for a few days, only to resurface after a few days to announce they were quitting their party.

At the same time, Jelapang assemblyman Hee Yit Foong announced she was quitting DAP, another Pakatan conponent party.

All three declared they would remain independent but pledged their support for Barisan.

At the time, Sivakumar said that he had received letters from the three reps saying they were also vacating their seats, but the Election Commission decided that the resignation letters were not valid as they were undated and that there was no need for by-elections in their constituencies.

To add salt to Pakatan’s wound, Nasarudin announced he was switching back to Umno after fewer than 10 days as a PKR man.

With that, both Barisan and Pakatan held 28 seats each in the state assembly, but the three independents’ pledge of support to Barisan tipped the balance enough for Sultan Azlan Shah to declare Barisan as having the support of the majority and he refused Nizar’s request for the state assembly to be dissolved and snap elections be called.

Court battles

The tussle will also play out in the courts, with Nizar having filed an application for a judicial review to challenge the legitimacy of Dr Zambry as Perak mentri besar.

The case will be heard on Tuesday before High Court (Special Powers and Appellate) Court judge Lau Bee Lan, six days after Judicial Commissioner Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof recused himself from hearing the suit.

In his application for a judicial review, Nizar is seeking an interpretation of the Perak state constitution on whether the mentri besar’s post can be vacated in a situation whereby:

* The mentri besar had advised the ruler on the dissolution of the state legislative assembly;
* There is no dissolution of the assembly;
* There was no motion of confidence performed against him at the state legislative assembly;
* There was no resignation made by him.

He is also seeking a declaration that he is the legal mentri besar of Perak and asking for an injunction to stop Zambry from carrying out the duties and functions of the mentri besar; and also punitive, aggravated and exemplary damages and costs.

On Monday, Perak executive councillor Mohd Zahir Abdul Khalid served an originating summons on behalf of the three independent reps -- Jamaluddin, Mohd Osman and Hee -- seeking a court declaration that they were still elected representatives of their constituencies.

The three were challenging the Speaker’s decision that they had resigned and that their seats were vacant. This case will be heard on Thursday.

Meanwhile, Dr Zambry has sought a court declaration to make illegal Sivakumar’s suspension of him and his six exco members. This case will also be heard on Tuesday morning.

Dr Zambry said he was seeking a declaration that Sivakumar’s decision was unconstitutional and ultra vires the state constitution.

He sought declarations that he and his exco members had the right to attend sittings and that the House was not to be bound by any rules by, or instructions from, the Speaker.

written by DreamLady, March 03, 2009 10:40:46
S.O.S. to His Royal Highness, the sultan of Perak, please, I kneel down to beg you, plead with you, to cast away the evil spell from the state of Perak. Your very presence to announce your wish, allowing the MB Nizar to continue as rakyat Perak's lawful Menteri Besar would be most timely and appreciated. Please, do it for the sake of all the malaysians, cos' we are hopelessly helpless and agrieved over the lawlessness inflicted upon us by none other than the ruling party. We need you to enlighten us the best way you could think of. Please, help us and help us regardless of any consequence!!!!

Your rakyat in distress!!!!
written by savemalaysia, March 03, 2009 10:53:56
This idiotic Zambry is asserting executive's authority over the legislative that the House isn't bound by any rules or instructions f rom the Speaker. As the de facto MB, he thinks he's God to the Perakians when they actually think of him as a pariah and beggar. Why take the long and ardous way out when Zambry can solve the impasse by just agreeing to a snap election. Then he can see for himself whether he's the Perakians' MB or not. If he refuses, it confirms that he's an illegal MB.
written by zanie, March 03, 2009 10:56:14
This is the greatest history in the modern world of malaysia. The representatives assembled under a tree because the state building is lock! What stupid idea it is, coming from the most stupid prime minister-in-waiting, Najis. The assembly is still valid, it is an assembly, they assembled, thus the term assembly sitting.It is not the hall sitting which requires you to be in the hall! Even if you lock the hall you cannot prevent them from assemble elsewhere, stupid! So now, constitutionally it is legal and the Sultan must abide by the constitution rules...that is to grant permission to dissolve the DUN of Perak.
written by OVERLORD, March 03, 2009 11:13:27
When there is a will, there is a way….I implore BN and PDRM to let justice take it’s natural cause from an unnatural situation which they have created. Lay down your shields and baton,lay down your ignorance and hatred… Embrace the inevitable….Yield to the demands of the people….To deny this justice , is to deny the rights of your own brothers, sisters, children and neighbours……heed this call….
written by hellosunshine, March 03, 2009 11:18:54
I think some good came out of all this fiasco. It seems BN and even UMNO members are disgusted with these shenanigans by the UMNO leadership. Wait for the coming tsunami that'll sweep the dirty and corrupted politicians into jail. Justice will be done.
written by Sembahyanglahkamu, March 03, 2009 11:31:24

Dr Kambing Zamry, in the first place you are the bloddy most unconstitutional MB not even oppointed by the assembly knowing very well that the Sultan Of Perak was under threat by our infamous C4.
Who the hell are u to even to stop the Perak S A Speaker V. Sivakumar to carry out his decision for an emergency sitting.
Go read more of the power of State Elected Speaker under the Perak Constitution. Dude !!!!
By the time u finished reading Perak is already taken over again by PAKATAN.

written by amjoem, March 03, 2009 11:45:30
Zambry,
You and Najib are but murderers of our DEMOCRACY.
To hell with you.
written by Rozlan, March 03, 2009 15:08:56
Zamri,
It was the other way round.
written by carlitos, March 03, 2009 17:05:34
It is so very clear

BN DO NOT think Perakian and also the rest of Malaysian have any right to choose their government.

Why scared to let the people choose? It is obvious BN know they do not have the support of the people and only way for BN to become government in Perak is through cheating the people of Perak of their right to choose. Is this democracy?

Please Sultan of Perak do you not see what is happening in your state?

It is so clear BN is terrified of election. So why not let the people decide, that is the only and fairest solution. Is it not still a government by the people for the people?

In election both side have equal chance no?, so why BN so scared?

I am really looking forward to the decision by the Sultan of Perak as from there we can all see and use to decide where our country should be heading.

The future of Malaysia democracy system will be determined by this event in Perak.
written by Milo, March 03, 2009 22:05:03
One side (PR) wants the rakyat to decide who rules them; the other side (BN) don't want the rakyat to decide who should rule them. Democracy means LET THE PEOPLE DECIDE, which also means the Assembly should be dissolved! With what is happening in Perak, there should be no more doubt which side is democratic and which side is not. Now in this historically critical moment, it finally allows us to finally witness the REAL mettle of our Agong - to uphold justice or to bow to dirty politics!